Barbados barring no unforeseen event will be declared a Republic on the 30th November 2021. For many including this blogmaster, it has taken too long and with hindsight should have been part of the independence transaction in 1966. It is embarrassing to listen to some Barbadians in 2021 justifying why the Queen of England should be regarded as head of state even if in name only. 

The two main arguments against moving to a Republic on the 30 November 2021 – insufficient time has been spent to socialize the republic construct with Barbadians to ensure it captures our expectations and to demystify many about the workings of the Barbados Constitution. The other argument – embarrassing though it is – removal from the protective cloak of England will expose Barbados to economic and ‘other’ threats.

It is an embarrassment after sinking billions of dollars in education with the hope of developing an enlightened people, there is a large segment of the population who lack the confidence to appreciate the freedom of the mind that comes with truly being free. What did the late Nesta Marley messaged years ago? – we must emancipate our minds from mental slavery … 

The anticipation of walking into public buildings; schools and other places and not being subjected to looking at the face of Queen Elizabeth II prominently displayed on walls has created a ‘rush’ for the blogmaster. That foreign face will be replaced by soon to be President Sandra Mason, a daughter of the soil.

A word about the process. In the opinion of the blogmaster there is no blueprint to move to a Republic. Any path taken would have attracted criticism. The government has taken a decision of switching out the head of state with the promise to open the country to debating constitutional reform next year. To those who say it is a case of putting the cart before the horse, maybe. To those who suggest this is Mia Mottley padding her legacy, maybe. There are those like the blogmaster who are concerned Barbadians are some of the biggest procrastinators on the planet and needed a Mottley to bulrush this first step towards validating what’s we already are – a Republic. Uneasy lies the head that wear the crown…

The blogmaster is looking forward to the public debate as promised in 2022 about how we make the Barbados Constitution more relevant. For too long successive governments have promised to move this matter forward and failed. For too long although laying claim to be an educated people, too many Barbadians are woefully unaware of civic responsibilities enshrined in our Constitution. Hopefully when the time comes for public debate on constitutional reform, it will be as robust as the ongoing debate regarding the deletion of God replaced with Creator in the Charter of Barbados being debated in the House.

382 responses to “GOD Bless BIM…god bless the Republic”

1. well waru you may be right but here is advise for people with young sons on the blog tell them never get down on one knee for a women …that will not get down on two knees for you.

2. DPD YOU HAD STARTED TO DO FINE
    NOW YOU HAVE REVERTED TO TYPE
    TALKING WASH
    DAVID AND I HAVE BOTH ADDRESSED THE ISSUE BOUT LEADERSHIP AND MANGEMENT
    WHEN I LED MY CHOIRS AS I TEEEN I ALSO MANAGED TIME ACQUIRING SUITABLE MUSIC ETC ETC
    LEADERSHIP AND MANGEMENT CAN BOTH OCCUR SIMULTANEOUSLY
    SOMETIMES IT DOES NOT
    STOP BEING LIKE IF YOU WATCHING LESBIAN PORN AND CAUSING WOMEN TO FAKE ORGASMS DO

LAWSON
    RE more than happy to oblige, first thing never let your wife find out you go to hookers if she sees you will pay for sex your screwed, some guys will cave in and pay

WE WILL BE SURE TO PUT SUCH INFO IN OUR MANUALS ….
    BUT THERE WILL BE NO HOOKING OR ANY OTHER TYPE OF FISHING ALLOWED ON THE PREMISES SIR

BUT OUR ESTEEMED TEACHER IN FAKE ORGASMRY MAY APPEAR IN ANY FISH NET APPARREL SHE NORMALLY WEARS WHEN ENGAGING OR WATCHING OR TEACHING LESBIAN PORN

WE WILL ALSO ALLOW HER SON TO DEMONSTRATE WHAT EXACTLY HE DOES SINCE HE DOES NOT USE GIRLS.

I assume GP that is how your first wife became very rich..
    NO SIR I LEFT HER IN THE 5BR 5B HOUSE ALONG WITH OTHER DEBT FREE REAL ESTATE WORTH MILLIONS, PLUS SHE HAS A BUSYNESS ON THE SIDE AND GET ANY THING SHE ASKS HER RICH BROTHERS IN ONE OF THE CONTIGUOUS ISLANDS TO SEND HER

3. Didn’t I give you old farts homework?

4. Still on an eighteen year old boy who has said or done nothing to you or yours?

What sickness is this?

You will notice that I will not reciprocate. I do not have it in me to attack your son.

I wonder what Jesus would approve of less – a woman who faked orgasms or a big man who repeatedly verbally attacks young men who have done him nothing and who is busy trying to do right.

Something is very wrong with you. Something is very wrong with anyone who spurs you on.

You want to attack me, fine. But to keep harping on a young man who is on the right path is very sick.

Anyone who cannot see that is as sick as you are.

I pity you.

Meanwhile, my wonderful son is still wonderful and still a bigger and better man than you. Have you seen him come here to be nasty to you? I told him everything you have said and it is still a big long steupse and an incredulous expression.

That’s muh boy!

5. Sick!

6. I mean REALLY REALLY SICK!

7. Oh dear, I forgot to tell Lawson to check his wife’s drawers for batteries.

8. LOL I AM SICK VERY SICK I mean REALLY REALLY SICK CAUSE I FOUND BATTERIES IN MY WIFE’S DRAWERS LOL
    I WONDER IF THERE IS A STRONG’S NUMBER FOR DRAWERS LOL

AND I HAVE ASKED MY UNMARRIED BOY WHY HE DOES NOT USE GIRLS EXCEPT AS MODELS AND STUDENTS . I WANTED TO BE SURE THAT HIS ACTIVITIES WERE STANDARD AND NOT ABERRENT IN ANY WAY.

RE Meanwhile, my wonderful son is still wonderful and still a bigger and better man than you.
    SEEMS HE LIKE HE OBESE YUH IF HE BIGGER THAN ME HE OBESE LOL
    RE Have you seen him come here to be nasty to you? NO I DONT HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH BOYS THAT DONT USE GIRLS. AND WHO WOULD WANT TO DO NASTY THINGS TO ME. PLEASE KEEP HIM AWAY THANK YOU
    HE SOUNDS LIKE BRANDON

9. By the way, I finished a Bsc. and two diplomas. Don’t know where you got the idea that I never finished any courses. It was specialisation I couldn’t commit to.

Turned down two offers of marriage since my divorce.

Left home at 19 yrs of age and went two houses down to my grandparents’ house with the approval of my father with whom I got on very well. Had a part time job. Was attending university. Paid my own way through university.

Going back to school, never was suspended and never took a letter home to my parents.

Now… have I ever sinned and gone to the altar?

Yes. And so have we all. That is we confess such sins before we go.

Or went, in my case. Haven’t been for years.

And finally, I have never encouraged my son or any other young person to watch pornography.

I think their friends make sure they see that.

You can try, just like your new best buddy, to denigrate me but you will have to tell lies AND misrepresent AND twist yourself into a pretzel to do it.

It will always say more about you than it will about me.

GO ON! DO THE GEORGIE PORGIE!

10. That is WHY we confess our sins. Immediately before we go-

IF WE SAY WE HAVE NO SIN WE DECEIVE OURSELVES AND THE TRUTH IS NOT IN US.

IF WE CONFESS OUR SINS……GOD WILL FORGIVE US OUR SINS AND CLEANSE US OF ALL UNRIGHTEOUSNESS.

LET US THEREFORE CONFESS OUR SINS……

ALMIGHTY GOD AND HEAVENLY FATHER, WE HAVE SINNED AGAINST YOU AND ONE ANOTHER IN THOUGHT, WORD AND DEED, IN WHAT WE HAVE DONE AND WHAT WE HAVE LEFT UNDONE.

11. GEORGIE PORGIE PUDDING AND PIE
    ALL HIM DUH IS KISS GIRLS AND MEK DEM HIGH
    WHEN DE BOYS THAT DONT “USE” GIRLS (WHATEVER DAT MEANS) CAME OUT TO DO NASTINESS
    GEORGIE PORGIE RAN AWAY AND HE STILL RUNNING AWAY CAUSE GEORGIE LIKE GIRLS BAD EVEN WHEN THEY ARE FAKERS

12. The mother country gave us the Queen of romantic novels – Barbara Cartland; whilst Barbados has given us the Queen of sleaze – Donna.

Donna you are an intelligent smart cookie. Why reduce yourself to such a low level. There is always a time and place for revelry and frivolity on BU. However you are pushing it too far.

Stop breathing life into the retired, mocking and a rocking GP. History tells us that he will always have the final word.

@David,
    You appear to be asleep at the wheel. Mia must be delighted!

13. DONNA DEAR YOU MISS ONE OF THEM IF VERSES

FIRST CLASS IF IN DE GREEK IF AND IT IS TRUE. TRANSLATED SINCE OR WHEN IN SOME PLACES

2ND CLASS IF IN DE GREEK IF AND IT IS NOT TRUE AS IN I JOHN I : 8
    8 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. THAT IS IF WE SAY THAT WE DO NOT HAVETHE SIN NATURE . THIS IS CONTRADICTED IN 5 ETC
    10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.
    THAT IS IF WE SAY THAT WE HAVE NOT COMMITED ACTS OF SIN THIS IS CONTRADICTED IN ROMANS 3 V 23

3RD CLASS IF IN DE GREEK MAYBE TRUE MAY BE NOT
    9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

14. No-one here can see Jesus in you.

15. Steupse! Go tell the writers of the Book of Common Prayer!

I put … where I left a few words out.

I am not impressed by Greek. Both my father AND his brother know Greek and Latin.

16. No-one here can see Jesus in you.

THAT IS OK ONCE HE CAN PRESENT ME AS FAULTLESS AS PROMISED IN JUDE 24
    I KNOW WHOM I HAVE BELIEVED ETC

I DONT COME HERE TO IMPRESS YOU OR ANYONE ELSE. YOU ARE NOTHING BUT A FAKER OF ORGASMS WHO TEACH FOLK TO WATCH LESBIAN PORN ON BU

DOES JESUS SEE HIMSELF IN YOU ? OIR SUCH BEHAVIOUR?

WHAT ABOUT THE LAD THAT DOES NOT USE WOMEN JUST AS IS ALSO WRITTEN ABOUT THE ANTICHRIST IN DANIEL 9?

AND NO ONE ASKED YOU ABOUT YOUR FATHER AND BROTHERS GREEK KNOWLEDGE OR WHAT THE BOOK OF COMMON PRAYER SAYS
    I GAVE AN ACCURATE ACCOUNT OF THE THE THREE CLASSES OF IF IN NT GREEK
    THAT IS WHAT MATTERS TO ME

ALL I HAVE TO DO IS RAISE THE BATON AND YOU COME IN WITH THE DOWN BEAT LOL LOL

17. TLSN,

I am lowering myself? That in itself is a double standard. Why are you afraid to admonish GP? Does he not lower himself?

But no, I am serious about what I said about sex and woman’s orgasms. If you call that sleazy then you are part of the problem.

These men are a bunch of old farts who talk about sex every day, involve my name in their talk but expect no response.

Only men can talk about sex in public. Only men can speak about my riding Whitehill’s snake in tandem with Cuhdear Bajan.

Did not hear you bother about that.

NOPE! I do not live by the standards of men.

And by the way, must we talk about Mia and politics all day long?

Oh hell! Even when we do, GP talks about sex. “Wicking and biting pudenda” or some shite. Every damn time!

Don’t hear you say one word about that!

Steupse!

Old men! Steupse! No wonder some women are “cougars”!

18. Two days of comic relief but the good side as I sit watch and lol
    Is to see the whole episodes of comedy degrade BU to a level of zero
    What a ting doah
    The words of the day
    Be still.and know that I am God
    Nothing above or below earth and sky goes unnoticed

19. Even when we do, GP talks about sex. “Wicking and biting pudenda” or some shite. Every damn time!
    JUST LIKE WUNNAH DOES TALK BOUT TRUMP GRABBING PUSSIES
    I AM ANATOMICALLY MORE ELEGANT MA DEAR LOL

ANGELA
    RE Two days of comic relief but the good side as I sit watch and lol Is to see the whole episodes of comedy degrade BU to a level of zero
    IF BU IS NOT DEGRADED BY YOUR CONSTANT ILLOGIC AND CUSSING ALL TINGS BLP THEN TWO DAYS OF COMIC RELIEF IS NOTHING—-EXCEPT COMIC RELIEF. BUT WHEN YOU MIA AND BLP BASHING WUG IS DAH DUMMY?

AND WHAT KIND OF DAY WAS IT IN MAY 2OI8 . INDEED ON ELECTION DAY IN 20I8 The words of the day WERE 3O- O IN DE DLP TAIL

RE Be still.and know that I am God
    Nothing above or below earth and sky goes unnoticed

ON THAT DAY WE WERE STILL ANGIE AND BARBADOS SAW GOD WORK AND WE REALIZED THAT NOTHING above or below earth and sky IN BARBADOS HAD GONE UNNNOTICED BY GOD. UH LIE

HE SAW ALL THE MACHINATIONS AND INCOMPETENCE AND INEPTITUDE AND INGRATITUDE AND INGRUNCE IN FUMBLE AND DE DLP AND HE PRONOUNCED JUDGEMENT 30 TO ZERO ANGIE

LEST YOU FORGET ANGIE DARLING IT WAS 30 TO ZERO AND YOU STILL BAWLING
    WAS THAT A DAY OF COMIC RELIEF ANGIE OR A DAY OF RELEASE FROM THE COMICAL?>

20. The lad that does not use women is not a homosexual. And yes, he is more like Jesus than you are.

Raise your baton and keep on being nasty!

Do the Georgie Porgie!

My son is here whistling a happy tune and beating time.

Bother about him. He is not bothered about you.

Tv is boring since your loser lost. You are a poor substitute.

Covid got de place boring too.

Nothing going on.

Ghost Town!

So raise your baton and talk yuh talk!

When I feel like I will answer you.

21. Nuff nuff comic relief
    Lol lol
    David uh must be wishing and hoping yuh could close the blog
    Lol
    Even this is better than in the days of Trump.
    A loose cannon has taken a foot hold of Bu

22. A loose cannon has taken a foot hold of Bu
    AND MIA HAS TAKEN HOLD OF GOVERNANCE IN BARBADOS ANGIE AND IT HURTS YOU SO BADLY YOU DONT KNOW IF YOU GOING OR COMING

23. A tribute to resilient Barbadians
    On the eve of Barbados being proclaimed a republic and against the severe lash of the worst pandemic for a hundred years, the international rating agency Standard & Poor’s (S& P) has maintained its existing credit rating for the country. This grading was given before the pandemic decimated the economy.
    This is a significant achievement and speaks volumes for the economic management of Government, its advisers and consultants, with support of the entire Public Service.
    It is a tribute, too, to the common sense and resilience of Barbadians. The people have had to adjust to the almost instant onset of an 18 per cent downturn in economic activity.
    This was most evident in the almost complete absence of tourists from our country.
    Increased numbers of mini-entrepreneurs, who have taken to establishing their small business in selling ground provisions, or prepared meals or juices or even ice cold water, nuts and grapes, show people were not prepared to sit down and play dead.
    Lifting of spirits
    None of us can be happy that the pandemic has made life more difficult, but there should be a lifting of spirits at this good news. Yet, it is an ill wind that brings no good. Thus, we hope that more than a few of these new business start-ups will ripen into permanent ventures, even if some fall by the wayside when their operators return to their former jobs.
    This never-say-die spirit must be encouraged by all levels of the society, whether it be by way of making concessional funding available to young entrepreneurs, or safeguarding them from total wipeout by refinancing of their business.
    In this respect, the decision of the Barbados Trust Fund, a facility sponsored in part by the state, to restructure the loans of many of its borrowers is a step in the right direction. That institution wrote off the arrears of about 400 businesses and restructured those loans over a longer term, with instalment
    payments on capital only for a specified period.
    This approach meets the entrepreneur halfway and both sides should benefit once the economy continues to recover.
    This strategy should attract the attention of some of the larger lenders since it allows the businesses to survive, with the social benefits of maintaining employment levels and contributing to the country’s gross domestic product as the economy is geared up once again for sustainable growth.
    There can be no doubt that the action of Standard & Poor’s will be of interest to investors who might be looking at investment in Barbados, either in the form of buying bonds, or putting down tourism, manufacturing or service sector enterprises.
    Cautioned on downgrade
    While good tidings are welcome, Government and its advisers must keep their shoulder to the wheel. We are still in the woods.
    S& P has cautioned that should the impact of the pandemic on our economy lead to larger deficits and to insufficient funding to meet our fiscal or external financing needs over the next year, then a lowering of the credit rating, a downgrade, might be necessary.
    We cannot therefore rest on our national laurels. We must not be complacent. Economic recovery from the pandemic is not a sprint, but a marathon. We must continue competent handling of our economic affairs. Our national welfare demands that we do just that.

Today’s Nation Editorial

24. Verona Michael Avatar

I take your point, David, but it seems that persons like me with differing views from the norm are not tolerated and are scoffed of the map. We are so influenced by what we hear and read from “overseas” that the art of critical thinking has been long forgotten and lost. We need to get back to the days when controversial issues were ventilated from both sides and the reader was left to draw his or her conclusion.

25. @Verona Michael

What measuring stick are you using? For example in this forum you have stated a view, others have agreed and disagreed- this is how the interactions between humans is to work.

26. Verona Michael Avatar

I am referring to journalists who write one sided articles for the readers’ consumption, but then you will miss my point as you are one of the guilty ones.

27. VERONA
    WHAT YOU SAY IS SOUND DOCTRINE……AND IT CAN NOT BE REUFUTED.
    YOU ARE A BREATH OF FRESH AIR ON BU
    YOU SEEM TO HAVE YOUR CIRCLE OF WILLIS INTACT, AND TO HAVE NORMAL NEURAL TISSUE IN YOUR BRAIN

28. The benefit of a BU is that there is nothing preventing you from submitting an article with your alternative perspective. Instead some of you prefer to take potshots from the sidelines which is an easier undertaking.

29. GP - EX SCHOLAR Avatar
    GP – EX SCHOLAR

THE BENEFITS OF BU HAVE LONG BEEN FOR ME THE PROVISION OF MIRTH
    GP HAS SUBMITTED MANY THEOLOGICAL ARTICLES AND MANY OF HIS PPTS USED IN TEACHING MEDICAL STUDENTS OF A VERY HIGH STANDARD OF SCHOLARSHIP IN BOTH DISCIPLINES, AND WHICH ADVANCED THE CORRECT PERSPECTIVE

MS MICHAEL’S SHORT CONTRIBUTIONS OUGHT NOT BE SEEN AS PREFERING to take potshots from the sidelines BUT ARE IN MY OPINION IN THE TOP DRAWER. AT LEAST SHE WRITES IN CORRECT CLEAR ENGLISH

AND I WONDER WHY SHOULD ANY ONE IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WASTE THEIR TIME TO SEEK TO BRING FACTUAL AND EDUCATIONAL OPINION IN THE BU RUM SHOP IF UM GWINE GET TEK DUNG? ESPECIALLY IF ONE COMMUNICATES WITH WORDS RATHER THAN VIDEOS OF MUSIC.

30. “YOU SEEM TO HAVE YOUR CIRCLE OF WILLIS INTACT, AND TO HAVE NORMAL NEURAL TISSUE IN YOUR BRAIN”

Speak U’R Brane

You are no qualified expert or medical teacher in Neuroscience or Neural Science
    Meditation is good for Brain elasticity and better brain function

Qigong Insights- Harmonizing Hemispheres of the Brain

Qigong Flow For Brain Optimization

Qigong is a moving meditation that relaxes the nervous system and is shown to enhance brain function. This routine honors the brain and uses specific movements to balance the left and right hemispheres brain and nourish the mind-body connection. It’s awesome if your feeling mentally blocked or stressed, especially if your studying, need to make some big decisions or are working through a challenging situation

31. Here we go. Further comments to distract will be deleted.

32. GP is full up to the brim with unsound doctrine that must be refuted
    Sweet Sunday Sermon My Backside
    What does he know about
    Chinese Health Qigong

Liu Zi Jue
    6 Sounds approach to breathing exercises for healing