Whoever has the gold makes the rules”

John Hart

Medieval Kings were created by wars and conquest and passed on their titles to their descendants. There are no kings in Western democracies. The majority in Europe are ceremonial relics of antiquity so it is highly irregular that successive governments in Barbados have created a strange phenomenon where they elevate men to the position of kings at the expense of the public purse after Independence legally ended colonialism. Perhaps it is intended to complete the gratification of the island being called Little England. It has been done decades ago for the Williams brothers and is now being done for Mark Maloney by the previous and present Administration.

The present Administration is now in the habit of sayings one thing and doing another. In theory, the Prime Minister says that she is moving the country to Republic status, notably with only a few cosmetic changes in the current system. In practice, this is not what has been happening. We have all been witness to a series of events starting with the last Administration, all of which seem bent on elevating one man in a position above all Barbadians by way of lucrative contracts and secretive sweet heart deals. In other word the making of a king. There was Coverley peppercorn deal, the Grotto, being on the board of the Central Bank, Chairman of the Boards of LIAT, the Government’s agent to buy vaccine that resulted in a scam and the list is not complete.

As far fetch as it may seem, is the change to republican status only an illusion? As act of cognitive dissonance as one writer called it a few days ago of saying one thing yet doing another.

This may be all speculative, however, what is fact is that for every asset given to Mark Maloney, there is a corresponding loss to the livelihood of present Barbadians in terms of assets that can earn revenue, to reduce taxation, to pay workers and revenue to provide for health care if the assets are put to good use.

The wealth present and of future Barbadians are also tied up in these assets so it is mind boggling why time and time again, the government is bent on giving them all away to one man. If this is what is happening, it is beyond logic that any sitting prime minister of Barbados would agree to such for financial contributions to their party or even worse if that person has sinister information on the Prime Minister. One might question what gives Mr. Maloney the audacity to approach government with these schemes and one must also question the integrity of persons elected to service who have the same audacity to misuse the funds from the public purse. It is instances like these that are the precursor to rampant corruption in any country.

In the quest for Republican status, one must not forget that the Crown owns a considerable amount of lands. The government has not mentioned what the status of the crown lands will be in the transition to a Republic. Literally, in a Republic land must belong to the people first and then their representatives. It will not like Crown land that did not belong to the people. In this grey period of transition what will happen to those lands will more be given away? Is there an existing list of crown lands to be viewed by the public?

Land is a scarce and expensive commodity in Barbados. The average man in the streets may not even be able to afford a 5,000 square feet plot of land a $25 per square feet. If he can afford it, then comes the difficulty of building a house on the said plot of land. It makes one wonder why the government of Barbados is continuously giving away this asset to a Billionaire who has already made his fortune as the expense of the public purse. Why can’t everyone else be able to enjoy their luxuries especially someone who sit in the majority 95%?

The latest acquisition that we now know of is that the 27 acres of land at Chancery Lane has been given to Mr. Maloney through a partnership with the government and is in the process of developing it at the disadvantage of the persons who live nearby. It was simply too good for them. There has been a video making its round on social media. This could be 235 lot of 5000 sq ft each for middle and low income housing!

One hopes that the Prime Minister realizes that with only 166 sq miles available, that this unnecessary giving away land is not sustainable. One may therefore have cause to wonder, if when the lands runs out will Mr. Mark Maloney will be given ownership of the beach and the sea.

If Mr. Maloney wants to be king, he has a choice, try his hand in elected politics since the Prime Minister already has her exit plan in place or start a war to conquer the 95%.

71 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – Republic or Monarchy?”

1. What is wrong with calling him “His Excellency” or the “Most Honourable” as is standard in ‘real’ republics?
    WHAT IS WRONG WITH CALLING HIM LORD BULLSHITER, HIGH JACKASS OF THE ORDER OF THE MOST LOWLY OF THE EQUINOIDS?
    OR JUST HIGH JACKASS OF THE ORDER OF BALLAAM’S ASS?

2. How bout President Dame Slave…that’s all it will always be.

3. angela coxNovember 23, 2021 9:52 AM
    YOU ARE 100%
    THE MAN IS A TWIT AND ENGAGING IN HYPOCRISY AND PROMOTING COMPROMISE …….WHICH IS OFTEN SIN ON THE INSTALLMENT PLAN.
    BUT BEING A PRIEST IS MOST TIMES JUST A JOB, WHICH DOES NOT REALLY CALL FOR A COMMITMENT TO THE EORD OF GOD OR TO RIGHTEOUSNESS.

4. In 2007, Professor Sir Hilary Beckles was made a Knight of St. Andrew, the highest national honour in Barbados, for his contribution to ‘Higher Education, the Arts, and Sports’.

Reparations to make good for damages made to humanity are not out of line with British values of today.

Blacks and other non-whites were deemed inferior to whites perceived superiority due to the complexion of their skin colour and more sophisticated culture.

But, that same biased logic has been proven a fallacy, which they readily admit today.
    The biggest sin to hue-man kind in world history must be remedied to save the souls of the descendants of the perpetrators of crime and their legacy of the sins of the father being passed down to subsequent generations.

In 2015 Wide Boy Cameron told Jamaicans that Reparations would unhelpful but he has received bad luck in abundance due to his fobbing off of the matter in hand. He lost Brexit and his leadership, and, has recently been called out for corrupted lobbying of Government for his business sponsors interests on multiple counts.

5. Don’t know what any of you have been SMOKING, but regardless of bullshit titles…as long as you are in the west under the present RECURRING legal and other frameworks and STRUCTURES….you will ALWAYS be labelled as Slaves or descendants of….so keep fooling yaselves…it’s YOU fooling YOU and LYING to yaselves…no one else is doing it….especially those shite title holders.

FYI…the real MEANINGFUL titles are RESERVED for innnercircle family members of another hue….

6. Our future Afrikan descendants are QUITE CAPABLE of negotiating reparations for themselves without black face colonial agents…i say leave it to our FUTURE GENERATIONS to handle…and not these gangs of thieves and sellouts who are trying to get their hands on billions to impresss and prop up/support minority THIEVES and RACISTS…at our ancestor’s and our expense.

7. Nathan 'Jolly' Green Avatar
    Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

I would imagine that the British government and monarchy will be over the moon not to be spending money and precious time on these small Caribbean nations. You think you have got rid of them but in truth they have got rid of us. Without the British influence Barbados will be robbed blind, it is a license for banditry. Being rid of the Monarchy will also mean less British tourists, they found comfort in the association. Of course Barbados will want to remain members of the British Commonwealth, because they will still want to catch some crumbs from the table. I suppose that now being a left wing society with a left wing government, you can become much closer to Cuba, Venezuela, and China, good luck for that future, what a choice.

8. @MillerNovember 23, 2021 9:45 AM

We now presumably return to the salutation on the plantation.

formerly Sir, Dame, Honourable Minister, businessman = massa
    taxpayer = slave

Prime Minister = Supreme Leader
    Tron = chief ideologue and whipper-snapper

9. @ jolly green, keep your green nose out of bajan affairs. Did I not hear that you are a Vincentian?

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

“@ jolly green, keep your green nose out of bajan affairs. Did I not hear that you are a Vincentian?”
    Oh my.
    Not the tolerance and mutual respect we usually find coming from one Nation’s capital.

11. @ NO

I am an old woman, I don’t have a lame foot, but uh still miserable. So leff muh lone.

12. These hypocrite Christians! What does it matter if God is in our Constitution or not?

What difference does it make?

A word on a paper that nobody reads besides lawyers who mainly ignore it.

Yuh tink putting G-O-D in a Constitution will convince the young people of ANYTHING?????

Wunnuh does mek me laugh!

G-O-D is not a magic word!

13. By the way, John Rodgers is not compromising. He simply has no problem with recognising other religious faiths.

Nor should he.

Christians have no proof that they are right. Nobody has any proof that their beliefs are true.

It never ceases to amaze me that people are so convinced that their book is right and everybody else’s book is wrong when which book you believe is mostly a function of where you were born.

Steupse!

14. @555
    He’s gonna cuss me again …
    If only you were able to share your weed

15. I have provided the opportunity for a fresh start in 3 posts
    Have a great day

16. Heather…you will find that depending on what you are using your website(s) for, you have to hand it over to programmers eventually so they can work their magic…..and that is ALSO VERY COSTLY….as PLT imparted, am just fortunate that i have a few of them in my family..cut down on costs, but still costly..there is no inbetween or cutting corners, not if you want to reach that goal..

17. @ Northern Observer

On reflection, I was wrong and your are, as usual right. I am not usually a screeching owl. Apologies to all who were offended. It was rude.

18. Big up de Dame! Way to go!

19. Yuh tink putting G-O-D in a Constitution will convince the young people of ANYTHING?????

DAT IS THE PROBLEM

LET US ABIDE BY WHAT THE YOUNG PEOPLE TINK— THE DEAR UNEXPERIENCED DARLINGS

G-O-D is not a magic word!

TOO MANY ALL OVER THE WORLD HE MATTERS. AND HE IS A MAGIC WORD. TO US HE IS ALL IN ALL
    THAT HE DOES WILL SOON BECOME CLEAR

PEOPLE WHO BELIEVE IN HIM HAVE EVERY RIGHT TO SAY SO JUST AS THE UNBELIEVING AND UNGODLY HAVE THE RIGHT TO BELIEVE WHAT THEY WISH AND EFFLUX FROM THEIR UNGODLY HEARTS

SUCH FOLK ARE WELL DESCIBED IN JUDE IO-I6 THUS
    0 But these speak evil of those things which they know not: but what they know naturally, as brute beasts, in those things they corrupt themselves.
    11 Woe unto them! for they have gone in the way of Cain, and ran greedily after the error of Balaam for reward, and perished in the gainsaying of Core.

12 These are spots in your feasts of charity, when they feast with you, feeding themselves without fear: clouds they are without water, carried about of winds; trees whose fruit withereth, without fruit, twice dead, plucked up by the roots;

13 Raging waves of the sea, foaming out their own shame; wandering stars, to whom is reserved the blackness of darkness for ever.

14 And Enoch also, the seventh from Adam, prophesied of these, saying, Behold, the Lord cometh with ten thousands of his saints,

15 To execute judgment upon all, and to convince all that are ungodly among them of all their ungodly deeds which they have ungodly committed, and of all their hard speeches which ungodly sinners have spoken against him.

16 These are murmurers, complainers, walking after their own lusts; and their mouth speaketh great swelling words, having men’s persons in admiration because of advantage.

THESE WORDS COULD NOT BE BETTER SAID

their mouth speaketh great swelling words, having men’s persons in admiration
    BUT VERSE I4 A & I5 IS COMFORTING
    Behold, the Lord cometh with ten thousands of his saints,

15 To execute judgment upon all, and to convince all that are ungodly among them of all their ungodly deeds which they have ungodly committed, and of all their hard speeches which ungodly sinners have spoken against him.
    HE WILL JUDGE THE UNREPENTANT UNGODLY FOR BOTH THEIR ORAL AND MORAL SINS
    HE WILL JUDGE NATIONS BEFORE DAT TIME…..JUST AS HE IS DEALING WITH THE USA TODAY…THE SO CALLED GREATEST COUNTRY IN DE WORLD EVER —– TOO SWEET

Wunnuh does mek me laugh! G-O-D is not a magic word!
    HE IS TO MANY

IT WOULD BE NICE IF WE STILL HAD THE GOD OF THE OT AND THAT HE STILL LISTENED TO MEN LIKE ELIJAH WHO COULD CALL DOWN FIRE FROM HEAVEN

BUT GOD IS WORKING HIS PURPOSE OUT AND TRUE SINCERE BIBLE BELIEVERS COMFORT THEM SELVES IN THE WORDS OF DAVID IN PSALM 73.

SO CALLED SELF RIGHTEOUS HYPOCRITES ACTUALLY KNOW AND REALIZE HOW SINFUL THEY ARE AND HOW AWFUL THE EFFECTS OF SIN REALLY ARE …AND THEY ACTUALLY SEEK TO LIVE GODLY LIVES.

SO CALLED SELF RIGHTEOUS HYPOCRITES UNDERSTAND THE WORDS OF JUDE I7 &I8

17 But, beloved, remember ye the words which were spoken before of the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ;

18 How that they told you there should be mockers in the last time, who should walk after their own ungodly lusts.

SO CALLED SELF RIGHTEOUS HYPOCRITES ACTUALLY SEEK TO FOLLOW THE PRECEPTS OF JUDE I8 -24
    20 But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost,

21 Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.

22 And of some have compassion, making a difference:

23 And others save with fear, pulling them out of the fire; hating even the garment spotted by the flesh.

24 Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy,

SO CALLED SELF RIGHTEOUS HYPOCRITES ACTUALLY EXULT AND REVEL IN THE THOUGHT EXPRESSED IN VERSE 24 IN THE KNOWLEDGE THAT THE LORD HIMSELF PROMISES TO

I- PREVENT THEM FROM FALLING …I.E STUMBLING AND FALLING AND NOT BEING ABLE TO GET BACK UP IS THE SENSE OF THE GREEK WORD TRANSLATED FALLING
    2- PRESENT US AS FAULTLESS

NOW AINT THAT A SWEET PROMISE AS WE APPROACH REPUBLICANISM

20. Let’s move away from colonial practices

On Tuesday, Barbados will take the historic step of becoming a parliamentary republic and will declare its independence from the Queen. Yet the effects of colonialism are still deeply embedded within aspects of our society, including the workplace.
    Employment law has its genesis in the master and servant relationship.
    In the Caribbean, the relationship of master and servant evolved from slavery which represented the cruelest and most inhumane form of that relationship.
    Slavery eventually evolved to that of indentureship which removed the physical cruelty and absolute ownership of the masters, while retaining the significant control the master had over the indentured servant. The servant had no rights or protections and could be fired at will.
    The servant dared not question or refuse an instruction of the master as that was considered insubordination deserving of immediate termination.
    As employment law evolved, the servant became known as the employee, who the law described as being in a contract of service, that is, he was to be “of service” to the master.
    Over the last few decades, labour laws have progressed, both at common law and statute, to provide greater protections and rights for employees.
    In some respect, I believe the laws have slanted too far in favour of the employee. But when I observe how pervasive some colonial mentalities and practices still are within the workplace, I am reminded that these protections are necessary.
    Years ago I had a conversation with a business owner to explain various scenarios where an employee is considered in law to have been demoted. I explained that a demotion can occur where an employee is transferred to a post with less status and power than his previous post, even if he receives the same pay. The employer reminded me that during slavery, the house slaves felt superior to the field slaves because they did not work in the fields and enjoyed more privileges. But they were all still slaves.
    As far as he was concerned, the same applied to his employees, regardless of their position or misconceived status. I was speechless. This was not said by a white/ Caucasian man, lest you wrongly believe that these mentalities only exist among certain races.
    I am still shocked when employers discipline employees for simply speaking up against inequities or ill treatment, especially when the employee did not speak in a rude or disrespectful manner. Even the concept of paying certain employees the bare minimum (rather than a liveable wage) to ensure greater profits for those
    at the top emanates from colonial times when indentured servants existed solely for the profit of their masters and barely made enough to survive.
    A recent article on Forbes.com highlighted that some companies such as AT& T, Hertz, J.C. Penney and Whiting Petroleum laid off hundreds of workers during the pandemic, cut pay or filed for bankruptcy while managing to pay the chief executive officers millions of dollars in bonuses.
    I’ve observed similar scenarios in Barbados, though on a smaller scale.
    Compensation packages
    Fortunately, businesses run by millennials have shown a trend away from many colonial practices. They create work environments where flexi-work is permitted, employee engagement is encouraged and where adequate compensation packages are given to workers, including perks such as child care and mental health days.
    Studies show that these environments produce greater employee satisfaction which results in increased productivity and profitability for the companies.
    In my practice, I have had the pleasure of meeting and working with some employers and human resources professionals who do their best to encourage equity within the workplace and focus on creating a healthy work environment. In their own way, they are encouraging the move away from colonial practices that still pervade the workplace.
    To them I say, without calling any names (you know who you are), I salute and admire you and hope you will influence others to do the same.
    Happy Independence, Barbados.
    Michelle M. Russell is an attorney with a passion for employment law and labour matters and a budding social activist. Email: mrussell.ja@gmail.com

21. Simple but symbolic act
    By Ezra Alleyne The motto of the Economist magazine, when first published, spoke of dealing with “a severe contest between intelligence, which presses forward, and an unworthy timid ignorance obstructing our progress”.
    Events of the past week reminded me of this insightful motto. That this country should become a republic is a no brainer, but a severe contest has arisen.
    To change this independent country into a republic requires a single major and material change. One simply has to amend the Constitution, remove references to the Queen in the text and in the oaths of office.
    That is the essence of what has been done. It is a simple but deeply symbolic act; the moreso, given our centuries long history of domination and enslavement.
    The difference between our current parliamentary republic and the republic strictly so called, resides in changing the head of state from the British monarch to a Barbadian.
    The Oxford English Dictionary defines a republic as any “state in which the supreme power rests in the people and their elected representatives . . . as opposed to a country governed by a monarch”.
    To make it mandatory that the head of state must be a Barbadian or, in other words, one of us, underlines the essential definition of the republic as a state where the country (the res) is powered and ruled by the people . . . the publica.
    Ceremonial monarch
    On this basis, Britain is already a republic and so is Barbados. In each case we have a ceremonial monarch who reigns over us, but does not rule us.
    Hence the expression parliamentary republic because the power to rule has passed to parliaments elected by the people. So both Britain and Barbados, for example, are as much republics as is the United States of America.
    The difference between the American republic and the proposed Barbadian republic is that the Americans castrated the power of the president by insisting that he cannot be a Member of Parliament.
    The British more sensibly opted to transfer royal power to an “elected king” called the prime minister who must be a member of the legislature. It worked.
    On Independence, we followed the Westminster model but the British Queen Elizabeth II remained our head of state as Queen of Barbados. We are now changing this situation so that we become, in every sense of the word, a republic, as Britain is.
    To do that we do not need a referendum. Our Constitution never mandated a referendum. Prime Minister Errol Barrow was sensible beyond words and knew his onions.
    I never agreed with Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s
    promise of a referendum. A referendum is an obstacle to change. It is the most severe form of check and balance upon the exercise of Cabinet power. I have said this before.
    And let me say this now. Given the exercise of prime ministerial power, a decision of the Owen Arthur prime ministership cannot bind any successive prime minister, especially when that decision of the previous prime minister was not carried into effect.
    A clear understanding of how prime ministerial power is exercised does not bind a succeeding prime minister even if that prime minister was a member of the earlier Cabinet.
    Now, if the Oxford definition of a republic is correct, and I assert that it is absolutely correct, then our Independence Constitution of 1966, under which we have lived and progressed for 55 years, is as people-powered and people-protective as any other Constitution created in the world since the end of World War II. Every fundamental right enshrined in the Constitution remains untouched.
    Yet there are those who have never seen, far less opened, a book about civics and constitutional matters who seek now to confuse by aligning the change to republican status with a loss of rights and fundamental freedoms and, most strange of all, with dictatorship. Nonsense writ large.
    Some debaters also now argue that the Barbadian dollar will be devalued when we become a republic. Not true.
    Devaluation is a threat only when our foreign reserves fall to a very low level as in 1990/1991. That is a scare tactic born out of not knowing (ignorance) or mischiefmaking by someone who chooses to stir up apathy.
    Competent handling of the economy keeps devaluation threats off the political agenda.
    In my view, the change to republican status is timely. It is constitutionally correct and politically sensible in form and substance. My long experience in these matters informs my views. Long live the republic.
    Ezra Alleyne is an attorney and former Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly.

Leave a Reply to NorthernObserverCancel reply