One of the challenges of life is the constant battle to detach from an incessant stream of negativity about us. It is not uncommon for those who hold an optimistic outlook about life to be ridiculed by what seems to be a majority. This blogmaster lives it and knows it.

To avoid being suffocated by the constant tide of negative views, it is important to feed the mind with evidence based perspectives. It seems appropriate during the month of November when there will be a psychological need by many to romanticize the past that we remember to embrace an optimistic mindset that says problems are to be solved. We do not live on Utopia.

Based on the sources, Homo sapiens is reported as existing for greater than 300,000 years. We may quibble as usual about the number but the fact is, mankind has been walking the planet for an unimaginably long time. Through the ages mankind has demonstrated untold resilience by overcoming challenges whether man made or tossed up by nature.

It seems a simple task human beings having been given life and the resources of a bountiful planet to experience to enjoy the changing scenes of life in trouble and in joy, we make good use of it.

As is customary the blogmaster often entertains commentators away from the blog to assist with mental stimulation in pursuit of the elusive state of nirvana. One such commentator Steven Pinker, a psychologist presented on the topic – Is the world getting better or worse? A look at the numbers. Some will question his yardstick about matters where quantitative and qualitative approaches get blurred. A reminder no man made constructs are perfect. Our mindset to solve issues presented must be never ending.

Steven Pinker is a professor of cognitive science.

308 responses to “Down With Negativity!”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Meeeee… what conniption are you involving me in @Donna??

I does keep far from @Lawson and a few others who is be way to satirical or facetious and/or scathing in the most humorous ways (oft times) for me to han’stand when they does be coming or where dey does be going! 🤦🏾‍♂️

Got wrong ‘D’ or something!

2. The song is by the Wailers (Bob Bunny Peter)
    Get Up Stand Up
    Dedicated to all positive irie ites soul rebels

Negative right wingers have no right to like the Wailers
    So sit down if that is you

3. Kongo Brazzaville

4. Easy come easy go
    Or maybe a bridge top far

https://m.facebook.com/groups/nineth.nine/permalink/672067994177375/

5. “THE FIRST POST ON THIS BLOG WAS BY ANGELA WHO OPINED CORRECTLY”

Angela was second you are suffering from negativity (-) and nigativity (–)

6. Ear burning ta blood. Up stan yah rata fuh right. Yard me dun know.

Up Stan bumba.

Ire ire ire I Selassie I !!!

7. angela cox

Tsunami on Bim. Heavens help us…

8. Mathew Campbell is a White Man
    Who wants to read White Bias
    Angela was moaning about News
    but regurgitates White prejudice

9. 555dubstreetNovember 21, 2021 8:06 PM

Mathew Campbell is a White Man
    Who wants to read White Bias
    Angela was moaning about News
    but regurgitates White prejudice

Xxxx
    Sorry a.ss reponse on your part
    How about your music
    Nothing that can dig deeper into the negative soul of the article

Xxx
    A soulless republic ..heading in a direction of unknown territory

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

that cut and paste hack job got into some serious pollution.

11. The Sunday Times is White Trash by White Trash for White Trash
    Today’s magazine was about “Xi became the biggest Chinese dictator”

You have to recognise all the White Lies by White Spies for World Biggest Warmongers
    to be mugged like a mug a silly bamboozled black like 80,000 careless ethiopians

12. The only good system is a sound system
    Fuck all the racists in England Babylon HQ
    Jah Shaka the Zulu Warrior runs tings in London
    Rasta Crown is their Locks Jah Know Jah Lion

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ml5ZcDBGCUY

13. Does Angela know the level of her ignorance
    Her ignorance knows no bounds
    It is infinite like the grains of sand on a beach
    and the drops of waters in the sea
    and the stars in the sky above
    and all the rain in all the clouds
    Be Aware and Beware
    Don’t become weary and wary

14. POSITIVELY POSITIVE.

15. This blog confirms.

16. Prayer for the End of Covid.

My God! We have had it with Corona virus, Covid 19 and all it’s variants.

In our distress we called to the LORD; We cried to our God for help. From his temple he heard our voice; our cry came before him, and into his ears.

The earth trembled and quaked, and the foundations of the mountains shook; they trembled because he was angry.

Smoke rose from his nostrils; consuming fire came from his mouth, burning coals blazed out of it. He parted the heavens and came down; dark clouds were under his feet. He mounted the cherubim and flew; he soared on the wings of the wind. He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him— the dark rain clouds of the sky. Out of the brightness of his presence clouds advanced, with hailstones and bolts of lightning. The LORD thundered from heaven; the voice of the Most High resounded.

He shot his flaming arrows and scattered the enemy, (corona virus) with great bolts of lightning He uproots, tear down, destroy, overthrow, and routes them. The valleys of the sea were exposed and the foundations of the earth laid bare at His rebuke, LORD, at the blast of breath from your nostrils you destroy corona virus and all the variants

By the blast of God they perish and by the breath of his nostril are they consumed. The roaring of the lion and the voice of the fierce lion and the teeth of the young lions are broken The old lion perish for lack of prey.

For they are now cut down like the grass and wither as the green herb.

Lord Blow them away! Like Tumbleweeds in the desert waste, charred sticks in the burned-over ground. Knock the breath right out of them, so they’re gasping for breath, gasping, “GOD.” Bring them to the end of their rope, and leave them there dangling, helpless.

Let your rock (Jesus) who was cut out, not by human hands, strike this Corona statue on its feet of iron and clay and smash them. Let the iron, the clay, the bronze, the silver and the gold be broken to pieces and become like chaff on a threshing floor in the summer. Let the wind of God sweep them away without leaving a trace. And the rock, Jesus which struck the statue becomes a huge mountain and fills the whole earth.

Let now the stone that smashed the statue become a mighty mountain, and let him fill the entire planet..

Then they will all learn your name: “GOD,” the one and only High God on earth.
    Let Your glory fill the earth as the water cover the sea.

So that the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the LORD as the waters cover the sea..

So that the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the LORD as the waters cover the sea.

God reaches down from on high and took takes of us; he draws us out of deep waters. He rescues us from our powerful enemies; from our foes, who are too strong for us. They confront us in the day of disaster, but the LORD is our support, deliver, and protector.

May de almighty God our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ Continue to Protect us.

Amor Amor Amor 🙌🏿

17. I knew this story was going to have a sad ending. My condolences to the young lady’s family.

The GOB must ensure a full investigation with no cover ups. We remember well the two white English women who were raped in Barbados and ended up assisting their alleged rapist in court as the GOB was prepared to convict an innocent man. It should be noted that the actual rapist is probably still roaming around Barbados.

If negativity equates to more openess and honesty then I am in favour of it. I do not view the world with rose tinted spectacles.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/11/21/update-human-remains-found-in-st-thomas-are-those-of-samara-bristol/

18. The religious bible bashers like GP AC GPII seem to think that God wants Bajans to be subordinated to their white slave masters into perpetuity. They are the victims of stockholm syndrome.

19. Jah Lyrics

Lacksley Castell – Million Miles

A million miles from home, yes
    A million miles from home
    A million miles from home, yeah

Living in a land like this

No place to rest my weary head
    No place to rest at all

One day this mighty kingdom, called Babylon
    Gonna tumble to the ground, one day it bound to fall

Around the walls we go, a million miles from home
    Gonna chant down the great walls of Babylon
    Yes, we’re gonna chant down the great walls of Babylon

Can’t live in a land like this
    Where there’s no love for us all
    Where there is no love at all
    Where there is no love for humanity
    Where there is no love for you and me

(..)

No place to rest at all

Gonna tumble to the ground, yes it bound to fall

Jah Fire

Scientist – East of Scientist Corner (II Pieces)

20. “I knew this story was going to have a sad ending.”

seems like everything now has a sad ending…dire situations…the social landscape just like the economic landscape is deteriorating further and further…can you say land of no return, with a brand new slave master…..

who wants to continue gazing at others and claiming…wuh it happening everywhere..while it also edges closer and closer to consume and end their lives as well, they are welcome..

TLSN….an eye opener will SHOCK THEM…but that’s on them, they had many available years GIFTED to them to REVERSE COURSE and SQUANDERED every one of them by talking shite daily and posting even more shite…… the slavemindedness IS PERMANENT in many/most Black people so they will GO NOWHERE…and with a brand new slave master IN TOW to brag and boast about, am sure they feel nothing but contentment…am so happy for all of them, am over the moon.

Afrikans are moving on, the Slaves are where they want to be.

21. Every Dub Shall Scrub

Aswad
    Warrior Charge
    Babylon Soundtrack

22. Crown Prince of Reggae
    Dennis Emmanuel Brown
    The Promised Land

Whoa, well now
    Hey, whoa, well

The promised land
    Going to the promised land
    Yes, the promised land, oh gosh now
    To the promised land, well

Make a step down to Wasmara
    Then we stopped in Addis Ababa
    Made our way to Shshamane land
    Riding on the King’s highway

To the promised land
    Going to the promised land, oh gosh
    To the promised land, whoa
    To the promised land, well

There’s plenty of land for you and I, by and by
    Lots of food to share for everyone
    No time for segregation in the promised land, oh gosh

Take me to the promised land
    Said the promised land, whoa
    Yes, the promised land, whoa oh, oh, oh, yeah

Said we’re riding on the King’s highway
    From Cairo to Kenya
    Made a stop in Wasmara
    Then we made another one in Addis Ababa

The promised land
    Going to the promised land, oh gosh
    Said the promised land
    Yeah, the promised land, whoa

Then I said to myself, give a thanks for the Prophet, God
    For He gave me the teachings so I could see
    The reality of my true being and levity
    There’s a lot of work to be done, oh gosh
    In the promised land

Yeah, talking ’bout the promised land
    Yes, to the promised land
    The promised land
    Oh, oh, oh, the promised land
    Whoa, the promised land
    Said the promised land, whoa oh yeah, whoa

Brother man, what are you doing for the promised land?
    Gotta take your stand and let the Prophets live on, yeah
    There’s work to be done, though you can’t run
    Got a job to be done, so you’ve got to do it
    Even a little by little

Yes, the promised land
    Said the promised land

Prophets of the old, said the west got to perish, eh, oh
    Don’t let your hopes and aspirations drown before you, no way
    Gotta go, gotta go, got to go
    I got to go, got to go
    To the promised land, oh gosh
    Yeah, the promised land, whoa

A New Chapter of Dub
    Aswad
    Dub Fire

23. This is every parent’s fear. Doesn’t matter where the final destination is.

-At MCO waiting for a flight to Newark.
    The last thing I told my son.. Make certain the car has gas before you leave home. Going to a gas station this early in the morning has risks. —

The parents have my sincere sympathy.

24. Jah Bible

MATTHEW 22:14 “For many are called, but few [are] chosen.”

Unforgettables – Many A Call

Upsetters – Chosen Dub

25. Looking at the floor. There are three bottles on the floor a few feet from an almost empty trashcan. There is a disposable mask on the ground. The washrooms are clean but I have seen washrooms where folks behavior was at the worst.

If you have a cleaner/janitor in your family show them a little love.

26. ‘The religious bible bashers like GP AC GPII seem to think that God wants Bajans to be subordinated to their white slave masters into perpetuity. ‘

Would call them Bible thumpers.

27. Easy come
    Easy Go
    Life after Republic

https://youtu.be/hdB8qRDNNNY

28. Theo…the sunday times has a hell of an enlightening article about the new ownership of the island…comes as no surprise…

29. Psalm 19:14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD

The Gatherers – Words Of My Mouth

The Upsetters – Word A Mouth Dub

30. I forgot to mention … my 84-year old mom drove me to the airport and as I was leaving the home she gave me a sandwich that she prepared.

How old do you have to be, before you stop being mom’s “little boy”?

31. “Theo…the sunday times has a hell of an enlightening article about the new ownership of the island…comes as no surprise…”

Watching BU is like watching the Black & White Minstrel Show FFS (try watching Spike Lee’s Bamboozled movie to school all y’all ignorant careless African slaves descendants in Mystery Babylon)

Q: How do you start a Revolution?

A:Fire

DEB Dennis Emmanuel Brown – Revolution

The Sunday Times can catch a fire and go to HELL with their filthy dutty propaganda

When White Boys in USA + UK + Iswxyz went to War Droning Young Black and Brown Males in ME and Africa dropping massive Booms destroying infrastructure to seize control of oil fields as their number priority and setting up their New World Odour spying on one and all..

.. China was developing developing world setting up their infrastructure which drove White Puss See Holes Mad

32. Wow
    Not a smoker, but I suspect that even your second hand smoke can get a person high.

33. just in case you missed this note last night.

Pacha…for future reference, there is now a Pan Afrikan Univeristy opened in the last couple weeks in Brazzaville Kongo, just heard a colleague of Nana Cheik Diop, Prof. Theophile Obenga, Prof James Small and Prof, Jeffreys speaking about it, Kemet, Kush and TImbuktu revisted…very impressive.

34. Difficult times indeed to maintain a positive attitude.

https://youtu.be/PLjwWvt8jnI

Alternate link in case Alphabet/Google/Youtube decides to censor the Youtube link:
    odysee(DOT)com/@AussieFighter:8/This-Pivotal-Moment:b

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Pacha…here is the link, first video.

https://african-online-publishing.com/videos/

36. “Wow
    Not a smoker, but I suspect that even your second hand smoke can get a person high.”

Not sure if that is a little dig
    but you seem to have a second level circuit of consciousness
    also known as Anal-Territorial Circuit

Eight-circuit model of consciousness
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eight-circuit_model_of_consciousness

37. Dub you gotta tone the weed down, ya had THEO thinking you were speaking in tongues and he had missed church.
    Waru was that the school asking if anyone had an extremely large stock pot.?

38. DPD,

Sorry! I do not know how I mixed you up with NO. 555’s weed must have found a way through the internet.

39. Lawson…ah see ya getting more and more bored by the second, they won’t let you out.

40. Waru got up early to walk your significant other I see, just filling in some time before coffee and work. Push the emigrate to canada all kidding aside good jobs health care and if enough come maybe we can get a good roti place.

41. Pondering a change of scenery. Canada is on the list, but given current conditions it’s a long term wait and see approach…no hurry since things are very likely to go sideways at anytime, don’t want to get caught up in any of it, not even during a vacation…

42. Bajans are wack
    Jamaicans aren’t

Jah

43. There is a 6:16 video promoting one slave master over the other circulating, those who listened to it said, thngs are not going to go well either way…am now retired yall…lol

44. The natives are speaking out

https://youtu.be/7eCc8yD4UOc

45. Damn straight! This lazy ass slave, lying on her couch, watching the news of the world is generally quite happy.

Condolences to the family of the beautiful young lady, Samara. My happiness is tinged with sadness today on your behalf.

Unfortunately, life is never perfect. Not here, not there, not in the USA, not in Canada, not in the UK, not in AFRICA, NOT ANYWHERE.

NOT EVEN IN OUTER SPACE WHICH HUMANKIND HAS POLLUTED AND MADE INTO A DANGEROUS PLACE.

One can decide to spend one’s days immersed solely in the negative, which never got anybody anywhere. Or one can acknowledge the negative AND THE POSITIVE, which can keep one in the frame of mind necessary to envisage and work towards even greater positives.

My apologies for seeing that Barbados has come a long way from 1834, 1937 and 1965.

Unfortunately, I cannot help but notice that I am lying on my comfy couch and not slaving in the hot sun with a white overseer on a horse cracking a whip over me.

As I get off my couch to go out to MY GARDEN, I cannot help but notice that my neighbours do not emerge from slave huts but beautiful homes as far as my eyes can see. We smile and exchange pleasantries as they pass on their way to work, those who do not have vehicles, that is.

Sometimes we comment and commiserate about some bad situation or bad news.

But at the end of the day we always remember that the 🎵the sun will come out tomorrow🎶 and we will have another opportunity to work towards a much better Barbados.

Some people will not take that opportunity. There are others who will.

And as long as they do….ALL IS NOT LOST!

46. David
    This negativity line is always hauled out when vested interests and their despicable acolytes have carried the feckle masses to a dead end with no clear exit.

In the philosoohy of war it is often proffered that when there is no clear course of action the best thing is to do nothing. And the philosophy of war informs all others.

47. Can we ever say anything positive about the West Indies cricket team that, at stumps, is struggling against Sri Lanka at 113 for 6…… trailing by 273 runs.

48. RE but notice that my neighbours do not emerge from slave huts but beautiful homes as far as my eyes can see
    SO WHAT AND DAT IS ALL TO LIFE?
    WHATS NEW THERE?
    MANY RAISE UP IN beautiful homes AND SOME OF WE OWN SEVERAL
    WE DONT COME OUT OF SLAVE HUTS NO MORE BUT WE ARE LOCKED UP IN DESE PRETTY HOUSES WID BURGLAR BARS

I HAVE ALSO SEEN FOLK LIVING IN HUTS IN SOME OF THE CONTIGUOUS CARRIBEAN COUNTRIES, AND QUITE HAPPILY TOO

I HAVE SEEN AN OLD MAN DESCENDS OUT OF HIS HUT ON HIS ACRES OF LAND, DIG UP SOME DASHEEN AND CUT A HAND OF GREEN FIG AND PUT SOME FRESH FISH IN UM AND HE DEN MEK A BULLION

WE STILL ENSLAVED TO SIN AND SELFISHNESS, AS WELL AS SATAN AND HIS ASSIGNS

AND NOW COVID GOT DE WORLD IN SLAVERY UH LIE?
    SOME SLAVE MASTERS TELLING YA TO COVER UP YOUR FACE TEK A JAB OR YA CANT GO WUK OR SCHOOL
    DEY TELL YA HOW MANY CAN GO TO A WEDDING A GUNERAL A FETE OR ANY FUNCTION CHURCH

ALL WE NEED NOW IS ANOTHER PESTILENCE AND YOU WILL SEE HOW FURTHER ENSLAVED WE WILL BE
    LET US PUNCH DE AIR THIS WEEK AS WE MOVE ONTO THE REPUBLIC

HAIL TO PRETTY SANDRA

49. RE Can we ever say anything positive about the West Indies cricket team that, at stumps, is struggling against Sri Lanka at 113 for 6…… trailing by 273 runs.

WELL SIR WE CAN SAY THAT HALF DE RUNS WERE MADE BY 2 OF THE BAJANS IN DE TEAM
    I WANT DEM GET BEAT BAD

I WANT SIMMONS TO GET POOR RESULTS FOR THE WAY THEY MISTREAT JASON HOLDER AND RICARDO “REMEMBER THE NAME” BRATHWAITHE

I WANT TO SEE BOTH TEAMS UNDER POLLARD FAIL CONSISTENTLY AND PERENNIALLY

IT IS TIME WE SEE THE LAST OF ROGER HARPER

HAIL TO PRETTY SANDRA

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply