One of the challenges of life is the constant battle to detach from an incessant stream of negativity about us. It is not uncommon for those who hold an optimistic outlook about life to be ridiculed by what seems to be a majority. This blogmaster lives it and knows it.

To avoid being suffocated by the constant tide of negative views, it is important to feed the mind with evidence based perspectives. It seems appropriate during the month of November when there will be a psychological need by many to romanticize the past that we remember to embrace an optimistic mindset that says problems are to be solved. We do not live on Utopia.

Based on the sources, Homo sapiens is reported as existing for greater than 300,000 years. We may quibble as usual about the number but the fact is, mankind has been walking the planet for an unimaginably long time. Through the ages mankind has demonstrated untold resilience by overcoming challenges whether man made or tossed up by nature.

It seems a simple task human beings having been given life and the resources of a bountiful planet to experience to enjoy the changing scenes of life in trouble and in joy, we make good use of it.

As is customary the blogmaster often entertains commentators away from the blog to assist with mental stimulation in pursuit of the elusive state of nirvana. One such commentator Steven Pinker, a psychologist presented on the topic – Is the world getting better or worse? A look at the numbers. Some will question his yardstick about matters where quantitative and qualitative approaches get blurred. A reminder no man made constructs are perfect. Our mindset to solve issues presented must be never ending.

Steven Pinker is a professor of cognitive science.

308 responses to “Down With Negativity!”

1. THEO
    THE USA IS A FACADE EXCEPT FOR THE POOR HONEST SIMPLE GOD FEARING PEOPLE THAT LIVE ALL OVER THE COUNTRY

THE SO CALLED ELITE ARE WARPED AND EVIL AND LED BY THE PRINCE OF THE POWR OF THE AIR
    ALSO THE USA IS ON ITS LAST LEGS.

THIS IS SOMETHING ABOUT WHICH I REJOICE ON A DAILY BASIS

BRANDON AND HIS HANDLERS WHO HAVE HIM ON A LEASH OR PUPPET STRING WILL SEE TO THE DEMISE OF THE USA. IT HIS THEIR PURPOSE AND PLAN FOR A LONG TIME NOW.

BUT NOW IT IS “PLEROMA EN CHRONOS”……THE FULLNESS OF TIME HAS COME. TOO SWEET. TOO SWEET.

FOR AS THE CHORUS OF THAT LOVELY HYMN SAYS……..GOD IS STILL ON THE THRONE

THE GOD THAT DOES NOT EXIST TO THE UNGODLY MIND IS REAL, AND IS IN CONTROL

2. Steupse!

3. Artax,

Taking away that pension was cruel.

4. “but we are not a stagnant society, we are constantly evolving.”

And despite all its warts, that is what makes the US still appealing, it’s constantly EVOLVING and don’t have the time to remain stagnant, because they know that stagnation is a slow death……..that’s why there is hope that those demons haunting the environment and still in kill Black mode will also evolve at some point in the near future…then the country will truly be unstoppable…..they are the criminals, along with all the others, bringing it down with their backwardness…..

5. When I mentioned evolution in that regard I was called a cunt with a simplistic mind by “Pacha”.

Oh dear me!

6. Be careful about the Negativity tag and freedom of speech:
    “ China Cracks Down On Blogs – Barbados Deputy PM Mia Mottley Concurs

BFP BFP
    15 years ago

Blog Information “Unhealthy” Says Communist China – Mottley Agrees

When Barbados Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley shook hands with Communist Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao on a Friday afternoon in 2004, she smiled. (People’s Daily here) And even if the Chinese Premier looked about as pleased as if he were being strapped into the chair for a root canal, the two of them obviously share the same ideas about implementing laws to curtail free speech.

On July 14, 2006, Barbados Deputy PM Mia Mottley called for the regulation of internet blogs and call-in radio programmes, saying that call-in shows “will continue to predominate” and that internet blogs “marginalize…parliaments and cause disrespect (for the rule of law and institutions that keep our society safe,)”…

Now, Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley must be looking at Communist China and thinking “Golly, I wish I had that kind of power”…

(Barbados Free Press)

7. Well….she could try but I hope she has since come to a new understanding. We will be vigilant. We MUST be vigilant because our traditional media are bought and paid for mostly.

Where there is no transparency or accountability rumour and conspiracy will abound.

What needs to be monitored, regulated and brought in line is GOVERNMENT. If GOVERNMENT is seen to be acting on the people’s behalf then it has nothing to fear from opposition operatives and other miscreants.

When things are going well, the people can feel it and know.

Until then……