The blogmaster has been a long time admirer of what is perceived as a higher level of expression of love of country expressed by Jamaicans, Bahamians, Trinidadians and a few others compared to Barbadians. A visit to the USA, UK and Canada to name three destinations Caribbean people have emigrated in numbers, you are sure to find ‘spots’ where food and other activities nurture the culture of the countries mentioned. Barbadians on the other hand are known to be more laid back and less visible to compare. 

November is the month we celebrate the lowering of the Union Jack in 1966 – in 2021 there will be the added celebration of the seminal moment we shift to a Republic. We will jettison the Queen of England and install a local, current Governor General Dame Sandra Mason. In theory this SHOULD be a moment that infuses Barbadians everywhere with pride. 

Barbadians have recently been subjected to several critiques of Prime Minister Mia Mottley from the Trinidad space. These so called social commentators have the same MO, first they register admiration of her oratory and other skills, the quick growth of her personal brand on the global stage, then proceed to attack the government of Barbados for its weak economy often citing our debt to GDP which has reverted to north of 140. True to form, Barbadians are quick to share these messages on social media platforms to bolster personal and political agendas.

There should be no argument that on the 24th of May 2018, key economic indicators confirmed the poor state of our economy. In a short three years the condition was made acute because of the ongoing pandemic, ashfall from La Soufrière volcano and hurricane Elsa did not help the cause. The blogmaster will accept the counter-argument that policies of successive governments which Mottley was a member significantly contributed to our current state. We get the political argumentation. 

In the opinion of the blogmaster, these messages being crafted by so called social commentators from neighbouring countries are designed with the purpose to make Barbadians “know their place”. How dare a person from a 2×3 island with an economy in the dumps be perceived as the leader of the Caribbean. In this space Mottley and her government will continue to feel political blows as warranted, however, Barbadians must know when to defend our good name and bare teeth by separating the wheat from the chaff.

Earlier this month Dr. Terrence Farrell a former Governor of the Central Bank of Trinidad and current director of Republic Bank sought to publicly school Prime Minister Mottley on the rudiments of asset liability management in banking after her “off-the-cuff and quip laden” remarks at the Barbados Chamber of Commerce luncheon. It seems Mr. Terrence’s palaver was to deliver a message to Prime Minister Mottley [quoted below]. It is not hidden from some the head of the local banker’s association is headed by the managing director of Republic Bank, Trinidadian.

It certainly doesn’t help when regional governments get economic policy wrong, and then have to restructure their domestic debt, including taking the unprecedented step of restructuring Treasury Bills which banks rely on for short-term liquidity management.

Mia Mottley and the banks

Those attending the BCCI understood Mottley was engaged in what politicians do when a general election is on the horizon with an enraged public up in arms about banks and credit unions charging Barbadians a $6.00 fee for withdrawals at ATMs. The blogmaster is disappointed Barbadians at large – including the traditional media – have not seized the opportunity to defend these veil attacks against the office of prime minister and by extension BARBADIANS notwithstanding political affiliations.

We are Barbadians first!

180 responses to “In Defence of OUR Prime Minister”

1. @Pacha

Are you discussing the issue at hand?

2. David

Yes! Government support for taxi drivers.

3. The magnitude of this profound matter appears not to resonate in both yours and John’s 2 mindset. It’s like a starving population being denied the right to consume food grown on their territory because it is intended for the export market.

Why some of you continue to bury your heads in the sand confirms you are comfortable with the sorry plight of Barbados majority population.

When the unrest commences and law and order crumbles don’t come on BU and express shock that such events could have taken place in Barbados.

4. @David,
    You are a cruel and heartless Devil’s advocat. This contempt for black Bajans will at the appropriate time be countered and remedied.

5. TLSN

David will crack any number of skulls. Go to any length to get the normalcy he craves.

Devil’s advocate? Give him the top job. LOL

6. DavidNovember 18, 2021 3:04 PM

Also it was the small taxi operators who were contracted by the government to provide transportation for incoming passengers to covid hotels to await test results
    Xxx
    So what !those where the days during Covid before big Cruise Industry landed on Barbados soil
    Today there is a different turn of events it seems govt has handed over the kit and bottle to big Cruise and made plans in their best interest
    BTW not only the taxi drivers gonna suffer but all the various entities in Bridgetown as well across barbados

7. @Pachamama,
    This is why I find the mischievous overgrown school boy, GP, a source of mirth.. There are too many government apologists on BU, who are always willing to tow the party line.

8. Tlsn

What days did the cruise ships dump raw sewage into Barbados waters?

Provide the prove / supporting article

9. If you had your way Barbados would be closed for business to tourists and same taxi operators home twiddling thumbs.

Steuspe

10. Tlsn.

If u used to follow the cruise industry u would know the when ships first returned to Barbados/islands that they did bubble tours

Even the small businesses inside the port had complained similar to what’s now happening to the taxis operators .

Now that a lot more bajan are vaccinated and Barbados more opened the ships seems to be still operating in ‘bubble’ mode

Like the small businesses inside the port I expect the taxis complaint to be history now.

U on the other would like it to continue to give u something to stretch

11. If EWB can be remembered as the fatha of independence, Ms. Mockley will go down in history as the mutha of the republic.

12. Another example of how the privileged are given exclusive rights to piss all.over the less privileged
    Xxxxx

Residents living at Chancery Lane, Long Beach Estate, in Christ Church, are upset over the dust, noise, and other negative effects from the construction of a housing project, a joint partnership between Government and developer Mark Maloney.
    They told Nation News that while they welcomed the construction of the houses, Government and the developer had not lived up to their promises made at a town hall meeting to put measures in place to shield them from the noise and the dust.
    The project, called Atlantic Breeze, involves the construction of 267 homes as well as business ventures similar to the Villages at Coverley.
    Kwane Ifill, spokesperson for the residents, said their lives were basically disrupted from Monday to Saturday with dust blowing into their homes and trucks driving into the neighbourhood at two and three o’clock in the morning delivering heavy-duty equipment while sections of the road were damaged and a water main burst on three occasions. (Video by Maria Bradshaw) #Barbados #BarbadosNews #YourNewsYourTimeYourWay #NationBarbados #TheSourceMatters

13. https://www.facebook.com/270969375988/posts/10158000290405989/

Xxxx
    Listen up.folks this sh.it must stop
    Top many examples how the wealth of the mighty rich can step all over the underprivileged

14. Having to beg and plead for a living for proper protection and safety of ones health and property from the might rich is wrong
    When this kind of evilness goes unnoticed by govt
    Then it is time to turn another leaf one that says a right to self preservation is a God given and constitutional right to every humane being

15. ANGELA COLD

U CANT UNDERSTAND THAT BARBADOS GONE TO THE DOGS………RUFF RUFF—LIKE THE REST OF DE WORLD

MANKIND AND MANNISH WOMEN HAVE DEMONSTRATED THAT THEY CAN NOT RULE THEMSELVES OR THEIR INDIVIDUAL COUNTRIES

TIME FOR ANTICHRIST TO TEK OVAH DE WIRL IN THE IMMINENT ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT

CANT YOU SEE THE BIG PRACTICE AND PREPARATION RUN YET?

JUST SHUT UP OLE GIRL

WASH YOUR HANDS
    PUT ON YOUR MASK
    TEK THE JAB
    AND WAIT TO COCK UP AND DEAD

16. GP

Yuh at it again.

Does your fervent support for White devils like Trump. And unconsidered, uncritical devotion to falsehoods not themselves central to these visions of the cavemen as they emerged from the Caucasus Mountains, as the ultimately end-time antichrist nonsense?

What level of madness could be conjured which supposes an ethos against a person or being NEVER to have existed in the first place?

17. PACHA
    I AM A SERIOUS BIBLE STUDENT AND EXPOSITOR , AND HAVE BEEN SO FOR YEARS, SINCE CHILDHOOD
    YOU AND OTHERS ARE SERIOUS STUDENTS AND EXPOSITORS AND BELIEVERS IN OTHER THINGS
    YOU THINK AT THIS OLD AGE I AM GOING TO STOP BELIEVING WHAT I BELIEVE BECAUSE YOU BU JOKERS DONT LIKE WHAT I LIKE?
    I CANT UNDERSTAND HOW YOU CANT UNDERSTAND THAT.

18. No, but you also claim to be a scientist, as well. Within the Afrikan philosophical traditions there are no differences between spirituality and science.

As such, since all you persume to “believe” was mothered by those ancient moorings, should a time not arrive where scientific method informs your religious dogma. Even as a thought experiment.

Because you were criminally miseducated by your parents and have believed lies all your life should not deter you from ruthlessly questioning deeply held beliefs. Your people up until 600 years ago believed that the world was flat as well.

In fact, the reverse should be a truism. Meaning that because you are such an old man you should be afraid of going to the grave after a lifetime of believing lies.

Do you ever wonder why this writer is unafraid of your god. Certainly, if roles were reversed it would have been necessary to understand why no such fear is held despite all of the fire and brimstone promised.

19. RE people up until 600 years ago believed that the world was flat as well.
    THIS WAS VERY STUPID ACTUALLY SINCE IT IS WRITTEN LONG BEFORE THEN IN PSALM 93 V 2 THAT
    He (THE LORD ) hath made the ROUND world so sure, * that it cannot be moved.

RE Do you ever wonder why this writer is unafraid of your god. NO I JUST THINK THAT YOU ARE STUPID NOT TO DO SO.
    I THINK IT IS STUPID NOT TO SEEK TO ESCAPE THE COMING WRATH OF GOD
    AFTER ALL IT IS WRITTEN THUS IN HEBREWS 10:31 THAT It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.

IT IS WRITTEN ALSO IN ACTS I7:30 -31 And the times of this ignorance God winked at; but now commandeth all men every where to repent: Because he hath appointed a day, in the which he will judge the world in righteousness by that man whom he hath ordained; whereof he hath given assurance unto all men, in that he hath raised him from the dead.

IT IS WRITTEN ALSO IN ACTS Acts 4:12 neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.

RE Certainly, if roles were reversed it would have been necessary to understand why no such fear is held despite all of the fire and brimstone promised. WELL I BELIEVE EVERYONE HAS THE CHOICE TO BELIEVE AND ACCEPT WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS OR TO DOUBT AND REJECT WHAT IT SAYS

NO ONE IS FORCING YOU TO MAKE A DECISION THIS IS NOT BRANDON OR MIA SEEKING TO TAKE A VACCINE THAT MIGHT KILL YOU AND WHICH HAS DOUBTFULL EFFICACY

RE because you are such an old man you should be afraid of going to the grave after a lifetime of believing lies.
    WELL THERE IS NO HARM THERE BUT WHAT IF I WENT TO MY GRAVE AND HAD NOT BELIEVED THE TRUTH?

RE Within the Afrikan philosophical traditions there are no differences between spirituality and science.
    DONT CARE ABOUT the Afrikan philosophical traditions, I AM JUST A SIMPLE BIBLE SCHOLAR. LETS SAY THAT MY LITTLE BRAIN IS TOO SMALL TO BE CONSUMED WITH TOO MANY THINGS. I JUST TRY TO KEEP IT SIMPLE.

RE scientific method informs your religious dogma. Even as a thought experiment.
    I DONT KNOW HOW TO RELATE scientific method informs TO BIBLE DOCTRINE AS A THOUGHT EXPERIMENT….I SEEK ONLY TO RECIEVE REVELATION VIA MY INDWELL ING PERSONAL TUTOR THE HOLY SPIRIT AS TAUGHT IN I JOHN 2:20 &27

20. We have read your barrages of idiotic quotes for 10 years.

Is it impossible for you to discern that none of that is true. Never happened. Was concocted.

And even if it were, can you only try to prove a pact of lies are not lies by quoting the very lies?

Will it ever be possible to have an orientation where a research question is asked which proves the null or otherwise based on independent sources. The scholarly standard.

21. re We have read your barrages of idiotic quotes for 10 years.
    GREAT
    NOW GO THANK THE DEAR LORD THAT YOU WILL MOST LIKELY TO READ THEM FOR THE NEXT 10 YEARS
    JESUS IS COMING SOON AND WILL NO DOUBT HAVE COME BY THEN THE WAY THINGS ARE GOING

22. GP
    How is it so possible to know, not believe, this with such certainty having not established that such a person existed previously? Has not these types of grandiose claims been made hundreds of times before by people similarly intoxicated with such psychological afflictions?
    Nobody will be coming to save any of us? We must save ourselves! It’s highly unfortunate that the socalled brightest and the best would delegate such divine responsibilities to a fictional character who never existed. “This generation” is the best and worst model of humans we’ve ever had. And that is the closest to survival we’ll ever come. Why do you feel this irrational need to believe such eponymous claims? Why constantly resist efforts to subject such specious claims to rigorous, independent, emprical, verification?

23. A voice note across social.mefia is saying
    The airport us leased out to China for thirty years and the sea port is sold
    Where there is smoke their is fire
    Xxxx
    The opposition has complained numerous times about the lack of transparency coming from this govt
    Would not be at all surprised if the voice note is true

24. Sir Charles has died.

What a national tragedy!

He truly earned his place in the hall of fame of our national heroes. I propose to exchange the rebellious good-for-nothing on the $50 bill with the noble Sir Charles.

25. 1 John 5:13
    These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.

believe and you will know then continue believing
    simple

26. One cannot force one’s self to believe anything.

Either one is convinced of something or one is not.

27. NOT ASKING ANYONE OR FORCING ANY ONE TO BELIEVE ONE THING

2 CORINTHIANS 5:10 STATES
    For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.

YOU CAN BELIEVE UM OR NOT
    I NOT ARGUING THEOLOGY WID BIBLE ILLITERATES IT IS POINTLESS
    2 TIMOTHY 1:12 ASSERTS For I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that Day.

EVERYTHING I KNOW I BELIEVE WHETHER UM IS 123 ABC DOH RAY ME OR ADME
    I NOT ARGUING BIOCHEMISTRY WID BIOCHEM ILLITERAES NIETHER

28. NOW THIS IS WHAT I REALLY BELIEVE

3According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue:

4Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

AINT IT SWEET TO HAVE ESCAPED THE CORRUPTION THAT IS IN THE WORLD THROUGH LUST AND NOT HAVE TO LIE DOWN TO GET UP OR TIEF ELECTIONS TO WIN

AINT IT SWEET TO WIN BY TIEFING AND CONTROL WUH YOU WON BY TIEFING

29. One of the many recent posts that I can add a thing to, but I found this amusing “2×4 stalls for the black businesses to fight over”

Surely a 2×4 stall is a too large for a 2×3 island. We need to set a committee to determine the size of the stalls…

Going to wish a ‘Great Day’ to all. May the Good Lord give you peace.