Some of us have been following the Danny Fenster story, a US journalist sentenced to 11 years in prison by the Myanmar government for alleged breaches to immigration and terrorism laws. Thankfully the latest news is that Fenster was released and should be back in the USA soon.

The blogmaster hesitates to use the word empathetic to hint at being able to understand the challenges of a Western journalist staying true to the mandate of the fourth estate working in a country like Myanmar. It must take unswerving commitment and dedication to the cause – ‘truth to power’.

Why the musings from a lowly blogmaster this day? We live in a world where every cause has a strident defender. It takes a special person with the courage to do what is right; to have the courage of their convictions. How do we as sensible people dispassionately negotiate win win positions where personal positions or narrow interest can accommodate the interest of the collective? After all, a quality whole is the sum of its parts.

How will we be able to nurture a wholesome society operating under an outmoded adversarial political system?

How is our system of parliamentary government relevant if checks and balances in the name of committees of parliament e.g. Public Accounts Committee (PAC), Committee of Privilege etc serve roles in the breach only?

How will we improve our governance system if Auditor General reports are routinely ignored by policymakers and lawmakers?

How can we defend that we live in a ‘free’ country if the justice system is systemically compromised by violating its role that “justice delayed is justice denied’? This includes key actors of the Barbados Bar Association and Disciplinary Committee who are officers of the Court.

Where is the will to stamp out growing lawlessness manifested on our roads by motorists, PSV sector etc? A sector by all accounts shrouded in an uncomplimentary sub culture.

More importantly, where is the will of the citizenry to demonstrate that we are an intelligent and educated people by understanding the importance of holding public officials accountable?

A prominent Barbadian is reputed to have said that one day Bajans will wake up and be unable to recognize the Barbados we live in. What will it take for Barbadians to stay true to the ideals of what is Barbados. 

Our failure to educate citizens to think in a way that nurture a philosophical outlook has led us to where we are presently in a quagmire. We seem to be a people satisfied with meandering to an unknown destination fast. Unaware of the purpose of our existence because of a willingness to remain untethered to a philosophical mooring.

Are we there yet Bajans?

133 responses to “Journey to Nowhere”

1. @ David,
    I fail to see how Barbados could ever become a progressive country for her black majority population. The country requires a total purge from the corruption of its leaders, business communities and her pesky minority communities. If our leaders appear reluctant to govern their people wisely and create a viable lifestyle for her people. Then an argument must be drawn up to find alternative solutions to liberating Barbados black majority population. Short of a Zanzibar revolution which was binary in nature and swift – I fail to see how the natives have any viable future on the island.

2. @Dee Word

Was context not provided to support the non personal inquiry – are we there yet?

Are we there yet is among us.

3. lol
    you see dem come out from de wood work lol cursing stink
    there is ipsima vox and there is ipsimma verba
    if words dont have meaning then they are pointless
    you cant tell a man dat he must interpret a word how you think you want it interpreted

pacha
    dis illiterate never came lower than first in class ever in school
    this iliterate won many schoarship in and after school
    this illiterate has taught some very bright minds from all over the world
    look this illiterate drew you out of the wood work to rant and rave he also brought out ballaams ass
    what has vincent codrington ever done you
    lol

4. Point made! Being literate is not merely a function of any of these alone or the collection of them all.

5. dis illiterate never came lower than first in class IN ENGLISH ever in school
    dis illiterate HAS STUDIED IN EXACT LANGUAGES LIKE HEBREW AND VERY SPECIFIC LANGUAGES LIKE LATIN AND GREEK
    AND USES THE WORDS HE CHOSES WELL……VERY WELL
    dis illiterate DOES NOT HAVE TO PROVE HIS POINT WHEN HE GOES AROUND REAL BRIGHT MEN …AND HE WILL NOT EVER STOOP TO BE MOCKED BY YOU SCUM I WILL ALWAYS MOCK YOU BACK WITH APLOMB

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

The scam that keeps taking. wasn’t Barbados hot and sweaty for everyone not in their right minds to jump into this con game too..never jump into any vehicle built by crooks, when it crashed….you crash too.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/other/bitcoin-price-crash-sees-hundreds-of-billions-wiped-from-crypto-market/ar-AAQLv45?ocid=msedgntp

The price of bitcoin has plunged below $60,000 amid a market-wide crash.

a close up of a sign: Bitcoin price flash crash on 16 November, 2021, causes crypto market dip – Getty Images/iStockphoto© Getty Images/iStockphoto
    Bitcoin price flash crash on 16 November, 2021, causes crypto market dip

Getty Images/iStockphoto
    Ethereum (ether), Binance Coin and Solana (SOL) were among several other leading cryptocurrencies to also tumble in value, dipping by between 5-10 per cent on Tuesday morning.

The price crash comes less than a week after bitcoin hit a new all-time high of close to $69,000.

Follow our live coverage of the crypto market

The overall crypto market fell by more than $200 billion overnight to around $2.6 trillion, having briefly teased $3 trillion during the record-breaking rally last week.

The reason for the price crash is not immediately clear, with several factors potentially contributing to the slide.”

7. POINT MADE SHITE

BEING LITTERATE IS BEING LITERATE
    THE WORD LITTERATE MEANS LITERATE
    WHAT DOES THE WORD LITTERA MEAN
    FROM WHAT HAS IT BEEN DERIVED

8. I WILL NEVER APOLOGIZE TO ANYONE FOR BEING BRIGHT I WILL NEVER APOLOGIZE TO ANY ONE BECAUSE I AM NOT DUMB
    IT IS NOT MY FAULT
    IT IS NOT MY FAULT THAT I MOCK BETTER THAN YOUR ATTEMPTS TO MOCK ME AND DAT I CAN DO IT IN A MORE SUSTAINED WAY

9. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Fly by nighters rarely last. El Salvador started using bitcon as a currency and quickly crashed..and still uses the US dollar as their currency. when fly by nighters emerge with their latest scam, and claiming how better than sliced bread it is…run, not walk, in the other direction

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/satoshi-nakamoto-florida-court-could-soon-reveal-true-identity-of-mysterious-bitcoin-creator/ar-AAQLjr8?ocid=msedgntp

“The family of dead computer scientist David Kleiman has filed a lawsuit contending that he created the cryptocurrency along with Australian programmer Craig Wright using Nakamoto as a pseudonym.

Kleiman’s family are suing the 51-year-old programmer for control of Kleiman’s alleged share of the entire asset, a cache of about a million bitcoins, according to reports.

Kleiman’s heirs allege that he and Mr Wright together were Nakamoto, which gives the family entitlement to half the fortune. Nakamoto is now the 15th wealthiest person in the world. Their net worth is estimated to be up to $73bn (£54.2bn), with crypto holdings in the region of 750,000 and 1.1 million BTC.

“We believe the evidence will show there was a partnership to create and mine over one million bitcoin,” Vel Freedman, a lawyer for the Kleiman family, told The Wall Street Journal.

10. WUNNAH WANNA KNOW WUH LITERATE MEANS?
    WELL READ THIS

When idiots like GP and his limited retinue of christian fascists like Vincent Codrington have nothing of substance to say, like is alway the case, they should shut to feck up. What carbuncles!

THAT IS BEING LITERATE! MURDAH. WHAT HAVE I MISSED HERE?

Vincent Codrington IS A christian fascists BEAUSE HE HAS nothing of substance to say, like is alway the case,
    AND GP IS TO BE HATED BECAUSE HE HAS STUDIED THE BIBLE WELL AND CAN CITE IT AD LIB AND BECAUSE MOST OF YOU HAVE NOT AND HATE WHAT IT SAYS ESPECIALLY WHEN IT CONFLICTS WITH YOUR JOURNEY AND LIFESTYLE

GP IS TO BE HATED BECAUSE HE CAN MOCK THOSE WHO SEEK TO MOCK HIM WITHOUT KNOWING HIM. BECAUSE HE SEEKS TO PROVIDE ANOTHER OPINION

YOU GWINE TELL ME DAT IS LITERATE?
    NOW IF YOU WANNAH SEE LITERATE WAIT TIL I COME OUT DE GROUN

11. I have never met anyone as big headed as a Bajan egg head

12. 555,

Great post about Estonia! I only wish….it really shouldn’t be that hard.

And did I see somebody opine that Barbados is better in 2021 than it was in 1921 and even 1971 but should be further along than it is ? Did I really see somebody say that he is working to bring it up to where it ought to be?
    Well, dog my cat! The whole ruddy world is better than it was in 1921! Many places are better than they were in 1971 but should be further along in 2021.

No need for incessant moaning and groaning and impatient calls for bloody revolution! All that’s necessary is pragmatism mixed with the idealism optimism and realism, clear, unemotional thinking, hard and smart work.

I love it when things are put into perspective!

But that usually gets one a gangbang cussing on BU!

This simpleton awaits Peter’s turn!

Murdaaaaaaaah!

13. David

We npticed that PLT 09:51 has told you what this writer has been telling you for years.

It certainly must be apocryphal that only this morning William Skinner and Pacha.
    said the same thing, on this said thread, to your utter rejection of course.

Is it at all possible that 7 million Frenchmen could be wrong? lOL.

Or are we to come to see that PLT would prove vastly more persuasive.

And if the power of transformation is not first an internal struggle, on what basis could we expect to change external circumstances?

14. Noticed

15. @Pacha

The blogmaster has no issue with being labeled iconoclastic LOL.

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, glad to know re are-we!

I am in basic agreement with your post so absolutely I got de context.

However, I also agree with the slant from @PLT and thus I believe that the remarks re: “What will it take for Barbadians to stay true to the ideals of what is Barbados” miss the basic truth that there is really NO ‘ideals of what is Barbados’!

Based on ALL we NOW know of the underbelly of this nation that’s a tired and tortured fiction about our supposed pristine leadership and high moral standing!

Thus when you also say that “[o]ur failure to educate citizens to think in a way that nurture[s] a philosophical outlook has led us to where we are presently in a quagmire” it also avoids a basic truism: we ARE who and what we want to be as a nation. The electors repeatedly say so!

We are NOT “meandering to an unknown destination fast.”

Rather we are proceeding with deliberative speed and purpose because in fact we are quite tethered “to a philosophical mooring” that says ‘I want mine too and my end justifies whatever means to get there’.

Sorry David but there can be no other conclusion based on the last several years of our elective life…

Let me use a foreign example to avoid any perspective of assaulting my fellow Bajans: a few days ago the Republican state political party voted (by a narrow margin 31-29) to dismiss Liz Cheney as a republican… she is their state rep, of course!

Why? Because she refuses to defend a man who has grossly lied and attempts to destroy his nation’s democratic processes.

Are they NOT moored to what they perceive is a solid philosophical mooring!

Weren’t those who voted to similarly dismiss the doc from her riding under Mam’s guidance NOT educated and philosophically grounded too!

We are where we want to be, boss…(as BT would say) … well at least many are!

Lata

17. Pacha …don’t pack it in yet, it will get worse before it gets better.

situation is deteriorating.

18. David
    The reverse is a truism. In truth and in fact such a mischaracterization is insulting to all the iconoclasts who ever lived.

All three of those writers referred to above cast you as a conservator of ideas now long unhelpful. LOL

19. @Dee Word

There is a lot to unpack in your missive. A point of departure is that all people are intelligent to the point they are capable to plot the correct path that leads to a promise land.

20. RE all people are intelligent to the point they are capable to plot the correct path that leads to a promise land.
    WHAT DOES THAT BIDEN-ESQUE WORD SALAD MEAN?
    DEFINE “”ALL”” “INTELLEGENT” “PROMISED LAND” ” HOW IS THIS “”CORRECT PATH:”” PLOTTED?
    IT IS NOT TRUE TO START THAT all people are intelligent…..BECAUSE ALL IN ENGLISH MEAN ALL.. EVERY LAST ONE OF ANY SUBSET
    EVEN ILLITERATES KNOW THAT THAT STATEMENT IS FALSE AND VERY INACCURATE

21. BALLAAM
    RE Why? Because she refuses to defend a man who has grossly lied and attempts to destroy his nation’s democratic processes.

PLEASE KINDLY TELL US ACCURATELY WHO IS NOW TELLING LIES DAILY AND HAS DONE MUCH MORE TO DESTROY A NATION’S DEMOCRATIC PROCESSES

TELL US PLAINLY AND ACCURATELY WHO HAS DEMANDED THAT A RULING BY THE SCOTUS BE ABANDONED CONTRARY TO THE NATIONS CONSTITUTION

IS IS NOT TRUE THAT ONE OF THE PURPOSES OF THE SCOTUS IS TO ASSIST IN PROVIDING A CHECK AND A BALANCE ON THE PRESIDENT
    ARE YOU NOT A GREATER ASS THAN THAT OF BALLAAM

SHOULD BE IS IT TRUE THAT all people are intelligent

TO ANY AND ALL WHO HAVE READ ANY ENGLISH LITTERATURE IF YOU SAY ECOLOGY WHEN YOU MEAN ECONOMY THAT IS CALLED A MALAPROPISM

22. A malapropism (also called a malaprop, acyrologia, or Dogberryism) is the mistaken use of an incorrect word in place of a word with a similar sound, resulting in a nonsensical, sometimes humorous utterance. An example is the statement by baseball player Yogi Berra, “Texas has a lot of electrical votes”, rather than “electoral votes”.[1] Malapropisms often occur as errors in natural speech and are sometimes the subject of media attention, especially when made by politicians or other prominent individuals. Philosopher Donald Davidson has said that malapropisms show the complex process through which the brain translates thoughts into language.

Humorous malapropisms are the type that attract the most attention and commentary, but bland malapropisms are common in speech and writing.

The word “malapropism” (and its earlier variant “malaprop”) comes from a character named “Mrs. Malaprop” in Richard Brinsley Sheridan’s 1775 play The Rivals Mrs. Malaprop frequently misspeaks (to comic effect) by using words which do not have the meaning that she intends but which sound similar to words that do. Sheridan presumably chose her name in humorous reference to the word malapropos, an adjective or adverb meaning “inappropriate” or “inappropriately”, derived from the French phrase mal à propos (literally “poorly placed”). According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the first recorded use of “malapropos” in English is from 1630,[3] and the first person known to have used the word “malaprop” in the sense of “a speech error” is Lord Byron in 1814.

The synonymous term “Dogberryism” comes from the 1598 Shakespeare play Much Ado About Nothing in which the character Dogberry utters many malapropisms to humorous effect.[5] Though Shakespeare was an earlier writer than Sheridan, “malaprop/malapropism” seems an earlier coinage than “Dogberryism”, which is not attested until 1836.[6]

Distinguishing features
    An instance of speech error is called a malapropism when a word is produced which is nonsensical or ludicrous in context yet similar in sound to what was intended.

ONE REMEMBERS WELL THIS ONE FROM O LEVEL DAYS
    I WILL HAVEMY DAUGHTER INSTRUCTED IN GEOMETRY THAT SHE MAY HAVE A KNOWLEDGE OF THE CONTAGIOUS COUNTRIES

I JUST CONJURED UP THIS ONE
    I HAVE NOW DECIDED TO SEND MY GRAND DAUGHTER TO CLASSES IN ECOLOGY SO THAT SHE MAY ONE DAY PARTICIPATE IN MANAGING OUR ECONOMY

NOW TELL ME IS THE IPSIMA VOX THE SAME AS EXPRESSED IN THE IPSIMAE VERBAE IN THE EXAMPLES ABOVE

23. “DEFINE “”ALL”” “INTELLEGENT” “PROMISED LAND” ” HOW IS THIS “”CORRECT PATH:”” PLOTTED?”

ready steady cut
    Jamal: I just don’t know the point of anything anymore.
    Abuelita: That’s the point.
    Jamal: The mystery? That there is no point?
    Abuelita: That you don’t know the mystery. It’s not about the destination, it’s the journey.
    Jamal: What if I go on the wrong journey? I need a purpose to help me find the right one that’s what I’m missing. My purpose will help me find the right journey which will lead me to the destination.
    Abuelita: No, purpose comes after the destination. Your purpose is the point of the journey, not the motivation for it. Purpose can be a mystery your whole life. Sometimes it isn’t revealed until you’re gone. Like I said. You don’t go looking for your purpose. Your purpose finds you. The way you found me. You and your crazy schemes have given me a reason to live. To keep me fighting in the face of death.

24. GP THE JOURNEYMAN Avatar
    GP THE JOURNEYMAN

I SET OUT ON A JOURNEY TO BE A DR WHO WOULD TEACH MEDICAL STUDENTS….THAT WAS MY PURPOSE AND MY GOAL . I ACHIEVED MY PURPOSE OF BECOMING A DR ON COMPLETION OF MY JOURNEY THROUGH MEDICAL SCHOOL. LATER AFTER A JOURNEY OF PRACTICING MEDICINE FOR 2O YEARS I COMPLETED MY JOURNEY AND BECAME A TEACHER OF MEDICAL STUDENTS IN MANY PLACES

AT AN EARLY AGE HAVEING ACCOMPANIED MY PATERNAL GRANDMOTHER TO PATRONAL FESTIVAL AT ST PAUL’S CHUCRH I SET OUT ON A JOURNEY TO BE A CHOIR BOY. THAT WAS MY FIRST GOAL AND SOUGHT AFTER PURPOSE IN LIFE. I ACCOMPLISHED WHEN I COMPLETED A PROBATIONARY PERIOD AT ST LAWRENCE CHURCH IN I960. I THEN CONTINUED ON THAT JOURNEY AT CH CH PARISH CH. AND EXCELLED ON THIS JOURNEY. THE RESULT IS THAT ——ALTHOUGH IT HAD NOT BEEN MY PURPOSE I BECAME A CHORAL DIRECTOR OF CHOIRS IN MANY COUNTRIES DUE TO MY AMAZING VOICE RANGE THAT ALLOWED ME TO SING ALL FOUR PARTS AT WILL

NOTE THAT I HAVE USED THE WORDS PURPOSE AND JOURNEY CORRECTLY WITHOUT ANY FICTIONAL STORY

25. “GP THE JOURNEYMAN”

Do you know what a Journeyman is

In boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts, a journeyman is a fighter who has adequate skill, but is not of the caliber of a contender or gatekeeper. … While no match for contenders, they may still have a winning record against less-skilled fighters.

26. What is a gatekeeper

In boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts, a gatekeeper is a skillful and well-regarded fighter, but one who does not have the popularity or brilliance of a title contender. They are considered to be a cut above most journeymen.

27. Georgie Porgy pudding and pie
    Kissed the boys and made them cry
    When the girls came out to play
    Georgie Porgy ran away.

28. YOUR ARE SO ILLITERATE AND BIDEN-ESQUE THAT YOU CANT GET A SIMPLE NURSERY RHYME MEMORIZED CORRECTLY
    YOU PROBABLY HAVE A LEADERSHIP ROLE IN BARBADOS

29. “Where am I?”
    Out of the darkness came a quiet voice
    “Nowhere”
    Nowhere?
    Yes, nowhere!
    How could that be? I must be somewhere. Is that the name of this place? Nowhere?
    No! It’s not. It’s where you are?
    What’s the name of the nearest town?
    Everywhere?
    So, if I go there, I’m everywhere?
    No! you would be somewhere else.Just not here.
    But where?
    Over there! Not here! Does, it matter where?
    Who am I talking to? You don’t have any answers?
    What is the question?
    Where am I?

30. THEO
    I GET THE IMPRESSION DAT SOMETIME IN YOUR EARLY DEVELOPMENT THAT YOU SAT BENEATH OR VERY CLOSE TO A CERTAIN SANDBOX TREE. LOL
    BTW THE NAME LODEBAR, THE PLACE WHERE MEPHIBOSETH WAS HIDING IN 2 SAMUEL 9 MEANS “Nowhere”

31. So what is this I been hearing about a no confidence motion in Ms. Mockley?

I hear GP (not our GP) and Dale Marshall up in arms and they got a group of 14 MPs , 12 and the two of them.

Cuh dear man, you all can’t wait for Prince Charles and Camilla to come and officiate at the Republic thing without giving a body gripe.

32. JOHN KNOX SIR
    IS DAT A JOURNEY TO NOWHERE YOU TALKING BOUT SIR?

33. Or in other words “A self-confessed fingerer of men’s botsies”?

Since we are being infantile –

Liar, Liar
    Pants on fire!

No sexual connotations, yeah right!

34. WUH YOU TALKING BOUT WILLIS? LOL LOL MURDAH

35. JOHN KNOX THE EX BARBADOS SCHOLAR POSITED ………So what is this I been hearing about a no confidence motion in Ms. Mockley?
    ANOTHER EX SCHOLAR SUGGESTED IS DAT A JOURNEY TO NOWHERE YOU TALKING BOUT SIR?

I.E no confidence motion AGAINST MS MOCKLEY AINT GOING NOWHERE
    AND A PUN TO SAY THAT THAT IS LIKE THIS SILLY BLOG WITH A TITTLE BOUT GOING NOWHERE WHICH HAS GONE NO WHERE
    SO WHERE DOES A self-confessed fingerer of men’s botsies” COME IN ?”

IS IT NOT TRUE AS PROCLAIMED IN Titus 1:15 . To the pure all things are pure, but to those who are defiled and unbelieving nothing is pure; but even their mind and conscience are defiled.

All things, indeed, [are] pure to the pure, and nothing [is] pure to the defiled and unsteadfast, but even the mind and the conscience of them [is] defiled.
    OF COURSE THE BIBLE NO LONGER MEANS MUCH TO MOST IN BIM ANYMORE

NO CUSS SOME MORE AND BRING YOUR ALLIES WITH YUH WHO LIVE UNGODLY APOSTATE LIVES

36. Sounds so GP.

Heard it this afternoon but it doesn’t seem to have gone anywhere.

37. THAT IS WHAT I WAS THINKING SIR

38. Were you not accused of being a self-confessed fingerer of men’s botsies?

And now you are kissing the boys and making them cry and running away from the girls!

The liar with his pants on fire knows what I mean by “no sexual connotations”.

Nothing to do with you really. This is all about him.

39. I humbly ask John to join me in the cussing. He has shown that he knows how.

A fact that you conveniently ignore.

Johnny knows very well that “effing” stands for “FUCKING”!

DOUBLE STANDARDS are your specialty. I cannot respect that. You are guilty of the very thing you accuse others of doing.

Reminds me of Donald Trump and another person on this very blog with whom you have recently formed an awkward alliance. And that is not all you three have in common.

Hmmmmmmmmm….

P.S. Have you found out yet what the Bible says about divorce? Does that mean anything to YOU?

Another question – is your buddy Johnny celibate or does the Bible grant him an exemption?

Or is it a case of “don’t ask, don’t tell” like it was with the US armed forces and homosexuality until Obama came along and “gave legitimacy to bulling”.

Imagine that this is probably the only thing upon which you and the Royal Wee agree!

In matters of the botsy, you are strange bedfellows!

PUN INTENDED.

MURDAAAAAAAAAH!

40. And there is yet another strange fellow in bed with you two.

Your favourite BLOGMASTER!

WUHLAUS!

41. SINCE YOU SEEM TO BE SO VERY INTERESTED IN WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS ABOUT DIVORCE I HAVE SET OUT BELOW A LIST OF SCRIPTURES OON THIS TOPIC

Divorce Bible Verses
    Bible Verses About Divorce – Divorce is mentioned several times in the Old and New Testament, as God hates divorce, and there are very few exceptions where divorce is allowed in Scripture. God created marriage and intended it to be good for us. When sin entered, so did the breaking of relationships. Divorce has become common today, even among Christians. Let’s take a look at the scriptures that talk about divorce.

Editor’s Note:This is a general collection of what the Bible says about divorce; it does not presume to give advice for specific relationships resulting in divorce. If you are in an abusive relationship or would like to read more articles on divorce please see our suggestions below:;

What Does the Bible Really Say About Divorce?
    12 Traits of an Abusive Relationship
    What You Should Say to a Woman in an Abusive Marriage
    What Is Considered Verbal Abuse?
    The Truth about Emotional Abuse
    10 Habits that Can Lead to Divorce
    10 Hidden Consequences of Divorce

1 Peter 3:1
    1 Wives, in the same way submit yourselves to your own husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives,

Genesis 2:24
    24 That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.

Matthew 5:31-32
    31 “It has been said, ‘Anyone who divorces his wife must give her a certificate of divorce.’ 32 But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, makes her the victim of adultery, and anyone who marries a divorced woman commits adultery.
    Mark 10:2-12
    2 Some Pharisees came and tested him by asking, “Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife?” 3 “What did Moses command you?” he replied. 4 They said, “Moses permitted a man to write a certificate of divorce and send her away.” 5 “It was because your hearts were hard that Moses wrote you this law,” Jesus replied. 6 “But at the beginning of creation God ‘made them male and female.’ 7 ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, 8 and the two will become one flesh.’So they are no longer two, but one flesh. 9 Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate.” 10 When they were in the house again, the disciples asked Jesus about this. 11 He answered, “Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery against her. 12 And if she divorces her husband and marries another man, she commits adultery.”
    Luke 16:18
    18 “Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery, and the man who marries a divorced woman commits adultery.

1 Corinthians 7:39
    39 A woman is bound to her husband as long as he lives. But if her husband dies, she is free to marry anyone she wishes, but he must belong to the Lord.
    Ephesians 5:33
    33 However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.
    Matthew 19:6-7
    6 So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate.” 7 “Why then,” they asked, “did Moses command that a man give his wife a certificate of divorce and send her away?”
    Romans 7:2-3
    2 For example, by law a married woman is bound to her husband as long as he is alive, but if her husband dies, she is released from the law that binds her to him. 3 So then, if she has sexual relations with another man while her husband is still alive, she is called an adulteress. But if her husband dies, she is released from that law and is not an adulteress if she marries another man.
    Deuteronomy 22:19
    19 They shall fine him a hundred shekels of silver and give them to the young woman’s father, because this man has given an Israelite virgin a bad name. She shall continue to be his wife; he must not divorce her as long as he lives.

Jeremiah 3:1
    1 “If a man divorces his wife and she leaves him and marries another man, should he return to her again? Would not the land be completely defiled? But you have lived as a prostitute with many lovers— would you now return to me?” declares the LORD.
    Malachi 2:16
    16 “The man who hates and divorces his wife,” says the LORD, the God of Israel, “does violence to the one he should protect,” says the LORD Almighty. So be on your guard, and do not be unfaithful.
    Matthew 1:19
    19 Because Joseph her husband was faithful to the law, and yet did not want to expose her to public disgrace, he had in mind to divorce her quietly.
    1 Corinthians 7:11-13
    11 But if she does, she must remain unmarried or else be reconciled to her husband. And a husband must not divorce his wife. 12 To the rest I say this (I, not the Lord): If any brother has a wife who is not a believer and she is willing to live with him, he must not divorce her. 13 And if a woman has a husband who is not a believer and he is willing to live with her, she must not divorce him.
    Jeremiah 3:8
    8 I gave faithless Israel her certificate of divorce and sent her away because of all her adulteries. Yet I saw that her unfaithful sister Judah had no fear; she also went out and committed adultery.

Isaiah 50:1
    1 This is what the LORD says: “Where is your mother’s certificate of divorce with which I sent her away? Or to which of my creditors did I sell you? Because of your sins you were sold; because of your transgressions your mother was sent away.
    Deuteronomy 24:1-4
    1 If a man marries a woman who becomes displeasing to him because he finds something indecent about her, and he writes her a certificate of divorce, gives it to her and sends her from his house, 2 and if after she leaves his house she becomes the wife of another man, 3 and her second husband dislikes her and writes her a certificate of divorce, gives it to her and sends her from his house, or if he dies, 4 then her first husband, who divorced her, is not allowed to marry her again after she has been defiled. That would be detestable in the eyes of the LORD. Do not bring sin upon the land the LORD your God is giving you as an inheritance.
    Matthew 19:8-9
    8 Jesus replied, “Moses permitted you to divorce your wives because your hearts were hard. But it was not this way from the beginning. 9 I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, and marries another woman commits adultery.”
    Hebrews 13:4
    4 Marriage should be honored by all, and the marriage bed kept pure, for God will judge the adulterer and all the sexually immoral.
    Romans 7:3
    3 So then, if she has sexual relations with another man while her husband is still alive, she is called an adulteress. But if her husband dies, she is released from that law and is not an adulteress if she marries another man.

Exodus 14:14
    14 The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

HOPE THIS HELPS SOME HOW
    I HAVE NOT EDITED THEM OK

42. @peterlawrencethompson November 16, 2021 9:57 AM “It annoys me when people pretend that the Barbados of yesteryear was some sort of nirvana. It was not. It was a hellhole for the vast majority of the population. Take off your rose coloured glasses. Barbados today is much better than the Barbados of 1971… and the Barbados of 1971 was much better than the Barbados of 1921. However in 2021 we are still called to make Barbados much better than it is.”

Dear Peter: I second your statemmt.

The nonsense that Barbados has declined dramatically since political Independence in 1966 is a lie by those who seek to denigrate black Barbadians, even while pretending not to do so. I see right through them.

I KNOW that your statement is true, because I knew my grandmother who was born in 1879 as well as I know my grandchildren who were born starting in 2009. Barbados in 2021 is a much better place for the majority of people than it was in 1879. And I agree with you. There is much room for improvement.

I sometime wonder if some of the BU people never had a conversation with their parents, or grandparents or great grandparents. Or maybe they are not Bajans at all.

43. I am wondering what the Bible says about getting a covid booster shot. The closest thing the comes to getting a booster shot was the slingshot David used to kill Goliath.

Goliath was like the covid virus. Attacking and killing big strong men. The king of Israel did not know what to do. His champions were woefully inadequate. Man to man combat was a failure. His soldiers needed a boost.

Up came David with his boost… A slingshot.

Wow… I must have been inspired. As it is in the Bible, I will get my booster shot.

44. I have hired two students to research what the Bible says about Barbados Underground.

Research is promising and ongoing. It appears that there is mention of a David and a John. There is a suspicion that John is related to Noah and that his contact reference to water is from repressed family memories of the flood.

There was no mention that of a particular GP, but there is mention of physicians. There is also the beliefs that the wise men came from the North (possibly early relatives of Northern Observer).

There is no mention of Hants.

45. Breaking news.

It appears that an early ignoramus made an error in his calculations, the mark of the beast is not 666 but is actually 555.435ehich rounded to the nearest integer is 555.

46. Last divine inspiration..
    Careful study has determine that PLT is actually a merging of three people mentioned in the Bible… Peter, Luke and Theophilus

Perhaps, this explains the visitor stamp. We suspect these travelling persons from 3 different nations and who wanted to work in all three places.
    ——x—–
    I will encourage you to read your Bibles . If there are passages that you need help with… I am here

Have a great night.

47. If you want to go nowhere, I can take you there

48. Steupse. You think I didn’t know all that? Steupse, man. All who have read the whole submission get my point.

You cannot RASSHOLE throw stones in my RASSHOLE direction.

You have double standards. You fool NO-ONE.

Back to the topic.

Changing channels……

49. Now… let’s see… I missed where Peter neglected to say that Barbados is worse than other places – a cardinal sin here on BU. However, I did not miss where he said that Barbados is better than it was in 1921 and 1971.

But maybe I missed the gangbang cussing that usually accompanies statements such as these.

Let me scroll back…….scrolling…. scrolling… NOPE! NO CUSSING!

PETER HAS ESCAPED UNSCATHED!

No matter.

I see that the happy simpleton now known as Cuhdear Bajan has cut through the crap that is presented here as concern for black Barbadians and discerned what I have long seen.

(This does not apply to William Skinner. He cares.)

Well… now that I have repeated what Peter has said… I await my customary cussing, gangbang stylee!

Thankfully, ten to one has never been murdah for me!

I remain alive and kicking, happy and hopeful in Barbados.

The struggles of life continue here as everywhere else.

Just keeping it real, as always! My contribution to BU.

You are welcome. Lol.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply