Returning to my parked car, I noticed a broken licence plate on my windshield. It looked oddly familiar. Viewing the front of my car confirmed that it was mine.

Every collision I had with that car was while it was parked in a parking lot. The damage was always minor, so I never called my insurance company. Actually, in my 30 years of driving, I have never made a claim – so why continue to pay for car insurance?

UNAFFORDABLE RISKS.

I asked that question to provoke you to think. You would be reckless to knowingly be a passenger in an uninsured bus. You would be depraved to encourage others to join you. Only an idiot of the highest order would drive one after cancelling the insurance.

You should insure against likely risks that you cannot afford to pay if they occurred. Regardless of how careful a driver you may be, if you drop in a pothole, you can lose control of your vehicle. You may be able to afford the repair costs of your vehicle, but not the medical expenses of your injured passengers.

CANCELLING INSURANCE.

An insurance policy is a contract that states what both parties are obligated to do. If you want the insurance, then drivers must agree to the restrictions that are designed to protect passengers. For example, all new drivers must be approved by the insurance company. Minors will not be approved regardless of how competent they are, or how much you want them added to the policy.

If you think that the insurance company’s conditions are infringing on your rights, then you may cancel the insurance policy at any time. But you must still humble yourself and get insured with another company, that may have more onerous requirements. What is not an option is to drive passengers while your vehicle is uninsured.

INDEPENDENT AUDITS.

Every 5 years, we elect drivers to drive our national bus. When our bus needs maintenance, we pay additional taxes to buy the parts, so that all passengers may remain safe. A driver who suggests that we could save money by cancelling our insurance, should not be trusted to drive our bus.

One of the insurance conditions that our drivers hate, is the independent audits. Every year, an independent auditor must tell passengers the actual cost of the bus parts, that our drivers claimed were needed. Every year, the auditor tells us that we were overcharged for the bus parts. But we are so politically divided that we no longer care.

HEARTLESS BARBADIANS.

Barbados has changed much since our Independence. We are no longer guardians of our heritage for our children. Once we can afford to pay the excessive taxes to pay for the overcharged parts, we do not care about the suffering of our neighbours who cannot afford to pay.

We defend and encourage the corruption of our drivers, and willingly wear their red and yellow shirts every 5 years to get them elected. Once we have taken what we can from this country, we are willing to recklessly damage it for our children. How did we become so heartless?

BARBADOS INSURANCE.

Barbados is insured against torrential rainfall, hurricanes and earthquakes, through the Caribbean Catastrophe Risk Financing Facility (CCRIF). Despite not being impacted by a major hurricane or earthquake since our Independence, only enemies of Barbados would encourage our leaders to cancel that insurance.

Barbados is also insured against aggressor nations – our enemies. Commercial insurance is paid out in money. Defence insurance is paid out in blood and military equipment, as soldiers, whom we do not know, will be ordered to defend us. We have taken for granted the deterrent effect of our defence insurance.

WE ARE ALREADY FREE.

Our defence insurance costs Barbadians very little. The Queen commands the British Military, so we simply need to maintain a Governor-General. The Governor-General protects our armed forced from being politicised, and ensures that the annual independent audits are done. Our drivers hate that accountability, and have devised a way to get rid of it.

Our drivers retell the myth that they have told since our Independence – that we need to throw off the remnants of colonialism to be free. We are already Independent and free, but we have chosen to maintain insurance against natural disasters and foreign aggressors. We also want to know when we have overpaid eight times for bus parts.

CANCELLING OUR INSURANCE.

To get their own way, our drivers plan to cancel our defence insurance, without our consent, on 30 November 2021. On 1 December 2021, we will be forced to be uninsured passengers, and they will become drivers – of the highest order.

The BLP, DLP and other political parties, want uninsured passengers – for their own purposes. Our established media do not allow any balanced discussion on the Republic issue. Our drivers’ actions appear unlawful, but not one of the over 900 lawyers on this bus has challenged it in the Courts. Solutions Barbados stands alone.

GENERAL ELECTION.

Our drivers have no mandate, from us, to cancel our insurance. The Bs and Ds are out canvassing, so it seems that they will call an early General Election. It seems that they believe that passengers are so politically abused and economically desperate, that they will vote for their own destruction in exchange for a few trinkets.

Solutions Barbados stands alone in advocating for passengers to remain insured, until they choose not to be. We have 15 Candidates, but Barbadians in every constituency should be given a choice. If you love and fear God, hate corruption, and feel a burning desire to give the people of Barbados a competent alternative, then you may contact us.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

184 responses to “Difficult Conversations – Of the Highest Order”

1. ac, angela cox, Coxable, Angela Skeete, Mariposa, or what other name you choose to call yourself, I’ll REPEAT once again.

The reality is, you are the BIGGEST IMBECILE on BU. I’ve SUCCESSFULLY EXPOSED your LIES on SEVERAL OCCASIONS and that you’re an APPALLINGLY IGNORANT SEMI-LITERATE BUFFOON.

Calling me “sniper police, cyberbully, liar”…… or whatever else you choose to….. does not NEGATE that REALITY.

It REMAINS a FACT that CANNOT be REFUTED or DISPUTED.

2. EmekaNovember 9, 2021 6:21 PM

ac, angela cox, Coxable, Angela Skeete, Mariposa, or what other name you choose to call yourself, I’ll REPEAT once again.
    Xxxx
    I think u left out a few more knucklehead
    The BU archives awaits u

3. This is too easy.

ac, angela cox, Coxable, Angela Skeete, Mariposa, or what other name you choose to call yourself, I’ll REPEAT once again.

The reality is, you are the BIGGEST IMBECILE on BU. I’ve SUCCESSFULLY EXPOSED your LIES on SEVERAL OCCASIONS and that you’re an APPALLINGLY IGNORANT SEMI-LITERATE BUFFOON.

Calling me “sniper police, cyberbully, liar, knucklehead”…… or whatever else you choose to….. does not NEGATE that REALITY.

It REMAINS a FACT that CANNOT be REFUTED or DISPUTED.

4. Thanks.

Sometimes you set off on what you know is a wild goose chase and you find a little golden nugget.

Unlike my mom and sister I have never really watched Nollywood movies, but will try this over the weekend (even if I have to pay for it).

https://jaguda.com/movies-2/nollywood-2/movie-viewing-a-million-madness-part-1-2/

5. Thanks.

Sometimes you set off on what you know is a wild goose chase and you find a little golden nugget.

Unlike my mom and sister I have never really watched Nollywood movies, but will try this over the weekend (even if I have to pay for it).

https://jaguda.com/movies-2/nollywood-2/movie-viewing-a-million-madness-part-1-2/

6. Recommendations will be accepted.

Thanks.

7. EmekaNovember 9, 2021 6:48 PM

This is too easy.

Xxxxxxx
    Laughing my a.sss off watching me mek.a fool of u

That is so easy

Run up and come again
    Await uh response kuncklehead

8. Let it be clear.
    Not picking-up fire rage.

9. I have a friend whose name is James Adams. He is affectionately as ‘Jimmy.’

You would say he is a liar, because when you Googled that name you saw:

Jimmy Adams
    James Clive Adams is a former Jamaican cricketer, who represented the West Indies as player and captain during his career. He was a steady left-handed batsman, useful left-arm orthodox spin bowler and good fielder, especially in the gully position. He was also an occasional wicketkeeper when required.Wikipedia

Then you would come to BU and ‘say,’ “Unlike my mom and sister I have never really watched cricket, but will try this over the weekend (even if I have to pay for it).”

How ridiculous can one be?

Thanks.

10. Yes, you are correct.

This is too easy.

I’m definitely laughing my ass off watching me mek a fool of u.

Run up and come again. Await uh response kuncklehead.

YOU CAN’T HELP IT.

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif

11. Last word.
    Am I dense? When I Google the name I saw an African actor and a film that may be worth looking at over the weekend. I saw no reference to cricket.

Not getting between you and AC.

12. I have found good music googling some of the names 555 mentioned.

Learning comes from all inputs.

13. Exactly

A picture is worth a thousand words
    Nothing more to say

14. Republic challenge
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY
    colvillemounsey@nationnews. com
    THE MIA AMOR MOTTLEY ADMINISTRATION’S push to make Barbados a republic later this month is being challenged in court.
    Grenville Phillips II, head of the political party Solutions Barbados, is seeking an injunction, claiming that the legislative arrangement recently passed into law in Parliament in relation to the transition to republic status, is unconstitutional.
    The matter was filed in the High Court on October 7.
    However, Attorney General Dale Marshall said he is confident Phillips’ claims will not prevail and that the move to a republic will continue as planned.
    Phillips told the
    MIDWEEK NATION he was not going to speak about his legal submissions to the court as he did not want to run afoul of any legal procedures.
    Acknowledging it was essentially the eleventh hour as it relates to the transition, he described his action as “Barbados’ last chance” to reverse course.
    Too late
    “I went to almost all of the lawyers in Barbados and they all told me that it was too late, that the train has already left. So this is in essence Barbados’ last chance and I can’t afford to have this thrown out on some technicality and neither can Barbados. You have to understand that I do not know these technicalities and I don’t want to go to court and lose on a technicality,” he explained.
    Government announced the plan to move to republic status in September last year. It said then that the time had come to “fully leave our colonial past behind”, although the nation will remain a member of the Commonwealth.
    The transition to republic status is due to take place on November 30 – the 55th anniversary of Independence from Britain.
    Governor General Dame Sandra Mason is set to be sworn in as President then.
    Several opposition parties have raised concerns about the process on constitutional grounds.
    However, Marshall said yesterday that while he applauded Phillips’ activism, the actions of the Government would hold up to the scrutiny of the court. He added his office was preparing a strong defence, and that plans for the republic move would continue without a hitch.
    “I am aware that Grenville Phillips, the leader of Solutions Barbados, has filed a claim in the High Court which alleges in essence that the new legislative arrangements that were recently passed into law by Parliament are themselves unconstitutional. I have also just been informed that he has also sought injunctive relief to prevent the move towards Barbados becoming a republic.
    “I do not believe that Mr Phillips’ claim will prevail in the courts, but I do welcome every instance where a citizen seeks to hold up the actions of the Government to the scrutiny of the courts. That is what our courts are there for, and no matter my views of the merits of a particular claim, actions such as this promote a desirable activism among Barbadians, and they can help to enrich our jurisprudence,” Marshall said.
    He added: “My staff are preparing a very robust defence to Mr Phillips’ claims, and I fully anticipate that our steps towards making a Barbadian our head of state will continue without hindrance.”

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, applause, applause for social activism!

Merits:
    1Firmly establishes Mr Phillips in the minds and hearts of like minded Bajans who believed that the Govt’s “process” toward Republicanism was flawed.

Determination and can-do attitude. Excellent.

2Ostensibly offers a legal transparent look at the recent actions and would help set a legal precedent!

3Gives Phillips greater visibility and acceptance as a warrior for justice!!

Demerits.
    1Amazingly flawed last minute action … distressing to read “I went to almost all of the lawyers in Barbados and they all told me that it was too late”.

This is the SAME man who REMARKABLY argued in these pages that he would not have a lawyer as part of his team (even for his AG matters), and pushed back abaurdly on a now sitting Justice (and others) on that point.

To then read the above is to beggar disbelief how ridiculously the gentleman dismisses PRACTICALITY and reality at his altar of arrogance.

2Some will see his admirable actions as those of a one man band who lacks strategic focus.

Either this action is deliberately last minute to produce the noise (as defeat seems certain) … considerung that he has written extensively on the matter over many weeks to ONLY NOW decide on legal recourse is either remarkably wayward thinking or indeed STRATEGIC!

Of all those who question the “process”, how many DO NOT want the break with the Monarchy ???

Mr Phillips appears to be one of the dyed-in-blue royalist minority… but maybe I have misinterpreted his remarks on this subject … so leaving his motivations aside again applaud him as the AG so sweetly said:
    “[we] welcome every instance where a citizen seeks to hold up the actions of the Government to the scrutiny of the courts. […] actions such as this promote a desirable activism among Barbadians, and they can help to enrich our jurisprudence,” 👏🏿👏🏿👏🏿

16. The action was filed on Oct.7; when is it scheduled to be heard? If the Courts are consistent, it would be sometime after November 30 by that time it would be a fait accompli.

Long live the Republic.

17. @Sargeant

He can shell out a few dollars to have the matter be heard on an urgent basis.

18. de pedantic DribblerNovember 10, 2021 9:27 AM
    @David, applause, applause for social activism
    Xccc

Then the rest of the commentary was such jobby
    Why on earth couldn’t Dribbler just read and let the process takes course
    Early or late GP.stood on a principle as to what he believes is a ramming and a rushed hastened approach by this govt to make Barbados a Republic which gives merit to being challenged on Constitutional grounds
    If the court favors govt approach on technicality it does not remove the taint and a smell of an undemocratic and unconstitutional process many believes to be wrong and a wrong which will make its way into the history books
    Hail to Democracy
    Let freedom ring

19. @Dee Word

On the flip side the DLP is filled with lawyers and they have not seen the need to challenge. Go figure.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, one would have to see the filings to understand on what exact basis Phillips is making his case … but at this lay level I would suggest that BECAUSE the “DLP is filled with lawyers” It didn’t see that a challenge had merit!

@AC… thank you for your words of ‘wisdom’. Clearly as one the DLP legal brains you didn’t see merit in a challenge but can sit here and write such ‘wonderful stuff’ about another paedry leader’s conviction… 🤦🏾‍♂️!

As others have noted: the more you write, the more your brilliant representative abilities and sound political sense shines!

Continue to display such … it serves us well on why we should elect you as our favorite ><=#%^÷🙈🙉🙊🐴

😇 I gone.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

another PARTY leader’s conviction…

That should read.

I am all typos this morn … what’s up with auto type thingy!

22. Dribbler
    As others have noted: the more you write, the more your brilliant representative abilities and sound political sense shines

Xxxxx
    Continue with your stupid insults and brilliant commentary which represents jobby

23. Meanwhile n the court of public opinion the AG gives his opinion on a legal matter that is in the hands of the court
    So fking disrespectful of a legal process which has to be resolved by legal proceedings within in the court
    His intent to sway public and court opinion is obvious
    What a diffus

24. The AG here is a person while in opposition made bold statements about crime in Barbados
    Now under his watch bandits are robbing banks shooting customers and employees
    Lol really giving his opinion on the Constitution as Barbados heads towards becoming a Republic
    If he cannot figure how to.put a handle on crime
    Don’t see how he can figure the nuts and bolts in the Constitution tied to Barbados becoming a Republic
    Yet displays an arrogance in a timely manner which should benefit his public opinion

25. “I am aware that Grenville Phillips, the leader of Solutions Barbados, has filed a claim in the High Court which alleges in essence that the new legislative arrangements that were recently passed into law by Parliament are themselves unconstitutional. I have also just been informed that he has also sought injunctive relief to prevent the move towards Barbados becoming a republic.”

“I do not believe that Mr Phillips’ claim will prevail in the courts, but I do welcome every instance where a citizen seeks to hold up the actions of the Government to the scrutiny of the courts. That is what our courts are there for, and no matter my views of the merits of a particular claim, actions such as this promote a desirable activism among Barbadians, and they can help to enrich our jurisprudence,” Marshall said.
    He added: “My staff are preparing a very robust defence to Mr Phillips’ claims, and I fully anticipate that our steps towards making a Barbadian our head of state will continue without hindrance.”

26. The miller is neither playing the role of the devil’s ‘advocate’ or even that of amicus curiae in sympathy with GP No.2.

But GP 11 has always held the position that despite his personal preference of retaining the British monarch as the Bajan Head of State (as a form of insurance against possible invasion) he would go along with the decision to go republic should the majority of voters expressed this wish by way of referendum or in general elections if included in the manifesto of the winning political party or grouping.

The voice (vote) of the people is seen as the voice of their ‘God’.
    Isn’t the British monarch seen as the representative of their God on Earth and merely echoes the voice of the same People?

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Miller, ok I accept your non amicus post as Phillip’s position thus it seems he should be comfortable with this govt position.

For these simply reasons …

1.Every administration since 2000 (the Forde republicanism report; and before that too, really) has said they do want to move this nation away from the Monarchy to a republic form of native HofS.

2.Polls have consistently shown a majority of Bajans in favor of such a move.

1 and 2 coalesce to reflect Bajans supporting the parties REPEATEDLY to govern this nation as a reflection of the citizens’ desires and intent. … and being that there is NO stipulation for ANY referenda as a public approval in our Constitution I say to you that ;

“The voice (vote) of the people is seen as the voice of their ‘God’….. Isn’t the [local Govt] seen as the representative of their God on Earth and merely echoes the voice of the same People?”

Why should Mr Phillips be troubled!

28. @Dee Word

All agree we function as a republic today. So what is the point?

29. @ de pedantic Dribbler November 10, 2021 4:31 PM

You would make a royally outstanding Queen’s Counsel (QC) even in your own republic!

The AG should consider engaging your ‘lawyering’ skills (and as one of the many nepotistic consultants to this fait accompli) to ‘prove’ Grenville’s case as merely frivolous and vexatious (to the very GG) and a waste of the Court’s time and taxpayers’ money.

You must admit that GP 11’s dogged determination would put to shame even EWB’s “fight” for ‘Independence’ even though the senior bureaucrats at Whitehall, 56 years ago, just wanted to see the back of those administrative parasites.

The modern Royal aides at Buckingham must be finally relieved to see the end of the task of arranging for the distribution of meaningless titles like KCMG and DCMG and so-called official royal visits to the former plantation.

We shall see very soon how loyally republic Barbados will be when the new president and sidekicks are ‘addressed’ in public after November 30th.

Hope you would not take offence when the same ‘Sir’ Grenville No.2 refers to you lot as a republic of ‘royal’ apes.

30. Potential Prime Minister ?

Government’s senior economic advisor Dr Kevin Greenidge sees no need for a Budget speech this year.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/11/economist-no-budget-no-problem/

31. @Hants

Bought some of that mahi-mahi from costco yesterday. cost $23 for a kilo, skinned boned and individually wrapped. Having a filet for dinner today.

32. Bought 2 packs from Costco. Aso Rainbow trout. Buy Salmon from Walmart.

I am a Pescatarian.

33. “Grenville Phillips II, head of the political party Solutions Barbados, is seeking an injunction, claiming that the legislative arrangement recently passed into law in Parliament in relation to the transition to republic status, is unconstitutional.”

Grenville Phillips is blatantly playing a political game grandstanding party posturing to be in the news
    legally he has no locus standi
    which means has not got a leg to stand on
    as he cannot prove personal damage