To whom much is given, much will be required.

Luke 12:48

The result of the 24 May 2018 general elections delivered an unprecedented result to the Mia Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) winning ALL 30 seats in parliament. In the minds of many a clear message was sent by the voting public, it was disgusted with the performance of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government to an unimaginable degree. In the minds of many the Stuart led government surpassed the unpopularity of the Erskine Sandiford administration, no mean feat.

The 30-0 result was confirmation the two main political parties win governments by default. Rising apathy and cynicism in the electorate continues to strike at the heart of how we fashion our so called democracy. Some of the members washed into parliament in 2018 because of public discontentment, do not qualify to be servants of the people. A short three years later with a DLP still working to recover from the 2018 defeat, there is the possibility the DLP will pick up seats having done very little to promote a compelling alternative message to inspire public confidence. Sadly the duopoly is entrenched with no serious challenge from a third party movement.

The BLP inherited a stalled economy and managing during a pandemic and other challenges have not helped the cause. All reasonable Barbadians understand the hostile environment that continues to challenge economic recovery. We get it!

What some of us also see are decisions being taken by this Mia Mottley government comparable to failed former administrations. The first questionable decision was to appoint a 26 member cabinet supported by 2 parliamentary secretaries and several consultants – the justification; many hands make light work. An obvious case of trumping national interest with narrow political interest by removing the threat of a large backbench and rewarding ‘friends’ of the government. In a nutshell, the same old, same old. There is another popular saying, start wrong and you will end wrong.

The next interesting decision was to pay a boutique advisory company White Oak 27 million dollars to advise on restructuring our domestic and foreign debt. While some have agreed negotiating with foreign bondholders required a level of financial expertise to justify contracting White Oak like services, it boggles the mind why the company was retained to restructure local debt. 

Two years in the making of the cancelled ‘Little Island, Big Barbados” tourism campaign at a reported cost of USD750,000 raised questions about the sensible use of taxpayers dollars. A relatively small sum but the process which led to the cancellation of the campaign does not engender confidence in government. A parallel issue is that the birth of the Welcome Stamp idea belongs to Peter Lawrence Thompson and to date the government has not done the ethical thing by giving him recognition. Not surprisingly the DLP and other opposition agents have not seen the opportunity to advocate for the wrong being corrected.

The recent example of the Maloney Scam revelation threads a story of a government bedevilled by controversy. Ironically another controversial decision to import prefab houses from China caught the attention of a weary public. Why was Maloney – who is into construction – not selected to partner with government to supply the houses instead of brokering a deal gone south to procure COVID 19 vaccine? – see Minister Duguid, Who Are the Owners of EWBSB? What it has done is to quickly erode much of the political capital earned from May 2018. 

The blogmaster has a record of giving a new government the opportunity to find its way before levelling criticism. There is no doubt the Mia Mottley government inherited a bad hand. There is no doubt the ongoing pandemic and other challenges have complicated the task of governing Barbados. The blogmaster has been quietly observing for the last three years and what comes to mind is – what a waste of an unprecedented mandate.

To be continued…

228 responses to “Waste of an Unprecedented Mandate”

1. Tell the VOTE BEGGARS very politely to fcuk off…no one needs them….they are way too disrespectful and dispicable…

.time for THE PEOPLE TO TAKE CHARGE of their COUNTRY and THEIR OWN DESTINY…..

.give the FRAUDS their walking papers and TAKE BACK those diplomatic passports and the TEMPORARY IMMUNITY..

TAKE BACK your PEOPLE POWER…

2. Told yall from the time she went on ITV London platform and broadcasted to the WHOLE WORLD that the Black population was MENTALLY ENSLAVED and there was NO FOLLOW UP with experts to reverse the problems…..there was no attempt made to REMOVE the Slave Laws and Slave Codes or any of the other social destruction elements that they kept in place for the last 80 YEARS LONGER THAN NECESSARY to dog the populaiton ….. it was very clear that SOMETHING IS AMISS…

glad to see she bit off more than she could chew this time with that decidedly DUMB ERROR…..of beleiving that we are just as WEAK AS PREVIOUS GENERATIONS…..that went to their graves CLUELESS about what these animals have done to the Black Afrikan population…….. for their own benefit..

3. Ugh!
    Don’t listen to ugly people with bad vibrations and wicked intentions and check the real deal from source material to form your own opinion

Screwface know-a who fi frighten! Screwface know-a who fi frighten! Like I told, they say, “Coward, man”. Gonna keep some bones And all violent man gonna weep and moan. He that exalted him say, “Yeah!” Shall be obeyed. Remember Jah – Jah children deh! Don’t dread no pain. Fear do we go now To the rivers of ungodly waters, we’ll fear no foe (Fear no foe, fear no foe). Wherever I go, Not even the pestilence That crawl at I’n’I Can’t do – wo-wo-wo – me no wrong (just can’t do me no wrong). Oh, now! I tell you what red is! I tell you what I know: (Screwface know-a who fi frighten!) Screwface know-a who fi frighten! Screwface know-a who fi frighten! Wo, now! (Screwface know-a who fi frighten!) Screwface will frighten Screwface! (Screwface know-a who fi frighten!) Long time gone, y’all! (Screwface know-a who fi frighten!) Screwface will frighten Screwface! Wo, yeah! Now! (Screwface know-a who fi frighten!)

4. Not only bit off more than she can chew but exposed the kind of animal that lives within her cunning and unpredictable and one seem.kind and passionate when in want of treats but would in turn bite the hand that feeds it
    Mia words to the voters that put her in authority runs across those lines
    The higher the monkey climbs the more the tail is exposed

5. Steuspe, Mia definitely lives rent free in your head. Hopefully Verla can defend her version of that video circulated during the Christ church West campaign clashing with children when the action starts.

#headsup

6. Making the ITV sham even worse is that when asked in a previous interview what she wanted,…COULD NOT EVEN GIVE A COHERENT ANSWER…..steuppps indeed…

REAL POWER…now rest with THE PEOPLE to get these subhuman stains on humaity OUT OF THEIR LIVES PERMANENTLY…

7. Could even be the same above interview…got sick and tired of watching PURE SHITE over and over, so hardly watch those types of videos anymore, got better ones to stimulate my mind.

8. William…would love to hear your thoughts…on all of this..

9. Rate This
    DavidNovember 4, 2021 5:53 AM

Steuspe, Mia definitely lives rent free in your head.
    Xxxx
    If Verla does the same f. Ups
    she would live in my head
    Country first

10. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    “William…would love to hear your thoughts…on all of this.”
    If you’re referring to the PM address to the Glasgow conference, I really don’t watch or listen to such. As a regionalist, I stand firm that we should have one regional voice speaking in a unified tone . This five minutes of fame in the international media is of no real importance to me.But each leader seems to relish such opportunities. So, Mottley is no different from the others.
    Having said that I can understand why some of us are so excited about such events because it makes us feel a part of the game. I guess therefore it is of some emotional and political value.
    I can’t say that the results justify the efforts. Note I am speaking of all governments / PMs and not our country alone.

11. That’s a definite……but a unified, one voice front is a bridge to far for those who love to parade around INDIVIDUALLY as opposed to a collective…and end up with nothing useful to show as an outcome…

“Having said that I can understand why some of us are so excited about such events because it makes us feel a part of the game. I guess therefore it is of some emotional and political value.
    I can’t say that the results justify the efforts. Note I am speaking of all governments / PMs and not our country alone.”

12. So where are all the HARDCORE Slaves this beautiful morning..

13. More baffled bull sh..it

o There has also been the creation of consultant positions to help their friends get their foot in the door and to be gain personal favour/kickbacks, when you have existing staff members who are well able to execute the tasks. – HR Consultant, 2 Finance Consultants, Tourism Consultant Jose Browne – Welcome Stamp Consultant – Darren Ellis, Aviation Consultant – Non National, Digital Media Consultant – Nicole Forde,

Marsha Alleyne – Chef product officer – Always behind close doors pulling strings to find favour to the minister as the expense of the staff.

Corruption – Kickbacks and Personal Benefits

o Board members and Senor Executives directing business towards their personal companies.

§ Shelly Williams owner of Platinum Services instructing staff that all Fast Track & COVID Testing and Airport Transfers must be done by her business. Collecting rent from BTMI for the new CEO and his family who was living in Barbados when the Minister told the media that no decision was made.

§ Kevyn Yearwood – Foster and Ince –

Now has full control of all the transfers in the Cruise terminal and taxi drivers have to apply to them for access to tours and transfers for Cruise

14. Same old same old.

15. RE Same old same old.
    BUT IS IT NOT TRUE THAT ESSENTIALLY IT IS ‘Same old same old.IN BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BARBADOS?

16. More baffled bull.sh.it
    Did not the people vote for change
    Then how can this be happening under a govt that promised to stamp out corruption and pass integrity legislation
    Should the people Settle for the same old same old
    Asking fuh a friend

17. More baffled bull.sh.it
    Did not the people vote for change
    Then how can this be happening under a govt that promised to stamp out corruption and pass integrity legislation
    Should the people Settle for the same old same old
    Asking fuh a friend

o Salary discrepancies – Persons on the same level having different pay structure.

o High level of favouritism – HR DIRECTOR – Carolene Hinkson – hiring friends and family in key posts and giving higher salaries than existing staff members. She has been hiring her friends from her former organization QEH at BTMI/BTPA

Her Administrative assistant Clyntonia Jones is living proof her the QEH take over, hired in a post that was made redundant to get rid of a former employee.

Carolene is out of the office often travelling to the USA to by clothing for her stores instead of BTMI work, you can find her at her new store Baby Barrel in lanterns mall whilst HR Manager Jameela does all of the work and manages the department. Yet Carolene is getting a hefty salary every month.

Even after hiring her cousin Tenisha Holder as Marketing Manager, she wasn’t satisfied and has now given her a new posting overseas as Senior Business Development Officer in the New York office after a dog and pony show holding fake interviews. So much that the candidates were told nice try but we had someone from the beginning.

18. No one with commonsense and real knowledge of the plant would be interested in any medical marijuana PLANTATION SLAVERY….only lowcrawling wannabe slave masters..would flock……there is BIGGER and BETTER out there outside of low wages and no benefits…

and those in the know will sit back and watch them get SHOCKED…

19. There is too much nastiness and corruption….the island will never rise above it as long as it stays in place.

20. Not so long ago John 2 (?) and a number of politicians were demanding an immediate push to extract as much oil as was possible out of the ground. I suggested that this was not a particularly smart idea.

The link below is instructive. The days of extracting fossil fuels en masse has ended. Some will say Barbados has missed the boat; I would prefer to say Barbados has dodged a missile.

The only game in town is renewable energy so why the delay in government policy?

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/ng-interactive/2021/nov/04/fossil-fuel-assets-worthless-2036-net-zero-transition

21. The sh.it keeps coming

Read ePaper
    Home / Local News / BARVEN challenges stall allocation

BARVEN challenges stall allocation – by Anesta Henry November 4, 2021
    President of the Barbados Association of Retailers, Vendors and Entrepreneurs (BARVEN) Alistair Alexander is concerned about the fairness and transparency involved in the allocation of stall spaces at the New Fairchild Street Market Village

22. Mr BRAVEN, my favourite man!

23. YESDONNA
    THE ALEXANDER BROTHERS ARE HARD WORKING MEN FROM THE BRANDONS AREA WHO AS BOYS WERE ALL FORMER MEMBERS OF THE GRACE BIBLE CHURCH, BRANDONS- NOW IN BIRD’S RIVER, THIS BAPTIST CHURCH EVOLVED FROM A BIBLE CLUB THAT WAS HELD ON BRANDON’S BEACH IN THE LATE 60’S

24. Good things are happening….this site is live but work still being done, another launch is imminent.

https://african-online-publishing.webflow.io

25. During the initial meetings market officials held with vendors from Golden Square, relative to the terms and conditions for the allocation of stalls, persons whose rent were in arrears or operated stalls illegally, would disqualify them from being eligible for stalls in the new market.

However, I understand new stalls were ALLOCATED to several Guyanese and Jamaicans who illegally built and operated stalls on the environs of the old Fairchild Street market, WITHOUT the REQUIRED liquor licenses and health certificates.

A Guyanese woman, affectionately known as ‘Mel,’ who operated illegally in Fairchild Street, went to a particular Minister and a stall was immediately allocated to her, after she was denied market space.

An individual who worked in a stall in Golden Square market for over five (5) was assured he met all the requirements to receive market space. He applied, only to discover illegal non-nationals were given priority over him.

The onus is on BARVEN to PUBLICLY highlight these UNFAIR practices.

26. @Artax

You are well aware illegals are large % of Mr. Barven.

27. @ David

I always thought vendors had to be operating legally…….. paying vendors’ licenses, hawking in designated areas, etc,……. paying BARVEN membership dues, before becoming members of that association.

An association representing a membership, of which a large % is illegal, defeats its real purpose.

28. @Artax

Agreed.

29. Alexander complained to Barbados TODAY that he contacted authorities several months ago regarding 31-year-old Nialle Johnson not being allocated a food stall although he has been paying for a stall in the old market since 2012, and had been given the assurance at that time that the young man would be given his due.

However, Alexander said since then, he has been informed by Manager of Markets with the Ministry of Agriculture, Sherlock King, that Johnson will not be allocated a food stall, but will be given a space to conduct another type of business. Alexander said he understands that all the stalls have been allocated and vendors are expected to begin relocating soon.

Alexander said: “This is madness. If he has a relationship with the market as a food vendor, they just can’t decide then to allocate him a space to do other business. They are telling me what type of business he does and it is not food vending, although he was allocated a space in this old market for food and I can carry you to the exact stall and show you it is a stall built by the market for food.”

Meanwhile, Johnson, who cried out at the unfair treatment meted out to him, said since 2012 he has been paying rent for the food stall, but two years ago he was told to stop and was given the excuse that “the place isn’t good enough for me to be paying rent for”. He said he feels as though he was asked to stop paying rent for the food stall because it was given to another person.

Johnson said he has already bought new cooking equipment for a food stall which cannot be used in the space he has been allocated at the new location.

“I can’t get this here understand. All I could do is to try to fight the best way that I could to try to get what is rightfully mine. I have been paying for the food stall since 2012 and all of a sudden two years ago I was stopped without any explanation,” he said.

The association president said that he wrote to King outlining his concerns about BARVEN being left out of the allocation of stalls at the new market to ensure that the process is fair and transparent.

He said King responded to him indicating that the process of allocation had not been completed, and noted that there were some inhouse matters that Minister of Agriculture and Food Security Indar Weir wanted addressed including the issue of subletting. Alexander said King also gave him the assurance that once decisions were made regarding the allocation of stalls, BARVEN would have sight of the list for the food stalls.

Alexander said: “I am concerned. BARVEN has done all it could to have transparency in these processes and they went ahead with this and left BARVEN has done all it could to have transparency in these processes and they went ahead with this and left us out. Up to this day they haven’t met with me concerning the allocation of these stalls and it has already been completed and now we have to try to deal with Johnson’s case and others we are hearing about.”

Also questioning how the allocation of stalls was done is food stall operator Subrina King who said she feels as though she has been victimized. She said although she has been paying rent for a stall for over 20 years, she has been given a smaller space not as well positioned as newer stall owners who have been allocated bigger spaces.

King has asked for authorities to provide information regarding the criteria used for the allocation of spaces, noting that she needs to understand why vendors who came to the market after it had been condemned are getting a better deal.

“I was surprised when I saw today [November 3] that this is the stall they have given me. It is smaller than the others. By being such a good tenant and doing the right things, including not subletting, I expected that they would do right by me. I was not expecting this when I came today and realize this is what I have been given.

“I prepare my food on the premises and I don’t even think that this has an extractor. There are people who had smaller spaces out there than I had and are getting a larger facility in close proximity despite breaching the lease agreement.”

Barbados TODAY’s efforts to contact Minister Weir and the Manager of Markets to comment on the matter proved futile. (AH)

Read our ePaper. Fast. Factual. Free.

30. @ TLSN November 4, 2021 2:25 PM
    Not so long ago John 2 (?) and a number of politicians were demanding an immediate push to extract as much oil as was possible out of the ground. I suggested that this was not a particularly smart idea. (Unquote).

You certainly have a very good memory.

We wonder what the same ‘john 2’ would say now that his Supreme leader has gone and read the riot act to those whose overuse of fossil fuels has pushed the planet to temperature levels which, if left unchecked, could push the human species to the brink of extinction within the next 200 solar years.

That speech at the COP26 in ‘frigid’ Glasgow has clearly put paid to any plans to extract hydrocarbons off Barbados.

Isn’t this the perfect case of hypocrisy? Why castigate others for ‘polluting’ the planet in order to attract undue attention when you are planning to commit the very same sin in your own environmentally-vulnerable ‘house’?

Who is going to buy the global-warming-causing oil anyway? Is Barbados going to sell its new found wealth of oil to the Saudis or Guyanese or even to the Venezuelans and Nigerians only to succumb to the elusive curse of OIL?

31. Slave Society Barbados…always oppressing and discriminating against Black Afrikans…

32. That’s why i listen to none of the stupid shit…soon we may see in the newspapers that drilling has commenced.

“Isn’t this the perfect case of hypocrisy? Why castigate others for ‘polluting’ the planet in order to attract undue attention when you are planning to commit the very same sin in your own environmentally-vulnerable ‘house’?”

33. A real truth

https://youtu.be/LJQxqTFLSic

34. I must commend ‘government’ for its initial handling of the market issue.

Unfortunately, the process went from one that could be best described as fair and transparent….. to a situation where the basic tenets of good governance, (i.e. transparency and accountability), seem to have been purposely ignored.

‘Government’ contravened the rules it implemented to oversee the allocation of stalls, by allocating them to individuals who were ineligible or did not meet the necessary requirements to receive them.

Reminds me of the inhumane approach they undertook in ‘stopping’ the pensions of those retired NAB employees, some of whom were receiving such pension for as long as 17 years……… without the common decency of prior warning.

35. If more black leaders understood that the countries destiny lays with themselves and the hands of its people
    The fifty African countries would be in a better place economically..spiritually and socially
    The above video speaks a profound truth worth to be listened

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

“by allocating them to individuals who were ineligible or did not meet the necessary requirements to receive them.”
    So what was the basis of award/allocation?

37. Nothing is as it appears.
    On the surface it would appear that they’re improving the market, but behind the scenes there is relocation, reallocation and favoritism. These may be synonyms for corruption

38. William Skinner Avatar

@ Theo
    Nothing new here. Both administrations engage in such activity. The same largesse is applied to government housing programs, debushing and so on.

39. Running around the world stage telling everyone else what they should be doing but managing a slave society AGAINST THE POPULATION and REFUSING TO DISMANTLE IT….and with corruption and all the other dirty ills plaguing the society not addressed let alone reversed..and a DAILY STAPLE…….makes them look a SPECIAL kind of dumb…

40. https://www.nationnews.com/2021/11/04/us-donates-second-tranche-70-200-covid-19-vaccines/

no more running around for counterfeit vaccines…

41. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/11/04/seaside-businessman-told-to-relocate-by-ncc/

that’s all these nasty black sell out everything governments do, make sure the Afrikan population CAN’T SURVIVE…always having to fight off poverty and dislocation…the slave society….get rid of the parliament trash..

42. Can buy 70 percent of stock but can’t pay the COVID MONITORING UNIT
    same old same old

COVID monitors upset at monthslong delay in payment of thousands
    by Kareem Smith
    Industrial relations issues are once again plaguing the COVID-19 Monitoring Unit and causing tremendous frustration among scores of Community Liaison Officers charged with enforcing the country’s pandemic protocols.
    Frustrated workers told Barbados TODAY they are yet to receive thousands of dollars in travel allowances and hazard pay accumulated over the course of the year.
    Making matters worse is an apparent decision to deduct payments from persons who fall ill, even in circumstances where their illness was COVID-19.
    “We are told that the contracts are supposed to be renewed every year and within that first year that you are working, if you are sick, you are not going to get any NIS, even if you have COVID,” said one worker.
    “There were even some whose full salaries were paid and the ministry took back out the salary because they mistakenly paid them during times that they were home with COVID and they took back the money. Employers were told that if anybody contracts COVID they are not supposed to deduct persons’ salaries, but they are doing it,” the source added.
    Sources within the department said the matters reached boiling point recently when they were informed via word-of-mouth that travel allowances accumulated from January to June would not be paid. A source explained that the issue is particularly vexing because they are asked to drive their personal vehicles across the length and breadth of the country to monitor businesses and citizens.
    “It was promised and it is supposed to be paid every month, but this is months now that workers have not been given their travel although they tell you to submit it on the first day of the month,” one worker told Barbados TODAY.
    “You are not getting your hazard pay and you can’t hear a word from Mr Ronald Chapman… and there’s nobody to take your queries to when you want to find out what is happening. We also realised we have been paying in NIS working a whole year and when we checked the NIS office, nothing has been paid in to date,” the source added.
    Another worker said that high-ranking Ministry of Health officers often refer to specific terms and conditions in their contracts, which they never received. As a result, they are “shooting in the dark” when filing complaints about the conditions.
    Numerous efforts to reach the Director of the COVID-19 Monitoring Unit Ronald Chapman on Wednesday and Thursday were unsuccessful.
    However, the Acting Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Anton Best explained that the Permanent Secretary is in the process of making changes to the terms and conditions of the workers.
    “That is really the domain of the Permanent Secretary who deals with HR matters,” Dr Best told Barbados TODAY.
    “I really don’t know the details and I can’t respond to much more than to tell you that the Permanent Secretary is dealing with some of the issues,” the senior public health doctor added.
    In the meantime, this newspaper also received information from an official COVID-19 Monitoring Unit group chat where workers voiced numerous concerns, but received no response from administrators.
    “My travels have been submitted every single month on time. August, September and October. We are in the month of November and still can’t get a cent. ,” said one upset worker.
    “And when you go into the accounts [department], all you get is a lot of run around stories like you’re a little child,” the employee added.
    Another worker pleaded with colleagues to stop grumbling silently among themselves and instead make their grievances known.
    “All officers put their lives and family at risk and while doing this, a number came down with COVID and by extension made their family and loved ones sick as well. No hazard pay,” the worker complained.
    “The doctors and nurses get full gear down to PPE and are well covered while seeing negative or positive persons because they are unsure of the status, and they get hazard pay. Meanwhile, officers (monitoring unit) are on the outside among positive and negative people also, not sure of persons’ status and are given a few masks and a sanitiser… and no hazard pay.
    “I guess officers are nobody,” the worker concluded.
    In March, this newspaper reported on the frustration among officers of the unit over non-payment of salaries for nearly four months. In fact, Minister of Health and Wellness Lieutenant Colonel Jeffrey Bostic declared that there was no excuse for the blunder on the part of administrative officials in his ministry as the unit’s officers threatened to “down their tools”.
    “It is a situation which we really do not like and we are going to do everything possible to ensure that it does not happen again because people must be paid once they have worked,” Bostic declared at the time.
    “People must be paid and paid on time, so we are not going to tolerate any excuses for that not happening,” the health minister added.
    kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb

43. GIVE THEM A DEADLINE BEYOND WHICH YOU WILL NO LONGER WORK!

All of those who are giving you the run around have already received their pay.

44. PM borrows 120 million to upgrade Harrisons point
    Don’t worry folks she says
    The loan payments would not start until inthe next five years
    Barbados debt profile is in the billions and as yet to hear how all of these loans would be repaid
    We have a PM who places decisions in motion that are underscore by what she thinks is best for the country not even having an understanding that critical thought process must be given into those decisions by other members of Parliament in her decision making
    Republic or dictatorship on the horizon
    U be the judge

45. then they bullshit you with long talk about being Bajan and a patriot and a lot of wicked LYING shit…while knowing FOR OVER HALF CENTURY that the slave laws, slave codes STILL ON statute books allows them to commit these anti-Black CRIMES within “the political and slavery structure” put in place in 1636…and THEY DONT WANT TO REMOVE ANY OF IT..

but it can only continue…IF THE POPULATION ALLOWS IT…ya have NO EXCUSE…the SCAM has been exposed FOR THE WORLD TO SEE….and it’s ya black faces in the parliament perpetrating it…no one else, the others are only making sure to benefit, because the traitors continue with the crimes..

continue allowing them to fill ya HEADS WITH LIES and see what happens next…

46. “I feel it is a little unfair… but thank God he left a little access that we could still get into the sea. Our grandparents and all of our children bathed there,” she said.

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply