The Governor of the Central Bank reported two consecutive quarters of growth although it must be stated Barbados economy performed below pre COVID 19 GDP levels – 3.2% to be exact. There was an increase in activity in the tourism sector even as COVID 19 continues to run rampant in the country. The thousands of workers serving the hospitality industry must be happy. The cold reality however is that the economy shrunk 18% in 2020 therefore any mention of the word GROWTH in 2021 must be translated in context.

There is a long, hard road to travel.

117 responses to “Central Bank 2021 Half Year Review – Hard Road to Recovery”

1. Let us continually speak truth to power

AS WITH ALL SMALL SOCIETIES, interpersonal relationships and political affiliation often determine one’s status on the farm. When we accept that all animals are created equal but some are more equal than some, instead of speaking our truth, most of us whisper in secret for fear of being victimised by the elite.
    It takes tremendous courage to speak truth to power in small societies because the repercussions are often quite severe. If your job is not threatened, your business suddenly gets audited.
    The fact remains that persons at variance with the officials are often labelled as liars, traitors or revolutionists until such time as they sing from the same hymn book as the officialdom.
    I would like to take this opportunity to salute Senator Caswell Franklyn and Dr Ronnie Yearwood, in particular, for maintaining their testicular fortitude and honour as they continually share their opinions and insights on issues of national significance, even though they are sometimes chastised for doing so.
    One could understand and certainly reject arguments that are unfounded and baseless, but I am yet to read any of their submissions that were not grounded in fact or logic.
    We may not agree with their positions or opinions, but as the saying goes, “their logic is sound”. There are others who speak truth to power in our society and as far as I am concerned, they are all national heroes. Many of us shy away from conflict or we prefer to allow others to fight on our behalf. We choose the silent path, the path with less risk.
    In any modern democracy, to remain silent or to whisper in secret will eventually lead to a totalitarian
    state where the citizens are enslaved both mentally and physically. We must never surrender our democratic right to object and we must never retreat from articulating our concerns.
    Let us forge the courage of our ancestors. Let us shed the fear of the elitist repercussions, and let us continually speak truth to power.

– SEAN ST CLAIR FIELDS

2. AC
    Respect the differences between a custom and a legal requirement. For these are miles apart. A budget was never a legal requirement. If you think youre right then state the law.

3. The appropriations bill is the legal framework for determining government’s ‘budget’.

4. SEAN St. CLAIR FIELDS

Absolutely correct
    Many speak of democratic rights but when soldiers are called on the battle field to.protect those rights many are missing
    But make no mistake the political foot soldiers are the first to step up on the battlefield to defend and protect the wrongs
    Not everything is written on legal paper as doctrine but there are sound moral rights which call for voices to be heard and speak truth to power

5. David
    Aren’t the appropriation bills not merely the process by which government’s spending is introduced. If so these would be done many times a year and would be a far cry from a constitutional requirement for an annual budget as has been posited, a process not based on a legal requirement an annual budget.

6. @Pacha

How practical would that be? There is the process of introducing supplementals.

7. AC you were asked to quote the law stating a budget has to be delivered.Instead you talk shite about everything foes not have to be in writing.Why is it because you CANNOT STSTE ANY LAW REQUESTING SUCH.You are swiping like blind elder hoping sething sticks and if you are the best the dems have to represent them on here they should call for an immediate refund as you like the political nightwatchman and Rev Atherley are very poor in my view.Just have a lisyen to Atherlry trying to defend Mr Franklyn,s attention grabbing poor behaviour in the recent debate.I gone.

8. William Skinner Avatar

Some memorable occurrences in our Parliament:
    Eric Sealy sitting in the Speaker’s chair and Tom Adams telling the police : “ Do not touch him.”
    One MP pulling a gun on another MP;
    One MP telling another about his mother’s scrunt or was it c….?
    Arthur a former PM declaring it a poor rakey Parliament.

Now how do the above rate with Senator Franklyn , raising his voice , to criticise a measure he did not supoort?
    Furthermore, Senator Franklyn asked the President’s permission to leave the chamber and it was granted.

9. Lorenzo
    Obviously my comment made u fly off the fence
    As a matter of fact I stated only political yardfowls would joined political forces to defend wrong
    Your presence of attacks only prove I was right

10. Skinner
    You already know very well that “these days are funny nights.”

No dissent is to be tolerated at the heart of the system. Especially not against the maximum leader.

11. Things that give pause.

Private sector concerned about slow pace of promised improvements:

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/28/private-sector-concerned-about-slow-pace-of-promised-improvements/

12. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    As you have often opined the center can no longer hold. Recent events in Trinidad are in concord with your position.

13. Appropriation of Expenditure is normally referred to as Budget
    PM mottley has not in usual manner presented one
    This is a law which is written into the Constitution which only the yardfowl fowls by politicks design would attempt to introduce red herring tactics to defend and use as a distraction

CHAPTER IX
    FINANCE
    107. There shall

(1) The Minister responsible for Finance shall, before the
    end of each financial year, cause to be prepared annual estimates of
    revenue and expenditure for public services during the succeeding
    financial year, which shall be laid before the House of Assembly.
    (2) The estimates of expenditure shall show separately the sums
    required to meet statutory expenditure (as defined in section 109(7))
    and the sums required to meet other expenditure proposed to be charged
    to the Consolidated Fund.
    (1) The Minister responsible for Finance shall, in respect of
    each financial year, at the earliest convenient moment before the
    commencement of that financial year, introduce in the House of
    Assembly an Appropriation Bill containing, under appropriate heads

14. Skinner
    Yes, yes!
    What happened in T and T.

15. angela cox October 28, 2021 5:09 AM #: “Only political yardfowls and foot soldiers would defend a govt breaking laws that are clear precise directives for good governance.”

Hmmmm……..

I find you above comment extremely interesting. It’s either you experienced a ‘Damascus moment’……… or, as the ‘old saying goes,’ “confession is good for the soul.”

Perhaps you should review your contributions to BU, during the tenure of the former DLP administration……. and I’m sure you’ll be able to identify instances where you “defended a govt breaking laws that are clear precise directives for good governance.”

So, I hope you don’t become angry when under similar circumstances, people describe you as a “political yardfowl and foot soldier as well.”

16. @ Pacha
    I have sent the article to BU to share . It was in response to the attempt by the opposition to remove the President of T
    and T.
    It originally appeared in the Trinidad Express.

17. AC
    Would have preferred to see whether this is the constitution as argued by you or not.

However, you seem to be quite right in your assertions. For the abstraction definitely says “shall” many times. So it has to be a requirement.

Failure to so do appears to be a breach of law, unless there are provisos unseen.

18. Skinner
    Thanks

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

You know the pendulum is swinging when @ac seems to be correct on anything factual.

20. @ Lorenzo October 28, 2021 8:25 AM

This is one occasion I have to agree with angela cox.

Using COVID-19 as as the reason for not presenting a ‘Budget’ is a VERY POOR EXCUSE.

A ‘Budget’ is simply as ESTIMATE of income and expenditure for a financial year. It isn’t uncommon for any political administration to request supplementary grants whenever the actual government expenditure incurred exceeds the allocations to Ministries, departments, quasi or statutory corporations that were approved by Parliament.

Additionally, Mottley, with a Director of Finance, two ministers and three (3) ministers in the Ministry of Finance, have been unable to present Barbadians with any definitive pre and post COVID-19 socio-economic policies.

Lorenzo, you may ‘like’ these guys, but the reality is, they’re doing an extremely poor job of managing the affairs of this island.

21. Skinner

Just read around the subject in the Express, about 6 articles, for the removal of the president of T and T.

And yuh right! The centre can’t hold. But it seems apocryphal for Barbados.

In Trinidad we have a republican constitution and a republican president.

In Barbados, we have a republican president and a monarchical constitution, in the breach

This smells like trouble awaiting us.

22. ******** Additionally, Mottley, with a Director of Finance, two ministers and three (3) CONSULTANTS in the Ministry of Finance, have been unable to present Barbadians with any definitive pre and post COVID-19 socio-economic policies.

23. A dude was out on a boat in the Texas harbor recently and aimed his camera and the miles and miles of cargo ships as far as the eyes can see. Things are about to become real.

https://www.facebook.com/126206357995/posts/10159794813597996/?sfnsn=mo

24. can’t hide bad management for too much longer…

25. Artax i respect you as one of the only real neutral on here.I agree that the budget should have come by now but i also heard the reasoning of Mr Straughn about the uncertainty of covid estimates at this time.Therefore i give them the benefit of the doubt at this time.However i disagree with you over the job this government has been doing.I believe they are doing the best they can with this worldwide pandemic.These are difficult times as this virus evolves and there is no other party who has ever had to deal with such a difficult situation .In addition, there is no one in the other two main parties who has the capacity to do any better but certainly far worse in these times.Finally, as i have stated this is not amateur hour for any try a thing government.We saw where that got us with Mr Thompson, Mr Stuart etc who were duperior to anyone in the present day Dems or the PDP.I gone.

26. Lorenzo that is a red herring defense
    All Atherley was asking was for govt to.present how the tax payers money was spent in the past year and going forward how much would be appropriated
    All the long talk about COVID is political poop
    Mia said many hands makes for light work
    She has many hands at her disposable to table a Budget for the people
    Atherley is absolute right in placing a Budget card on the table

27. While pushing the population to be subservient to every local and foreign minority crook and telling themselves they will get away with that too…….

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/28/government-must-accountable/

28. @Pacha

Here is the article William shared.

Prominent figures unhappy after rowdy Parliament vote

THE move by the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led Opposition to file a motion in Parliament seeking the removal of President Paula-Mae Weeks continues to be a hot topic, especially given the disorder that reigned in the House caused by the Opposition.

The motion was defeated 47-24 after the vote of the Electoral College was taken in the Parliament Chamber, Red House, Port of Spain.

Several prominent personalities shared their views after the historic vote was taken.
    Former prime minister and former UNC leader Basdeo Panday: “The problem is not with the people. It is with the Westminster system. The system creates that kind of situation and unless we have the courage to change it, and to change the Constitution, then they can act in a certain way. Politicians will continue to act in a particular way …which is not in the interest of the country. I maintain it’s not the people.

“It won’t change. It will get worse. The Westminster system is not suited to us. It is neither full or form. It has no substance. The late former prime ministers Dr Eric Williams and ANR Robinson had the opportunity, but they did not change it. Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar did not want it changed. We keep blaming the President and blaming each other. The problem is the system. It will breed a kind of people that we have. That is my argument. I have been saying so since 1972.

“It is going to get worse until we hit rock bottom and, when we it does, it will explode in violence.”Former foreign affairs minister Winston Dookeran: “The institutions of government were under threat in 1990 with an attempted coup. And I remember it with trepidation and fear. In 2007, in the general election,Ispoke on the political platform under the banner of the Congress of the People. I said ‘The centre is not holding’.

“It is time we restore the glue that holds this country together. The glue that holds our democracy together.
    One such glue is the proper functioning of our parliamentary system. Apart from structure, it’s an important glue in holding this country together.

In this context I am saddened by what is happening at this time in the Parliament of the country. We need to restore the sense of integrity and dignity in our political institutions.”

Former Port of Spain mayor Louis Lee Sing: “I think we have come to a complete circle. It is not now; but for a long time the nation’s Parliament has been used to score cheap political points. And not in the best interest of the people of Trinidad and Tobago, and the Republic. What happened today (Thursday) is an illustration of the abuse of the resources of the people.

We are singing, waving and dancing our colours, whether it be red or yellow, to the detriment of the people. It is time the parliamentarians begin to do their jobs, and do it well. And do it in the best interest of the people. There are no winners, just losers. We are all losers today.”

St Augustine Campus History lecturer Dr Jerome Teelucksingh: “The vote might be historic but it was a waste of time, money and energy, simply, because the Opposition has less than a two-thirds majority in the Senate and House of Representatives. The Opposition might appear impotent but it has a vital role and can use its limited voice to change the dynamics and ensure democracy. The majority of our citizens are aware of the painful reality- this is another unfortunate incident in which our parliamentarians are providing lip-service and smokescreens. Motions to deal with real issues of unemployment, lack of potable water, increasing food prices, illiteracy, drug trafficking, crime, illegal migration and poverty are not being passed.

“Some of us also need to stop believing that certain institutions, commissions and persons are independent. Unfortunately, many so-called independent bodies and individuals have been tainted by politics.
    This lack or absence of independent persons and commissions in T&T is not a problem of 2021, this is one of the deficiencies of the Westminster system, and, more importantly, it reflects the continuing colonial stench in which the party in power is virtually unstoppable. We need to change the paradigm for effective governance.”

Read More

29. Who de he’ll does Ryan Straughan think he is
    After that pass poor excuse makes hard to belive anything written in the long over due budget if and when Mottley delivers one for this year
    Yuh mean to say govt doesn’t have any monetary plans or policies on action to tell which direction the economy would be heading
    How can Mia as finance Minister be in charge of the public purse if she does not know in which direction or directions the taxpayers money would be sent

30. Our Supreme Leader is absolutely right to discard the insane advice of the xenophobic BAMP president. The BAMP president and the opposition are systematically undermining the vaccination campaign and scapegoating fully vaccinated tourists, when the native masses simply do not want to be vaccinated. In fact, it is not the vaccinated tourists who endanger the unvaccinated masses, but vice versa the latter endanger the former.

The masses can choose: vaccinate or recover or die. Our island is overpopulated anyway. Time to change that.

31. Here is a theory.
    Barbados would function just as well without a central government.

One joker in St Lucy wanted a his own airport. I would like one or two of the parishes to declare independence. One island, two states.

Forgive me, but i don’t take this stuff seriously.

32. William Skinner Avatar

Appreciated. Thanks.

33. @Tron
    The masses can choose: vaccinate or recover or die. Our island is overpopulated anyway. Time to change that
    ++++++++++++

As a fervent disciple of the Supreme Leader you have wandered off the path to the Republic, last year the SL said Barbados was short about 80,000 people

34. Government’s Budget was since March 2021! It is called Estimates and Expenditure. Additional expenditure was secured via supplementary votes in Parliament. This week the government laid its mid-year review and the Central Bank released its quarterly report. The absence of a “budget” speech at this time is neither unconstitutional nor negligent as is being purported. Maybe the lady’s handlers should encourage her to take the free online Civics course before exposing BU to her runnings. Then again it seems she’s always in need of loperamide.🤣🤣

35. Persaud to lead Green Fund

One of Government’s financial advisors has a new remit.
    Financial expert Dr Avinash Persaud confirmed yesterday that he will be the man in charge of the Green Climate Fund initiative.
    “Yesterday, the Prime Minister of Barbados announced that she has asked me to lead a team working with the Green Climate Fund to establish an International Green Bank to finance the transition to a more sustainable future locally, regionally and, where appropriate, beyond,” Persaud revealed.
    “I shall be stepping down from chairing the Financial Services Commission, which I had previously announced last month but wasn’t able to give any details at the time. I am excited,” he said about the new undertaking.
    Persaud added that he was aware of the many challenges that officials would be only partly able to address by starting with a modern, digital platform.
    “I will need much assistance and expertise. I am also happy to be leaving the FSC in good shape: self-funded, in new, more tech-suited offices, plenty
    of learning on my part, no major failures and losses by consumers and with new processes that have taken new and renewal of licence applications from 12 to 15 weeks to four weeks for new and zero for most renewals,” the consultant said.
    (BA/PR)

36. @SargeantOctober 28, 2021 8:30 PM

Thank you for reminding me of my loyalty and honour to our Supreme Leader. A good citizen is only one who practices obedience to our Supreme Leader!

I interpret the request for 80,000 New Barbadians to mean that our Supreme Leader does not want a real population increase, but a population exchange of old for new.

Without any doubt, Mia Mottley has already achieved the status of a legend. She has defeated volcanic ash, Elsa, cockroaches, DLP, Donville Inniss and OSA, and is now driving all vaccination opponents to their graves.

No other prime minister since 1966 has slaughtered opponents as efficiently and brutally as she has.

She has proclaimed the republic, restructured the public finances and resurfaced the roads.

No other head of state comes close to matching her.

37. Skinner
    Thanks much to both of you..
    The mess in T and T is what Barbados can expect in the near future. It certainly is unhelpful when this current dictatorial regime showed its hand by going to republicanism without a wide, deep and extended national conversation.

Trinidad has been a republic for decades and still bedeviled by the Westminster system. This is why the intentions of this prime minister Mottley. to do likewise, so far, was always a monumental national misguidance.

We have long been contending that should this venture be approached the errors of the multitude of republican projects elsewhere should have been avoided. Instead we have a woman imbued with a need to put personal legacy above the interests of the nation.

When social scientists start talking about things like “the centre cannot hold” you know yuh got nuff rasssoul problems. These are not social discourses to be taken likely. For they are the military equivalent of the use of nuclear weapons in seriousness.

Notwithstanding all these forces around us, a feckless prime minister can blindly plunge us into a place of immeasurable uncertainty.

On the blue bank.
    Why is it that we are always so anxious to follow prescriptions from the IMF, the World Bank and other international agencies to follow the same cookie-cutter social and economic policies.

Currently in Belize, the government is doing t h e same type policies. It is leading the people to believe that the national debt could be reduced, especially the albatross of a “Super Bond” as inflicted by this party last time around, in exchange for the proceeds from a Blue Bond secured by environmentally sensitive national assets.

A mere neocolonial transaction!

Are these the outer limits of our imagination, as a region?

38. @Pacha

From your reasoning we are digging a deeper hole, we should collapse the system?

39. David

There is a too high possibility that we are, could, especially with the way we’ve started. So yes, in a word.

40. @ Pacha
    You’re on point. Note the fancy term “ Greene “ banks etc
    When are we going to radicalize our cooperatives to move into filling the banking needs of our communities. There will be no land reform or true redistribution of real wealth via any concocted banking system. It’s just old wine in new barrels.

41. @William

The issue of credit unions owning a bank iOS with the credit union movement?

42. Pachamama
    No! T’dad’s problem is not their form of Republicanism. It is the population mix between afro-trinis and indo-trinis (especially Hindu) and an allegiance to their respective “African party” and “Indian party”. No difference to Guyana where a different system of Republican government is practiced. The attempt to impeach the president was pure desperation on Kamla’s part, a woman that needs to go siddung.

43. Enuff
    Expectedly, your argumentations are always geared to protect a certain barley field from burning. LOL.

But seriously, social scientists give weightings to a range of social forces. We suggest those referenced by you are integral but you have erred by supplying too few fire engines for blazes long at their peak.

44. William Skinner
    We’re about to give up. For it is unknowable when we as a people will stop trusting White people and the new trinkets dey always concocting. There is always some trick to distract us, re-enslave us. We fall for it all the time.

Yes, as you know, we’ve been for decades suggesting the credit unionization of all major banking and financial services companies.

Can’t even get a man like David to show an interest in how the Chinese avoided these excuses for development and miraculously bypassed similar circumstances as the Russians during the 1990s, with homegrown economic ingenuity.

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    David is into newspeak and cliches. Attempts or ideas of changing how we think about development has frustrated many a progressive thinker.
    We brag about “home grown “ economic models controlled by the IMF.
    That’s who we are ; borrowing money as economic policy . Now on our third or fourth trip to the IMF and the masquerade continues.
    Every six months the massa comes around and sees how the plantation is being managed. Modern absentee ownership.
    As & WURA says : The slaves believe they are running things. Yes Suh!!!!

46. And apparently as being posted everywhere….the uselessness continues.

Received from a source:

“LETTER TO MIA MOTTLEY

Dear Prime Minister Mottley,

After voting with a sense of hope, and must I add confidence, for the Barbados Labour Party in the May 24th, 2018 general election, I am left with a heavy heart, hurting pockets, and laden with regret.

Though I am still confident in your abilities and commend the considerable strides you have made since being elected to office, the discrepancies are beginning to outnumber the accomplishments – and overwhelmingly so. Therefore, I have taken the liberty to pen this letter and will continue to address my concerns in this format as warranted. It is my supplication that you heed the advice meted out.

Prime Minister, my most pressing concern is the bloated cabinet, clueless advisors, and countless consultants you have sought to appoint to your administration. Your justification that “many hands make light work” has unfolded to be a ploy devised by Hartley Henry to maintain peace within your camp. Unfortunately, the success of that effort must have fallen short of your expectation given the ongoing efforts by some parliamentarians to undermine your leadership.

Prime Minister, though to the surprise of many, I suggest that the $700,000.00 allocated to an unnamed company for a tourism slogan, which was later said to be Virgo Communications owned by your sister-in-law Stephanie von Oppen, should have been tagged to your administration. Indeed, the slogan with a slight amendment could better capture the performance of the 24 members whose collective monthly salary nears half a million dollars – “Little Results, Big Cabinet”.

Despite the many many disparities in government, you continue to reward the incompetence of individuals like Henrietta Elizabeth Thompson with an ambassadorial appointment with responsibility for Climate Change, Small Island Developing States, and Law of the Sea. The terms of reference for this appointment are confusing and lead to an unsettling, incongruous layout of responsibilities, given “law of the sea” is no different than “maritime affairs” a ministerial portfolio held by Hon. Kirk Humphrey. Therefore, I ask in more simple terms, what leverage does Ambassador Thompson have on you?

Prime Minister, with introspection I am certain you would recognize that Ambassador Thompson has been long perceived as a sweet-talking con artist, who adds no meaningful value to the Government’s foreign affairs portfolio. Barbadians were exasperated and profusely enraged by her political theatrics and pageantry in the press conferences while serving at the helm of a COVID-19 communications team. Therefore, it leaves one to question your ability to separate friendship from the proper management of our country’s affairs as you continue to celebrate Ambassador Thompson, a failed politician with consecutive disastrous showings, relegating your Government to a pappyshow with a clueless clown parading as if this is a circus.

What is further anguishing, Prime Minister I am saddened that you were bullied by political fawner Dwayne Grazette for a consultancy position. Dwayne Grazette has no academic qualification, did not complete secondary education but disguises himself as an event promoter and charity worker. This is the same Dwayne Grazette who continues to misappropriate the funds and abuse the generosity of the Sandy Lane Charitable Trust to prey on teenage boys in areas such as Orleans, Chapman Lane, and Richmond Gap offering them money, clothes, and sneakers in exchange for sexual favors. Prime Minister if you are to salvage the integrity of your administration you must sever ties with these manipulators and pretenders.

While I understand your effort to support buggers by way of avoiding a referendum, carefully disguising the immoral deed of same-sex marriage in a tactfully worded legislation for civil unions, those wealthy businessmen who rape the public purse should not be a part of your political brigade at a time where people are suffering and contracts should be tendered and received by suitably qualified and experienced enterprises. Sadly, there is no true hope coming to Landcaster, St. James for the displaced residents of White Hill who were promised the land but given they have no pedigree, Tony Hoyos, the boyfriend of Santia Bradshaw, was given the multimillion-dollar contract through the newly formed construction company.

Prime Minister, while I could be lengthy and condemn individuals like Dominican fugitive Charles Jong who serves as your Director of Communications, or Roger Gill who suddenly is the construction magnate of urban and rural development, I pause to express concern with the formation of this Public Affairs Department, headed by Patricia Parris.

It is alarming that your government would be emboldened to abuse the taxpayers’ money to employ a propaganda unit with a lurcher as Dalton Tyrone Lovell, Tyson Henry (the nephew of Hartley Henry) a known thimblerigger and a concubine like Crystal Austin. Sadly, no amount of window-dressing can hide the fact that yard fowls have come home to roost, and affiliation with individuals like drug lord Ross Ashton and entertainer Lil Rick has been to your detriment.

Prime Minister, you must incline your own heart to common sense and understand that these behaviors and practices are unbecoming of a woman who possesses political tact, and should you persist your popularity will continue to plummet to the bottomless chasm, bringing your colorful reign to an abrupt end.

Sincerely,
    Uncle Felix

Felix Silbert Alfonso Scantlebury (fictional name) is a poor countryman with no university education but attended the school of hardknocks.”

47. So therefore how COULD I with all the ANCESTRAL POWERS vested in my to SEE …not do something about these slimy, dirty tiefing fcukers on OUR continent, not know BEFORE THEY EVEN LEFT….that the intent is to POISON our ancestral lands with their evil nastiness and greed and corruption… how could i not know to prepare for them A YEAR AGO.

i take my assignment very seriously..

“While I understand your effort to support buggers by way of avoiding a referendum, carefully disguising the immoral deed of same-sex marriage in a tactfully worded legislation for civil unions, those wealthy businessmen who rape the public purse should not be a part of your political brigade at a time where people are suffering and contracts should be tendered and received by suitably qualified and experienced enterprises. Sadly, there is no true hope coming to Landcaster, St. James for the displaced residents of White Hill who were promised the land but given they have no pedigree, Tony Hoyos, the boyfriend of Santia Bradshaw, was given the multimillion-dollar contract through the newly formed construction company.”

48. So therefore how COULD I with all the ANCESTRAL POWERS vested in ME to SEE ..

they will try again, criminals never stop, and i will be just as ready…

49. Pacha
    Slash and burn worked very well for the indigenous.🤣🤣🤣

50. Savings up, loans down

By Shawn Cumberbatch shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

Barbadian households have stashed away local currency worth at least $200 million in their savings accounts this year alone and are also borrowing less money from financial institutions.
    This was revealed in new Central Bank data, which suggested that the COVID-19 pandemic’s financial uncertainty triggered a surge in deposits by individuals and businesses.
    While individual Bajans were responsible for nearly half of the $405 million increase in domestic currency deposits at commercial banks, finance and trust companies and credit unions up to September 30, corporate Barbados had deposited most of the $218.1 million in foreign currency saved in that period.
    An overall $623 million has been deposited at financial institutions since the start of this year, threatening to surpass the $691.6 million saved last year.
    The Central Bank said: “Deposits grew by 4.8 per cent on account of higher domestic and foreign currency deposits. The main driver for domestic deposits was the household sector, which accounted for 48.1 per cent of the domestic currency growth.
    “Foreign currency accounts, which represented approximately 6.7 per cent of total deposits, were mainly driven by the business and financial sectors.
    “Foreign currency deposits grew as a result of activity in households and the business sector. The business sector’s increase in foreign currency deposits resulted from the legal and construction industries,” it added.
    Increased savings are occurring at the same time that households are taking out fewer loans, while new lending to companies has been limited.
    “Credit to the non-financial private sector during the first three quarters of 2021 fell by 1.4 per
    cent. Modest growth in new lending related to working capital for the hotel and restaurant and distribution sectors was outpaced by loan repayments,” the Central Bank reported.
    “Loan growth was recorded in the real estate sector primarily due to the extension of new credit. Loans to households continued on a downward trend as outstanding personal debt from mortgages continued to decline.”
    It added that “despite the increase in new credit card debt extended during the third quarter, outstanding credit card debt for the nine-month period was lower than the similar period last year”.
    Loans from deposit-taking institutions to the rest of the financial totalled $255.2 million at the end of the third quarter, down from $262.8 million in 2020. Credit to the non-financial private sector was $8.03 billion at the end of September versus $8.15 billion last year.
    The trend of reduced borrowing this year has continued on from 2020.
    The Central Bank reported that “with the ensuing economic contraction from the pandemic, the ratio of household lending to [gross domestic product] increased by approximately ten percentage points to represent 67.4 per cent of economic activity”.
    However, personal loans “declined by 1.2 per cent for the year, which represented 91 per cent of the overall contraction in the loan books of deposit-taking institutions”.

Leave a Reply to NorthernObserverCancel reply