The Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2  started in late 2019 and quickly spread to become a pandemic the following year. Based on the current state of global response to the pandemic, there is anticipation SARS-CoV-2 will join the family of coronaviruses to become endemic- like the flu. We will have to finalize an effective method to coexist and carryon with our lifes to protect our economic and mental well being.

Earlier this month newly appointed Chief Education Officer Dr. Ramona Archer-Bradshaw indicated the ministry is working on a roadmap to ensure at least 70% of students and teachers are fully vaccinated or a system of robust testing as a prerequisite for class room teaching. She further reported about 9,000 of the 21,000 student population were vaccinated, however the vaccination status of teachers is unknown.

The concern of the blogmaster is about how online teaching is negatively effecting our children, especially at primary level. What is the fallout for children who are ‘wired’ to learn with different learning styles i.e. visual, auditory, kinetic to optimally learn. What will be the impact to the quality of a future Barbados society?

The challenge for education authorities is to efficiently weigh the risk of online instruction compared to class room learning of our children during the pandemic and implement relevant plans to mitigate fallout. There is no perfect plan but we must execute the best plans given what is at stake. The speed at which the Covid 19 vaccine is being administered and the challenges caused by the surge of infections  (see current Covid 19 graphs attached) suggest the current approach of blended learning will have to be the preferred approach into 2022.

The predicament we find ourselves throws out a view to which the blogmaster is sympathetic- should the country suspend the requirement of the 11+ exam,  one example- until we implement an effective remedial syllabus to cater to children being left behind? We must not forget that pre Covid 19 government agreed to address fault lines in the education system.

Having sunk billions in the education system since 1966, we must be capable of having an informed and dispassionate discourse regarding next steps to deliver a quality education to the youth cohort AND importantly EXECUTE the plan to address concerns.

Attached are graphs for week ending 22nd October 2021. The increases are very alarming but it should be noted that the last 2 days’ increases were predominantly from 2 large shut-in clusters in the Black Rock area. Nevertheless, it appears that we are now at the eye-wall of the outbreak. The contact and trace authorities appear to be on the ball. We all should do our individual best to protect each other and thereby quicken eventual control of the epidemic – Lyall Small

237 responses to “BU Covid Dash – Remember the Children”

1. Remember the children.

FDA vaccine advisers vote to recommend Pfizer’s Covid-19 vaccine for children 5 to 11

https://www.cnn.com/2021/10/26/health/covid-19-young-kids-vaccine-fda-discussion/index.html

2. @ GP October 26, 2021 7:10 AM

My leader is our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley. She offers us the best vaccine of the world. And what are people doing? They prefer to die instead of vaccination.

So sad, but government is totally innocent. The citizens are to blame, not our wonderfuld and caring Honourable Ministers.

3. Hopefully the Brits are paying attention to what is happening in the seas around them.

Sure sign the quality of the water being washed into the sea by the floods is extremely poor.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/thousands-of-sea-creatures-wash-up-dead-on-uk-beaches-in-worst-case-ever-seen/ar-AAPXp15?ocid=msedgntp

4. If sewage is controlled, vaccinations are not necessary.

If it isn’t, vaccinations are useless.

5. re My leader is our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley. She offers us the best vaccine of the world

what is dat? biting? Rx BITEMUH prn ?

6. @🐇/🐰
    Sewage and drinking water are not the same thing. Please change your source of water.
    ——x—–

I left the heavy lifting to you guys and returned to find the stone unmoved.
    Give me a few …

7. The Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory reported a record 445 cases – 229 males and 216 females – from 2 223 tests conducted Monday, October 25.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/26/covid-cases-barbados-top-400/

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, would you have your minor child vaxxed based on all we know/don’t know of the vax!

I wouldn’t.

Fortunately they are beyond age limits now and can decide for themselves.

Remember the children indeed.

9. TheOGazertsOctober 26, 2021 6:33 PM

@🐇/🐰
    Sewage and drinking water are not the same thing.

They unfortunately can be!!

People are getting there finally!!

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/is-your-local-river-full-of-sewage-map-of-worst-affected-water-in-england-and-wales/ar-AAPYjzs?ocid=msedgntp

10. the UK has issues with sewage getting into their rivers.

The five areas with the biggest week-on-week rises in the UK in July were:

South Tyneside (up from 767.7 to 1,385.0)

Hartlepool (464.4 to 940.6)

Middlesbrough (384.5 to 838.4)

Allerdale (155.5 to 514.5)

Would be intriguing to match the areas with sewage problems to the areas with largest rises in COVID cases.

11. GP…i will post a video shortly, still finishing listening to it, there is still 10 minutes left…. i will not pretend that i understood anything i heard EXCEPT for 2 words….RICO and CONSPIRACY…and only have one question….when the hell will this NIGHTMARE, real or CONTRIVED GOING TO END….no one asked that question i noticed but they claim their evidence is very accurate..

all am interested in is WHEN IT WILL END….we are already living it, so no use crying over the how, why, where or when…

12. Here it is.

https://fb.watch/8IezyiEwyR/

13. Then there is Holness in another video saying in the JAMAICA PARLIAMENT…that “the pandemic will end when it has KILLED OFF ENOUGH PEOPLE SO THE VIRUS CAN’T SURVIVE ANYMORE”….he said that is how pandemics have reacted in the past….so as the dude in the above video hinted and GP keeps saying VACCINES ARE RELATIVELY USELESS….

not good news either way.

14. Everyrhing is getting murkier and murkier. The lawsuits are being kickstarted.

https://youtu.be/7MBdqnoqU8I

15. As people have said repeatedly VACCINATIONS ARE NOT NEARLY ENOUGH…protocols, protocols, protocols…and during an OUTBREAK…….STAY HOME.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/vaccinations-not-performing-as-well-as-hoped-in-reducing-spread-of-covid-cmo/ar-AAQ1dEm?ocid=msedgntp

16. Dectective Colombo Avatar
    Dectective Colombo

With the third wave of Covid- 19 around the corner, it seems that the disease is here to stay for quite some time. While the world is trying hard to fight the global pandemic, which was recognized by the World Health Organization as a public health emergency on January 30, 2020, and later a global pandemic on March 11, 2020, the world is silently facing another pandemic that is “The Pandemic of Non-Communicable Diseases”. Non Communicable Diseases (NCDs) are a group of conditions that include cardiovascular diseases, Chronic Respiratory diseases, Cancers, Diabetes, and mental illnesses. According to the data of Institute for health Metrics and Evaluation, NCDs represent 70 percent of all global mortality.

According to Global burden of Diseases Data, NCDs cause 28 times more deaths than human immunodeficiency virus, but receive 17 times less funding. The comparison with Ebola, Zika, Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS), and H1N1 is even more damning.

NCDs are chronic and often life-long in nature. These require continuous medical attention usually for a lifetime. If the proper care and treatment is not received, it can have devastating effects for people suffering from such diseases.

Soon after the nationwide lockdown, almost every day we hear unfortunate news about the sudden demise due to cardiac arrests, we hear the surge of kidney failures and other types of non-communicable diseases. With countries trying to contain the spread of Covid-19, the response to NCDs has been impacted. The virus caused great disruptions to healthcare facilities and increased the NCD burden, as people with NCDs are at greater risk of becoming severely infected with the virus. Apart from this, they have risk factors of their own.

We have seen a surge in heart attacks or other such diseases during the lockdown from covid-19, the reason is because people with a history of these diseases need continuous checkups and routine tests, but in these trying times, especially at the time, when nation-wide lockdown was imposed, most of the hospitals were completely restricted to Covid clinics, and most of the private clinics stopped consultations, and even patients themselves were reluctant to go to health care facility centres because of the fear of getting infected. People tend to ignore their illnesses, medications and regular health checks in these pandemic times. Patients with non-communicable diseases require sustained care and cannot afford to delay their consultations. Staying indoors and lack of physical activity also contributed to the increasing rate of cardio-vascular diseases.

The general belief is that non-communicable diseases are risk factors of Covid-19, but NCDs have risk factors of their own. At this time, when the whole world is busy in fight against Covid-19, it is important to remember the role that non-communicable diseases play, and sooner or later this pandemic of Covid-19 will be over, but the deadly and silent pandemic of Non-Communicable Diseases will persist.

17. Unintended benefits, they call it! By the time covid is finished with us, we will have cut our outlandish healthcare bill for years to come.

Deaths from the virus with comorbidities, death from untreated morbidities because of covid, death from stupidities!

I hear a man who lives in St. Philip wants to investigate what the doctors did to kill his wife because he does not believe that covid exists. The man wants to know where this covid now come from!

Looney Tunes all day long on the Looney Tunes channel!

What’s up, Doc?

The whole damn family tested positive.

That’s all, folks!

Murdaaaaaah! Somebody dead!

18. DonnaOctober 28, 2021 7:37 AM

I hear a man who lives in St. Philip wants to investigate what the doctors did to kill his wife because he does not believe that covid exists. The man wants to know where this covid now come from!

Should look at calling the GOB to account.

COVID, unlike Conrad, did not come by duppy airplane flying bout in de sky.

In many cases it was delivered by the GOB in the water to many houses where people had been locked down.

19. Every little bit of information will help going forward. Just to stay alive requires vaccination. At least they are no longer hiding it so stop listing to ya dumbass uninformed leaders and stay far away from tourists they are infected and spreading the virus everywhere. Find another way to survive if you value your life.

“October 28, 202112:15 PM ASTLast Updated 3 hours ago

Healthcare & PharmaceuticalsUK study finds vaccinated people easily transmit Delta variant in households

Reuters

2 minute read

1/2

People walk past a sign encouraging the public to get their coronavirus disease (COVID-19) vaccine doses in Manchester, Britain, October 25, 2021. REUTERS/Phil Noble/File Photo

Read More

LONDON, Oct 28 (Reuters) – The Delta coronavirus variant can transmit easily from vaccinated people to their household contacts, a British study found on Thursday, although contacts were less likely to get infected if they were vaccinated themselves.

The Imperial College London study illustrates how the highly transmissible Delta variant can spread even in a vaccinated population.

The researchers underlined that did not weaken the argument for vaccination as the best way of reducing serious illness from COVID-19 and said booster shots were required.

They found infections in the vaccinated cleared more quickly, but the peak viral load remained similar to the unvaccinated.

“By carrying out repeated and frequent sampling from contacts of COVID-19 cases, we found that vaccinated people can contract and pass on infection within households, including to vaccinated household members,” Dr Anika Singanayagam, co-lead author of the study, said.

“Our findings provide important insights into… why the Delta variant is continuing to cause high COVID-19 case numbers around the world, even in countries with high vaccination rates.”

The study, which enrolled 621 participants, found that of 205 household contacts of people with Delta COVID-19 infection, 38% of household contacts who were unvaccinated went on to test positive, compared to 25% of vaccinated contacts.

Vaccinated contacts who tested positive for COVID-19 on average had received their shots longer ago than those who tested negative, which the authors said was evidence of waning immunity and supported the need for booster shots.

Imperial epidemiologist Neil Ferguson said that the transmissibility of Delta meant that it was unlikely Britain would reach “herd immunity” for long.

“That may happen in the next few weeks: if the epidemic’s current transmission peaks and then starts declining, we have by definition in some sense reached herd immunity, but it is not going to be a permanent thing,” he told reporters.

“Immunity wanes over time, it is imperfect, so you still get transmission happening, and that is why the booster programme is so important.”

Reporting by Alistair Smout; editing by Barbara Lewis”

20. Friend of mine in UK did say months ago that a relative got vaccinated and infected the whole household before she ended up in the hospital and has been there ever since..luckily everyone else recovered…i was waiting for the officials to admit it..

21. Learning occurs through the kinesthetic (movement), auditory (sound), visual (sight) and tactile (touch). Online learning does not cover the bases in the way the face to face set-up would.

Tactile learning will suffer most of all. Teaching CXC science without labs and handwriting without being with the little ones to coach them along can’t be easy.

Teachers spend more and more time supporting their students but there are limits.

22. LONDON, Oct 28 (Reuters) – The Delta coronavirus variant can transmit easily from vaccinated people to their household contacts, a British study found on Thursday, although contacts were less likely to get infected if they were vaccinated themselves.

The Imperial College London study illustrates how the highly transmissible Delta variant can spread even in a vaccinated population.

The researchers underlined that did not weaken the argument for vaccination as the best way of reducing serious illness from COVID-19 and said booster shots were required.

They found infections in the vaccinated cleared more quickly, but the peak viral load remained similar to the unvaccinated.

https://www.euronews.com/2021/10/29/uk-health-coronavirus-britain-households

23. Bajans the new development should be of extreme concern to all. Dr Anne St John has sounded a warning about the relaxed rules for entry. I think the Mia Mottley is following the science auto a T she no longer rationalize what is offered up as advice. At least BAMP is not following blindly as local demographics must always be considered.

24. Dr. Anton Best is the acting Chief Medical Officer, he has defended the revised travel policy. What can we make if it? Does he have a gun at his head? What prevents the CMO et al from stating a position that might contradict the government?

#curious

25. Q What prevents the CMO et al from stating a position that might contradict the government?
    A SIMPLE. A LACK OF INTESTINAL FORTITUDE I.E GUTS…..AND A NEED TO KEEP YOUR JOB. ALL DRS IN BDOS GOVERNMENT EMPLOY WORK UNDER CONTRACT. THEY MUST DO AS THEY ARE TOLD
    HOW WE NEED DRS TODAY LIKE FRANK RAMMSEY WHO IN HIS DAY DEFIED THE GOVERNMENT AND ITS ASSIGNS

26. There are many considerations to balance. On the one hand there is the possibility of dying from covid. On the other hand there is death from starvation. How many will die from covid? How many from starvation?

Ms. Mottley probably figures that she has aggressively sourced enough vaccine to take MOST of us safely through the winter season. Beyond that, she cannot worry too much about right now.

What would be the effect of losing another season?

We may rant and rave about tourism but a clear head knows that reducing our dependence is a long-term endeavour.

So we play the numbers game. How many are vulnerable to covid?

And let me add one more question –

What is the age group most vulnerable to covid?

In other words – who can be expected to die from covid?

One more question – how many young people in Barbados have eaten a good breakfast this morning?

27. One thing I know is that I would willingly sacrifice myself for my son.

Life has so far not given me the opportunity to prove it.

But I do not need proof. Momma bear does not fear.

28. Unfortunately for Mia, she can’t say what I just did.

But on a sinking ship with too few life boats one has to consider who gets to board them.

I would feel sorry for her but being prime minister was her childhood dream. The adult will now have to deal with this nightmare.

29. RE Dr Anne St John has sounded a warning about the relaxed rules for entry.
    WELL ANNE ST JOHN IS A COMPETENT EXPERIENCED “OLD HEAD” WHO KNOWS WHAT SHE IS TALKING ABOUT
    ANNE IS NOT A COMMON BU RUM SHOP CUT AND PASTER OR MEDICAL ILLITERATE YOU KNOW

THE WISER FOLK OUGHT TO LISTEN TO ANNE, BUT ARE POLITICIANS KNOWN TO BE WISE?

IT IS TO BE NOTED THAT ONE MUST NOT CONFUSE Dr Anne St John WITH HER NAME SAKE, THE FAILED EX CMO OF BARBADOS, WHO HAS NOW MOVED ON TO EXHIBIT HER INEPTITUDE ELSEWHERE.

OH HOW WE HAVE DECLINED!

30. The age old adage….be careful for what ya ask, ya just might get it….is ringing truer and truer EVERY DAY….

31. GP…as many of us already knew, we were infected with this virus as far back as Nov and Dec 2019 AND RECOVERED with natural medicine within days, some relapsed and again recovered within days with natural medicine…it was something i never felt before and severely affected my breathing, that was the warning to work on it right away…

“The virus which causes Covid-19 “probably emerged and infected humans through an initial small-scale exposure that occurred no later than November 2019,” a new report from the Director of National Intelligence reveals.

The report, which officials declassified on Friday, says that the US Intelligence Community “remains divided” on whether the SARS-CoV-2 virus emerged through “natural exposure”

32. WARU
    I AM ALWAYS NOW SUSPICIOUS OF ANYTHING THAT IS EMITTED BY US the Director of National Intelligence OR ANY OF ITS OFFICIAL INSTITUTIONS ABOUT ANYTHING–AND MOST ESPECIALLY ABOUT MATTERS OF HEALTH
    THERE SEEMS TO BE A DEARTH OF TRUTH IN THE USA

33. GP…we are in a really bad situation….which can never be understated…