We have seen the transformation of the Barbados economy to service based in the 80’s and 90’s. We are now a small island developing state that depends on tourism, upwards to 60% direct and indirect to GDP and the offshore sector estimated to directly contribute about 10% to GDP. 

In 2016 the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) posted to a public website 11.5 million leaked documents labelled The Panama Papers. Earlier this month an additional 11.9 million leaked documents were posted with the label The Pandora Papers. The leaked documents reminded the world the lengths rich and prominent individuals are prepared to go to open offshore accounts- in order to avoid paying taxes and or to secrete ill gotten gains. The Papers exposed the who’s who of the global community- former presidents, billionaires, celebrities, corporate players et al. 

One may reasonably conclude that many rich people across across geographies see benefits to taking advantage of opportunities tax havens and tax shelters offer. Not every offshore account is illegal, however, persons have been prosecuted as a result of the leaked documents. 

Why should Barbadians believe we do not have our share of tax dodgers and other shady characters operating questionable accounts in murky offshore jurisdictions across the globe? When BU leaked the Cahill documents there was evidence of accounts opened in Guernsey to support the transaction. 

The incarceration in the USA of former minister Donville Inniss for money laundering is believed to be the tip of the iceberg. There is enough fire and smoke to suggest that that local rich and prominent individuals are no less inclined to manipulate the system to siphon money to accounts ‘off grid’.

Here is a question churning in the mind of the blogmaster addressed to whom it may concern – for the avoidance of doubt – individuals like @markmaloney @kyffinsimpson @miamottley @peterodle @halgollop @paulaltman @etal – what is in your outside pocket?

Relevant Link to ICIJ Offshore Leaks Database

90 responses to “Pandora Papers – Greed, a Deadly Sin”

1. Sad.

“Linton, of Chapman Lane, The City, who has been raising the couples’ surviving child Donnya, now 14, is upset that seven years after she and nine other family members filed a lawsuit against six parties involved in the crash, there has been no indication of a settlement and no movement on the case ”

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/24/cry-settlement-arch-cot-case/

2. Davis, who sued Iain Deane, now deceased, who lived in the UK, and other parties, produced substantial evidence – some obtained after police raided Deane’s home – as well as several articles which appeared in two blogs, Barbados Underground and Barbados Free Press.
    +++++++++++++++

Wuhloss! Who penned those articles? Were they ever asked to confirm the veracity of the information in the articles? Is the Court’s/Jury’s reliance on articles on a blog precedent setting?

Anything is possible in a civil suit.

3. @Dee Word

The BU Archive as you are aware contains a treasure trove of information about the dysfunctional court system. The blog recalls when a decision was taken to exposed some of the wrongs this blogmaster was condemned and being an alarmist. The chickens are coming home to roost. No disrespect to Justice Jeff Cumberbatch, a good man.

4. @Sargeant

Is it the blog as you say or information and contacts contained therein.

5. Looks as if the quality of justice one receives is a function of where the case is tried.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John October 24, 2021 10:44 AM
    O sh!te, looka PLT crawl out from under a rock!!
    +++++++++++++++++++
    I’ve been busy trying to help fix the Barbadian economy 😉 …

7. Generally, describes the standard that a party seeking to prove a fact in court must satisfy to have that fact legally established. There are different standards in different circumstances. For example, in criminal cases, the burden of proving the defendant’s guilt is on the prosecution, and they must establish that fact beyond a reasonable doubt. In civil cases, the plaintiff has the burden of proving his case by a preponderance of the evidence. A “preponderance of the evidence” and “beyond a reasonable doubt” are different standards, requiring different amounts of proof.

8. @TheoG
    Every Sunday, I would spend hours at Maycocks Bay. My time was before the cement plant was built there. It was a popular Beach for the locals, but a little off the beaten tourist path
    +++++++++
    I remember as a young lad going to a church excursion with that venue as its destination. I was disappointed as River Bay was the preferred choice of many and I had never been to River Bay. All I remember of Maycocks Bay was hot sun and hardly any shade,. Suffice to say I never went back even as an adult but happy to learn that you spent countless happy days there.

9. @🐇/🐰
    Glad for you.
    Hopes this takes the water off your brain.

10. My comment above was cut and paste.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John October 24, 2021 10:45 AM
    Relax PLT, I am not an instant millionaire and worth your envy.
    I am genuinely happy for this ruling in your mother’s favour John. I celebrated it quietly some weeks ago because a relative of yours has been keeping me up to date for years because I am part of a group of Bajan activists who fight corruption in both the public and private sectors. The injustices visited upon your mother, you and your siblings are an interlocking web of private sector and public sector corruption, so I was emailed a copy of the Final Judgment on Damages dated August 11th., 2021 from the court in Miami.

I do genuinely hope that the executors of the relevant estate move expeditiously to pay the judgement to your mother’s estate.

12. @TheoG and Sargeant,

I went to Maycocks bay in the 70s to picnic with a young lady and found enough shade to do what I promised to do. lol

13. I’ve been busy trying to help fix the Barbadian economy
    DIAGNOSIS : DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR?

14. TWO EX HARRISONOANS FROM THE 60’S WITH A SENSE OF HUMOUR . NICE. LOL
    OR IS IT A SENSE OF RESIGNATION?

15. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@GP October 24, 2021 11:24 AM
    DIAGNOSIS : DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR?
    +++++++++++++++
    Bedside manner: Superb
    Diagnosis: Insightful

Number of Welcome Stamp visas issued up to August 31 2021: 1,987
    Average annual spend in Barbados per Welcome Stamp household: $55,000 USD
    Therefore the value to the Barbados economy so far: $109,285,000 USD

It’s not much, but it’s a start. 😉

16. THEN KEEP ON KEEPING ON SIR

17. @Hants

Thanks for reminding me that although my picnic was forgettable, your pricknic was memorable, only one time? You letting down the side. 😊

18. TheOGazertsOctober 24, 2021 11:08 AM

@🐇/🐰
    Glad for you.
    Hopes this takes the water off your brain.

Thanks Grasshopper but the judgment is 4 months old and took 8 years to get!!

Water has been in my consciousness from the time I was a boy when I got slaps from my father for drinking from the tap and disobeying him.

It isn’t going to miraculously disappear.

19. JOHN, PETER, HANTS, THEO ETC

BEFORE I MIGRATED TO THE USA IN 2003, I WAS PLAYING SOME GERIATRIC TAPE BALL BAT AND BALL IN GLITTER BAY WITH SOME FELLAS OUR AGE GROUP ALONG WITH OUR SONS AND SOME OF THEIR FRIENDS WHO ENTERED ABOUT 25 YEARS AFTER US .

I ADDRESSED ONE OF THE LADS AS AN OLD HARRISSONIAN

HE RESPONDED “I DONT KNOW BOUT YOU , YOU MIGHT BE AN OLD HARRISONIAN , BUT I AM AN EX HARRISONIAN, BUT I AINT OLD” . HE WILL SOON GET THERE THOUGH LOL

20. @ GP,

WE ARE OLD HARRISONIANS. ” OLD ” IMPLIES INCLUSIVITY AND CONTINUITY.

” EX ” SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR WIVES. LOL

21. HANTS
    I CAN ONLY GIVE YOU HALF MARKS MAN, YOU AINT MEK NUH DISTINCTION BETWEEN THE WIVES EX WIVES HAS BEENS AND DEM DAT NEVER MADE IT
    IN FACT I THINK YOU DESERVE A WHITE CARD FOR YOUR OMISSION….MURDAAH

22. FELLAS
    PAKISTAN JUST HANDED INDIA A WHIPPING
    India 151/7
    Pakistan 152/0
    THAT WAS A SLAUGHTER

23. TheoGazerts;
    You said; Looks as if the quality of justice one receives is a function of where the case is tried. What about the “quantity” ? Perhaps the other MAM might be on the right track re. jurisdiction, to getting his covid millions

24. Witness testimony and documents considered by the jury included evidence showing threats, harassment and violence against Knox family members and their witnesses; fraud; fabrication of evidence; obstruction of justice; bribery of police; and other corrupt activities by businesses, lawyers, politicians, Government officials, police and others (including judicial officials) in four countries – with a purpose to steal, defraud and deny the plaintiffs the proper value of their shares.
    +++++++++++++++
    Fraud
    Fabrication of evidence
    Obstruction of justice
    Bribery of Police
    Corrupt activities by businesses, lawyers, politicians, Government officials, Police, judicial officials in four countries

That is a mouthful, a wide cast net and a lot of ground to cover, besides Deane who are the co-conspirators?

25. How many defrauded Barbadians will have the resources/stamina to fight for this long?

And if the scamssters are smart enough to contain their misdeed locally (one country) what quality of justice will the defrauded be able to obtain.

It seem as if the Knoxes lost in the local court of appeal; suffered a setback in front of the CCJ, but emerge victorious in a Miami court.

It must be painful to know that you are right and yet run into a dead end.

To a legal beagle and to aid the meat and potatoes guys…. please provide two article describing (1) why the US court arrive at a different conclusion than the two regional courts (2) describe in detail the role played by various persons (politician/lawyer/jurists) in Barbados.

Side note… I notice the future President was involved in this delay/denial of justice.

26. The future is bleak.

27. The time has arrived for our distinguished politicians (pass and present) and business men/women shred their passports. They risk being detained if they board an airplane.

28. The Arch Cot collapse happened during Arthur’s final term as PM, since then we have had Thompson/Stuart for two terms; an inquiry into the cause of the collapse and back to the remnants of the Arthur Gov’t with the current incumbent (Mottley) for approx 3 years; a third Chief Justice is now in Office. One thing remains constant the Codrington family is still awaiting settlement.

Justice delayed is justice denied

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hants, I came upon Marcock’s Bay first on a hike/camping expedition eons ago and was totally blown away by the beautiful and somewhat isolated (I thought) bay (as we had approached it via a seemingly not oft used path).

I was later moved to return without my male compadres and explore the beauty in a similar manner as u described … these escapades were during the life of the cement plant but even then I thought the spot was amazingly gorgeous.

@Theo, re “why the US court arrive[d] at a different conclusion than the two regional courts”.

In simple review of the above it does appear as if the US Court was basically starting from a very different place than the other courts!

That is, the US situation was starting from the non-response to the action and too WITHOUT any of the biases of the local courts.

It is also noteworthy that the CCJ ruled against the local courts too … yes, on a precise question but their language also took the locals to task for overuse of ‘discretionary’ power … in short hand: the Knoxes got screwed royally by local power brokers.

A reading of the above is not an encouragement for success in local legal matters.

That said we should not believe that US courts do not ALSO discriminate against those unable to fund lengthy legal matters… it can be just as bad there in many instances.

30. WAS NOT ONE OF THE BACKGROUND ISSUES AT KINGSLAND THAT COME WANTED THESE LANDS FOR A GOLF COURSE? DID THIS NOT CAUSE A PM TO CALL A MAN WHO WROTE TO DECRY THIS FROM HAPPENING EARLY ONE SUNDAY MORNING RESULTING IN THIS GENTLEMAN SUCCUMBING TO A PERMANENT DEFECT OF HIS CARDIAC MUSCULATURE?

31. John’s next problem is recovering the full monies awarded

32. When the Kingsland as well as Nelson matters were first posted to BU many commenters criticized the blogmaster for highlighting a family feud, forgetting it was a good example of of an inefficient local court system. Now the same matter Now that the matter has reached the US courts there is interest.

#typical

33. David your wrong many have been speaking about corruption in babados for sooo long
    however because of the political divide amongst people interest has been slow and coming
    i remember the jackie stewart problem which in its initial stages made way to BU until names of politicians were mention and post referencing Stewart name was moderated or delete

34. @ King David,
    Have the powers that be asked you to remove the Top Clicks chart? It appears to have disappeared.

35. Steupse!

36. Greed gets them every time…the way things are going she might be safer in jail..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/25/lawyer-pile-loses-ccj-appeal-must-remain-in-jail-for-theft/

37. @John A

BIBA is celebrating this week, heard a snippet from one of the leaders yesterday where he pointed out there is a threshold and only certain companies will be affected by the proposed rate change. They seemed confident not all companies determine the domicile they want to locate based on rate, other factors like quality of workforce, legal system and other infrastructure. This was informed by interviewing companies setup here.

38. […] Pandora Papers – Greed, a Deadly Sin […]

39. Offshore ‘mastermind’ ran $300M ‘shadow bank’ for clients’ tax-haven money, draft CRA report says

“You have been receiving wire transfers into your domestic bank accounts from various offshore entities located in BARBADOS, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Belize, the Bahamas, Samoa and the Marshall Islands. The reference field on some of the wire transfer documents indicate that these are consulting fees,” says a December 2017 letter to Richard Hethey from a CRA auditor, filed in the Federal Court of Canada. The letter also mentions wire transfers and cheques for tens of thousands of dollars from various Corporate House entities. The court filings note that Hethey’s explanation for the payments is that they are a line of credit with Fred Sharp, but the auditor rejects that, stating they are not a bona fide loan but rather “a method of repatriating offshore funds and the income you earned offshore.” All in all, the CRA claims that Richard Hethey did not report more than $2.8 million in income from offshore sources between 2007 and 2015.
    More here: https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/fred-sharp-corporate-house-cra-draft-report-1.6250306