Bishop Atherley,

Like many Barbadians, I am exceedingly proud of the bold step which this nation is taking as we embark on our journey to republicanism. It is with that patriotic spirit that I watched the proceedings of the Houses of Parliament as they elected the first President of our coming Republic. I had hoped, like many, that the day would be one of joyous celebration, for we have waited so long for this moment, as well as solemn reflection, as we contemplate the journey thus far and where we have yet to go. It was a day designed to be bereft of partisan rancour, a day for unbridled patriotism.

Ultimately however, that was not entirely the case. In particular, one gentleman, your Leader of Opposition Business in the Senate, sought to bring the entire dignified proceedings into disrepute, in the process affronting the Parliament, the country and indeed, you, as his Leader. While I would never presume to tell you how to exercise your constitutional duties, it no doubt appears that there is no choice but to either ask the gentleman for his resignation, and if he refuses, to recommend to the Governor General that he be replaced in the Senate. I take no delight in that position, but it is the only way to staunch the bleeding. I rest this contention upon three principal grounds.

Firstly, the gentleman has repeatedly been publicly at variance with you. In our system of government, the parliamentary leader and members of his frontbench must be in lockstep. This is particularly so in the Senate, where those appointed on your recommendation, are entirely dependent upon you for their continued service. While disagreement is par for the course, the matter before us is not a resolution to acquire land. The constitutional ordering of this nation at its highest level is of such paradigmatic importance, that any disagreement on that, means that there is an irredeemable loss of confidence on the part of both parties, for how can you agree on the ‘little things’ if the ‘biggest thing’ is so contentious. A man cannot be led by a person in whom he does not confidence, nor can a man lead another in whom he has no confidence. Little wonder then that in comments to the press, he delivered of himself a fatal remark, that to partake in the process would have made him “look like a fool”. Sir, you participated in the process, in fact you advanced a joint nomination. Sir, you cannot lead a man who thinks you to be a fool.

Further, the reasons advanced for his conduct are disingenuous at best. The gentleman pretends that his issue was with the ballot. The fact is, however, that there never would have been a ballot, unless he objected (note that in Trinidad, there is no constitutional provision to allow objections when there is only one candidate). Did he object in order to have a ballot so that he could again object? Is that the philosophy of the PdP: mindless objection? He alleged to the press that there was no way for him to vote against if he wanted to. We now know that not to be true. The Parliament makes rules to regulate itself, and parliamentarians were instructed that with the ballot paper, they could have indicated approval, disapproval or abstention, with a tick, an x or ‘abstain’. What then is the true reason for his conduct?

Worst of all, the gentleman cast a long shadow over one of this country’s most historic days. A survey of the social media platforms suggests that the national conversation was not dominated by this country decisively reaffirming our confidence in ourselves or by the fact that a young woman from St. Philip would be this country’s first President. No sir, these events were seemingly overshadowed by the gentleman’s conduct. Whether it was his intention or not, his conduct gave rise to this distraction. This, perhaps, is his greatest sin. That on a day that was about Barbados, about all of us, about our past and our future, about hope tempered by pragmatism, we discussed none of these things, we discussed a single man all day. 

I don’t know when, but at some point, we began to think that democracy is an adversarial blood sport of scorched earth tactics. I say, emphatically, that it is not. That if we want a solid democracy as we transition to republican status, we must have politicians who exercise maturity, who can disagree with dignity and honestyand still reach across the aisle in times of national crisis and times of national pride. That is the democracy to which we ought always to aspire.

The gentleman may continue to disagree with everything, as is the right of any in this country, but like the rest of us, he can do so outside of the precincts of Parliament, where will not affront our democracy and our nation.

Bishop Atherley, I know you to be a man with an abiding love for our nation. Every second that this iniquity persists is a stain on this country. The people of Barbados do not deserve this. I ask you, sir, simply, to do the right thing.

Yours Sincerely,

Khaleel Kothdiwala,

A Patriot

212 responses to “An Open Letter to the Leader of the Opposition”

1. William Skinner Avatar

How can a nation after a f half century of self government make a mess of what should be a straightforward step to republic status? Where are we really heading?
    I recall when the then opposition accompanied by some on this BU, opposed the appointment of a Governor General, A Governor of the Central Bank and a Director of Public Prosecution, on the grounds that it was “ too near” to a general election. At that time I did not hear about the outstanding person the person is. But now she is being praised because their party has determined she will be our president.At that time they should have also supported her elevation rather than talk crap about too near to general election. What goes around comes around.
    It goes to show that party always comes before country with these political miscreants.(BLPDLP)
    I support the decision to move to republican status but unfortunately it has turned into a political farce by some who refuse to put country before party.
    As for Senator Franklyn, he is no god ,but he is the only one speaking truth to power. He is earning the salary paid by the taxpayers whether or not we agree with him.
    All I saw was a heated exchange between the President of the Senate and Senator Franklyn. All Senator Franklyn did , was request to leave from the President and it was granted. Raising ones voice is not an act of disrespect ; it’s just passion.
    As for the article. I will not attack a youth for writing but @Pacha sums him up well. But what do we really expect of Napoleon’s puppies ? They are supposed to howl at their parents when the master instructs.
    Let’s dump the blasted Queen and get on with transforming our society. Long live the Republic!!!!

2. “May I point out that it a waste of time which should be spent on more urgent and important matters of state?”

that’s exactly what a lot of young people who can see this for what it is are saying…who would much prefer see themselves and the majority population financially and socially EMPOWERED rather than seeing one symbol removed to be replaced with another sans a republic consititution…..those are the ones who will be voting….to cast out who has no intention of empowering them..

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ WURA

At what point in the transition process were the Electoral College rules and procedures introduced in T& T? Did these not evolve over many years? New procedures take time to evolve through trial and errors. This is a fact of life. Who determines the T& T procedures are perfect? Part of the maturation process is to make ones own mistakes. We are a slightly different culture. Vive la difference.

4. Energy Transmissions

From Slave Workers to Light Workers
    Love is Letting Go

We all know Bajans love the Slave masters culture and peoples more than their African Roots but it was the BLM Movement that pushed the republic over the line

Live Sound Healing – Heart-Awakening Series – Love Is Letting Go

Heavenly Frequencies | Activate the Light Body | Angelic Frequencies | Sound Healing

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ Vincent Codrington
    Obviously we must try to drum out the political noise and deal with the broader concept of the needed transition of the society and more do the importance of removing the insult of having a European woman or man being called the Head of State bu our children and those not yet born.
    Perhaps. if the corrupt political class had the balls to make such a simple case, we would not be here trying to get into essentially useless definitions about what and what not constitutes a republic.
    These are all natural steps in the evolution out of slavery/ colonialism, they cannot be abandoned simply because political misfits are in control of the apparatus at this time.

6. @Pacha

Surprised you are engaged in a popular pastime on BU of playing the man and not the ball.

7. William Skinner Avatar

In the meantime, on the verge of becoming a republic, we appoint an expatriate to head our major industry…….
    But we here cussing Caswell.

8. William Skinner

Agree with you almost 100 percent.

However, there are some questions.

Has having the Queen as head of state limited development over 55 years?

And if so in what ways?

Unlike you and Patterson we cannot fail to see that republican or monarchy in form the elephant in the room which you both selectively ignore is the financial imperialism Barbados has been subjected to for 55 years. Those conditions are unresponsive to either republicanism or monarchy.

So what is your point?

So Barbadian-ness could be selectively construed to include a Garth Patterson but Bajans in Panama have no inheritance. OK, have at it!

9. @Pacha

How do you know what a picture of a white head of state posted in all schools and public buildings may have done to infect the psyche of our people? Do you know? Just one example.

10. When Atherley chose Caswell, he knew what he was getting, did he not?

Why now would he attempt to muzzle him?

Often Caswell has a point. If he has not got one this time, I would think that would be easy for the government to point out.

Even if he opposes for opposing’s sake, the solution is to let him have his say, then you have yours and then proceed as is allowed.

Nothing more disgraceful about Caswell’s behaviour than any of the others who “grace” the benches below.

Steupse!

11. David,

About the same as a white Jesus!

12. William Skinner Avatar

@Pacha
    I found Patterson’s article to be quite inferior. To rid ourselves of financial imperialism is the task at hand. We cannot attain it with the current political class; it is not on their agenda.
    In the meantime, there are certain steps, which may appear at this time to be time consuming or bordering on a tired symbolism. We cannot afford to allow such damaging realities to blind is to the goals set by others to eventually create a just and equitable society.
    As you have often opined, different methodologies will emerge but theses should not add to the challenge but assist in eradicating the injustices,

13. I don’t know anything about the process for selecting the President. I really don’t even care.

I support the change to a republic, though I wish it had been handled better.

It is my understanding that this initial change will not affect anything substantial. The battle over the Constitution should not be rushed.

14. “More scandal chasing.”

so where is the republic constitution….both Trinidad and Dominica have one…yall had over 3 YEARS to get one right and didn’t…and talking about drafting one after…after what, more cockups…steupps.

.just don’t try to compare yaselves to Martin Luther King or any of our other revered Afrikan ancestors….if that’s the dumb intent…it will not go down well with many Afrikans…they will find it insulting and disrespectful…since black ministers from both DBLP parties have been anti-Black for more than half century..and no one is amused..

15. @Donna

How about swearing allegiance to the Head of State of England and her heirs and successors. What about seeking approval from England to appoint to a diplomatic posting? We do not have any self respect left as a people to allow a simple matter of kickstarting a process to hang in abeyance?

16. Mason will ALWAYS be associated with being the representative/agent for colonialsim..

…i can just hear the small kids now when they remove Elizabeth’s photo and replace it with hers……..da is de governer general……nothing will change in minds ALREADY HEAVILY POLLUTED with and by colonialism….UNLESS there is instituted reeducation and massive reversal of the potent mindwash…

am sure even the adults will still refer to her as such, in their minds nothing changes because it was never meant to..

17. David

You are into the form but no substance. Before republicanism the very class interests you now defend prevented us from having Black people as heads in industry. Black people as owners of the large lands of Barbados. Black people as the
    subject of everything we taught in schools.

It is a rassouuuul lie to purport that Elizabeth’s head must fall for those principles to rise. That is a canard and to prove it we will boldly say that after November 30 that the present ethos will continue to gallop forever. Or until the Black gatekeepers face a 1789 moment.

There are tooooooooo many ill-fated republics around to even muster the pretense that this represents some political watershed. Weeeeee aint buying.

18. @ William Skinner October 22, 2021 9:39 AM
    In the meantime, on the verge of becoming a republic, we appoint an expatriate to head our major industry…….
    But we here cussing Caswell. (Unquote).

LOL!!
    A well spotted paradox of laughable proportions!

Why not even a Caricom national?

19. @Pacha

What are you doing but being engaged in esoteric BS? There is no perfect man made system. We are educated to such a degree that pros and cons can be detailed on any matter. Impose that on a miseducated people, it is a recipe for confusion.

20. “Did these not evolve over many years? New procedures take time to evolve through trial and errors.”

basic rules and procedures DO NOT NEED YEARS to develop and implement…especially when the leaders are MOSTLY LAWYERS….a first year law student can develop a basic rule or procedure in 2 hours….

republicanism is nothing new….Simon Bolivar and others… put together about 6 of them in Latin America in the 19th century..it’s not rocket science…everything those in the parliament act is though it’s a heavy load to lift and they can’t get the most basic things right……this is one tiny ass island…that does not require long delays and halfway done things…

“While Bolívar didn’t act alone, he was clearly the catalyst and “cult of personality” behind the 19th-century liberation movement that won independence for six Latin American nations: Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Peru and Bolivia, a country named for the Liberator himself.”

and i did not even have the leisure about reading how he did it in English, had to read them in Spanish and French but still understood how it was done…

21. And Bolivar helped put together those 6 republics while they were trying to kill him…

..but ya have a bunch of lazy negros who believe the only heavy things they should lift are their monthly salaries and whatever else they can scam from the treasury and pension fund……..everything else is too heavy, too much and too hard for them to do…

22. @ Pacha
    I never said it was a watershed moment. I’ll be the first to agree that all forms of government fail. We must realise that the necessary work has not been done anywhere in the Caribbean with the exception of Cuba.
    At the very bottom of this republic debate is a very serious distrust of the people in the current collective political leadership. That is the real elephant in the room that we are afraid to confront.
    In other words, Comrade, a significant number of our citizens, actually believe that we will be better off under colonialism. This is a Herculean task to overcome and represents a colossal failure of post independence leadership.
    However this is no time for progressive forces and thinkers to abandon the struggle. It was never going to be easy.
    We fight for those not yet born.

23. David

The recipe for confusion is what is currently happening, being supported by you although you have conceded that the promised second part is unlikely.

For this republicanism is precisely what we’ve long told you it would be. The deifying of Mottley as Patterson has now written.

In the middle of a pandemic we are to make, not saving lives, but the erection of a meaningless artifice or political trick as most important.

People will be confused mostly when a women is elected for 5 years and entirely based of such misfortune such a women becomes a mother of a republic instead of a baby. What more confusion can there be?

24. @ Miller
    Forty seven CARICOM nationals were considered. Twenty seven Barbadians were interviewed. Two Barbadians had headed this industry before. They are trying to say that not one could have filled this important position?’
    And yet we complain when others seek to bring in people for positions.
    Is this the example any government wants to set at this time?

25. David

Will you ever grant this writer the right to paraphrase anything. Must we always say the precise words used by you to avoid the oft used defence that you didn’t say something?

You were making the point, inter alia, that something good may become of this misadventure were you not?

26. @Pacha

Your position is noted in the BU Archives. Do as Nero did by refusing to take even a tiny step.

27. Sorry
    That was for Skinner

28. David

In military science a standard way of thinking is that when there is no clear choice one should do nothing. This government has been long lost. Not all of its own making.

And when a government has to, like a gravedigger, truncate the establishment before consulting the people,, the people being an afterthought, its dictatorial at worst and misguided at best.

29. @ Pacha
    We all have different styles and approaches to debate/ discussion.
    Take it easy bro’

30. “We fight for those not yet born.”

these are a shame and embarrassment to Afrikan blood people everywhere..

Bolivar & Co…had no computers or laptops, no phones cell or otherwise, they wrote with quilt pens DIPPED IN INK….so imagine the hours and hours they spent using lamps, no electricity, just to produce documents, no beemers and mercedes benz to help them get around, it was horse and buggy or donkey……..they had no modern contraptions period but were FREEDOM FIGHTERS and real liberators….and they PRODUCED….and freed the people…

yall have a bunch of wusses that can only see the next scam, have nothing spectacular to show that they have ever achieved FOR THE BLACK POPULATION in over HALF CENTURY…….and expect people to accept that…well it’s only their Slaves are thus disabled..

31. @Pacha

You are suggesting the government should facilitate our democracy as the Greeks envisaged?

32. @Pacha

To find the right destination we must wrap ourselves in hope. There is or never will be utopia.

33. David

Have now read, seen, your 08:56 guidance and remain unmoved.

In fact, the absence of legal process in the election of Mason furthers our wider contention about dictatorial rule by Mottley like Owen had warned us.

Even in the presence of such rules, on which Franklyn hinges his position, the result would have been the same.

We see his intervention as a nullity. Of no import. Lacking substance.

We submit that the misreading of events rest with you.

34. David

This writer has never conceded that there is a democracy in Barbados.

And still maintains that hope is the hoe and basket of those who would deceive us.

35. @Pacha

We wait for the leader of the official and unofficial opposition to mount a challenge if legal process was breached whatever that is as it applies here.

36. @Pacha

You have never admitted that there is a democracy anywhere, where does that leave your idealistic arguments?

37. Skinner

Stop counselling.

Did you or did you not intimate that something good developmentally may befall Barbados as a byproduct of republicanism as unachievable under monarchy?

This was the extent of the paraphrase. That’s all.

38. they are not fooling anyone, if they believe they are going to rush through this 1/4 way republic and proclaim themselves liberators, anyone with a functioning brain will tell them they are filled with shit…

…the only think they have done is amend the present constitution to replace Elizabetth with Mason…a 1/4 way movement…….they are yet to put in the REAL WORK that we know they are trying to dance around and avoid…and will find excuse after excuse…

and their mentally challenged dummies believe deep wihin themselves that this is all about Mason and a garden variety title…..too dumb to envision freedom…

39. David

You are saying again things about idealism, never claimed.

But certainly there are a few examples where good limited attempts were made but Barbados is not one, never will be.

40. Where are these LIMITED attempts Pacha,

41. William…imagine Abu Bakr with all his faults just went to his grave lamenting how Afrikan desccended people are oppressed in Trinidad and it’s been that way from pre their independence, a sentiment that’s replicated ACROSS CARIBBEAN COUNTRIES with the corrupt and retarded as misleaders…

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

Much a-do about nuffin.
    The Senator could (should?) have risen and instead of falling into the trap set by the wording of the Speaker’s statement, stated for the record that while he was NOT opposing the candidate, he had concerns with the procedure given….blah blah blah.
    The exercise witnessed was yet another in the ‘rule of will’ versus any other set of rules, regulations or laws.
    This maybe preferable, as often when such other guidelines are present, they are ignored anyways.

43. @ Pacha
    I said that removing the European as the head of state will be positive for our children and those yet to come. I don’t know where I intimated anything. Perhaps you believe that we are some distance apart in our thinking of the whole republic debate. We are certainly not.
    I think that it will be pure folly, for anybody to believe that there will be some profound , earth shattering movement. You have said it will not. I don’t think anybody will disagree with you.
    I have tried to avoid deep intellectual thought on this matter because we already have the example of the economic structure remaining the same after more than a half century of independence.
    My focus is to uproot colonialism whether it is digging up an entire plantation or a few plots of land. The struggle is constant .
    I don’t think that your analyses can be seriously ignored or discredited. However, you tend to make the assumption that others are not aware of what is essentially a very obvious and evident truth.

44. Trap? That is what the Constitution says is to be done; “If the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition make in writing to
    the Speaker a joint nomination of a qualified candidate for election as President, being a nomination to which that candidate has consented, the Speaker shall notify both Houses of the joint nomination and, at a joint meeting of both Houses, the Speaker shall ask the members whether any member has an objection to the candidate being declared duly elected and if no member objects thereto, the Speaker shall declare the candidate duly elected.”

45. @ WURA
    The irony here is that people want to castrate Caswell for raising his voice while a man who carried out a coup against a government was allowed to function in his county.
    Your point that Abu Bakr would have noted that the Africans in Tand T , like the Africans throughout the region are still under the yoke of social and economic suppression , is taken.
    It is an uncomfortable truth.
    The struggle continues.

46. “It is an uncomfortable truth.”

too bad for them, they can’t escape, don’t care how uncomfortable they get that’s the WHIP we have to swing and beat them with, MERCILESSLY and PERMANENTLY, they are not changing any narrative or presenting their deploreable selves as freedom fighters, not after all they have all done to the Afrikan descended and still are……

.just saw a video with former diplomant in a group setting lamenting how Afrikan descended people were brutalized, oppressed and discriminated against….for all this time…and the culprists are governemnts governments mostly with black faces, except for that evil subhuman bustamante and the other syrians etc that were PMs at one time or another….. that includes the indians who don’t think they are black…..all doing the bidding of demons to destroy Afrikan lives……..the Antigua PM already apoligized to the Rastafarian community…Saunders said it’s been nearly 100 years they have been marginalized and disenfranchised in the Caribbean…..

..i even saw fraudulent Argentina there, don’t know how all of a sudden they want to be around Black/Afrikan people after what they did to theirs……

Saunders also pointedly mentioned.. the Rastafarian community and the long fight of and their famous REJECT of reduction to less than human and the stripping of their Afrikan identities, along with violation of their human rights, something that the Barbados government is still taking great pleasure in perpetrating..it has been their MO for multiple decades and is to be exposed everywhere…that is all THEY WILL BE REMEMBERED FOR…and i won’t trust not one of them….don’t hold your breath for any of the others to apologize.

they will learn, that there are no quarter way or halfway freedom movements, ya either in all the way or ya out…

47. Sorry…fell asleep and screwed up the comment…lol

just saw a video with former diplomant Saunders based in Antigua in a group setting lamenting …

48. Saunders also pointedly mentioned.. the Rastafarian community and the long fight they put up, with their famous REJECTION of reduction to less than human and the ATTEMPTED stripping of their Afrikan identities which they refused to relinquish unlike the weakest in the society who did, along with violation of their human rights that they STAND UP AGAINST STILL, something that the Barbados government is still taking great pleasure in perpetrating….these are crimes against Black humanity and these recklessly STUPID GOVERNMENTS are to be reminded about them EVERY DAY for as long as they pollute the parliaments …..and as LONG AS THEY LIVE..

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply