A few months ago the blogmaster relented to a request from two post-grad students and shared a few insights. The result in the paper attached – CASE STUDY REPORTWhat are the motivating factors for news blogging? The Case of Barbados Underground.

Unfortunately the information sharing from Barbados Underground was not as free flowing as should have been ideal but the paper is a fair effort. The reason the blogmaster agreed to share – there is an urgent need for more bloggers to setup on platforms like WordPress to secure more control of the content and therefore be protected from the tentacles of the establishment. Posters to Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms are beginning to battle with interference from the publishers AND we know how easy it is to report a post on those platforms.

The blogmaster takes this opportunity to express deep appreciation to all contributors and commenters to Barbados Underground from the inception (est 2007).

See paper attached:

<object class="wp-block-file__embed" data="https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/case-study-report-motivating-factors-for-news-blogging.pdf&quot; type="application/pdf" style="width:100%;height:600px" aria-label="Embed of <br><strong>The case of Barbados Underground.
The case of Barbados Underground.
Download

266 responses to “The Case of Barbados Underground”

1. I always say the island want wiping off the map….because it serves NO USEFUL PURPOSE..

2. “Certainly, the Hindus don’t make such irrational claims.”

they are all very open and vocal about their ugly racism against Afrikans but will still smile in ya face to see what they could TIEF once enabled by TRAITORS…

btw….where is Theo, i gave him what he complained about and he just up and disappeared on me…lol…maybe be got much more than he thought he would.

3. Waru
    Neither do the Jews. Their book, torah, teaches them that they have more mitzvahs than any other people. Therefore there is nothing a jew can do to a non jew which is ungodly. Even as the very notion of a jew or israelite is entirely fictional.

De stinking bible orders non jews to serve jews to see god. What corruption.

Do you see a trend.

Only idiots continue with this rasssoul about the oneness of mankind and getting along – Black people and apologists. That has not been a reality for 6000 years.

4. “Waru
    Neither do the Jews. Their book, torah, teaches them that they have more mitzvahs than any other people. Therefore there is nothing a jew can do to a non jew which is ungodly. Even as the very notion of a jew or israelite is entirely fictional.”

now we have to teach that to Black/Afrikans that they are ALL FRAUDS…we are THE CHOSEN….we are the ORIGINAL ONE AND ONLY HEBREW ISRAELITES…everyone else is a lying deceitful IMPOSTOR stealing everything that belongs to us..

they will all be MURDERED in that mode of idiocy because Black people never want to believe the truth about their heritage but would instead believe the bullshit lies fed to them generationally by the wicked…

5. @Pacha

Respect the right of citizens to affiliate with a religion of choice. It is guaranteed under the constitution of democracies you zealously promote on the blog.

6. David
    Absolutely not!
    If you knew anything about democracies, rights, constitutions or respect you too will avoid “running with the hares and hunting with the hounds”, as one esteemed blogger is want to say.
    We recognize no such “wrongs”

7. I am still here.
    Will comment when ready.
    ———-xxx—–
    It’s been a long time since I wished my fellow travelers a good day.

Have a great day Barbados.

8. Interesting choice of word used by Christopher to have so annoyed Pachamama.

Here we see the same word employed by those who are against the repatriation of looted artefacts from Africa.

“defend our culture and history from the noisy minority of activists constantly trying to do Britain down”.

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2021/oct/15/cambridge-college-to-be-first-uk-return-looted-benin-bronze

9. This writer is or was never “annoyed” because we know what to expect from all these mentalities. Nothing here is new, surprising or unexpected.

10. @Pacha

You are free to live in your bubble right there in your democracy.

11. David
    That kind of thinking is essentially informed by a perceived need to see only a world where inferiors must try to survive.

Do you now, still, respect an American constitution which up to this very day enshrines slavery in its 13th amendment?

12. @Pacha

It is the will of the people reflected in the system of government. The blogmaster sees no evidence of citizen protests in these so-called democracies.

13. David
    So are you saying that democracy and slavery can comfortably coexist? What do you mean?

14. @Pacha

To use your word, the epoch defines the meaning of the times does it not?

15. David
    So therefore, this notion of the people defining democracy do tell us where is this happening currrently?

Give us just one example were your notion of democracy exist unaccompanied by forms of slavery?

16. @Pacha

Isn’t the simple definition in the context of Barbados, MPs’ elected by the majority of the people to represent them in the legislature?

If you are going where we think then it is a journey that hopefully will evolve when individual citizens are wired into the everyday decision making process and have realtime influence.

17. David
    Expectedly you continue, against evidence and the perponderance of lived experiences, to confuse an isolated vote by half the people with democracy, which is essentially about resources.

Can the people, who you say elected these people, remove them without let or hindrance and by their our will and timing?

How could you rightly estimate that people are not wired into a system you imagine to currently exist but stoutly defend such a nonexistent system? Does demos still mean the people?

Can’t you ever be made to see that this condition is not the fault of the people, as you so often opin, but instead is a deliberate construction of those interested in the eternal powerlessness of the very peoples?

Your feeble and interminable attemps to blame the victims of a faux democracy are not dissimilar to blaming slaves for their enslavement or women for their abuse. A cheap shot which sounds good and is the perfect psychological device to protect the political and economic elites.

Lastly, we note your disinclination to clearly reference a single country which can qualify as a democracy without forms of slavery. Your beloved Barbados has people under chains and forces them to work. Not unlike the USA.

18. @Pacha

It is what the people want, tolerate and deserve.

19. David
    That is not so. Blaming the people again. Absolving your friends. Do the people want to be destitute, powerless, without health care, without a right education, economically depressed always, marginalized?

We think not. For the reverse of these is what would be a real democracy. Barbados under your regime will never deliver the absence of any of these material conditions.

20. Who to blame except the people where elected officials come originate. Do elected officials arrive from Saturn?

21. The obvious and sensible thing any rational person would do under these systemic conditions would be to indict the longed failed political system.. But you prefer to avoid the obvious.

22. Pacha…at least Blogmaster though not willing to voice it, finally recognizes that the BLACK/AFRIKAN POPULATIONS ARE EFFECTIVELY TRAPPED….and only THEY, as prophets who still CHANT IT FROM THEIR GRAVES….can free themselves…

because the wicked little in various parliaments NEVER WILL…

23. because the wicked little NEGROS in the various parliaments NEVER WILL..

24. Chris Halsall,

Ask questions. Stop attempting to provide answers. You have much to learn about our experience.

The mistake you made was one that cut very deep considering the horror that is policing and criminal justice worldwide.

Barbadians have been well-trained by the British and now American police. Poor fools don’t know how to think or act differently, even though they police their own kind.

25. Waru

Yes. “By any means necessary.”.

This game has gone past it limits and must now be made an historical footnote.

26. @Pacha

Condemn a system the majority of people tolerate by their disengagement and apathy? Some of us will work within the system until the tipping point comes. The blogmaster not subscribe to a mash up and build back approach especially if we accept your view that Barbados is a microcosm in the global ecosystem.

27. David
    Well reasoned nonsense.!

When the USSR collasped did your logical fallacy prevail?

Or is your steady state approach entirely based on a misplaced fear of the responsibility of finding a better way.

The truth is and has historically been that degenerative organizing principles often collaspe on themselves or have to be ruthlessly overthrown.

Either one suits this writer.

28. Why did the USSR dissolved at that time?

29. Libraries have been so written.
    Do tell us your reasoning?

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, re “Black people talking it’s : emotionalism, chips on shoulder ; living in the past; promoting racism; […] White people talking: they are just expressing themselves”

That is true … however, it’s a dynamic played out between those with the power and those not so empowered across the board.

Thus even within the broad groups u noted there will be fractured ‘power’ dynamics that will bring forth the same wording.

As Black folks we don’t have to fear being emotional or having a chip on our shoulder, rather embrace them and too remember the past (not living in it) and let it power us to our goals.

On that last issue of history, there should be no confusion in anyone’s mind how effectively we have been conditioned with a purposely determined narrative when we see how modern awareness and better analysis of data has resulted in destruction of racist images, artifacts etc.

For example, in recent times the massacre in Tulsa, Oklahoma US of well-to-do Black folks on what was called the ‘Black Wall St’ has gained attention now 100 years since that assault and many educated folks knew nothing of this nugget of the racist USA…. likely just as many do not know that there were several more such atrocities of Blacks in successful enclaves …

In sum the struggle will NEVER be over and we should be as emotive as absolutely possible. If we don’t then we will be asking to be massacred anew!

BTW, @David really not sure what to make of your debate with @Pacha…. I am YET to see any operation ran by a strong and purposeful leader that is 100% democratic. … for all practical purposes that’s just not viable as you must have someone who corrals those of like mind to reach a set objective and along the way dissenters will be sidelined.

It must be so!

As far as a “blog” goes the debate is even more confusing as by its nature such a thing is an OPINION medium … in that realm ‘democracy’ can be as good as all views are ventilated or as good as : ‘ok, if you don’t agree den carry your backside to another blog’.

That is a hallmark of democracy too, ain’t it: freedom to associate with who the rassle 😙🤣 you want too, yes!

I gone, hear.

31. @Pacha

The dissolution of the USSR did not occur because of a single event, a series of events led to the evolution. Even now many of the former USSR states manage central government systems.

32. David
    Where are these central planning systems still operating? Name one?

There was no evolution. There was a clear and total collapse.

Your socalled series of events some of which were internal had external help as well.

33. Pacha…someone took out a whole UK MP.

34. David
    The CIA was responsible for the downfall of Soviet Union

Pedantic Leaking
    “For example, in recent times the massacre in Tulsa, Oklahoma US of well-to-do Black folks on what was called the ‘Black Wall St’ has gained attention now 100 years since that assault and many educated folks knew nothing of this nugget of the racist USA”

who told so called educated Bu black bajans about it 1st and 2nd

me I man watch watchman on Netflix

and I repeated it again after watching lovecraft country

35. Question from an infantile brain – the USSR collapsed and what has replaced it?

Has Utopia been finally found?

36. RE Has Utopia been finally found?
    YES DONNA DEAREST. WE HAVE UTOPIA HERE IN THE USA ALL THIS YEAR

37. David

Your people posit that countries like Russia, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Libya. and Belarus are centrally planned.
    A mere political designation. Indeed, of these are so is America and UK

38. There is no Utopia and there will never be. Human beings are incapable of creating Utopia.

Mash up one system and build another and watch it degenerate into inequality yet again!

A more pragmatic approach is to work towards steady progress. And do not expect a clear or straight path!

And no matter what anyone says, progress HAS been made. My ancestors were probably whipped raw after working all day in the fields in blazing sun for the white man. Went home to huts and ate offal. Waited for Massa to come at night to lick out duh soul case wid dick.

I got up this morning walked and fed my dog on store bought dog food. Gave her a teeth cleaning bone, which she rejected. Could not decide what to eat as I was spoilt for choice.

Now me an’ de dog stretch out fuh de balance uh de day in we nice nice houses wid nary uh Massa in sight. Postman drop off muh bills and nary a steupse as we cracked jokes about it. I paid them yesterday at Surepay. I am not even a slave to debt. Neither my mother or father. Neither were my grandparents. All died fully solvent.

An’ nuh Massa has ever threatened to lick out my soul case. Not a dick in sight to vexate my spirit!

These may not be the conditions of many Bajans, especially in these times but then again it never will be.

The struggle is never over for ants, cockroaches, flies, butterflies, ladybirds, bees, centipedes, spiders, crabs, pigeons, parrots, sharks, flying fish, dolphins, whales, turtles, iguanas, snakes, frogs, toads, rats, goats, sheep, cows, lions, antelopes, elephants, monkeys, chimpanzees, gorillas nor that ape so close to human.

And the struggle will never be over for humankind!

When you understand that, misery becomes less miserable and you can get up off your despondant ass and get on with the pursuit of happiness.

I would bet my last dollar that everybody here has pursued and found plenty of it.

Now we work to spread it around! Yuh gun dead and yuh wuk gun be unfinished!

Get real!

39. Alas! Of late, my Es all long to be As!

despondEnt not despondAnt

40. “No people are really free until they become the instruments of their own liberation. Freedom is not legacy that is bequeathed from one generation to another. Each generation must take and maintain its freedom with it’s own hands.

Nana John Henrik Clarke”

41. RE There is no Utopia and there will never be. Human beings are incapable of creating Utopia.

NOT TRUE DDD THERE HAS BEEN UTOPIA FOR BLACKS IN THE USA THIS YEAR LIKE NEVER BEFORE–LOST OF JOBS, RISING GAS PRICES AND HAS WINTER APPROACHES THERE WILL BE A GREAT INCREASE IN THEIR HEATING COSTS. THAT IS REAL UTOPIA. ADDED TO THAT ISOVER I00 BOATS IN THE HARBOUR IN CALIFORNIA THAT CANT GET UNLOADED, AND ALONG WITH THE TRUCKERS UNABLE TO GET GOODS TO STORES, THERE ARE SHORTAGES OF FOOD AND GOODS. NOW ISNY THAT UTOPIA?

I AM REALLY ENJOYING THIS.UTOPIA PROMISED. UTOPIA DELIVERED AS WE BUILD BACK BETTER

42. @Donna: “Ask questions. Stop attempting to provide answers. You have much to learn about our experience. … Barbadians have been well-trained by the British and now American police. Poor fools don’t know how to think or act differently, even though they police their own kind.

With true respect…

Without question, I have a lot to learn. I cannot possibly understand what it is like to be Black. Nor a woman. Some judge me differently because I’m White and a male. This annoys me greatly. I’m just a sentient (just like every other human)!

At the same time, I /do/ have quite a bit of experience in several different domains, and so will provide answers when I think it is appropriate (and, hopefully, doesn’t cause any offense). These answers may, of course, be rejected if they don’t make any sense.

To your latter point… All the Bajans I work with every single day seem to be extremely competent. And not afraid of facing a challenge or two.

Please forgive me for this, but IMHO, fear and anger are irrational emotions (in most situations).

43. Old School Hip Hop Avatar
    Old School Hip Hop

Online News made traditional newspapers redundant lagging behind in breaking news so they went online too.

Racist dogs in Australian Government (in collusion on behalf of racist dogs in UK Government as white nations) do wanted to make facebook pay for news content that users posted as they lost advertising revenues but facebook told dicked them and told to fuck off and removed links to Australian News.

UK Government are against facebook mail encryption as they cannot hack into conversations and falsely claim that it is enabling pedophiles instead of spinning the old yarn about terrorism terrorism terrorism that spies and warmongers used.

As we know spies provide false evidence propaganda for wars on consignment and Governments say they have to go to war based on intelligence and when it is proved false they say they believed the lies that they requested. That’s racial prejudice white supremacy MO in 21st Century current times which is allegedly “more subtle” than in the old days 50 years back when everyone was openly racist in UK USA Australia South Africa Rhodesia etc etc. Now the racial warmongering cunts say they are warring for Human Rights in the last two or three decades they said there wars was for peace.

Old School Rap Artist Chuck D of Public Enemy once said a very long time ago that Hip Hop / Rap Music is the Black CNN
    (just like the original Griots storyteller poets of traditional African culture)
    Music is how Black News and Politics spreads
    It’s bigger than Hip Hop

44. #comment-1804349 is awaiting moderation and it is 21:16 BST

45. “NOT TRUE DDD THERE HAS BEEN UTOPIA FOR BLACKS IN THE USA THIS YEAR LIKE NEVER BEFORE–LOST OF JOBS, RISING GAS PRICES AND HAS WINTER APPROACHES THERE WILL BE A GREAT INCREASE IN THEIR HEATING COSTS. THAT IS REAL UTOPIA. ADDED TO THAT ISOVER I00 BOATS IN THE HARBOUR IN CALIFORNIA THAT CANT GET UNLOADED, AND ALONG WITH THE TRUCKERS UNABLE TO GET GOODS TO STORES, THERE ARE SHORTAGES OF FOOD AND GOODS. NOW ISNY THAT UTOPIA?”

It is the whites that are whining and complaining

and you are as per usual unoriginal copying whites

How can a PotUS be responsible for supply chains failing, backlogs in ports and shipping, and truckers issues worries and problems during oil crises / shortages

There are similar problems in UK and Europe

46. Q How can a PotUS be responsible for supply chains failing, backlogs in ports and shipping, and truckers issues worries and problems during oil crises / shortages
    A VACCINE MANDATES=>=>=>=>=>DECREASED WORKERS =>=>=>=>=>=>=>=>NO WORKERS =>=>=>=>=>NO WORK DONE =>=>=>=>=>=>=>=>=>=>DYSFUNCTIONAL DECREASED supply chains failing, backlogs in ports and shipping, ETC
    WHEN A DUMMY CAUSES GAS AND OIL PRODUCTION TO DECREASE IN A COUNTRY YOU GET oil crises / shortages IN YOUR COUNTRY

Q E D
    ITS EASY TO SEE SUCH IF YOU HAVE A BRAIN AND CAN THINK

RE It is the whites that are whining and complaining
    SO IF THE WHITES are whining and complaining DONT YOU THINK THE POOR LAID OF BLACKS ARE SUFFERING TOO

47. @Pacha

Tell us the nature of the democratic system operating in the Baltic states for example? Can they be truly labeled democracies for the purpose of this argument?

48. MRS MALAPROP"S NEPHEW Avatar
    MRS MALAPROP”S NEPHEW

the nature of the democratic system operating in the Baltic states IS CAUSING AN ECOLOGICAL PROBLEM IT SEEMS

49. There are vastly more poor White people in America than any other group.

There are more White people on welfare than Afrikans, by far.

There are more White people who benefited from Affirmative Action than Afrikans, especially White women.

There were vasly more White people slipping into poverty under Trump than anybody else.

Instead of these faux argruments aimed at the reverse idiotic illogic of the christian-evangelica-dispensationalists supposedly to somehow punishing Afrikan people for in their ninety percentile rejecting Donald Trump a rasssoul idiot tells the true nature of White christian fascists and their Black sambos, like Porgie Georgie.

The christian thing to do would be to recognize that both peoples are being played while a handfull of kleptocracts mey all the rasssoul money off their backs. A kleptocracy for which the dispensationalists, especially of the KKK variety as supported by Georgie Porgie, have no moral objections.

Trusting that this life does not end before the brutal subjugation of these vile christian cultists begins.

This story is emblematic of the thirst of socalled chritian cultists for power regardless of the damage done. Not even the events of Jan 06 can deter these people. We say they should have been gunned down. Including Georgie Porgie.

Georgie Porgie, yuh White man ass licker.

50. Christopher Halsall,

“Fear and anger are irrational emotions”.

Are you a bloody robot? If not, you are indeed an idiot. Fear and anger both have their uses. Often, they propel and fuel necessary action.

But here you are again shoving your condescending white foot in your big stupid mouth again, telling black people that they are irrational.

Was George Floyd’s fear irrational? Was the anger of the black onlookers irrational?

I have experienced both fear and anger in my life. I have learned not to wallow in the emotions but to use them to fuel action.

You are hopeless.

Do not address me again! It is obvious that you feel you know more about us and our experience than we do.

You fool yourself if you think you are being respectful. I think such is beyond your capacity.

Leave a Reply to GPCancel reply