… Powah [power] is a funny thing. Persons we may otherwise have seen as rational and students of sound governance suddenly do the oddest of things. Isn’t this the ongoing crux of the NIS? And it happens frequently in the private sector too. Despite all the protestations, did ICBL get contracts which were facilitated? What else did they get? The fourth estate has never seen fit to publicly question the Board of CBL? I know of situations where a subsidiary may begin sinking, and the Board changes like rats off a sinking ship. The big ups from the parent don’t want association with a failure. But that doesn’t stop the same persons who bailed from forcing their decisions upon the Board, sometimes even at the complete exclusion of the Board. Powah is a funny thing…

-NorthernObserver

The blogmaster has been observing the strident views expressed by citizens of Barbados about whether to vaccinate. A few thousand were motivated to march during the pandemic. People have the right to behave as they like provided no laws are being broken. Local newsfeeds both traditional and and social media continue to be choked daily with news about Covid 19. There is so much information being shared that it is thought to be contributing to Covid 19 fatigue globally.

The environment is perfect for opposition forces to put ‘licks’ in the government to win favour with a general election due in 2023, the latest. It is the idealist who believes political forces in any country will ever see the benefit of working together in the interest of the public if there is political capital to be gained.

Does it make intelligent Barbadians ponder why political parties and agents are motivated to be ’vocal’ about selected issues? In recent months there has been some noise made about the decision by the Mia Mottley government to replace the Queen of England (soon to be King) with a local daughter of the soil. The anecdotal feedback from a cross section of locals continues to expose a lack of understanding about the workings of the government. One suspects it will take a generation of educating the general public to meet the civic awareness gap.

If there is a lack of understanding about the basic workings of government is it reasonable to expect Barbadians to be motivated to march in thousands or flood daily talk shows about governance related matters? For years the National Insurance Fund has been managed like Babsie rum shop. Under successive government the embarrassing situation exist where our most important fund is unable to produce up to date audited financial statements. Through it all the Barbados public continues to be unaware of the accurate state of the fund.

Why has the public, including the Fourth Estate not vigorously pursued the Four Seasons transaction to hold political actors accountable? This is a transaction that exposes mismanagement and corrupt behaviour of both political parties when in government supported by senior public servants. We have Mia Mottley who was contracted to do legal work for Four Seasons now prime minister and one of her Mercedes driving financial consultants Avinash Persaud, former executive chairman. Not to forget a former dead Prime Minister David Thompson who hired both of them.

The political outrage directed at Mark Maloney for failing to deliver Covid 19 vaccine is interesting if seen in the context of a player who was heavily engaged by the former DLP government. The blogmaster does not condone the obvious lack of transparency surrounding the procurement of Covid 19 vaccine. What is being asked of our gullible Fourth Estate and Public Servants whose role is to serve the public for good of country – why have you vacated your responsibility? Some of us will not be fooled by those who seek to manipulate public opinion to satisfy narrow interest.

For more than a decade no audited financial statements of the National Insurance Fund, for more than a decade the Auditor General has been highlighting issues without redress by successive governments, for more than four decades successive governments have turned a blind eye to private transportation woes in Barbados, to the point it has developed a sub culture, for decades successive governments have pursued the lazy path to managing the economy by dumping our eggs in one tourism basket, for years we have asked successive governments to revamp the education system to ensure our people are adequately equipped to sustain our competitiveness in a fast moving world, for years we have asked for a fit for purpose waste to energy solution, a judicial system promising for years to crash under its weight …

Barbadians are some of the issues mentioned not worthy of your outrage? Are you willing to march if asked for any one of the issues mentioned? We know the answer therefore do not expect anything to change.

In 2023 the blogmaster will ask Donville Inniss to start a new political party to lead us to a different place. A suggested slogan sure to win favour with the public is ”The Return of the Don”.

244 responses to “Infected by Political Opportunism”

1. You know why doctors don’t acknowledge their mistakes right: they does BURY dem.

DRIBBLES YOU ARE VERY CORRECT HERE-ESPECIALLY IN THIS COVID THING AND HOW IT HAS BEEN MANAGED POLITICALLY

THE SUGGESTED PRETTY-COLS AND BLUNDERS BY AMERICA’S TOP PUBLIC HEATH DR AND THOSE OF HIS ILK AT WHO CDC FDA AND ELSEWHERE WHO HAVE PROPOSED THAT WELL ESTABLISHED PHARMACEUTICALS SHOULD NOT BE USED ——-HAVE CAUSED A LOT OF MISTAKES AND BURIAL THEREOF. UH LIE

DRIBBLES YUH ALWAYS BOWLING BAD BALLS AND EXPECT TO GET WICKETS
    TELL ME HAS FALSEY AND BURP AND THE JOKERS THAT HAVE SCREWED UP ROYALLY IN BIM ACKNOWLEDGED THIER MISTAKES?

WILL THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THIER MISTAKES AND CHANGE COURSE?

WILL YOU AND THE DEMOCRATS ACKNOWLEDGE DAT TRUMP WAS RIGHT BOUT HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE?

2. GIGO
    Garbage In
    Garbage Out

Breitbart is for Idiots which cannot be refuted
    It is clear GP gets his information {crap} from far right wing sites

John and GP are the Diamond and Silk of Barbados
    2 negro slaves doing the cakewalk

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

“‘the Minister in the Minstry of Finance said. “I know that with the trial for the former member of St James South, a lot of people were watching not just the efficiency for lack of a better term, but people were seemingly impressed with the short space of time within which the case was brought and heard”. (BT Oct 13/21)
    Imagine the USDOJ didn’t need a NEW BILL in Barbados. They used existing Barbadian legislation. And this Minister had to use this as some example? Just shows how completely out of touch with reality he is.
    You can lead a horse to water but you cannot…………….
    So lewwe mek a new pond and see effin de horse will drink now????

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Minister Forde wants an education campaign. Lewwe hire some new consultants and spend money we en got.
    “She said Government has to reassure the public that ALL political figures are not corrupt and suggested a public education campaign.”
    Why doesn’t she tell us of ONE political figure who has been convicted?

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

“I want to assure Barbadians that notwithstanding that they may not have seen any charges brought against anybody, please be aware that that process is continuing. There are a number of investigations of corruption that have taken place in Barbados since we came to Government and they continue.” said AG Marshall.
    Nuff money spent, nuff effort, but alas we can’t find anybody. So lewwe get a new Bill. Dis way we can create a new commission, nuff new jobs, nuff effort, nuff money and still not find a sole. But at least you can’t say we didn’t implement new legislation. Our promise was to implement.

6. @NO

How long will the BS continue to baffle the masses? For one more election cycle maybe?

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, who fool u that Bajans baffled … don’t mek sport do!

Who dey gine elect to run de govt ??? Grenville!

It’s twiddle D or twiddle B or bust … and I dare say that if there were a massive electoral earthquake and another party were indeed to win the govt that there would be such a heavy lift simply to get acclimated with governance that there could be little MAJOR corruption indictments (if any atall) withing a first 5 year term.

In fact let me rephrase that: maguffy defense lawyers would tie up any indictments and not much would be done as the novice party would be busy learning how to govern.

So in real, real terms no truly important corruption cases will be brought against a BLP or DLP former minister or parry chieftan … (some lil fella maybe) but not a top dog. I just can’t see it.

We ain’t baffled just cynical bout all this badword stuff.

Lata.

8. As it today there will be a low voter turnout, who would benefit in such a scenario?

9. @ David October 13, 2021 7:52 PM

The masses are naive, as usual. Most of them are so naïve that they would even confuse slave labour on the plantation with an adventure park.

If, after two years of hunger, they get a can of corned beef and glass marbles spiced with nationalist theses about “the best black nation” on the occasion of the proclamation of the republic, they will once again forget everything else.

Therefore, I unconditionally support the republic plans. They guarantee the preservation of power of our Supreme Leader and her movement as well as the re-election of our beloved government.

As the Jesuits said: the end justifies the means.

10. Backbench MP delivers stinging rebuke of BLP
    By Shamar Blunt
    In a rare break from the party line, a senior backbench MP on Tuesday accused the Barbados Labour Party and the Mottley administration of an apparently hypocritical “condonation of corruption” for which it had previously blasted its predecessors in Government.
    St Andrew MP George Payne lambasted Government’s anti-corruption record while lawmakers moved to complete the reform of a 101-year-old Prevention of Corruption Act that began but was never completed under the Freundel Stuart administration, then continued by the Mottley administration before it was defeated in the Senate last year.
    Payne said the administration and his party have openly dropped the ball on fighting the corruption and mismanagement they had accused the 2008-2018 Democratic Labour Party administration of committing.
    Referring to the appointment of former DLP Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler to the Jobs and Investment Council back in April 2020, Payne questioned the rationale behind hiring the DLP member to such an important financial committee. If the accusations made against him were false, he said, an apology to Sinckler and the Barbadians public should be forthcoming.
    Payne told the House of Assembly: “For the life of me I was a little flabbergasted when you could come two years after having attacked the Minister of Finance, having attacked the policies of the Democratic Labour Party, having attacked the mismanagement of the Democratic Labour Party, when you could come and make that same Minister of Finance an advisor in the Barbados Labour Party as part of an investments council within the Barbados Labour Party.
    “That speaks of a condonation of the same policies you attacked during the election campaign…If in our opinion, that Minister of Finance was wrongly accused, and wrongly alleged to be part of the mismanagement and alleged corruption in the last administration, and we now realize that we were wrong, before we did anything to rehabilitate that individual, we should make an apology to the people of Barbados in the same way that we went on the political platforms and made those accusations.”
    Payne then took his party’s leader, Prime Minister Mia Mottley, to task for what he described as a contradictory stance on those who owned large construction companies on the island.
    In a thinly veiled reference to cement magnate Mark Maloney, the backbencher said that given the rebuke Mottley laid on the DLP for handing out larger and more lucrative contracts to seemingly one individual for projects at Coverley and other areas, the country deserved an explanation on big deals that were still being given to the contractor.
    Payne told the House: “I listened to the leader of my political party on political platforms itemizing all the things that were given to this particular individual, can’t happen here that is what was said. and you in bed with a person like that? “Condonation of corruption is not covered in this bill, but condonation of corruption is the same thing as corruption.”
    Payne also insisted that though he fully supported the Prevention of Corruption Bill currently before lawmakers, it lacked the teeth and grit necessary to make a real dent in what he saw as a problem that continues to erode public trust.

11. “Though the non-partisan Bar Association and the Integrity Group Barbados made suggestions to the 2018 Integrity in Public Life Bill and once again made several contributions to the new anti-corruption bill, Payne questioned why these suggestions, including campaign finance laws, had not made it to the floor.
    “You solicit comments from [Integrity Group Barbados], from the Bar Association, but yet when you come to the legislation you totally ignore [them], apart from a few pleasantries,” said Payne.
    “You are dealing with 75 pages you know in this Corruption Bill, and then you are dealing with 15 pages of solid recommendations, plus recommendations from the Bar Association, nothing of substance in terms of those recommendations.” (SB)

12. Road construction, Dodds Veco, Capital work projects, loans with finders fees etc bag men and middle men are used to siphon off funds from taxpayers.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    Glad to see you back regularly.
    Let’s forget the indictments. It’s about altering the status quo.
    If the checks and balances that one blogger speaks of with great pride, were to be actually used, the potential indictments may be few and far between.
    Whatever was known as the rule of law, has quickly become the rule of will. The rules shall be whatever suits me. And effin you don’t like um, vote we out.

14. “Minister Forde wants an education campaign. Lewwe hire some new consultants and spend money we en got.
    “She said Government has to reassure the public that ALL political figures are not corrupt and suggested a public education campaign.”
    Why doesn’t she tell us of ONE political figure who has been convicted?”

she is LYING…she knows that they are all corrupt and she has ALWAYS ENABLED it with her silence…making her CORRUPT AS WELL….

she will not get away with this lying to cover up this time, she has done this before..

15. They are the ones believe that their legal loopholes will cover them forever, nah, ya bound to run out of loopholes…

16. @ Dick Traci October 13, 2021 10:43 PM

What is your problem???

Of course, our island is the private property of our construction magnates, not of the naive black masses who have been living on handouts since 1966. So they are also allowed to finance the election campaigns of their house servants.

Anyone who thinks Barbados ever stopped being a plantation is very naïve. The Barbadian welfare state with its repressive high taxes is nothing but a continuation of the plantation. With these economic conditions, the black masses remain eternally poor and backward.

17. Yes, Tron. There is a danger in the over-reliance on welfare. The safety net is supposed to catch you when you fall. If you do not attempt to climb, you will not fall but you will stay in the same place.

The safety net is not supposed to be for those who do not attempt to climb.

There must be balance or else the people do not learn to climb. But there must be a basic safety net to ensure they do not fall through the cracks.

Is it your position that the government’s interventions have dulled our recent ancestors’ edge?

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, merci and same to u: as I have noted previously I always look out for your insights. You know a lot of the ‘inside baseball’ (or rather ‘inside hockey’ would be the jargon in ur neck of the tundra) and should shine more light, more often.

I agree yes that it’s “about altering the status quo” so I do hope some meaningful change occurs, but it seems that those “checks and balances” are more a wisp of endless expectation than an expected certainty for action.

In order to have a strong independent department with legal authority to investigate those in power we need a solid framework of suppressing/avoiding retribution and back-channel usurping … easier said than achieved!

Some framework exists in Bim in name only as we see with the non action on multiple auditor general reports; evidence in Commission reports (like Duffus and several since); lack of investigation on the allegations like the wire-tapping or even the ICB matter!

When we consider what happened in US where their well entrenched checks and balances with strong independent authorities like the FBI were still subverted and nearly usurped to the will of a powerful president we should realize that neither B or D power-brokers will give such all strong independent power to an entity that can properly investigate and prosecute their shenanigans.

We have read of the things that Barrow’s regime is alleged to have covered up (Stokes matter but 1, HARP a mild 2). We were told in that Duffus that all roads led to the Dipper… so in short anything of note which happened in Bim was known by the leader.

That is a damming (but obviously true with all autocratic democracies 😇🤦🏾‍♂️) as we have seen for years.

In same vein all roads led to Tom, Owen, David (Stuart lesser extent) and now to Mia … they absolutely know of and (allegedly) facilitate the corrupt practices.

Just the udder day, Pres 46 set a precedent – some way will come back to haunt his office- when he disallowed executive privileges for data re the ‘insurrection’ … he did the right thing to address an assault of the conscience of his nation and redress ‘the rule of law’, yes!

Though a less direct in-our-face frontal assault like that in US still the conscience of our nation has been assaulted by “corrupt” practices for generations and clearly our leaders are less willing to do the right thing and bring back rule of law … but then again maybe we all no longer know what is the ‘right thing’ rule of law.

So likely you are quite astute to suggest that in fact we all say “[t]he rules shall be whatever suits me” … afterall we vote dem in and out effortlessly so we must “like um” or can’t do any better.

19. Luckily for me, Covid aside, i already saw this last gasp/grasp by the frauds in the parliaments and business communities to assert complete/total dominance over Afrikan populations using the pretense of “keeping everyone safe” which they never cared about before…in their world of GREED….so I already REMOVED 90% of my business from Caribbean banks…

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

Dr.Duguid showing the outward signs powah has gone to his brain?
    “the Government had no requirement to consult the engineering association on any topic of national interest.”
    Murdah!!!
    “The housing minister said: “Let me say that clearly that kind of technology of using steel frame, cladded for concrete board is already available in Barbados, at no time or there is no responsibility of the National Housing Corporation to consult any association of professional engineers;” (BT)
    I sincerely hope the Minister was MIS-quoted.
    For it is steel frame cladded WITH, not for.
    Further the dentist should know that all steel studs (frame) are not the same gauge (thickness nor material), nor are they all coated with a corrosion resistant coating that is the same. Since the advent of concrete board, not all concrete panels are the same. So one cannot treat a system as generic. They are massive differences. Even the coating on the screws used are very different.
    I was building these structures back in the 90s. The Chinese in particular, were famous for using cheaper coatings which did not last. (Were not corrosion resistant) Not all, but they had so many types, one needed to be sure what one was buying.
    They made some ‘cement boards’ which were wonderfully light, but couldn’t take a screw, and ended up failing when installed. No racking strength. The meshes in some failed prematurely.
    The Minister may be well advised to be more conciliatory, and appreciate the engineers know a thing or two (I am not a trained engineer)

21. Mr . Duguid is a Johhny nothing more nothing less
    His arrogance stinks the building up
    Makes for wonder what has he ever build in his whole life
    Outside his bank account which his respond would be to say none of your business

22. Kammie Holder is a Narcissist and a fake environmentalist. You all should know by now he only does things to burst his ego

23. Browne the president of BAPE response to Duguid in a form of an apology was priceless
    He should be awarded a gold medal encrypted as a Merit of a Distinction working on behalf of the people for self empowerment
    Wow his apology should have put the arrogant Duguid in his place
    Duguid policy helped the Rich Chinese economy while leaving the crumbs for the local builders and contractors to hammer out

24. Loved Browne apology and in the way he framed it
    At first reading one gets an impression that Browne would have allowed Duiguid utterances to go.unchallenged
    But it gets better

Drum roll.please and a drop Mike response

Duguid question his decision to import basic houses from China,” said Browne.

“I am indeed sorry – and I mean that sincerely,” he said.

However, insinuating that professionals in a given area should be able to question decisions made by policymakers without consultation, Browne added “As a country we seem to have fallen so far behind the days when we actually enjoyed leaders who truly thought, and spoke ‘for the people’, days when Barbadians benefited from that vision as I did over the past 40 years. We all should be truly sorry for this country if citizens are not fully aware that ‘where there is no vision, it is the people who will suffer…’”.

In fact, pointing to his years of experience across the engineering profession with local, regional and international firms, Browne maintained that there were many Barbadians capable of producing quality housing within budget and on time.

In disclosing that the 150 houses would come from China, Duguid had also stated that local artisans would not be able to produce the number of houses needed in the time required.

Following an assessment of damage done by Hurricane Elsa and a freak storm earlier this year, it was determined that close to 500 of the more than 2,000 houses affected had to be totally rebuilt.

However, also pointing to the book of one of his “favourite local personality” – I speak for the People: The Memoirs of Wynter Crawford, Browne said this book proved that improvements came about in at least one organisation after questions were raised by those knowledgeable of what was required.

“When we contrast Crawford’s vision with the current policy being executed by this ministry, one saying that Barbadians are incapable of building low-income housing at competitive cost and quality, and that therefore, we are somehow ‘better off’ by engaging Chinese people to facilitate us, the mind boggles, especially following the impressive work done by the very same local building sector to construct the much more complex North Point Isolation Facility in record time, within budget, and at high quality,” explained Browne.

“In the circumstances, I must accept Minister Duguid’s call for me to apologize to the people of Barbados. So, I Trevor Browne, do humbly apologize to the people of Barbados for the fact that in 2021, after 75 years of totally free education, after producing more qualified and educated citizens per thousand than almost any other country on earth, we can have representatives of the people who, rather than inspire us to great things, can look us in the face and tell us that we are incapable of building low-income houses for our own people,” he said.

Browne said: “I apologize for the fact that such a simple matter as fostering enfranchisement among citizens can be made to look like ‘pulling teeth’ in 2021, when Crawford, Errol Barrow, and Tom Adams made it look so simple decades ago – even at a time when there was almost zero local professional expertise available to them.”

“I apologize for the fact that this minister – who headed the ministry with responsibility for engineering, appears to be unaware of the role of engineers in complex projects,” he continued.

“That role is one of pre-emptive problem solving. It is one best done by discussion, examination of different viewpoints, openness to scrutiny and most importantly, by peer review examination.

“No savvy member of the public would consult a rogue dentist, doctor or lawyer who was unregistered, or who was not a member of the specific professional association – where peer review and conformance to ethical practices can be facilitated and mandated,” he pointed out. (MM)

25. It is inspiring when people outside of the political inside wheeling and dealing speak up
    Browne said all he had to say in a stinging public apology to Duguid
    Duguid a person who does not have the certification to question Browne or stand toe to toe next to Browne qualifications as an engineer
    Lol Duguid a square peg in a round hole has exhibit the art of being a nonsensical politician living off taxpayers money and handing it over to the Chinese govt for prefab houses which could have been built in Barbados under the guidance of Barbados civil engineers

26. Dat Browne should be very careful in running afoul of Duguid, de last man who did it in Parliament is in the US prison system, remember “yuh muddah” etc.

I think the PM should elevate Duguid to function as Deputy PM when she is off on her many jaunts, we need a dose of testosterone to balance out the estrogen in that rarified air.

One of the first acts of the authorities on the achievement of Republic status should be to confer the title of “Defender of the Republic” to Duguid on his stout handling of the criticism by Browne about prefab houses.

Remember the Chinese are watching, a word to the wise is sufficient.

27. One of the first acts of the authorities on the achievement of Republic status should be to confer the title of “Defender of the Republic” to Duguid

Xxxxxx I envisioned Duiguid to be a stouts defense of the Chinese Republic as was demonstrated in his insipid attacks on Browne
    Browne call was to have the worked handed to barbadians and rightfully so
    While Duiguid took and insulting position about time period

28. Uh oh!

King mum on rumours of his departure
    Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office with responsibility for Culture, John King, says he will not be making any statements in response to reports that he will not be returning as the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) candidate for St Philip West whenever elections are called.
    In fact, when asked directly if he intends to contest the seat in the next General Election, King bluntly replied, “Let me be very clear, I have no comment, none.”
    For weeks, reports have circulated that King, who defeated Democratic Labour Party (DLP) stalwart Dr David Estwick, is to be replaced.
    Chatter within the political circles intensified last week following the announcement that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley would be attending today’s St Philip West constituency branch meeting.
    However, King said that as far as he was aware there was nothing of major significance occurring at the branch meeting.
    “All I can say to you is that I have no comment. I try not to get too involved in stuff like that. It is not my business what is being said or what people think. My business is to get on with the business that I am in. As for the branch meeting on Sunday, there are not any major announcements that I can think of, it is just the usual branch meeting,” he said.
    Several attempts
    The Sunday Sun also made several attempts to reach the party’s general secretary, Senator Dr Jerome Walcott, but was unsuccessful.
    In his political outing, King, a first-time candidate, defeated three-time incumbent Estwick by 2 399 votes in a BLP clean sweep of the polls. He was given the portfolio of Minister of Sports and Culture, but two years later was relieved of duty in a Cabinet reshuffle.
    Mottley said then: “This is not a case of dismissing anyone. I want to make it clear I am committed to ensuring that each former member of the Cabinet is utilised in one manner or the other in furtherance of the work of this party in Government. They are all capable individuals who have a lot to offer Barbados and I will be leaning on them in some form or fashion to assist with the execution of our mandate to be effective as a Government and our resolve to remain the political party of choice in Barbados.”
    (CLM)

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

Anything further on EWBSB?

30. @ David October 17, 2021 6:55 AM

In fact, there is no reason for rumours at all. Our Supreme Leader will decide in due course who will be the next Minister for this constituency.

The only prerequisites are righteousness, sincerity – and loyalty and absolute obedience.

31. @NO

This transparent government has gone deep silent on the matter. Same old same old. We see Duguid is now in a fight with the wily Browne, president of BAPE.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

“the next Minister for this constituency”….lmao, it is usually candidate for the constituency, or is every elected person now a Minister?

33. DavidOctober 17, 2021 1:58 PM

This transparent government has gone deep silent on the matter. Same old same old. We see Duguid is now in a fight with the wily Browne, peesodyof BAPE
    Xxccc

And Browne has punched the arrogant Duoguid into silence leaving social media to stomp.all over Duiguid
    Browne sent him one of the best apologies letting Duguid know that his job depends on votes while he Browne a certified professional engineer does not have to bow to his whims and fancy

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

Duguid’s initial comments stunk of “powah infecting the brain”, yet Brown can more than hold his own. Something tells me this topic isn’t going to die quietly.

35. @NO

It is the kind of reply PM MOTTLEY should address. You may recall OSA fired Liz and George for similar arrogant statements.

36. @ NorthernObserver October 17, 2021 2:03 PM

Three years after the rise to power, you should slowly familiarise yourself with the new customs! What really matters is not some outdated constitution but informal power.

In a one-party state with unity of powers, the Prime Minister de facto determines the parliamentarians and thus the ministers. The citizens could theoretically vote out a minister, but then our government could challenge the election for electoral fraud.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    I suggest politely the ‘informal powers’ are not impressed. What may appear to be silent approval can jump out and bite yah.

38. The current member of parliament of St Philip West John King will not be contesting the next general election.

King made the announcement at the branch meeting moments ago at the Gordan Walters Primary School.

#BTNewsYouCanTrust#LeadingOnlineMedium #StaySafe#BTNews #BTEpaper#BarbadosTODAY #Barbados#BarbadosNews

39. King statement
    I made the decision that come next election, I definitely will not be seeking re-election. I believe that I still have a lot of things that I would like to accomplish within St. Philip West and across Barbados for the 300, 000 plus people that we have in it, but I think that I can do that in the different way,” King said

40. Obviously McConney is more useful to Mottley than King ever would be, and Mottley could dangle some inducements to King so that he remains a good soldier while contemplating his next move.

41. Like she did to Trevor Prescod.

42. Let us not be surprised at John King’s decision. He was never welcomed in the BLP, they knew where his loyalty lies, his family loyalty for many years. John knows very well what the DLP did for him in his darkest of times but yet the DLP was a monster, no good. “Never bite the hand that Feed Ya.” There is no such thing as the Minister of Culture within the Prime Ministers’ office. The PM shaft him, place him in the backroom of “Nowhere” to self-destruct and so he did. John will now have to lick his wounds, understand that Mam doesn’t care, we are not in this together, and “If You Go To Breakfast With The Satan’s Sister Do Not Expect To Skip Lunch.” “My friend John King, Ya Give She The Vote now Watch She.”
    Copied

43. John King can go back to the entertainment industry and he will be offered jobs in the private sector.

44. @Hants

The prime minister indicated at the branch meeting John King will be assigned to an archival/digitation project.

45. DavidOctober 17, 2021 8:27 PM

The prime minister indicated at the branch meeting John King will be assigned to an archival/digitation project

Xxxx
    Explain what does mean on layman’s English

46. She gwine bury he in de archives

47. @Sargeant

The job was given great weight with the confirmation Barbados has the second largest middle passage archives after England.

48. @ David, ” an archival/digitation project. ” ?

Sounds as exciting as watching paint dry for a
    calypsonian.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply