Submitted by Lyall Small

David; attached are 2 Charts on the daily incidence of Covid-19 in Barbados from 1st August to 8th October. They try to provide a picture of how the 3rd wave of the pandemic has been progressing here. They are essentially based on the raw data. The data suggests, to me, that we are near the eye-wall of this category 5 hurricane and can go either way into an eventual stable calm or an extended chaotic nightmare of expanding cases. The majority of the population needs to concentrate on doing what we individually all know is our part to get out this, battered but not broken.

Related Links:

246 responses to “BU Covid 19 Dash”

1. QEH in the news again … AND THE WINSTON SCOTT POLYCLINIC NEXT DOOR

As a result of the current COVID crisis, the Accident and Emergency (A&E) Department of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital is requesting that only cases classified as emergencies should come to the department.

A media release said today: “As usual, the A&E Department should not see patients with mild symptoms, non-emergencies or those who are coming for testing.”

The situation has also been exacerbated by the closure of the Winston Scott Polyclinic as a result of the untimely death of a member of their healthcare team.

All patients presenting to AED will be assessed by experienced nursing and medical professionals and advised appropriately. Those found to be a non-emergency will be referred elsewhere.

Meanwhile, members of the public who had appointments for COVID tests at the Winston Scott Polyclinic, at Jemmotts Lane, St Michael are asked to go to any of the other testing sites – Brandford Taitt Polyclinic, Black Rock; Eunice Gibson Polyclinic, Warrens, or the main testing site at the Wildey Gymnasium, Wildey, all in St Michael. (BGIS)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/09/winston-scott-polyclinic-closed-after-death-of-staff-member/

Did the member of Staff at the Winston Scott Polyclinic who sadly passed get infected at work or at home?

Another example of a case in the blue zone unfortunately resulting in death.

Vaccinated or unvaccinated, the member of Staff died.

So the polyclinic is closed.

No doubt it will be sanitized, procedures reviewed, above security heightened all perhaps to no avail if the enemy is entering underground through the pipes.

2. While over in Nelson Street, the Flying Squad, acting on intelligence from the public, swooped in on Vincy Town to ensure protocols are being observed.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/10/covid-unit-moves-vincy-town-nelson-street/
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Head of the Covid Monitoring Unit, Ronald Chapman, yesterday reported that some small businesses in and around The City were closed last night based on intelligence from the public.

Members of the unit visited the area near the Fairchild Street terminal known as “Vincy Town”, then moved to nearby Nelson Street, where a number of people had gathered and were eating, drinking and liming.

The Deputy Chief Environmental Health Officer said many of the patrons gathered were not wearing masks and were in close proximity to each other.

Chapman said his unit had received several calls from Barbadians reporting breaches of the country’s public health protocols in recent days, but special mention had been made of those two areas. (BA)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Not your buddies by any chance Kammie?

If so, another Blue Area, Southern Corridor.

If the virus is coming through the pipes underground the efforts of the Flying Squad are to no avail … except perhaps shutting down the business.

So patrons will go elsewhere.

Lockdowns on the horizon?

3. ClassifiedsRead ePaper
    Home / Covid-19 / BHTA calls for mandatory COVID-19 vaccination for tourism workers

BHTA calls for mandatory COVID-19 vaccination for tourism workers – by Emmanuel Joseph October 10, 2021
    The local hotel and tourism leadership has called on the Mia Mottley administration to immediately introduce mandatory COVID-19 vaccination for all employees across the industry or witness the collapse of a sector that brings in 40 per cent of the island’s precious foreign exchange

4. Now that the reality of the many negative fall outs the virus has unleashed on Barbados and the households
    What benefits has Barbados gain by govt letting tourist from hot bed cities enter the country
    The realities of death and high infections are so out of controlled which begs the question would Barbados economy ever rebound from what the virus has unleashed physically emotionally and socially on the lives of the people as well as the economy
    There are many social economic problems that the vaccine cannot fix or help
    There the areas where employment would continue to soar as business closed
    There is the stress which can lead to mental health problems even with vaccinated because people cannot find jobs or the stress of having to deal with daily problems worsen
    How about the children whose lack of necessary interacting with others which is necessary to social growth creates a morbid situation of isolation
    The problems that Covid has embedded in the social norms would long term impact society as people way of life changes and aggression and lack of social behaviour creates
    abnormalities due to social distancing

5. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David October 10, 2021 5:29 PM

Any suggestions how to protect our old people who are being taken out by the virus?

Zelenko (https://vladimirzelenkomd.com) or FLCC (https://covid19criticalcare.com) protocols.

6. AC
    Exercising
    good for your mind body soul
    just do it

7. “Did the member of Staff at the Winston Scott Polyclinic who sadly passed get infected at work or at home?”

If infection was due to water (which it wasn’t) then everyone who drank the same water would be infected (which they weren’t)

8. Was it reported that this death is unrelated to Covid ?

9. 555 Dub StreetOctober 11, 2021 5:36 AM

AC
    Exercising
    good for your mind body soul
    just do
    Xxcc
    Just maybe if govt had exercise basic commonsense when virus signs were coming from other countries
    The bajans mind body and soul would not be fighting tooth and nail against this virus

10. DavidOctober 11, 2021 6:21 AM

Was it reported that this death is unrelated to Covid ?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    QEH in the news again … AND THE WINSTON SCOTT POLYCLINIC NEXT DOOR

As a result of the current COVID crisis, the Accident and Emergency (A&E) Department of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital is requesting that only cases classified as emergencies should come to the department.

A media release said today: “As usual, the A&E Department should not see patients with mild symptoms, non-emergencies or those who are coming for testing.”

The situation has also been exacerbated by the closure of the Winston Scott Polyclinic as a result of the untimely death of a member of their healthcare team.

You are right, it is possible the death at the Winston Scott Polyclinic may not have been due to COVID.

But it doesn’t change the fact of what happened at the QEH or the Geriatric Hospital.

Nor does it change the fact that the MOH says the majority of cases are in the Southern Corridor.

Possibly one of the many cases I have used may or may not have been due to COVID.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/09/nurse-winston-scott-polyclinic-passes/

11. “Just maybe if govt had exercise basic commonsense when virus signs were coming from other countries
    The bajans mind body and soul would not be fighting tooth and nail against this virus”

you are an old nag pointing your finger blaming when things go wrong but..
    Barbados is past that point of the virus entering the island
    and is now in the process of fighting spread of infections
    and tending to the dead and dying

keep up

12. Dubb sh.it

you are an old nag pointing your finger blaming when things go wrong but..
    Barbados is past that point of the virus entering the island
    and is now in the process of fighting spread of infections
    and tending to the dead and dying

keep up

Xcxcccccc
    There are my fingers
    Why do u have a problem where how and when I point them
    Yuh need to stop peeping out from your little corner pelting stones in my direction
    If my truth bother u so be it
    But truth is the correction formula for correction
    Many bajan households has become isolation centre
    A truth which came about because of govt mistake a landmark of govt Covid policies
    Cuss the messenger all u want but truth is not going anywhere soon
    Deal with that knucklehead

13. AC OPINED……AND CORRECTLY SO
    Just maybe if govt had exercise basic commonsense when virus signs were coming from other countries
    The bajans mind body and soul would not be fighting tooth and nail against this virus
    IF GOVERNMENT HAD LISTENED TO WISE COUNSEL BY THEIR OWN AND THOSE PHYSICIANS ABROAD,WHO WERE TELLING THE TRUTH MAYBE LOTS OF THE PAIN AND SUFFERING MIGHT HAVE BEEN AVERTED.

INSTEAD WE OPTED FOR THE PRETTY-COLS THAT ARE NOT WORKING HERE, THERE OR ANYWHERE. AND THEY WONT BE WORKING HITHER, THITHER OR YON EITHER.

WE PREFERRED TO LISTEN TO FALSY AND BURP
    WE SCOFFED AT TRUMP FOR AGREEING TO USE HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE–A DRUG WITH A VERY WIDE THERAPEUTIC IDEX , AND LONG DETERMINED AND ENSHRINED IN HARRISON’S TEXT BOOK OF INTERNAL MEDICINE TO COMBAT CORONOVIRUSES BECAUSE OF ITS MECHANISM OF ACTION BY PREVENTING TRANSCRIPTION AND TRANSLATION OF THE VIRUS’ M-RNA, AND THUS PREVENTING BOTH TRANSMISSION AND MUTATION

THE HILARITY IN THE RUM SHOP IS THE RUBBISH EXPOUSED BY FOLK ON BU WITH ABSOLUTELY NO EXPERIENCE OR TRAINING IN PUBLIC HEALTH, AND NO TRAINING OR UNDERSTANDING OF THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES, ESPECIALLY PHARMACOLOGY VIROLOGY IMMUNOLOGY BIOCHEMISTRY AND PHYSIOLOGY.

BY THE WAY, THE MORE WUNNA CURSE ME,, THE MORE I LAUGH, WHEN I COME FOR MY DAILY MIRTH FROM THE RUM SHOP

AC HAS AGAIN CORRECTLY OPINED
    Many bajan households has become isolation centre
    A truth which came about because of govt mistake a landmark of govt Covid policies
    CUSS HER AS MUCH AS YOU LIKE BUT SHE IS TELLING THE TRUTH HERE
    SHE IS SPOT ON, BECAUSE WE FAILED TO STICK TO THE BASICS

14. Make jab a must!

BCCI wants mandatory vaccines for front-line workers
    ADD THE Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) to the list of organisations calling on Government to make vaccines mandatory for all front-line workers.
    BCCI president Anthony Branker also wants an urgent meeting of the Social Partnership so a way forward can be found to deal with the ongoing third wave of the COVID-19 virus.
    His call came a few hours after six more COVID-19related deaths were reported by public health authorities yesterday.
    In a statement, Branker said the executive council of the BCCI, which represents the voice of over 240 members from all sectors of business on the island, met recently and with one voice expressed concern about the lack of action by Government on the escalating COVID-19 cases and the impact this was having on their businesses and society in general.
    “The BCCI is calling on the Government of Barbados to get back to the negotiation table of the Social Partnership, where labour, Government and the private sector can carve out a sustainable future for all Barbadians, COVID-19 or no COVID-19,” Branker said.
    The businessman said the BCCI agreed at the last Social Partnership meeting six weeks ago to encourage and educate its members on the benefits of vaccination against the virus.
    “However, in light of the current deleterious situation, the BCCI adds its voice of support to the Barbados Private Sector Association for a vaccine mandate in the form of a risk-based approach to mandatory vaccination that will see all front-line workers vaccinated or tested frequently for COVID-19.”
    Time for decision
    Yesterday, the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association (BHTA), which represents more than 70 hotels and
    accommodation properties, in a whole page ad in the SUNDAY SUN, called on Government to make vaccines mandatory for all workers in the hospitality industry.
    Branker said the time had come for a decision to be made.
    “As president of the BCCI, I must now ask, how many more? How many more potential visitors to our island will have to cancel their planned trip? How many more cruise line calls need to be cancelled? How many more doctors and nurses must reach their breaking point?”
    He also said Barbadians were being seriously affected by mental health issues associated with COVID-19 fatigue, and the children remained away from the classroom.
    “How many more of our children must be left behind because of the online learning? How many more businesses must be interrupted or closed? How many more jobs must be lost? How many more Barbadians have to die?” he queried.
    When contacted, general secretary of the Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados, Dennis De Peiza, said he would not comment on the BHTA’s call for mandatory vaccines in the tourism industry, but did reveal the issue of mandatory vaccines would be the main item on the agenda tomorrow during a special meeting of their occupational safety and health division.
    (BA)

15. life expectancy in barbados in 1950 was 52 I hate to think what it was in 1900, Life has to be lived those past their sell by date have to be extra cautious not just for covid but for everything. A year and a half ago it was two weeks to flatten the curve ,now it is everyone must be vaccinated and that is no guarantee old people will live longer if it is true people are on their 4 shot in israel.. Dont depend on someone else look after yourself . Take a look at a college football game over 100000 in attendance how are you going to put that genie back in the bottle. lets go brandon

16. WHAT YOU ARE SAYING LAWSON IS THAT THE AUTHORITIES DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING AND ARE BEING VERY INCONSISTENT
    IN THE USA THEY SEEK TO ENFORCE VACCINE MANDATES BUT
    1- THE STADIA ARE FULL FOR CATCHING THE BALL AND FIGHTING FOR IT GAMES
    2- THEY ALLOW THOUSANDS TO ENTER THE COUNTRY WHO ARE UNVACCINATED AND VERY LIKELY INFECTED, AND THEN FLY AND BUS THEM TO CITIES ALL OVER THE COUNTRY TO INFECT THE SAME CITIZENS THAT YOU SEEK TO HAVE VACCINATED

AND WE HAVE TWO MORONS SUGGESTING THAT IF THE USA SHOULD CHANGE IN 2024 THAT THEY WOULD HAVE GOT THE GOVERNMENT THAT THEY DESERVE.

AS YOU KNOW I HAVE NOT BEEN SMART SINCE I WON MY SCHOLARSHIP ALMOST 50 YEARS AGO, BUT IT SEEMS THAT I STILL SMARTER THAN THE MORONS WHO WILL NOW SEEK TO MOCK ME NOW………BUT IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE USA CHANGED GOVERNMENT IN 2020 AND THEY ACTUALLY NOW REALLY HAVE THE GOVERNMENT THAT THEY DESERVE.

17. GP I have heard a new spin or rules every week, Biden started the vaccination program, Biden started warp speed, wear one mask wear 3 masks etc people are fed up especially the young, they will take reasonable precautions but a bunch of old people telling them they cant have christmas or have a drink in a pub is going to wear thin.

18. LAWSON

GP I have heard a new spin or rules every week,
    AND YOU WILL CONTINUE TO DO SO BECAUSE DRS FALSY AND BURP AND THE CDC AND THE FDA AND WHO AND THE ADMINISTRATION AND BIG PHARMA ESPECIALLY ARE ALL AS CORRUPT AS THE ONE WHO LEADS THEM- THE DEVIL HIMSELF..AND THEY ARE ALL ON THE TAKE

AND WHEN EVER THE DEVIL IS LARGE AND IN CHARGE OR EVEN JUST PRESENT, NOTHING ENDS WELL. AS WE CAN CLEARLY SEE.

IT WAS NOT VERY LONG AGO REALLY THAT TRUMP WAS MOCKED FOR SUGGESTING WARP SPEED (WHICH HE UNFORTUNATELY DID NOT KNOW WAS WELL ON THE WAY BEFORE THIS MOST UNUSUA “VIRUS” WAS RELEASED ON THE WORLD BY THE COSMOS DIABOLICOS)

THE DIABOLICAL DR FALSY ASKED FOR PRETTY COOLS THAT DONT WORK, AND CLINICAL TRIALS FOR HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE, IN JUST THE SAME THAT IT IS WELL DOCUMENTED THAT HE SCREWED UP IN 1981 WITH HIV. AND INSTEAD OF FOLLOWING THE RESULTS OF THE TRUE DRS WHO WERE USING HYDOXYCHLOROQUINONE WITH GREAT SUCCESS HITHER, THITHER AND YON, TRUMP WAS MOCKED AND THE DRUG BANNED AROUND THE WORLD BY EDICT BY WHO LED BY A NON DR……SUCH THAT EVEN IN AFRICA WHERE MALARIA IS ENDEMIC THIS DRUG WAS NOT AVAILABLE

INSTEAD MANY VACCINES WERE FOISTED UPON THE WORLD THAT DID NOT UNDERGO THE WELL ESTABLISHED PROTOCOLS FOR BRINGING ANY PHARMACEUTICAL TO MARKET………….AS IS WELL SET OUT IN ALL WELL READ TEXT BOOKS OF PHARMACOLOGY INCLUDING JAWETZ IN CHAPTER 3 IN OLDER VERSIONS

NOW WE HAVE MANY ON BU WITH NO KNOWLEDGE OF PUBLIC HEALTH PROCEEDURES (EVEN AS OUR PUBLIC HEALTH JOKERS FOLLOWED BLINDLY DESPITE GOOD LOCAL ADVICE) AND MANY CUT AND PASTERS OF GOO IN THIER FEAR AND ANXIETY, THAT THEY DONT REALLY UNDERSTAND, BULL SHITTING WITH GAY ABANDON

19. “A truth which came about because of govt mistake a landmark of govt Covid policies
    Deal with that knucklehead”

old peoples minds slowly stop functioning and keep repeating the same point
    from day one it was said that when contagion crossed into Barbados it would be a big issue on the little island
    it took a while and was several months behind other places but it is in a precarious situation right about now
    people are dealing with it while others are talking about it

stop insulting like a stale stank pissy pussy

20. @Lawson
    If you have friends telling you “Biden started the vaccination program, Biden started warp speed” then I would suggest trimming or replacing a few friends.

Lawson to wife “Let’s get naughty and play school. You will be the teacher”
    “OK!” said wifey “But I’m going to be absent”

21. Its Biden making those claims and I have ditched some good friends over their losing the ability to think for themselves. Cant even stand to argue with them.
    I understand what your saying about educators you can always learn something. .When I was dating one bajan teacher and asked her did she like sex ..She said infrequently, I asked her was that one word or two.

22. ClassifiedsRead ePaper
    Home / Top Featured Article / #COVIDDispatch – Social worker says changes needed in approach to COVID-19 victims

#COVIDDispatch – Social worker says changes needed in approach to COVID-19 victims – by Barbados Today October 11, 2021
    Who feels it knows it. That’s how Pamela Jones-Goodridge sums up her life-changing COVID-19 experience.

Speaking to COVID Dispatch from home isolation, Jones-Goodridge said the seven days she spent in an isolation facility have altered the way she performs her day-to-day duties as a clinical social worker.

Always extremely careful to follow the protocols, it came as a complete shock when she contracted the virus.

Jones-Goodridge said: “It will always remain a mystery to me because I pride myself on being pretty safe in terms of following the protocols. Monday night, I felt like a tickling in the back of my throat and I ignored it. I came home the Tuesday night, took a shower, went to bed and I woke up in the early hours of Wednesday morning with chills.”

But again, she brushed off the symptoms and reasoned that it was because she had been sleeping directly under a fan. However, things took a turn for the worst in the morning.

“I took my temperature and I realized that it was high, and I said, ‘well that is odd’ so I took it a half-hour later and then 15 minutes after; it was still high. By then, I started to feel pain in my eyes and in my upper nasal cavity, but it didn’t feel like a headache, it just felt like sinus pressure,” she explained.

Jones-Goodridge said she called her doctor and was directed to get a COVID-19 test. She was given some Zyrtec and told to get some rest until the results came in.

She recalls getting the dreaded email at 4:30 on Thursday morning. It was at that point that she began to panic, not for herself initially but for all her close contacts who she said had underlying health challenges and some of whom were only partially vaccinated.

However, after bringing her anxiety under control, the clinical social worker got a first-hand view of the problems in the process and how they can be fixed. She now believes that Government is using the wrong people to do the COVID-19 outreach.

Jones-Goodridge said: “When you bring a celebrity that, in the average Barbadian’s mind, you and I are miles apart in our experiences, in our outlook on life, the average Barbadian finds it hard to relate to that person. So that celebrity or that doctor or the politician telling persons you should take the vaccine because it will save your life amounts to nothing unless they can safely say ‘I am recommending you to take the vaccine because I know what it is to walk a mile in your shoes.”

“Up until last week Thursday, I was like any one of those celebrities. I have been counselling a lot of people that have been positive that have been in facilities and up to that point I was very far removed from them and their situation and their experience until I found myself one of them. One of the things that I also realised when I was there was what I thought I was doing and how effective I thought I was being when I was counselling persons, I really wasn’t,” she reflected, noting that her seven days at the isolation centre at Blackman and Gollop Primary School caused her to reflect on her approach.

Jones-Goodridge said that one of the major shortfalls throughout the whole process was the lack of information which was causing many people anxiety.

23. Faucci and all the experts should have figured out a long time ago that the virus is also waterborne.

IT took me some time but these folks are supposed to know these things.

24. You always had trouble with one word or two.
    Reminds me of the time you hit on a man and got beaten up because you thought being a turncock meant the person was gay.

25. THEO, YOU AND LAWSON SOUND AS THOUGH YOU HAVE BOTH SPENT TIME IN BANGKOK

THERE IS NOTHING LIKE A GOOD PUN TO HAVE FUN A PUN

26. JOHN
    RE Faucci and all the experts should have figured out a long time ago that the virus is also waterborne.
    FALSY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT ANYTHING

WHEN YOU ARE DRIVEN BY THE MONEY AND THE FEAR OF DYING FROM “SUICIDE” YOU DO AS YOU ARE TOLD AND PAID TO DO, BUT IN ADDITION, THE DIABOLICAL FALSY SCREWED UP JUST AS BADLY WITH HIV IN 1981. PROBABLY THE REASON WHY HE WAS CHOSEN FOR THE OBVIOUS SCREW UP LAST YEAR.

I SPOTTED HIM FROM VERY EARLY, BECAUSE THE PROPOSED PRETTYCOLS JUST DID NOT MAKE SENSE
    BUT THE BIASED BLOGMASTER POSTED A LENGTHY CURRICULUM OF FALSY LAST YEAR IN TANDEM WITH A POST FROM PATCHY MAMMA WHICH ASKED WHAT DID I EVER ACHIEVE IN LIFE.

IT WAS SO HILARIOUS

27. If sex with three people is a threesome , and sex with four people is called a foursome, now I understand why donna calls you handsome Theo

28. Crewman to Noah: Noah, we have to go, but we have one chicken, one sheep and a goat.

Noah: Let’s go. We have Lawson. They might not reproduce, but they’ll be busy.

29. Jones-Goodridge said: “It will always remain a mystery to me because I pride myself on being pretty safe in terms of following the protocols. Monday night, I felt like a tickling in the back of my throat and I ignored it. I came home the Tuesday night, took a shower, went to bed and I woke up in the early hours of Wednesday morning with chills.”

Could be as simple as eating a salad or taking a shower.

Wonder if Pamela Jones-Goodridge lives in the Southern corridor or below the 140 foot contour!!

I believe I may have been in contact with a COVID – 19 sufferer this morning, observed physical distancing, wore a mask and sanitised after, all the rules and protocols.

I offered to call an ambulance but the person preferred me to call a relative.

The person clearly needed help but was still able to drive away when the relative came.

So, maybe I may be lucky, or unlucky, time will tell.

30. I hear Mottley will address the nation this evening and will take questions afterwards. The address will be predictable, lets hope we have some probing questions.

31. Mottley would soon learn that Covid messages overload is a definite way of people running out to what she repeats
    By now many have already made up mind to Vax or not to Vax
    Those whose minds that already determined not to Vax would not tune into PR covid press conferences

32. Mottley would soon learn that Covid messages overload is a definite way of people tunning out to what she repeats
    By now many have already made up mind to Vax or not to Vax
    Those whose minds that already determined not to Vax would not tune into PR covid press conferences

33. Safe zones coming for Barbados starting with care providers in critical health care units.

34. @ David October 11, 2021 7:21 PM

Just heard the latest announcements from our Supreme Leader! It is excellent that we now get de facto compulsory vaccination.

However, we should not stop here, but take brutal action against all opponents of vaccination in the ranks of the administration, for example the Chief Labour Officer and other enemies of leader, party and state.

35. We KNOW the vaccines will wane with time, or so the experts tell us.

Will boosters be mandated for the vaccinated to keep the Safe Zones Safe?

For sure there will be breakthrough infections in the vaccinated.

Natural immunity may last for years.

Instead of testing only the unvaccinated for COVID, both the vaccinated and unvaccinated should be tested for COVID as well as for evidence of past COVID infection(s).

36. How can you have safe zones with the vaccinated being inherently unsafe and subject to breakthrough infections?

The only sensible solution is to eradicate the virus!!

37. The problem is no one understands the virus or the vaccines and their long term effects.

Can’t build anything lasting in sand.

38. Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic

The latest figures show 1 706 tests, yielding 214 new positive cases.
    55 of them are under age 18.
    Between September 1 and October 10, we have 872 cases of people 18 years and under.
    113 are in isolation as at 7 a.m. today.
    The tertiary facility at Harrison Point is being refitted with oxygen machines so it looks more like a secondary facility.
    There is an increase in the number of people quarantining at home.
    This had to be rolled out because of the increasing number of cases.
    The Ministry of Health is trying to move faster in removing people from home who need to go into isolation facilities.
    The roll-out of home isolation has not been perfect.
    We are experiencing delays in getting people out of home isolation to the isolation facilities for assessment.
    We expect in two or three days to be able to get to a point, where within 48 hours, we will be able to do everything.
    Transportation issues were dealt with to be able to respond in a timely manner.
    We started the process of retrofitting some vehicles to be able to transport people and entered partnerships with private operators.
    The elderly care facility in the catchment of the Branford Taitt Polyclinic is being well managed, as is the cluster at the Geriatric Hospital.
    Prime Minister Mia Mottley

The PM Started by expressing sympathy to the passing of those with COVID.
    We do not feel mandating vaccines will work.
    We do not feel lockdowns will work and will lead to loss of jobs, closure of businesses.
    We need to start the process of safe zones.
    We need to have places where people are either vaccinated or recently tested.
    The Ministry of Health will lead the process of rolling out guidance notes in bite-sized chunks to make it manageable and sustainable.
    People will be tested based on risk.
    High risk: ICUs, A&E, urgent care facilities, isolation facilities, swabbing centres, nursing homes and outpatient clinics.
    Unvaccinated people in these high-risk areas will have to be tested once a week.
    Vaccinated people will have a less frequent regime of testing.
    Government will pay for the tests in public sector.
    The Prime Minister has written BAMP, Nurses Association and trade unions to indicate this will be done.
    After healthcare workers, there will be a guidance note for frontline workers, then tourism and hospitality workers, then workers in the education sector.
    We will meet with the business community and labour unions to see how we can create safe zones for patrons.
    60 per cent of the eligible population (people 12 and older) have already said we accept the responsibility to protect ourselves.
    142 543 people have taken a first jab up to 5 p.m. today.
    This country has remained stable because the majority of Barbados has done the right thing.
    I have confidence in our people, and they have proven us right.
    We are not doing incentives for people to take vaccines because Government has paid the bills for building the facilities, hired the staff, got the vaccines and done everything we had to do.
    7 000 single dose vaccines of Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccines will be coming at 10 a.m. on Tuesday from Guyana
    Government is still waiting on 14 000 Pfizer doses purchased through COVAX.

39. HantsOctober 11, 2021 9:15 PM

Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic

The latest figures show 1 706 tests, yielding 214 new positive cases.
    55 of them are under age 18.

Remember it was 300 plus a few days ago!!

Cases dropping?

What caused the drop

Or just a random variable over which there is no control?

Will it go up tomorrow or continue down?

The problem is no one has gone back to first principles and analysed the problem.

They are playing with numbers.

I would argue the very randomness of nature regardless of protocols speaks volumes.

I could make a good case for predicting it will continue to fall except that we have a major weather system on our doorstep.

Looking at Dominica and Grenada It may very well be the cases will continue to fall.

But I would be optimistic.

If that happens I would argue that it meant the contamination in the water is finite and has passed for the moment.

But then I would expect it to rise if we were to get alot of rain!!

The randomness may be a function of the rain!!

40. Once we understand it we can eradicate it.

41. I missed some of the speech, could someone explain the concept of safe zones

42. @David @Lyall,

Meant to publish this over the weekend. Here’s analysis for 1st week of October. I’ve also included break down of deaths by gender, age-group, et cetera.

https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2021/10/11/covid-19-vs-barbados-1st-week-of-october-2021-review/

Keep safe All.

Kind regards,
    Amit Uttamchandani
    http://www.caribbeansignal.com

43. Thanks Amit!

44. @Sargeant

It is a case where people working in determined areas have to be vaccinated or be regularly tested based on a declared frequency. At first instant it seems appointed healthcare units will be up first possibly followed by the hospitality sector.

45. DavidOctober 12, 2021 12:44 AM

@Sargeant

It is a case where people working in determined areas have to be vaccinated or be regularly tested based on a declared frequency. At first instant it seems appointed healthcare units will be up first possibly followed by the hospitality sector.

Booster mandates will be required to ensure the vaccinated remain “safe” enough to be permitted entry to “safe” zones and avoid breakthrough infections which will render the “safe” zones unsafe for both the vaccinated and unvaccinated.

46. A legal opinion will be forthcoming on “booster mandates”.

47. JohnOctober 11, 2021 9:40 PM

Once we understand it we can eradicate
    Xxxxxxcccc
    It cannot be eradicated which means a lifetime of booster shots every six months or weekly PCR test for the unvaccinated

Leave a Reply to WURA-WAR-on-UCancel reply