Submit Steven Kaszab

Fear has been the one pivotal element within all our histories, both personal and nationally speaking. It is something that excites, invites, repeals and manipulates us all. An emotion, a states of mind, something demonic or perhaps divine. At the moment of your birth to the end of your days, this thing called fear can wrestle your life away.

We live in a world shaped by fear. Our personal response to this fear shaped ourselves, families and nations too. Fear of loose, not being good enough, not achieving the expectations of others, not being good looking enough. How do I look, does this make me look fat? Apply some of these questions to yourself. Why am I a doctor and not an artist or perhaps why did I call an election when there was no need? Why did I invade Panama, Afghanistan or Vietnam? Why do nations jail their citizens? Fear of loosing perceived control, attack, terrorism, criminality. Why did I have an abortion, what  did I fear? Perhaps I would loose my freedom, may not be able to raise the child as I should? There’s a pandemic fire upon us, and I fear loosing future votes, so my action’s are reflected in that fear.

Why do I hate or love others? Did I do these things because I was raised to do so? Were my parents and neighbour’s such an influence upon me that I became this, whether good or bad, a person trying to live a life of meaning. Do I fear the unknown, uncommon, unique among us? I knew a person who hated over weight individuals. A gut wrenching hate of someone he did not even know. He grew up over weight, and through sheer perseverance and self struggle became a fine specimen of a man. The fear to become what he once was, or perhaps the distaste of people he thinks are not struggling enough themselves. Did they make the effort? I must love an Asian person, so that my family will accept my future spouse. Racial, Cultural, Social, economic and political fears shape us daily. “We have been police officers since time began”, and its expected of me to be one. Bring home a date who is not of your religious or racial heritage. 

Fear can be spontaneous and infectious. Archie Bunker sits with his neighbour who is a black man. What are they talking about? The Puerto Ricans who moved into their neighbourhood recently and how they feared these new arrivals. Two rivals become one united against the other. Inequality in this world is the result of fear. A while back a man had his castle, and brought home the bacon each week. A king of his domain with all the trapping of lovingly wife and family. This is not the case in our contemporary society, and these men find themselves without an anchor, fearful of what they have lost, and what is coming tomorrow. Suddenly some men and women become open to fearful suggestions, conspiracies and ideologies. That is why the Nazi, Communist or any other Racist Tyranny can offer these lost fearful people an anchor, a way to find commonality of purpose. Fear often creates monsters, those who find expression of their personal fears through struggle and possible violence. The fear of loosing what you have whether property, status or money pushes down upon equalities upward progression. Can equality become something other then a word?

Fear creates saints also. Religious People are possibly the most fearful of our neighbour’s. Why so? Fear of failure through sins before their maker. To them there is hell and heaven, and clear rules telling them how to proceed through life. These rules are controlling or freeing depending on how one looks at them, but the end result of going to heaven to be with God is dependent upon Fear. Fear of loosing ones soul and life in the afterlife. Self control, while being fearful of much the world has to offer, until they can achieve their salvation. Or the other route offering, that through Jesus all we have to do is honestly ask for forgiveness and all will be well. Wow, opposites that result in the same thing, defeating fear by being fearful.

The greatest gift you can give another is to espouse this thought. Be free of  fear’s tentacles , through wisdom and common sense. Think before you act and understand why how, why and when you act. Surely the wise person can choose what benefits themselves and their neighbour too.

59 responses to “Grip of Fear”

1. 🎵”Be careful for nothing..🎶”

King’s College Choir!

Murdaaaaah!

2. @Dee Word

A good twist.

3. RE King’s College Choir AND PHILLIPPIANS 4: 6-7…YA CANT GET MUCH BETTER THAN DAT

RE Now he got to mek fun uh heself and he own cure!
    WHY WOULD I DO THAT? I AM CONFIDENT ABOUT WHAT I SAID ABOUT THE SCRIPTURES —VERY CONFIDENT WHETHER YOU LYING OR NOT

RE He had no idea I was going to agree with him. I DONT CARE IF YOU AGREE WID ME OR NOT. YOU DONT COUNT AS A PEERIN TIS MATTER SO YOU CAN GREE OR DONT GREE

RE I took myself to Dr. George Mahy and he diagnosed me with depression. “That’s all it is,” he said. I knew it stemmed from my home life. I had just moved out after a horrible falling out with my mother.

MAHY WAS RIGHT ANXIETY/DEPRESSION … GOOD MAN GOOD TEACHER

RE the mad woman actually agrees with the Mighty GP on this one. THERE IS HOPE FOR YOU AFTER ALL ,,,,,,,,,BUT YOU STILL MAD
    MADNESS IN THOSE OF YOUR ILK ONLY COMES OUT BY MUCH PRAYER AND FASTING —-AND PROBABABLY AN EXORCIST ——-THAT IS ABOVE BY PAY GRADE I DONT GO THERE BOSIE

RE I walked and he ran. He was more scared than I was. I CAN JUST IMAGINE HOW HE FELT THAT HE WAS STALKING A MAD WOMAN …HE PROBABLY STILL RUNNING ALL LIKE NOW

4. The tourism planners in Barbados fear numbers will start to tank again Hants.

5. Imagine, a twenty year old girl taking herself to a psychiatrist’s office in busy Belleville in Broad daylight more than thirty years ago.

In a society known for making fun at people for any hint of a mental difficulty.

I thought nothing of it. The reason I covered for years was because I did not wish to burden too many of my friends, not because I was ashamed.

I just wanted to be sure my blanking out was not something other than depression and anxiety.

PS. Whether I am lying or not?

I have said here on BU on many occasions that Christianity did much for me. Miller was always on at me about it.

Now you know what it did for me.

And yup! The rapist run from the mad woman! I was too cool for his ass. Sensed somebody behind me. Turned around and saw him. Realised he had to have been hiding behind a tree. Assessed my surroundings and thought he had to be an asshole to try that there. Turned back around as though I suspected nothing. Watched the fool from the corner of my eye.
    Offset the numbskull with a piercing scream as he lounged and before he could cover my mouth. Tripped the brute with my shopping bags. Landed on top of him. Jumped up while his ass was still on the ground.

Never dropped my shopping bags!

Taunted the poor fool as he ran like hell!

Idiot ran up in the gap where big dogs and security systems were plentiful. Ran back out, passed me heading fuh Oistins.

I always had this thing about running away. I never could run even from my mother. Stood and looked her in the eye and took my licks unless she was using something inappropriate like electric wire, which she did once. Then I grabbed it and frustrated the hell out of her until my father came and pulled her away.

Never ran. Never cried.

So my depression was not caused by any imbalance in the brain. It was caused by circumstances.

And I did a whole lotta good stuff in the midst of it.

Made me a very good listener to people with problems.

6. The Science behind GP’s religion is the Science behind bullshit

The Science Behind Yoga

7. Today’s BT Editorial is called – Unwittingly feeding the FEAR

8. DonnaOctober 4, 2021 10:31 PM

AC,

I have never stared down the barrel of a gun but I was attacked by a would be rapist on a deserted Enterprise Rd one night. Don’t know how I did it but I did keep my head and manage to get away. I walked and he ran. He was more scared than I was
    Xxxx.
    I read your story with much interest after which I came to the conclusion
    That was your shadow

Leave a Reply to GPCancel reply