The electorate of Barbados decided to give the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) an overwhelming and unprecedented mandate on the 24 May 2018. The result was a repudiation of a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration led by Freundel Stuart, as it was a belief by Barbadians in red bag-promises from Mia Mottley. We know the proclivity of human beings to want to believe in something, anything if it means being blinded to facts. Barbadians have shown themselves to be no different.

As we prepare – how time flies even when not having fun – to enter the early phase of another election cycle, the question being discussed quietly in some circles – is it possible the Mottley government could become a one term government? It harrows the mind of the blogmaster that after a 30-0 drubbing of the DLP three years ago some are open to the possibility of the incumbent suffering the ignominy of an Alan Chastanet in St. Lucia. 

The pandemic is proving to be an x-factor driving unpredictable human behaviour, beleaguered electorates suffering from economic fatigue has seen governments of SIDs struggle to govern. An absurdity tossed up sometimes by political talking heads is that some elections are good to lose. Is it possible this is the case for Verla Depeiza and her unready team? A scan of the DLP’s ‘newly minted’ website suggest the party is a work in progress.

Barbadians accept that the DLP represents the only option as the credible opposition party going into the next general election (The blogmaster was unable to find a website of the official opposition party led by Joe Atherley). We are therefore vested in a competent DLP being equipped to share alternative, progressive programs and to present a competent team to implement same to move the country forward. Based on what we have seen can we say – are we there yet?

The honeymoon period has disappeared for the Mottley government and much of its post-2018 political capital. Although the blogmaster is not convinced at this point Mia Mottley will suffer the fate of Alan Chastanet at the next poll, there is a level of apprehension in some quarters driven by the hostile environment governments of SIDs are presently negotiating. Making it more difficult for the experienced Mottley are rookie mistakes made so far, helping to reaffirm a perception that six of one, half dozen the other. 

It is unfortunate given the level of political apathy shown by the electorate, it has not given rise to a vibrant, credible and alternative political movement. One must conclude there are serious underlying issues preventing Barbadians of integrity and the other prerequisite characteristics to offer themselves for public service. The result has been successive governments who lacked the ability to sustain Barbados’ position on the socioeconomic ladder.

Now that Vela Depeiza has shown her mettle to win against internal combatants George Pilgrim from old guard and upstart outsider Guy Hewitt, is Verla battle harden enough to take on Mia Mottley?

472 responses to “One Term Government?”

1. Theo…do you see now why i talk about the PRETENDERS being mathematically challenged, because at the time that letter was sent to AstraZeneca…a percentage of the population had already been vaccinated through COVAX and other donations….

say about 20% had gotten their first dose by April…that would be 20% less needing a first dose, can’t remember if 2nd doses had been distributed by then, but if it had…EVEN LESS people would need doses, which would see us subtracting from both the 300K first and 300K second doses….so where did they get the need for 1 million doses or even 600,000..unless they planned to sell, which they did…and LIED to AstraZeneca…about their intent.

2. Slumbering until the court case gets going. At that time, we will get real insight into the calculations/miscalculations that were made

3. Who eats pork?….a sweet simple soul just said…”well they brought their pigs to fine market”

i just love speaking to people that everyone else looks down on and feel they are stupid…..lol

man they took the vaccine market by STORM…

Fraud Enuff should be able to tell us when they are opening the vaccine factory that i have been hearing so much about for a week now..

they too love to jump in front…and the frauds in the parliament too love to give them a hand up with taxpayer’s money and push them to the front….now they are ALL AT THE FRONT…lol

4. I have not commented on the vaccines factory, but it will take more than manufacturing syringes and needles.
    Let me throw a few buzzwords:
    Research
    Manufacturing
    Quality control
    Sterile environment

5. Am glad enuff not to be NOWHERE near their orbit….would not want to be sucked in when they are looking for scapegoats so they can slide out of the shit they created…, at least they got mentally challenged Enuff and Lorenza….TO PIN IT ON……lol

6. yeah…they are booting Elizabeth but want to keep her system and her politics, the cheek, so intellectually DIM, they can’t even create a system or a constitution of their own….but are happy to keep the population trapped in crap….for their own self-serving agendas.

https://youtu.be/oYOZMtUpAyA

7. Waru both you and your sidekick TLSN who sounds a lot like you and maybe you under a different name could go live on the african continent with thesuperior africans.Trust me neither one of you would be missed.Just hope the government where you are ain, t ovrrthrown by the gun.or run down by rampant corruption.Personally i prefer the old colonial system where every man or woman of age has a vote for who they want.I gone.

8. “run down by rampant corruption”

ya mean like the government in Barbados, who have taken CORRUPTION TO A WHOLE NEW LEVEL…..so what’s the difference, at least ya can see the guns in some African countries and ya know they got bullets…, but ya can’t tell when the evil sellout negros setting up to kill ya or send ya to Europe to be enslaved….or POLLUTING our ancestral land with criminal minorities from the Caribbean…..cause they don’t say a word….

so what’s the difference..but the population know that they MUST BE VERY VIGILANT until 2023…and watch out/prepare for the next betrayal….coming from the haunted house parliament..

Owen Arthur had warned but he never did enuff to stop it..

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    Let it play out. You know the line…due to the pending legal matters we cannot comment at this time.
    The GoStL has to get involved. It could take a while to sort this out.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

This has to be the BEST response I have ever seen to someone whose family has been accused of financial malfeasance. In Bajan, it is pretty as shite.

“My attention has been drawn to comments surrounding the Pandora Papers. Whilst I will respond comprehensively on my return from my State Visit to the Americas, let me say this:

“That these reports will go a long way in enhancing the financial transparency and openness that we require in Kenya and around the globe. The movement of illicit funds, proceeds of crime and corruption thrive in an environment of secrecy and darkness.

“The Pandora Papers and subsequent follow up audits will lift that veil of secrecy and darkness for those who can not explain their assets or wealth. Thank you.”, His Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta

11. What happened to this story

Franklyn wants answers on reported appointment at BTMI – by Anesta Henry September 11, 2021
    Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn is questioning what is so special about the Canadian-German who was identified as the candidate to take up the position of Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc (BTMI) in a leaked document at a proposed salary of $240 000 in addition to several perks

12. Who is supplying our Prime Minister with these array of scarves? At every press conference she appears in a new one looking more serene and monarchial. What message is she trying to portray? These are serious times. We have covid-19, a vaccine procurement scandal, and the rest. Yet, in the midst of all this, we have a Prime Minister who appears more interested in bringing the catwalk fashion world to government.

This distraction style of governing where rigour has been replaced with incompetency and worse has helped to maintain Barbados status as a failing state.

13. “due to the pending legal matters we cannot comment at this time.”

the old delaying tactic….but thankfully they filed the drama in a Florida court where they have no power to corrupt the proceedings….

Northern…all the pretty lyrics is only until they break out the handcuffs, if they find anything to directly pin on him.then he will lawyer up and don’t say another word in public…same thing happened with foolish, minority enabling Zuma…who is looking at years in prison, while the lowlife trash he colluded with are walking around freely..

“At every press conference she appears in a new one looking more serene and monarchial. What message is she trying to portray?”

false flags with a cloud of corruption and misdeeds hanging over them, they can only impress and fool slow minded Slaves, like those we got on BU, jumpimg out with foulness and then pronouncing…”i gone” until their next sick puppy appearance.

14. Oh for chrissake! You want her to come out naked? Then you would criticise her spare tyres.

I can’t take people like you seriously at all at all. Comments like that do you no favours.

I remember when she dressed in plain khaki and was criticised for looking like a military dictator. I remember when she went touring after the freak storm dressed in plain denim and was criticised for looking deceptively workmanlike.

Now she throws on a scarf and is criticised for looking like a monarch ready for a red carpet catwalk!

I have never seen such attention paid when the male politicians present themselves to the public.

Sexism!

A blight as damaging as racism!

15. Talking Loud and Saying Nothing!

Me nah listen!

I gone!

16. Theo…i spent a part of the night breaking down in my head…the percentage of the population vaccinated from April – October….while radical was still running around procuring counterfeit….and when the final tally showed up, Barbados would only have been needing approx roughly 100 thousand 2nd doses, since most first doses and a portion of the 2nd have already been distributed…so there goes the greedy theory that 1 million or even 600,000 doses were needed, and St. Lucia with a population of 181,000 plus would not have needed much more that 2 – 400K 1st and 2nd doses dependent on what was already administered.

.I really hope the Judge calls AstraZeneca to the stand to confirm that maloney had their authority to break in their back door…lol..and then call the Barbados government to confirm they gave him that authority……..there are supposed to be witnesses to this big purchase…right..

17. Donna October 12, 2021 7:02 AM

I was going to ask if he/she was actually SERIOUS or just trying to be a bit provocative, but declined not to do so.

They’ve gone from talking about Mottley’s ‘hands flaring, fists pumping and eyes staring,’ when almost everyone gesticulate while speaking………….. to now criticizing her scarfs.
    Her taking a photo with a banana plant in the background was interpreted by the ‘intellectuals,’ to mean she was portraying herself as the ‘dictator of a banana republic.’

How ridiculous.

I posted the below photograph of her ‘chief BU critic,’ as an example to indicate he also gesticulated while speaking………. and asked him what were the significant differences between him and Mottley ‘flaring their hands.’

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/halaustin.jpg?w=553&h=280&crop=1

He responded subsequently (perhaps when he believed everyone had forgotten), with ‘saying’ he “was EMPHASIZING a POINT.”

I have some concerns about an individual’s mental health, when he/she seeks to intellectualize, complicate or exaggerate simple, trivial issues, or go beyond reasonable lengths in an attempt to prove they’re the ‘brightest bulb in the room.’

Perhaps it’s the psychological phenomenon known as ‘illusory superiority.’

18. I commented on earlier contributions that were on Mia’s choice of wear.

It is sexism. It is silly. There is so much that could be used, but instead we get worked up about what she is wearing and where the picture is taken.

What is next? Hairstyle?

If this is the strongest line of attack, then you can give up today.

Now if she were to pose with a crown, a scepter and a foot on Lorenzo’s head, I would join you. Until then, we are at odds.

19. “Now if she were to pose with a crown, a scepter and a foot on Lorenzo’s head,”

i would pay good money to see that one..

20. Is dat yuh wish fuh me, TheO?

😂😂😂😂😂😂

21. Would not be surprised if Mia called an early election before the Maloney case start
    For all intent and with all purpose knowing that what she has hidden in her red bag can be revealed
    Hence rather than take a risk of full exposure and a massive hit at the ballot box
    Right now she might have a fighting chance than waiting until all her goodies are rolled out into the public domain
    This next year would be interesting where her future would lie in the hands of judge and jury in palm Beach fla

22. “Up to Monday evening, Mottley said, 142 543 people had taken at least one dose of a COVID-19 vaccine in Barbados.”

Theo…some more numbers to work with….

Older Comments
1 8 9 10