There is the saying he who plays the piper calls the tune. As it pertains to the political sphere, whether abroad or local – players with deep pockets who contribute to political parties expect when said party wins office, political contributions will covert to influence. There is enough evidence in post independence Barbados to agree.

In May of 2018 the electorate gave the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) an unprecedented mandate of 30 to 0. A prevailing opinion leading into that general election was that the level of apathy and cynicism was tailor made for a genuine third party movement to take root.  Unfortunately we had a situation which confirmed suspicions – our best citizens are not motivated to present for public office. To support the point, combatting the duopoly in 2018 were political parties led by Alex Mitchell, Bajan Free Party, Neil Holder, Barbados Integrity Movement, Steve Hunte, Kingdom Government of Barbados, Mark Adamson, People’s Democratic Congress, Grenville Phillips, Solutions Barbados and Lynette Eastmond – see Caribbean Elections  for list of candidates.

It is a fair conclusion to make that a credible so-called third party will not be an option for Barbadians any time soon. The alternative is for quality individuals to infiltrate the Barbados and Democratic Labour parties to act as change agents. Given the entrenched culture of the duopoly some will argue this is a near impossible task but it must be done.

The blogmaster is a keen observer of local politics and it is obvious both political parties have become slaves to a ‘democratic’ system that promises the electorate A but on winning office must reward B the campaign donor. What it means is if neither of the two main political parties when in government implement laws to better regulate campaign donations, nothing will change because every election cycle the duopoly will start with the advantage. Why would the duopoly lead change especially if the citizenry is not overly concerned with ‘boring’ governance issues?

Where do we go from here?

Political students are taught when there is a gap in the expectations of a people stoked by the political directorate, and the inability of said political directorate to deliver on promises made, there is a likelihood this will breed revolution – peaceful or violent based on the triggers. 

Barbados is a country stalled at the crossroads, heavily indebted, crumbling systems and infrastructure, uncomfortable crime level, an educational system not fit for purpose, moribund court system, inefficient garbage and sewage systems, 1970s economic model and a people with diminishing esprit de corps.

Every day the blogmaster listens to the old guard criticizing social media instead of embracing it to co-opt the support of the new guard. Instead we have so-called social media influencers whose ignorance or deliberate misinformation is allowed to go unchallenged. We have immerse ourselves in a culture of divisiveness. We have shown an inability to negotiate and reconcile difficult issues. There was a time a win win solution was the sole objective, now it is win lose.

On this blog we have had robust debate about the merit of a gradualist approach to confronting challenges as a Small Island Developing State. Across the globe – to a lesser degree in Barbados – there is evidence of declining political influence given the level of public protest actions we have been witnessing. It is evident to this blogmaster the citizenry is beginning to adopt public protest action as a means to express dissent instead of the traditional avenues entrenched in our governance system.

We are a country at the crossroads. The level of disharmony in the country does not bode well for a better Barbados. Leadership in the country must find pathways to rebuild trust between the people, private and public sector arms of society.  Rightly or wrongly civil society has ceded leadership responsibility to political parties. From this premise like minded citizens and actors in civil society will have to exert pressure on the local duopoly and others in the political sphere to reinvent by constructively engaging the general public to win back trust.

#cynicism

61 responses to “The Duopoly: BLP and DLP Must Step Up!”

1. I meant the so-called enlightened ones on BU, particularly the royal wee wee.

2. So this is what it will be, hijacking yet another blog?

3. Georgie Porgie is a christian idiot. He has waxed how ignorant Black Americans are. Sought to justify all types of racist killings of Afrikan Americans. Has never made any negative remark about White people, even a recent White devil.

Now, acting like a true missionary, the brags about raising money to buy goats for people in Kenya. What a White cunt is georgie porgie.

The peoples of Kenya have been enslaved to Western aide inspite of vast resources stolen by christians. Aide necessary after Christian wars over two thousand years. In truth and in fact christian charity does not cut it. For the net outflows from Kenya and Afrika annually have been multiples of all the inflows. Ask your stinking god to return all which has been stolen in his stinking name. For example, close down the museums and return the contents, etc.

So when you participate in this carnage as a christian missionary you are merely continuing the work of your criminal god.

What Afrikan peoples need everywhere is freedom from all foreign dirty religions and your White man’s heel on our necks.

Afrika gave a God consciousness to the world. Long before there where anybody called Europeans. This virtue signaling with charity cannot work with us as we reserve the right to kill christian missionaries as if at war. Because they have declared their christianizing war on us.

Christianity was always been a fiction designed for evil, it was borrowed from Afrika spiritual traditions. So instead of giving goats you could show Afrikanity by returning this stolen and basterdized item to its source and beg for forgivingness. Of course, only death awaits criminal christians soldiers.

4. @Pacha

You are contributing ng as well to a circular debate, one that there will be no winner? The politicians know the citizens well, we are unable to focus.

5. I mean if even in Bim the facts show those dying have not been vaxxed, what more convincing wunna want?
    ###############

Do the maths and stop scaremongering. According to the official covid statistics, as of today, there have been 7576 positive covid cases in Barbados and 67 deaths. That means that if all the cases and deaths were among the unvaccinated, which they weren’t, 99.2% of the unvaccinated who tested positive for Covid did not die.

If we look at the isloation report from 7 September (https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/covid-19-isolation-vaccination-report/) we find that of the unvaccinated 7% are in primary or secondary isolation while for the fully vaccinated 5% are in primary or secondary isolation.

Instead of joining in with the fascist demonisation of people who make a choice not to be vaccinated with the current covid vaccines, why not call on the government to stop putting all its eggs in the so-called vaccine basket and develop a targeted strategy to protect those at high risk of severe covid and death from the disease which gives people different choices rather than beating them over the head to take the vaccine? Why not offer those at high risk the option of taking ivermectin if they don’t want the vaccine?

6. VINCENT
    I LEFT THE ANGLICAN CHURCH 53 YEARS AGO AT AGE 16, BUT I HAVE CARRIED ALL THE PRINCIPAL I LEARNED AS A CHORISTER AT CH CH PARISH CH, WHICH IS ONE OF MY FAVOURITE PLACES IN BARBADOS

I DONT TAKE ANY VISITOR OF MINE TO BARBADOS AROUND THE ISLAND WITHOUT STOPING AT CH CH FOR THEM TO SEE THE CHANCEL THERE AND THE STAINED GLASS WINDOW OF THE ASCENSION ABOVE THE ALTAR..

TO BECOME A CHORISTER WAS MY VERY FIRST AMBITION IN LIFE. I GRABED MY OPPORTUNITY WITH BOTH HANDS. AND EXCELLLED AT IT. AND I CANT DEPART FROM IT. ACTUALLY THE VIDEO I WATCHED TODAY FROM LAGOS WAS APPARENTLY MORE LIKE 20 CHOIRS….EACH CHOIR IN THE DIOCESE IN LAGOS WHERE RED CASSOCKS.
    WHOLE CHURCH ALMOST FILLED WITH CHORISTERS. SWEET SWEET

ALTHOUGH TODAY ANGLICAN CHURCH CHOIRS DO NOT SEEM TO BE A BIG THING, IT WAS IN MY DAY. IT WAS A DISGRACE TO BE THROWN OUR CHOIR. SEEMINGLY WORSE THAN BEING SENT UP THE HILL TO GLENDAIRY. THOSE DISMISSED NEVER CAME BACK TO CHURCH

LAST YEAR I FOUND A CHOIR IN NIGERIA..A SET OF YOUNG BLACK FELLOWS WITH THE BOYS IN THEIR ELIZABETHAN COLLARS AS USED TO BE SEEN AT ST MARYS AND ST PAULS. THAT CHOIR SANG WITH MORE CLARITY OF THE PARTS AND DICTION CLEARER THAN ANY ENGLISH CATHEDRAL CHOIR. I WAS IN MY GLEE

SEVERAL GOOD CHOIRS IN GHANA NIGERIA UGANDA KENYA

YOU MAY NOT KNOW THIS. BUT THE BRETHREN CHURCH CAME OUT OF THE ANGLICAN CHURCH AND MANY OF THE HYMN TUNES ARE ANGLICAN TUNES. SO AM I COLOL LOL

DARBY AND GROOVES AND CRONIN ET AL NEGLECTED TO BRING THE POINTING OF PSALMS WITH THEM, SAD. I PREFER TO SING A PSALM THAN A HYMN OR A GOSPEL SONG
    IF YOU GO SPOTIFY PSALMS YOU WILL GET MOST OF THE AVAILABLE RECORDINGS OF PSALMS

7. David
    With regret, you are not a fit and proper arbiter because you have long thrown your weight behind some right to sermonize about things for which there can be no evidence. You say beliefs.

And if one cult has such a set of rights, why not equal participation by all the tens of thousands of cults in equal measure. For example, there maybe a cult which says weeeeeeerreeeeeee

Weeeeeeeeeeeeerrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee take no dictation from any rassoul body how to write. And if the first person singular suits them let them write as they fucking like. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeer would not know what dey write anyhow.

8. @Gp

YOU WANT AN EXAMPLE OF VERBAL EXCRIMENT CHECK THIS OUT.

A BIBLICAL RADICAL IS SAYING IF YOU GET VACCINATED YOU IS A CHILD OF SATAN AND DEEMED TO A LIFE IN HELL

SO WHO IS THE BIGGEST INDIOT NOW? OH DONT BOTHER TO REPLY CAUSE YOU HAVE NOW IN MY BOOKS BEEN PLACED IN THE SAME CATAGORY OF A HANDFUL OF OTHER INDIOTS AND BLIND LOYALIST I DONT WASTE MY TIME RESPONDING TO. STILL I GUESS WE SHOULD BE GRATEFUL YOU AINT NO ISLAMIC RADICAL CAUSE YOU MIGHT WANT TO FLY A PLANE INTO GOVERNMENT HEAD QUARETERS ON BAY STREET!!! LOĹĹLLLLLLL

YES MY CAPS LOCK DOES WORK TOO JUST LIKE YOURS. DAM CLOWN!🤣 THIS IS 666 I GONE FUH NOW YOU BIBLICAL YARDFOWL🤣🤣

9. Time for the PM to use her powers of persuasion and status on the world stage. START BEGGING FOR HELP.

Canadian banks have enjoyed 50 yearsin Barbados.Canadians have a long trading relationship with Barbados.

Friends of all.

Barbados has always supported the USA government Time for them to support you with more PPEand equipment for the temporary treatment centres in the Hotels and schools.

10. Our children’s education is suffering

By Caroline W. Cave

An estimated 4.5 million people have died worldwide due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Barbados’ children continue to suffer significantly due to the ongoing closure of all things “child-related” and months of online school. But perhaps it is best to be conservative, protect our children people and our island.
    We know the Delta variant is more contagious, spreads 50 times faster and has a greater impact on children.
    Is in-person schooling simply too dangerous? Prevention measures, according to the CDC (Centres for Disease Control and Prevention), such as social distancing, correct maskwearing and cleaning, lead to lower 0.2 per cent to 0.7 per cent infection rates. It seems student-to-student and staff-to-student transmissions are not the primary means of exposure. On the one hand, in-person schooling may not be as dangerous as we think, while, on the other, online classes may not be as effective as we hope.
    Right now, teachers are stretched and students and parents are unhappy due to online learning because:
    • Wi-Fi or computers/tablets are
    insufficient.
    • Working parents have to rely on
    help from technologically challenged family members.
    • Attempts to work and manage
    online are exasperating.
    • Technology addiction negatively
    impacts children of all ages.
    UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Fund) reports COVID has
    affected both parents and children, resulting in poor mental health.
    The data overwhelmingly points
    to the significant and sustained mental health effects due to lack of routine and school closures, which critically affect the achievement of developmental milestones. In Barbados, we are also seeing teens with no social skills, increased fighting in the family, depression, social anxiety and eating disorders.
    The Pfizer vaccine, now authorised
    for safe use in children as young as 12, offers us some hope. But are children getting vaccinated? It was reported recently that of the estimated 21 000 Barbadian students, approximately 7 000 have been vaccinated. Barbados continues to stagnate at 38.1 per cent vaccinations while in the Cayman Islands, 81 per cent of the young people 18 to 29 are vaccinated and 77 per cent overall, while in North America and Europe vaccinations are up to 70 to 80 per cent overall. It seems we are drowning, being dragged out to sea and the Government is handing us free life vests, and people are refusing.
    Adults continue to shop, take the bus and attend church and parties/
    events. Meanwhile, children are not allowed to sit in classes, distanced with masks in a controlled, clean environment to get educated. Their
    education should be our number one
    priority. The Government’s recent
    ruling for vaccinations for school children gives hope for the return of face-to-face school. Maybe we can start school with vaccinated children first and follow with the unvaccinated later.
    Are our children being mandated to stay home to protect people who won’t listen to credible data on vaccines to make an informed choice? Are we happy to continually isolate our children from their friendships, exercise, and education? Furthermore,
    why are we using those very same institutions, designed to educate our children, to house asymptomatic people who can isolate at home?
    It might be a personal choice to get vaccinated, but it has significant community consequences. How many years will we let our island continue to suffer and leave our children online and our country in limbo? While we are hoping our children are getting an education, some schools are doing well while others are not.
    Recommendations:
    • Increase reliable data on vaccines –
    use PAHO, and so on.
    • Poll households to determine the
    effectiveness of online, the number of tablets and so on.
    • Open already approved schools
    to vaccinated students. Churches are being assessed on a case-by-case basis
    – why not schools?
    • Split larger classes to the outdoors,
    such as under tents to reduce infection rates and hire more teachers
    • Let those that don’t wish to
    vaccinate attend online school remotely.
    • Regularly test teachers and
    students that are unable to be vaccinated for medical reasons
    Finally, we might feel frustrated at
    the Government’s decision to restart school online, but perhaps we must look at ourselves. Is the vaccination choice really a personal one, or is not stepping up to do your part negatively impacting our community and the future of our island? Your choice to not vaccinate could result in a generation of uneducated children with mental health disorders.

Caroline W. Cave (MSc) is a registered counselling psychologist.

11. This is a time when the role of the physchologist is mportant in helping govt form critical decisions in education geared to social programs which will helped children to cope with the mental stress attached to this virus
    It will not be easy for children to sit in front of a computer five days a week and have to concentrate on what is being taught and not have the urged of wanting to move away when being distracted
    Distraction is a normality which fills when boredem sets into people’s mind of which children are most porned to be captivated
    It would be of interest if scientific data is collected which analysis the quality of education delivered via internet schooling and what percentage of children taught it was a good idea