Prime Minister Mia Mottley was a bubbling fountain of information yesterday. She was courteous enough to advise Barbadians she will be jetting off to New York to attend a climate change meeting at the United Nations, New York and will take the opportunity to have a bilateral exchange with the President of Ghana. One positive all will admit is that Mottley has raised her profile in the international arena, definitely above her regional counterparts. This will boost her job prospects post prime ministership and unlike her predecessor will not have to secret herself from the public, content with drinking Merlots and reading books.

Besides observing the frustration leaking through of the Prime Minister during the press briefing yesterday the blogmaster takes the opportunity to introduce a few others.

A key characteristic of a good leader is always defined as the ability to be empathetic – “one who has a genuine interest in his/her team members’ lives, the challenges they face, and their overall feelings. This kind of leader makes an effort to understand their situations and what they are going through, in order to offer support and help”. Several times during the press briefing Mottley became immersed in highlighting government successes at a time Barbadians are understandably more concerned about the pandemic wrecking havoc on households; both socioeconomic and mental. The blogmaster understands she is a politician and leader of a political party with a general election due soon but with delta variant on the rampage …

Mottley took the opportunity to shoutout White Oakes for expertly (blogmaster’s word) assisting with the domestic and international restructuring. Really prime minister? Do you understand how the domestic restructure of debt has decimated the networth of the middleclass and senior citizens whose peace of mind was punctured by your decision? It is a win for the government but at the micro level it NOT.

Prime Minister Mottley also took the opportunity to remind Barbadians international reserves stand at 2.6 billion. With all the respect this blogmaster can muster, who gives a rats ass? Is there pride in your (Mottley) suggestion Barbadians should pleasure in the country’s improved capacity to borrow post 2018? Of course it is a tactical win for the government but in a pandemic requiring situational awareness, really?

Last but not least, Mottley publicly commended some key members of her economic team, Dr. Kevin Greenidge, Avinash Persaud et al. Really Prime Minister? At the risk of being repetitive, who gives a rats ass. The majority of Barbadians are stressed and can do without hearing the platitude. There will be a time on the campaign trail coming soon to pat members of the economic team on the back, for now do it at your inhouse meetings.

The blogmaster does not know everything, who does. What is known however is that good political leaders never miss the opportunity during a crisis to demonstrate empathy. The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Arden is a case study of a good example. Interesting Mottley often references New Zealand and Arden in her briefings. The blogmaster has no issue with the government’s policy of over-communicating with Barbadians. However there is more work for the public relations team to do with scripting and content targeted to build trust with the public. Let us hope David Ellis adds value to the team.

153 responses to “Mia Mottley Government Must Work Harder to Build Trust with Barbadians”

1. Mr Blogmaster, Barbadians (at least this one) would be interested in learning what position Is Ambassador Liz Thompson, brought back from an overseas posting, now holds and at what cost to the borrowed reserves in the treasury? Does her new position require additional staff and if so, how many and at what cost? Will Mr Hartley Henry be retained by Government or the BLP for the impending task of electioneering and if yes, to whom will he be reporting? Mr/Mrs Wickham? For a country DEEP in debt, we seem to have more experts, Ministers and consultant that countries with populations ten time our size. Will we ever be privy to how much borrowed money this dream team is costing the nation?

There is an old say that you can pay too much for gold. Have we reached that point yet?

2. The good news strategy implemented yesterday as part of the Covid engagement was to send a message to Barbadians that inspire barbadians handing them magical words that inspite of the bad news there is good news
    But then again all.have seen that when bad news takes flight govt have used political opportunity to land the plan
    Meanwhile back on earth the realities of pain and suffering persist
    Wonder what are Mia thoughts on those problematic concerns which are affecting bajan households

3. Thank you for updating me Mr Blogmaster, silly me was under the impression that we already had a Minister and fully staffed Ministry tasked with that responsibility. It completely slipped my mind of our redundancy protocol of many, many, many hands making light work. Matter of fact, the next time we are faced with a power outage, the BL&P should be reminded that many hands make lights work. One can only wish that they too will find a lender who is not concerned with how many hands borrowed money is dispensed to in order to get the same job done.

4. @FearPlay

You may recall in an interview with David Ellis 51 days after winning office Mottley was questioned abut the large cabinet and bevy of advisors, the many hands make light work and the expectation the electorate will be asked to appraise her government’s performance in 2023 was offered as an excuse. It might explain Mottley’s platitudes of her cabinet and team of consultants yesterday with 2023 on the horizon. It is all about political jockeying to win the minds of a gullible electorate.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2018/07/15/an-interview-with-prime-minister-mottley/

5. Oh dear! Glad I missed the briefing! Recently I heard firsthand and secondhand stories of people who have experienced not eating for three days. Apparently, the welfare system is backed up. “We will get to you as soon as we can.”

People who have limited means are forced by proximity to the hungry to share their food with them and trust that they will be able to restock.

Bajans are behaving really well, in the circumstances. Things are very hard for people for whom they have not been hard before.

Three days without food. Sure pride had something to do with it but… some people just don’t know how to ask.

And some don’t know WHO to ask.

David is absolutely right. Mia’s message seems completely tone deaf.

6. @ Donna September 19, 2021 8:21 PM

Your “starving people” must be an urban legend. When I shop at Popular Discount or PriceSmart, I see mostly fat to extremely fat locals walking around.

Our population could very well stand a “monetary reform” or a 200 percent fat and sugar tax. We don’t have a corona epidemic in Barbados, we have an adopositas epidemic. Hundreds die from it every year, but no one wants to talk about it because obesity, which is rampant on the island, is a national no-no subject.

It really would be time to put the Williams brothers or Mark Maloney on our BBD banknotes. The three tycoons are very slim and correspond completely to my perception of the African body type.

7. In general, on the speech of our Supreme Leader:

I was completely convinced by the speech. I take back my prediction that the 2021/22 winter season will be a total disaster. If enough locals hold out their arm for the Pfizer-Biontech shot, there is now a good chance that we will get off with a slap on the wrist. Moreover, we should celebrate the prospect of the new Integrity Bill and the proclamation of the Republic.

All in all, therefore, the best prospects for our island!

I’m already looking forward to Christmas night under the palm trees, when the bush drums thunder in the valleys and the followers of our Goddess Bim dance around bonfires on the heights.

8. I can’t wrap my head around how anyone can boast about 2.6 billion dollars sitting in a treasury as LOANS.. and ..IN DEBT…and claim it as some victory and achievement….am happy to have NO DEBT, don’t have to worry about anyone knocking my door because i owe them……since when did owing become a boastful achievement…and exactly when will that 2.6 billion be repaid with the ACCOMPANYING INTEREST..

fowl Enuff loves to sing the halleluya chorus with every loan received..”.thank you jesus we got another loa”……this is a sickness…there is absolutely nothing normal about any of it…

9. The GOB has a serious problem.

All the protocols re COVID which it pushes are not working.

The reaction is to blame Bajans for not following them.

They need to try something different and not be stuck in what all other countries are doing.

10. Tron September 19, 2021 9:07 PM #: “It really would be time to put the Williams brothers or Mark Maloney on our BBD banknotes. The three tycoons are very slim and correspond completely to my perception of the African body type.”

@ Tron

Man, you is the best, yuh.

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif

11. I have been trying to point out that in times of real crises, great leaders put aside needless politicking and become inspirational and statesman like.
    Of course those citizens who are only bent on blind support of a particular party, will not admit or understand the difference.
    I will say again the lack of inspirational leadership is now evident in all sectors including the political.
    I recall when Jamaica was about to degenerate into pure political chaos. The masses turned to Bob Marley and he answered that call at a concert and brought Manley and Seaga on stage to shake hands. That saved Jamaica.
    That’s what a country needs when in a deep , dangerous crisis. Inspiration not inferior political posturing by the political parties and their leaders and other so-called social partners.

12. Oh David!
    Has David Ellis ever added measureable value anywhere.

His whole life has been predicated on an endless, talking-head, useless set of diatribes with an unsophisticated partisan slant.

Why would you invite a local Goebels type character to better mystify Bajans with state sponsored propaganda.

On Mottley! Should it not be our considered view that when ANY politician feints empathy that it should be seen and intrepreted as a calculated political act and not imbued with any sense of human consideration?

13. @Pacha

Does it matter if the letter fakes it or is genuine or that the people buy in to the message.

14. “Mottley took the opportunity to shoutout White Oakes for expertly (blogmaster’s word) assisting with the domestic and international restructuring. Really prime minister? ”

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/sep/20/britain-public-sector-consultancy-habit-pandemic-private-services

15. Interesting article, one that confirms the lazy option of outsourcing to private sector and recruiting consultants. It seems the solution by many governments is to workaround the inefficiency of government (public service) by outsourcing instead of fixing the problems. If it is any consolation, Barbados is not alone.

16. “I recall when Jamaica was about to degenerate into pure political chaos. The masses turned to Bob Marley and he answered that call at a concert and brought Manley and Seaga on stage to shake hands. That saved Jamaica.”

Who Shot the Sheriff?
    is a 2018 documentary film is centred around the 1976 assassination attempt on Bob Marley.
    Seaga (JLP) and CIA (USA) allegedly used gang violence thuggery during election campaign and their hired gunmen shot Bob in an assassination attempt on December 3, 1976.

17. Trust must be earned three years of political posturing and scolding PR messages to the people Mottley is yet to show the population that her level of authority has been one of trusting the people in her decision making
    Borrowing money to pay debt would not in any way be sufficient and enough to earned the trust of the people
    Trust delivers a distinctive measure of hope not only by word of mouth but by those deeds upon which a person can build a foundation for better
    Mottley has not delivered that measure of trust all in all for the past three years the people suffering has mostly fell on deaf years handed food baskets as a way of solace
    Heavy fines for breaking curfews
    Told to hold strain while big business received tax breaks
    Meanwhile the unemployed wait on line for months on end to receive their severance pay
    What trust! where there is no hope trust is lost

18. “On Mottley! Should it not be our considered view that when ANY politician feints empathy that it should be seen and intrepreted as a calculated political act and not imbued with any sense of human consideration?”

expediency v. efficiency = they will ALWAYS be ABJECT FAILURES who never learned the art of COMMON DECENCY…in their played out titled play acting colonial agents roles, armed with temporary immunity…..that game is OVER…they just can’t see it and won’t know what to do with and about it anyway…

19. True
    Untrue (True Re-edit)

Politicians are like record producers re-editing other peoples songs
    Koshas are the energetic layers of your body that surround your soul
    or sheaths, covering the Atman, or Self

Luv N’ Haight (Edit Series Vol. 5: Darondo)

20. I would never trust a black face colonial agent…none…who have spent over half-century in their revolving roles of reducing…financially/socially…and misleading the Black African population..,,just look at the condition of the Black communities, the structural deterioration, everywhere are slum like structures, only a little better than the ones in South Africa still under the dirty boer apartheid system the clowns in Barbados adopted and refused to drop it…….look at the condition of the treasury and pension fund…all tells…..and no one an explain the BILLIONS OF MISSING DOLLARS…that if applied as it was supposed to over the last 40 years, we would not be here speaking about it…

expediency v. efficiency exposed

and the population knows this, the frauds in the parliament coud only misdirect and mislead but for so long….before ancestral light shines on it……the people know…so they can’t massage them with lies and sleight of hand deceptions anymore.

your time is up….invoking Pope White Dress every day won’t help either and only serves to confirm the depth of the SOCIETAL ROT…

21. “Told to hold strain while big business received tax breaks.”

I believe people should be fair and honest in their criticisms.

You always come to BU to give the impression ONLY “big businesses received tax breaks,” when you know they were EXTENDED to ALL businesses, whether large, medium or small, and INDIVIDUALS that owed taxes for a specific period.

Getting into the ‘right or wrong’ of the tax write-off is another matter for discussion.

22. “Meanwhile the unemployed wait on line for months on end to receive their severance pay.”

I’ll ask you once again.

‘Government’ can only control the payment of severance to its former employees.

Please provide BU with a list of government owned entities where employees were terminated and had to “wait online for months on end to receive their severance pay.”

23. Nationalism is racism
    such as USA’s obsession to be #1 is inherently a deep rooted manifestation of their brainwashed white supremacy mindset

24. Promises not delivered is a sure recipe that breeds mistrust in the minds of the people
    If one research Mia long campaigning speeches on accountability and trust while her over reach pointed to transparency
    One can clearly see that her actions presently and her pass mouthing does not add up to trust
    Trust is earned cannot be bought but delivers a measure of confidence on which a promise was made

25. Meanwhile the idea of Mia poaching Ross University from Dominica left a bitter taste in mouths of many across the region
    Another sign of her disloyalty to other brothers and sisters in the region during their time of suffering

26. “Another sign of her disloyalty to other brothers and sisters in the region during their time of suffering”

You are always moaning, there is a Harvest Full Moon tonight in pisces which will make you more emotional than usual and you should stay off social media for a couple of weeks to be more introspective without communicating.

27. William Skinner

Tell us how you see the political, developmental, violence arc being differently bent, in the medium and long term, by the successful and critical intervention by the Great Robert Nesta Marley four decades ago.

In short, would you have estimated that the last 40 years would have been any different given entrenched violence as internationalized by the USA in response to a history where both Manley’s party and that of Seaga, more so, were known to deploy instrumentally.

28. David
    That the people buy into it is obviously much more bothersome.

But that Mottley or any other politician could continue to pretend they have a genuine empathy when historically we well know that such is not the ” currency” of the political animals is tiresome.

29. It is good to know that we have such a hard-working and caring Prime Minister.

The accusations about White Oak are completely made up. Of course, our civil servants have no expertise in debt restructuring. How could they, it was the first official-official national bankruptcy (after the first not so official bankruptcy in 2013 with the CS loan). In addition, the civil servants who helped work out the CS deal in 2013 are no longer at the ministry.Therefore, it was not only right but even imperative to call in White Oak. This company has already advised other island states in the region and was therefore the first choice.

30. 555 Dub StreetSeptember 20, 2021 11:03 AM

“Another sign of her disloyalty to other brothers and sisters in the region during their time of suffering”

You are always moaning, there is a Harvest Full Moon tonight in pisces which will make you more emotional than usual and you should stay off social media for a couple of weeks to be more introspective without communicating.

Xxxxxxcc
    Mind your own business and don’t let my emotions be of any concern to you.
    Xxxxx

31. @ Pacha,
    Of course , over the last forty years, we would have expected greater development in all spheres throughout the region. Unfortunately this is not the case. In several areas we have retrogressed. However this does not alter my position that the only way forward is one Caribbean state.
    My position on our current local predicament is that there is a lack of inspirational leadership. I simply used the intervention of Bob Marley as a reference point or example of inspired leadership during a very dark period in Jamaica’s history.
    One can successfully posit that this collective lack of inspirational leadership is quite absent throughout the entire region.
    The struggle continues

32. “is quite present” throughout the region.

33. Imagine if our civil servants had managed the debt cut themselves and gotten screwed in the process. The opposition would have cried foul. That is why our Supreme Leader has my full support here.

Tron, just fair and balanced

34. How can there be any trust when there is ALWAYS accusations like this regarding the SAME SLIMY THIEVES tied to government sucking on the people with scam after scam.. Still trying to confirm this but don’t hold your breath that it’s false. It’s alleged that the fake company was swindled but unknown if the money came from government or the fake company..
    ..the quickest things crooks in Barbados can do is form a shady company…guess another crook like themself was quicker on the draw. They can only comfortably.rob Black people when the real sharks catch hold of them they run to court.

“Barbados
    Home Jurisdictions Barbados
    moniladai-instagram
    Barbados Gov’t ‘agent’ lost $6.7M in ‘COVID-19 vaccine fraud’
    A Caribbean firm operated by Barbadian developer Mark Maloney that says it was hired by the Barbados Government to procure one million doses of a COVID-19 vaccine for the country’s population claims to have been swindled out of $6.7 million. It’s not clear from a complaint filed at federal court in the U.S. last week whether the amount originated from the Government or the company, Rational Investments Ltd.
    September 19, 2021
    Radical Investments Ltd. v. Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC et al: Complaint
    Complaint alleging a $6.7 million fraud involving “non-existent doses” of a COVID-19 vaccine “for the purpose of vaccinating nearly 300,000 citizens of the island of Barbados” in Radical Investments Ltd., described as a St. Lucia company based in Barbados v. Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC, of Florida; Alex Lee Moore, a.k.a. Flex Moore; Prestige Pegasus LLC, of Colorado; Moniladae Coley, a.k.a. Moniladai Coley; Charles Stein, .k.a. Charlie Stein, a lawyer in California; Davidovich Stein Law Group LLC, a law firm California, and RDS Cargo Group DWC LLC, described as a Polish company based in the United Arab Emirates, at the U. S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida.
    September 17, 2021″

35. lol…only found out because other people were researching another famous case….regarding Crooks Anonymous in Barbados….that got a judgement in US..

John ya should check it out…

36. Now neither of these peice of shit CROOK COMPANIES are pharmaceuticals, one is a construction crook, and the other is a better crook…..but Mia was justifiying why the crook should be in Black lives, i keep telling the population to walk away from all of them before they cost Black lives and MORE SUFFERING…

Radical Investments Ltd. v. Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC et al
    Florida Southern District Court
    Judge: Aileen M Cannon
    Case #: 9:21-cv-81761
    Nature of Suit 380 Torts – Personal Property – Other Personal Property Damage
    Cause 28:1332 Diversity
    Case Filed: Sep 17, 2021
    Docket
    Parties (8)
    Docket last updated: 09/19/2021 11:59 PM EDT
    Friday, September 17, 2021
    8 notice Notice of Change of Address, Email or Law Firm Name Fri 09/17 4:13 PM
    NOTICE of Change of Address, Email or Law Firm Name by Ralph Robert Longo, IV (Longo, Ralph)
    7 trial Exhibits Fri 09/17 4:07 PM
    EXHIBITS Exhibits to Plaintiff’s Complaint 1-22 by Radical Investments Ltd..(Longo, Ralph)
    Att: 1 Exhibit Batch of Exhibits 1-22 (Redacted)
    6 service Summons Issued Fri 09/17 2:58 PM
    Summons Issued as to Moniladae Coley, Davidovich Stein Law Group LLLP, Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC, Alex Lee Moore, Jr, Prestige Pegasus LLC, RDS CARGO GROUP DWC LLC, Charles Zohan Stein Esq. (pes)

37. Can Black governments in Barbados DO NOTHING FOR THEMSELVES….something as simplea s sourcing vaccines must go to known criminals, they act as though the population can do nothing..and must pay or buy from everyone else…hence there is always billion dollar robberies…against the people..

diasster after disaster…the population must put and end to this to off load private sector criminals….and useless governments…get rid of the trash…..

38. Thing is, am sure US and Canada, don’t remember if anyone else did, but they donated vaccines to the island, so what would have happened if they were not in a position to….with this run amok “government agent” getting robbed….6 MILLION DOLLARS….where would be the vaccines for the people now with Covid raging….

Fowl SLave Enuff…government agent if you please……..🤣🤣😂😂

39. You may have foundba new nugget.
    Google some of the companies mentioned.
    Number of employees
    Status.. active, dissolved, etc.

40. I formed an LLC years ago but I never used it.
    Any GoB official who needs an ‘established’ company as a front, please hit me up

41. Oh…China donated vaccines as well..

Theo….am waiting for Fowl Enuff to jump out and hit me up with a word salad..

42. Thanks Hants.
    Your investigative skills are impressive.
    Will hold back and watch the developments
    Updating my ad..

Any Caribbean government official who needs an ‘established’ company as a front, please hit me up

43. But did St. Lucia get the vaccines, i don’t see where it did….7 million EC is nothing to sneeze at either…

so was that 6 million US….will have to be because THE CLAIM is in the Southern District Court of Florida…..where is the insider Fowl Enuff with all the info..he was so freely give me last week…complete with $50 words.

“Radical Investments Ltd”

don’t forget the name….the nerve on these crooks..

44. “Barbados
    Home Jurisdictions Barbados
    moniladai-instagram
    Barbados Gov’t ‘agent’ lost $6.7M in ‘COVID-19 vaccine fraud’
    A Caribbean firm operated by Barbadian developer Mark Maloney that says it was hired by the Barbados Government to procure one million doses of a COVID-19 vaccine for the country’s population claims to have been swindled out of $6.7 million. It’s not clear from a complaint filed at federal court in the U.S. last week whether the amount originated from the Government or the company, Rational Investments Ltd.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

A THIEF FROM A THIEF MAGE GOD LAUGH.

INTREGRITY LEGISLATION IS A FARCE ON THE 2×3 ISLAND.

ONGOING CORRUPTION AND KICKBACKS CONTINUE WHETHER DLP OR BLP MIDDLE MAN MARK MALONEY WITH THE RED BAG DISAPPEARED LIKE A PUFF OF SMOKE.

45. This shows why transparency is needed.

A story like this has wings because the citizens are not in the loop. When we hear something it is because of the appearance of something going wrong with a deal or the product is not worth the money that was spent.

46. Ralph Gonsalves talk about demise of liat and other shareholders

Leave a Reply to TLSNCancel reply