Submitted by Wayne Cadogan

On Saturday September 11/09/2021 as I was leaving Massy Supermarket in Holetown after picking up a few items, I was stopped at the door by the guard and told that the supervisor said that the next time that I come to the store, I cannot wear the mask that I was wearing and would not be allowed to enter.

I asked what was wrong with the mask that I was wearing, he replied that it was not a “real” mask and pointed to the advertising board and said that this is the  real mask that I have to wear. I asked to speak to the supervisor and he told someone to call the supervisor.

Meanwhile, while I was waiting outside at the door – I was asked to  step outside by the guard – a short guy came outside and asked me what was the problem. I told him and he said to me that I cannot come back in the store with that mask and that if I did, that he would carry me across to the police station. He repeated the same thing to the guard on the  inside. I assumed that he was one of their security personnel as he did not identify himself.

A half hour passed and still the supervisor never showed, I enquired of the guard and he said that he sent the message. I had to leave because the ice cream that I went into the store for was starting to break down. When I got home, I contacted the COVID department and was assured that nothing was wrong with my mask.

I am at a loss because my mask is 100% cotton and more than 60% percent of the masks that are worn by the public in the same Massy and other places are homemade from synthetic materials which are not good for the respiratory system in the long run. They do not see anything wrong with those masks but can single me out for the one which I was wearing. I have been wearing that type of mask from the inception and not once has anyone or business had anything to say about it.

As a designer, I blatantly refused to design or make masks because of the materials and the best mask for Wayne Cadogan and his well being was one made from a sock because it made from a natural fibre of 100% cotton.

35 responses to “Barbadian Denied Entry to Massy Store”

1. Who authorized Massy’s personnel to establish the particular specifications that would determine whether a mask is ‘real’ or not?

The security guard saying he would “carry Mr. Cadogan across to the police station,’ if he returned to the store wearing the mask, is laughable.

What would be his reason for ‘arresting’ Mr. Cadogan and taking him to Holetown Station? That he wants the gentleman charged for not wearing what Massy determined not be a ‘real mask?’ I could only imagine what the police would write on the charge sheet.

As David BU would ‘say,’……… ‘piss in muh pocket, do.’

2. The whole fracking world has gone mad. RFLMAO it would appear the aliens have kidnapped the common sense of world leaders. We even frigging up our cousins the gorillas.

“ Atlanta’s zoo says at least 13 western lowland gorillas have tested positive for COVID-19, including 60-year-old Ozzie, the oldest male gorilla in captivity.

Zoo Atlanta said Friday that employees noticed the gorillas had been coughing, had runny noses and showed changes in appetite. A veterinary lab at the University of Georgia returned positive tests for respiratory illness. Zoo Atlanta says it’s waiting on confirmation from the National Veterinary Services Lab in Ames, Iowa.
    The zoo says it is treating the gorillas at risk of developing complications from SARS-CoV-2 with monoclonal antibodies. The zoo is also testing all 20 of its gorillas, who live in four troops.

Zoo officials say they believe an asymptomatic employee who cares for the gorillas passed on the virus. The employee had been fully vaccinated and was wearing protective equipment such as a mask and gloves.
    The zoo says there’s no evidence that the gorillas can pass the virus back to humans and says visitors are too far away to be infected by gorillas.

“We are very concerned that these infections occurred, especially given that our safety protocols when working with great apes and other susceptible animal species are, and throughout the pandemic have been, extremely rigorous,” said Dr Sam Rivera, the zoo’s senior director of animal health, said in a statement.“

3. Our Corona rules are far too lax. We should, as already in other CARICOM member states, only allow entry to shops, administrative buildings and other public facilities if a vaccination certificate is shown. Let the vaccination refuseniks rot and starve at home.

4. Across the globe one thing the pandemic has exposed is the inability of mankind to come together behind a common cause. We are separated by our partisan position a conditioning of the brain. Unable to rise above a narrow view.

5. @ David September 12, 2021 12:22 PM

Exactly. It is totally shocking that the DLP is sabotaging our vaccination campaign. They have already proven with Donville Inniss crimes that they put their selfishness above the common good.

6. Those who have old, sick and children as relatives simply cannot vote for the DLP anymore. Anyone who opposes compulsory vaccination is tolerating the death of innocent people.

7. Next time Mr Cadogan wishes to enter Massy, maybe what he should do is to spend a little extra money in gasoline and take a drive by the Covid enforcement unit to ascertain that his mask meets the required standards. Then before entering Massy, go into the Holetown Police Station and reconfirm the suitability of his mask for entry into business places. This is when his investment in gasoline and time will be rewarded. Armed with the above assurances, he is now free to go to the supermarket and be sure to pass the front desk (slowly) and also make a point of being seen by every security guard on duty. With a little luck some fool will instruct one of the guards to escort Mr Cadogan out of the store and over to the Police Station. Mr Cadogan’s attorney will have already positioned himself at the station for he and Mr Cadogan to retire for the rest of their working lives compliments of our cousins from Trinidad.

8. Yuh think so??? Money is awarded in accordance with the damage the victim suffered, among other things.

Retire wuh!

9. Well Donna, let someone tip off the media so that when the guard makes his arrest the event will have full public media coverage that will guaranteeing maximum public embarrassment. Duh!

10. Well I hope Massy is reading the backlash handed to this story across social
    For one Massy gonna play safe send the security firm a demand of action taken against the security guard
    If the traditional media gets hold of the story
    Massy would quickly move forward to advocate a letter of apology to the customer
    If the letter does not suffice the customer
    The customer can turn to legal action against Massy and the security firm on the grounds of emotional and physchological damage with an intent or intention to ruined the customer reputation
    Btw let me say this is Barbados and victims wanting to receive monetary compensation from big businesses must be willing to run the long haul which can take time and money
    However Massy can also offer other initiatives which can show that the company was willing to pursue a human path to satisfy the customer
    Having said that the best way out for.customer and Massy is to pursue a path of ” win win” were both sides agreed avoiding legal action

11. And that helps him to retire how?

12. Wunnuh never watch a case in Barbados, nuh!

Wunnuh tink de man gon be able to retired offa dis sorta incident????

Stop trying to fool de man dat yuh know wuh yuh talkin’ bout!

Wunnuh tink nuff money does pay out jus’ so?

Steupse!

13. Probably because the last dude that came in with a sock on his face robbed the place

14. All ya will get is a lot of long talk instead of boycotting the store, boycotts cost businesses millions..

last person who robbed Massey Warren got shot, the head security always carried a gun..

15. let me rephrase because there was so much excitement that morning, the then GM Neiland was telling people there was just a shooting when someone tried to rob the store, then ya got several other versions where he was either shot, shot at and the bullet missed and shattered the front glass…lol…so it’s still up in the air and that was before the summer of 2012….could even have been 2011..

but boycotting…and not long talk….cost businesses who believe they are dictators tens of millions the longer it lasts, but getting the people to actually boycott is the trick…any other jurisdiction it would have been a nobrainer…

16. A mask made from a sock is useless as a covid barrier. If you remember bandanas etc were all banned from entry into US Stores as well. To protect against covid the masks must have at least 1 melt down layer as in the case of a medical masks. The Kn95 goes further with 5 layers of filtration and 2 meltdown layers. The truth is the covid particle is so small it will go right through a cotton mask far less a sock!

17. Retire Not under Massy watch
    Massy got a barrage of lawyers and people in high places to.mek sure their side is not disadvantage

18. “The Kn95 goes further with 5 layers of filtration and 2 meltdown layers.”

definitely a high quality mask, very porous, breathable…..or thick cotton material with filters on one or both sides …but earlly in the pandemic they were suggesting the sock like material..

19. Requirements changed, for example in the early days of covid medical masks were being recommended for nurses and frontliners, then when other variants raised their heads the medical masks type 2R were recommended as it had a repellent outer layer for cough droplets etc. As more was learnt about the virus more was being required from a mask. Unfortunately here we have no mask standards as in other countries, so many here are offering dust masks for covid protection and trying to pass of non medical masks as medical masks.

Where is BNSI on this issue?

20. Coronavirus-sniffing dogs are brought in at Miami airport to detect infected employees
    Miami International is the first airport in the U.S. to deploy dogs to detect the smell of the coronavirus on employees
    The scheme could be extended to passengers if it is successful
    A Dutch shepherd and a Belgian Malinois were trained to sniff out the presence of COVID-19 in more than 150 employees at Florida’s biggest airport
    Backed by a double-blind study, the dogs can detect the virus with 97.5 percent accuracy, now rivalling traditional antigen test
    The COVID-19 detection canines will be used to screen employees at their entry checkpoints in a 30 day pilot study
    By ALASTAIR TALBOT FOR DAILYMAIL.COM

21. @Tron @Angela, can wunna and the other political operatives of political parties put country first and not wunna dishonest corrupt self serving political parties. You all ought to be ashamed

22. FriendSeptember 12, 2021 5:33 PM

@Tron @Angela, can wunna and the other political operatives of political parties put country first and not wunna dishonest corrupt self serving political parties. You all ought to be ashamed

Xxccccc

What a Dishonest Friend

23. There is a man hey who always talking ’bout the impossibility of sowing yams and reaping potatoes.

Or running with the hares and hunting with the hounds.

Indeed Cadogan is living proof of Barrow’s prophecies relating to mirror image, not a blade of cane and ownership.

The internal contradiction however is that Cadogan is a partisan supporter of the very duopoly which has made Errol Barrow nightmares about Barbados lived realities.

Cadogan! Stay tuned, for there are yet more signs and wonders to come a calling.

Consider, that your undying devotion to the DLP, even with a maximalist dictator in Fruendel Stuart, has made you a stranger in your own country. Your Dipper was right.

24. Wayne

It was de sock in mouth appearance. Not de 100 percent cotton knit material mask you wore.

100 percent cotton cloth Mask are approved World 🌎 wide. However de cheaply made blue synthetic membrane mask are tolerated in most countries. 😷

25. @David. In times like these, a benevolent dictator becomes very handy. Sometimes you got to use extreme strategy to save people from themselves. I pray next time for a planet buster asteroid.

26. The more the world become globalised and interconnected, the more people will become entitled, spoiled and dumb. Social media, in my opinion, is more of a curse than a force for good.

27. @ fortyacresandamule September 13, 2021 8:24 PM

“In times like these, a benevolent dictator becomes very handy. Sometimes you got to use extreme strategy to save people from themselves.”

We already have Mia Mottley, Prime Minister and Supreme Leader of Barbados. So there is no reason to wish for what we already have.

28. @fortyacresandamule

Your apathy is real but runs counter to the need for mankind to adapt to survive in the animal kingdom.Whatever will your children say?

29. Apologies
    I scraped off the end and the link does not work. Here is the full link.
    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/six-arrested-in-225-million-drug-bust-on-former-nz-navy-vessel/WKHEOVZR3D57SPDSRJC5CWOMFY/

30. was just told that some places are not allowing the masks with air filters/valves at the side anymore….so N95, KN95. 100% cotton masks or the 3-ply disposable masks is the way to go until that too gets changed.

31. Heard Anfre Worrell today on local media punching the guts out of MI Mottley Red Herring
    The moderator on hand response was dumbfounding
    Another reason why patriotic barbadians need to send a message to the PM that disrespect of the nation would not be tolerated

32. the guard said he will carry you to the police station, how on earth is he going to do that? is he going to lift you up or drag you to the police station.

33. You can separate comments by “

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply