There is a popular saying “God helps those who help themselves“. The pandemic has been with us almost 2 years, we know any pandemic is likely to disrupt the global supply chain. We know Barbados is a significant importer of food, over the years successive governments have paid lip service to prioritizing food security. It is cheaper to import than produce in Barbados they say – what about forming a strategic relationship with other islands? What is the purpose of Caricom?

The following was sent to the blogmaster with the following question. The old people have another saying – “you have made your bed and will have to lie on it”.

David you want a better reason why we should have introduced a greenhouse project over a year ago than this?

122 responses to “Food Security: Eat the Cellphone”

1. People have been eating less meat
    and loads more rice
    just like 3rd world living
    God is smiling 🙂 like Sunshine ☼

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIMyyhIHYU4

2. Did we not have a private citizen running a successful hydroponics farm in St Peter and who left the island in disgust after he was taken to court by a big real estate developer? Apparently another hotel was more important than food security when a legal technicality was invoked in buying the farm land from under the nose of the farmer.

3. $40.00 BDS
    $20.oo US
    Note to self: Travel with tomato seeds.

4. The famous Aldi and Lidl stores, both German companies, smashed the monopoly of large English food retailers who were notorious price fixers.

I would like the directors of Massy’s to explain the grotesque contrast in prices between their prices and those of Aldi. One Barbados dollar equals 0.36 pence; whilst one pound sterling equals 2.37 Barbadian dollars.

The link below allows you to do a direct comparison between Aldi’s and Massy’s prices. Several weeks ago, I highlighted how Barbadians pay more for the cost of their fuel than their Caribbean neighbours by a fair margin. We in the UK call this price gorging. Mia needs to investigate Massy’s pricing structure with immediate effect.

https://groceries.aldi.co.uk/en-GB/fresh-food/fruit-vegetables?sortDirection=asc&page=1

5. It’s just a matter of time before the prediction of “Hants” (one of our ‘Canadian’ BU correspondents) comes to fruition.

For he has been warning (like the prophet Jeremiah) Bajans for years about the need to grow, as much as possible, their own food and reduce their heavy dependence on imported processed unhealthy fodder.

Gone are the days when the government can go on the annual borrowing junket to top up the country’s balance of payments position with unearned foreign exchange to indulge Bajans in their Xmas spending spree.

Covid-19 and its mutants are surely ‘speeding up’ the time when Bajans would come to realize the wisdom of the advice he, Hants, has been giving over the years.

6. Tomatoes can be grown in hanging baskets, people! Grow your own!

Are people buying the tomatoes?

I ain’t.

Ain’t picking none at present but I can wait a few weeks.

We make life really hard for ourselves. Full of damn excuses.

7. Even in limited spaces like the government housing units, neighbours could co-operate and use their limited space to grow vegetables, maybe two by each household and then they could share.

Wouldn’t take much time or effort to grow a couple of crops in containers in your backyard, hanging, stacked vertically, HOWEVER.

But we prefer to depend on government to haul in Massey.

8. Rain dun wet the garden. Nothing to do but reap.

And walk the stray dog down by the cliffs.

9. The merchants will argue none are available locally so they imported. The farmer will argue its not our fault the rain fall and wash out the crops. The government will argue we are not in the business of agriculture production and supply. The consumer will argue about the price but still buy them.

In other words every link in the chain will have an excuse with the end result being that the consumers suffer. Yet with all the arable government land in the island growing bush, no effort has been made over the last 18 months of covid to plant a tomato seed on none of em. Instead our leaders prefer to address issues that will neither feed us or enrich us.

10. @John A

Actually the minister of agriculture will say that agriculture is the sole item that has grown year over year (GDP).

11. Wuhloss

How times have changed, Mason has ridden that wave of criticism proffered by the BU Intelligentsia in the handling of that case all the way to the top.

Not a boy has been critical of the recent announcement

Republic, here we come!

12. The following was received from long time contributor Bentley:

I read your article this morning on food security. This simple truth is,

1) we as a people prefer to eat imported crap rather than locally grown food whatever the cost.
    2) the same people importing the seeds are the ones importing the crap. That’s why we can’t get any decent seeds to plant. I remember a time back I got someone to bring some cherry tomato seeds for me from the US. I had 4 plants staked so they grew vertically in a space 4′ x 4′ and used to get upwards of 30 tomatoes a day. Best tomatoes I’ve ever tasted. If we can get decent seeds and better control of pests especially monkeys more people would get into backyard vegetable gardening.
    3) the sad thing is many people in Barbados don’t know how to cook nutritious food with local ingredients that is tasty and appealing and does not require lots of time in the kitchen.

Those are my comments for now. As always when I come across articles on the subject that I think need wider circulation I will send them on to you.

To your good health

13. Talk!

Call for stronger agrifood systems in times of disaster
    CARIBBEAN NATIONS are committed to building the resilience of their agrifood systems to tackle the challenges they face, due to their vulnerability to climate changerelated natural disasters, according to ministers from the region.
    High-level authorities from 14 nations in the region met with their peers in the wider American hemisphere at the conference of Ministers of Agriculture 2021, which was held virtually, under the theme Sustainable Agrifood Systems, The Engine Of Development Of The Americas.
    “The world is facing many challenges, and the Americas has its own challenges. Specifically, we in the Caribbean need to build greater resilience to climate change-related natural disasters”, said Indar Weir, Barbados’ Minister of Agriculture and Food Security.
    “In Barbados,” he added, “this year we have had to endure the passage of Hurricane Elsa and we are still in the hurricane season, so we must ensure that the entire Caribbean is protected”.
    Weir thanked the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA) for its work to achieve agricultural sustainability in the Caribbean and commended the director general, Manuel Otero, for his re-election to head the organisation for a second term.
    Ron Dublin-Collins, permanent secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture in St Kitts and Nevis, explained that his country was seeking to transform agriculture to better position the sector to ensure food security.
    “We are making every
    effort. We know that the sector faces challenges and hope to continue collaborating with countries in the region and with IICA. We embrace hope and know that we can achieve our objectives,” he said.
    Also participating in the conference was Carla Barnett, secretary general of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) – one of the strategic technical cooperation partners of IICA – who emphasised that the Caribbean nations are attempting to transform their agrifood systems, while also boosting production resilience, in a bid to achieve a 25 per cent cut in the high level of food imports by 2025. (PR)

14. Talk!

Worrell: Give farmers cash
    IT IS TIME for farmers to receive a cash injection from the Government, says Democratic Labour Party (DLP) spokesman on agriculture Andre Worrell.
    He said the sector was adrift with no sense of direction being offered by the Mia Mottley administration.
    “With all of the challenges the sector is currently facing, this Government has not come to the assistance of farmers the same way they did for the hoteliers. Farmers are facing high water bills because of the prolonged drought. The most recent challenge has been an increase in feed prices by Pinnacle Feeds. The Minister of Agriculture has failed to adequately address the concerns of the farming community,” Worrell said.
    He said that since June Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir was aware of the feed producer’s intention to increase its prices because of higher shipping and raw material costs. It was disappointing, Worrell said, that the minister struggled for two months and has not been able to negotiate or put forward a workable solution for the agricultural sector.
    “We continue to hear of the promised $2 000 000 subsidy to the feed producers to maintain the feed prices. It is a slap in the face to the farmers to learn that it has not been paid by the Government and as a result Pinnacle Feed increased their prices from August 1. As a result, we have seen a drastic increase in food prices at a time when consumers cannot afford such increases.
    “These increases will make our agricultural sector uncompetitive and will lead to more farmers ceasing production in what is already an industry under tremendous pressure. The DLP sees the agricultural
    sector as a vital component of our economy. The sector is necessary to increase employment opportunities, provide input for the manufacturing sector and nutritious food for a population with a high incidence of non-communicable diseases such as diabetes and hypertension,” he said in a statement.
    Worrell urged the minister to stop the “long talk” and “photo ops” and bring solutions to invigorate the agricultural sector to turn around the economic decline brought about by COVID-19.
    This Barbados Labour Party administration failed to deliver any solutions which benefited farmers, small businesses, or the average Barbadian, he said.
    The gridlock faced by dairy farmers is also resulting in some of them reducing production to cut losses.
    “The agricultural sector is crying out for an ease and a new direction. It is time that Prime Minister Mottley brings a comprehensive budget to the people of Barbados emphasising a new strategic direction for our productive sectors,” said Worrell, who is the vice-president of the DLP. ( AC/PR)

15. @ John A September 8, 2021 8:26 AM

The hurtful thing about it all is that the current administration is borrowing IMF money to encourage this kind of foreign / imported food consumption.

It’s equivalent to a person borrowing money from a bank to upgrade the house but spends the money on an overseas shopping spree.

Bajans just can’t see they are simply playing themselves straight into the hands of the IMF pied piper.

What are they going to do when the foreign money they are currently wasting has to be paid back?

Run back to Britain and beg for reparations to pay off the IMF debts?

16. “It’s equivalent to a person borrowing money from a bank to upgrade the house but spends the money on an overseas shopping spree.”

get used to it, the island is going NOWHERE…

17. Dem could talk. Donna dun act. And my kitchen garden is not only productive but is also aesthetically pleasing.

Nuh lotta long talk!

Donna just picked okras, spinach and eggplant. ALL easy to grow and needing little space and attention. Pumpkin too can be trained to run around the border of a backyard garden. Easy to grow. Beets, radishes, Chinese cabbage, easy to grow. Kale, sweet potatoes, cassava, easy to grow. Lettuce is also easy to grow.

Got carrots, turnips, tomatoes, pigeon peas, cucumbers, cabbage, celery, parsley, thyme, marjoram, onions, leeks, basil, chives, garlic chives, turmeric, ginger, sage, dill and coriander planted as well.

Got sugar baby, honey dew and cantalope, banana and pomegranate. Sugar apple, Bajan cherry, golden apple guava and lime trees coming along nicely.

Picking almonds, coconuts and sour sops from the old trees. Had mangoes aplenty a few months ago.

All I need now are the plantain, paw paw (again) and avocado. Maybe passion fruit and grapes.

Here sipping my own lemongrass tea. Plenty of aloes growing too.

Got some corn to plant too. Broccoli and cauliflower for the cooler weather. Even got strawberries to try.

Probably try some English potatoes then too.

It ain’t that hard.

18. @ David

We have choices………. and three (3) immediately come to mind.

(1) Leave Massy’s groceries where they are.

(2) Shop at Popular, Savings Plus or Cherish instead.

(3) Plant your own.

But, rather than have a mature discussion on the issue, as John A and Donna have chosen to do, we’ll spend the next few hours complaining…………..until the usual suspects succeed in introducing their daily agendas to ‘hijack’ the blog with a multiplicity of repetitive, irrelevant shiite about ‘ancestors and minority thieves,’ numerous music videos, finding something to criticize Mia Mottley for or COVID-19 is in the water.

By the way, I’m always hearing people complain about the price of food, but I can’t remember ever hearing them complain about the prices of mobile phones.
    At some stores, for example, a Samsung S10+ costs $2,400 and some iPhones, over $6,000.

19. @Artax

The cost of a high in cellphone is one off BUT there is the running cost be it pre or post packages.

20. Oh dear! I forgot the oregano and zucchini recently hatched but they have been troublesome in the past. Ain’t get none yet after about four attempts.

Oh dear! I forgot to mention the sweet peppers and hot peppers. And the bunching onions.

Murdaaaah!

Nuh lotta long talk!

21. By the way, I’m always hearing people complain about the price of food, but I can’t remember ever hearing them complain about the prices of mobile phones.
    At some stores, for example, a Samsung S10+ costs $2,400 and some iPhones, over $6,000.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Where

22. 40.99 Barbadian or Bajan Dollars = $20 US

Tomatoes On The Vine, Per lb
    $1.64/lb

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Tomatoes-On-The-Vine-Per-lb/44390955

23. @ Millar,

Maybe they are bringing tomatoes to Barbados by Air ambulance. lol

24. Artax,

To be fair, many people buy second hand phones and communicate by whatapp mostly. But still…

Another thing they complain about is house insurance. Thing only costs me a hundred and fifty a month.

Priorities.

25. There is nothing new here. We have been told to subsidize their expenditure on food by eating local and “ keeping kitchen gardens” and abandoning imported crap for donkey years. We have simply chosen not to.
    We have been told to don’t waste water for donkey years. We have chosen not to.
    We have been told to stop littering and throwing garbage all over the place for donkey years .We have chosen not.
    Crocodile tears can now be exported to earn forex.

26. My phone cost me less than five hundred dollars more than two years ago.

Works for me.

I put twenty dollars in credit on it per month and twenty on my son’s.

Nuh lotta long talk!

27. bring evidence September 8, 2021 9:43 AM #: “Where”

Unlike you, I do not post anything to BU, which I cannot substantiate.

For example, recall you trying to convince this forum, the Auditor General wrote about a project that began in September 2020, in his report for the financial year ended March 31, 2020, based on a video you posted to BU.

Anyhow, go into any branch of Court’s and see for yourself.

28. “Dem could talk. Donna dun act. And my kitchen garden is not only productive but is also aesthetically pleasing.”

Lucky you. I tried planting but I get a number of different animals living or passing through my yard. At times they eat the plants before they reached flowering stage. I stopped trying.

Have you tried your hand at growing pineapples. I tried, but couldn’t get it to catch roots.
    ———-xxx—–
    A national slogan should be a
    ‘A kitchen garden at every home’

29. Lotta long talk and nuff crocodile tears!

Yesterday morning I donned my gloves to clean up the litter along my gap.

We should blame and hold our government to account for their part but we should not forget our own “contribution” to the mess we are in.

The so-called education we got has not served us as well as the standpipe school.

The old folk I knew were wiser than my generation. They got us this far and we have regressed. In trying to ease our suffering they have allowed us to grow soft.

Still… I see a spark in some young people that gives me a glimmer of hope.

Along with the Corona Kick in the Butt, there may yet dawn a new old understanding.

30. TheO,

There are ways to repel animals.

Yes, I have one pineapple growing as a trial. The plant looks really good but I’ll have to see if it fruits. I understand it can take two years. I’m at a year and almost a half.

31. TheO

Repellent and netting at Home Depot or Lowe’s

Donna

Figs and breadfruit?

32. John 2,

Two breadfruit trees grew up in odd places on my land and had to be cut down. There is a white meat breadfruit tree on my cousin’s land a few feet away from my border. Nobody lives there. My Rasta cousin down the road brings me yellow meat breadfruit whenever. He also promised me a fig sucker that has not yet arrived. But I am not a fig lover so I don’t remind him.

TheO,

The last animals that availed themselves of my sweet potato leaves were sheep belonging to a neighbour. I spread the word that if he could not find rope to buy, then I would. Same way the mad woman practised with a rock, a guttaperk and a paint can for the neighbour’s dog, she would practise with a lasso and then a noose. Mad Woman No 1, my mother, scored one at her house down the road a couple of years ago. So I guess Mad Woman No.2 was not doubted.

I ent see de sheep since.

33. Is it too early to expect a statement on the plans being mobilized by the recently appointed Chief Agricultural Officer?

34. Didn’t the government give land to a number of small farmers at Wakefield in St John?

Didn’t government not build a dam in ST Phillip for the Farmers there?

Isn’t there also plans for a dam for the farmers in st Lucy ( if it hasn’t started yet)?

35. The issue here has to do with seeing these initiatives translate in a greater food output.

#talk

36. Don’t worry the Chinese eyeballing all that unused agricultural land
    Don’t worry things gonna get better
    One big happy family in the future
    Not kidding

37. My problem with the powers that be is this and I going help them here today for free!

Do a little research based on the below and when you have the info act and stop talking nonesence.

First get the imports over the last year of all that can be grown here by both weight and value.

Secondly target the items like tomatoes that would give a fast crop and decent return to the farmers. Also implement a grow local campaign on say 10 targeted items. Make sure 2 is lettuce and tomatoes too!

Turdly and that is no miss spell, look into and erect the greenhouses necessary to facilitate year round growth of these 10 targeted items. Dont let me here again dem ain’t got no local tomatoes or lettuce cause rain fall in other words.

If wunna do this you picking the 10 best items by both volume and value and working towards replacing the imports of those 10 with locally produced ones over the next 6 months. When wunna done with setting those 10 in motion you then go back to the import data and pick the next 10, until such times as you have identified the majority of items for local production.

Dem got fancy words for this practice like ” targeted commodity substitution” and nuff other big word titles, but em really is basic common sense dats all!

38. The problem is supply and demand , see you classify tomatoes as vegetables on the island so everyone wants them creating a demand increasing the price be like Tennessee and Ohio classify them properly and the price will come down ..because from what I have seen nobody seem to like fruits on the island.

39. Power that be = BAS?

40. Ten by ten! A systematic way to solve the problem. Not helter skelter that never works.

I started my garden very small with just a couple of crops. I added beds and crops as I got the hang of each crop. Now I hardly have to buy fruits and vegetables. It’s not that hard at all.

Once I have conquered the old ways, I will switch over to some of the new. I planned for a day when technology would be unavailable and old methods would be all one has.

It’s not so hard.

Nothing should be this hard to co-ordinate on a 2×3 island!

What the hell is wrong with us that we cannot manage 290,000 measly people?

41. John A understands simplicity. Breaking the task down into little steps and completing one step before moving on prevents one from feeling overwhelmed.

Most people look at the task as too big, throw their hands in the air and say, “It’s just too hard!”

It really isn’t.

42. I would gladly ship some tomatoes down. But they are perishable, so the Food Bank gets the extras. I have already canned 20 jars of tomatoes and will be making ten jars of spicy salsa tonight and tomorrow. My sweet pepper plants had to be staked twice. One plant contained 12 monsters. I am harvesting eggplants and having a field day with new recipes. I have too may cabbages and the savoy won’t be ready until frost and they are already around 8 pounds. I shelled and froze 3 litres of beans, cranberry and romano. Still more on the trellises to pick. I froze 4 bags of Bajan spinach and have more to pick. may have to get a second freezer. the only person who gets some of my bajan spinach is my scottish friend who was married to a black man and lived in Zambia, so is accustomed to callaloo, okras and our spinach. Did not get many pumpkins this year, only ten. Everything did well, brussel sprouts are almost the size of golf balls and I like them smaller and they are sweeter after first frost. Grapes are ripening nicely, apples are juicy and tasty as well. Made two batches of potato salad from my english potatoes so far. Only dug enough to eat. Will harvest the rest later for winter use. May let some over winter in the ground for next spring to avoid sprouting.

43. Add this to the mix: White House blames beef, pork and poultry for rise in grocery prices
    https://mol.im/a/9971077

44. Well even the increases in feed prices we can help our selves with. The main ingredient in that is corn and we used to grow that here in abundance when I was younger as well. Bajans were raising chicken and livestock long before bag feed came along. Even if we have to import some of the inputs and could grow the corn locally, that would cut the overall cost still.

45. @John A

In the 70s and 80s with the shift from agrarian to services our economists became sold on the idea that if a unit was cheaper to import than to be produced locally, it was the best decision to make.

46. In the last general election campaign the late Owen Arthur participated he warned Barbadians they should develop back yard gardens. The blogmaster interpreted his position to mean we needed to make adjustments at the household level.

We agree backyard gardening will help but the issue of addressing food security requires government to mobilize a national policy. For example we talk about integrating and coordinating local food production with the hospitality industry. Does this happen at the required level? There are other large consumers in the domestic market strategic arrangements can me established to guarantee all year demand leading to financial stability for farmers. So many opportunities to get serious. A mindset shift is required at every level.

47. Farmers plead for time to drop prices
    by SHERIA BRATHWAITE sheriabrathwaite@nationnews.com
    POULTRY FARMERS WANT Barbadians to give them two weeks to drop their prices.
    Yesterday, president of the Barbados Egg and Poultry Producers’ Association, Stephen Layne said that farmers could not instantly drop their prices following Government’s extension of a $2 million injection to keep prices at a certain level.
    “Some of them (poultry farmers) are up to six weeks committed to the old feed prices but they are conscious of the impact and once again they are willing to make a sacrifice for the consumers,” he said.
    “They asked that they be given two weeks’ time to reflect the prices of the support mechanism that Government is giving.”
    On Monday Pinnacle Feeds announced that the company would be reducing its 19 per cent increase on feed to 11 per cent after Government agreed to inject another $2 million into a price support system, which initially ran from May to July. The latest support extended it by another three months.
    He said that while the cost of poultry products went up, they did not increase across the board as smaller players were faced with purchasing resistance from retailers and in some cases had to compromise.
    Crippled
    Layne said that unknown to the public, the poultry business was being crippled by price increases in almost every aspect of operation. “They are absorbing the losses, about 20 per cent, within the sector even though they have been absorbing a lot of losses in recent times. Compared with the first quarter of last year, poultry production has been down 32 per cent and this is because of a number of things – the fallout of business associated with COVID-19; the increased cost of production; the spending power of consumers; the increased minimum wage and the impact that has on the cost of labour; the cost of fuel and transportation and electricity.”
    Hike in cost
    Layne said the poultry producers were also facing the increased cost of chicks because the international price of chicks and shipping rose. “They are just trying
    to survive; most poultry producers have not experienced a profit for over a year. A lot of them have been operating on credit and that credit is running out. The feed company is not taking any more credit and they have to pay cash since they’re largely indebted.”
    Layne said times were so challenging that a number of small subcontracted farmers had ceased operating which affected the output of the larger farmers.
    In Tuesday’s edition of the DAILY NATION, Minister of Agriculture, Indar Weir, announced that the price for poultry products would soon be reduced as farmers agreed to lower the cost of their offerings following the implementation of Government’s extended price support.

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply