The blogmaster replied to retired trade unionist Facebook post titled Barbados Exports to Caricom and the World:

Robert Morris you have highlighted maintenance issues we must confront, however, you did not address the inadequate capacity as a country to earn in order to satisfy conspicuous consumption behaviour and generate employment opportunities.

Robert Morris replied:

David King, Sorry to repeat. You point out ‘conspicuous consumption behaviour’, as a major problem. Should we try to earn to satisfy that or to curb that? Give examples and strategies to curb.

The blogmaster replied:

Robert Morris we cannot continue to rely on the existing economic drivers of fickle tourism and international business. We definitely have to curb our taste for foreign, weaning Barbadians from champagne taste will require a re-education of our but it must be done. Improve mass transit (expand TAP), stop importation of all new vehicles effective midnight. Significantly subsidize inputs to producers of food and others generating forex. Aggressive adoption of alternative energy systems and energy efficient vehicles (waive duties). Scholarships to Barbadians in areas of learning that mesh with national strategic objectives. Agree to a period of five years to suspend the Constitution and install a government of consensus. Create an audit of skills in the diaspora and encourage them to participate in a think tank, reward them with 30 year bonds conditional on goals achieved. Etc

Robert Morris replied:

David King Barrow: champagne taste and mauby pockets? You did put your suggestions, my readers are free to comment.

The blogmaster did not expect comments from Robert Morris’ Facebook ‘friends’. As our good friend who Pacha introduced to the blog Krishnamurti opines- the politicians wont listen, the poor man wont listen, the deeply dogmatic persons wont listen. We are all conditioned to fiercely defend what we know, what we have been conditioned to internalize as our reality. The result is an activity humans have become synonymous, divisive behaviour.

The exchange reminded the blogmaster about the predicament the ongoing pandemic has forced on us. It is approaching two years since the novel coronavirus was reported. There was a rush to supermarkets in order to stockpile food and other essential AND non essential items, governments ordered lockdowns…etc. To stay afloat businesses created opportunities to do business by implementing ‘makeshift’ online ordering systems, curbside pickup or delivery.

There is the saying one should never let a good crisis go to waste. As soon as there was a decline in coronavirus infections many local businesses reverted to the traditional face to face model of doing business. Several years ago the government encouraged senior citizens to receive pension by direct debit, there was the usual push back to change. How many of them had to suffer because of Covid 19 induced delays when cheques could not be delivered and financial institutions closed or experienced long wait times attending customers? The point: government and private sector two years later should have implemented state of the art electronic ‘store fronts’ to facilitate purchase of goods and services,

The environment continues to demand we change behaviour; how we do business. Why are our leaders in civil society stoking discord to satisfy selfish interest? It is a zero sum game after all, you win the country loses. Then again, why are we surprised, the politicians convince themselves and the people that they have the answers but history shows they know not.

100 responses to “Forgive Politicians, ‘They Know Not What They Do’”

1. @ Miller September 5, 2021 3:21 PM

Perhaps it’s you who ‘misread the googly’ and was trapped on the front foot, only to be given out LBW.

Firstly, I recall sometime on Saturday, April 11, 2020, Mottley said she invited former PM Owen Arthur and former DLP Finance Minister Chris Sinckler, among other ‘distinguished men and women,’ to join ‘government’s’ newly established Jobs and Investment Council.
    An invitation was also extended to former PM Sir Lloyd Sandiford, who unfortunately had to decline because he was a bit poorly.

Sinckler was Chairman of the Trade and Logistics group. I’m sure you’re aware he has a MSc in International Trade Policy and was the Executive Coordinator of the Caribbean Policy Development Centre (CDPC).

Perhaps ‘government’ wanted to draw from his expertise in that area, rather than “resorting to his ‘unique’ skills for guidance on matters of finance and economics,” as you suggested.

Secondly, as it relates to angela cox’s comment about “bringing charges against the PRESENT OPPOSITION claiming Depezia is running a political campaign of criticism against present govt.”

The ‘People’s Party for Democracy and Development’ is the PRESENT OPPOSITION…………. NOT the Democratic Labour Party.

Also, it is a FACT that, rather than concentrating on providing Barbadians with alternative socioeconomic policies, ‘every imagination of the thoughts of Verla’s heart has been only criticisms continually.’

And remember, this is the SAME Verla who, when she was a government Senator of the former DLP administration, used to REPEAT the DEMS mantra, ‘stop criticizing and bring solutions.’

Please be reminded, criticizing vaccinations, for example, is NOT an articulation of a COVID-19 policy.

These are FACTS that CANNOT BE REFUTED.

2. @ Artax September 5, 2021 10:32 PM

“Please be reminded, criticizing vaccinations, for example, is NOT an articulation of a COVID-19 policy.”

The opposition is not only fighting the vaccination campaign, but is also to blame for the many Corona deaths in Barbados:

First, the DLP led Barbados to independence in 1966, so we are now short of vaccine. Much less vaccine doeses than lucky Bermuda, British Virgin Islands and all the grand Dutch and French overseas territories.

Secondly, the DLP supported the anti-vaccination riots in the inner city four weeks ago. The fact is that many participants did not wear masks, presumably to spread the virus.

Our Supreme Leader must finally act and prosecute the opposition!

3. @Artax

You are reminded that in our adversarial system of governance borrowed from England the job of the political opposition is to promote a dissenting voice.

4. Don’t know what it will take for people to learn that you DO NOT NEED small island misleaders for anything and you SHOULD DEFINITELY NOT follow them anywhere….you were coerced into believing they were needed POST SLAVERY/EMANCIPATION and everyone ran with that deception…….which turned out to be a lie just like EVERYTHING ELSE……they are TOO treacherous and have done nothing but elevate themselves and those who help them commit anti-Black crimes…..

they cannot escape that fact…i would be ashamed to give them credit for anything except for the corruption and destruction they bring to Black/African lives….which is all theirs and they should own it.

too many Black people accept disrespect.

the government is enbling this clear rip off of consumers….and that’s only when they don’t enable the rip off of the treasury and pension fund….and each and every crime is directed at the majority population and has for over 55 YEARS..

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/06/bajans-power-change-prices/

the people need to use their SPENDING POWER and shut down these thieving operations controlled by minorities..

5. “You are reminded that in our adversarial system of governance borrowed from England the job of the political opposition is to promote a dissenting voice.”

I thought it was the job of rastas to provide the dissenting voices.

The political opposition are simply actors who are a part of the establishment and their dissent is a part of a show that gives the illusion of democracy.

Barbados was never a nation it was an outstation and one of many plantations.

6. Wha’appen to the Herbal Man thing?
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BfFLVSyFOR4/

7. In Yogic philosophy and tradition the mind is part of the body and is not separate

Your brain is your mind and your mind rules your structure so don’t blame it on the sufferah

8. “Yes I am and rightfully so especially when the blp brigade has audacity to point fingers in another direction even when one of their fingers points right back to them”

You dysfunctional anti-thinking is antithesis of truth

and your spin is making you dizzy with dementia and makes us puke

to understand the meaning and wisdom contained in an idiom you need to get it the right way round and not ass backwards like a fucked up talking parrot

to convey a deeper meaning you have to be right and not wrong

an index finger is a pointing finger
    which means the other fingers are curled inwards and pointing backwards

Religiously supporting the opposition with one sided biasedness is for bamboozled suckers too
    the opposition need to up their game to up the ante

(in Hegelian philosophy) the negation of the thesis as the second stage in the process of dialectical reasoning.

9. Artax

Also, it is a FACT that, rather than concentrating on providing Barbadians with alternative socioeconomic policies, ‘every imagination of the thoughts of Verla’s heart has been only criticisms continually.’

And remember, this is the SAME Verla who, when she was a government Senator of the former DLP administration, used to REPEAT the DEMS mantra, ‘stop criticizing and bring solutions.’

Please be reminded, criticizing vaccinations, for example, is NOT an articulation of a COVID-19 policy.

These are FACTS that CANNOT BE REFUTED.

Cxcccccc

Oh well
    Verla is stuck in his head
    Lol

10. Triple five DUbstreet

You dysfunctional anti-thinking is antithesis of truth

and your spin is making you dizzy with dementia and makes us puke

to understand the meaning and wisdom contained in an idiom you need to get it the right way round and not ass backwards like a fucked up talking parrot

to convey a deeper meaning you have to be right and not wrong

an index finger is a pointing finger
    which means the other fingers are curled inwards and pointing backwards

Xxcccccccccccc

So much for more baffled sh.it

11. Really
    The people complain about the high gas prices and govt give them a credit of one cent
    Well not to feel ungrateful I was reminded by a blp yardfowl not to kick a gift horse in the mouth also was told that a penny earned is a penny gained
    I reminded that yardfowl that come 2023 I would reward govt for their generosity

#####downwithdeblp

12. https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/un-condemns-coup-in-guinea-as-president-is-detained-in-military-custody/ar-AAO8zqn?ocid=msedgntp

politicians are corrupt asses…..one of the resource wealthiest countries on the continent and the ignorant for leaders would not build a road for these people, but they ran corruption since 1958 and did nothing to elevate the people from poverty.

….didn’t hear the bigger countries nor the UN standing up on them for degrading the country to the poorest of nations…i can’t stand politicians and all of them should have been hung for those crimes against their people …..the wicked and backward only want to see their bloated bellies, while they sold out, just like the ones that can be found in the Caribbean…they believe everything is about them and who help them with corruption.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/un-condemns-coup-in-guinea-as-president-is-detained-in-military-custody/ar-AAO8zqn?ocid=msedgntp

13. angela cox September 6, 2021 5:54 AM #: “Verla is stuck in his head.”

Yuh mean similarly to how you eat, drink, sleep, dream and awaken on a daily basis, WITH Mia Mottley STUCK, RENT FREE………

“In your head, in your head,
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley…ey…ey
    What’s in your head, in your head?
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley…ey…ey…ey…oh…oh…oh…oh”

Sung to the Cranberries song, “Zombie.”

NAH……… far from it my friend……… don’t care nutten ’bout Verla.

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif

14. Artax

“In your head, in your head,
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley…ey…ey
    What’s in your head, in your head?
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley…ey…ey…ey…oh…oh…oh…oh”

Xxxxx.
    Oh yes and with good reason

15. Here we go again, to achieve what?

16. DavidSeptember 6, 2021 8:13 AM

Here we go again, to achieve what?

Xxxxxx
    Hold that thought David afterwards pass it on to govt

17. “Yes I am and rightfully so especially when the blp brigade has audacity to point fingers in another direction even when one of their fingers points right back to them.”

I was going to let it pass, but it caught the interest of another blogger and as result I cannot get it out of my head. My exercise this morning is to point one finger at myself. Not as easy as it sound.

18. I saw and read the article by Ezra Alleyne today and wass immediately full of regret on finding it.

First he apologized for aging Verla and then provided her exact age and birth month.

Secondly, Verla is not yet 50 and so we have two possibilities
    1) his article was written a month too early. Personally, I believe it should not have been written.
    2) His hypothesis that being in her 50’s, Verla is ‘too old to become PM’ is nonsense. He then goes on to point out that Mia was 53 when she became PM. How can you believe a man who thinks that at 53, Mia was in her 40’s .

This hypothesis that you must be under 50 to become Prime Minister is utter nonsense. If you are brutally honest, you would have to admit that having these underage PMs has not benefited us in ANYWAY. Time for us to get an older and wiser head at the wheel. This under 50 nonsense was not worthy of publication.

His description of a yard fowl read like a true confession.

19. Alas, my infatuation with Michelle Russel is over. It was my intention to not comment on her contribution but as I did so for EA, I had to mention her as well.

I believe this is the first time I am mentioning Adrian Greene. I do so only
    because I do not want to be accuse of favoritism.

I am appreciative of the efforts of the blog master in stimulating the conversation. I would urge him to be careful and throw raw meat (only) over the fence and to keep these dry bones for himself.

Give me a few more months and I will move from critic to being a contributor.

20. “My exercise this morning is to point one finger at myself. Not as easy as it sound.”

Do it like a COX

Put your right index finger in your right earhole
    Slowly say “Red” backwards
    Public Jestering
    Back talking
    Whispering
    Skylarking

and you will fester

21. “2) His hypothesis that being in her 50’s, Verla is ‘too old to become PM’ is nonsense. He then goes on to point out that Mia was 53 when she became PM. How can you believe a man who thinks that at 53, Mia was in her 40’s .”

Theo …they will drive ya mad with their unintelligent, illegible, uneducated backward bullshit…for your own sanity…press the IGNORE button often , while cognizant that ALL OF THEM ARE JUST LIKE THAT…

unfortunately, be they underaged or over aged, they all spew the same colonial derived ignorance, including what other stupidity they themselves came up with, and the older ones are even more slave minded but no less DANGEROUS…

they are the 11 plus FAILURES…everything they touch turns into a slavery theme…nothing progressive or FINANCIALLY/ SOCIALLY uplifting for the majority…

22. @ TheOGazerts,

There is a place called Diaspora Corner where your aging brain will be stuffed with knowledge and the sight and sounds of pulchritudinous female singers.

23. @Hants
    I check in DC quite often. Getting there requires some effort.

Also I found an app that allows me to listen to brasstacks quite easily.

Thanks.

24. @ TheoGazerts,

I trust you saw the ” DC ” in my comment replaced the ” HC ” and the ” aged brain ” replaced the ” tender brains “. lol

25. Hello:

Long time lurker; first time poster (after this post, it may be my only time too – time will tell)

@ David, Blogmaster:

WTF is this?

“The opposition is not only fighting the vaccination campaign, but is also to blame for the many Corona deaths in Barbados:

First, the DLP led Barbados to independence in 1966, so we are now short of vaccine. Much less vaccine doeses than lucky Bermuda, British Virgin Islands and all the grand Dutch and French overseas territories.

Secondly, the DLP supported the anti-vaccination riots in the inner city four weeks ago. The fact is that many participants did not wear masks, presumably to spread the virus.

Our Supreme Leader must finally act and prosecute the opposition!”

I am wondering, does this dithering jackass EVER bring ANY. PROOF. OR. EVIDENCE. to support any of the dumbassery he spews all over this blog?

I am aware that racist, fascist scum don’t believe that facts are necessary, or even desirable, when they go off on these pseudo-intellectual rants but “the DLP supported the anti-vaccination riots in the inner city four weeks ago.”

REALLY?

And the writer of that entry knows this how?

The DLP is not a monolith, so who were the members that WERE PROVEN TO HAVE SUPPORTED THE “RIOTS”?

Please, list them along with their documented, verified statements of support for the march, you dishonest fucktard.

Where is your proof, you rancid piece of shit?

As far as is known, the marchers wanted to have a sit-down with the “Supreme Leader” and, it seems, the whole farce was just a ruse to get her attention.

Please, correct me if I am wrong.

As I said before, I am a first-time poster and I am aware that this is a right-wing blog, but Blogmaster, these delusional rants of the most egregious kind – calling for political opponents to be imprisoned inter alia, and you, a supposed fighter for the inclusion of all voices, have nothing to say?

You just let this kind of drivel go ahead without any kind of pushback whatsoever?

26. Some commenters write using satire. Be guided according when perusing the blog.

27. My Dear Elon,
    I would hesitate to call this a right wing blog. I have been here for some time and without any hesitancy state that we have a mixed variety of nuts, with some nuts claiming to several types.

Concerning, the blogger that you directed your comments on. He is also of a mixed type, sometimes quite normal at times quite funny, and at other times quite extreme. I would suggest that you read his post at least twice to get past the shock value.

Welcome.

28. I am having a good day
    Not going to share my happiness with nobody
    Too much finger pointing
    Xxxxx
    The reference of ladies age in politics ascending to higher positions
    Only would come our of the mouth of low life feminist pigs the likes of EA

29. Edited.
    My Dear Elon,
    I would hesitate to call this a right wing blog. I have been here for some time and without any hesitancy I would state that we have a mixed variety of nuts here, with some individual nuts falling into to several categories.

Concerning, the blogger that you directed your comments on. He is also of a mixed type, sometimes quite normal, at times quite funny, and at other times quite extreme. I would suggest that you read his post at least twice to get past the shock value.

Welcome.

30. “The reference of ladies age in politics ascending to higher positions. Only would come our of the mouth of low life feminist pigs the likes of EA.”

Hmmmm……..

Likewise, “my comments goes to point out the HYPOCRISY and ARROGANCE of DLP yard fowls and their quick response to bring charges against Ezra Alleyne,” especially if one takes into consideration when the DEMS launched their 2018 election campaign with a political mass meeting in Bush Hall, near the National Stadium, at which DLP candidates and spokespeople took turns in cussing Mia Mottley.

We did not HEAR one word of CONDEMNATION from angela cox, nor did she describe those individuals as “low life feminist pigs.”

Instead, she LAUGHED and ENDORSED their BEHAVIOUR.

I’m also reminded of the time when a DLP operative leaked information from former Transport Board employee Lisa Marshall’s personal file to BU, to insinuate she stole money from the Board, simply because she asked about her severance pay.

Not only did angela cox ENDORSED the operative’s actions, she joined with him to TARNISH the name of her fellow woman, while remaining ADAMANT Lisa was a thief, despite there wasn’t any evidence to prove she stole anything.

31. Right-wing blog!

🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️

32. Artax

Likewise, “my comments goes to point out the HYPOCRISY and ARROGANCE of DLP yard fowls and their quick response to bring charges against Ezra Alleyne,” especially if one takes into consideration when the DEMS launched their 2018 election campaign with a political mass meeting in Bush Hall, near the National Stadium, at which DLP candidates and spokespeople took turns in cussing Mia Mottley
    Xcccccccccc
    Duh is this your grannmuruah RH response to my comments given the context of the issue having to deal with woman and age in politics and by which low life feminist pig EA thought it best to raise the bar when woman use their skills and political knowledge to ascend to high office
    Well I cannot see or understand how u took a issue about age and transformed it to campaign attacks by two rival competitors
    However if u think that EA was in full right of taking a stand using suttle political mouthings to attack Verla period of age which highlights her to be of older generation then u are no better than EA
    In any case he was wrong

33. You’re ‘making a mountain out of a molehill’ and ‘scraping the bottom of the barrel’ in the hope of finding something to criticize.

Ezra Alleyne, BLP + Verla DePeiza, DLP = “TWO RIVAL COMPETITORS.

Alleyne mentioned something about DePeiza’s age………. and you spent several months on BU trying to convince the forum Mottley was practicing law illegally in Babados.

Which is worse?

You need to grow up and get a life, rather than confining yourself into a political bubble and coming on BU with childish, one dimensional political criticisms and complaints.

By the way, you ‘said’ you don’t read my contributions, but hear you are trolling, cyberbullying and cyberstalking me.

I’m scared.

34. @ Donna

Why not call a ‘spade a spade’ and ‘say’ the guy is talking shiite.

35. Artax

You need to grow up and get a life, rather than confining yourself into a political bubble and coming on BU with childish, one dimensional political criticisms and complaints.

Xxxccccccccc

Better yet u get a life and stop trolling me all over social media platforms
    Scary

36. Artax September 6, 2021 5:31 PM #: “By the way, you ‘said’ you don’t read my contributions, but hear you are trolling, cyberbullying and cyberstalking me. I’m scared.”

Approximately 50 minutes after…….. can’t even think for yourself.

angela cox September 6, 2021 6:21 PM #: “Better yet u get a life and stop trolling me all over social media platforms. Scary.”

Your turn, you can’t resist……. tick, tock, tick, tock….

37. Uh know what EA has good company
    Xxxxcccccc
    I think so

38. @ Elon Musk September 6, 2021 12:27 PM

Dear DLP grandee. I take your insults as a sign of distinction. Thank you very much!

The fact is that very many participants in the inflammatory protests four weeks ago deliberately did not wear masks. The fact is that the opposition unanimously celebrated the inflammatory protests four weeks ago against the vaccination campaign as a great success.

PROOF Barbados Today 7 August 2021: “Analyst says opposition parties seek ‘juicy opportunity’ in vax debate”: “Wickham contended that the Opposition New Democratic Party (NDP) is attempting to use “convenient political issues” like the COVID situation to “manipulate public opinion”.”

Not a SINGLE member of the opposition has so far stood behind our government on the vaccination campaign since last winter. Now that the situation with the Delta variant has gone out of control, the opposition suddenly wants nothing more to do with their applause.

That is why I support our Supreme Leader because she has restored dignity to the island and its people. Our great government is working day and night to address the crisis while the opposition is trying to undermine the vaccination campaign and stir up mistrust against the excellent vaccines.

I remind everyone that I was the first to predict a prison sentence for Donville Inniss when so-called Queens Counsels and other shysters on BU touted Donville Inniss as an innocent lamb. Of course I was right because MY moral compass is not broken.

39. Heard a media talk host making fun at them 2×4 huts being built at the Fairchild street market
    One hut costing a bill of 37thousand dollars per hut

What say yes David
    Xxcxxxx
    Yeah bajans are slow but they catch up.

40. Well if the two huts cost 37thousand dollars each
    Makes wonder how much them 12 unfinished ones cost

41. No steps forward ALL STEPS BACKWARD.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/09/07/regional-five-cases-of-the-mu-variant-of-covid-19-detected-in-svg/

OURCE: SEARCHLIGHT NEWSPAPER – Five cases of the Mu variant of Covid-19 were detected in St Vincent and the Grenadines between July 19 and…”

the Caribbean as we knew it, is virtually over, it needs a redo anyway and get rid of the two-legged trash in the parliaments once and for all they are overstayed, overpaid and too toxic to remain…..

42. Read it again and stop allowing these frauds in the parliament and ministry of health to fill ya heads with shit….do YOUR OWN RESEARCH to stay up to date whether vaccinated OR NOT..

“Mu is the fifth ‘variant of interest’ to be monitored by WHO since March 2020. The WHO weekly COVID-19 bulletin states that this variant of interest ‘has a constellation of mutations’ that may make it less susceptible to vaccines and immunity from natural infections. Research and further monitoring will be done to better understand the characteristics of this variant of interest”

43. Today I heard the MOH giving a politician explanation as why govt handed labour to the Chinese labour Market for building pre-assembled houses
    While listening to his mambo jumbo a question crossed my mind as to why Union involvement was absent from. Govt decision
    Also now the story has made headlines why are the Union’s silent

44. @ angela cox September 8, 2021 7:01 PM

There is a good reason why employers in Barbados prefer to hire foreigners …

The Chinese work up to 72 hours a week, our workers at most 30 hours. Moreover, the Chinese do not sing and dance all the time during work. They also don’t want to go on strike once a week and are less rebellious.

45. TronSeptember 8, 2021 7:11 PM

@ angela cox September 8, 2021 7:01 PM

There is a good reason why employers in Barbados prefer to hire foreigners

Xxxxxxxxx
    In this case the employer is govt
    Didn’t know that govt encourage slave labour
    Xxxxxxxxxx

46. Verla’s second eleven?

By Ralph Jemmott

The more one thinks about it the more one feels that the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) faces an uphill struggle in the next elections whenever the bell is rung. A second electoral sweep or something of that proportion would render Barbados a de facto one-party state, something no right-thinking Barbadian should countenance. Apart from its economic and social problems, given the haste with which the current administration seems to operate, this country could also face a politically dystopian future.
    In a recent discourse on the future of the DLP and its leadership, the discussion focused on the team that the party might offer in the electoral contest constitutionally due in 2023. It is highly possible that the Government might want to ring the proverbial bell sometime before that date.
    The debate surrounds who and how many of the old guard Ms Verla De Peiza might want to retain either as candidates in an electoral contest or in some form of close association with the party. De Peiza is one of the few leaders of the DLP to openly admit the flaws in the party between 2008 and 2018, and its complicity in its own disastrous defeat. Any ambition to reform the DLP should not exclude all of the old stock.
    Should have a role
    The DLP president should not appear to be building a completely new edifice as that construction might prove too difficult in the short term.
    Some of the old, less-damaged blocks might serve to strengthen a weakened structure. There are a few people whose reputations were not harmed in the so-called “lost decade”. These would include Messrs Richard Sealy and Stephen Lashley. Sealy was a reasonably successful Minister of Tourism, and Lashley a presentable Minister of Culture. Other persons such as Maxine McClean and Leroy McClean, if they have an interest in the ideals of Errol Barrow and the party, should have a role in a resurgent DLP.
    As the saying goes, “Now is the time for all good men and women to come to the aid of the party.” There are some of the old group whose political reputations appear largely unsalvageable. It is highly regrettable that the Reverend Guy Hewitt ran off so quickly, apparently without saying a word. One is tempted to talk about “hirelings whose own the sheep are not”.
    If he really cared about “the soul of the nation” as he once put it, he should have given assistance to De Peiza in the interest of the party and the country and asked his supporters to do the same. But we inhabit a world of naked self-interest and, as one writer put it, “this is not an age of heroic virtue”.
    It has been suggested that a new DLP team might very well take on the appearance of a cricket second eleven, given the fact that its players are not particularly well known, with no record of sterling performance on or off the field. The resurgence of the Democratic Labour Party will depend on two primary factors. The first is the willingness and ability of members to coalesce around Ms De Peiza or some other person of the party’s choosing. The second factor is the second eleven’s capacity to contend against a first eleven led by Ms Mia Amor Mottley.
    Presence
    In a visual age, Ms Mottley has acquired a presence locally, regional and ostensibly internationally.
    I have some real problems
    with the haste with which our Prime Minister pursues things – the cart before the horse syndrome. Republican status is announced before constitutional implications are considered.
    The Common Entrance Exam is supposedly abolished before we know exactly what is to replace it. Be that as it may, taking into account the ongoing COVID-19 dilemma, the current Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration has not been asleep at the wheel. It has much to its credit.
    Garbage collection has improved. The COVID pandemic has been reasonably well managed. If you think not, you should see the situation elsewhere in the world.
    No country has outrun the coronavirus.
    The electric buses are running. The West Coast highway is fixed even if with some minor deficiencies.
    Housing is being addressed and the squatters are going from the vicinity of the airport. Crucial issues remain unaddressed, including inefficiencies in the Public Service. Increasing indebtedness is a problem, but the COVID crisis has forced many countries to spend more with declining revenues.
    Boris Johnson has had to break a campaign promise and has increased taxes to enhance the National Health Service. Ms Mottley has to address law and order concerns. Productive economic capacity cannot be divorced from the socio-cultural values that undergird it. The Prime Minister talks about “the kind of people that we are”. Beyond the rhetoric; what kind of people are we, really?
    Ralph Jemmott is a social commentator and retired educator.

47. DLP misses chance to stand out

By Ezra Alleyne

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in its current dispensation is giving its opponents proof that it is not yet ready for office. Nor are its preparations seeming to yield fruit.
    This past week the former Senator Andre Worrell took to the airwaves to defend the position of the DLP on health-related COVID-19 matters. He ran into Peter Wickham as moderator.
    Wickham asked if the DLP would support mandatory vaccination of front-line workers, if the Government decided that the situation warranted such a step.
    Worrell’s answer was that the party would defer that decision to the law courts. Wickham pressed the point and Worrell’s answer remained. I was stunned in the extreme.
    Shadow ministers of health or any other portfolios must be able to distinguish between judicial decisions and governmental executive Cabinet derived policy.
    They cannot as shadow ministers duck a question like that. You either have a policy or you do not have a policy. But if your party is the Opposition, unofficial or otherwise, or if it is the “government-inwaiting” then it has to have a policy.
    Deferring that decision to the courts is the clearest indication that the DLP is not ready. The courts are not really concerned about policy, except in extreme circumstances, but that is another very esoteric concept. In reality, policy must come before, not after the legal decision.
    Let me explain what I am getting at. When Errol Barrow was faced with black power advocates or extremists carrying on in a manner that he thought challenged the “peace, order and good governance” of the country, he did not duck the decision and defer to the courts.
    He considered the issue and decided as a matter of policy to pass the Public Order Act outlawing certain behaviours and licensing others like marches and so on.
    It was left to anyone who was affected by the act to apply to the courts to determine if the Public Order Act was unconstitutional.
    So Wickham’s question to Worrell was a key question and it deserved a straight answer which could have separated the DLP from the other political parties. Alas, it did not.
    Here is another example. In 1981 Tom Adams believed the social conditions of plantation tenantries was a scar on the landscape of an independent Barbados 15 years after 1966.
    He did not defer his action to remedy that injustice to some court decision. He passed the Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act, which mandated plantation owners to convey plantation tenantries to qualified tenants at ten cents per square foot.
    Both the Public Order Act and the Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act affected fundamental rights. So too would mandatory vaccine laws. Political parties must have policies on critical social issues of the day. How else can these parties claim to have any skin in the game, if they do not.
    It is for the Government to pass the laws and for the courts to determine if the laws are constitutional or not. That is what we mean by the separation of powers On the issue of vaccination policy, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said she was hoping for consensus among the workers on the one hand and business on the other, but she made it clear that if there was no consensus, she “would govern”.
    That was simply a statement by the Prime Minister of her duty, yes her duty (as Prime Minister and the chief member of the executive power) to make laws for the “peace, order and good governance” of the country as specified in Section 48 of the Constitution.
    Some malicious thinkers said this was dictator’s language. Nonsense. Now you can see it was nothing of the sort. Unlike opposition parties, governments cannot shy away from governing, especially in crises.
    Worrell is the third DLP shadow Minister of Health since 2018. Perhaps former Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy should have been appointed as Shadow Minister of Health.
    Ezra Alleyne is an attorney and a former Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly.

48. The article shows once again that the DLP is trying hard to undermine the vaccination campaign. We therefore urgently need to revoke the medical accreditation of all doctors with DLP party membership! One cannot be against the Corona vaccination and at the same time treat patients and thus expose them to risk.

The DLP is the party of the anti-vaccinationists. That has become clear today. Of course, wild DLP grandees like @Elon Musk will now crawl out of their holes and call me vicious names. They also tried to intimidate me when I predicted a long prison sentence for Donville Inniss. These people have no moral compass.

Fortunately we have Mia Mottley and her grand ministers. Thank you Supreme Leader for saving us with the Biontech vaccine doses!