Supporters of Barbados becoming a Republic are flooding our: televisions, radios, newspapers, and social media, claiming that all right-thinking Barbadians want a Barbadian head of state. They insist that a referendum is not necessary.

These supporters claim that referendums do not work, since the Australians and Grenadians voted to reject republicanism. The truth is that the referenda worked. A referendum measures the will of the people, not the desire of radical activists or the opinions of pollsters.

Perhaps the main hesitancy with Barbados becoming a Republic, is that the Government appears to only accept the advice of our most extreme radical activists. Such radicals only speak of tearing down, destroying, and bankrupting Barbados in pursuing unreachable utopias. They are also allowed to spread misinformation unchallenged.

REPUBLICAN BENEFIT

They tell us that Republicanism will improve our self-esteem, since we will no longer have to swear allegiance to the Queen. Barbadians generally do not swear allegiance to the Queen.

In 1966, we became citizens of an independent Barbados, with our own Barbadian: passports, national anthem, coat of arms, and flag. The colonial era ended, and the colonial office in Barbados was closed.

We do not pledge allegiance to Britain, but to our country Barbados and to our flag. We pledge to uphold and defend their honour, and by our behaviour, do credit to Barbados – not Britain. We have the same independent vote in international associations as Britain. We independently vote, and independently negotiate trade treaties, for Barbados’ benefit – not Britain’s.

LOW SELF ESTEEM

Any low self-esteem among Barbadians is of our own making. It is rooted in a secondary school curriculum that only benefits about 20% of our students, and economic policies that keep most Barbadians living in a hand-to mouth, pay-cheque to pay-cheque, house-poor poverty.

Our extreme radicals want us to excuse our politicians for their failings. Instead, they insist that we must blame the Queen – including for the high incidents of non-communicable diseases. The truth is that all these things are entirely within our political control.

SWEARING ALLEGIANCE TO THE QUEEN

All Barbadians pledge allegiance to Barbados. However, our politicians must swear allegiance to the Queen – to keep them accountable. This is important.

Barbadian voters have come to accept that Barbadian politicians are not accountable to them, and their promises should not be relied upon. The Auditor General’s annual reports support this assertion. However, all Barbadians benefit from the accountability they must demonstrate to the Queen, which is their only restraint.

Promises made to a ceremonial Barbadian head of state will likely be meaningless, because breaking those promises carry no material consequences. They appear to be less inclined to break promises to the Queen’s representative.

EXPOSED

Britain is obligated to support the people of Barbados in our time of greatest need, because we are a former colony. The only premium we pay for this insurance, is to maintain a Governor General, who decides when the threat of harm is sufficient to activate the insurance.

When we become a Republic, we will automatically cancel this insurance, which will likely be a relief for the British taxpaying public. However, we will be exposed. The Barbadian public deserves to know how this exposure will be addressed, and at what cost, before we become a Republic.

The Forde Commission warned Barbadians of the real risk of what it called “Prime Ministerial Dictatorship” in a Republic. Therefore, the public deserves to know how this risk will be addressed, and it must be addressed before the current restraints are removed.

IRRESPONSIBLE ADVISORS

Guided by their reckless end-justifies-the-means philosophy, our radical activists are pushing our Prime Minister down a road of potential international embarrassment.

Before publicly announcing a date for a Republic, our Prime Minister’s advisors should have told her whether the Constitution allows her 30-0 majority to force us into a Republic. Section 49 allows Parliament to alter our Constitution. However, there is a limit.

THE LIMIT

“Subsection (2) shall not apply to a Bill in so far as it alters any of the provisions specified in that subsection for the purpose of giving effect to arrangements for the federation or union of Barbados with any other part of the Commonwealth or for the establishment of some other form of constitutional association between Barbados and any other part of the Commonwealth.” The Constitution of Barbados, Section 49 (3).

If we want to become a Republic, then we should not simply announce it. In responding to news reports that our Government plans to make us a Republic, the Queen responded that any such decision (to cancel the people’s insurance), requires the consent of both the Government and the public of Barbados. The Government has given its consent. The peoples’ consent is measured by a referendum.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

77 responses to “Difficult Conversations – Addressing Republic Hesitancy”

1. @NO & Hants

I thought the Provincial PC’s were drowning in cash

@NO

“Druggie”?

You almost made me say “fuddle,duddle”

2. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

@ NorthernObserver August 18, 2021 8:30 PM

Your assertion that we just want to get “rid of something” just exemplifies how emasculated we are as a society and that you can’t even see the correlation of getting rid of a statute of a “foreign” hero and getting rid of a “foreign” head of state. BOTH HAVE NO MEANING TO A MODERN DAY BARBADOS IN 2021, AND DO NOT REFLECT WHO WE SUPPOSED TO BE AS A NATION!!!

The point I’m making is the proposed changes NEED to be publicized. I am stating that a referendum is totally unnecessary as a device to seek affirmation as there is no real choice given to the masses. The ASSUMPTION is that the new head of state will be a NON-EXECUTIVE head of state. In Mid-August 2021 we SHOULD have gone beyond assumptions if we are proposing to be a Republic by November 30th 2021. I also stated before we do not need a whole year to publicize these changes especially since this issue was talked about before in our 55 years as a independent nation. How much time is need to indicate to the masses that the Governor General will become the non executive President?!?!?!!.

3. “It is up to us, the people of Barbados to restrain our leaders, a fact to which we are only now waking up.”

Yall better start RESTRAINING those deceitful, DANGEROUS sellouts ASAP….lay down the LAW in the new Black World Order that under NO CIRCUMSTANCES are a pack of colonial agents to SPEAK for the DESCENDANTS of the African enslaved….THE SURVIVORS….. on the continent..OUR ANCESTRAL LAND…NOT AT ANY TIME…

and it will be seen very shortly WHY..

4. Franklyn: Declare Moe’s seat vacant

OUTSPOKEN OPPOSITION SENATOR Caswell Franklyn says he has grown tired of seeing an empty seat in the Senate chamber, where Senator Lucille Moe should be sitting.
    The trade unionist yesterday again brought the chamber’s attention to Moe’s absence from proceedings in the Upper House, but took it a step further by suggesting the seat should be officially declared vacant. “I take no pleasure in this but our Constitution is being infringed,” Franklyn said after President Reginald Farley read excuses for the absence of Moe, Senator Kay McConney and Senator Julian Hunte.
    Leave
    “We have not seen Senator Moe since December in this place. December till now is eight months and you have the authority to grant leave up to six (months). So her seat must be declared vacant according to the Constitution of Barbados,” Franklyn said.
    He added that as far as he was aware, Moe was overseas.
    “The six months the president can give to be absent has passed. The seat therefore, should be declared vacant,” Franklyn reiterated.
    “It is uncomfortable because we have a situation where the Government has a large majority and they have even taken some of our people from over here. The Senate is now acting outside of the Constitution and I would recommend that we take steps to fix it,” he added.
    Calls and messages yesterday from this newspaper to Moe went unanswered.
    In response to Franklyn’s suggestion that the seat be declared vacant, Farley said the issue of Moe’s absence would be looked into.
    “The matter is under consideration. I have received a request for leave of absence, which I’m taking advice from the Clerks [of Parliament] and will make a decision on that very shortly. There is a request for a formal leave of absence which is being dealt with through the usual channels,” he said. In October last year, Farley had indicated that Moe had sent a formal excuse regarding her absence from the Senate, after missing numerous sittings. The records had indicated then that the former minister was not present for Senate sessions on July 29, August 5, September 15, and September 30 last year. “Senator Moe has been away, so the necessary apologies were indicated,” Farley told this newspaper last year when the Senator’s absence was officially queried.
    Moe was a Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs before losing her position in the Cabinet after a shake-up by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley on July 22 last year. She was one of four ministers removed

5. don’t mind all the long talk about republic…it’s a sham..

we are the one and only ORIGINAL INDIGENOUS….nothing can change that..

https://www.blaqsbi.com/3otm-Post-You-cant-but-give-it-to-the-African-women-too-I

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DL&PTV
    I “lost” your point ‘proposed changes NEED to be publicised’ in your earlier contribution.
    GPII aside, it has seemed to me, what people want is for the changes, which may go beyond a simple ‘insert President for G-G’ to be made public.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    If the parties are run similarity to how members run the people’s business when elected, the idea of drowning in debt seems more likely than drowning in cash.

8. @ Tron August 18, 2021 9:30 PM
    But I don’t like the empty platform on Heroes’ Square. It’s time to cast our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley in bronze instead of Grand Admiral Nelson and put her up on horseback! (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And in whose image would your supreme leader be cast?

Boudicca? Or would it be that of Lady Godiva to make Sinckler’s naked dream come true?

Shouldn’t that same empty plinth be reserved for a real Bajan heroine called Rihanna instead of a dead mayor of nepotism?

If Sarah Anne Gill can be considered a national hero why not RiRI too?

9. The records had indicated then that the former minister was not present for Senate sessions on July 29, August 5, September 15, and September 30 last year. “Senator Moe has been away, so the necessary apologies were indicated,” Farley told this newspaper last year when the Senator’s absence was officially queried.
    +++++++++++++++
    So what if the former Minister is on vacation? Everyone needs a vacation even the PM, it is merely a coincidence that her vacation commenced after she was turfed out of her Ministry. However, that was the fate of a few others, but they made their peace with the PM (except George but his bread butter with ham) even the loudmouth who keeps busy playing the “poor black man card’ made sure that the label doesn’t apply to him as the PM gave him a “mek work” position which ensured that his remuneration was only modestly impacted. BTW has anyone heard from him lately?

If the former Minister isn’t back by Republic Day, then the President can issue an edict

10. They were searching about for a woman and settled on Sarah Ann Gill.

How many of us see her as a hero? Maybe zero?

Rihanna would definitely be better to look at than Nelson. If Gary (whom I love) can be a sporting hero, then Rihanna can be a hero for more than one reason.

Used her artistic talent. Used the proceeds and her brand to build a beautiful inclusive business. Was grounded enough to never give up her Bajan family, friends, neighbours people and country – in other words, wey she come from.

Inspired a generation of young black people who now believe they can make an honest billion.

I say, now we tek down Nelson, leh we put up a Bajan woman!

Ef de tourisses want someting tuh look at, leh we gi’ dem someting good!

11. Chief Magistate Ian Weekes is calling for Barbadians to buy local, saying it is pride that is stopping them from doing so and eating cheaper foodstuff, like sardines.

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

And cheaper foodstuff like sardines.
    Not local sardines

Comprehension?? 🤔

12. I know the man personally. He knows we have no local sardines. The error was obviously grammatical. I was having some fun. Good grammar, however, is imperative if one wants to be understood.

I have established that you and I speak different languages.

Mine is English.

P.S. I take it that your answer to David’s question is – yes, your sole purpose will now be to baffle the blog with bullshit.

All further bullshit will be ignored.

13. Imagine that after several days of nothing, the only thing that flushes him out is ANY COMMENT I MAKE!

🙄

14. @ Miller August 19, 2021 7:39 AM

I am thinking of a black Pallas Athena, since our Supreme Leader used to be the Minister of Education.

15. you are so full of it!

all here on BU understand me pretty well for approx 5 years. Some with real/ multiple degree like the lawyer , GP2 (iso taliban), Chris hassel to mr fake degrees and my yellow yardie friend MARI and the wicked withch WW. I dont worry about my bad grammar etc – You can keep using that for the fault in your brain. It may make you feel superior but it will not dampen me one bit. I have made my apologies here on BU many times and is confident that the other understand me well enuff.

BS
    I agree with david that the comment he refer to was BS. i would call it BS X 2 – it said complete the opposite of what i meant to say, dealing with you and trip home from work.
    i disagree with his thinking that i would try to baffle/mislead the blog or anyone. truth is no others were commenting and i had totally forgotten that they could have been following ( until david BS comment). if you reply / will reply or not is a nothing burger – i just dont care – so there is now use continue saying it ( well if it makes you feel good – it does nothing to me).

Flushing me out ?

You had misquoted the judge the day before and i let it go. its only after your response to NO that i decided to post what the judge had said. if you mistakenly or deliberately misquoted is up to you. your “bajan condition” response revealed a lot as to which one it is.

(some) English words (to a bajan) can have a different meaning when used in USA.
    When i need to be perfect (writing reports etc) i can be and if there is any doubt or i need proof reading there are enuff software available.

The grammar maybe wrong but i am no fool.

Try again

oops. family is here. i still read but comments takes up to much time – therefore my better half put me on limit 🙂 family time is more important especially in current . I will be back!

16. These small time criminals got nerve ….

The people on the island need to TKE BACK their country from them and the traitors in the parliament….he thought TT was going to be a soft touch..

“In a statement, he said: “Unfortunately, the combination of a limit on imports of 75 000 tonnes, combined with an import duty of 50 per cent, means that Rock Hard Distributors Ltd. simply cannot operate in Trinidad. It is with extreme sadness and disappointment, therefore, that we have closed our business in Trinidad and will now pursue opportunities in other Caribbean countries until such time as we are afforded equal treatment in our home country.”

17. @ WURA-War-on-U August 20, 2021 1:00 PM

What else can be done with so much leftover cement other than to pave the roads on the East coast of Barbados?

The Bajan building tycoon should look on the bright side and see the T&T closure as a blessing in disguise to revisit his Hyatt skyscraper and even to start another concrete erection on the South Coast.

If we should borrow a line from the BU book of woes authored by the black Englishman with his roots firmly planted in the Back Ivy, that Hyatt imaginary erection to be made of firm concrete, like the Four Seasons flop, will end in a wet dream of tears.

It’s high time the business tycoon gets an ‘iron hold’ of himself and show his love of risk-taking with an eye for quick profits by showing off his erection in the ‘Red’ lighthouse on the Bay.

On the hand, the enterprising fella now has the perfect alibi to make the announcement of the sad closure to a pipedream of rising, like Butch Stewart, to become a hotel-owning magnate to that of collapsing to a lowly speculator in condemned buildings.

Maybe his BU ‘friends’ like Enuff and the Johnny No.2 will extend their heartfelt commiserations and join him in his detumescence.

18. “The Bajan building tycoon should look on the bright side and see the T&T closure as a blessing in disguise to revisit his Hyatt skyscraper and even to start another concrete erection on the South Coast.

It’s high time the business tycoon gets an ‘iron hold’ of himself and show his love of risk-taking with an eye for quick profits by showing off his erection in the ‘Red’ lighthouse on the Bay.”

according to someone in the know, the real owners have the deed for that property, it’s only so many forged title deeds ya can carry to banks these days before they catch on and start asking much questions, since all of them are under some type of watch….the higher ya go the HARD-ER ya fall.

19. If you think Trinidad done with him you got another thought coming. If he buddy Sinkyuh didn’t set him up here where he had an advantage he may of shut here already too. But time longer than twine.

20. Looks like our first president will be the current GG!!

21. @ John August 21, 2021 10:24 PM
    “Looks like our first president will be the current GG!!”

Nothing new about this ‘change’!

The same way Sir John Stowe transitioned from being the last Governor to the first Governor-General of Barbados.

The only matter of any ‘new’ concern is if the first President of the Republic of Barbados would continue to be addressed as ‘Dame’, holder of the Grand Cross of St. Michael and St. George (GCMG) who is a member of a ‘British’ Order and whose Sovereign and Grand Master are the present Queen Liz and Her cousin Prince Edward the Duke of Kent; or simply as Her Excellency S M, President of Barbados.

22. @Miller
    I am waiting on J2 to tell you “to sit” on Maloney’s erection. I thought that was quite clever of him …

Even Bdostoday seem to find some fun in the headline ‘rock-hard-goes-soft’.

23. January 1 better date for republic
    IT IS NECESSARY to state at the outset that I am strongly in favour of Barbados proceeding to republic status. However, as someone with their “ears to the ground”, I believe that there is a ground-swell of emotional angst directed against the theory and imminent arrival of a republican form of government in Barbados and that the Mottley administration would be well advised to revise its proclaimed intention to introduce that form of government in the next three months (November 30).
    Never mind the 30-0 vanquishing of the Democratic Labour Party three years ago. The question of republic status was not a critical part of the Barbados Labour Party’s campaign and, for some Bajans, it is coming “like a thief in the night”, with all of the dire images which the notion of a burglar conjures up – invasion of the sanctity of one’s home, trampling on one’s rights to protect the “family jewels” – whatever we conceive them to be – removal of our cherished possessions by force, ransacking of our properties, “rape” of our personal human dignity and even personal injury by the agents of the state – the police and military.
    Examples in the region
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley and her most senior advisors may not be aware of it, but the term “republic” is abhorrent to most Bajans because of the examples we have in this region.
    Venezuela, Haiti, Cuba, the Dominican Republic and its known racism towards black Haitians, the raw wounds left in Guyana by Forbes Burnham’s racial autocracy, Trinidad and Tobago with its coups and attempted revolutions and even the Dominica of Patrick John.
    No amount of wheedling by agents of our ruling party or attempts at reasoned arguments by fellow educators and me has been enough to wean the average Barbadian away from the notion that a republic means reduction or removal of their rights to life, liberty and the pursuit to happiness.
    The recent march through Bridgetown of the anti-vaccine “conscientious objectors” should be a warning to our political directorate that some Bajans believe in George Orwell’s dire prognostication of Soviet-style “big brother” domination of our lives by politicians, the police and the military.
    What is to be done? I am of the opinion that Prime Minister Mottley should postpone the intended date for the coming of the republic (November 30) until January 1, 2022.
    She and her advisors could then utilise the entire month and the “feel-good” atmosphere of the Christmas season to propagate the benefits of “going republic”. She would, therefore, reassure the die-hard “Barrow-badians”and the DLP that she does not intend to “trample” on Errol Barrow’s legacy of Independence Day, November 30.
    Extra month
    The extra month would also be used to train the schoolchildren to look forward to January 1 as the climax of the Christmas season before returning to school and for “grey beards” like this writer, to reconnect aspects of ancestral culture – Civic Day, Parade of Community Choirs, Epiphany and Nativity Theatre – to the almost mystical concept of “New Year, New Rules”, New Dedication of our lives to the Republic of Barbados and a “New Beginning” in every sense.
    Prime Minister Mottley could even have a recourse to a referendum on November 30, although a referendum means “in person” voting, long lines and no “social distance” in this pandemic crisis.
    We need to have at least ten town hall sessions between now and the inauguration of the republic.
    Trevor G. Marshall is a long-standing historian. This article was submitted as a Letter to the Editor before the Prime Minister updated the nation on the subject last Saturday.

24. Saturday January 1st 2022 is not a good date for change to a republic.

After feting on old years night too many will have hangovers Jan 1st.

25. Forde Commission’s say on selection of president
    By Gercine Carter gercinecarter@nationnews.com

A Constitution Review Commission known as the Forde Commission was appointed in 1996 to review The Constitution of Barbados.
    The seven-member group headed by Sir Henry Forde, engaged the Barbadian public at home and in the diaspora in its deliberations. A booklet entitled The Barbados Constitution, Facts And Questions published by the Commission offered an opportunity for the public to become familiar with the Constitution document and to ask questions about it.
    The public was also invited to send written submissions to the Commission as well make oral submissions at public hearings at several venues in Barbados. Commission members also travelled abroad to conduct similar meetings in parts of the diaspora.
    The findings and recommendations were submitted in a report in 1998 which Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has said will to some extent inform the way Barbados transitions to a republic on November 30.
    Today the Sunday Sun shares some excerpts from that section of the Forde Commission’s recommendations related to selection of a President of a Barbados republic.
    • The system of government should be a parliamentary republic with the Head of State being the President. Executive power should continue to be exercised by a Cabinet, with the Head of Government being the Prime Minister.
    • The Head of State of Barbados should be a President.
    • The President should be a citizen of Barbados by birth or descent, not less than 40 years of age and should have been residing in Barbados continuously for at least five (5) years prior to election.
    • The President should hold office for a fixed term of seven (7) years.
    • The person holding the office of Governor General at the commencement of the reformed Constitution should hold office of President under the new Constitution until a President is elected under the provisions of the new
    Constitution.
    • The Senate and the House of Assembly should be constituted an Electoral College and should meet as a unicameral body for the purpose of electing a President.
    • The Electoral College should be convened by the Speaker of the House of Assembly who should preside as chairman over the proceedings of the Electoral College and should have an original vote.
    • Whenever the office of the President is vacant, or within not more than 90 nor less than 60 days before the term of office of the President will expire, the Prime Minister should consult with the Leader of the Opposition with a view to their joint nomination of a candidate qualified for election as President.
    • If the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition submit to the Speaker in writing a joint nomination of a candidate for election as President, being a nomination to which the candidate has consented, the Speaker should inform the Electoral College of the nomination and declare the candidate duly elected without a vote of the Electoral College for the election.
    Prime Minister Mottley recently announced that Governor General Dame Sandra Mason has been nominated by Government to be the first President of the Republic of Barbados as it was their intention to put a Bajan as the country’s Head of State.
    She added Dame Sandra had agreed to her nomination which would now be subject to the vote of Members of Parliament in the House of Assembly and the Senate.

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply