The report coming out of St. Vincent that a citizen felt emboldened to pelt an object at Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves and in the process endanger his life and destabilize the country is reprehensible. We may have contrary political views but it does not mean we should disregard the fact Gonsalves’s Unity Labour Party (ULP) is a democratically elected government. What example are we setting for our children? Increasingly in the Caribbean we are witnessing behaviours associated with TV scenes depicting public disturbances from over in away. Another example of our small open societies in the Caribbean susceptible to external influences. The English speaking Caribbean has earned a reputation through the years as an area of peace (comparatively speaking) with Grenada the outlier. What happened in St. Vincent this week is an ominous sign for the region given we are battling similar issues. The lyrics of the great calypso Caribbean Man penned in 1979 should serve as a reminder.

One race (de Caribbean man)
From de same place (de Caribbean man)
Dat make de same trip (de Caribbean man)
On de same ship (de Caribbean man)
So we must push one common intention
Is for a better life in de region
For we woman, and we children
Dat must be de ambition of de Caribbean man
De Caribbean man, de Caribbean man

Songwriter: Sawandi Cassell

The world is struggling to protect citizens during the pandemic. It is reported over 4 million people have died since the outbreak of Covid 19. The virus has had the effect of stalling the global economy and in the process crippled Small Island Developing States (SIDs) like St. Vincent, Barbados and others. Before the pandemic our economic and social landscape was under stress. As developed and undeveloped countries respond to outbreak after outbreak of Covid 19, public health policy to fight the virus has not earned the trust of some members of the public. The issue has escalated to a point where the rights of individuals are challenging government’s obligation to enforce an effective national health policy. Members of the medical fraternity are divided, governments have been administering different approaches, individuals are conflicted on the best options to take to fight Covid 19. Unfortunately the matter has been politicised and the voice of the scientists have been trivialized. There will always be those who are anti this and anti that- this has been the case from time immemorial.

To ask for calm at a time various interest groups (including political parties) prefer to engage in rambunctious behaviour will be a struggle. One suspects it will get worse before it gets better. Many of our islands support service economies and will be directly impacted based on our ability to curb Covid 19 infections and in the process prevent failed state status. How long can our governments continue to pay the salaries of bloated public service employees. How long will private sector companies draw down on reserves and declining rate of returns on equity? Is the proverbial crap is about to hit the fan?

The Barbados government is currently working on a legal document to consider mandatory vaccinations that was promised to key stakeholders yesterday. Yesterday CNN in the USA fired 3 unvaccinated employees who entered the workplace violating policy. Buckle up!

The blogmaster thought the following read a useful exercise, a break from the vitriol.

Mandatory vaccination, including for COVID-19, can be ethically justified if the threat to public health is grave, the confidence in safety and effectiveness is high, the expected utility of mandatory vaccination is greater than the alternatives, and the penalties or costs for non-compliance are proportionate. I describe an algorithm for justified mandatory vaccination. Penalties or costs could include withholding of benefits, imposition of fines, provision of community service or loss of freedoms. I argue that under conditions of risk or perceived risk of a novel vaccination, a system of payment for risk in vaccination may be superior. I defend a payment model against various objections, including that it constitutes coercion and undermines solidarity. I argue that payment can be in cash or in kind, and opportunity for altruistic vaccinations can be preserved by offering people who have been vaccinated the opportunity to donate any cash payment back to the health service.

Read full text: Good reasons to vaccinate: mandatory or payment for risk?

477 responses to “Gonsalves Struck in the Head, Who Next?”

1. Angela Cox the AG has nothing to answer to you or the politicsl nightwatchman for.Some of tjose in the march i know were dems hoping to make a mountain out of a molehill hoping for political gain .This will not help the dems as no one has forgotten their incompetence over ten years.While i disagree with any notion of a mandatory vaccine you and the dems need to stop trying to cause unnecessary panic in the place.However as Cuddear told you you need to stop lying on the blog.I wonder where your cheerleader is who advised you to leave out the lies.He normally disappears when you have been caught lying poor fella.

2. LorenzoAugust 10, 2021 8:22 PM

Angela Cox the AG has nothing to answer to you or the politicsl nightwatchman for.Some of tjose in the march i know were dems hoping to make a mountain out of a molehill hoping for political gain .This will not help the dems as no one has forgotten their incompetence over ten years.While i disagree with any notion of a mandatory vaccine you and the dems need to stop trying to cause unnecessary panic in the place.However as Cuddear told you you need to stop lying on the blog.I wonder where your cheerleader is who advised you to leave out the lies.He normally disappears when you have been caught lying poor fella.

Xxxxxxxxxxxc

Steupsee

3. @WURA-War-on-U August 10, 2021 6:16 PM “The new Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP) administration has indicated that it will not implement mandatory COVID-19 vaccination.”
    An intelligent Black leader, we will be lucky to find 3 of them in the region.”

Trust you to say so. The more black people die the happier you are. And you like poor black DEAD people even better.

St. Lucia 32,234 Covid19 infections per million people; and 498 deaths per million people
    Barbados 15,586 Covid19 infections per million people; and 167 Covid19 deaths per million people

4. When they get sued for violating Black human rights, hope they name you as a defendant and make you travel real far for the case, with the process lasting at least 5 or more years, see how ya like that, by that time people would’ve have adapted to life saving protocols while you will still be answering a charge..

has it occured to you that by NOT playing the BULLY BLACK PEOPLE CARD….the St. Lucian PM is ensuring that MORE not less people will be inclined to get vaccinated, because they will NOT BE FEELING PRESSURED OR FORCED….yall so used to ya Slave society and Black people being dictated to, and freedoms and choices taken away that it appears that’s all ya can relate to…

.ya know ya got stupid negro MISLEADERS who live to please and appease minority trash OVER THE BLACK POPULATION who elected them, and who don’t look like them, for pats on the head, credit and bribes….and yet you too, just like them, have learned nothing.

5. “Anyone who believes that letting go of long term employees is a good business management policies has no idea of the connection between the employee and customer service. The lost goes both ways in effect customers become attached to both quality and a recognized faces.”

Face it, my friend, your above comments are nonsense and obviously devoid of rational thought.

Even those guys selling dunks on the curbs near ’roundabouts’ know more about business than you do.

Stop regurgitating other people’s opinions from Facebook and passing them off on BU as though they’re your own.

It is something you cannot bluff, curse, hurl personal abuse or “Steupseeee” your way out of.

6. So the acting AG says that govt does not have any plans for forced vaccination
    Then why did Mia say that she asked the AG to formulated a legal directive on the way forward for mandatory vaccine for the country
    Btw this is day 5 and silence from the AG

7. Cuddear…here is another one for the ignorant corrupt caricom misleaders, i thought this one Epsilom, an old variant had died off, but apparently it has made an EVEN STRONGER COMEBACK and is resistant as ever to any vaccine, so the Mt. Vernon doctors may be on to something, stop listening to jackasses for Caribbean leaders, they are only expert at selling out, tiefing from and setting up Black/African people..

stop listening to WICKED MISLEADERS…or you will LOSE YOUR LIVES, do your own research.

“Vaccine-Resistant Epsilon Variant of Covid-19 Detected in Pakistan, Raises Alarm For India
    Researchers have said that the Epsilon strain of Covid-19 is resistant to all available vaccines.
    Published: August 1, 2021 7:44 PM IST
    By India.com News DeskEmailEdited by Sharmita KarEmail
    Facebook share
    Twitter share
    Vaccine-Resistant Epsilon Variant of Covid-19 Detected in Pakistan, Raises Alarm For India
    New Delhi: Another variant of coronavirus, Epsilon, which was first identified in California in 2020, has reached closer to home. The highly transmissible covid variant has been recently detected in Pakistan, making it a cause of concern for India, which shares its border with the country. Researchers have said that the Epsilon strain of Covid-19 is resistant to all available vaccines.Also Read – Delta Variant Hits Australia: Over 60% Population Under Lockdown as Covid Cases Shoot up

Punjab health authorities have been alerted amid a massive spike in cases in Pakistan. At least five cases of the Epsilon variant were detected in Lahore, the Dawn reported. Also Read – India’s Active COVID Cases Lowest In 140 Days, Daily Positivity Rate Drops to 2.16%

All You Need to Know About Epsilon Variant
    Although it is not a new variant, Epsilon strain – also known as the CAL.20C – is believed to be the second-most active covid variant in New York, USA. It has, however, reached South Asia for the first time. Also Read – Kerala Likely to Witness 4.6 Lakh Covid Cases From Aug 1-20, Projects Central Team | Top Points

The Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) had earlier declared it a ‘’Variant of Concern’ but was later revised to a ‘Variant of Interest’. However, on July 6, the World Health Organisation (WHO) designated it under ‘alerts for further monitoring’.

Epsilon variant has also been identified in 34 nations apart from the US.

Epsilon Variant: A Major Concern
    According to a study at the University of Washington, the variant has been found to be 20 per cent more transmissible than the preceding covid strains. The Epsilon variant is said to be almost as highly transmissible as the Delta variant, which raged during the second wave of pandemic in India.

The Epsilon variant is also being seen as the cause for the fourth wave of coronavirus pandemic in Pakistan, triggering an alarm for India amid predictions of a third wave.

As on Sunday morning, Pakistan logged 5,029 Covid-19 cases, the highest since April 29, when the country reported a total of 5,112 infections.

he Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) had earlier declared it a ‘’Variant of Concern’ but was later revised to a ‘Variant of Interest’. However, on July 6, the World Health Organisation (WHO) designated it under ‘alerts for further monitoring’.

Epsilon variant has also been identified in 34 nations apart from the US.

Epsilon Variant: A Major Concern
    According to a study at the University of Washington, the variant has been found to be 20 per cent more transmissible than the preceding covid strains. The Epsilon variant is said to be almost as highly transmissible as the Delta variant, which raged during the second wave of pandemic in India.”

8. Artax

Stop regurgitating other people’s opinions from Facebook and passing them off on BU as though they’re your own.

It is something you cannot bluff, curse, hurl personal abuse or “Steupseeee” your way out of.

Xxxxxx
    Pity u
    Got time to troll me on fb
    Have u got no shame

9. Real big Rocks

The State-appointed committee
    overseeing Barbados’ transition from realm to republic has come under heavy fire, with two University of the West Indies (UWI) academics dismissing the group as unfit for purpose.

In a joint position made public on Tuesday, law lecturer Dr Ronnie Yearwood and Cynthia Barrow-Giles, senior lecturer in political science, were particularly hard on chairperson of the Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee (RSTAC), Dr Marion Williams, a former Central Bank governor.

Dr Yearwood and Barrow-Giles took Dr Williams and committee member Adrian Green to task after listening to their appearance on Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) radio “with growing shock and consternation”.

“We were astonished by the level of factually incorrect statements made on the state-owned radio station by the Chair, Dr Marion Williams and committee member, Mr Adrian Green, and supported by the moderator of the programme,” the UWI scholars declared.

Among the “many incorrect” statements identified was that the President of Guyana is elected for life, they said.

“A review of both the Guyana Independent and the Cooperative Republic Constitutions would reveal that this has never been the constitutional reality of Guyana. Indeed, similar to every independent English-Speaking Caribbean country, Guyana’s head of government and state was elected to office first on the plurality system, in keeping with the winner takes all system, and later, on the basis of proportional representation,” Dr Yearwood and Barrow-Giles contended.

They suggested that a Prime Minister remaining in office for an undetermined time is the reality of the Caribbean, and that one can look no further than St Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica for the evidence.

They added: “Further, in 2000, following the amendment to the Guyanese constitution, no president can succeed himself/herself more than once. In other words, term limits have been constitutionalized in the country, the first English-Speaking Caribbean country to do so.

“Moreover, the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), in the case, The Attorney General of Guyana v Cedric Richardson ([2018] CCJ 17 (AJ), 26 June 2018) has also confirmed the constitutionality of the change.”

Further, the duo said, “by far, one of the most egregious of the claims peddled by the Committee related to the composition of the Senate”.

“The composition of Independent, Government and Opposition Senators in the Senate of Barbados was incorrectly stated, with the statement from the Chair of the Transition Committee that there were in fact six opposition senators appointed.

“It was also incorrectly stated that the composition of the Senate is done by proportional representation. While the Committee representatives did not state that the method used was proportional representation, nonetheless their failure to correct and even agree with the moderator was in fact tacit approval of the incorrect information provided.”

They also chided the committee’s representatives for telling their audience that the powers of the Prime Minister can be limited by the psyche of the Barbadian people.

“How does the psyche of a people limit the real and legal powers of the Prime Minister as accorded by the Constitution of Barbados? Rules are required to limit the powers of a Prime Minister,” the UWI intellectuals responded.

The two also rejected another statement by the committee members that the Prime Minister is directly elected by the people.

“According to the Constitution of Barbados, the Prime Minister is the person who is selected by the majority political party in Parliament. So, the selectorate is Parliament and not the nation, contrary to a nationally and popularly elected Prime Minister or President,” Dr Yearwood and Barrow-Giles said.

The lecturers also dismissed, as erroneous, pronouncements by the RSTAC members that Independence did not signal the end of British rule in Barbados; that the Queen of Britain requires Barbados to ask for her approval to pass laws; and that the Advisory Committee does not advise on the transition to a republic.

With respect to the latter statement, the university lecturers contended that such a comment showed the members’ misunderstanding of their own role because according to key terms of reference of the Committee, it is, among other things: to advise on the required reform measures necessary to achieve this status, recognizing that the Committee’s work is to play a fundamental role in developing the roadmap for the nation’s future generations in claiming their destiny.

“This reinforces our previous concerns that this Committee is not fit for purpose. Enough said,” Dr Yearwood and Barrow-Giles concluded.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced late last month that Barbados would transition to a republic on November 30, when the Queen’s representative, the Governor General, would be replaced by a non-executive President with no links to the monarchy.

She also announced that more sweeping changes will be made to the Constitution of Barbados, following wide public consultations on the way forward.
    (emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb)

10. When the as*holes with slave names/titles are clueless to what’s really going on and push up their fake proud chests and pretend to be leaders aka misleaders that’s what ya get, lots of misinformation from misleaders, bet ya the clowns in the parliament KNOW EVEN LESS.

11. I have already said that if the constitutional should stop quoting the 1998 proposal,date it 2021 and reissue it.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/11/academics-declare-republic-committee-unfit-for-purpose/

I think the above is a more elegant restatement of my comment.

12. Grenadians are a very special breed of Africans, you do not want to piss them off in any way, shape or form….even the government knows this….and the younger generation will be NOTHING like the older ones who knew no better.

13. @AC
    It might be better to also provide the link so that the reader can go to the source document.
    .I am now becoming more afraid of reading copy and paste stuff than I am of getting the vaccine.

14. My Green man should keep quiet about these things. His talent lies in other areas. I did wonder why Dr. Williams was made head of the committee. Didn’t associate her with such matters.

What is the purpose of the committee again?

15. “Pity u. Got time to troll me on fb. Have u got no shame.”

“Troll you on fb?”

Far from it, my friend. Occasionally reading the shiite you post to BU is more than enough.

You have a particular writing style, whereby your contributions are often filled with incoherent sentences and misspellings, which makes it easy for anyone to know whether or not you wrote whatever you post.

But, yuh gots to admit, I know how to ‘get under your skin.’

🤣🤣🤣

16. Ah wonder what the thug in St. Vincent got to say about this..

“GAY: It is good but people are no angels and you expect them to be. Those whom we admire let us down, like Ralph Gonzales, who I admired. We were good friends because we were kindred in our writings; I would like to love him. He said the other day that Barbados is hostile to the other members of CARICOM, a non-point but he did it for political reasons.”

17. Oh, I forgot………

………… Facebook is your main source of information and inspiration.

I’m sure you remember a few weeks ago, copy and pasting information from FB to BU, in which its author mentioned the Audit General expressed concerns about the new market project, in his report for the financial year ended March 31, 2020………

……………..which was impossible because construction began in September 2020.

And you kept on repeating that misinformation, despite the fact of being shown it was incorrect.

So, it’s clear you prefer to regurgitate whatever you read on FB as truth, rather than reading official documents for accurate, credible information.

18. Artax

So, it’s clear you prefer to regurgitate whatever you read on FB as truth, rather than reading official documents for accurate, credible information.

Xxxxxxxxxxxccc

Steupseeee

19. Um is good a good thing you don’t read my contibutions.

See how easy um is to get under your skin?

Don’t care how much yuh try……… yuh can’t LIE or “Steupseeee” yuh way out of the TRUTH.

20. ArtaxAugust 11, 2021 5:22 PM

Um is good a good thing you don’t read my contibutions.

See how easy um is to get under your skin?

Don’t care how much yuh try……… yuh can’t LIE or “Steupseeee” yuh way out of the TRUTH

Xxccccccccc

Steupseeeee and Yawn 🥱

21. If Vinentins don’t lern now, there is nothing that can wake them up, from coast to coast everyone is saying the same thing, not all will want to save themselves…AND NO ONE HAS THE ENERGY..they got their own families to look out for…keeping giveing THESE TERRORISTS political power over you and your families and YOU are responsible..

22. Someone sent me this.

https://imgur.com/rZ3avkf

23. Comrade Gonsalves will not be intimidated!

PM Gonsalves says he will continue to walk to Parliament despite injury last week
    Article by Barbados Today
    Published on
    August 11, 2021

SOURCE: CMC- Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves Wednesday said both common law and statue laws allow for a Member of Parliament to have the right of “unhindered access” to, and egress from, Parliament and its precincts.

“I for one will never allow the crazies and their fellow-travellers to hinder or impede my access to Parliament. I will walk again, as I did on August 5th, if needs be. And let the silly ones blame the victim in his exercise of his rights,” Gonsalves added.

In a statement, Gonsalves, who suffered an injury last Thursday when supporters of the New Development Party (NDP) and two public sector trade unions, staged a protest outside the Parliament building against plans by his government to have front line workers vaccinated against the coronavirus (COVID019) pandemic, said two pieces of legislation addresses the issue of unhindered access to Parliament by legislators.

He said the Public Order Act and the House of Assembly Privileges, Powers and Immunities Act create “criminal offences punishable by fines and imprisonment in important particulars of contemporary relevance given the unlawful wounding of the Prime Minister and other egregious examples of illegal conduct by several protesters…”

Gonsalves said the current Public Order Act first came into effect in 1951 and was subsequently amended on nine occasions, the last being in 1987 under the NDP administration.

“Among other things, the Public Order Act, in Section 5 thereof, requires that any person organizing or concerned with organizing any public meeting (which includes a protest gathering) or public procession, to notify the Commissioner of Police at least 24 hours before the meeting or procession of certain relevant particulars.

“Any organiser and any person who knowingly takes part in any such meeting or procession is guilty of an offence punishable by a fine of up to EC$1,500 (One EC dollar=US$0.37 cents) and imprisonment for three months.’
    Gonsalves said that he has been advised that no notification, as required by law, was tendered to the Commissioner of Police respect of the meeting and procession of last Thursday.

He said, further, Sections 10, 11, and 12 of the Public Order Act creates offences, punishable by fines and imprisonment for organisers and participants in a public meeting or procession who refuse to obey the orders of a Police Officer to disperse if a meeting or procession for which notification was or was not tendered, is held within a radius of 200 yards from any point within the curtilage of the Court House of Parliament building at any time when the House of Assembly is sitting.

“I have been advised that sections of the protesters were ordered to disperse on August 5, 2021, but they disobeyed. They surely did not disperse when the Prime Minister sought to exercise his lawful right to attend Parliament,” Gonsalves said in his statement.

He said the House of Assembly, Privileges, Powers and Immunities Act creates two relevant criminal offences for “strangers” who interfere with members of the House of Assembly on their privileges.

According to the legislation, a “stranger” means “any person other than a member or an officer of the House.”

Gonsalves said that under this legislation, a person is guilty of an offence and liable to a fine of EC$1, 500 and to imprisonment for six months.”

“There is ample video and direct, personal evidence of dozens of participants in the meeting/procession on August 5, 2021, who, prima facie, breached one or other of the provisions” of the Act, he added.

Prime Minister Gonsalves, who had to be flown to Barbados for medical treatment as a result of the injury suffered during the protest, said that there are several other statutory provisions which touch and concern the unlawful conduct of several protesters last Thursday outside the immediate perimeter of the Parliament building.

He said these pieces of legislation make reference to obstructing a police officer, throwing missile, disorderly conduct as well as abusive, indecent, insulting, profane or threatening language and conspiracy, attempt and assisting offenders”.

He said that the penalties may vary.

Gonsalves saisd that being a legislator for more than 27 years “I have never known of a single case of a member of Parliament being hindered in going to or coming from the House of Assembly by any protester.

“Certainly, no parliamentarian has been assaulted, battered, or wounded by any protester. Similarly, no parliamentarian has been cursed or vulgarly abused in front of the Parliament building, until the period after the 2015 general elections.”

He said that on more than on more than one occasion since he has been elected Prime Minister, he has been able to “walk through protesters without physical harm or injury” until last Thursday.

“To be sure, there has been boisterous picong at times, but no physical injury or threats. I believe that the general “good behaviour” of protesters have caused successive Commissioners of Police to do “Police-Lite”, that is, policing with a light touch.

“Demonization of individual politicians and the promotion of violence and “bad behaviour” are new features of a “crazy wing” of, or associated with, the NDP has become emboldened over the years after December 2015.”

Gonsalves said that the weak leadership of the NDP has resulted in the metaphoric tail wagging the dog, with dangerous consequences.

“Surely, this foolishness, violence, and wanton lawlessness must stop. In this regard, the police and all law-abiding citizens must “put their foot down”.

Source: Barbados Today

24. corrupt governments and their small island conspiracy got exposed, not a whole lot else they can say, it’s now FACE SAVING MODE for them….no one is paying any attention to these lowcrawling thieves…they better RETURN the people’s money they stole over the decades…BY THE BILLIONS OF DOLLARS all of them……….the continent is NOT THEIRS FOR THE TAKING….and those THEFTS ARE OUTSTANDING..

25. Just as we knew all along, the Grenadine’s thug has friends who has access to his MRI report and said the blow to his head IS NOT CONSISTENT WITH A ROCK…the whole world knew he lied. Blunt stroke =police baton, just as witnesses said.
    ” The blow to the head is not typical of a pelted Rock but more like the hit of a blunt stroke to the head.”

Older Comments
1 8 9 10