Every human being, regardless of nationality or economic situation, has the same birth-right. It is their right to be true to themselves. This may be called personal integrity – a consistent and uncompromising adherence to truth, regardless of the beneficial or harmful consequences of doing so. This right is for a lifetime.

Knowing what is true of a specific issue may not always be known, but it may be found through honest evidence-based (or scientific) discussion of that issue.

Adherence to truth is an invaluable possession. Like any other possession, it can be traded. Since it is invaluable, it cannot be purchased, because there is nothing of comparable value. It can only be exchanged. Exchanging truth for truth is a meaningless exchange. Truth can only be exchanged for a lie.

LEADERSHIP.

There are two types of leaders – those who serve, and those who are served. All of us are born entirely dependent on others for our survival. As we grow into adulthood, we desire to be both independent, and all that we can be. Servant-leaders implement policies that facilitate that personal growth, so that people can reach their potential.

For various reasons, some people prefer to be dependent as adults. Whether because of trauma or mis-education, some people have no real aspirations and are fearful of being independent. They prefer to serve parent-leaders, and are content with symbolic declarations of illusory aspirations.

PARENTING ADULTS.

Leaders who are forced to lead a dependent people are doing something unnatural. Responsible parenting prepares the next generation to become independent. A generation that prefers to serve a parent-type leader, rather than soaring, needs additional training to prepare them for adulthood.

Leaders are not supposed to parent adults. When they take on that role, despite their best intentions, they can only turn that loving natural act into something tragically grotesque. For example, a servant leader will aim to provide an economic environment where parents can easily care for their elderly parents. Parent-leaders will aim to force the elderly in institutions, where they can be efficiently attended to.

Paradoxically, the deeper the care that motivates parent-leader policies, the more the implementation of those policies tends to retard and suffocate the led.

THE AGE OF TYRANNY.

Those most retarded in their development, tend to initially view increasing Government forced control as a comforting motherly embrace. Those who desire to soar will feel the tightening yoke of oppression. If the public rebels against the suffocating policies, the nation may enter an age of tyranny as leaders forcibly try to maintain control.

Every nation has its extreme radical activists with unpopular radical agendas. Extreme radical activists continually invite leaders to force their radical agendas on the public. Wise leaders decline those invitation. Unwise leaders do not.

Parent-leaders who attempt to force radical agendas, that are not supported by truth, on a country, cause the people to confront their true selves. Those citizens are presented with the clear choice of either sacrificing their personal integrity to support their leader’s adopted agenda, or standing for truth. Barbados was recently tested in this manner.

EXCHANGING TRUTH.

In an age where almost all white persons were: racists, white supremacists, and/or enslavers, Horatio Nelson was the rare anomaly. He went against the racist cultural norms of his time, and employed and promoted black persons the same as whites on his ships. He hated slavery – with a passion, and likely freed more slaved outside of North America than any other person during his lifetime.

Nelson demonstrated excellence in the pursuit of truth. Following his death, several statues of him, of varying quality, were erected. The statue of perhaps the finest quality, was erected in Barbados over 200 years ago.

THE BIG LIE.

Recently, some of our extreme radical activists wanted Nelson’s statue destroyed. To achieve their agenda, they promoted Nelson as a: racist, white supremacist, enslaver, and mass murderer of Barbadians – without evidence.

More contemporary books were likely written about Nelson than any other person. Those books were written, during the racist slavery era that he lived, by his: colleagues, enemies, and independent historians. Those books contained the good, the bad, and a lot of ugly about Nelson. But none of them accuse him of being a: racist, white supremacist, enslaver, or mass murderer of Barbadians. That is a recent invention.

DEFENDING TRUTH.

I wrote five evidence-based cited research-articles to investigate the truth. Our radical activists responded with racial slurs. They also ignored thousands of documents in the historical record, and point to a single unauthenticated letter, published in an obscure slavery-supporting newspaper, years after Nelson’s death, that did not justify their claims. Further, the likely forged letter is not part of the recipient’s formal collection of letters received.

I was asked why I was defending that white enslaver of our ancestors. I repeatedly explained that I was defending truth, not Nelson. I further explained that once we crossed the boundary of deliberately accepting lies over truth, just to support an agenda that we may support, that we would damn the next generation to a life of tyranny.

The credible historical record of Barbados contains persons who are provably: racist, white supremacist enslavers, and mass murderers of black Barbadians. Our extreme radical activists do not target them, for the apparent reason that it does not tempt Barbadians to exchange their birth-right for a lie.

FEELING THE PRESSURE.

Some of our activists are opposing the Government’s foreseen military-managed forced mandatory vaccination program. Others are opposing being forced into Republicanism. However, this is only the beginning. Despite being manipulated into opposing camps, every camp will eventually feel the pressure.

Barbadians should rightfully protest against the pressure. However, like Sampson not knowing that his hair was cut, our activists and their supporters seem oblivious to the fact that they have already given away their personal integrity – and have none left.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

82 responses to “Difficult Conversations – Giving Away Your Birth-right”

1. Re: Black Bajan Fake Ass “Historians” sucking the White Man’s Dick like Bitches and Ho’s

Suckers got suckered into believing whites freed black slaves because they were righteous masters

but wait…

The British colonised Africa in about 1870. When they heard of all of Africa’s valuable natural resources such as gold, diamonds, silver, ivory, rubber, salt and more, they did not hesitate on conquering the land. African colonies and needed the requisite labor force to extract them and simultaneously build the colonial city around these industries. Because they viewed native bodies as degenerate and in need of taming, violence was necessary to create a submissive labourer Colonisers viewed this violence as necessary and good because it shaped the African into a productive worker. They had the simultaneous goals of utilising the raw labor and shaping the identity and character of the African. By beating into the African a docile nature, colonisers ultimately shaped and enforced the way Africans could move through colonial spaces. The African’s day-to-day life then became a show of submission done through exercises like public works projects and military conscription.

Pachamama aka Mother Earth nailed it in the comment below which is short and sweet and rings the vibration of truth loud and proud
    “And now that we know you to be a certifiable cunt your wanderings will never again be read.”

Deadass
    Deadass is slang for “seriously.” That is, no kidding, for real, we’re deadass not lying to you.

2. read it twice and keep your eyes on the corrupt government…

“The 10-member Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee (RSTAC), a sub-committee that is responsible for the legal aspects of the process and a blue-ribbon panel of three prominent Barbadians who had been invited by the main committee to add their expertise are all caught in a procedural dispute, sources have confirmed.

It is understood that the main bones of contention are the Government’s decision to transition to republican status first and amend the rest of the constitution afterwards and also a “rush” to have the new form of government in place by November 30, this year.

Some members are reportedly calling for a re-examination of the entire process that involves replacing Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State with a native president.

“There is no constitutional document. They have not yet signed off on a constitutional document. They can’t go ahead without having a constitutional change,” a source close to the process told Barbados TODAY.

“A number of people are concerned about the indecent haste at which they are proceeding without a proper legal foundation in place.”

3. Amazing how they jump to each other’s defense, when a gaggle of them starting in the parliament should be in handcuffs…that’s all Smith-Millar said in relation to the charges…..but Andrew knows that most of them don’t even get charged for their crimes…against the Black population, not when they have the whole bar association who got their backs….enabling and condoning.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/06/bar-association-president-chastised-for-criticizing-accused-attorney/

“I am very disappointed and unhappy to see a member of the legal profession – a former senior police officer and now attorneyat-law – charged with the matters that he has been. However, the matter is before the court and I have no further comment on that specific matter with Mr Bennett.

“Generally speaking, of course we are absolutely against the commission of crime by any person but most especially by attorneys-at-law who know the law and should know better,” Smith- Millar said.”

4. Just saw a document where Guyana appears to be planning to do the RIGHT THING, THE RIGHT WAY….cause they want no shit, but the bloated gadfly in St. Vincent was the test subject…let’s see who else wants to try the people’s patience..

5. I shall try one more time.

I am not expecting anyone to put up a statue of me. I am, in no way, shape or form, a hero. I have done some good stuff, helped out a few people, stood up for the rights of a few others but I do not deserve to be placed on a pedestal anywhere, far less Bridgetown. I could write you a very long list of people who are more deserving.

My judgment of Nelson only goes as far as whether or not he merits a statue.

I am quite willing to be judged as I have judged him.

The End!

6. @ WURA-War-on-U,
    I do not believe for one minute that Saint Vincent does not have a functioning body scanner.
    He is being treated in Barbados solely for his own personal safety. Apart from assassination I have never heard of such a brazen attack on a head of state. We should all condemn such an attack.
    Covid-19 has exposed the weakness of Caribbean countries. Do our leaders have the stamina and the credibility to make a difference in the lives of their citizens? I believe not. It is inevitable that some will fall by the wayside.
    It will be very interesting to see the length of time he decides to recuperate in Barbados.

7. “We should all condemn such an attack.”

Vincentians believe he deliberately provoked the situation, knowing how he has treated the people for YEARS and how they would react……the same dumb slaves keep reelecting him to the detriment of others…because he plays them like a violin…we have to wait and hear what he actually did, he is known to be very wicked….and slime like that, don’t maintain anything that Black populations need to survive, you get the same thing in Barbados, as long as it’s Black taxpayers paying the bill, it’s not appreciated….. they call it “mash up and buy back” they take care of nothing, maintain nothing, just waste taxpayer’s money and that is only what they don’t tief..

8. “To use the standard that many are using to judge Nelson would result in many persons today being guilty of sex-slavery – since few actively oppose it. Clearly that is an unreasonable standard to use. However, Jesus warned that we would be judged with the same measure that we judged others. Why condemn yourselves?”

when whites held blacks hands it was to put them into slavery

9. Donna:

Then we have reached some agreement. He does not merit a statue. There was no need to have one of him in Barbados.

Where we seem to disagree is the method or removing him. I think that inventing history to trash his reputation is not the way. I do not agree with that end-justifies-the-means approach.

Jesus said that satan is a liar and the father of lies. He also said that when satan lies, he speaks from his resources. I think that dishonesty, lies, and deception an unnecessary way of achieving agenda aims.

Jesus said that He is the Truth. Truth should matter – it does with me.

10. I never even heard or read of the “invented history”. Neither did anyone to whom I spoke. Yet we all wanted him down based on one established fact.

He was a symbol of British domination and he was not our hero.

Nelson does not need you to spend so much time on his defence.. You had your say. Obsession is futile. Plenty of living souls who need defending.

11. Donna:

The lion in Gun Hill was carved by British soldiers who were enforcing the same “British domination”. No one needs to dishonestly lie about anyone’s reputation, and deceive the public with that one. However, it does require people to be consistent and non-hypocritical.

Do you support the removal or destruction of that lion?

12. Oh my God! Is the lion portrayed as a hero of black Barbadians.

We are not interested in destroying all things the British built. Most of us have their blood in our veins. We are interested in removing the symbols of white supremacy which are part of a damaging and conflicting narrative told from the perspective of our oppressors.

We are trying to reframe our history from the perspective of the black majority.

The lion has no impact on that process.

As I said before, you miss the finer points of any argument.

This proves it.

13. The blogmaster ter wondered how Grenville was able to compare the carving of the lion at gun hill with a statue of Nelson positioned in Heroes Square Ain 2021. Moving on, this is tiring.

14. ‘Do you support the removal or destruction of that lion?’

My group the Barbados Black Belly Sheep Association (BBSA) supports removing and replacement.

15. It is difficult to remain serious when issues are invented.

16. re Do you support the removal or destruction of that lion?
    REMOVE NELSON
    REMOVE THE QUEEN
    REMOVE THE LION
    REMOVE THE ANGLICAN CHURCH
    REMOVE THE SCHOOL SYSTEM
    REMOVE THE SPEAKING OF ENGLISH
    REMOVE THE PLAYING OF CRICKET
    REMOVE ANYTHING ENGLISH AND OF ENGLISH ORIGINS
    REMOVE GP AND JOHN ONCE MORE TOO…………LOL MURDAAAH ROFLMAO

17. I FORGOT THIS…
    REMOVE ALL WHITE FOLK FROM BARBADOS

18. Third good joke in three days!

Soon be ready to host your own show.

19. Presenting…. Former Cyberbully of now Chief Bodyguard to GP2….

Bought at the price of one Trump endorsement!

Hilarious!

20. Donna and David:

That is very convenient for you. Nelson is only despised if you believe the lie of his accusers – who provide no credible evidence for their accusations.

The lion is clearly the symbol that should attract objections – which was provably constructed by military officers stationed in Barbados to directly maintain the empire. Unlike the Navy, which directly fought against external threats (France, Spain, etc), the military in Barbados was to assist with rebellions – like when they were called upon to quell the Bussa rebellion (no one called for the Navy then).

For the record. I am not advocating for the removal of the lion. I am simply pointing out the convenient hypocrisy of defending the lion while falsely accusing Nelson. What is consistent is that it requires persons to sacrifice truth for lies to do both.

21. @Grenville

Let us assume Admiral Nelson did no wrong and was sympathetic to the cause of Blacks, his statue still has no place in Heroes Square in 2021. Hope this clarifies it for you.

22. I won’t even try to unravel that convoluted mess.

You are hopeless!

23. @ Nextparty246 August 7, 2021 12:53 PM
    For the record. I am not advocating for the removal of the lion. I am simply pointing out the convenient hypocrisy of defending the lion while falsely accusing Nelson. What is consistent is that it requires persons to sacrifice truth for lies to do both. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

There is some merit to this aspect of your argument that Nelson was not the full-blown pro-slavery racist as he has been painted by the Bajan band of hypocrites. .
    Who or what could have been more pro-slavery and racist than the Anglican Church in Barbados?

Has it apologized, as yet, to black Barbadians (the descendants of the victims) for the pivotal role it played in one of the worst crimes committed against humanity in the name of some god painted in the image of some European created god which you yourself have swallowed hook, line and sinker?

We submit that Lord Horatio Nelson was indeed a professional Naval officer of the highest standard since he recognized that some black sailors were just as talented as some of his ‘Limey’ white officers even if the blacks were employed initially in the capacity of cooks, sexual consorts or gun-powder monkeys.

The contradiction which lies to the heart of your argument- as “TheOGazerts” has pointed out in the most incisive manner- is why a white-dominated Bajan society of that time of endemic chattel slavery in Barbados would want to erect a statue to a man who, according to your argument, represented the antithesis of their pro-slavery values?

Instead of waging a futile war over Lord Nelson’s historical value to a modern Barbados-and which can only end in a mere Pyrrhic victory in the form of a white-painted lion at Gun Hill- why not consider the much underestimated and long overdue recognition of the role played by another seafarer aka merchant seaman a real Barbadian hero by the name of Milton King?

Why not recognize this man’s ultimate sacrifice in his heroic stance against apartheid in South Africa where white supremacy still lingered even 120 years after the abolition of slavery in the original colony of apartheid called Barbadoes?

24. The inferior minded might learn something about their real heritage and birthright..

https://youtu.be/GxUO5hKcz84?t=599

25. re Let us assume Admiral Nelson did no wrong and was sympathetic to the cause of Blacks, his statue still has no place in Heroes Square in 2021. Hope this clarifies it for you.

WHEN I WAS GROWING UP SO CALLED Heroes Square WAS CALLED TRAFALGAR SQUARE WAS IT NOT? SO APPARENTLY IT WAS ONCE APPROPRIATE TO HAVE Admiral Nelson SITUATED THERE THEN.

PERHAPS WE SHOULD REMOVE SOBERS FROM BEFORE THE OVAL AND RENAME THE OVAL WESTBURY CEMETRY ANNEXE. CAUSE CRICKET DEAD. MURDAAH
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP.

26. Letters to Editor _ Nation

Comissiong’s facts not all up to date

Allow me to congratulate Ambassador His Excellency Mr David Comissiong on his 35-page booklet – The Clement Payne Story.
    It is a noteworthy addition to the growing set of publications we now have on that period in Barbados’ history when, as Dr George Belle has stated, the Barbadian masses attempted to effect a revolution.
    His Excellency utilises considerable “primary sources” in order to establish that Clement Osbourne Payne was the catalyst for the uprising on 26th, 27th and 28th July 1937. The collection of data is impressive and thus establishes His Excellency as a major authority on Mr Payne and his political career both in Barbados and in Trinidad.
    Tell us why
    However, His Excellency needed to tell us about Mr Payne’s connection with Uriah “Buzz” Butler and why he (Payne) came to Barbados in March 1937.
    More importantly he needs to upwardly revise his figures of the persons shot by police. If he had consulted Dr Henderson Carter, head of the History Department, University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus, he would be aware that over 45 (not 14) black Barbadians were shot and killed by the black policemen on those days in July 1937.
    – Rudy ‘Gene’ Phillips

27. Heard about Uriah Butler as a small child growing up, no surprise they put the Black Slave police to murder other Black/Africans for standing up for their human rights of fighting oppression, hard work with no salaries, slavery and racism etc in 1937…

…won’t they be shocked to know that 84 YEARS later…the fight to end this evil in Black African lives is still ongoing with the negros who could not enter the parliament in 1937 and talk about they are elite and got pedigree are the vicious beasts now perpetrating the same crimes AGAINST THE DESCENDANTS of that uprising, with minority criminals descended from those in 1937 still instigating CRIMES against and TIEFING from the Black majority…..that’s the bajan way..

28. As a matter of fact there is still a highway in Trinidad dedicated to Uriah Butler…..

29. are the vicious beasts now perpetrating the same crimes AGAINST THE DESCENDANTS of that uprising, with minority criminals descended from those in 1937 and some brand new ones added…like racist sandy lane and other greedy hoteliers…still instigating CRIMES against and TIEFING from the Black majority..

Hope yall can see the pattern unless ya willing to allow it to happen AGAIN 84 years into the future….to your great, great granchildren…i know some dumbed down Black people won’t even care.

30. @Grenville Phillips “For example, a servant leader will aim to provide an economic environment where parents can EASILY care for their elderly parents.”

Ok smart guy.

Don’t tell us. Show us how this can EASILY be done.

I have done it, one elder disabled for almost ten years, another at the same time with a stroke with a partial disability for 7+ years.

I did it but it was NOT easy.

Truthfully it was damned DIFFICULT.

Show me where I went wrong and where I could have done it EASILY.

Enlighten the rest of the blog. Because as we Bajans say “wha int pass ya int catch ya yet” or something similar.

Enlighten all of us how the care of elders can EASILY be done.

P.S. Please note that I have 14+ years of increasingly complex elder care,

31. @Grenville Phillips “Parent-leaders will aim to force the elderly in institutions, where they can be efficiently attended to.”

So tell me where in the world leaders try to force the elders into institutions? Elder care is complex, time consuming and expensive, and EVERYBODY know that the cheapest, most efficient way to get it done is with the unpaid labor of daughters and grandaughters.

Notice that I did not mention sons and grandsons because the truth is that provide little hands-on care, and too often little or no money either.

32. @GP August 5, 2021 7:41 PM

Q WHAT IS A PROFESSIONAL HISTORIAN?
    My question: What is a professional physician?

Q HOW DOES SUCH A PERSON COME UP WITH HIS OPINIONS OR STORIES?
    My question: How does a professional physician come up with his opinions or stories?

Q HOW DOES ANYONE BECOME A PROFESSIONAL HISTORIAN?
    My question: How does anyone become a professional physician?

Q. DOES AN AMATEUR HISTORIAN HAVE ACCESS TO THE SAME SOURCES OF A PROFESSIONAL HISTORIAN?
    My question: Does an amateur physician have access to the same sources as a professional physician?

Q HOW IS BECKLES OR MARSHALL MORE FACTUAL OR MORE ACCURATE THAN F A HOYOS OR SHERLOCK, OR RECORD, OR HALL AND OTHER ESTABLISHED HISTORIANS
    How are you more factual or more accurate that Dr. Fauci and the other brilliant established doctors and scientists of record at HHS and CDC?

I GOT TO ASK CAUSE I LOST THE SHINE I HAD AT AGE 18 OR 20. I DONT SHINE OR GLOW NO MORE.
    I acknowledge that you have lost the shine you had at 18 or 20, that’s ok. I have lost mine too. It is called old age. [Oh! Lord. Don’t tell me that you remained at HC until you were 20???] I acknowledge and that you don’t shine nor glow no more as when you were awarded a Barbados Exhibition, while others earned Barbados scholarships.

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply