The blogmaster is sure the significance of Emancipation Day is lost on the majority of Barbadians. In recent days the commentary swirling in the spaces frequented by the blogmaster centred on the cancellation of Crop Over for a second year running, a break from going to work or attending to an activity unrelated to the purpose of Emancipation Day. A key ceremony to celebrate the day at Bussa statue will muster the usual suspects.

On a day that should have deep significance for a majority Black country, one which played a leading role perfecting the slave society model, raises the question – why are a majority of Barbadians numbed to our past? The chorus of Redemption Song by the great Robert Nesta Marley should be recommended listening for all Barbadians

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery

None but ourselves can free our minds

Have no fear for atomic energy

‘Cause none of them can stop the time

How long shall they kill our prophets

While we stand aside and look

Some say it’s just a part of it

We’ve got to fulfill the book

Bob Marley’s Redemption Song

It is instructive that at this juncture in our history the economy has stalled and we are country saddled with one of the highest debt to GDP in the world. A generation unborn will be subjected to the responsibility of servicing (not repaying) the debt.

A 21×14 country with too many motor vehicles of all engine sizes and makes on the road causing gridlock all hours of the day.

Our supermarkets stocked with too many brands of the same product to appease our taste for foreign.

We are blessed with a large middleclass whose definition of personal achievement is at minimum a 800k mortgage, 2 cars in the driveway and an annual vacation to North America or Europe. The biggest irony occurred in 2018 when the government administered a ‘haircut’ to investments held by many of the middleclass – “Oh what a tangled web we weave…”

The consumption behaviour translates to an oil and food import bill north of 1 billion dollars. This contrast starkly with an agricultural sector that accounts for less than 4% of GDP. “A country that cannot feed itself cannot have self pride….”

Our best large companies are owned by non Barbadians. What is the identity of a Barbadian if we are unable to puff our chest that comes from the confidence of being ‘strict guardians of our heritage, firm craftsmen of our fate’. Is it a surprise we are unable to connect to what Emancipation Day means?

How will we be able to change it? How will we be able to emancipate ourselves from mental slavery? A relevant program of education (indoctrination?) must start in our schools, youth groups, civic organizations, churches etc. In the words of the great poet Maya Angelou – “… if you don’t know where you’ve come from, you don’t know where you’re going. I have respect for the past, but I’m a person of the moment. I’m here, and I do my best to be completely centred at the place I’m at, then I go forward to the next place”.

How do we educate our people to see the benefit of threading our past with the present to be able to experience the best future?

127 responses to “Mental Bondage is Real”

1. “On Aug. 1, 1857, in Canandaigua, N.Y., Frederick Douglass — who had toured Britain several times, to enthusiastic crowds — weighed Britain’s achievements in the fight against slavery. The British Empire had “made the name of England known and loved in every Slave Cabin,” he said, and “spread alarm, hatred, and dread in all the accursed slave markets of our boasted republic.” But freedom for Black people remained elusive. The formal policy shift, rooted in imperialism, capitalism and coercion that occurred on Aug. 1, 1834, was something very different from the struggle for freedom celebrated on Emancipation Day.”

i remember some fowl Slave on here asking me where the slaves were in Barbados in the 1850s….and don’t even need to venture too far to find them STILL WORKING the slave plantations in Barbados that are still operational in 2021…they are not paid their pensions and salaries are so low, they can’t afford dental care…….the fowl can start at Neil’s plantation…it’s just short there east of Trimart where every niga from the judiciary/parliament want to be a massa…

2. MTA

You walked into that!!

3. WURA-War-on-UAugust 2, 2021 5:19 PM

“After slavery, freed people were denied access to land and expected to work for low wages.

Robert Cooper Ashby freed his slave, Mary Ann and when he died in 1839 his will left her and their 10 children Burkes Plantation, 310 acres and also Brittons Plantation.

Henry Peter Simmons freed his two sons he had produced with a slave called Harry and by his will, left them Vaucluse Plantation.

Same type of thing at Dunscombe.

Before Slavery ended, freed people were given land.

My black Cuffley ancestors were left land by their owner Thomas Cuffley when he freed them by his will in 1721.

4. Do why not a

5. the fowl can start at Neil’s plantation…it’s just short there east of Trimart/Sky Mall on the Salter’s Road to the left…where every niga from the judiciary/parliament want to be a massa…and own a plantation…

6. John…that was not for the larger population, besides most of those planations and estates got stolen from the 1940s and coming forward…through the rackets carried on from the syndicate in the bar association and everyone else involved…am sure you will agree…

7. So why not a second third or fourth uprising sending strong and harsh messages to govt who does not understand the words Freedom or civil rights
    The freedom fighters of the past wasted no time waiting on govt empty promises
    The freedom fighters knew that long winded talk wasnt going to get the populace anywhere hence they understood the meaning of by any means necessary
    What would the Freedom fighters say if they saw how govts have sacrificed their brothers and sisters on the alters for self interest
    Emancipation day should be recognized as a day of FREEDOM for all socially and economically
    But what has taken place is where the wealth of the country in land deals is heading in one direction
    We the people are demanding better and one day coming soon the roosters would home home to roost and it wouldn’t be a pretty sight
    ####let freedomring

8. Re: Hashtag Revolution by those who never fought in their life and are weak trolls who use facebook app for children

CH1 14:5 And Ibhar, and Elishua, and Elpalet,

CH1 14:6 And Nogah, and Nepheg, and Japhia,

CH1 14:7 And Elishama, and Beeliada, and Eliphalet.

CH1 14:8 And when the Philistines heard that David was anointed king over all Israel, all the Philistines went up to seek David. And David heard of it, and went out against them.

CH1 14:9 And the Philistines came and spread themselves in the valley of Rephaim.

CH1 14:10 And David enquired of God, saying, Shall I go up against the Philistines? And wilt thou deliver them into mine hand? And the LORD said unto him, Go up; for I will deliver them into thine hand.

9. Why are we still hearing this in 2021…the government think it’s going to get some award or prize for this, from whom?, nah…only exposure across continents and then they will learn just how damaging it is for backward governments…

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/02/ras-simba-says-rastas-marginalised/

“I am here to speak about the newest form of colonisation under our present Government that has taken the people of Barbados. I speak of cannabis colonisation,” said Rock.

“Unfortunately, the economic benefits that will come from this plant, the Government doesn’t want to see that to the Rastafari community.”

10. @ John August 2, 2021 5:17 PM

Why don’t you tell us if the so-called native North Americans like the Sioux and Cheynne (whom people like you like to call ‘Indians’) celebrate Thanksgiving?

How about celebrating a national holiday called the Remembrance of the Battle of the Little Bighorn?

11. So the frauds in the parliament believe they can PROLONG emancipation into their own “journey” of horror for African descendants…really….do it then…..emancipation never ended, as long as traitors remain in colonual parliaments and the people keep playing their political games of voting in slave societies, you will always be under an occupation of emancipation…

“The process of slave emancipation in Latin America and the Caribbean was protracted and tortuous, beginning in the late eighteenth century with the Haitian Revolution, an event with profound consequences for slave regimes everywhere in the New World, and finally coming to an end with the abolition of Brazilian slavery in 1888.”

12. Malcolm x in his own words on Freedom

Education is the passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for it today.

You can’t separate peace from freedom because no one can be at peace unless he has his freedom.

The future belongs to those who prepare for it today.
    Be peaceful, be courteous, obey the law, respect everyone; but if someone puts his hand on you, send him to the cemetery.

You’re not to be so blind with patriotism that you can’t face reality.

Wrong is wrong, no matter who does it or says it.

Nobody can give you freedom. Nobody can give you equality or justice or anything. If you’re a human you take ii

If you’re not ready to die for it, put the word ‘freedom’ out of your vocabulary.

I believe in human beings, and that all human beings should be respected as such, regardless of their color.

There is no better than adversity. Every defeat, every heartbreak, every loss, contains its own seed, its own lesson on how to improve your performance the next time.

Stop talking sh.it and fight fih yuh rights
    Bussa did it
    Nelson Mandella did it
    So why can’t All

There is nothing happy about Emancipation Day in 2021 when economic chains and shackles bound citizens both feet and hands and govt standing at capitalist doorsteps looking like beggars

timefuhrevolution

13. “Erase Your Social”
    Malcolm X-tra is posting black power fists …
    but no one likes a troll

14. @TLSN August 2, 2021 5:55 AM “tribal loyalties.”

My response: I am not at all tribal, Are you?

@TLSN August 2, 2021 5:55 AM “my critics would have already rounded on me.”
    My response: Is your statement true? Who “rounds” on you?

@TLSN August 2, 2021 5:55 AM “do not let the mob hinder you from speaking the truth.”

Who are you calling a mob?

And why do you describe the people who disagree with your politics mobsters?

15. Don’t expect any changes for the better in slave society Barbados Covid or no, that is the way both wicked governments have always operated and they have no intention of changing things, the second disrespectful vote begging lot, must be removed…..clear a path to eliminate all the incoming trash…..every negro that beg their way into that parliament tells themselves that Black people are slaves to be wagered and leveraged…

now you see why the likes of haynes is firmly in place…the people have to be more forceful against these never-ending crimes and financial assaults against themselves.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/03/charge-against-nis/

“The National Insurance Scheme (NIS) is being accused of not furnishing several laid-off or severed employees of statutory corporations with their unemployment benefits.

“They were considered permanent workers and they would always get a salary with up to a year of sick leave, but without unemployment benefits because there was no likelihood you were going to be unemployed; you were a permanent worker. All of that changed when the Wynton Campbell case came up, and the Government refused to fix it and they are now exploiting some of the provisions there and sending home permanent workers, sometimes lay-off, sometimes dismissal,” he charged.”

16. Tell it like it really is Prof…your colonial island governments have ALWAYS turned themselves into knots to keep Black enslavement, injustice, institutional racism and disenfranchisement alive…in its most vulgar forms..

…look at what Mia did with the marijuana, instead of using it as an avenue for Black empowerment, she is using it as a weapon against the Black population…and feel proud…brought in white and other wannabe slave master types to redevelop slave plantations….until it collapsed around her…..why do you think Drax was so hot and sweaty to return, because he is well aware of what goes on…if Black governments refuse to put an end to the slave society and all the evil that trails it, that’s what will continue for the next 50 years or more..

so the Prof also need to “slam” the black face governments for keeping the “instiutional racism. poverty and underdevelpement”/minority rule, practiced by their white supremacist social partnership parasites, firmly in place…island governments are the ones who are DIRECTLY responsibile for the day to day management of the island…as hired by the electorate…that will ALWAYS be the UKs escape clause and a good one too..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/02/sir-hilary-impacts-of-slavery-still-evident-in-barbados-former-slave-societies/

“The social and economic impacts of slavery are still dreadfully evident in the prevalence of “poverty, underdevelopment and consistent institutional racism” affecting Barbados and other former slave societies.”

so why are these laws still on the statute books, who is responsible for removing them, surely not the brits:
    “The British came here in the 1620s. The following decade, the British said all black people on this island, and those coming here in the future will be classified as non-human. They are going to be classified as non-human real estate in chattel,” Sir Hilary recalled.”

The Black/African in Barbados are STILL seen as having no civil rights and they are ALWAYS VIOLATED …by the black face leaders in the parliament, that needs to be explained:

““It took us all of the 19th century to outroot slavery from the world. The Hatians first in 1804, through the English, the French, the Dutch and ultimately the Portuguese in Brazil. It took 100 years to end slavery, then it took us another 100 years to convert freedom into civil rights.”

when the civil rights violations are finally removed and end let me know, then yall can continue blaming everyone else….Mia just got caught days ago, ignoring international law as it relates to ILLEGALLY forcing experimental drugs on the population….i wonder who forced her to attempt that crime against the people…start calling some names.

17. @ Waru,
    Here is the BBC program: Zeinab interviewing Hilary.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/w3ct1n61

18. Another example of govt gungho on keeping it’s people in Mental Bondage
    Xxxxccccc
    President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Verla De Peiza, made the point on Sunday evening, as she referred to the move afoot to make Barbados a republic. Addressing party faithfuls at a meeting of the St. John branch, she lamented that the way the Government has gone about informing Barbadians of the intention to become a republic has been disrespectful.

De Peiza said that Barbadians first heard of the plan in September 2020 in the Throne Speech and thereafter in May 2021 the public was told that a Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee had been set up and would produce an interim report by the end of June. The DLP leader said that the public is yet to see that report.

“We have however seen the letter asking the private sector for their opinions on the republic, nobody has asked you,” she said.

“I have been involved in politics since my teens and if there is one undercurrent that I am feeling right now is that the people of Barbados want a greater say in their destiny. The people of Barbados have a right to consider that they don’t want a figurehead President. The people of Barbados have a right to consider how deep, how far, how wide they want these constitutional changes to be. This is only the second time in our history that we get to speak to the kind of people we want to be. And we want a document that will be enduring, that centuries from now, this momentous period will be studied and understood that more than one person made these decisions on behalf of 280,000-plus people who reside here,” maintained a passionate De Peiza.

19. Timebomb
    Old blacks with white hair are no longer deemed threats
    youth’s movements are deemed biggest dangers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-EWa324FCLY

20. @AC
    “We have however seen the letter asking the private sector for their opinions on the republic, nobody has asked you,” she said.

I am searching for this comment is there a link? It would be unfortunate if Mia)BU supporters feel a referendum is unnecessary (the people’s opinion should not be sought), but the private sector input is needed.

Please provide a link.

21. I have not seen the letter. I would love to see that letter. Has Verla got a copy?

22. Some things are debatable, while others like global tax law changes and Barbados’ Independence aren’t.
    The announcement for Independence came during the times of #Blacklivesmatter protests and accompanying breakthrough discussions of global institutional system of white supremacy racism in society as legacy of slavery colonialism and awakenings of protest movements and truths and rights.
    Whites have now changed their narratives to cover their own asses and still maintain control.
    There is still ongoing arguments whether African countries are better or worse with or without colonial rule, but it is what it is, regardless of being better or worse, independence and self-determination of black nations to build their own paths to their own future is the new black.

23. Thanks TLSN…..

it is frightening that once allowed the freedom to have control over the islands management and the people’s lives and money in the 60s …that the slave minds relegated to half human status like everyone else would take over, because it’s only a slave could want to be the very thing that destroyed their foreparents….a slave master….and that is what most lawyers in the bar, the judiciary, on the bench, former chief justice, most ministers/politicians aspire to be or everyone of those slave laws, Le Code Noir and discriminatory legislations that limits Black freedom, basic human rights and ability to generate wealth, own land etc… including the one they used from the 1890s to torture Black children at the GIS reform schools would have been REMOVED 55 years ago….negros who are that disrespectful and UNCARING should never be leaders of Black/African people…

all of them have this nasty propensity and attitude that they are leaders of slaves, they NEVER listen to the Black population after the vote begging, they proceed to dictate and destroy……..that is what happens when you allow the slaves to control the slave system…it will always end in disaster..

24. It seems Mia/government rightly or wrongly are supporting the aggressive move to republic on the Ford Commission findings: so long ago.

25. Self Healing Energies

Would you listen to the advice of Dr Lay Preacher GP for the best way for blacks to proceed in the future
    physically mentally emotionally spiritually
    or would you run away from him and his deluded thinkings

26. DonnaAugust 3, 2021 6:36 AM

I have not seen the letter. I would love to see that letter. Has Verla got a copy

Xxxxccccc
    I guess her being a member of the private sector would have received either a letter or a survey request
    However her worded context does not say if by letter or any other way email etc.

27. E-mails, like letters, are not invisible. If Verla could see it, so can I.

Evidence please!

28. The house negro mentality is very well known…..i hope they are ALL NOT WAITING for UK and Europe to pay reparations DIRECTLY TO THEM…which should NEVER HAPPEN…. so that they DO THEIR JOBS and REMOVE the slave legislations, le code noir and all the human reducing laws they amended and upgraded to keep Black lives AT THE BOTTOM of the social ladder and at a disadvantage..

they should not get a dime, because they have NO INTENTION for the Black population to benefit from or see any of the reparations anyway…they said so themselves for everyone to hear……

29. If Verla can produce that evidence, then I will change my position on the referendum.

EVIDENCE PLEASE!

30. @ Waru,

Hilary stated that reparative justice should be directed at the country’s ailing infrastructure. Barbados was left with a reasonable decent infrastructure after independence. The blame for our crumbling mess of an infrastructure is due entirely to the BDLP..

Who will be the beneficiaries of reparations? It would be the same group of bottom feeders who have gained from the public purse. We know who they are.

The only group who should directly benefit from reparations are Barbadian blacks, and I mean blacks in the purest sense. For it is this group who have never received any breaks since their ancestors were first brought to these shores.

No other groups currently residing in Barbados should directly or indirectly gain from reparations.

31. It’s simple logic really…the cabinet RECENTLY, as in last year, tinkered with the labor laws to allow criminal hoteliers to steal the severance and salaries of hotel workers driving them into POVERTY…and .resulting in the NIS pension fund that they ALL ROB REGULARLY to have to pay out 18 million dollars and still Black workers and former workers cannot get pensions, severance or benefits…..to this day..

.so if they are on the world stage begging reparations WITHOUT REMOVING all that i stated above, they are clearly EXTORTING money from UK and Europe… in collusion with the fradulent social partnership parasites …FOR THEIR PERSONAL GAIN and not to benefit the survivors/descendants…or we would have heard that those slave laws, codes and discriminatory legislation are NO LONGER THERE…until then…THEY ARE ALL FRAUDS, LIARS AND THIEVES….and NOT to be believed..

32. Is it necessary to have proof of an email/letter.?
    Let’s just focus on the sentiments so eloquently stated by the lady.
    You cannot rubber stamp a republic without full involvemnt of the masses. Period.

33. “The blame for our crumbling mess of an infrastructure is due entirely to the BDLP..”

AND the THIEVING RACIST minorities with their minority rule…they are responsible for the dilapidation and degradation of the island….not a dime in reparations should be spent on any infrastructure in Barbados…..they still HAVE ALL THE MONEY THEY STOLE from the majority population…..let them rebuild…they just don’t want to see the Black/African population with anything, just like their house negros…

that’s why no one takes Hilary seriously, he earned himself the label of selling out to these same minority trash although knowing their hatred for African people and anything African and their LOVE for the destruction of black lives..

34. DonnaAugust 3, 2021 8:10 AM

If Verla can produce that evidence, then I will change my position on the referendum.

EVIDENCE PLEASE

Xxxxx

Did Mia produce evidence coming from the Advisory comittee
    That be said
    Xxxxxx
    U can always send the evidence request to her if u have any doubts as to what she has said
    Also along those lines u can send such request to Mia PM our illustrious PM who states that every citizen has a right to correspond with her
    Maybe u can access her private phone number through one of her associates or better yet go on govt website

35. Ding! Time for an epiphany.. to take your minds to the next higher level.. according to .. The Manual on the Use of the Human Nervous System According to the Instructions of the Manufacturers…

MENTAL BONDAGE IS REAL

(1) The first stage to free your mind is to feed your mind, use your mind and take control of your mind instead of letting your mind control you

(2) The People of Barbados need to visualise the healthiest version of themselves in the future and work towards that goal as a daily practise

This video is a must view / listen [all the way through to completion] to those who wish to accept (1) and (2) as their next mission in this lifetime

YOU HAVE FIVE YEARS TO LIVE…!

This was a subject matter discussed on the Underground (28/7) in Barbados and Worldwide on the net by the small BU family.

But, to switch it up a little, imagine yourself in 5 years as still being alive and living beyond then for many years not dying, imagine what you will be doing in 5 years as an ideal vision of yourself and then ground those emotions thoughts and feelings into yourself now and work towards it.

36. “No other groups currently residing in Barbados should directly or indirectly gain from reparations.”

didn’t i tell you about the Racist City they planned ot build up St. Lucy…their blue print is 16 years old or more, if UK was dumb Enuff to hand over 50 billion dollars to these thieves….none of it was to benefit the survivors of their criminal acts….total disrespect is being shown to our ancestors….and the beneficiaries…

mind you, they still have not developed a blue print to get rid of the colonial miseducation system or remove the people from the slave society, or build A REAL BRIDGE so descendants can access their AFRICAN BIRTHRIGHT…what the evil backward and wicked did was bend over and broke their backs to open doors for criminal mnorities on the continent….by the way, since then, their target area Nigeria just launched a digital currency,….so the Fintech scam from the criminal minorities is shit outta luck…Africa is not as gullible as they think..

37. “The only group who should directly benefit from reparations are Barbadian blacks, and I mean blacks in the purest sense. For it is this group who have never received any breaks since their ancestors were first brought to these shores.”

Truth is colour is insignificant as people are people and every one is the same and different and is an individual human being and everyone is equally important

38. “didn’t i tell you about the Racist City they planned ot build up St. Lucy…their blue print is 16 years old or more,”

Is there a link or a reference?7

39. This is old political talk. Now approved plan this was ever the case, in fact Kellman was the butt of jokes for promoting it.

40. It’s gone all quiet down there
    (except for the one star mark down by the usual peeper)

for clarification and disambiguation
    “Truth is colour is insignificant as people are people and every one is the same and different and is an individual human being and everyone is equally important”

.. should be added to the considerations of crimes to humankind that repugnant slavery and racism inflicted

which should be viewed as war, terror, torture, abuse, prejudice, discrimination of individuals on multiple counts over 500 years

reparations discussions get polluted on distribution which is secondary or tertiary to the primary aspects of establishing the precedence and scope of the legal case for consideration which will be followed up with the amounts of awards to be paid and the parties who are to pay them, the distribution of which is not even worth consideration until after completion of the legal argument and receivership of monies

Hilary has been commendable in his academic contributions to the primary step of documenting the whys and hows to proceed

41. “Is there a link or a reference?7”

there is a whole 40+ page document…it’s actually a lot more pages….time will see it exposed, since they believe they can maintain a slave society devised by UK and Europe and castigate them while doing the same…..tief reparations money and leave the descendants TRAPPED in the current cycle .to benefit themselves only……a nasty bunch, made worse because all the pretend elite pedigree they claim to have, they are all descended from the altantic slave trade more so than many whose bloodlines are indigenous to both the continent and the Americas or ya would hear them boasting all over the place….for the dumb fowl slaves, the Anericas INCLUDES the Caribbean..

42. Can someone answer, exactly WHAT IS THE BIG HURRY FOR REPARATIONS in this era…..when Africans descents have the OPTION to access their African birthright….

..they all should be more concerned with, hunting down and INVESTIGATING with a view to ARRESTING those responsibile for TIEFING billions of dollars from the Barbados economy….and relegating the majority population to generations of poverty….the THIEVES ARE STILL ON THE LOOSE to continue stealing from the people.

OUR DESCENDANTS can deal with the issue of reparations at any time during the next 100 YEARS……..AFTER all the thieves are dead…

43. My bad…it’s coming in October…no one needs small island minority criminals from the Caribbeanon OUR CONTINENT with their poison,,, trying to jump in front of African descendants….i only heard about it last week on one of the African platforms…

africa.cgtn.com › 2021/07/27 › nigeria-to-launch
    Jul 27, 2021 · FILE PHOTO: Nigeria’s Central Bank Governor Godwin Emefiele briefis the media during the MPC meeting in Abuja, Nigeria January 24, 2020. REUTERS/Afolabi Sotunde/File PhotoREUTERS Nigeria plans to launch its own crypto currency, called the “e-naira”, in October, its central bank governor said on Tuesday.

44. Angela Cox

Whataboutism! Tell me then, in your opinion, what is the difference between Mia and Verla? Not a scrap of evidence between the two of them?????

So…. I propose we keep the ‘devil’ we know.

What say you?

45. What govt say and what govt does two different ball games
    Or better yet a promise is comfort to a fool
    Evidence please
    Xxxxx

Call for citizens to propose constitutional changes to Republic Committee – by Barbados Today June 3, 2021
    Barbadians at home and throughout the Diaspora are being invited to submit their suggestions for the new constitution as the island prepares to assume republican status.

Persons are asked to submit their suggestions in written, audio and/or video formats in keeping with the committee’s mandate to engage members of the public in this historic transition effort.

Submissions, including audio and video clips under 10 minutes, can be emailed to republicconsultations@barbados.gov.bb or posted to The Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee, Cabinet Office, Government Headquarters, Bay Street, St. Michael.

The Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee (RSTAC) has been mandated by the Cabinet of Barbados to review the previous work done on the subject, including the 1979 report by the commission headed by Sir Mencea Cox and the 1998 report led by Sir Henry Forde. The RSTAC will also consult widely with citizens and national organizations and present its interim and final reports to the Cabinet of Barbados by June 30 and September 30, 2021 respectively.

Citizens, both on island and in the Diaspora, can also look forward to a series of themed public meetings and are reminded that, where physical attendance is facilitated, all COVID-19 protocols will be observed.

The RSTAC was established in 2021 to oversee the conversion of Barbados from a monarchical system to a republic. The committee, chaired by economist and former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr. Marion Williams, will discuss the responsibilities, rights and hopes of Barbadians, including the younger generation and those in the Diaspora. The committee will also address the issue of individual freedoms and will reinforce the values of religious, spiritual and racial tolerance on the island.

46. None of that is called for…just shut down slave society Barbados..

Let the African descendants WHO HAVE THE RIGHT OF CHOICE…THE RIGHT TO MAKE DECISIONS about their own LIVES……decide what they want to do and where they want the island to go from here, yall owe them REPARATIONS…yall TIEF THEIR MONEY…and their estates, land, hope, future…even of their UNBORN….etc

time to DRIVE A REAL BARGAIN…

47. THAT is your response? I guess those who believe DLP promises would also be fools????

“A promise is a comfort for a fool” does not specify DLP or BLP.

So…. if you want the vote for Verla –

EVIDENCE PLEASE!

P.S. I am not sure what I am supposed to glean from the information you posted.

48. And now for the one who, by his own admission, talks loud and says nothing.

In the 1950s, my mother was zealously thrashed by an outraged black teacher. for not singing God Save the Gracious Queen.

In the 1970s I am certain there was at least one black teacher who would have loved to do the same when I turned my back to the queen’s motorcade.

In 2021, I would bet you a large sum of money that there is no black teacher who would give a damn about either aand plenty of teachers who would applaud.

Bajans do not give a rat’s ass about the queen! The issue is being used politically.

All that is left to decide is what will be the changes to our constitution.

You can stay there in Whitemanland clinging desperately to the queen while speaking of mental enslavement.

Hilarious!

49. Space Continuum Timeline
    (1) 1627 Slavery
    (2) 1834 Emancipation
    (3) (1960’s Civil Rights in USA)
    (4) 1966 Independence
    (5) 2021 Republic

Where would you put Liberation of Bajans in the above chronological list
    would it be a number (6)
    or would it be after Reparations down the line

All the Way

50. This is circulating on Facebook/WhatsApp:

QUESTION : What is the REPUBLIC of Barbados?

ANSWER :

A Republic is a nation in which a person does NOT acquire the position of Head of State of the country solely because of their family background. Rather, in a Republic, the People of the country have a hand — either directly or indirectly–in a person’s elevation to the Head of State position.
    Right now, the Queen of England holds the position of Head of State of Barbados– with Governor General Dame Sandra being her subordinate or agent– simply because of the Queen’s family background. We, the people of Barbados, did not vote — either directly or indirectly — to make the Queen our Head of State.
    On the 30th of November 2021, the Parliament of Barbados– our House of Assembly and Senate– will remove the Queen from her position as Head of State of Barbados, and will instead elect a Bajan– possibly Dame Sandra– to be our Head of State. And that new Head of State will be known as the “President” of Barbados.
    The new President of Barbados will be indirectly selected by the people of Barbados, in light of the fact that it is us — the people of Barbados– who elect the Members of Parliament in our General Elections, and they — in turn– will be electing the President.
    The new Barbadian President will perform the same functions that Dame Sandra currently performs. But our new President will be performing these functions in her own right, and not as the subordinate or agent of the Queen of England.
    I, personally, would not be surprised if the combined House of Assembly and Senate choose Dame Sandra to be the very first President of Barbados– in light of the excellent job Dame Sandra has done as Governor General.
    In the new Republic of Barbados, the Prime Minister, the Government Ministers, and the other MPs will perform the same functions that they currently perform.
    But, our Government has indicated that come December 2021, our country will embark upon a very extensive people-based National Consultation in order to see if we — the people of Barbados– would like to make any additional changes to our system of Government, and to thereby improve our system of governance.

I HOPE YOU FIND THIS BRIEF EXPLANATION TO BE USEFUL.

Regards,

David Comissiong

P.S. If you did find it useful, please share with other persons who might be seeking info.

Wishful thinking:

“* I, personally, would not be surprised if the combined House of Assembly and Senate choose Dame Sandra to be the very first President of Barbados– in light of the excellent job Dame Sandra has done as Governor General. “
    “David.” Take your (Coolie) Ass) back to Saint Vincent and the Grenadines on the back of the first available Shark leaving the Wharf….

Leave a Reply to WURA-WAR-on-UCancel reply