Our coming transition to republican status is a proud moment for our country. As has been acknowledged before, it is not a slight to Her Majesty, Her Family or the UK, for which we have tremendous respect, but rather represents the ultimate statement of confidence in ourselves and our boundless capacity. Our commemoration of this moment comes at a particularly challenging time for our nation and world, and is thus a much needed, refreshing respite from our collective adversity.

What does not inspire pride however are the attempts by some to sow confusion by exploiting information deficits. Much of the conversation which has ensued has underpinned the need for the reintroduction of the teaching of civics in our schools, not only to foster a greater sense of pride in nationhood but to furnish our citizens with the content necessary to interpret the structures of our great democracy. 

It was made quite clear by the Government for some time that the form of Republic which we would adopt would be that proposed by the Forde Commission, which is itself similar to the model used in Trinidad and Dominica, two countries which have not been negatively impacted by their decades under a republican form of government. Barbados will thus have a Parliamentary Republic, with executive power remaining unchanged in the hands of the Cabinet, and with a President, performing a similar role to that of our Governor General, in terms of being the symbolic embodiment of the State and an impartial constitutional figure above the fray of partisan politics. 

It was also equally clear that the proposed President would be appointed by an Electoral College, comprising the two Houses of Parliament, similar to the Trinidad model. While some may query why this person will not be directly elected by the populace, it would be ultimately undesirable for occupants of this high constitutional office, intended to be untainted by partisan politics, to have to jockey for popular support in a small society in which such contests would no doubt be mired by partisanship, thus diminishing the impartial stature of the office.

Some wonder too why the election of our Head of State will be left to Parliament. In the first instance, the proposed Electoral College is undoubtedly more democratic than the present, somewhat opaque system where the Governor-General is appointed by Her Majesty on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. In the second instance, we live in a representative democracy, in which political power is devolved by the people to Parliament at intervals, and so we must allow our government to govern and our legislature to legislate, jobs which we empower them to do. 

In respect of the Electoral College, it is regrettable that the leader of a political party would conflate our proposed system with the US Electoral College. Clearly, an electoral college comprising Members of Parliament and Senators, a system which has been highly successful in various countries, is not at all comparable to the ‘winner-take-all’ popular vote-motivated state delegations which comprise the US Electoral College and which has led to anomalies over the years. Those who aspire to high office ought not to exploit information deficits to divide, but rather contribute to efforts to unify our country.

Much has been made of the level of consultation on this proposed move. None can deny that the issue of becoming a republic has been one of the most talked about in our nation over the years. The matter has been investigated by two Commissions, with the Forde Commission comprehensively outlining how we might take this step, and a proposed Constitution was drafted, after extensive and exhaustive consultation by that Commission which spanned town hall meetings, written submissions, private audiences with civil society actors and even visits to the diaspora abroad. There could not be a more comprehensive conception of consultation. 

Clearly though, there will need to be some minor modifications which will no doubt be the subject of consultations over the next few months and beyond. The fact remains that all civil society actors support this move, as well as the overwhelming majority of the populace. To hold a referendum, which has a cost attached, in the midst of this consensus would be an inefficient use of resources at a time when government has more urgent calls on the public purse. 

Finally, combining Independence Day and Republic Day is wise, to avoid the productivity losses caused by a proliferation of bank holidays. Equally, to promote the inclusive celebration of all steps on our journey of nationhood, It may be wise to rename November 30, the Day of Nationhood or Barbados Day.

In sum, the time has long past for continued gymnastics over the decision to become a Republic. Clearly, the time has come, in large measure the overarching institutional frameworks are there ready to be operationalised, and so what remains is our collective conscious determination to grasp with both hands the command of our own destiny, as we seek to continually strengthen our democracy, of which the Republic is but one step. 

131 responses to “An Idea Whose Time Has Come”

1. Why you fucking the clowns in your circus
    playing devils ad
    in the pandemic niggas can get it
    then you know you fucking with the clowns in the circus
    Sorry Not Sorry

2. Yuh think so

Right move, wrong day – by Anesta Henry July 31, 2021
    Former Government Minister Hamilton Lashley is pleased that Barbados will finally become a republic but is not impressed that the swearing-in of the country’s first president will take place on Independence Day.

He has suggested that Emancipation Day, which is celebrated on August 1, is the best day for the historic move.

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley announced earlier this week that on the 55th Anniversary of Independence on November 30 this year, Barbados’ first non-executive president will be sworn in, after being elected by the electoral college of both Houses of Parliament.

Lashley said that many times during his stint in Parliament he made urgent calls for Barbados to shift from a monarchical structure, mindful that republican status would make Barbadians proud.

However, he said, November 30 is the wrong day for Barbados to mark the accomplishment of attaining republican status, as that would destroy the true meaning and symbolism of Independence Day which he said is one of the most significant days in the country’s history.

“We should not have Republic Day on the same day as Independence Day. Those are two outstanding achievements for Barbados by two outstanding Prime Ministers. Therefore, let each have its space and its relevance in the Barbadian society. I think it would be very wrong for us to celebrate Republic Day on Independence Day. Independence should maintain its status and its relevance in Barbados as it is, and also Republic Day,” Lashley insisted.

“Adult suffrage – Grantley Adams, Independence – Errol Walton Barrow, and Republic Day – Mia Amor Mottley. These are three outstanding days for Barbados. Why would you want to cover one on top of the other? It doesn’t make any sense.”

The former Parliamentarian said the move towards republican status is a step towards making Barbadians feel prouder of their identity as a people.

He therefore recommended Emancipation Day as the day for Barbados to mark the move to a republic.

Lashley argued that from the limited activities and celebrations on Emancipation Day, Barbadians do not treat the day which is observed as part of the annual Season of Emancipation as significant.

“People get up on the morning and put on their African wear. Then they travel from point A to point B and sing ‘We Shall Overcome’ with a leaf between their teeth. And then at 11 o’clock, 12 o’clock, except for a few events on evenings, there is no significance of Emancipation Day. And, therefore, this is a wonderful time that we could use Emancipation, with us as a republican state.

“To give Emancipation more status and more relevance… we can fuse the day together. Emancipation is the idea of the spirit of the people who struggled for freedom,” Lashley said.

Xxxxx x
    When all is said and done
    Mottley idea of using Independence Day for Barbados to become a Republic
    Shows the deceitful vindictive and shameless nature of her character
    Which OSA was quick to tell all of Barbados about

3. So…be seen and not heard, young man! Give me a break! Did anybody say that when David Thompson appeared on the scene?

Some of you old codgers are stuck in a negative rut. It often happens with age.

We need the freshness of the young or we shall remain in the rut.

Speak, young man! I shall not liken you unto any attack dog as all I see you do is express your opinion, to which you are entitled.

Some people are slaves to the Animal Farm narrative. As though it is inevitable.

I will continue to be alert to the possiblity but I will not prejudge.

4. This video has been circulated across social media many times over
    However at this point and time of another birthing of Barbados history and the person in charge of the birth
    It is of most importance that this video is circulated again
    A video which unravels and gives clues to the character of Mia Mottley
    Once described as a Devil in White by those most closer to her

Drum roll please

https://youtu.be/DXOA43ysP6I

5. So… Owen mout is a Bible?

And even that has to be taken with a heap of salt!

Or especially that! Not very fair to women from chapter one. It judges women more harshly, assigns them subservient roles and blames them for everything that goes wrong in the world, even the missteps of men.

Come to think of it- Owen mout IS a Bible! Misogynistic by today’s enlightened standards.

6. Or perhaps….he was only correct or truthful in two instances – when he spoke well of Errol Barrow and when he spoke poorly of Mia Mottley?

Every other utterance was mistaken or misleading.

Oh dear!

🙄

7. Republic: a state in which supreme power is held by the people and their elected representatives, and which has an elected or nominated president rather than a monarch.

Will we have a system that gives power to the people other than the illusion/farce or one vote every 4-5 years ona date at the Prime Minister’s choosing?

Was November 30 chosen by accident or is the left hand of the duopoly seeking to paralyze the right hand?

your opening comment was correct. 75% or more of Bajans don’t have a clue about what transitioning to a Republic means, but, the 2% of political class that understand legacy and the power of recorded history most certainly do.

@Donna
    Was Owen being bad minded or blatantly frank?

Just observing

8. I find that most men AND women judge assertive women more harshly than they do men. There are double standards in every aspect for men and for women, more so among older people.

Take BU for instance.

We have people like John and GP talking about “brawling women” and Bush Tea talking disparagingly about how he does not bother to argue with women as though we have half of a brain. And holding the view that women should not be in charge.

I speak of my experiences.

Let us look at sex! Men are lauded for loose sex while women are called whores. It is changing but it hasn’t changed.

9. Not only were OSA mouth on Mottley blatantly clear and also his emotions which described a person feeling anguish for what Mia had done to him in the past and how her actions towards Maria demonstrated her true characteristics

Xxx Why of all the days in the Year and the many Holidays fro.m which Mia could have picked
    Was Independence day chosen
    From the day Mia laid a plaque representing the memory of the right Hon. Errol Barrow and within that plaque her name was encrypted I got the most sunken feeling that Mia was on a mission to undermine Barrows legacy
    Hence the NIS building and now wanting to undo the legacy of the first PM that gave Barbados Independence
    Many might say her action doesn’t matter
    But for many it does manner since her actions seems to be speaking louder than her words

10. @Ac
    I see it….
    “Why of all the days in the Year and the many Holidays fro.m which Mia could have picked
    Was Independence day chosen
    From the day Mia laid a plaque representing the memory of the right Hon. Errol Barrow and within that plaque her name was encrypted I got the most sunken feeling that Mia was on a mission to undermine Barrows legacy
    Hence the NIS building and now wanting to undo the legacy of the first PM that gave Barbados Independence
    Many might say her action doesn’t matter
    But for many it does manner since her actions seems to be speaking louder than her words”

The Hijacked Resume
    Is Republic day meant to erase
    Mr Barrow from our history page
    It is clear it is your intent
    To place your name on Barrow’s monument
    You were so eager and so willing
    To remove the last trace of the NIS building
    If you was really a woman with confidence
    You would embark on a journey of substance
    Instead of transporting bones to Africa
    Or disturbing the bones of the “Dipper”
    Woman go choose another day
    Don’t destroy others to pad you resume

11. @ Tron July 30, 2021 10:07 AM
    I see you found your sharpening stone, “KILLER KNIFE” satire. I assume the President for LIFE has to be of “Proven” African Decent and of “Proven” MALE gender.

Let Humpty Dumpty ride again.

12. Theo
    I titled your poem
    The Naked Truth

13. Steupse! Republicanism COMPLETES THE INDEPENDENCE PROCESS. Symbolically, of course.

You people are nitpickers with nothing better to do.

Really!

14. Some one commented that men can be very disrespectful to woman
    The same can be said of women in high power who treat women employees in disparaging manner
    Mottley did the same to Maria and sat on the sidelines and allowed some of her senior members and foot soldiers some of whom were women to show torrid disrespect for Maria
    Reason why OSA was as openly vocal in his mouthings towards Mia
    One can bet that any of the woman in her cabinet show actions which she perceived as not towing the line their a.sses would be treated in like manner as Marie Agard

15. I will wager a bet that if a vote was taken across Barbados as whether Independence Day would be a good choice for Barbados to become a Republic
    The majority would say a different day is acceptable

16. Case and point
    Maria Agard brings her case to the public
    Please note that during the conflict a Mia was leader of the blp

Xxxxxxxxxx

https://youtu.be/6fE7hYLT3A8

17. OSA called Mia a controlling freak who wanted to treat him like a yard boy stinging and indictment words which he never apologized to Mia for saying
    Words like despot .megalomaniac all which he left as record and memorabilia which can be gazed on for many generations
    His last years on this earth he gave to country as a representative for his people
    But won’t be surprised if Mia takes full credit for bringing him out of retirement
    To that I say wrong
    OSA loved Barbados and when it mattered to do something good for his country he was willing and able
    Xxxxxxx
    The story of the mistreatment of Maria Agard is truly an eye-opener and when place alongside OSACharacterization of Mia tells a story of Mia who can be dubbed ” “by any means necessary “

18. I agree with you Angela Cox.

I was surprised that the columnist believed it was wise to combine the two days together in order to limit the financial losses for businesses. This is an insult to our ancestors. Both days should be kept separate and it should be mandatory for all Barbados businesses to close on these two days. This would allow our nation to reflect on the lives of the enslaved who created this nation.

Surely the suffering and the lives of our ancestors who in death were dumped unceremoniously in the ground without fanfare deserve at least two days of recognition.

National holidays are central to all country’s histories and should never be trivialised. That nobody has mentioned this speaks volumes for the lack of awareness of most Barbadians.

19. TLSN
    It is all about legacy building
    A coup by any other name is still a coup
    Mia must have been living such a dream for lol.many years
    And now giving the opportunity she would not let it go
    Another reason. Why she donned her despotic hat and shut her ears and eyes to what the people might have wanted
    Imagine when the whole nation should be rallying around this day of History and Barbados becoming a Republic
    Mia name takes the spotlight for all the wrong reasons
    oSA words once again ring true describing Mia character as one notbto be trusted

20. @ Observing July 31, 2021 11:59 AM

It would be a mistake to believe that greater freedoms would come with the republic. On the contrary.

In the Westminster system, the parliament is the sovereign, not the queen or the people.

In a presidential republic along the lines of the USA, South America, Russia, China or Turkey, the people may be the sovereign in formal legal terms, but de facto sovereignty lies with the president.

21. Blah blah blah!

Keep fretting!

22. @AC 5:37 – 6:57
    I see it…

A heroine or cuckoo bird
    ——-——–+——–
    Why should there be a confrontation
    Between the heroes of our nation
    When there is till room on the podium
    For another man or a woman
    You know the Dipper earned his place
    But you wish to make it a one woman race
    Being petty and full of jealousy
    Believing winning an election lets you rewrite history
    Before you sit and spin your own tale
    Please remember history has its own scale
    You will be judged on your own weight
    And not by the story you wish to narrate
    Do put aside your pencil and eraser
    Stop destroying and be a creator
    Use this time to build your own nest
    Let the Dipper be at peace in his rest

May be heading home in a few weeks…

23. Will our forthcoming Republic have a policy on seeking reparations from the mother country?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/aug/01/anger-as-poland-plans-law-that-will-stop-jews-reclaiming-wartime-homes

24. Old Bajans on BU will be known as the Inbetweeners in Bajan History

Buy the T-Shirt
    2021 – 1966 = 55

The Independent to Republic Nation was a 55 year process

Now the next generation will be a new beginning in the next chapter in the Book of Bajan Life

25. What does going a republic have to do with the call for reparations?

26. Shedding light on the republic issue
    By Gercine Carter
    gercinecarter@nationnews.com

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has told Barbadians the country will definitely be “a parliamentary republic by November 30, Independence Day”.
    The proposal that the island, now approaching its 55th year of independence, should transition from a constitutional monarchy to a republic had long been mooted.
    In 1979, the Cox Commission on the Constitution was charged with studying the feasibility of introducing a republican system of government. However, based on the public response, that commission concluded that Barbadians preferred to maintain the constitutional monarchy.
    The republican issue was again floated in 1994 when in its manifesto, the Barbados Labour Party proposed a referendum on the subject and followed through by setting up a Constitution Review Commission chaired by (Sir) Henry Forde to review the Constitution of Barbados, in 1998. The other Commission members were Norma Forde, senior lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies; the late Daryll Jordan, former principal of St Lucy Secondary School; former Attorney General Sir Maurice King; late public servant Ivan Lynton; late senior lecturer in economics at the UWI, Wendell McClean; graduate of McGill University and Caribbean Rhodes Scholar Melanie Newton; late former executive director of Barbados Employers’ Confederation, Thomas Roach, who was replaced by the late Sir John Goddard and the late Reverend Leonard Rock of the Barbados Christian Council.
    Speaking at celebrations marking the Day of National Significance last week, Mottley finally announced: “The Cabinet has accepted the recommendations of the Forde Commission with minor modifications [and] our parliamentary republic shall have a non-executive president.”
    “We will make amendments to facilitate that transition to a new President to be sworn in on that day of November 30 of this year and that in so doing, we start from December 1 the journey of the settlement of the new Constitution of Barbados which will be the subject of extensive consultation and communication with the people of this nation.
    “The conversation will be led by the Republic Transition Advisory Committee, along with other members of civil society and Government. There must be a Charter of Barbados that is established and brought to our Parliament before November 30, such that we enter the morning of November 30 committed to the essence of who we are.”
    The Prime Minister’s announcement has evoked mixed reactions from the Barbadian public, with a sector of the people contending there should have been a referendum on the matter before the decision was made.
    The referendum question was raised from the outset of the discussion of Barbados adopting republican status. A Referendum Bill did in fact have its first reading in Parliament on October 10, 2000, but was not carried over, with the dissolution of Parliament just before General Election of 2003.
    Referendum Bill
    In 2005, the Government announced its intention to hold a referendum on the issue and a Referendum Bill was introduced in February 2005 and passed into law in October 2005. What is clear is that past administrations of both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party had, at various times, touted the idea that the republican system of governance was best for Barbados.
    Last week, responding to the Prime Minister’s decision to go with the recommendations of the Commission he headed, Sir Henry Forde, now 88, told the Sunday Sun: “I am delighted that we will be standing on our own feet and finding our way in the world and showing people the world over what a well-governed country we are and I hope we will be able to influence countries around the world who go for revolution.”
    The Forde Commission’s report of 1998 had recommended that Barbados’ system of government “should be a parliamentary republic with the Head of State being the President. Executive power should continue to be exercised by a Cabinet, with the Head of Government being the Prime Minister.”
    It added: “The advantage of this system is that it replaces the monarch
    with an elected president, while simultaneously retaining the present relationship between the formal Head of State and the executive arm of government. This system was the choice of almost everyone who gave evidence before us on this subject. Little support was found for the presidential system of government as represented by either the American or Guyanese models.” This recommendation had come after extensive public and private hearings.
    The Forde Commission had recommended that: “The Head of State of Barbados should be a President . . . The President should hold office for a fixed term of seven years…The person holding the office of Governor General at the commencement of the reformed Constitution should hold the office of President under the new Constitution until a President is elected.” It is not yet known whether the last recommendation mentioned here will be among those accepted in a new proposed scheme for the transition to a republic.
    The Forde Commission also recommended that: “The House of Assembly should be constituted an Electoral College and should meet as a unicameral body for the purpose of electing the President.”
    In her announcement last week, Mottley said: “The President shall be elected by the Electoral College of both Houses of Parliament and that President shall be entitled to serve initially for a period of four years and thereafter can be appointed for another term.”
    With regard to the executive and the Constitution, the Forde Commission had said in its report: “The main concern expressed by the overwhelming majority of those who appeared before the commission to offer their views on the topic of the executive was in relation to the perception that the present Constitution concentrates excessive power in the hands of the holder of the office of Prime Minister.
    “It was noted that such power stretches over the entire gamut of governmental and political activity, starting with the conventional arrangement where the Sovereign appoints the Governor General on the advice of her Barbados Ministers, a determination no doubt initiated by a Prime Minister . . . Prime Ministerial power extends to the appointment of the Chief Justice, and the judges of the Supreme Court.”
    Last week the Prime Minister said the “settlement” of the new Constitution of Barbados “will be the subject of extensive consultation and communication with the people of this nation.”

27. This message was submitted by Trevor Prescod, Special Envoy for Reparations and Economic Enfranchisement in the Office of the Prime Minister.

Emancipation to republic

As Emancipation Day approaches this year we reflect on the changing face of governance in Barbados and what that changing face meant and means for average Barbadians.
    When the first sitting of the House of Assembly took place in 1639, some 14 years after the island had been claimed for the English crown, it was governed by an oligarchy of wealthy white landowners. For the next two hundred years, Blacks in Barbados, who had become the vast majority following the sugar revolution of the 1650s, had absolutely no say in the governance of the island. In fact, they had very little say in their own lives as they were considered little more than ‘beasts of burden’ by law and practice.
    Three hundred years would pass before the majority black population could have some direct say in governance through universal adult suffrage in 1951. All this time, the island for the most part, remained a British colony with the Queen of England at the head, represented by a Governor on the island.
    Then in 1966, inhabitants of the island, for the second time claimed their sovereignty; the first time being in 1651. Even as the island was deemed a sovereign state in 1966, the Queen of England remained its constitutional head, a political construct that maybe only Britain and her loyal subjects could truly make sense of.
    Swear allegiance
    This is a situation where elected representatives of the people, elected by the people, have to swear allegiance to a foreign sovereign; where the leaders of civil society and the security forces have to swear allegiance to a foreigner. Ponder on this fellow Barbadians, the head of your sovereign state is not a fellow Barbadian, but rather the monarch of your former colonial and slave masters, almost 55 years after your independence and almost 200 years after your emancipation.
    Surely, emancipation must be more than the mere removal of chains and shackles for a people who were subjected to system and society that rendered them sub-human beasts of burden and the property of others, who had no say in the supposed democracy that Barbados was.
    Surely as a sovereign people our minds must be emancipated enough
    by now to see that something must be wrong, when our civil leadership and security forces have to swear allegiance to the figure head of our former colonial and slave masters.
    Is it not time that our leaders and security forces swear their allegiance to you the people; and to a ceremonial or figurehead that comes from among you the people?
    So, on this Emancipation Day, let us take time to reflect on the changing face of governance, the meaning of emancipation and the prospects of becoming a Republic.
    In so doing we should first ponder what it means to be a republic.
    We suggest to you that it is first and foremost what we the people deem it to be. As such we have a duty and responsibility in this the age of information, to apprise ourselves of what it means to be a republic. We suggest to you that it means that Barbados could no longer be an oligarchy as it was before universal adult suffrage and in some ways continues to be even after independence.
    We suggest to you that being a republic means that all are truly subject to the rule of law and that the laws represent justice and fairness to all and are shaped, by the will of all.
    In the context of our history and in dignified reflection on our society, we suggest to you that becoming a republic means bringing an end to the allegiance of our leaders to our former slave and colonial masters.

28. “We suggest to you that it means that Barbados could no longer be an oligarchy as it was before universal adult suffrage and in some ways continues to be even after independence.
    We suggest to you that being a republic means that all are truly subject to the rule of law and that the laws represent justice and fairness to all and are shaped, by the will of all.
    In the context of our history and in dignified reflection on our society, we suggest to you that becoming a republic means bringing an end to the allegiance of our leaders to our former slave and colonial.”

I get the last suggestion. That has been repeated over and over. What will be done to accomplish the first two. Please explain.

29. On the subject of Emancipation
    How is it that some important new items in our small islands are not seen or mention in local media
    For example
    The people of St. Vincent staging protest against the govt

https://fb.watch/76dthxo_CC/

30. Not taking a position; just repeating the history as stated above

1974 – the people say no
    1994 – referendum proposed in a manifesto
    1998 – a Constitution Review Committee met and recommendations were made . Most committee members have since passed on.
    2000 – A Referendum Bill has its first reading in Parliament, but was not carried over, with the dissolution of Parliament just before General Election of 2003.
    2005 – the Government announced its intention to hold a referendum on the issue and “a Referendum Bill was introduced in February 2005 and passed into law in October 2005”

2021 – No discussion, no referendum, Nov 30 and we done

31. Here waiting to read EA on this matter.
    It will be funny when he mentions Margaret Thatcher. He works her into everything he writes.

32. @TheOGazerts,
    When talking about matters in Barbados it would be best to adopt my father’s mantra:
    Hear no evil……see no evil…….speak no evil

33. Emancipation and Reparations
    Barbados is still in process of getting it’s freedom of independence from it’s legacy and history of abuse

which will be a brand new starting point for a journey beginning November 30 2021
    but other countries have had their own independence and freedom for many many moons decades and centuries

Barbados will no longer be copying other places and faces but will start to be itself and will define itself

34. @TLSN

In cases you missed the question posed earlier- how does moving to a republic as described by the PM interfere with the call for reparations?

35. The people of St.vincent speaking with loud voices

https://youtu.be/r_Ust6Q1sF0

36. Article No.2 must surely suggest how this is to be achieved. If, “Conrade Prescod” expects us to take him seriously, he must tell us what in the new constitution will rid us of these “white shadows” he promised to tell us all about many months ago before his mouth was muzzled by money.

There is no abracadabra, open sesame power in the word “republic”.

Will we the people have, say, the power to recall, perhaps?

This five year shutting out of the people is not working. Five years is more than enough for filling nests. They don’t need more than five for that.

We must keep them unsure and uncomfortable.

37. Barbados media
    Question are u being stifled and bamboozled into decision making

38. Theo Gazzerts

2021 – No discussion, no referendum, Nov 30 and we done

Xxxxxxxxcxx

Dictatorship at work

39. @Donna

A good recall. Every man must be fed.

40. @Donna
    We have people like John and GP talking about “brawling women” and Bush Tea talking disparagingly about how he does not bother to argue with women as though we have half of a brain. And holding the view that women should not be in charge.
    +++++++++
    What Bush Tea talking What??!!
    Bush Tea has to be PAST TENSE… talkED…
    Besides, he actually said he did not argue with women, children or fools….. 🙂

41. Ralphie can’t hide no more the world seeing what is happening in Saint Vincent

42. Ha! I flushed you out!

Not bad, for a woman!

😉

I do recall you made an exception for me, in the woman’s category, not the fool’s.

And since you admitted that you support the BLP, at present, the better choice, does that also mean you have made an exception for Ms. Mottley with respect to women in charge?

Or does she not qualify as a woman?

Well then, how about Ms. Bradshaw?

How long is Mia’s holiday?

P.S. How are the women doing so far? And how about that New Zealand woman! How does she stack up against that er… MAN, DONALD TRUMP? How about BOLSANARO? Boris Johnson, Modi?

You could be excused for not answering. You can pretend it is simply in keeping with your new policy.

43. St. Vincent
    No joking
    What say yea David

44. Bush Tea has to be PAST TENSE… talkED…

Nope you are speaking in the PRESENT time and place in space (on 1st August 2021) so you are very much alive on planet earth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_tGfKagS_M

45. angela coxAugust 1, 2021 11:45 AM

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

Mia Character fully exposed

By Hal Austin

A good record of the Mottley junta. But this is not new. Some of us have been saying for years – in fact since May 25, 2018 – that Mottley is not a democrat. Some people say she is authoritarian, which is true to a certain extent. More than that, we have to go back to the ancient world to get a character like Mottley, someone who believes she has a divine right to lead Barbados, who sees this little island as being too small for her, just a stepping stone to her historical greatness. Everytime she talks about being world class, what she is really saying is that SHE is world class. She has no respect for our history, our institutions or our democracy. Those who see this as a party political issue, are mistaken. It is more than that, much more. Those who think she will be prime minister for more than one term are also misguided. I first called Mottley the ‘President’ because I realised after one week (the default) her political character went back to the Ancients. She has a small clique around her, many of whom she knew before she entered active politics. They are courtiers, who are there to carry out her wishes. She has perfected the art of buying time: appointing rivals and opponents to jobs and committees; giving the business class what it calls for; trading off trade unions leaders; and neutralising the press by holding them close to her (CBC, the Nation and Barbados Today) and marginalising, or trying to, the so-called social media by attempting to rubbish everything they say. I am sure that behind her gesticulation and bluster stand advisers such as Cambridge Analytica or other Anglo-American spin doctors who are as corrupt as executioners as any. We know all this, yet, given his apparent intelligence, Guy Hewitt thinks it necessary and appropriate to stir up internal problems in the DLP for inexplicable reasons. His behaviour is beyond understanding. Instead of working with the leader to expose the fraudulence of the Mottley government, he (and his amoral supporters) allows himself to be led by an inflated ego. This is a serious battle

46. So…. Ha Ha’s mout is a Bible????

All Ha Ha exposes is his own character.

47. Thought you Angela Cox saw no problem with Guy Hewitt.

🤦🏽‍♂️

48. DonnaAugust 1, 2021 12:30 PM

Thought you Angela Cox saw no problem with Guy Hewitt.

🤦🏽‍♂️

Xxxxxxxxx

What is your problem
    Where did u find in the article I had any problem or even commented on what was said
    Xxxx
    Seems as if u have found a new hobby of shooting at fish in the dark

49. Not only shooting, hitting. I am having fish for lunch.

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply