Sitting in a vehicle trapped in traffic on the highways and byways of Barbados any hour of the day has become a permanent inconvenience. The inability of authorities past and present, public and private, to effectively implement and enforce measures to address this and other woes. The problem of chronic gridlock on our roads is symptomatic of a crisis of governance.

Does the National Productivity Council still exist? How many hours are flushed daily because of idle time spent sitting in traffic by citizens who are gainfully employed?

Is the oil import bill still north of 700 million dollars? How many millions of dollars can be saved were an efficient transportation system to be implemented?

How many of the fossil powered vehicles are registered and what percentage represent electric or hybrid vehicles? How does this translate to Barbados becoming a 100 percent green and carbon neutral island by 2030?

There is the challenge to repair one of the most dense network of roads in the world made more challenging by more than 100,000 registered vehicles. This is not sustainable given limited foreign exchange resources.

The Barbados Court System was described as in danger of collapsing under its weight by Attorney General Dale Marshall. Is it fair to suggest to whom it should concern that the chaos on the roads is accentuating the problem?

The pandemic has forced providers to change how products and services are being delivered to the public. Eighteen months later the Barbados Licensing Authority and Barbados Revenue Authority are good examples of two government agencies responsible for administering road traffic being overwhelmed by the volume.

Insurance companies have reported to be paying out over 25 million dollars annually in claims. The number does not include unreported damage below the deductible or from non insured vehicle owners. Car parts are imported.

The decision by successive governments to pass on increases of the price of petrol to consumers has been a contentious issue given the inflationary impact on the economy. Recently an attempt – originating in the social media space – to buy petrol one litre at a time failed but it highlighted the thirst for fossil fuel is real.

If the analogy is borrowed to define how affairs of state is managed to compare with a system which is defined as – an interrelated set of components working together for a purpose – then the consequences of connecting the dots as it pertains to our dysfunctional transportation system is clear. It is a useful exercise to connect the dots for yourself.

What did you conclude?

214 responses to “Dots, Dots, Dots and More Dots”

1. @Artax

Based on historical performance by government the answer is no. These big players have government by the curlies.

Listen at 42 minutes of this video.

https://youtu.be/mqQS00yp0ZY

2. Artax,

The farmers were mostly old codgers set in their ways. Very resistant to change and I can tell you for a fact that the Ministry and the BADMC did try. And they refused to form co-ops or partnerships to pool resources. The St. George Co-op does very well.

The young people will use the technology. And they are not averse to collaborating and pooling resources.

Saw an article recently highlighting a young lady who is bringing in the green houses and control systems for sale. I plan to get one eventually but I wanted to master the old way as back up. I don’t want to be like the young people who cannot add without a calculator. What happens when the technology is unavailable?

3. How about that NUPW lawd have mercy speaking of the mother pig eating its own
    Sounds like all of the same except that that the pig is a bore called Akanni
    Boy what goes around comes around

4. lol Angela not rewarded??? Cubans are capitalists they work hard energetic and enterprising, why would they want to be stuck in the democrat plantation getting handouts ..

5. They have access to more govt handouts than blacks
    Reason being they vote and put people in places to see and protect their interests
    Black Americans In Miami have literally being sold out by those who they have voted for
    Since 1970 when the massive Cuban immigration took hold of Miami rather than the black politicians hold fast in a fight for black interest most of them look at the Cubans as a vote
    But they were fooled as the Cubans only take care of their own as a unified power to gain power
    The black politicians cross over on the Cuban side as helpers for their caused
    The Cubans grabbed hold of the opportunity which help them to elevate to a high level of political and economic success

6. Every steam factory in the early 1900’s was a Cooperative effort.

Warrens factory for example was properly named Warrens Cooperative Factory Limited.

My Grandfather in Christ Church owned shares in it in 1the 1940’s.

Cooperatives were common among all the old codgers in the past, dating way back to days of the Quakers.

7. The reason for Coops in the era of conversion to steam power was because capital needed to be raised and Coops shared the risk.

It also committed landowners to the supply of their canes to their Coop.

Coops only work if there is profit to be made and risk needs to be shared.

Capitalism 101!!

8. @david, have you seen this I am told Barbados also bought this spyware https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-57881364

9. @Sherlock

We know this how?

10. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Sherlock
    Probably some other government or three letter agency spying on our citizens but not the Barbados government.

Our government is not smart or stupid enough to use this without getting caught the first week they have it and they also would not want it used against themselves either.

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The dots we need to connect all lead to one place…

Our biggest mistake is electing 30 Member of Parliaments every 5 years to rule us and willing giving them total free reign to do as they please in our names without permanent limitations, controls or oversight in place at all levels from the constitutional level downward to prevent them from abusing the power we put in their hands if it later turns out we made a bad selection.

12. There are indeed profits to be shared. Maybe not excessive profits like the white man always seems to crave but profits sufficient for the non-greedy.

13. Critical Analyzer Avatar

First, we need is to start from scratch with a Constitutional Republic based on a completely rewritten constitution and supporting laws based on these three pillars Freedom of Choice, Personal Responsibility and Financial Maturity.

Secondly, party politics is destroying our country so we need to change parliament’s structure such that party affiliations are no longer recognised and hence no parliamentary opposition would exist. ONLY 30 member of parliaments representing 30 constituencies. Serving two masters, party and electorate, has been at the root of many a problem.

Finally, we can elect a president and vice president that is not any of the MPs to be the face of the country on the international stage with certain powers and limitations set out by the constitution.

14. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Donna July 19, 2021 7:00 AM
    If we start mediocre, we will end mediocre.

We as a people are too content with earning two pieces of silver so we can qualify to borrow two pieces of gold from the same people repackaging and selling our labor and products for 4 pieces of gold because we lack the vision to see the true potential in our skills and what we can produce.

15. @CA

Who is we, who will run with the changes to the Constitution?

16. Angela…..the Cubans grabbed hold of opportunities isnt that what I said, …now that your govt has aligned itself with the communist party and feel your little speck can scold the USA, you have to feel your making your bed with china.

17. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Our agriculture needs to go in a direction where every last piece of food we produce in Barbados is to the standard that it would be 100% certified organic if tested and we are producing at least enough locally to sustain all our basic food needs if we were cut off from the world.

Organic food and sustainable farming practices such as regenerative farming are where all the current and future profits lie and that is something we can easily restructure to do very well.

The spinoff effect will be next to zero harmful pesticides and chemicals in our environment including our ground water, reduction in NCDs and our tourist numbers will flourish.

18. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David July 19, 2021 7:52 AM

Who is we, who will run with the changes to the Constitution?

We is we. We define the principle pillars via submissions town halls and consultations, reduced and consolidated them to a list of 10 or less and have a national referendum to select the final pillars.

We have tons of lawyers to rewrite the constitution to follow these pillars and put it out there for review and debate by the country before final approval.

We have tons of laws currently on the books so that review and changes can follow later but an expedited process can be put in place to quickly determine if a law someone is trying to use goes against the new constitution and should or should not apply.

19. @Critical
    Fourthly, if anyone turns up as a DEA agent, they should be arrested immediately and information gathered.

How do you run around masqueraded as a DEA agent in the Haitian Republic?The Haitian authorities gave some foreign entity too much power.

20. To rephrase, who will initiate the change. You are referring to process. Who will be the change agent?

21. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Lawson July 19, 2021 7:55 AM
    It’s called punching above our weight class and we love to do that.

22. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David July 19, 2021 8:21 AM

The only person capable of starting the process is our PM as she is the one pushing for a republic. If we going republic, we should punch above our weight class and go for the whole hog.

Anyone else trying to start the process is simply a governance conversation topic.

23. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@TheOGazerts July 19, 2021 8:21 AM

How do you run around masqueraded as a DEA agent in the Haitian Republic?The Haitian authorities gave some foreign entity too much power.

That is the MO of professionally planned operations. They are going to pretend to be members of law enforcement and various well-known government agencies so gullible and people ignorant of laws and jurisdictions will not report suspicious behavior to the authorities. By the time the people figure out something strange is happening, they are long gone.

I would point you to some podcasts and websites where conspiracy theories are plentiful but I would not want you to sleep under your bed at night.

24. Critical Analyzer,

You equate reasonable profits rather than excessive profits with mediocre???

Excessive profits are made only through unethical exploitation.

I have no wish to be a part of that.

P.S. The clue was in the use of the words “excessive” and “greedy”.

25. But I do agree with your way forward for agriculture.

26. LawsonJuly 19, 2021 7:55 AM

Angela…..the Cubans grabbed hold of opportunities isnt that what I said, …

Xxxxx
    This is what u said

LawsonJuly 18, 2021 3:40 PM

lol Angela not rewarded??? Cubans are capitalists they work hard energetic and enterprising, why would they want to be stuck in the democrat plantation getting handouts ..

27. Critical AnalyzerJuly 19, 2021 7:59 AM

Our agriculture needs to go in a direction where every last piece of food we produce in Barbados is to the standard that it would be 100% certified organic if tested and we are producing at least enough locally to sustain all our basic food needs if we were cut off from the world.

Organic food and sustainable farming practices such as regenerative farming are where all the current and future profits lie and that is something we can easily restructure to do very well.

The spinoff effect will be next to zero harmful pesticides and chemicals in our environment including our ground water, reduction in NCDs and our tourist numbers will flourish.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If chemicals are to be eliminated then sugar cane needs to be reinstated as a cover crop,

That was its original use.

… unless there is a way of convincing Bajans to keep the ground clean.

With 22,000 unemployed Bajans you might think it would be easy but I guarantee you it isn’t.

Have not got the mentality.

Cassava can sometimes suppress weeds but every other food cultivated I can think of requires serious weed control.

Not necessary to harvest the cane and process sugar, just intercrop, harvest the food, and mulch everything left back into the earth.

28. Et tu, Brute – a dagger?

CITE ME FOR plagiarism if you will, but I am going to quote from the contribution of Thursday July 1 column in the DAILY NATION from Tennyson Joseph of the University of the West Indies.
    “It is not well known, but one of the objectives of the G7/OECD between 1995 and 1998, was to pursue a ‘Multi-lateral Agreement on Investments’ which sought, according to Wikipedia ‘to establish a new body of universal investment laws that would grant corporations unconditional rights to engage in financial operations around the world without any regard to national laws and citizens rights.’ “All of this demands intellectual clarity and uniformity of purpose among the region’s ‘political class’. One section cannot applaud the loss sovereignty and bemoan it tomorrow. The OECD should not be more united in undermining our sovereignty than we are in safeguarding it.”
    The quotations have been taken from an article titled, Biden’s G7 and re-colonisation.
    Fighting for sovereignty
    There is also a contribution in the NATION newspaper headed Tax brains working on answer to G7. One editorial in the newspapers talks about fighting for our sovereignty. But the unkindest cut of all came from the country up north whose New York and Nevada operations should have given cause for not participating in such shenanigan?
    It may be tempting to talk about re-colonisation because when we were struggling to survive with export of sugar and bananas, up came the United States with their investments in Ecuador and Bolivia and cut the foundation of our exports. We were told tourists will come and shop at our local duty free stores bringing foreign exchange. So at great expense we developed our ports only to find that the tourist boats carried the same items as our duty free stores and at cheaper prices.
    We encouraged businesses to come with cheap spaces and educated workforce.
    We now see in the newspapers, ‘Tax brains working on answer to G7’.
    To what purpose!
    Can it be that if we are forced to impose 15 per cent tax on profits of overseas businesses located here our Government will see an increase of income?
    Will all of these businesses established here up and leave knowing that they would be faced with the same 15 per cent tax minimum that the present administration in America and other countries need in order to carry out their policies?
    Then the thought of re-colonisation might not be the thought process of the American leader, but the seizing of an opportunity to carry out his policies.
    Finding brains to fight colonisation has been going on since the 15th century in the Caribbean and as long as it has the blessing of Caesar then there is no point of appealing to Caesar.
    I would have thought that in the arrangement for equity among nations, it would be sensible for rich producers of goods and services that small countries should be allowed to earn foreign exchange in order to purchase good and services from richer nations.
    After all, Caribbean countries do not make cars, trucks or even motorcycles. So how can they import and utilise products produced by the G7 countries?
    Why are you using the argument that small countries are taking away business to which they have no rights?
    Coming back to the question of our sovereignty we keep ceding and ceding what little we have, including some to the banking regulations imposed by correspondent banks shortly after 9/11 when ex-President Barack Obama was in charge.
    It might have been considered presumptuous of little Barbados to change its tax laws last year in order to offset the accusation of unfair trading and be one step ahead of the bullies, but the immediate changing of the “rules” shows the determination
    to destroy, probably re-colonise. Some people talk about the security of the Union Jack when discussing becoming a Republic, but as I have said all along such security is not worth what Paddy shot at.
    Our problem is where is the unity required by Mr Joseph coming from. The fight of divide and conquer was never more evident as we see among the smaller countries that are the target of the changing of the goal posts. Bob Marley talked about it. “Until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned everywhere is war”.
    Maybe, unity of approach is where the focus of the tax brains that we talk about should be centered.
    What were CARICOM (Caribbean Community) and the OAS (Organisation of American States) doing all along about Haiti? Were their hands tied?
    Why were most accused assassins of the Haiti president from Colombia?

Harry Russell is a banker.

29. In less than thirty years the Cubans made massive strides having big name companies in restaurants and other commercial and industrial business like banks real estate
    All this could not have been achieved by hard work but a massive grouping of political power which gave them strong leverage to achieve financial power
    Meanwhile blacks hardworking sits at the bottom of the barrell waiting for hand outs
    Go figure

30. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Donna July 19, 2021 9:09 AM
    I don’t believe any profit can be considered excessive or greedy unless it is happening under a monopoly or cartel situation that seeks to artificially control conditions against what a liberal, unsubsidized market would dictate.

The nature of business is such that in a liberal market, I have a right to make the maximum profit I can for as long as I can once I don’t try to block other competitors. Eventually, my competitors will catch up and maybe even surpass me to the point where I may start losing money.

Anytime, government or powerful entities seek to influence that self-correcting model is where we have problems.

31. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John July 19, 2021 10:15 AM

That is where you are wrong and it is not your fault because we have all been taught wrong from the better part of a century or more about bad agriculture practices being good.

Forget most of what you learnt about agriculture, one of the secrets it is not about keeping grounds clean but about planting the right mix of cover crops and always keeping the land covered whether with mulch, shredded cover crops or otherwise to support and improve good soil health.

A short eye and mind opening video to get you old brain growing some grey matter again.

A much more in-depth for those wanting further understanding

32. @ Angela

Not only has Cuba made strides in the sectors mentioned but it was done under an embargo handed down by the USA. Yet they have kept 40 year old cars running and in mint condition, while opening up a tourist sector that is heavily patronized by among others the Canadians.

33. @John A

The word that comes to mind at the mention of Cuba is #resilience.

34. @David

Yes that and perseverance. I have friends from Canada who go there and they describe it as a genuine destination. They escaped the “Americanisation” that many other destinations have suffered. In a round about way the boycott by the USA has cause Cuba to have an authentic tourist product! usa went to hurt them but may of ended of helping them in the end.

35. Geez I guess americans are not allowed to have a choice to deal with a communist country or any country for that matter it doesnt want to.
    Lol angela it pretty hard to make a fist and punch above your weight when your hands are in the palm up position.

36. Our historians have regurgitated the rubbish that sugar gave huge profits in the days of slavery and slaves were exploited but they never compare sugar output over the period 1648 to 1833/34 and will never tell you that it remained constant.

Yet the slave population doubled.

In a free (liberal) market, one would expect more and more sugar to be produced – capitalist system.

That’s not what happened.

Sugar output was capped by milling capacity.

The profits came from trade and it was trade that grew unbounded in a free (liberal) market.

Trade subsidised agriculture and fed the ever expanding number of mouths that needed to be fed.

So why sugar cane production?

Sugar Cane in Barbados was used as a cover crop to control weeds and control evapotranspiration during this period.

It was a break even crop.

… but, it was a part of the eco system of which you speak.

The other crops produced around sugar cane were the key agricultural outputs.

They re-provisioned the growing number of ships engaged in trade with America in the days of sail.

We changed after WWII and every available square inch was used to cultivate sugar cane so as to provide sugar to replace the output destroyed in WWII.

We are unable to comprehend what went on at the beginning and would rather rant, rave and oppose when simple statistics tell you exactly what happened if you take the time to think about them.

Historians have not got a clue about economics and finance … and absolutely no understanding of agriculture!!

Otherwise they would have figured it out years ago and not wasted so much time spouting rhetoric, collecting knighthoods and creating unnecessary division.

37. @ John A

You reminded me of a discussion some friends of mine and I were having a few days ago.

I told them I found it amazing that, despite an embargo, Cuba has been able to maintain vehicles that are over 50 years old, while we in Barbados are struggling to maintain recently purchased government vehicles, such as those of the ambulance service, police, Ministries of Health and Transport.

Another example is, at least 80% of the Mercerdes-Benz Marcopolo Torino buses Transport Board bought in 2006 have been scrapped.

38. Critical Analyzer,

Your way leads us the world to where we now are.

What you are suggesting does not work. There is no free market. Never has been.

Angela Cox,

Well done! You have knocked Lawson out of the park!

These Cubans were favoured by the US government because they could be weaponized against The Enemy – Fidel Castro and communism.

Who the hell does not know that? We in Barbados know what protections were afforded to the bombers of the Cubana Airlines flight!

Lawson could cyah he tail!

39. Creating unnecessary division????

Ebony and ivory again, living together in perfect harmony on the slave plantations???????

What a liar you are!

But the records have been digitalised so we will soon read about all that harmony without exposing ourselves to dusty old papers that make us sneeze, and in my case, weeze.

40. @ Artax

Wow I didn’t know all of them were scrapped already! Wonder how old the oldest ZR on the road is!

The difference with Cuba is they can’t replace them so they must maintain and care what they have. Don’t lets even start on their achievements in the medical field! Just goes to show what can be done if your back is to the wall and you have to ” brek fuh uself.”

41. John AJuly 19, 2021 11:08 AM

@ Angela

Not only has Cuba made strides in the sectors mentioned but it was done under an embargo handed down by the USA. Yet they have kept 40 year old cars running and in mint condition, while opening up a tourist sector that is heavily patronized by among others the Canadians.

Xxxxxxxx

Sir you have attempted to move the goal post
    My comments are not directed to the Cuban govt and what it has done educationally for its people
    My comments runs along a rail that speaks of the Miami Cubans who got social political economical and govt sponsored financial aid to achieve all that mentioned for in about thirty years
    So don’t come bringing any long talk trying to inject into the conversation what Cubans might know
    Doesn’t matter how much one is well educated without opportunity given by which one can put the education to good use one would be left standing outside in the dark
    Meanwhile black achievers are still expected to pull themselves up by the boot straps
    Right now the greater part South of Miami is dominated economically by Cubans

42. I am liking this Angela Cox!

43. Correction – wheeze

44. You are aware that most of the Cubans in Miami arrived there with only a suitcase if lucky. This too was the case with most of the Jews who arrived in New York in the late 40s. Yet both have become strong forces both economically and politically over the last 4 decades. So what is stopping others from doing the same?

These that want to succeed do so those that fail look for someone to blame for their failure.

45. @John A

Their success was as a group.

46. John A,

I guess the people of Tulsa, Oklahoma did not want to succeed.

The Cuban immigrants had support, is what Angela Cox is saying. Support can come by way of a bank loan at favourable interest rates, a word in somebody’s ear that opens doors and I could make you a long long list of other ways to give somebody a leg up.

I know black people who work three damn jobs and can hardly make ends meet. They have doors slammed in their faces and are knocked down every time they try to get up.

So, you are saying that all the black people who do not succeed have never tried????

You are a white man’s dream! A very ignorant black man who has bought their narrative.

47. Correct, David. The Jews were a cohesive group, held together by a common identity.

48. @JohnA
    “These that want to succeed do so those that fail look for someone to blame for their failure.”

I am disappointed. You have conveniently ignore d the history of America. Institutionalized racism is not imaginary. Jim Crow law, poll taxes, red lining, for whites only … these are not the figment of an active imagination.

49. And as for stinking Lawson talking about “palms up” – I would rather live in a hut made of tree branches than beg America for anything. Blame our Government for that. In any event, we are on this little barren rock because the white man brought us here.

All their fault.

50. @TOG: “…these are not the figment of an active imagination.

They are not. Voter suppression (targeted by race) is a real thing. Right now. The “Great USA” claims to be many things. Empirically, fairness is not something they can claim.

The “smart money” is modeling that the US of A is in decline. China could, for example, wipe out the USD in a short period of time if it chose to sell all of its reserves.

P.S. Footnote: The Bajan Dollar is tied to the USD.

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply