Lisa Cummins, Minister of Tourism

Two things occurred which were reported in the press on June 30th, 2021 that makes one wonder what the vision for the Tourism Industry is and if there is synchronization of the plans and actions in the various departments of Government. First was an article in which it was reported that the Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins spoke to the workers of the Grantley Adam’s International Airport about branding. Second was the delivery of the Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Ryan Straughn who stated that government had undertaken debt of $ 80 Million of the Needham’s Point Holdings Ltd which operates the Hilton Barbados Hotel by issuing a new series of B Bonds to bondholders.

These 2 seemingly unrelated occurrences makes one question the leadership at the Ministry of Tourism and the action of Mr. Straughn with regards of the plans for the industry if one takes it as a given that a vision is translated into measurable plans of action or a roadmap to achieve desired goals.

Related Links:

What are the objectives of the Ministry of Tourism?

Having not seen the written plans of the Ministry of Tourism, there is that degree of difficulty to state the current purpose of that entity. No one knows the purpose of the tourism industry in Barbados as its objectives or goals are not listed on the website which is shared with the Ministry of International Transport. Only the purpose of the Ministry of International Transport is listed.

The vision that should be listed on the Website should be nothing less than to eradicate poverty by a specific date. Tourism should be of service to the people of Barbados and the development of the island, otherwise what is its purpose?

The number one revenue earner in Barbados is tourism. It must serve some development goal of Barbados. Poverty eradication must be the number one development goal of Barbados. Tourism is best fitted as a tool of development to eradicate poverty in Barbados. Some persons believe that poverty cannot be eradicated. Nelson Mandela stated “Poverty is not an accident. Like slavery and apartheid, it is man-made and can be removed by the actions of human beings.”

With the amount of money that has been earned in Barbados since the late 70’s, there should be no poverty here. A portion of the earnings for tourism must be used to eradicate poverty and the Unit which falls under the Prime Minister’s office should be moved to the Ministry of Tourism. One must agree that the poor housing stock of the lower classes in Barbados is a direct result of poverty and we must set out to change this as climate change may bring hurricanes to our shores each year.

Barbados Tourism Statistics – Historical Data
YearSpending ($)% of Exports
Barbados Tourism Statistics 1995-2021 | MacroTrends

International tourism receipts are expenditures by international inbound visitors, including payments to national carriers for international transport. These receipts include any other prepayment made for goods or services received in the destination country. They also may include receipts from same-day visitors, except when these are important enough to justify separate classification. For some countries they do not include receipts for passenger transport items. Data is in current U.S. dollars.

Government Contracts can be used to eradicate Poverty.

Despite the focus on tourism, the Government of Barbados also has a major role to play in poverty eradication. Its current policy of awarding contracts to a select few Barbadians has perpetrated the existence of the very wealthy and poverty. If wealth can be created by the government awarding of its contracts, then poverty can be eradicated using the system to award the contracts to a company that is owned by the people.

The Barbados Brand

On 30th June, the Minister was reported as asking the workers of the Grantley Adams International Airport to “protect it as a brand of excellence and world class hospitality.” However, all the talk about a branding exercise and creating a new slogan, and now asking persons to protect a brand is meaningless if the intent is not to be translated into a physical component and its use to assist in the development of Barbados.

If Barbados really is a brand as is constantly touted and not just a travel destination, isn’t it time for us to see hotels and other establishments in Barbados bearing the name the Barbados Brand. Isn’t it time that we see the translation from nebulous concepts and costly slogans which have nothing to do with reality in Barbados?

The Hilton brand was started in 1969. Commercial tourism in Barbados predates 1887 when the Crane Hotel was built. Isn’t it time to have a physical brand on the ground?

Perhaps the best action in term of branding would be to relieve the contract holders of the Hilton Hotel, and brand that along with several of the smaller hotels, B&B’s and guest houses as the Barbados Brand. This is where one can view the services of the Pom Marine coming into play by standardizing the training of these establishments under one umbrella which defines the physical brand. There would be no need for the government of Barbados to pay the Hilton Hotel for the use of its name.

To the Minister of Economic Affairs, does the signed contract between the government and the company which runs the Hilton Hotel align with the actions that you have taken? Needham’s Point Ltd. had 10 years to get their act together and now you have given them 10 more years to reap super profits off the backs of the taxpayers in Barbados. Clearly this decision was not well thought out and it is certainly not an expression of confidence in developing a physical Barbados brand hotel. You should have made the agreement null and void and together with the Minister of Tourism begin the conceptualization of the Barbados brand hotels. What occurred is not good stewardship.

To the Minister of Tourism, there is work to be done! When will you start?

167 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Where is the Vision for Tourism?”

1. The possibility of a third wave on Barbados shores cannot be overlooked as govt official shifts through data and models for assistance
    How in the world can this be outside of a reality that having open borders and travellers from other countries allowed to enter
    Is Barbados portocols at the borders secure enough to detect travellers coming through the borders with faked documents

2. Is this co incidence that on the heels of the Hay wire events hundreds of bajans are infected all in two weeks
    Investigation states that some business employees now infected worked within the environment of the event having to deliver goods to the event planners and visitors
    Govt tight lip on this ongoing story begs from accountability and transparency

3. Medical professionals across Barbados are currently analysing data from the latest COVID-19 statistics that will determine whether the country is currently in the throes of a third wave of the deadly virus.

Xxxxxc
    And while wunna at it find out the truthfulness of the source of the variants
    Don’t allow govt to form a narrative blaming the people for the outbreak solely

4. Just a reminder a bus load of haywire visitors
    Half naked women bumping and grinding
    No mask being worn and their make counterparts without mask as cheerleaders
    Hard not to believe that that crowded bus could not have played a part in being the source of the hundreds of bajans now infected
    Given that employee contact could have taken the virus to any place including churches and home
    This is not the time to bury heads in the sand but to advocate for truthfulness and facts

5. Oh btw a lot of people might be frustrated and irritated by my comments
    But that does not bother me
    Standing in gladiator territory is a good feeling
    Meanwhile being estatic that my opponents can not say a word of defense because King David put their mouths on lockdown
    Nevertheless I rally for the cause laughing out loud at my opponents

6. I saw Auntie Mia paddling her own canoe in Barbados waters
    Nevertheless swimming against the political tide
    Great shot

7. Ok where was I when I left a,minute ago
    Now
    There is another story which should be of concern
    One which the Child Care board should be having a hands on approach
    The story involves a fourteen year old girl whose name is more often than not in the media relating to her constant runaway episodes
    Speculation after speculation abounds as reason
    Many such speculations give hints of a child in dire need of help
    Leave that one there

8. Other social media outlets are not giving up on voicing opinion on the Haywire event
    Neither will I
    Deal with that
    The only way to shut down boisterous opinions is to bring the whole truth
    People are beginning to draw a narrative that points govt decision to loosen portocols along the same track as the haywire event
    Don’t forget a picture is worth a thousand words
    No mask worn enough said

9. Bajans Constitutional rights is about one step closer to being taking away
    Yet we see videos of tourist masquerading feteing and partying on a Haywire party bus and govt haven’t said a dam work
    Wuh happen to the word example that govt used as a bully club to knock local entertainers over the head a few weeks ago
    Are the tourist and fete organizers given different rules
    Wuh happen

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/16/attorney-at-law-vonda-pile-to-serve-the-remainder-of-her-prison-term/

oh well, that’s the second one in a week, we want the parliament traitors to pay for their crimes against the Black population too.

11. Blacks folks beware
    Govt goes against the WHO warnings on a grave concern about mixed doses of vaccines
    What did govt do u ask ?
    Well get this!! govt officials skins their bootsies in WHO face and tells WHO ” we don’t care ” we need the tourist dollar end of discussion
    They all are welcome to Barbados
    At first I thought it might be a fake story hoovering over and around social media platforms
    However when investigative reports came to my attention then I believed the story
    But tell me this
    Didn’t this govt always said to be firm and in agreement with WHO directives
    Wuh happen now
    I tell yuh
    ####Miacares

12. Well with tourist becoming more sophisticated armed with faked travelling documents
    Questions to be asked
    Does govt have an efficient and we’ll planned and prepared started to detect false documents
    There is an ongoing war between antivacciers and WHO with both sides wanting to win
    As they saying goes the proof of the pudding is in the eating

13. Questions that needs answers excerpts from Mia Herald column

Now this country is on another effective pause, which has been blamed on the intrusion of the COVID-19 virus throughout the population. 40 cases one day, meant that action was taken. In the case of public health, we need to be made aware of why this change to protocols announced by the Minister of Health and Wellness did not make it into the Parliament for debate. These pronouncements have a familiar theme – blame locals.

The virus had to be brought here. By air or by sea and the spread has coincided with the return of tourists in larger numbers to this island. We have to get serious and look at the ease of transmission of the disease, especially the Gamma and Delta variants. The manifestations were seen in the church and the business, but where did the virus originate? Some contact would have to have been made between carriers of the new variants and the infected and of course the spread took place.

What is being done to address the latter? We only hear about the end of the chain of contact, but what about the origin of the chain?

The media takes safety seriously. Using selfie sticks to attach recording devices or microphones all help but the primary concern of Editors, would be to keep workers safe. Making the most of limited time within controlled office spaces, had to be used to fashion protection from this disease.

Using networking sites like Microsoft Teams, or Zoom for interviews, cell phones, home phones, emails, text messages had to become front and centre to keep the information flow going. As things improve, information flows, still need to be cognizant of the disease still being here.

I noted a press release from the Prime Minister’s Office regarding a discussion with Chinese President Xi Jinping. I noted the reference to a potential loan related to the South Coast Sewage Plant. I have asked for months for information related to this project and have been met with silence for the most part.

How is it that this country’s citizens have paid a tax on water bills monthly for three years and part of the monies collected were forthe South Coast and Bridgetown projects, yet precious little has been communicated on it? Why if Government is seeking a loan, is a tax still being collected monthly? What is the costing for this project since any loan request must have parameters, specs and timelines? We need information!

The fight continues for information

14. GP is a master of words. His ability to construct alliterations remains peerless. Could someone please interpret for me what Minister Cummins is trying to say.

““How do we integrate Barbados as a tourism destination, into an economy that becomes the flagship for the business of tourism? “We now have to treat to the opportunities for expanded growth for jobs, expanded growth for linkages into the wider economy, and then the development initiatives that would have to go along with that.” (SB)”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/01/pandemic-could-provide-chance-for-growth-in-tourism/