We have discussed the conspicuous consumption model which people everywhere have become addicted at every level of society. The individual aspires to buy a house, car, travel and in large part sees the acquisition of material things as a badge of success. The government (reflecting the sovereignty from the people) works hard to maintain popularity with the people and therefore pursues policies to satisfy as insatiable thirst of the conspicuous consumption model.

In order to disrupt the downhill rollercoaster ride to nowhere enlightened citizens will have to shout enough is enough. There will have to be a revolution in thought, word and deed. Listening to the debates and various exchanges in social media and elsewhere it is evident the majority of our people are locked in an unproductive mindset. The reality is the cliche it is not business as usual is apt now more than ever.

The blogmaster watched the following presentation A healthy economy should be designed to thrive, not grow by Economist Kate Raworth and was intrigued by her postulation. Take the time to view the 15 minute presentation to feed your mind a different perspective IF you dare!

Oxford Economist Kate Raworth – TED Talk

288 responses to “Our Economy Should be Designed to Thrive NOT Grow”

1. What “wealthy businesses for which 124 million plus other millions in tax” were written off?

As far as I can recall ALL businesses, whether or not they were owned by the rich or poor…….. Black or white people ……. or if they were large, medium or small…….. BENEFITED from the tax write-offs.

“The large amount of govt hand outs that entice business’s to invest in return for jobs. These financial sourcing of govt give away up adds up to plenty in comparison to nothing of real economic substance of helping the poor get out of poverty.”

Does this means there has been a ‘change of heart’ as it relates to the generous concessions granted to Sandals?

2. Artax

Does this means there has been a ‘change of heart’ as it relates to the generous concessions granted to Sandals?

Xxccccc

Being the political animal u are u would be quick to run to the cherry tree and pick the cherry that sweetens yuh mouth
    Xxxx

3. Tax breaks help richest not poorest

Trump pays less tax than the lowest paid employees

His only (personal and business) tax payments to Government was out of his employees wages / pockets

4. “Since 2001, the share of federal income taxes paid by the top 1 percent increased from 33.2 percent to a new high of 40.1 percent in 2018.”

https://taxfoundation.org/publications/latest-federal-income-tax-data/

5. If you don’t know what you are talking about, keep quiet!!

… actually, no, bray as loud as you can.

Good for a laugh.

6. The problem with you is, in your haste to score ‘cheap political points,’ your ‘morning and evening words seldom agree.

Everyone who either reads or contributes to BU knows you’re the ONLY “political animal” in this forum. After all, it doesn’t matter what’s the of the discussion …….. even if it’s about football…….. you always attempt to change its focus by politicizing the issue, while at the same time apportioning blame to Mia Mottley, for ‘every and anything’ you contrive in your ‘delusional, politically motivated one tracked mind.’

And, you’re also always determined to ‘have the last word,’ because you believe by continually responding to your ‘opponent’ you will win the ‘tit for tat,’ when he/she finally ‘calls it quits.’

I’ll be an idiot, similarly to you, if I “ran to the cheery tree and picked” its sour fruits.

7. They might pay much federal tax
    But in reality those taxes paid does not transfer into any significant
    wages paid their employees those those sitting at the bottom of the economic ladder
    One just have to take a look at the lifestyle of the low end employee earning a less than substantial wage working for big corporations

8. Artax

I’ll be an idiot, similarly to you, if I “ran to the cheery tree and picked” its sour fruits.

Xxxxxxx

Ok idiot

9. See wuh I tell yuh? Yuh just can’t help.

Hmmmmmm……. comprehension isn’t your strong point.

I’ll repeat.

I’ll be an IDIOT, SIMILARLY to YOU, IF I “ran to the cheery tree and PICKED” its SOUR fruits.

Have a pleasant Sunday.

10. “bray as loud as you can.”

I never met a cunt bray as loud as you
    (which is saying something for a bajan .. they most be the most braying petty bitches on planet earth)

Top 1% make over $500,000 (1.4m taxpayers)
    average is $1.5m

top 0.01 average $35m
    top 0.001 $152m

2015 data

but richer are increasing their share

11. I’m sure John boy Knox can find a million billion youtube vids about tax from Conservative base

Trump revenue $655 million 2017 tax paid = fuck all

1st July 2021, New York prosecutors charged the Trump Organisation with 10 counts in an alleged 15-year tax avoidance scheme.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Trump_Organization

12. How much tax did the thousands of his employees who benefitted from the jobs he created pay?

So long as the tax he avoided legally is less than the tax he created for the Government, everybody should be happy!!

13. “How much tax did the thousands of his employees who benefitted from the jobs he created pay?

So long as the tax he avoided legally is less than the tax he created for the Government, everybody should be happy!!”

they all paid more than the cunt you defend like a bigger cunt

there is no one as stupid as a trump nut

14. Whatever they paid it came from Trump!!!!

15. Mrs. Robinson … Heaven holds a place for those who bray … a yea yea yea

16. .. or is it a hey hey hey!!

17. All I have to say is –

“Person, woman, man, camera, tv!

Now how did I do that? Nobody has ever done that before! I am cognitively there. I have a good memory.

Now … which way is it to my golden john?”

18. Ummm…that is actually the one place I have not looked for the Kraken!

Aha!

19. “Whatever they paid it came from Trump”

Predictable lame response from the lame brain

poor old trump will be squeezed out of business

20. Curfew back.

Where can this COVID have been hiding?

21. 555dubstreetJuly 11, 2021 6:06 PM

“Whatever they paid it came from Trump”

Predictable …

+++++++++++++++++++

Obvious is the better word.

22. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@John July 11, 2021 6:45 PM “Where can this COVID have been hiding?”

In somebody’s nose.

23. Cuhdear BajanJuly 11, 2021 9:45 PM

@John July 11, 2021 6:45 PM “Where can this COVID have been hiding?”

In somebody’s nose.

Left nostril or right nostril?

It was being shed into the Ground water a week prior to the somebody presenting with symptoms.

Where was the somebody living?

24. And where is THE KRAKEN hiding?????

In the golden toilet water?

Murdah!

Start another countdown, nuh! I miss the countdown. I want to know which day The Kraken will be released and return The Orange Peril to the White House. The Crack Pillow Man said August but he is too cracked up to receive the full message.

Listen to The Rush Limbaugh Duppy Broadcast From Hell and let me know!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

25. Donald JOHN Trump and Eugene JOHN Knox….. can anybody figure out how to flush ’em?

26. Braying and Crowing a Bajan Team Sport Online Metaphor
    Braying
    (of a person) speak or laugh loudly and harshly.
    Crowing
    (of a person) express great pride or triumph, especially in a tone of gloating satisfaction.

Arguing online is an addictive past time for trolls especially rich vein of alt-right trolls bottling up racism inside and old people who use any nonsense and ill logic to claim they are correct
    which is tapped into by immoral dishonest politicians who crave power with noting to offer

Understanding Covid is based on scientific principles to investigate the unknown and determine feasible models based on data

John is a braying crowing addicted online alt-right old illogical immoral dishonest troll unscientifically abusing data to come to conclusion that all Covid infections has been caught drinking fecal covid infected water

GP is same except he is also fucked on his bible religion

Have you lost your mind yet?

Fantastic Negrito – Chocolate Samurai

27. I’m saying that there are at least two modes of transmission.

The first is airborne.

Once that has taken hold the virus is shed and enters the water cycle from which we get our water..

From there it can spread in succeeding waves aided and abetted by airborne spread.

Look at India.

The mother Ganges I reckon was riddled with the virus.

Kumbh Mela caused an inordinately high spread as pilgrims washed in it.

Now that it is over, things are reverting to normal.

… until next year, or whenever the next time Kumbh Mela takes place!!

By then we will be into the zeta variant as successive waves will continue to break and experts will look for differences in the virus and not at the way it spreads.

If its in the water as observations suggest, it needs to be killed or left die there.

If Singapore can do it, and New Zealand and Australia, other countries can too.

28. Point is, the two ways of spreading are there at the same time.

29. Please take this conversation to a COVID blog.

30. Lymphatic Health Flow to Build Immunity
    Ignore John Boy’s crap like a Covid Virus or a Ghost that is Haunting everybody

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4r4lysSgLE

31. What conversation, David? There is only John talking to himself and two of us laughing.

We KNOW that many infectious diseases have been water-borne, spread via fecal contamination of water.

Why would John think that this has not already been considered?

I continue to be amused that he thinks he’s operating on some higher plane.

Reminds me of another person who frequently claimed he knew more about EVERYTHING than ANYBODY else on the planet.

He passed the doddering test with flying colours and even now challenges Biden to a duel!

Now, there’s something I would pay good money to see! I would not have to pay a doctor for a long long time! The laughter would cure all ailments!

32. This is worth a listen.

33. Union harmony a must, says BWU chief
    Peace has to be restored within the trade union movement if it intends to be successful.
    General secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) Toni Moore made that point on Friday as she urged those within the labour movement to set aside individual goals for the advancement of the collective.
    Moore was speaking during the Royal Barbados Police Force and the Durham Constabulary’s police executive leadership seminar’s closing ceremony at the Hilton Barbados Resort where she pointed out although the unions were under attack, they still had a key role to play.
    “Notwithstanding the slurs and attacks, the BWU continues to be an independent organisation that maintains its focus on the upliftment of workers within our country. We recognise and maintain our civic duty and the wider responsibility that is ours to develop the larger society.
    “With this said, I am not going to shy away from the very glaring reality that the effectiveness of the labour movement will not reach the extent of historical impact and success unless trade union harmony and solidarity is restored,” Moore said.
    Earlier this week, elections for the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) were placed in limbo after Justice Cecil McCarthy granted an injunction brought by suspended president Akanni McDowall.
    McDowall was suspended pending investigations into the charge that from June 2 to June 17, he encouraged and promoted a resolution which sought to install himself as secretarygeneral of the NUPW for four years, contrary to Rule 10(a)(1), Rule 10(a)(iv) and Rule 12 (a)(i).
    During her address, Moore pointed out that her union was celebrating 80 years, and altercations within the union did not help them build on the foundation laid. “Fighting within and between unions undermines the legacy of our collective contributions and our efforts to ensure that people and social justice are kept at the centre of everything that we do. Indeed, it undermines the struggle and victories of the past 80-plus years. The trade union is based on the principle that an injury to one is an injury to all. We must resist the temptation to be inflicting pain on ourselves and on the collective as we pursue our individual ambitions,” she added.
    Moore also responded to criticisms about her appointment as the Barbados Labour Party’s Member of Parliament for St George North. And despite naysayers, she said it was still her goal to uphold the movement, and she urged others to join her.
    “I take pride in the fact that the movement has made an invaluable contribution to the social and economic development of our society especially as it relates to the attainment of our formal democracy, the introduction of important pieces of legislation that benefit our people and the pursuit of social justice.
    “These accomplishments were achieved as a result of our strong advocacy coupled with our participation in the Parliamentary service over the years. Today I urge you to recognise that the progress of labour is not dependent on the BWU’s leadership alone or the leadership within the trade union movement alone. The successes have never been standalone, our progress has been the direct result of resolute efforts by ordinary men and women who were prepared to keep the objectives of trade unionism alive. The future of the labour union, therefore, depends on me, yes, as much as it depends on you and all of us combining our skills, muscle, talent and resources to move this country forward,” Moore added. (TG)

34. A BU commentator denounced me for using the term third class citizen.

Sadly, many Barbadians are treated like third class citizens. They are not protected by their government. And are exploited by certain groups who sell them food produce which is unfit for human consumption.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/17/paul-blasts-chicken-pork-importers/