Follow the authoritative source for weather information re: Barbados Meteorological Services as Storm Elsa begins to affect Barbados. For additional information on this tropical storm watch, please visit: https://www.barbadosweather.org/windBarResp.php . – Blogmaster

349 responses to “Storm Elsa is Here”

1. I Need A Roof

Remember Garvey say,
    Remember weh the righteous man say,
    Time a go dread ya,
    Everybody a go run deh.
    (Chorus)
    I need a roof over my head,
    And bread on my table,
    And bread on my table.
    This love in my heart,
    It’s love for everyone.
    (Remember Garvey say)
    Remember weh Garvey say, say.
    Time a go dread out deh,
    Everybody a go run now.
    (Remember Garvey say)
    Remember weh Garvey say,
    Remember wha de righteous man say,
    Time a go dread,
    Everybody a go run deh.
    And bread on my table,
    This love in my heart,
    It’s love for everyone.
    (Remember Garvey say)
    Remember weh Garvey say . . .
    Time a go dread . . . .

I Need a Roof
    Mighty Diamonds

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Did Elsa have hurricane force winds in Barbados? What would be the level of chaos if it did?

3. It was reported that Elsa was a car 1 hurricane over Barbados

4. De Elsa we know is or was a too sweet Garifuna woman.

Naming a strom or hurricane such reminds us of the other side of sweetness, fury. LOL

Emblematic of the Great Mother, Herself.

5. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

@Vincent Barbados received a harder hit with Elsa than it did with Tomas. It was in fact upgraded to a hurricane just as it pass south of Barbados and the Met office recorded hurricane force sustained winds. A Tropical Storm warning was given from late Wednesday night.

6. Although the numbers were not impressive
    The press conference was more detailed in it’s information compared to yesterday’s hot and sweaty performance

7. “Although the numbers were not impressive
    The press conference was more detailed in it’s information compared to yesterday’s hot and sweaty performance”

people here are moaning at the creeps politicising the events

but it seems there is only one low life person doing that here

but what else did they expect from her, no names mentioned

it was as predictable as sunshine and rain brings joy and pain

8. Where there is govt intervention or interaction in the people lives politics is involved as day turns to night
    Deal with that

9. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

The deadliest Atlantic hurricane in recorded history was the Great Hurricane of 1780, which resulted in 22,000–27,501 fatalities.

And this hurricane hit Barbados. And it battered our foreparents for 48 hours, not 8 like Elsa. Unimaginable.

10. John2

I got some homework for you to do. Read all de old gazerts posts and when he does be talking bout you go girl or making up he rhythmless poems and tell me if he don’t be bout d versus b.

11. Wunnuh aint realise yet that angela cox don’t know the difference between a press conference and a press briefing?

What happened just before they give the all clear was a short press briefing. The PM was right to come and say something to reassure Barbadians and let us know what was going on.

I would bet wunnuh anything that if she didn’t say nothing all uh them that talking shyte would be criticising all now.

12. Damage toll rises
    By Colville Mounsey
    colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

In the space of 24 hours the damage toll to homes in Barbados in the aftermath of
    Hurricane Elsa has risen from just 177 to 1 178 thus far.
    This is according to the Department of Emergency Management (DEM), whose director, Kerry Hinds, revealed that this tally was likely to go up in the coming days as more data is being received from the field.
    It was disclosed that 62 houses had collapsed, 743 had damaged roofs while 176 sustained other types of damage. It was also revealed that St Philip, Christ Church, St George and St Michael were the parishes that had the most damages to their housing stock.
    It was against this backdrop that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley rolled out Government’s plan of action to address the dislocation that many Barbadians are going through.
    Speaking during a press conference held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre yesterday and which was attended by high level members of Cabinet, Mottley made it clear that her administration would not be standing on ceremony with regard to dealing with the most pressing needs of those affected.
    To this end, she said Government will begin the process of rebuilding the collapsed homes within the next 48 hours, a task which will be shared between the Urban Development Commission, the Rural Development Commission (RDC) and the National Housing Corporation.
    Provision of material
    Minister of Housing Dr William Duguid said Government was willing to consider the provision of material to those willing to do their own repairs. It was explained that the house repair process was not expected to move as swiftly, given that the damage must first be assessed by the DEM.
    “We have well over 1 100 in terms of housing solutions in some manner, form or fashion that are required from minor repairs to major repairs. This is, of course, after the Department of Emergency Management has done the assessment and has certified that these are the houses that clearly need support. The reason why we can deal with collapse houses immediately is because a collapsed house is like cards on the ground and you do not need any further
    assessment to know that it has gone completely. That is why we are moving with such alacrity and may I remind the country that the laws of this land allow for emergency procurement in the event of an emergency. There is no doubt that this is urgent because these people have no where to shelter,” Mottley explained.
    During the two-hour long press briefing, Minister of People Empowerment Cynthia Forde revealed that Government was seeking temporary accommodation for displaced people, a bill which Government would foot. She appealed to those with suitable rented accommodation to be part of the exercise, noting that close to 300 people need such assistance. However, the Prime Minister warned landlords that even though the taxpayers would be footing the bill, her administration would not stand for any attempt at profiteering during this time of adversity.
    “We are aware that many of our hotels are empty and apartment hotels in particular because of the COVID-19 pandemic. We are happy that this process has been started. At the moment the number of persons needing accommodation are 289, there are over 500 persons who are saying that in the initial short stages they can find something. We don’t know how many of them can stay where they are for an extended period but what we do know is that everybody in Barbados must have a shelter that wants shelter,” said Mottley.
    She added: “What we can’t do is to have people sleeping in the elements because that is not who we are. We have 30 apartments and 40 rooms from hotels that have been identified, the Barbados Workers’ Union Labour College has already identified 20 rooms, and then the Spiritual Baptist Church has also indicated that they have 16 furnished apartments. We are asking anyone who has apartments to come forward, but clearly this not open season because we do not profit from the suffering of people, but people will be paid decently.”
    With regard to the restoration of utilities, General Manager of the Barbados Water Authority Keithroy Halliday noted that 33 per cent of their facilities were in place, but production was at 86 per cent. He said, however, that most of their challenges as a result of the hurricane should be ironed out in a couple of days.
    The Barbados Light and Power Company had much tougher challenges with general manager Roger Blackman revealing that the country had 200 downed poles, 45 blown transformers and one kilometre of wire to replace. However, despite
    this hit to the system, he said electricity had been restored to 65 per cent of the country.

13. “I would bet wunnuh anything that if she didn’t say nothing all uh them that talking shyte would be criticising all now.”

Government aka Team Mia seem to be doing an excellent job with their crisis response as per the article in the above post by DKofBU.

Maybe the old rat bag who is always moaning like a bitch on BU is helping Government to stay focused on the task required to meet the challenges for the matter in hand. God speed.

14. Nice long lofty words
    But a wait and see approach will be necessary
    Outside of buses and garbage trucks and vaccines
    There is a long list of ” this is who we are ” policies that have not been implemented to help the people
    Govt promises of deliverables are still backlogged since 2018
    The Hotel workers as an example were given a with certainty promise a year ago but their cries for help are still being heard

15. We can no longer dine out on the phrase that “God is a Bajan”.

I read in today’s Nation ( https://www.nationnews.com/2021/06/19/duguid-repairs-for-all/) Minister Duguid proposing that all damaged or destroyed houses be repaired or rebuilt. This is pure fantasy.

GP2 has over many decades warned Barbados that its low quality building structures would be insufficiently robust if confronted by a hurricane. Why have governments since our independence allowed the public to throw up unregulated building structures? All existing buildings should at a minimum be retrofitted to offer a semblance of protection against a hurricane.

We should dismiss the notion of rebuilding those structures that have collapsed. Put into commission those many destitute stone structures in Bridgetown which have been obsolete over many decades. These structures will withstand your category one hurricanes.

Apparently Duguid is suggesting the country improves its building codes. It took a hurricane to sweep over Barbados for him to raise this point in a region of the world accustomed to hurricanes. So folks, let me remind you: God is not a Bajan.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jul/03/hurricane-elsa-path-haiti-dominican-republic-florida-cuba

16. “God is a Bajan Vs God is not a Bajan”

I am leaning towards the view that there is no such thing as Bajan but African Asian European etc in the World living as one family

From Asia to Africa
    all the way back home
    The world is a family
    (We learn to love)
    Brothers sisters you and me
    (Let’s give each other)
    Let’s give each other what we need
    We need more love more love more love more love

House dance Video ‘The World is Family’ by Louie Vega & Josh Milan KAPELA

Additionally contrary to illuminati grey lizard aliens propaganda God can not be European as they are not spiritual, Jah Lightning in Canada is creating wildfires and burning them with a Holy Fire and they are employing their military

17. Looking at this video of the NIS Building being torn down
    Makes for the asking if this building would not have served purpose at this time to be used as temporary housing for families left homeless by the storm
    Any how it’s has been torn down

https://fb.watch/6xlPJHdxFz/

18. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN July 4, 2021 7:00 AM “proposing that all damaged or destroyed houses be repaired or rebuilt. This is pure fantasy.”

“Why have governments since our independence allowed the public to throw up unregulated building structures?”

My response: Many people are very poor. Do you understand poor? If a government cannot house all of its veryn poor people, what are the very poor to do? Very poor people have the “option” of living outdoors or living in poorly regulated structures. Unlike Grenville, and maybe unlike you most of us do not come from well educated, professional families with excellent incomes and only one or two children.

@TLSN July 4, 2021 7:00 AM “ALL existing buildings should at a minimum be retrofitted to offer a semblance of protection against a hurricane.”

This too is pure fantasy.

Do us a favor. On a budget of $400 BDS a week show us how to raise 2 or 3 or more children to adulthood AND pay for a well designed home?

Don’t just give us theory, lay out a budget for our enlightenment.

19. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Frank July 4, 2021 4:13 AM “Wunnuh aint realise yet that angela cox don’t know the difference between a press conference and a press briefing?”

Actually there is no difference. Both events are designed to share information with the public, via the media.

Just like there is no difference between breakfast, lunch and dinner. All three events are designed to put food in stomachs.

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN July 4, 2021 7:00 AM “We can no longer dine out on the phrase that “God is a Bajan”.

Exactly who is “we”?

You must know as well as I do that only a few idiots ever voiced or wrote the sentence “God is a Bajan.” As on Thursday night when it was clear that the storm was imminent as made clear by the Met Services director and as made clear by the U.S. National Hurricane Service some fool [sad to say female] called in to VOB and said that having looked at the star filled sky [and yes indeedy the sky was bright and very beautiful and star filled] authoritatively stated that she was certain there would be no storm.

I don’t understand it either when lay people find it necessary to contradict well educated, experienced professionals.

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And by the way poor people are the real-real EXPERTS on poverty, maybe policy makers and the wealthy everywhere need to come out of their effing silos and have some real-real deep conversations with poor people BEFORE during and after decisions/policy is made

22. @Cuhdear Bajan.
    I thought you would be out in your garden tending your plants. Your assumption about my background is sadly misplaced.

The hurricane season has just commenced; prepare for the worse. We are going to witnesses our true weighting/level as a country.

23. @Frank
    Not meaning to be rude, but only an idiot would think that an edit of Mariposa’s posts would be complimentary to the BLP.

Similarly, if I were to the same to other bloggers,the posts would be B friendly. But that should be your job.

Looking forward to a ‘rhythmless’competion.

24. “And by the way poor people are the real-real EXPERTS on poverty, maybe policy makers and the wealthy everywhere need to come out of their effing silos and have some real-real deep conversations with poor people BEFORE during and after decisions/policy is made”

poor people tend to live in poor areas / ghettos where there is also lack of provision with poor housing, services, businesses, schools etc

there are two approaches that can be adopted together

(a) take people out of poor areas to live in areas where they receive better services, education, work opportunities etc
    (b) improve the ghettos / poor areas to better standards in all aspects of life

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

We are going to witnesses our true weighting/level as a country.

Waiting for that bullshit punchline post-Elsa…haven’t heard it lately..

26. After an over night thinking of govt proposal to house the displaced people in hotels or guest houses
    Good as it appears on the surface I cannot help to see where govt spending once again goes towards the wealthy in the hotel industry
    Yes govt must supply temporary housing for those displaced
    However govt could have use those financial resources as an encouragement directed towarda family members to housed displaced families
    But once again transfer of wealth at its economic source goes to finance the wealthy

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

When will CORRUPT regional governments TAKE AWAY IMMUNITY from the CRIMINALS at CXC.

28. “Looking at this video of the NIS Building being torn down
    Makes for the asking if this building would not have served purpose at this time to be used as temporary housing for families left homeless by the storm
    Any how it’s has been torn down”.

Tough to squeeze out the poetry, but it’s there….

“Just for Frank’
    Looking at this video of the NIS building being torn down
    The victorious smile of an apologist then becoming a frown
    On realizing the foolishness, the absurdity, and uselessness
    Of destroying a building that would temporarily house the homeless
    A source of shelter in a storm battered town
    But it’s too late, the building has been torn down

——–xx——-
    Highly amused by how some readers react.

29. If some of you do not have anything of value to add to the position Barbadians find themselves post Elsa, shut up is not a bad option.

30. It was just a gimmick and I was about to end it. Attempts to silence or to characterize will be met with resistance.

‘I’m from Brownsville. Never ran, never will’

31. DavidJuly 4, 2021 9:03 AM

If some of you do not have anything of value to add to the position Barbadians find themselves post Elsa, shut up is not a bad option.
    Xxxxxxxx
    David shut up
    Xxxxx
    btw govt foolishness does not serve value especially when staged on political gimmicks

32. For the sake of transparency good governance requires that taxpayers be given a full accountability of govt financial spend to housing displaced families in hotels and guest houses

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan July 4, 2021 7:44 AM “…maybe unlike you…”

You noticed the maybe, right?

Maybe=perhaps or possibly.

So maybe you grew up in luxury.

Perhaps you grew up in dire poverty.

Or perhaps you grew up in a family where in the pre-pill days women had 6 or 8 children every 10 years. Or perhaps like a young man I know three sets of twins were born to you in a 6 year period and you are still shell shocked wondering “how the hell did this happen to me” and not to anybody else that I know.” How on earth am I going to feed, shelter, educate 6 children instead of the 3 I was expecting.

34. Government will be setting up a bank account on Monday to give persons at home and abroad an opportunity to provide financial assistance to those who were impacted by Hurricane Elsa.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/04/bank-account-to-be-set-up-for-donations/

35. “If some of you do not have anything of value to add to the position Barbadians find themselves post Elsa, shut up is not a bad option.”

We are in agreement.

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This piece of shit thief, liar and fraud is STILL BEING ALLOWED by the corrupt government to do as he likes…..bribe-taking……fraud ministers…here they are begging, please, please move the trees…instead of puting handcuffs on that criminal…seeing they are the ones adorned cow with that fake title..

“St Thomas Member of Parliament Cynthia Forde wants distinguished businessman Sir Charles Williams to come to the aide of frustrated residents of some St Thomas districts who are being “cut off” from much-needed assistance when there’s a storm or other natural disaster.

In an interview on Friday, Forde revealed that a paddock of river tamarind trees at the Canefield Plantation, owned by Williams, has been continuously blocking the road to Airy Cot, St Thomas when high winds knock down the trees, leaving the road impassible.

As a result, the MP revealed that for hours, emergency personnel were unable to assist three households whose roofs were blown off including an elderly couple in their 90s. She said it was the second time in two weeks that such an issue had occurred and she feared that an ambulance, fire truck or other emergency persons would have been unable to reach the “marooned” village.”

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

please, please, please move the trees……let’s see what yall traitors to do now that he is openly killing ya people…

“I am pleading with the property owner, please, remove all of those trees. It is not fair for the government or private people and the District Emergency Officers in particular to have to be going all the time. That is now a marooned village with the day coming up to six o’clock and those people are in there suffering. They can’t get the water tankers in, the utility trucks cannot come in, there are downed power lines so families can’t get there because they are afraid that they may become electrocuted, so something has to be done because they are innocent, ordinary poor people who do not have the resources to help themselves,” Forde told Barbados TODAY.

“Only two Thursdays ago in Airy Cot, every tree coming from the junction of Vault Road and Carrington Village going through Highland straight on by Challenor School passing Upper Canefield to get to Airy Cot to go to Mount Misery, all that was devastated for more than a day, so those families were marooned and I want to call on the plantation owner to ensure that those river tamarind trees are cut. It now has become the biggest frustration ever. “

Sources say the trees were planted approximately two decades ago to keep horses, cows and other animals within a confined space.

Adding to the frustration of those affected is the fact that after clearing debris after the recent “freak storm”, members of the St Thomas DEO were accused of breaking down the plantation’s fence. In fact, one DEO member revealed that an official complaint had been lodged with the Department of Emergency Management (DEM).

“We didn’t break the fence. The trees broke the fence. All we did was cut the trees, pushed them out of the way for clear passage so that the bus and stuff can pass,” DEO member Ruth Sattaur revealed on Friday evening.

“We are now clearing up here and then we will try to make our way into Airy Cot to get tarpaulin for houses where the roofs came off. Both sides were blocked and residents could not get in or out and that is the problem that the residents of Airy Cot face every time there is a system. These trees are aged and they are rotten by wood ants.

“So the trees come down and you can see that they are planted almost right onto the road, so then residents cannot get in or out. Suppose there is an emergency? Suppose there is a life or death situation? People cannot get in or out,” she added.

Meanwhile, MP Forde revealed that given Sir Charles’ line of work, the least he could do is assist efforts in the parish.

“I am pleading to Sir Charles… and others to kindly make sure they clear the roads, because we are using the Government’s resources, we are using personal resources. I want them, because of the kind of businesses they do, to at least bring some chainsaws and lend us. We can’t rent them because there is no money in the economy right now and people want to help but they can’t, but they don’t have. So these guys have one small chain saw and a few cutlasses and a few shovels and that really cannot help with the extent of what is happening,” Forde concluded.”

38. old angela is still suffering from PTSD after losing everything with zero seats and will carry on her whining for the rest of her life

she does not truly care about others plight but sees their problems as a means to stir up insurrection and is insincere and shallow but thankfully is not the brightest lightbulb in the shop

how to cope with trauma/PTSD

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Pacha…lawd…

40. First let me congratulate the government on how they handled Elsa. They spoke to us and kept us informed.

Yes we have been inconvenienced with utilities, but with no deaths we should all be thankful. What worries me though is if a borderline category 1 hurricane can cause so much mayhem what would a cat 3 have done?

Rather than talk politics we need to start an educational program on the basics of ensuring roof protection etc.

41. @9:28 a.m
    Best post on so far.
    Hopefully there is accomodations for the overseas brigade to donate.

42. Enter your comment here…”Looking at this video of the NIS Building being torn down. Makes for the asking if this building would not have served purpose at this time to be used as temporary housing for families left homeless by the storm.”

“It was not a lightly taken decision to abandon the building as Government had facilitated a THOROUGH INDUSTRIAL CLEANING TO NO AVAIL. Eventually, all staff in the building, which also housed the Welfare Department, Land Tax, Data Processing, Vector Control Unit, the Barbados Statistical Service, the Division of Labour and Community Development, the Bureau of Gender Affairs, the Agricultural Credit Bank, the Valuation Division, and the Electoral Office among others, was RELOCATED.” [Nation News – July 14, 2017]

Let us assume the old NIS building was not demolished. Would it have been a wise decision to house people in a building that had to be vacated after workers occupying the offices therein were becoming sick?

43. DUbstreet

Ac glad not to be placed inside the mold of what constitutes “brightness” in barbados
    A look at those inteluctuals whose grand ideas fit into the brightest mold in Barbados and apply them to Barbados social and economic failures makes for the asking where were they educated
    Almost fifty years and counting the social and economic levels of a Barbados society has seen the most vulnerable sink to the lowest of low
    Meanwhile govt hand outs to the wealthy has increased policies which includes forgiveness of debt and tax waivers

44. Did govt present detailed scientific proof that the building was sick
    In an area of technology and scientific findings what determines a sick building must be determined by fact finding and through scientific analyst as sound proof for demolishing

Leave a Reply to John2Cancel reply