Follow the authoritative source for weather information re: Barbados Meteorological Services as Storm Elsa begins to affect Barbados. For additional information on this tropical storm watch, please visit: https://www.barbadosweather.org/windBarResp.php . – Blogmaster

349 responses to “Storm Elsa is Here”

1. In one of Govt PR conferences I heard auntie Mia saying as a reference that in the good ole USA when there is a hurricane some parts of areas affected have no electricity for weeks
    Although some truth is in that statement
    The cat of hurricane to do that much devastation would have been one on the level of a cat 5 where there was multiple tornado activity
    Example hurricane David in fla and Katrina because of heavy flooding
    Those comparison gives a right of understanding the damage that would be done during a cat 4 or 5
    The comparison of a cat 1 hurricane with 75 miles per hour wind does not fit into the same category as one which can do the same catastrophic damage as a cat 5
    My mind tells me that auntie Mia rather than placed some kind of responsibility towards bl& p prefer to send a message of comfort looking past the hurt and pain people felt from the loss of electricty

2. A cat 4 or 5 hurricane can un leash multiple damage bringing wide spread damage in many areas with out any exception
    Elsa a Cat 1 which was expected to cross fla would in know way do the kind of damage to fla infrastructure and electrical service as was seen in Barbados
    The truth of the matter as Elsa cross the West Coast of Fla upward into the Eastern Seaboard would only serve to exposed the bl& p incompetence and its selfish PR messages distancing itself from responsibility
    Whereby a low grade hurricane Elsa had very little devastating impact on Fla electric Service as happened in barbados

3. Hmm

The sum of twenty-two million one hundred and fifty-three thousand and eight hundred and seventy-five dollars ($22,153,875) should be approved under Head 34 – Ministry of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment as follows:

Head 34:

MINISTRY OF FINANCE, ECONOMIC

AFFAIRS AND INVESTMENT

Direction & Policy Formulation Services

Contingencies

Programme 040:

Sub-Programme 0022:

Account Code 230: Contingencies – $22,153,875

SUMMARY OF ASHFALL EXPENDITURE BY MINISTRIES

MINISTRIES/DEPARTMENTS

AMOUNTS

528,955 PM office

1,113,781. MINISTRY of tourism and international Transport

495,836 Attorney General office

41,830Ministry of Innovation Science and Smart Technology

15,000 Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

71,971.Ministry of Home Affairs information and Public Affairs

52,880 Ministry of Finance Economic Affaiirs and Investment

134,699 Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs

464,294 Ministry of International Business and Industry

99,238 Ministry of Maritime Affairs and the blue economy

40,256 Post office

13,278,978 Ministry of Transport works and water resources

915,645 Ministry of Environment and National Beautification

255,860 Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security

327,409 Ministry of health and Wellness

3,688,648 Ministry of Education Technology and vocational Training

200,135 Ministry of Youth Sports and Community Empowerment

428,460 Ministry of Housing Landa and Maintenance

The sum of $22,153,875 is to reimburse Ministries, Departments and State-owned Enterprises for expenditure incurred from the clean-up process resulting from the ash deposited on Barbados.

13 PRIME MINISTER’S OFFICE

27 MINISTRY OF TOURISM AND INTERNATIONAL TRANSPORT

30 ATTORNEY GENERAL

31 MINISTRY OF INNOVATION, SCIENCE AND SMART TECHNOLOGY

32 MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND FOREIGN TRADE

33 MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS, INFORMATION AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS 34 MINISTRY OF FINANCE, ECONOMIC AFFAIRS AND INVESTMENT

35 MINISTRY OF PEOPLE EMPOWERMENT AND ELDER AFFAIRS

39 MINISTRY OF INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY

46 MINISTRY OF MARITIME AFFAIRS AND THE BLUE ECONOMY

50 POST OFFICE

81 MINISTRY OF TRANSPORT, WORKS AND WATER RESOURCES

82 MINISTRY OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATIONAL BEAUTIFICATION

83 MNISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD SECURITY

86 MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND WELLNESS

87 MINISTRY OF EDUCATION, TECHNOLOGY AND VOCATIONAL TRAINING

91 MINISTRY OF YOUTH, SPORTS AND COMMUNITY EMPOWERMENT

93 MINISTRY OF HOUSING, LANDS AND MAINTENANCE

TOTAL22,153,875

4. ELSA passed through Fla and everybody has electricity
    Not so in Barbados almost a week later and people do not have electricity

5. The restoration begun in the East coast of fla and electricity restored to most homes in a day
    Up until two days ago bl&p said that 20 thousand homes was without power
    Now u are not trying to compare bl & p long process which started almost a week ago and still not finished to a day and a half worth of completion of work to what has been done in Jacksonville to restoring electricity to about 12thousand homes
    No contest bl& p efforts made it easy for Elsa to exposed its incompetence

6. Some how it feels real good being the lone man standing on the burning deck
    David flush out the ignoramuses real good
    Just rolling on the floor with laughter 🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣🤣🤣

7. I have had those for years.

8. My friend after six days got back electricity today
    All perishables gone like real.money down the drain
    Yuh think govt of Barbados gonna help those who have lost some of their food supplies because of nature’s pounding
    The elderly at least

9. 11thousand in Barbados still without lights
    Bl&p says it might be a week longer before restoration

10. Every hurricane season we are reminded not to fill our fridge with perishables. We are also reminded to turn our fridge to maximum before the storm. I took care to follow both of these and my meat was frozen after three days. The meat can last for another day or so chilled. And you can also prolong its life in a cooler with ice. So… you do the above and then you cook the meat and use it up. Nobody should be losing a whole lot.

Having said that, BL&P have probably run out of transformers. They said 45 needed replacing. Probably weren’t expecting a hit. Not ready for it.

11. I was searching for a post by GP2 where he gave some very useful information on home construction.
    Unable to find it and surprise that no one provided a link to this valuable infornation.

12. That should be a word
    infornation — information on fornication

13. Sometimes I am astonished how bajans view most of every facet of life in a singular lens
    Many barbadians especially the elderly does a weekly or monthly shopping preferring to by in bulk items like canned foods and meat
    There are many reasons which can contribute to people buying more of one product than the other
    Maybe a convient way of saving when prices go on sale
    Another maybe lack of everyday personnel transportation as might be with the elderly
    And maybe relying on a monthly check to do their monthly shopping
    The gall and nerve of insensitivity towards those who might have lost their perishables is downright nasty and speaks of a don’t carish attitude towards bajans struggling to make ends meet being thrown into immediate devastation by Elsa
    Phew

14. Govt needs to put in place a committee to look into the truthfulness of bl&p information regarding outages that happen because of down rotten poles
    messages sent to BL&p by concerned citizens on the concerns of leaning and rotten poles before the hurricane occured should be contacted
    Bl& p should bare some of the responsibility
    A week is too long for people to go with out electrify in a COVID environment

15. One can always find somebody in every damn neighbourhood willing to buy you a chicken when necessary.

I myself, the uncaring one, once volunteered to assist the lady who undertook such at the church I attended.

I also planned and executed many programmes in my role as member of the League of Friends of one district hospital. Also executed one such programme with my workplace that lasted after my departure.

So much for don’t carish, nuh!

Piss off, you pox-filled plague of a political pimp!

16. When Angela Cox has stood for two minutes with a youth group of teenagers, next to a previously unnoticed ball of shite and sung carols to the elderly patients of a district hospital, she can talk to me of don’t carishness!

Only one young person couldn’t stay the carol’s course. She ran outside for air. The rest remained and sang with straight faces.

17. Meanwhile, Donna has identified one elderly woman worthy of her assistance who lost her house in the hurricane.

She passed me in my garden yesterday on the way to shout a relative before work.

Not giving to people who refuse to help themselves. Not giving to government to help them.

18. And I forgot… really poor people cannot buy meat in bulk no matter the price.

19. DonnaJuly 10, 2021 7:23 AM

One can always find somebody in every damn neighbourhood willing to buy you a chicken when necessary.

I myself, the uncaring one, once volunteered to assist the lady who undertook such at the church I attended.

I also planned and executed many programmes in my role as member of the League of Friends of one district hospital. Also executed one such programme with my workplace that lasted after my departure.

So much for don’t carish, nuh!

Piss off, you pox-filled plague of a political pimp

Ok “I” uh always eyeballing everything in a singular lense about self

20. Hope govt gives a full account of the financial donations received through the Banking Find which govt has set up
    Surely some of those monies can be allocated towards households losing their perishables
    Hope bl&p would be generous enough to donate to the Fund

21. @ Donna

We’re advised year after year, after year, not to overstock our refrigerators with meats and other perishable items during the ‘hurricane season.’ Yet, we ignore the advice and do it anyway.

I’m sure you would’ve realized by now, the politicians and their operatives believe in exploiting unfortunate situations such as ‘Elsa,’ to show false concern for poor people, perhaps believing by repeatedly mentioning their plight is an indication they (politicians and operatives), actually care.
    They’ll also provide us with silly scenarios and use ‘hypocritical catch phrases’ such as “insensitivity” and “don’t carish attitude” in an attempt to support their rhetorical political diatribe.

Asking them about their personal track record of service the same poor people will obviously be met with silence.

It’s all a ‘political show.’

22. Artax

Asking them about their personal track record of service the same poor people will obviously be met with silence

Xxxxxcc
    I was taught that self praise is not worthy of being called praise
    Hence my silence stays rested and comfortable with any one I have helped

23. You made it about me when you labelled me don’t carish! I have responded appropriately and shown how my life has NEVER been all about me.

What have you done that matches what I did, Angela Cox, the plague filled political pimp of a pox on Barbados?

That is the question you must answer!

Gum flapper!

24. No self-praise. Just facts. Necessary facts that show where I am coming from. I do not speak from a purely (or impurely?) partisan political perspective.

It matters not whether I talk about the deeds. What matters is that I did them. None of you know who I am, so what did I gain?

Here are some more facts -there is no place in Barbados where no-one can be found to buy meat for an elderly person during hurricane season. AND truly poor people cannot afford to buy meat in bulk no matter the price.

You are pooping politically, as usual. If the DLP were in power, you would be proposing the OPPOSITE.

Donna doan play dat!

Judging from your PERFORMANCE here, I would bet you are like Carson Cadogan, promising to pay a pensioner’s utility bill sometime before a 30:0 massacre and disappearing, never to return.

P.S. Indeed I am most proud of those selfless things I have done in my life. Especially singing carols while standing next to shite. Did not want to take the old folks’ dignity by overtly drawing attention to it. They were so happy that the young people had remembered them! Thank you for bringing them to mind. I can still see the smiles on their faces as they sang along. I remember the requests for favourite carols.

Good days those! Happy times that proved that it is indeed better to give than to receive.

I must go tell my son about the shitty singing! Don’t think he heard it before.

25. Correction – SOME TIME

26. I was expecting you to turn up. Have you ever sung carols with a group of young people while standing three inches from a ball of shite? St. Lucy did have a district hospital, after all!

It is easy to give money and walk away but much harder to be hands on.

You people are full of it, shit, I mean!

27. Donna

It matters not whether I talk about the deeds. What matters is that I did them. None of you know who I am, so what did I gain?

Here are some more facts -there is no place in Barbados where no-one can be found to buy meat for an elderly person during hurricane season. AND truly poor people cannot afford to buy meat in bulk no matter the price

Xxxxxxxxx
    However what about those small shops that would have bought and stored meat in bulk
    Or don’t they count as having losses

28. Small shops should have deep freezes that can keep meat frozen for ages. Long enough to devise a back up plan.

Should have been be first in line for a generator.

They are now sold out.

Most of Barbados had electricity a day or so after. Must have a friend with electricity who could keep the meat in the deep freeze. You could pay the increase in the bill.

Life!

29. Can we also have some empathy for the light and power crews. Some of the were probably affected by the hurricane and lost of power / water yet they are probably working extended hours and days from the all clear and will be going at it until all is restored

In the USA we have crews from other states usually go to help out others that had been hit . Not so in Barbados

30. John 2,

Some crews were to come from neighbouring islands where Emera operates.

31. 1/1
    Not engaging

32. DonnaJuly 10, 2021 1:09 PM

Small shops should have deep freezes that can keep meat frozen for ages. Long enough to devise a back up plan.

Should have been be first in line for a generator.

They are now sold out.

Most of Barbados had electricity a day or so after. Must have a friend with electricity who could keep the meat in the deep freeze. You could pay the increase in the bill

Xxxxxxxx

Most likely Elsa thought process with howling winds was the same as yours
    Lol

33. So… I take it that is a “no”.

You wouldn’t know what “it is” if it stood in front of you with a flashing neon sign.

Too stubbornly foolish to see it clearly.

34. Howling winds whispering the truth – “Angela Cox is a political pox. Angela Cox is a political pox. Angela Cox is a political pox….”

35. There are many ways to engage. There is the “vote button” and there is the “like” button.

36. Oh dear! That should have been- I HELPED TO PLAN AND EXECUTE. Wouldn’t wish to mislead the blog!

37. @John2 July 10, 2021 1:22 PM “In the USA we have crews from other states usually go to help out others that had been hit . Not so in Barbados.”

Some have finally arrived from Dominica, but because of Covid they of course had be have been immunised and then tested and quarantined upon arrival. I believe that the whole process took a week and they were finally able to go out to work on yesterday Friday 9th July.

38. Here is an article in which areas of St Lucy are mentioned.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/10/4-200-blp-customers-still-without-power-after-elsa/

We cannot fully assess what is happening if the information fed to us contains significant omissions.

39. @Donna
    @Cuhdear

Thanks for the information.

40. Theo

Your investigative reporter no use to you?

41. @J2
    Good afternoon.
    I believe she iso assignment elsewhere.

42. Six words in a sentence.
    One typo.

43. Will check back to see if this generated any feedback.
    https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/18/vendors-unsure-future/