We are approximately five months away from when Barbados is scheduled to become a Republic.  The news media are doing Barbados a grave disservice by not allowing fair discussion of this now critical issue.  They are also misleading the public by claiming that the Governor General’s role is only ceremonial.

Barbados cannot afford the luxury of maintaining expensive ceremonial posts, while our debts are over 150% of our Gross Domestic Product (GDP).  For context, the unsustainable debt threshold is 60% of GDP.  Therefore, if the Governor General’s post is only ceremonial, then the Prime Minister should call a referendum, get the consent of the people, and make us a Republic already.

THE FACTS.

The fact is that despite the media’s disinformation campaign, the Governor General is not a ceremonial position.  The Governor General is supposed to protect Barbadians from sustained economic and physical harm.

Since a political public service is not based on merit, it normally ruins an economy through unsustainable debts.  This forces the public to live in hand-to-mouth or pay-cheque to pay-cheque poverty.  To avoid this nightmare, the Constitution gives the Governor General the authority to hire, fire, and discipline public workers (Section 94.1).

END THE FARCE.

Unfortunately for us, past administrations recommended aged persons (close to or past their three score and ten allotment) to the post of Governor General, burdened them with tiresome ceremonial duties, and appointed intermediate bodies to manage our public services.

The result of those actions made the Governor General’s function of protecting the public from economic harm, de facto ceremonial – and ineffective.  Since our Independence, none of our Governor Generals asserted their authority to stop the politization of our public services.  Therefore, the public must rely on Prime Ministerial benevolence.

If the Prime Minister is not willing to relinquish the power that a Prime Minister was never Constitutionally intended to have, then whether we become a Republic, or remain as is, will not make any difference to us.  Therefore, if this was the Governor General’s only role, then we should become a Republic, and end this farce of a de facto ceremonial Governor General already.

INSURED VS UNINSURED.

The fact is that the Governor General’s most important role is to protect citizens from sustained physical harm.  Since our Independence, we managed our affairs, secure in the
knowledge that we were insured against aggressors.

There are only two types of countries on Earth – those whose citizens are insured, and those whose citizens are not.  An uninsured nation normally attracts the attention of an aggressor nation, that tries to destabilize the government, including through internal strife.  The historical record is full of examples in South America, Africa, and Asia.

NUCLEAR WEAPONS AND THE UN.

Historically, nations negotiated trade and military alliances with other nations.  It is because of these military alliances that the world experienced the two World Wars, which culminated with nuclear weapons and the United Nations (UN) in 1945.

Larger nations now self-insure against aggressors, by investing in nuclear weapons.  There are currently nine countries with nuclear weapons, but only five of them have enough to strike every nation, namely: Russia, USA, France, UK, and China, who are the five permanent members of the UN Security Council.  The other nuclear-weapon countries are: Pakistan, India, Israel, and North Korea.

INSURED COUNTRIES.

The only countries with the capability to deter aggressor nations, are those with nuclear weapons.  As a Constitutional Monarchy, we are automatically insured through the UK, as are Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Papua New Guinea, and eight other Caribbean countries.

Since aggressors do not dare threaten insured countries, we have taken our insurance for granted.  We are oblivious to the risks that uninsured countries face, and wonder, in child-like ignorance, why uninsured countries tend to be in conflict.

ILLUSORY INSURANCE.

If we are planning to become a Republic, and have not started to negotiate international insurance, then our Prime Minister is being very badly advised.  If the advice is to insure us through the United Nations, then we are sunk.

The United Nations is willing to accept any amount of collateral damage, to prevent war between nations.  Therefore, UN insurance is an illusion for citizens.  This was proven during the murder of at least 800,000 uninsured Rwandans in 1994, when the UN was present in the country and allowed the genocide.

CANCELLED INSURANCE.

Today, the citizens of countries in conflict, who their political leaders tricked into cancelling their international insurance, desperately plead with the UN for help.  The most that they can hope for, is a useless UN Security Council resolution, asking all parties to find a diplomatic solution to the conflict.  Insured citizens have a realistic hope of help.

In 1982, Argentina seized the Falkland Islands.  Despite the population of the Islands being approximately 2,000 persons, they were insured.  Three days later, the UK sent a naval force which defeated the Argentine military.

A RELIABLE INSURER.

Venezuela had territorial disputes with Guyana, Dominica, and Trinidad & Tobago, and has threatened military action against Guyana and Dominica.  The US has threatened military action against Cuba and Haiti.  The targets are all uninsured Republics.

The Governor General is the only person in Barbados who can activate our insurance, to which the UK is obligated to respond.  Before we become a Republic, the public deserves to know who will have standing to activate our international insurance, and the name of the reliable insurer.  The public also deserves to know whether the intention is to leave Barbadians uninsured with the UN.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

122 responses to “Difficult Conversations – Ceremonial Governor General?”

1. @William

You always take things out of context. The blogmaster offers no apology for referring to some of you as #throwashadecrew. Come out and accuse the blogmaster, do not be a coward with your words. The label is relevant because some of you only post negatives to the blog about Barbados. Nothing good happens on the island. Barbados is an entirely failed state. It is like some of you awake every morning and the priority of the day is to identify what is wrong with Barbados. Your generalization does not change this position.

Carry on smartly.

2. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna June 23, 2021 6:22 AM “Going out to the garden to see if the rain added to the contents of the glass. Saw a beautiful sunrise this morning. No white men in sight!”

Nothing much wrong with a white man if he is young and handsome. Every though I am supposed to be afraid, sitting here on my verandah, working BU and 3 books. Maybe a white man will ass by and scare me, maybe not. Lolll!!!

Long ago and far a way a white woman tried to intimidate me and told lies on me when I had just moved into my brand new very nice apartment. I said to her “look woman. I am not moving from here until I can afford to buy my own house. If you don’t like having me as a neighbor you are free to move.” Even though her daddy was a high school principal and mine was a poor laborer/farmer/tradesman, she was a beer drinking, high school dropout and I was a proper working woman/university student. Shortly thereafter she moved her frowsy self, man and pickney someplace deep in the countryside. And I lived happily after. Don’t try to intimidate me in my own country (any of them).

I int going nowhere. It is here I intend to stay. And in my family we outlive ALL of the bad politicians. We make jokes and say we will wait until this lot dead. Nothing is as much fun as going to the funeral of a mis-Representative.

3. The difference between Country and City Life can also be applied to Barbados compared to other countries.

Barbados is like many places that are fine when you got money and not so good when you have none.

4. William Skinner Avatar

Please pull any article or submission of Barbados that William Skinner has written here on BU that called Barbados a “ failed state “. Please pull and publish any article written by him that promoted the USA, England , Canada or anywhere else as superior to his country.
    I guess as owner/ blogmaster, when you critique our country , you are merely being a concerned citizen. When I do so, I can’t speak for others, I am “throwing shade “ and I get up every morning to criticize my country.
    Carry on smartly and I thank you for allowing me to post in your blog
    Peace, Comrade.

5. What’s in a name?

Ask your heroine WURA War-on-U!

6. William Skinner,

Why do you think you were able to tell TLSN that his notions about my shitty status in Barbados are outdated?

Obviously because you still have one foot in Barbados.

I have NEVER experienced the Barbados of which he speaks. I wonder when he left here and when last he returned and how long he spent here on his last visit.

So my reference to overseas pronouncements was given in that context.

He was truly ridiculous!

Signed: Citizen Third Class at Best still HAPPY in Barbados even though she has now been apprised of her lowly status after fifty years of healthy self-esteem.

P.S. Your diagnosis of what ails us is not exaggerated, unlike others. This exaggeration is what annoys us and causes the response.

7. Cuhdear Bajan,

No young and handsome white men spotted as yet. Plenty young and handsome black ones.

And one middle-aged black one, grinning from ear to ear, AS USUAL. I did not attempt to wipe the smile off his face by informing him of his third class at best status.

I leave the misery on BU where I found it.

8. ‘The fact some of you have no issue with a black majority country holding the Queen of England as the titular head of Barbados AND whatever default authority given her in the Constitution of Barbados quite frankly is embarrassing to the blogmaster.’

I think some are deliberately missing or muddling the point. There is no desire to retain the queen (note the lowercase q) of England as titular or non-titular head.

My concern is what are the actual benefits to the citizens? What if we change tomorrow and then repeat the past 50 years. Could someone outline the benefits.

9. “Please pull any article or submission of Barbados that William Skinner has written here on BU that called Barbados a “ failed state “”

When you bang on about duopolies endlessly it implies you think Government States have failed.
    How can biddy old people be considered radical.

Independence will be a reboot
    Vibrating the string of everything

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSxALf1MVrE

10. “A rose by any name is just as sweet”
    There is also a next-phrase that is less appealing
    “PUT LIPSTICK ON A PIG, IT’S STILL A PIG”

Name changes or putting on make-up does not change the character of ‘a person’

11. Sometimes we are too dismissive of each other. Loaded words, name calling or even insults do not encourage a vibrant discussion. It does the opposite; it stifle the exchange of ideas.

I love this bit from the Desiderata…
    “As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story. Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit.”

I try to follow the teaching,but fail at times.

12. William Skinner Avatar

I have to remind so many people that I have never mentally left my country. I address American university and high school students from time to time and they are amazed that we have free education from kindergarten to university; a amazed that any citizen can be treated at the hospital without insurance; amazed that we give basically free lunches to primary school children; amazed I have friends who retired at 55 ; amazed that our maternity leave policies were at least 1000 years ahead of the USA.
    I find it very offensive if not pathetic or downright disingenuous that @ David or anybody else on BU can actually put me in some “ you” column when talking about “throwing shade “on my country.
    I don’t care what anybody says , I remain firm that the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party have done equally well and equally badly.
    I firmly believe that they have both outlived their usefulness.
    However they seem to remain the people’s choice and I respect that. But @ David has no shame when he deliberately encourages nonsense and then pleads for a higher level of debate.
    He often behaves like the same frigging political class he pretends to dislike.
    On a lighter note I have to remind you that I don’t have one foot in Barbados I really have my whole being right there with you and all the others who love our country.

13. All this long talk gonna end up just long talk
    The economic interest of Barbadains. some how has gotten lost some where out there
    We have a communities where the head of household are not working
    Cannot receive their severance pay
    Really if the queen is removed who benefits.
    That is the question I want to know

14. Govt seeks world Bank approval for more rope to hang around the peoples neck

World Bank to consider US$100 million loan for Barbados

15. William Skinner,

I stand corrected.

To Whom it May Concern,

Some speak plainly and others take pot shots from the sidelines that offer plausible deniability.

From what I have heard, most people prefer the former.

If yuh talk shite I gon cuss yuh without apology.

I see you have not yet grasped the idea of a starting point. You are stuck believing that we shall end where we begin.

If you were here among the young you would know that there is something afoot. It is only a handful who run about shooting each other.

P.S. My mother had pigs who were cleaner and smarter than some humans. Pigs are nothing like you think. I like pigs, lipstick or not.

16. Here I am, Citizen Third Class at best enjoying my day from the bottom of the garbage heap.

You know what they say-

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure!

17. “All this long talk gonna end up just long talk
    The economic interest of BarbadwiutfiqigkzbckA>fyhovhnlnhvl/
    ow[pjedj;pebnclahh
    jfojok;sajgfpjhpihp;gefv
    Really if the queen is removed who benefits.
    That is the question I want to know”

Losing 30 0 blew your damn mind

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Az9j3S9TYfk&list=OLAK5uy_kAWIhbUmunlviVpKsOlkEezZVi90k_3uM

18. 1/1
    We have our own opinions. I will state what is on my mind.
    If I have something to tell someone, I will tell them.
    I am not buying or selling anything.
    How others choose to take what I say is their business.

19. (Quote):
    One little THREAT of protest about the fuel tax and we hear about fuel tax caps. (Unquote).

Wasn’t it the economist Carlos Forte- another ‘overseas Bajan’ who likes to throw the occasional little ‘shade of light’- that made the proposal of a cap on the taxes imposed on fuel?

This could be achieved via the VAT route by not imposing VAT upon the other taxes included in the final price to the consumer.

Wasn’t it Mascoll, the political grasshopper, who rejected such a proposal only to have his quisling wings cut off, (like “Enuff’s”), by MAM’s intervention in order to steal the PR spotlight of initiatives to control the skyrocketing cost of living?

20. This is a good start on what might be different, but the treatment of the subject is very limited.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/11/27/republic-of-barbados/

21. @ angela cox June 23, 2021 12:52 PM
    “Govt seeks world Bank approval for more rope to hang around the peoples neck
    World Bank to consider US$100 million loan for Barbados..”

That loan should be approved only if some of the proceeds will be spent in building sewerage facilities to stop the wholesale dumping of human liquid waste infected with dangerous chemicals into the sea.

The West coast is badly in need of a sewage system. Something which should have been done when Barbados was floating in foreign money.

22. William Skinner Avatar

I raised pigs to save money for donkey years. Pigs are extremely clean animals. My family was in the butcher business and I know a hell of a lot about pigs both raiding and slaughtering.
    I just don’t share to many personal experiences on BU or anywhere else. Those who know me know. I jus try enjoy reading what others write and moe often than not my experiences are identical or similar.
    Like I live in three countries – two are in the in the Caribbean and of course tge rock is one.
    I spent the entire three weeks before and one week after the last elections on the ground.
    All one can do is laugh when outlandish things are said by those who live on the rock . Just as all I can do is laugh when those who live outside make outlandish statements. All of it is pure BS from both sides.
    BTW I have never been so uninformed to believe that the majority of youth are vagabonds. I was deeply involved in too much community work to ever believe such nonsense.
    Quite frankly I am still mentoring a couple of young business people whose parents I met before they were born when I was doing community work.
    Sometimes we just need to be more civil and put a stop to nonproductive discourse. I am as guilty as anybody else but we can all do better if we choose to.

23. Jeff and Amused both had some thoughts on becoming a republic.
    Jeff’s contributions are cleverly written, but that of Amused gripped me…
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2016/01/09/another-perspective-on-barbados-becoming-a-republic/
    “And how does all this tie into the author’s views, with which I completely agree? If we become a republic, apart from the extraordinary expense already highlighted by the author, the already parlous state of our country will diminish even further into dictatorship. We will become a pariah state like Venezuela or even like North Korea with its “beloved leader” or Feuhrer (ring any bells?). We are already in crisis state, but what the hell – let us embrace the idiocy of people like @ac, as long as the dictators give us bread and circuses whenever they are touting for votes and support. And I also agree that one party is as bad as the other.”

24. @Miller

To be fair to Mascoll he indicated that a political decision would have to be made about the price of fuel at the pump. Bear in mind you give money back at the pump it may affect governments funding.

25. Amused again
    ‘We should not, at this time, be fooled into celebrating how far we have come/descended as a country. Rather, we should be ashamed of ourselves over the brass bowls we have elected to rule us once they ad gone. And using this time to promote giving these idiots even more power is suicidal. So, what we got was not a celebration, but the precursor to a wake.”

26. The last comment was about achieving independence.

27. @ nextparty246June 22, 2021 5:35 PM
    William:

It is not about removing the Queen, it is doing it in a way that does not disadvantage us.
    Rather than become a Republic in a responsible manner, it seems that we just want to appease the political radical activists.
    Radical activists always reveal themselves by their insults – they cannot help themselves.
    (Unquote).

GP No.2, you have allowed yourself to be easily outfoxed by the ‘Pro-Republic’ Unilateral brigade.

You should have stuck to the position similar to what the early (white) Bajans did to the Cromwell Roundheads at the Oistin’s (Austin’s) Bay in their defence of the principle of ‘No taxation without representation’.

Where is the mandate from the people to go republic?

Where is the ‘War of Words’ being fought for the republic in the hearts and minds of the people?

Isn’t this the gist of your argument in your ‘Open Letter to the PM’ when you state:

Your advisors want you to behave like a dictator now, and forcibly take our consent. I am asking you to earn it, as promised in your party’s 2008 Manifesto.
    This includes allowing an honest discussion on this issue, and then letting the people decide how they want to be governed, by holding the BLP promised referendum. (Unquote).

Doesn’t the very ethos of being a republic require the consent of the people where every man is a ‘Sir’ and every woman a ‘Dame’?

28. Miller

That loan should be approved only if some of the proceeds will be spent in building sewerage facilities to stop the wholesale dumping of human liquid waste infected with dangerous chemicals into the sea

Xxxxxxxxcxx

That is a govt problem which govt would have to deal with on a financial level
    Govt doesn’t seem to be in haste to save the ocean from toxins from the sewage plants
    Most concentrate on the southwest plant
    However problems with the bridge town plant has been heard and known for year

29. @ David June 23, 2021 4:28 PM

This is NOT a case for ‘giving money (back) to consumers but one of improving fairness and efficiency in the pricing formula.

Why distort the pricing mechanism by imposing VAT on top of the already burdensome layer of specific tax?

Why not set the specific tax(es) at a level needed to achieve the government’s political and environmental objectives and leave the VAT to the market supply and demand forces?

Did consumers experienced a reduction in the CoL when the NSRL was removed?

30. @Miller

Government collected taxes to satisfy the money grab to pay for social services. It is that simple.

31. @ David June 23, 2021 5:40 PM

And to cover the cost of carrying an obese Cabinet and its entourage of consultants and hangers-on like the DPA when there is a GIS already in place and fully equipped.

32. @ Donna,
    You have misconstrued the words that I employed to describe you “………as at best a third class person,…….”. This was not a jab at you.. There was a context to this statement.

Blacks irrespective of where they reside are considered as inferior or third class. Never mind that many of us are educated. Over the decades I have spent periods in Barbados ranging from one week to six months. I have Bajan citizenship.

I have always felt uncomfortable in Barbados especially when I have required a service. I have been treated too many times as a third class citizen. I am sure you can remember the recent mistreatment of two high profile British-Nigerians who were humiliated and mistreated by their hosts. One of these organisations was Sandy Lane. I believe they have yet to offer a full apology to the young gentleman who they accosted.

If these two individuals were not viewed as third class citizens they would not have received such terrible treatment. Sometimes in Barbados we are so conditioned to receiving a third class service that we do not recognise we are being treated as third class citizens.

I hope you had a great day in the garden. Good to hear that you remain a supporter and a source of inspiration to your lad. Good night.

33. @ TLSN June 23, 2021 6:10 PM
    I have always felt uncomfortable in Barbados especially when I have required a service. I have been treated too many times as a third class citizen. I am sure you can remember the recent mistreatment of two high profile British-Nigerians who were humiliated and mistreated by their hosts. One of these organisations was Sandy Lane. I believe they have yet to offer a full apology to the young gentleman who they accosted. (Unquote).

Good reminder of that case in the country still laden with the remnants of an apartheid society.

Was thinking about referring to it earlier but was scared of being called “elitist” for speaking the truth.

Many black Americans are rather wary of choosing Barbados as a destination of choice because of the horror stories of the inferior treatment meted out to their older folks while patronizing hotels and other establishments catering to foreign clienteles.

34. @ Miller,
    Not all of us are treated the same. There are a small number of blacks who will sail through life without experiencing a single negative experience of racism. They are the fortunate few.

35. @ TLSN June 23, 2021 7:05 PM
    “There are a small number of blacks who will sail through life without experiencing a single negative experience of racism.”

That maybe be a fact of life; and that’s the way it ought to be for the majority.

But why should a black person ever encounter any case of racism in Barbados which is a country with a (vast) majority black population and ‘endowed’ with a so-called 98% literacy rate?

People ought to be treated fairly and based on their attitude instead of their ethnic origin.

36. Didn’t know busis at unused buses at TB was good enough to be auctioned off
    I thought these buses were already given the final resting place
    But NO

https://fb.watch/6jxwoFKwRV/

37. “Didn’t know busis at unused buses at TB was good enough to be auctioned off. I thought these buses were already given the final resting place. But NO.”

You either ‘fabricate’ or ‘scrape the bottom of the barrel’ looking for something to criticize.

The more you climb the more you display your……….

Stupse…….. SMDH.

38. @ TheO June 23, 2021 12:13 PM: “Sometimes we are too dismissive of each other. Loaded words, name calling or even insults do not encourage a vibrant discussion. It does the opposite; it stifle the exchange of ideas.”

Every issue is multifaceted and can be viewed from multiple viewpoints. It is difficult for one person to view all facets – which is why an honest discussion is required on issues before reaching a final conclusion. That is the way of the adult.

We expect selfish infants to only want their own way. We also expect rude infants to insult any person who offers any contrary view. Those who have chosen the way of the rude and selfish infant consistently reveal themselves on BU. They simply cannot help themselves.

39. Blah blah blah! I take no prisoners with Trump supporters, especially the black ones!

You suffer from arrested development. That is why you write about fictitious insurance policies and other fairy tales.

Almost everything you have written from your first presentation to BU has been juvenile. I remember being stunned into silence along with everybody else. Nobody knew what to make of it. I wondered if I was the only one thinking it…..

BUT then somebody remarked that it resembled a CXC project or something of the sort and breathed a sigh of relief.

40. P.S. I hope you have done your research on Idi Amin and discovered that he was both a creation of and a puppet of the imperialists.

Schoolboy mistake!

41. TSLN,

You clearly stated that I, being black, am treated as a third class citizen at best. You clearly stated that I have been CONDITIONED to expect and accept the unacceptable from Government. You clearly stated that I get inferior service from businesses because of my race.

The whole damn thing was about me! And I assure you that what you see on BU is what you get off BU.

NOBODY conditions Donna to expect or accept ANYTHING! I cannot be made to feel uncomfortable in public places or in business places that are taking my money. I demand and almost always get what I have paid for. I lodge loud protests, write letters and sue when necessary. I get apologies, solutions, reversals, discounts but mostly I get no problems.

It appears that I am made of sterner stuff than you are. And so I wonder, how do you fare in the white man’s concrete jungle???????

Hal Austin was worried that black people were being denied treatment in crucial days of the COVID crisis.

Oprah was profiled and dismissed in a store in Europe.

Rich black footballers cannot always expect to play football without a soundtrack of monkey calls.

Meghan Markle was chased out of the royal family and indeed out of Britain.

I could go on and on but I shall waste no more of a lovely day with my black brothers and sisters at the bottom of Barbados’ garbage heap.

42. @ Donna

I have to agree with you.

There isn’t anyone who can condition me to expect or accept anything as well. Neither can I be made to feel uncomfortable in any establishment where I conduct business, whether it is publicly or privately owned. And, ‘I’ve never been made to feel like a third class citizen.’

I likewise demand what I have paid for and if I discover the service is unsatisfactory, I leave immediately and take my business elsewhere.

Perhaps the problem is, many of these individuals seem to believe living in the UK, USA, Germany, Canada, Netherlands or wherever, gives them some special right to come here with their ‘overly accentuated English or American accents’ and be arrogant, condescending and downright rude when they interact with people.

Read their contributions, especially from those individuals who reside in a particular country, and you’ll realize their behavioural characteristics are similar to those of their white counterparts, except they usually take things a bit further…… as Chaucer would say, “amenden al the jape.”

Note how they describe you as trying to be more Bajan than Bajans.

We have characters here on BU who believe they have the ‘patent on intelligence.’ Notice how they always want to give the impression that Barbados and Barbadians are ‘backward.’
    They use the 15 or so BU as the ‘population mean’ to describe all Barbadians as being passive/aggressive, silly buffoons, in need of psychiatric help…….. that we have some specially acquired ‘condition.’
    They entertain us with shiite such as Roach being given a contract to play England county cricket would expose him intellectually. Or, Adrian Greene view points signifies he is a person who has lived ‘outside’ of Barbados.

References are also made to ‘Plato Allegory,’……… they ‘escaped the cave,’…….. and ‘think outside the box.’

Also notice how they ‘huddle together.’

I’m sure you and others are offended by their attitudes.

A friend of mine always used to say, ‘habit is an action so often repeated that it becomes second nature.’

It’s hard to believe they RESERVE such behaviour ONLY for BU and not take it into the wider society.

Obviously, people will also become offended and react to them accordingly.

43. @NorthernObserverJune 22, 2021 5:06 PM

What form of republic? It is as clear as daylight that we need a presidential republic with a very strong president. That seat is rightfully Mia Mottley’s alone by virtue of her birthright, goodness, strength and genius.

44. @TLSNJune 22, 2021 5:35 PM

What is the point of changing the constitution from a kingdom to a republic? The question is quite simple to answer! The masses need a distraction for the coming currency “reform”. A republic, of course, needs a new currency, the Barbados Republic Dollar (BRD). It will be pegged 1:10 to the USD.

45. @ Donna,
    Have you read Miller’s comments at June 23, 2021 7:23 PM?

I have been a regular visitor to Barbados throughout my life and have given you my first hand experiences.

From the time a young girl’s body begins to sprout she will be subjected to all forms of unwanted sexual attention. Would you tell that young or older female that she is weak and that you would be immune from such attention as you are “made of sterner stuff”.

You appear to be indifferent towards the struggles and achievements made by the UK diaspora. Which is a shame as this dispora could go a long way in elevating the social. economic and political well-being of Barbados – in my opinion.

Whilst we indulge in tittle-tattle all sorts of horrors are being committed by the ruling BLP party. Please can we ALL focus on the bigger picture.

46. 😃 I still have a Bajan accent 😀

But it would be great if we interacted with each other in a more positive way.

I use 1/1 or some other combination to limit the number of responses that I make to an individual. I have found that when you are doing 4 or more responses to a single individual, then an ugliness starts to creep in.

Avoid getting personal. Just walk away.

There are some fine folks here. Get to know them.

47. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN June 24, 2021 4:27 PM “From the time a young girl’s body begins to sprout she will be subjected to all forms of unwanted sexual attention. Would you tell that young or older female that she is weak and that you would be immune from such attention as you are “made of sterner stuff”.

No I would not tell anybody that she is weak.

However I managed to live safely in Barbados up to my mid-20’s and remained in my virginity since that was my choice. Even though Bajan men have nuff, nuff talk, nobody then and now has ever touched me without my explicit permission. I doubt very much that I am at all unusual.

Had a close friend, who moved to Saudi Arabia in her early 40’s remained there for more that ten years, the Saudi men have nuff, nuff talk too, even for middle aged black women dressed in head scarf and abaya.

That is how men are. Every man on the face of the earth seems to walk about with the honest but mistaken belief that every woman wants to have sex with him every minute of every day. It just int so guys. Men continue to give talk to women right up to the time that the women are old age pensioners. We have learned to ignore most of them since we were teens. We happily ignore most men, most days for all of our lives.

48. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN June 24, 2021 4:27 PM “Would you tell that young or older female that she is weak?”

No. Because they haven’t done a damn thing wrong.

But I would tell the idiotic ADULT male that HE IS WEAK, that the time is long past when he should stop thinking with his doggie and start thinking with his brain.

49. “It is difficult for one person to view all facets – which is why an honest discussion is required on issues before reaching a final conclusion. That is the way of the adult.”

You and your views seem to be consistently missing

“We expect selfish infants to only want their own way. We also expect rude infants to insult any person who offers any contrary view.”

We are all big people who know our own views and people often bang their heads together in robust discussions
    When you campaigned in local election you promised full employment.
    When you lost concluded that people did not want full employment.
    Fact was they don’t like carrots.
    You were counting your chickens before they hatch.
    You are no good Sipreano,
    Leave the place. Be still.

50. … they just cannot help revealing their true selves.

Time to work on my next article for discussion. Disappointingly, there is rarely any discussion here – just the same well-worn insults consistently from the same persons.

Jesus said it best – a bad tree cannot bear good fruit.

Leave a Reply to MillerCancel reply