We are approximately five months away from when Barbados is scheduled to become a Republic.  The news media are doing Barbados a grave disservice by not allowing fair discussion of this now critical issue.  They are also misleading the public by claiming that the Governor General’s role is only ceremonial.

Barbados cannot afford the luxury of maintaining expensive ceremonial posts, while our debts are over 150% of our Gross Domestic Product (GDP).  For context, the unsustainable debt threshold is 60% of GDP.  Therefore, if the Governor General’s post is only ceremonial, then the Prime Minister should call a referendum, get the consent of the people, and make us a Republic already.

THE FACTS.

The fact is that despite the media’s disinformation campaign, the Governor General is not a ceremonial position.  The Governor General is supposed to protect Barbadians from sustained economic and physical harm.

Since a political public service is not based on merit, it normally ruins an economy through unsustainable debts.  This forces the public to live in hand-to-mouth or pay-cheque to pay-cheque poverty.  To avoid this nightmare, the Constitution gives the Governor General the authority to hire, fire, and discipline public workers (Section 94.1).

END THE FARCE.

Unfortunately for us, past administrations recommended aged persons (close to or past their three score and ten allotment) to the post of Governor General, burdened them with tiresome ceremonial duties, and appointed intermediate bodies to manage our public services.

The result of those actions made the Governor General’s function of protecting the public from economic harm, de facto ceremonial – and ineffective.  Since our Independence, none of our Governor Generals asserted their authority to stop the politization of our public services.  Therefore, the public must rely on Prime Ministerial benevolence.

If the Prime Minister is not willing to relinquish the power that a Prime Minister was never Constitutionally intended to have, then whether we become a Republic, or remain as is, will not make any difference to us.  Therefore, if this was the Governor General’s only role, then we should become a Republic, and end this farce of a de facto ceremonial Governor General already.

INSURED VS UNINSURED.

The fact is that the Governor General’s most important role is to protect citizens from sustained physical harm.  Since our Independence, we managed our affairs, secure in the
knowledge that we were insured against aggressors.

There are only two types of countries on Earth – those whose citizens are insured, and those whose citizens are not.  An uninsured nation normally attracts the attention of an aggressor nation, that tries to destabilize the government, including through internal strife.  The historical record is full of examples in South America, Africa, and Asia.

NUCLEAR WEAPONS AND THE UN.

Historically, nations negotiated trade and military alliances with other nations.  It is because of these military alliances that the world experienced the two World Wars, which culminated with nuclear weapons and the United Nations (UN) in 1945.

Larger nations now self-insure against aggressors, by investing in nuclear weapons.  There are currently nine countries with nuclear weapons, but only five of them have enough to strike every nation, namely: Russia, USA, France, UK, and China, who are the five permanent members of the UN Security Council.  The other nuclear-weapon countries are: Pakistan, India, Israel, and North Korea.

INSURED COUNTRIES.

The only countries with the capability to deter aggressor nations, are those with nuclear weapons.  As a Constitutional Monarchy, we are automatically insured through the UK, as are Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Papua New Guinea, and eight other Caribbean countries.

Since aggressors do not dare threaten insured countries, we have taken our insurance for granted.  We are oblivious to the risks that uninsured countries face, and wonder, in child-like ignorance, why uninsured countries tend to be in conflict.

ILLUSORY INSURANCE.

If we are planning to become a Republic, and have not started to negotiate international insurance, then our Prime Minister is being very badly advised.  If the advice is to insure us through the United Nations, then we are sunk.

The United Nations is willing to accept any amount of collateral damage, to prevent war between nations.  Therefore, UN insurance is an illusion for citizens.  This was proven during the murder of at least 800,000 uninsured Rwandans in 1994, when the UN was present in the country and allowed the genocide.

CANCELLED INSURANCE.

Today, the citizens of countries in conflict, who their political leaders tricked into cancelling their international insurance, desperately plead with the UN for help.  The most that they can hope for, is a useless UN Security Council resolution, asking all parties to find a diplomatic solution to the conflict.  Insured citizens have a realistic hope of help.

In 1982, Argentina seized the Falkland Islands.  Despite the population of the Islands being approximately 2,000 persons, they were insured.  Three days later, the UK sent a naval force which defeated the Argentine military.

A RELIABLE INSURER.

Venezuela had territorial disputes with Guyana, Dominica, and Trinidad & Tobago, and has threatened military action against Guyana and Dominica.  The US has threatened military action against Cuba and Haiti.  The targets are all uninsured Republics.

The Governor General is the only person in Barbados who can activate our insurance, to which the UK is obligated to respond.  Before we become a Republic, the public deserves to know who will have standing to activate our international insurance, and the name of the reliable insurer.  The public also deserves to know whether the intention is to leave Barbadians uninsured with the UN.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

122 responses to “Difficult Conversations – Ceremonial Governor General?”

1. Murdaaaaah!

2. Mia is the Prime Minister of Barbados. A country which, if she has her way, will soon become a republic or a dictatorship.

Is it not shameful, that at this last hour she is pleading for assistance from the numerous financial bodies to assist our small island state.

When the sun was shining under the Owen and Thompson administration our roof was not repaired; instead we had a whole lot of thieving.

Why would a lender of last resort want to issue money to a borrower who has a reputation for mal practices amounting to fraud and corruption.

Grenville raises a serious point. If we are going to transform ourselves into a republic would our president be capable of protecting her citizens from harm. The answer to this is no!

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/06/22/pm-restates-concerns-international-lending/

3. “Black power’ people cowering and wishing to hide under the wing of abusive white power!

Big men frighten fuh one woman!

Wuhnuh does kill me dead!

Murdaaaaaah!

Black people need to make up their minds! Are we childlike slaves who need massa’s protection or are we “true craftsmen of our fate”?

There is absolutely NO SAFE HAVEN in life. There is no free ride. Life is a constant battle. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Is self-respect worth fighting for or not?

4. You so-called men are embarrassing me!

5. “The Governor General is the only person in Barbados who can activate our insurance, to which the UK is obligated to respond.”

The UK was obligated to intervene in the situation involving Argentina and the Falkland Islands, because those islands are considered to be British overseas territory.

I could understand your point if Barbados was in a position similar position to that of Anguilla, Cayman Islands or Montserrat…….. considering those islands are British overseas territories as well.

Barbados is an independent island that’s also a member of the Commonwealth, of which the British monarch is its symbolic head.
    The Governor General is basically the chief representative of the Crown in a Commonwealth country of which the British monarch is the symbolic head of state.

Why would the UK be obligated to respond to any situation involving an independent country, when the roles of Queen/King and Governor General are more or less, symbolic ?

6. “Why would the UK be obligated to respond to any situation involving an independent country, when the roles of Queen/King and Governor General are more or less, symbolic ?”

Where there is a will there is a way.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-55357495

7. Save us, Mr. White Man!

8. Where there is a will there is a way.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-55357495
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

TOTALLY IRRELEVANT.

Or, is it some high UK I.Q level thinking?

9. @ TLSN June 22, 2021 10:20 AM

Now here is a ‘dragon’ of a golden opportunity to invite some of the Hong Kong residents to relocate to Barbados.

The Bajan policymakers keep promoting the need for Barbados to increase the local population by an estimated 80,000.

So why not offer citizenship to those Hong Kong residents especially those with wealth and marketable skills?

Some of the businesses engaged in the offshore financial and Information technology sectors can even be invited to relocate to Barbados.

The only risk would be that of the Bajan republic getting such approval from the People’s Republic of China who is a major creditor and investor in the same Republic of Barbados which can do nothing which ‘might’ upset the “communist” Chinese nation.

10. Artax:

Once you become a Republic, you lose your insurance. Uganda automatically cancelled their insurance when they became a Republic. But they remained in the Commonwealth.

Their dictator would go on to massacre between 300,000 and 500,000 uninsured Ugandans.

11. William Skinner Avatar

@all
    To think that some people are opposed to removing the Queen as head of state is direct evidence of a failed education system.
    I will like her to be removed before 2:00 PM. It’s now 1:56 PM.
    I am backing the PM and administration on this move to a republic.

12. @Artax

Much of the debate about whether Barbados should go republic is linked to the question of having a referendum.

13. William Skinner,

It is embarrassing!

This man believes that black people need white people to keep them safe from each other.

These are the same colonisers who were responsible for brutalizing us in the first place and who would undoubtedly do it again, if it suited their purpose.

14. This man gets hold of something and never lets go.

It is done. Nothing he says will change it and yet he continues.

Ludicrous positions on so many things!
    Trump, Nelson and now this.

Makes me wonder if I should even trust his engineering pronouncements.

15. “We knew the slow method of torture [at the Mau Mau Investigation Center] was worse than anything we could do. Special Branch there had a way of slowly electrocuting a Kuke—they’d rough up one for days. Once I went personally to drop off one gang member who needed special treatment. I stayed for a few hours to help the boys out, softening him up. Things got a little out of hand. By the time I cut his balls off, he had no ears, and his eyeball, the right one, I think, was hanging out of its socket. Too bad, he died before we got much out of him.”

One settler’s description of British interrogation.

Do some research on what the British did in Kenya as recently as the 1950s!

Then tell me what makes them different from Idi Amin.

16. Oh dear me! It seems that Idi Amin fought for the BRITISH ARMY against the Kenyan rebels.

MURDAAAAH!

Gotta do some real research! Wikipedia is not enough, of course.

17. The Republic is our last hope. It stands for order, security and peace on our island – and for a president for life.

It is time for our Supreme Leader to enjoy a befitting palace and a presidential guard with which she can defend the island against all enemies.

Anyone who is not for the Supreme Leader is against Barbados.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

I really do not buy into this insurance argument.
    The island is long past the time when the Constitution needs rewriting, and the Queen’s representative removed as Head of State.
    The solution we are told is a Republic. Which is fine, once one understands there are MANY types of Republic. I see minimal discussion on this matter.
    Let’s not fall into the trap, where the objective is to get rid of the Queen at any costs, so we accept ANY form of Republic as being better.
    These politicians, as we have seen with Clearwater Bay, like to ease anything through with little or no discussion/explanation. A referendum ‘suggests’ they have to explain what they are doing. And not 3 days before the change is to occur.

19. William Skinner Avatar

He is not alone. Some years ago., a poll was carried out in Jamaica. It asked if Jamaica would be better governed if it was still under colonial rule. The majority voted said yes.
    There is a feeling among a large number of people that whites will manage our country better.
    So it’s not surprising that there is opposition to finally removing the Queen as head of state.
    Quite frankly the only reason that none of the former Prime Ministers did it was because of the resistance by white Barbadians like Richard Hoad ( Lowdown).
    We are far from being over the effects of slavery. We like to think we are but we have a long way to go.
    Remember that some Blacks including some from the Caribbean supported Trump.
    I hope our Prime Minister does not back down now.

20. William:

It is not about removing the Queen, it is doing it in a way that does not disadvantage us.

Rather than become a Republic in a responsible manner, it seems that we just want to appease the political radical activists.

Radical activists always reveal themselves by their insults – they cannot help themselves.

21. All of this talk of a republic is disingenuous. Our head of state HRH Queen Elizabeth is indifferent towards her subjects who reside in the Caribbean.

Black Bajans are not being persecuted by her majesty or an outside foreign entity. They are been victimised by their very own black-faced leaders and a sizeable number of the minority business community who control Barbados economy.

Donna may not admit it but she is a third class citizen at best in her own country. There are parts of Barbados which she cannot access or if she tried to would be made to feel uncomfortable. There are parts of some beaches which are off-limit to her. As a black consumer she will receive an inferior level of customer service to that of a white Bajan. Her taxes will be used to prop up members from our minority business community. She has been conditioned over the years to except an ever decreasing level and quality from government services.

What is the point of Barbados becoming a republic when you cannot fix the mess on your island. Get real!!! Why focus on becoming a republic when the country is impoverished and incapable of protecting her citizens.

Come back to me with your republican illusions once you are prepared to discuss the removal of the demonic BDLP and are prepared to sort out your influential minority business community. Once you and your compatriots have resolved this problem you can then ressurect a discussion on becoming a republic. Until then, all talk of becoming one should be put firmly on ice.

22. @WS
    ‘There is a feeling among a large number of people that whites will manage our country better.’

I still need someone to explain to me what are the benefits of being a republic. It is not that I feel that whites will manage better, but the fear is that our leadership become more of a law into themselves.

23. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN June 22, 2021 5:35 PM “There are parts of some beaches which are off-limit to her.”

Can you please point out these beaches to me. St. James woman here who has spent way too much on the beaches there since my navel string is buried under a banana tree in a St. James village.

Some people may feel uncomfortable when I show up. But I have never felt uncomfortable on a St. James beach yet.

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Grenville Phillips “The fact is that despite the media’s disinformation campaign, the Governor General is not a ceremonial position. The Governor General is supposed to protect Barbadians from sustained economic and physical harm.”

What media disinformation campaign?

Did I miss something?

I have been around since Robert Arundell and to tell the truth I have never felt protected by any of them. Have never felt the need to be protected by any of them. In fact I doubt very much that any of them have ever protected me from anything.

Did I in my 70 or so years miss something?

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Grenville Phillips “The Governor General is supposed to protect Barbadians from sustained economic and physical harm.”

The truth is that most governors of Barbados have presided over the sustained economic and physical harm done to us in the name of multiple monarchs.

Although I must admit that I do have a fondness for Dame Sandra.

26. “Rather than become a Republic in a responsible manner, it seems that we just want to appease the political radical activists.

Radical activists always reveal themselves by their insults – they cannot help themselves.”

Queen and Her Subjects

Barbados Port of Call for Atlantic Slave Trade would have made heaps of monies for the Crown

Does the Queen and her Crown work for Barbados or does Barbados work for the Queen and Crown

(remember now Africans are sub humans beasts of burden as per preamble of the Slave Code)

Children must radical activists with all their name calling

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN June 22, 2021 5:25 AM “When the sun was shining under the Owen and Thompson administration our roof was not repaired; instead we had a whole lot of thieving. Why would a lender of last resort want to issue money to a borrower who has a reputation for mal practices amounting to fraud and corruption.”

Thieving, corruption and fraud done mostly by men just like you. When I was young I had a conversation with a real-real Englishman, a white one, and he told me that in their organization where financial security was critical that did not hire men…too dishonest, too thieving, too dishonest, too fraudy Too damn t’ief. They hired only women. That was an English organization, and he was speaking of white English men. Maybe Bajan men are different. I will ask Donville the next time he shows up at my church.

We women will fix your r@sses.. Just wait and see.

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna June 22, 2021 5:53 AM “Big men frighten fuh one woman!”

Yup.

Haven’t you noticed that more than 10,000 men are hiding behind the skirts of their grandmothers, mothers, girlfriends, wives, daughters and baby granddaughters because they are afraid of a l’il, l’il pin prick vaccine.

So you think that if X country or Y country decide to send in some bad boys with guns, or even some of our home grown bad boys, you expect any of that 10,000+ to protect you? My girl I know that you are a farmer and that in a pinch you know how to handle a ‘lins.

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@William Skinner June 22, 2021 1:58 PM “To think that some people are opposed to removing the Queen as head of state is direct evidence of a failed education system.”

Not really Willie.

Teachers teach.

But not all students learn.

Some are duncy.

Not at all the fault of “the system”

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheOGazerts
    The major benefit is removing a white foreign head of state, who represents the worst treatment inflicted on black people in history.
    My grandchildren should not be subjected to such blatant psychological rape any more.
    I also consider the benefit of becoming a republic to complete the independence project. I am not here to argue about any economic benefit and I am not expecting becoming a republic to magically make corruption and poor governance disappear.
    I am a proud product of the global black liberation movement. I know there is more to a country than foreign reserves and proper roads etc
    While I understand why some oppose becoming a republic, I respectfully disagree with them.
    I am aware that we grew up stupid under the Union Jack and some say we are growing up ignorant under the Broken Trident.
    I am ideologically and philosophically opposed to calling a white foreigner my Head of State. I don’t want another blackGG of my country sitting on a chair reading some throne speech at her Magesty’’s pleasure.
    My brother with me this is not about economics but ridding my country of a pure bred vagabond and all she represents.
    Peace and love, Comrade.

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Donna June 22, 2021 3:31 PM “Do some research on what the British did in Kenya as recently as the 1950s! Then tell me what makes them different from Idi Amin.”

This happened during my lifetime and I am not yet dead nor demented.

So just in case Grenville does not know let me tell him that Amin learned all that he learned from the British

Amin joined the King’s African Rifles (KAR) of the British Colonial Army in 1946 as an assistant cook, while at the same time receiving military training until 1947…He was transferred to Kenya for infantry service as a private in 1947, and served in the 21st KAR infantry battalion in Gilgil, Kenya Colony until 1949. That year, his unit was deployed to northern Kenya to fight against Somali rebels in the Shifta War. In 1952, his brigade was deployed AGAINST the Mau Mau rebels in Kenya. He was promoted to corporal the same year, then to sergeant in 1953. In 1959, Amin was made afande class 2 (Warrant Officer), the highest rank possible for a black African in the colonial British Army of that time. Amin returned to Uganda the same year and received a short-service commission as a lieutenant on 15 July 1961, becoming one of the first two Ugandans to become commissioned officers. He was assigned to quell the cattle rustling between Uganda’s Karamojong and Kenya’s Turkana nomads.According to researcher Holger Bernt Hansen, Amin’s outlook, behaviour and strategies of communication were strongly influenced by his experiences in the colonial military.”

Reminds me of a conversation I was having with a white Bajan woman. We were lamenting about too many Bajan fathers doing too little for their children. Her husband was a white wufless Bajan man. Wufless men come in all colours, nationalities, religions and ages. And I jokingly said [because I understand human behaviour] “but I didn’t know that white men neglected and mistreated their children too” And she promptly responded “who do you think they learned it from”

32. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@ nextparty246 June 22, 2021 5:35 PM “it seems that we just want to appease the political radical activists.”

Who are these radical political activists?

Care to tell us?

33. Third class citizen at best???? Feeling uncomfortable???? Oh dear! I guess I need people from over in away to tell me how I feel in Barbados.

To be honest, I never knew how terrible I was supposed to feel until I came to BU!

Indeed, Barbados has problems of race that, until I came here, never occupied my daily thoughts because I could go for weeks without seeing ONE white man besides the ecky becky neighbours that live around me. But truly, I never felt even second class when I was in a class that was half white at Queen’s College with white teachers from Barbados, England, Scotland, Wales, France, Australia and Ireland. It is IMPOSSIBLE to make me feel second class no matter what they happen to be thinking.

Man, unless I am on their private property NO WHITE MAN can make me feel uncomfortable anywhere in this country. I have NEVER been denied access to any public place or been made to feel uncomfortable anywhere that I wanted to go. Some foolish white girls did try to stare me down thirty years ago when I went to Bushy Park just to see what everybody was on about. I chose to sit in the stand rather than on the ground with most of the black folks. They looked at me and I stopped and looked them up and down before passing them into the bathroom stall. They ignored me on the way out.

Try that with Donna! Steupse!

To be quite frank, I believe I have received more value from my taxes than I have paid in. The education and medical care alone would have wiped out my contributions. You could only be a kiss-me-ass poppet to tell me what I have been CONDITIONED to accept.

And finally, any time I do not get the service I expect from a business that wants my money I make so much noise that they sometimes have to bring the self-same white man boss to settle the matter as happened at Simpson Motors.

I can honestly say that I personally have never had any problem in Barbados that made me wish I were somewhere else.

Truly I do not know what the hell your crazy ass is on about but please, do not worry about a woman who is as happy as I am in Barbados!

The nerve of these people! WTF!!!!!!

34. Cuhdear Bajan,

Yup! Learnt it all from the British did Idi Amin!

I saw all of that but left it to GP to research for himself.

Northern Observer,

Your point is valid. The thing should be well-constructed. We should be further along in the discussion.

35. Again, for the slow, the value in being a republic rather than having a big black ass man swearing allegiance to a white ass monarch and representative of our former oppressors is bloody self-respect!

If nothing else came from it, that alone would be PRICELESS!

The idea of royalty and commoners in 2021 is revolting in itself! There are no words to describe the idea of white royalty over black “commoners”!

This inbred group of not so remarkable people have no right expecting curtsies and bows from grown black people in 2021. Nor smiles and waves from school children made to stand in the sun waiting for their stupid asses to drive by and act superior like they are from another world.

I knew this in 1976 when I rebelled against that indignity. 2021 and some people have not caught up!

36. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

However I think that because of Covid, the ashfall and now perhaps bad weather we really could put off the Republic until next year. I won’t hold it against the government if they postpone for a while. On a personal level I had promised to visit family in the great white north last year or this year. I haven’t done so, and I don’t think that anybody holds it against me. Covid and ashfall and bad weather are not excuses. They are good reasons to put off things.

37. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

There is no evidence at all that Idi Amin learned or practiced any violence during his childhood teen years or early 20’s in his African village.

What happened to him after he joined the British Army?

38. @ Donna,
    I believe that you have a romantic approach towards Barbados becoming a republic. You appear to believe that the process of Barbados becoming a Republic equates to the simple removal of Lizzie.

Our revolutionary brothers and sisters in Haiti earned their independence. They did not tolerate groups who blocked their pathway.

We have to advance the mindset of Barbadians to prepare them for the reality of becoming a republic. To reach that pathway of becoming a republic Barbadians have to undergo a process of implementing immediate seismic revolutionary changes.

Yes to republicanism but no to this false notion of a republicanism that does not involve any heavy lifting by Barbados majority black population.

There is no point in Barbados becoming a republic if its black population remains at the bottom of the garbage heap.

39. There are no radical activists in Barbados.

There aren’t any radical thinkers either.

Cutting and pasting others from facebook and social media is not radicalism.

“There is no point in Barbados becoming a republic if its black population remains at the bottom of the garbage heap.”

The poor class of blacks are those who do physical work instead of getting fat.

40. @TLSN

The blogmaster is of the opinion moving to a republic is integral to the process of sovereignty. Engaging in a chicken or the egg pedantic argument is simplistic.

41. William Skinner

How many times would one have to tell these slow ones that it is the simply another step but not the final step in the emancipation of our minds?

The fact that they are so afraid to cut the ties is proof of how NECESSARY it is to do so.

Indeed, I remain embarrassed by these men who would find any ridiculous excuse to cling to the apron string of a mother who drags them by it.

Thank God, my son is not among them!

There is hope! The young ones are not afraid!

42. To Whom it may Concern

Your ridiculous submission so incensed me that I could not bear to read the next.

Now that I have, I see that you are, as David said, entrapped in the chicken and the egg argument.

Certainly Barbadians should be engaged in driving more than symbolic change. If you check social media you will see the process beginning among the people. They have discovered their voice and they have discovered protest.

Have you not noticed this government responding to pressure from the people?

Starting in response to ONE WOMAN who walked Broad Street with a sign to protest Government throwing her medically unfit self into poverty by discontinuing her pension, this government has, on more than one occasion, changed course.

One little THREAT of protest about the fuel tax and we hear about fuel tax caps.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

You guys tend to see the glass as half empty while I see it as half full!

Going out to the garden to see if the rain added to the contents of the glass. Saw a beautiful sunrise this morning. No white men in sight!

I bet this is going to be another beautiful day in Barbados!

Signed: Citizen Third Class at Best and Happy

P.S. Leaving the phone and the miserable old men of BU inside. There will be no-one to tell me how unhappy I should be.

43. There is so much that we could have done with our current system of government and yet fail to do.

Play with this phrase.
    ‘A rose by any other name is just as sweet’.

Changing the name and not changing the game will leave us exactly where we are.

44. The fact some of you have no issue with a black majority country holding the Queen of England as the titular head of Barbados AND whatever default authority given her in the Constitution of Barbados quite frankly is embarrassing to the blogmaster.

45. 1/1
    Have a great day Barbados.

Always try to obtain more information so as to satisfy your own curiosity.
    Answers may be provided, but they may not contain the level of details that you want.

Have a great day.

46. The construct of Bajans need to get deeper within themselves to know themselves

Bodylife
    Mariam the Believer

I want you (I want life) (This is life….)
    I want life (Life is this) (Life is this….)

Life is this life, is this life is, this life is this
    Life is this life, is this life is
    This is life

I will always know this hair
    I will always know these eyebrows
    I will always know these eyes
    I will always know these ears
    I will always know this chin
    I will always know this nose
    I will always know this face
    I will always know this neck
    I will always know these shoulders
    I will always know these arms
    I will always know these hands
    I will always know these fingers
    Even though this body will disappear
    Even though this life will disappear
    Even though this life will disappear….

I want to be here (want to be here)
    I want now (now is you) (now is you)

A knife in my heart
    Waiting for a start
    The elements part
    Half are descending
    Our flesh to the ground
    We learned how to crawl
    To kneel like a dog
    Bodies save us all, Oh save us all…

I will always know this chest
    I will always know this stomach
    I will always know this back
    I will always know this rib cage
    I will always know this sex
    I will always know this ass
    I will always know these thighs
    I will always know these legs
    I will always know these feet
    I will always know these soles
    I will always know this flesh
    And I will always know this ‘cos

Even though this life will disappear
    Even though this life will disappear…. (x4)

47. Main Title Theme – Raised by Wolves
    Mariam Wallentin

[Verse 1]
    The door that finally opens
    With light flooding in
    Spilling out on the floor
    The core that never was
    Now it will be
    The bones of what was there before
    Every step, every beat
    Every thought, every breath
    Everything is longing
    Every wind, every wave
    Every sky, every cloud
    Every grave is longing
    Pulling you from the sky
    Just like love will do

[Verse 2]
    The door that finally opens
    With light flooding in
    Spilling out on the floor
    The core that nevеr was
    Now it will be
    The bones of what was thеre before
    Every step, every beat
    Every thought, every breath
    Everything is longing
    Pulling you from the sky
    Just like love will do
    Pulling you from the ground
    Just like love will do

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ Donna @TLSN
    @TLSN, your submission re: third class citizen and inaccessibility to certain places by blacks is very much out of touch .
    There is racism and there is economic disparity but it does not mean that any citizen is treated as third class or cannot go to beaches of their choice.
    Occasionally, some expatriate beach front owners and even local whites do try to circumvent the law but they are quickly and effectively. rebuked.
    It’s unfortunate that we are having to be so forcefully against the next step of the Independence Project. It shows that we will conjure up any defense of colonialism and whiteness.
    Barbadians may be considered docile but they don’t stand for foolishness. Ask Stuart and Company if you doubt me. I also believe very deeply that there is a high level of humanity among us and I have never met a Barbadian who hates his or her country.
    It’s very unfortunate that some on BU promoted the nonsense about overseas Bajans and “ throwashade” Bajans. It’s equally appalling that some overseas Bajans in critiquing the country used certain words and descriptions to explain their positions that were offensive to those who live at home.
    It takes a lot of discipline for me not to “cuss”some here , who when they cannot properly counter an argument have to remind me where I live. I actually spend almost equal time in three countries. But I am not obliged to give idiots my whereabouts.
    So, we have a lot of work to do. But I can assure you that there is no Bajan who sees himself as a third class citizen anywhere in the world farless his own country ! There are very few people who are prouder of their country than us.
    But, I hasten to say if we don’t bury some of the political hog wash and stupid party politics we will all go under. And unfortunately that type of nonsense has been embraced and promoted by people on this blog who ought to know better.

Leave a Reply to 555dubstreetCancel reply