Submitted by Observing

With all the action going on nowadays its forgiveable for the average person to see doubles once in a while. After all, they say more is less, or is it less is more?

We have a Commissioner of Police, Two Deputy Commissioners AND still a former Commissioner who’s a consultant. DOUBLES!!!

We have a Minister of Finance, a Minister in the Ministry of Finance, a Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs, an IMF Adviser, a chief economic adviser, an economic/technical adviser to the Prime Minister, a Special Envoy to the Prime Minister of Barbados on Investment and Financial Services and still we pay White Oak to help us. DOUBLES!!!!

We have a Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources, a Minister of Energy and Water Resources and now a 20 member National Advisory Committee on Water. DOUBLES!!!

We have a Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs, a Government Information Service, a Chief Information Officer, a Director of Communications and Social Media, and now a Director of Public Affairs over a new Public Affairs Department. DOUBLES!!!

We have the BTMI, the BTPA and now an 18 member committee to come up with a slogan. DOUBLES!!!

We have a Chief Education officer and now a Director of Education Reform with a whole unit. DOUBLES!!!

Mr. Maloney receives a major contract without tender, Mr. Maloney receives permission to proceed with Hyatt, Mr. Maloney buys Harlequin. DOUBLES!!!

BWU backs down from Sandy Lane fight in 2011, BWU backs down from Sandy Lane fight in 2015/16, Sandy Lane docks BWU’s workers’ pay in 2021. DOUBLES!!!

Gas increases in April, increases in May, increases in June. DOUBLES!!!

All of this with a 25 member Cabinet, the associated Permanent Secretaries, Deputy Permanent Secretaries, Personal Assistants, Directors, Deputy Directors and extra support staff. DOUBLES!!!

At least one place we are not seeing doubles is Lucille Moe’s seat in the Senate.

Six is half dozen. DOUBLES!!!

98 responses to “SEEING DOUBLES”

1. MOST national anthems tell false narratives!

2. Re Groslyn’s post- this is why I say that we could do a whole lot better despite the white man’s plan. He is now using our own flaws against us.

We cannot force the white man to change but we can change ourselves. The white man is looking out for his own interest. It is up to us to look out for ours.

If our flaws are an integral part of his plan, then would not correcting those flaws disrupt his plan?

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

angela coxJune 19, 2021 5:22 AM
    “oh yuh forget govt debt profile ..Triples in two and half years”
    Your appreciation for debt and its level of importance has to be one of the great ‘about turns’ on BU. It never concerned you prior to May 2018. Glad to see you are learning.

4. Re our National Anthem- it speaks of “we” as though there is a collective “we”. There is not. There is a black “we” and a white “we”.

The Lord has not been all the people’s guide for past three hundred years. Actually, the devil has been some people’s guide for most of that.

Speaking in Christian terminology as is used in the anthem, of course.

Time to change the lyrics!

5. @No
    In second half of a soccer game, the team change ends and try to score in the goal they once occupied. I used to think it was cricket, but soccer may just be as good a description.
    —-+x—–
    Have a great day, all.

6. NorthernObserverJune 19, 2021 12:24 PM

angela coxJune 19, 2021 5:22 AM
    “oh yuh forget govt debt profile ..Triples in two and half years”
    Your appreciation for debt and its level of importance has to be one of the great ‘about turns’ on BU. It never concerned you prior to May 2018. Glad to see you are learning

Xxxxxcc

Oh yeah
    But don’t forget that govt debt levels was part in parcel to mitigating global circumstances similar to what is occuring
    Also don’t forget that govt stubbornness not to go cup in hand for large handouts also made cause for govt relying on tax revenue to help pay debt and sustain local economy at a level which should have been bearable
    Now fast forward we have a new govt who hooted and hollered about all of the above
    Made promises to correct
    Goes cup in hand to the IMF
    Having 1.3 billion in reserves but the growth and economic needle stays the same
    So what !
    Should not some one remind govt of what they promised but as yet to deliver

7. David

You are indeed an unrepentant dominionist.

You must come to know and practice Ma”at.

For in Ma’at you’ll come know the rightness of the path of The Pachamama.

8. @Pacha

Does it matter the flavour of belief systems?Undergirding all of them has to be a value system cultured from what again?

9. @ Donna June 19, 2021 12:07 PM

That was not my intent.

But isn’t that similar to what you (sans your ‘elite’ son) do by making out white people, especially, the British to be the cause of the black man ‘s predicament?

How else would black Bajan people know about the Jewish god and Jesus without the ‘English’ guidance?

But if you do interpret the message about Pachamama’s warnings as “elitist” then we are genuinely sorry.

10. The Miller

Pay no attention to Vincent Codringtion.

He got here and argued that nobody knew about Sars-like Corona viruses so therefore on economy the administration was to be given a pass. When we knew about these for more than 20 years.

11. David
    Believing is your problem. We don’t believing in believing. Only people who know not are required to believe.

12. @Pacha

You have to believe in something. If you don’t how do you anchor your being in this temporal space?

The blogmaster is always willing to learn, knowledge sources can be found in many places.

13. My son is a well brought up young man who has the confidence to be himself. He is different in that he has confidence, not that he has talent/ a form of intelligence. ALL PEOPLE DO!
    Furthermore he has the GOOD FORTUNE to have a mother who does not wish to turn him into a doctor or a lawyer to continue the stupid elitest shite. If all young people were so lucky, they would surely come into their own.

As for the rest of your religious gobbledegook, you are idiotic, as usual. I am completely open to African religious thought. I simply stumbled upon the other kind first. And even then I challenged its superiority over African religious thought – openly on stage in front of the “big wigs” to loud applause. But Christianity is not even European in origin, is it?

P.S. I did not say it was your intention. I said it is a compulsion. I have noticed those phrases from you for some time.

” Few would appreciate” and other such phrases, instead of simply saying you agree with his position and expanding on your view.

14. “You have to believe in something. If you don’t how do you anchor your being in this temporal space?

The blogmaster is always willing to learn, knowledge sources can be found in many places.”

re: religious philosophies

where your mind goes.. your energy goes

which means you direct the energies of above, below, around and inside you to where you want them to go

When Christians say Jesus is the Son of God

look at Jesus as your brother

God said “I Am”

but when you call “I Am”

you are calling the God that inside you

15. David

Not a believer in anything, anyone. Always seek to know.

You seem to have been so utterly indoctrinated on the basis of belief systems that you can’t imagine a world where they are absence.

16. @Pacha

You have to have beliefs, it cannot be not be nothing. Where does ones purpose in life come?

17. Ain’t nobody know nothing for sure!

18. @ Donna June 19, 2021 2:14 PM

From what you have described of your son he is not just a ‘run-of-the-mill’ boy.

He is endowed with certain ‘inherent skills’ worthy of his parental adulation and the necessary guidance for him to make a positive contribution to his generation and the wider community.

You are the one who accused me of being “elitist”.

But who can be more elitist than a person who rejects GP 11 call for a referendum on that major decision of going “Republic” (without the people’s express consent)?

And GP11 has the intellectual right (and wisdom) to call you out on it by calling your bluff.

Doesn’t the very essence of being a republic lie where the People are the ‘dictators’ of their model of governance and future and not some ‘elitist’ political cabal with their narrow partisan interests?

How do you square that with your assertion that the National (People’s) anthem is in need of a serious makeover?

19. “Not a believer in anything, anyone. Always seek to know.”

Is not Pachamama a belief system in itself

Mother Nature as the Mother of Earth or the Mother of the Universe

or am I taking your moniker as too literal representation of you

20. What??????

21. Not worthy of a reply.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

Promises? You mean those Manifestos, fool’s gold. Or the sh!!te they all talk on election platforms, and forget the day after the election is over.
    “mitigating global circumstances similar to what is occuring…Also don’t forget that govt stubbornness not to go cup in hand for large handouts”
    Loans are not handouts, those are called grants, though some seem to think they are called “concessionary financing”.
    On one hand you are vexed Barbados went to the IMF, but on the other, you seem to think the same Barbados can do whatever they feel like with IMF money? It doan wuk so. Stubbornness has its costs, especially when you raid the local cash reserves (home grown financing)

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    There is ONE BARBADOS. A single continuing entity. Each administration inherits the decisions of those who preceded them. There is ONE NET. One score. More like your football, they may have an offense and defence unit, but they are only scoring at one end. The defence may intercept or tackle for a loss, but the offence keeps the ball for 5 years. It’s a unique game?

24. The dual appointments ensure the smooth running of government business. I suspect they are also ISO-compliant.

Once again, much ado about nothing, to quote Shakespeare! The hostile, unpatriotic opposition on BU should finally recognise the great achievements of our government over the past three years. The silent majority of the population is rock solid on the side of Mia Mottley. If the opposition wins a single seat in the next general election, it will most likely be the result of electoral fraud.

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Miller
    I am seriously confused by why we should want a referendum on whether we should become a republic. We have been promised this by Arthur, Stuart and Mottley.
    Mottley was bold enough to make the correct call and I hope she does not back down. It’s a natural progression of our national freedom and independence. It will remove the insult of calling some slavery enriched white foreigner woman our head of state.
    I therefore support our Prime Minister on her intentions to move our nation to republic status.
    We should not be embarrassing ourselves by seeking to ask ourselves if we want to get rid of a monarchy that that in 2021 cannot even bring itself to accept a black woman in its family.
    I hope no school child ever has to stand up in the hot sun along Bay Street, waving a racist flag and seeing some white inheritor of money derived from
    the enslavement of his/ her forefathers, wave some white glove in their faces.
    Even back then I thought the criminal was giving us the finger!
    Go on to Republic status Prime Minister!

26. @ William Skinner June 20, 2021 6:25 AM

I am sincerely pleased to read that another contributor is moving to the right side. Of course, we need the change to a republic so that the new constitution will cement the presidential rule of our beloved Supreme Leader for her lifetime.

27. The white woman gone
    But when will good ole Barbados rid itself of the white shadows that control the public purse
    One set of white thieves replaced with another set of white thieves Barbados can’t win

28. @ William Skinner June 20, 2021 6:25 AM

William, I am Not against going republic. It is a natural progression for ex-colonized countries.

Expect Jamaica, Australia, New Zealand and Canada to follow suit as the present Queen passes on and the British monarchy becomes more and more irrelevant.

What is being questioned is why there must be a referendum on the full decriminalization of cannabis and not on going republic.

Why not use the same 30-0 mandate to stop the criminalization of young people mainly from socially and economically depressed areas for using a chemically-refined version of a plant imported mainly by those with the right political connections and willing to bribe law enforcement officials?

Can’t the same plant be grown locally to save the massive leakage of forex and reduce the opportunities to facilitate the distribution of other deadly contraband like firearms?

Which is more important to the lives of ordinary Bajans?

The recreational use of a god-given plant or the future model of governance of an entire nation?

Is it because there is no money to be made underground if every thing is brought aboveground and no ‘secret’ campaign financing and garrison-type electoral support to look forward to?

29. William Skinner Avatar

@ ac
    Please don’t mix up the issue. It won’t work. The white shadows are there nearly 60 years after we became independent.
    This is not a B or D thing. I know the lift that we got emotionally from getting our own flag and national anthem. BTW , I have listened to hundreds of national anthems and our anthem reflects the sentiment of the vast majority of Barbadians.
    Our major failing of independence was our collective ineffectiveness in educating our citizens about the true meaning of independence. We refused to put it in a historical rather than political context. It’s a failure that we are yet to correct.
    @ Miller
    I see the failure to legalize marijuana as a big foot move to protect a lazy plantocracy that we are afraid to confront. The plantocracy abandoned agriculture and then the workers had to underwrite what was and remains of it. The white owners of the land were not interested in developing agriculture.
    They are now being given another big pay day by this administration because foreigners are going to be buying up the estates for marijuana production. When the marijuana by products hit the pharmacies and supermarkets, we will be buying them just like we ended up buying chocolates and refined sugar after producing a high quality sugar. It’s neicolonialism at the expense of the black masses once again.
    Marijuana should be an easily produced crop for all Barbadians who want to both use it and invest in it as a cash crop.
    I agree with the Rastafarian community one hundred percent.
    It’s a known fact that Mottley canvassed the Rastafarians and made promises to them that she is refusing to or cannot keep. And it is now , for her, a major headache , in more ways than one.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Tron
    Good morning. Occasionally I find something to support and I do. One of the advantages of not having a “ supreme leader” who is never wrong.
    But if I made your day , I am delighted to have so done, Comrade.

31. “It will remove the insult of calling some slavery enriched white foreigner woman our head of state.”

you make a good point albeit a bit of an understatement

I will start to preach and teach to reach the flock of sheep in my pasture for I AM the pastor who runs things for the Sweet Sunday Sermon Gospel Music Show bringing you all some smiling sunshine from above

you need to get deep and look into Revelation 17 of your Bible to release the chains as babylon use their brains and it’s a crying shame to see black brothers and sisters blood running down the drain they think it’s a game and it’s always the same th pain and glory only leads to another dance story you can hear it on the radio station around the nation in this dispensation what a dreadful situation

Whore of
    Babylon

Babylon the Great, commonly known as the Whore of Babylon, refers to both a symbolic female figure and place of evil mentioned in the Book of Revelation in the Bible. Her full title is stated in Revelation 17 as Mystery, Babylon the Great, the Mother of Prostitutes and Abominations of the Earth

32. William SkinnerJune 20, 2021 7:23 AM

@ ac
    Please don’t mix up the issue. It won’t work

Xxxxx
    All I am saying if we take down one blood sucker.
    Let’s take down all
    Govts have allowed these bloodsuckers of 60 years and going to carve out what is in their own interest from the golden calf while 99 percent suffers
    So with the white woman gone the other one percent goes about their dirty business as usual
    Not having it
    One goes all goes

33. Rastas are chilling like Dylan
    Puffing a blunt like Cypress Hill
    Listening to Warning by Desi Roots
    Picket up their Rocket Launcher
    like the Ganja Farmer Marlon Asher

Once the Politicians decriminalise the plant God gave for the use of man for spiritual medical physical psychological betterment
    if they try to stop Rasta’s using their Holy sacrament then there will be a war declared my the militant rastas in Jah Army
    if they continue to burn down our collie fields we will burn down their cane fields

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDeMsvssQ5w

34. Yes and all the doubles and triples in an economy that is now 25% smaller than it was in 2020. I smell the words ” large deficit ” looming in the air. Instead of contracting the cost of government we are expanding it in a time of greatly reduce taxation income.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Instead of contracting the cost of government…”
    How unpatriotic can you be? The onliest contracts bout here, are contracts like FS and WO. Cut what? Public expenditures? If you don’t feed the politically faithful, they will cross the floor. And the public service is the backbone of the community. There is nothing to cut, all expenditures are at bare minimums now. Based on the productivity, I think all departments and NGO’s should increase staff by 25%. I think the Ministers should be doubled to 52, and the constitution changed to allow for an unlimited number of unelected appointees to the Ministerial ranks. Maybe in a republic we could have two bodies, the symbolically elected Ministers, and the unelected Ministers. All of course with a generous, unfunded pension scheme to be drawn from the Consolidated fund. Close down de shop and get a guvment job!!!

36. @ Northern

I tell you already stop smoking that that ” vegetable matter ” so early pun a Sunday, that not for old people like us! LOL

37. Plus if I looking for a government pick I going read the AG report and apply to the one that got the most tiefing!🤣

38. ” Little island, big disappointment ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/20/visitor-feeling-threatened/

39. @NorthernObserverJune 20, 2021 10:37 AM

It is good to know that more and more commentators are campaigning for government jobs on BU.

The change to the presidential system creates thousands of new jobs: firstly in the construction of the presidential palace and secondly in the presidential offices, which ideally replicate our numerous ministries.

Time to fire up the printing press!

40. Big city, more shooting.

5-year-old girl in life-threatening condition after birthday party shooting in Toronto

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/toronto-shooting-birthday-party-girl-1.6073044

41. Company director’s matter transferred
    GODDARD ENTERPRISES LTD DIRECTOR Christopher Glen Rogers made his first appearance before the High Court yesterday.
    However, he was not arraigned and his matter was transferred to another court.
    His co-accused Walter O’Neal Prescod was absent.
    Rogers, of York Road, Navy Gardens, Christ Church, and Prescod, a sailor, of Emerald Park East, St Philip, have been committed to stand trial in connection with a find of 267.4 pounds of cannabis on July 23, 2018.
    Yesterday, Rogers appeared in the No. 2 Supreme Court. He was represented by Queen’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim and attorney Kamisha Benjamin, while Director of Public Prosecutions Donna Babb-Agard QC and Danielle Mottley appeared for the Crown.
    Justice Randall Worrell transferred the matter to the No. 4 Supreme Court and adjourned it without setting a date.

42. Pappyshow.

43. LOWE CALLS ‘OLD GUARD’
    By Barry Alleyne
    barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    One of the old guard of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is encouraging members who lost during the last election in 2018 to re-engage with the party and start making contributions that could bring it back to prominence.
    Former Minister of the Environment Dr Denis Lowe believes many of the elder statesmen of the party have been silent for too long and have an important part to play as the next election looms in less than two years.
    “Those veteran members of the Democratic Labour Party have a significant role to play in the resurgence of the party. I would like to see a lot more of them, the ones who haven’t publicly said they are done with politics, to make their presence felt,” he told the Sunday Sun in a wide-ranging exclusive interview recently.
    Lowe is the lone Cabinet member of the DLP, which was re-elected in 2013, to put his hat back in the ring to officially contest the next general election, constitutionally due in 2023.
    Perceived corruption
    The former Christ Church East MP said the current Barbados Labour Party administration had won the election by the 30-0 landslide by planting a seed of perceived corruption and maleficence into the consciousness of the Barbadian public back in 2018 and it had worked.
    According to Lowe, however, no evidence of wrongdoing has been presented in the country’s judicial system based on any action of former DLP officials and that’s why the vanquished need to step up to the plate and assist new president Verla De Peiza, the woman chosen to bring the party out of the doldrums.
    Bought into propaganda
    “There would have to be a reason why a number of us did not get deeply involved in the party after the election. There was a view that we should not be allowed to participate because a lot of people bought into the propaganda of the Government that there was this massive corruption among the last ministers. Now, that has not proven to be so. The Government has not presented
    any evidence to the claims they made, and which was the mantra of their campaign.
    “The electors were duped. I say that unequivocally,” Lowe said.
    “I think once there is accommodation in the party for those members who participated in the last election, they should be part of the process.”
    Lowe said it is the party’s job to be keeping a positive image in the public domain and to give De Peiza 100 per cent support.
    “The truth is that when no one else stood up to take up the presidency Miss De Peiza did so, whether you like her or not or consider her suitable. The point is she made herself available for the sake of the party and if you observe the journey of the party over the last two years, some stability has been brought to the DLP,” Lowe said.
    He noted that what could not be said is that the president’s political roots were not deep within the party. “By all accounts, she’s done a reasonable job. It would not have been easy to bring back the party from the fall it took. It could not be easy when those who were expected to come forward, including myself, were not there to prove the kind of support and handholding necessary to shepherd the party during that time,” he said.
    Once the rank and file of the party had chosen someone to lead, he had an obligation to support that voted for De Peiza’s opponent, George Pilgrim, during the party’s last presidential election.

44. What is the definition of a statesman?????

Let them come back! That will assure their defeat.

45. Another committee

Government is looking for 10 hostesses to work at the Grantley Adams International Airport.

Speaking during a recent press conference, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley revealed that she had set up a committee to search for 10 hostesses to welcome persons as they visit Barbados.

“Rather than somebody hand-pick them where we just do applications, let we do this together, the whole country. And I’m awaiting the subcommittee’s report that has been set up specifically for this, to tell us and advise us on how do we get people,” she said.

“And it’s as simple… if you feel that you treat anybody in Barbados better than anybody else could treat them come forward, we want you as a hostess.

“And let me be very clear, there are some people in this country who feel that you can only welcome people if you speak proper English, that isn’t true at all. We need to begin to understand. When I go to the IMF and the World Bank, three quarters of the people there can’t speak proper English, but they know what they’re doing and they’re communicating, and we have to break the chains that have held us in the past by refusing to have people involved in certain activities, simply because we don’t feel that they present well in terms of how they speak English.”

Mottley expressed that there was a need to have persons with warm and welcoming hearts greet visitors at the airport, because she believed that having people standing up in a line for two hours at an airport would not make them want to visit Barbados regularly.

She stated that this was the way forward and said that going this route would not only help Barbados gain more repeat visitors but also, hopefully redefine our tourism product.

Additionally, Mottley believed that it was time for Barbados to have a Director of Hospitality in the Ministry of Tourism and not just in the BTMI.

“This is about welcoming people and we are going to do this together, as I know we can,” she said.

46. Oh dear! That should be HOSTS and hostesses.

Discrimination on the basis of gender.

47. A great point. When I read it, I did not notice that it stated hostesses.

I am not going to make this a next rabbit hole, but does the search also betray a thinking that some jobs are for me and some are for women.

Dead end.

48. 😄
    for me= for men.
    Suspect that I would not get a job as a dog catcher