Submitted Observing

Things are so out of whack recently that I think we have gone haywire. Let me just toss a few random disjointed thoughts out there to get a real real feel for where we are right now.

1. Persons on bail for vicious murders…BUT…end up committing others after
  2. Local parties and fetes are restricted…BUT…visitors can plan 2 months ahead of time and party soon with wild abandon
  3. Large outcry over the Trojan Riddim…BUT…and even larger outcry over the outcry over the Trojan Riddim
  4. MAM says take down the Riddim AND apologise…BUT…so far 166 thousand views, 3000 likes and Sunday School still wukking
  5. NUPW elected to represent workers…BUT….NUPW has to call in the police to save itself
  6. Minister boasts that cruise ships coming…BUT…positive cases still showing up on liners abroad
  7. We say the children under severe pressure…BUT…we force the same children to do Common Entrance
  8. Auditor General report speaks of problems…BUT…not a peep or pang from the GoB or BLP about it
  9. Cruise ships mashup Carlisle Bay coral…BUT…Minister says no problem he will plant it back
  10. Road tax removed to supposedly ease consumers….BUT……gas prices (and said tax) increasing every single month
  11. Hotel workers cannot be forced to take the vaccine…BUT…guests can demand that they do
  12. There is no price gouging they say…BUT…ask any supermarket buyer and you’ll hear different
  13. Four Seasons money written off by government…BUT…the main lawyer and main adviser running the same government coffers currently
  14. Verla’s ready to lead the DLP to next year’s election…BUT…she has to beat a certain Guy first.

See what I tell ya. We Gone Haywire.

759 responses to “GONE HAYWIRE”

1. LorenzoJune 18, 2021 4:48 PM

What a thing the comedian headmaster made errors in his comment? I thought he was perfect jackasdInstead of nitpicking, trying to be funny and failing along with jumping on people, s bandwagon why don ,t you contribute something sensible to any topic?Those words mentioned by you of me might be true but coming from a man whode only words are wishing barbafos a good day and you go girl to a political nuisance.I wonder what has become of his leader Piece? Seems to be lost without him and having to resort to bigging up Angela Cox.As Bush Tea would say oh ma shirt from the sublime to the ridiculous poor fella.

Xxxxxxcxxx
    So now after this long diatribe
    Can u explain why u told BU members that ac exposed Lisa Marshall personnel info

Xxxxx

https://barbadosunderground.net/2014/08/29/lisa-marshall-retrenched-worker-from-the-transport-board/

2. Mari

Mia get In her PR Photos

What the night watchman doing, Waiting to win by default?

3. John2June 18, 2021 5:12 PM

Mari

Mia get In her PR Photos

Xxxcccccc

Did u see that pic man looking like a runaway slave caught by his master
    The master didn’t even tell him to put on a mask

4. The real STORY

5. Steupse! If she had not gone to see the people the story would still have been negative.

AC has one fan on BU and it has gone to her head. Making her more ridiculous by the minute.

6. John2June 18, 2021 5:12 PM

Mari

Mia get In her PR Photos

Xxxcccccc

Did u see that pic man looking like a runaway slave caught by his master
    The master didn’t even tell him to put on a mask

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxccc

WHY YOU LEFT OFF THE QUESTION aBOUT. VERLA?

7. matter of fact there was another pic showing the man properly dress shirt closed and sitting in a chair

But…..
    Roving investigators see the whole pic
    That Pr opportunist leaves out
    Hence glaring eyes called it for what it is

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

U Said there was a pic with the man properly dressed. Then post a video that proved your self wrong?

Did You read the comments of support for mm on the fb post that u posted?

You are making a bigger fool if urself everyday. You are no help to those You trying to help

8. John2

Did You read the comments of support for mm on the fb post that u posted?

Xxxxxx
    But I bet there were those who saw Mia trying to score political points in and unfortunate circumstance
    No need for photo ops
    Her job is to be guided by good governance for the people in times of disaster fool

9. Let verla sit and wait!
    She Will be handed the government on a platter
    MM Well know PR already git her 30 -0

10. We need Police on the Boardwalk (Restaurant area Hastings),at night.
    Gunmen on the boardwalk robbing people!
    The Royal Barbados Police Force needs to step up their game!
    Less talk more action.

11. Remember the stink when the flow and stench from the southwest sewage plant hit the streets
    Remember the hue and cry
    Remeber all the noise about the tourist and business being affected
    Remember ! Remember!
    Now get this govt have decided that locating the vendors in an area close to the Bridgetown sewage plant is good enough for them
    One vendor suggested to a govt official Independence Square would be better
    Well of course not was the answer
    Meanwhile one vendor is livid stating that the stench from the plant would negatively impact business
    I say all the above because the way black business is treated in Barbados is deplorable

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

So who is the MP for St. THomas that the parish is in SUCH A NEGLECTED STATE…poverty and lack of water is rampant….and everything is in disrepair.

This is how crime arrived on the island…corrupt black face goevernments from DBLP allowed corrupt criminal mnorities, whites, syrians, indians to import DRUGS AND GUNS FREELY….for over 40 YEARS…now that crime is out of control, the importers and traffickers are complaining their businesses are being robbed AFTER DBLP governments drove the depressed areas into poverty and CUT OFF ALL ROUTES OF SURVIVAL….so now all we are seening is Black people being wanted for crimes…

this is the handiwork of DBLP and their criminal minority partners..

btw….the yardfowls still have nothing useful to post to upgrade the blog content other than yardfowl shit…..useless Slaves….am still waiting..

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yes..Enuff the yardfowl and Lorenza the Slave…WHO is the MP for St. Thomas collecting a SALARY EVERY MONTH and St. Thomas remains in destitution and neglect for over 30 YEARS…that she has been the representative.

remember i don’t know who it is,,,heard it’s the Minister of Hairstyles….that’ s the only name i got…

14. Yesterday I posted two u tube videos on the devastating conditions from the storm
    Yet to see them however a notice stated duplicates comments
    But yet to see the videos

15. Abigail de Salemite aka WURA

You can’t resist calling my name nuh? Anyhow, make sure your information is correct before spouting. #wrongbutstrongasusual

16. The fairchild street market is not near the bridgetown sewage plant

It is near a pumpning station

G’et ur fact straight before publishiing

The market and pumpning station co existed for 30 yrs before the market was closed

17. 2/2
    @Lorenzo
    With just “Iz a B, iz a D” thinking, you continually attempt to force all pegs into your two holes.
    Not my job to fix ya
    ——————–x—————
    Have a great day all,
    @ac, you go girl
    Have a great day Barbados

18. The sewage plant is In lakes folly close to fontebelle. And Miles away from fairchild street

Thet is also a smaller sewage pumpning station infrobt of givernment House on Bay street.

19. John2June 19, 2021 7:54 AM

The fairchild street market is not near the bridgetown sewage plant

It is near a pumpning station

G’et ur fact straight before publishiing

The market and pumpning station co existed for 30 yrs before the market was closed

Xxxccxc

Fool the market is under construction with 2×4 stalls being built for the vendors
    In meanwhile the vendors sitting on the outside walkways are being asked to relocate
    One vendor states that the area suggested by govt officials is an area close to the sewage plant

20. Read and digest

City vendors not sold on move
    By Marlon Madden
    Some vendors along Fairchild Street, in The City, are pleading with Prime Minister Mia Mottley to come and speak with them, as they prepare to be moved to a nearby location that they say is not suitable.
    Saying they were not willing to operate from the open lot adjacent to a sewage treatment plant, the vendors told Barbados TODAY they were worried that their already meagre earnings will disappear in a matter of days.
    At a meeting last Sunday, the vendors were informed that they must vacate the area by the end of this month and utilise the nearby location as an alternative.
    During the meeting, which was attended by several government representatives, the vendors were also given the opportunity to voice their concerns and share suggestions.
    The vendors reported that the canteen and drinks operators have already been approved for one of the new kiosks in the Fairchild Street Vendors’ Market at the rear entrance of the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal and have been given the assurance the location would be ready in time.
    Meanwhile, the fruit and vegetable vendors have been told they will be shifted to the nearby lot under a tent for several months, until additional kiosks are built. Sources suggest this could be until November.
    However, some of those vendors who spoke with Barbados TODAY said the two weeks’ notice was too short and they did not believe the way it was being done was fair.
    One woman who did not want to be identified said: “They say we have to take down these stalls and get rid of them. They said the new location [vendors’ market] is for food and drinks people only. It is not for us. It is not fair,” she said.
    The lady who said she would not be going to the nearby temporary location a stone’s throw away, added that she believed authorities continued to “push we poor people all ‘bout” instead of providing the necessary help.
    Patsy Joseph said she was not prepared to operate from the temporary location given the occasional stench that emanates from the sewage plant there.
    “We have to move from here in two weeks’ time. We can’t go up there by that sewage plant because at times that [smells]. We will have to go home and do nothing. I don’t know what some of us will do,” she said.
    She complained that sales were simply not the same as years ago because more people were now buying their produce from the supermarket, and she feared the situation will be worse when they are shifted.
    One vendor, who has been operating from the area for the past 28 years, said she was not opposed to moving, but insisted that the proposed location was not ideal for the sale of food.
    “If we are here and nothing much is going on here what you think will happen across there?” she said.
    “I asked for a stall there [in the new vendors’ market] and they said it is not for me. Somebody who has been out here for the past 28 years and people who just come get a stall? This is not good. If they want to move us, where are we going to put our fruits and vegetables? There is nowhere there to put them. That is too much for us. That is too much. It is best we stay here,” she cried.
    “I want to see the Prime Minister come out here to us. We put she inside there, so she need to do something for us. This is not good enough for us. It is not good enough,” she lamented.
    Another vendor who operates a variety shop at the location told Barbados TODAY she did not feel comfortable going to the temporary location because she believed sales would be poor.
    Stating that she had rent and loans to pay each month, the roadside vendor said while she knew the day was coming for them to move, she believe they should have been given more notice about the deadline.
    However, President of the Barbados Association of Vendors and Entrepreneurs (BARVEN) Allister Alexander told Barbados TODAY the vendors knew the day for them to move was coming.
    In fact, signalling his support for the pending relocation, Alexander said: “This is for betterment. It will not be a perfect situation. In times past they would have just been shift out of the way . . . without even any discussion.
    “It will be for a period, and what I would want Government to do is to monitor them and see how they are doing there. But it is a necessary thing. What else are they going to do, go home?” said Alexander.
    “I would not tell you that they will not be affected. Any shift in business from where you were will affect you, but it is not far from where they are now . . . Those who have structures, they will be given assistance to move them,” he said.
    Some vendors had suggested that they be temporarily located to Independence Square.
    But Alexander said he did not believe that location would have been ideal.
    (marlonmadden@barbadostoday.bb)

21. Final comment on the issue of the suitability of the vendor stalls which were designed with input from BARBEN the association of vendors.

BARVEN happy with new market project progress | Barbados Advocate

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/barven-happy-new-market-project-progress

22. People like Braven reminds of the house negro
    Why don’t he place his office in the same adjacent area close to the sewage plant
    A typical black man who would shine his masters boots to secure a safe haven for himself
    The small business person would always be disrespected when house negros like Braven tow the line

23. BARVEN – Is the association of vendors that represent the majority of vendors.

24. Braven words to the vendors about having to relocate near the sewage plants speaks volumes to where his interest lies
    Yuh think he could chant that tripe to the white business class if they had a similar grievance
    The man is just a figure of who the cat likes he licks
    The vendors concerns are real just like the hoteliers who belly ached and raise hell about the stench from the southwest plant
    Oh I forget these vendors are black and cannot make demands
    Simply they must sit down shut up and wait there turn
    Furthermore govt had almost two and half years to find a good location

25. RE: “One woman who did not want to be identified said: “They say we have to take down these stalls and get rid of them. They said the new location [vendors’ market] is for food and drinks people only. It is not for us. It is not fair,” she said.”

Remember, I ‘said’ meetings were held at Golden Square Temporary Market with the LEGAL vendors, relative to the commencement of the project, compensation, stall sizes, allocations and progressive development of the new market facilities.

If this ‘unidentified woman’ was actually a LEGAL VENDOR, she would have KNOWN PRIORITY for the food stalls was given to the displaced food vendors who operated from Golden Square’s Food Court. Hence the reason why their stalls were the first to be built and allocated.

Some of the illegal vendors came to the meetings demanding that stalls should be allocated to them.

Representatives from BARVEN met with the other vendors and made representation on their behalf with the market officials.

So, you have a situation here, similar to that of the non-national squatters at Rock Hall, St. Philip. They built stalls illegally, expecting to be compensated and given ‘free stalls,’ after the area has been redeveloped and the new facilities constructed.

26. @Artax

Some people because of a narrow and very myopic view will have problems honestly distilling and debating the issues.

27. RE: “Another vendor who operates a variety shop at the location told Barbados TODAY she did not feel comfortable going to the temporary location because she believed sales would be poor.
    Stating that she had rent and loans to pay each month, the roadside vendor said while she knew the day was coming for them to move, she believe they should have been given more notice about the deadline.”

We in Golden Square were given information about the new market facilities, since 2019.

Vendors operating on the environs of the old Fairchild Street Market, were given notice since September or October 2019 that they were supposed to move from that location by February 16, 2020, so as to facilitate the demolition of the old NIS Building, BFS Headquarters and Golden Square Temporary Market……… and the subsequent commencement of the new market facilities. But they refused to do so. They were subsequently given until December 31, 2020 to remove their stalls….. and again refused.

It’s clearly obvious the ‘variety shop vendor’ is misrepresenting the truth.

28. @ David June 19, 2021 9:04 AM

The dilapidated, old Fairchild Street Market was demolished in 2012. Then Health Minister Donville Inniss acknowledged the fact that approximately 54 vendors plying their trade on the market’s compound and around the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal, were operating in unsanitary, rodent infested conditions, without bathroom facilities and water.

The Golden Square Temporary Market was built to accommodate 42 vendors. Land was rented from the Methodist Church, where a number of stalls were constructed to accommodate the remaining vendors. Those stall remained there unoccupied for over 4 years, until some were eventually used as houses by vagrants and subsequently dismantled and stolen by people from the surrounding communities.

Personnel from the Ministry of Agriculture came and removed the remnants of the stalls, soon after the situation was highlighted on BU. ‘And, that was then end of that.’

The other vendors were forced to remain in the unsanitary conditions of the old market’s environs and three (3) chemical toilets were placed near where the market’s metal structure was located.

Barbadians and non-nationals used the site as an opportunity to illegally build stalls, from which they sold food and alcoholic beverages without the appropriate health certificates and liquor licenses. The chemical toilets, which were used by vagrants either to bathe or relieve themselves…… were not changed on a regular basis. This led to people urinating behind them or look for some other nearby location to shit.

Could you imagine vendors were selling food and beverages……. and people eating in conditions where the pungent scent of shit and piss filled the environment, and invaded by rats and cockroaches each time there was heavy rain fall?

I have been commenting on this issue from a personal perspective….. ‘ad nauseam,’ and not relying on some uninformed political activist with a mobile phone camera, talking shiite.

What some people are conveniently ignoring is the fact that several of those vendors who are complaining, have been operating illegally and, as I mentioned previously, expect to be given stalls ahead of the legal vendors.

I saw a video circulating showing closed stalls. But, what the individual failed to disclose was that the section of stalls shown in the video were being operated by illegal non-nationals, mainly Guyanese and Jamaicans.

I CHALLENGE any of them to REFUTE what I’ve been ‘saying’ about this issue.

29. @Artax

Continue to do some good work on this matter. The stalls being prepared for the vendors at Fairchild Street and how they are located to capture traffic re bus stand and people going and coming from QEH should make vendors very happy.

30. Why didn’t Braven siutate his outdoor market in that location near to the sewage plant
    All I am saying is that black business has not been shown any level of respect
    Yes the people must be relocated but why near the sewage plant

Xxccc

Read and digest

City vendors not sold on move
    By Marlon Madden Barbados today

Some vendors along Fairchild Street, in The City, are pleading with Prime Minister Mia Mottley to come and speak with them, as they prepare to be moved to a nearby location that they say is not suitable.
    Saying they were not willing to operate from the open lot adjacent to a sewage treatment plant, the vendors told Barbados TODAY they were worried that their already meagre earnings will disappear in a matter of days.
    Cccccccc
    How quickly we forget the loud noises made by the white establishment when their businesses was affect from the stench and flow coming from the south west plant
    Now according to some here those vendors who has protested their concerns about the relocation should not be considered

31. @ David June 19, 2021 9:35 AM

angela cox June 19, 2021 9:15 AM #: “People like Braven reminds of the house negro. Why don’t he place his office in the same adjacent area close to the sewage plant. A typical black man who would shine his masters boots to secure a safe haven for himself.”

As you correctly mentioned, Barbados Association of Retailers, Vendors and Entrepreneurs [BARVEN], “is the association of vendors that represent the majority of vendors.”

But, the “investigative reporter” believes BARVEN is a MAN.

What more EVIDENCE do you need to PROVE angela cox is only ‘jumping on a political bandwagon’ to engage in a ‘discussion’ on an issue she DOES NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT?

32. “One of the drawbacks is that although a lot of tenants are here at Fairchild Street Market, they included a lot of space in their setups that was not theirs to start with, more than their allotted amount. Obviously those who are accustomed to more space will have to adapt.”

The size of the stalls was one of ac’s talking points. It appears this is a valid point.

33. I might not be clear in all details however the person who heads the vendors association is a man
    Allister Alexander
    My comments towards what he said in regards to vendors location stands to say he might be more bark than bite
    Xxxxx
    As for the location placing them close or in proximity of the sewage plant is not a good idea
    Allister should have voiced a point of concern dealing with environmental issues and not have been so quick to stand side by side with govt to give the location his blessings close to the sewage plant

34. The only valid point is that BARVEN the association that represents the vendors was involved in the design with government and agreed to the stall design. There will always be some who disagree.

Steupse.

35. @9:04
    Close reading will disclose that it’s a feel good piece.
    Light on details.
    The dismissive tone cannot be justified by the content of the piece.

36. Mari

It’s not a sewage plant. Ut is a sewage lift /pumping station to pump the sewage from a low elevation to the sewage treatment plant at Lakes folly/ edmerton.

It was In that location from the 80s while the Old market was still un operation
    It riight across for VOB and what used to be a garage. ZR used to Pick up people from from there.

There is also a lift station by government House and one In the port. What diesxthis say about the treatment of the Black people Workin In Thise areas?

37. To clarify: as John 2 points there are two sewerage systems in Barbados, the one in CH.Ch we know about and in St. Michael, Lakes Folly. There are several pumping and lift stations that should not be confused for sewerage plants.

38. But to be fair…
    The changed appears to a great improvement over what was existing. 👍🏿

A phrase that we should keep in mind..
    ‘Perfection is the enemy of good’.

39. I can understand the need for exactness and accuracy in building or in the science. Other discussions allow for the use of irony, similes, figurative language, metaphors, imagery ….

I disagree with the term “house negro”
    and “shining master’s boots’ but to treat BRAVEN like a man falls somewhere with our allowed spectrum of words usage.

40. John2June 19, 2021 11:10 AM

Mari

It’s not a sewage plant. Ut is a sewage lift /pumping station to pump the sewage from a low elevation to the sewage treatment plant at Lakes folly/ edmerton.

It was In that location from the 80s while the Old market was still un operation
    It riight across for VOB and what used to be a garage. ZR used to Pick up people from from there.

There is also a lift station by government House and one In the port. What diesxthis say about the treatment of the Black people Workin In

Xxxxxxx

Lift or plant
    The concerns of the vendors are relevant one which govt should be of concern for govt
    A govt who seems to have lost all sense to how toxins are hazardous to humans and animals . especially in close proximity
    The vendors are right to bring that cause to the govt and the head of Braven who agrees that the location is the best they can do

41. I have often told my son.
    People are not foolish. Keep it simple. Keep it honest. Respect the intelligence of others.

Let me add. Don’t go for ‘overkill’, let the facts speak for themselves. Overkill leave you exposed to effective rebuttals.

42. If a fact is wrong admit it and move on.
    Here we have John2 like a pitbull with a test into your shorts and you are determined to fight him off.

You are being distracted from your point. Admit the wrong, but polish it up and move on. Did you see how ‘the man Braven’ finesse having “small stalls’.

This is just an example on how to tidy up an issue

J2, it does not matter if it is pumping station or a sewage plant, my concern is the smell that will drift into the market. Forty years you say, and they could not correct this problem?

43. @ TheOGazerts,

relieve some stress. Visit the Diaspora Corner

44. John2 how many times must I say that the location has hazardous concerns for the vendors
    U step in to correct me
    I never argued on the correction
    However you interaction refuses to understand the vendors concerns
    Lift or pump Wrong location

45. @Hants
    How long has this like function been around. I noticed it for the first time today
    —-x—
    Suspect the blogmaster will not take this suggestion … A dislike button. The one with the most dislikes is the winner

46. Oops.. ignore that. Was fully aware of the like.. the ‘rate this’ was what I saw today for the first time

47. @ TheOGazerts, the ‘rate this’ is new. I have no issue with it.

Too besides David is capo di tutti capi. lol

48. I hate this pic
    A photo op resembling a runaway slave caught by his master

https://www.facebook.com/100009465853405/posts/2995772137414952/

49. “BRAVEN”??????????????

MURDAAAAAH!!!! AH GON DEAD!!!

AC killing me!

You go, girl!

Dah hit de spot!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

50. Give it a rest! It is obvious that she did not even pay any attention to her own appearance.

Not her best look either!

Leave a Reply to John2Cancel reply