In recent weeks two events created embarrassment for the Mia Mottley led government. First it was the still born Little Island Big Barbados BTMI matter followed by the snub after she demanded the smutty Trojan Riddim video be removed from the YouTube streaming service.

Three years after achieving an unprecedented victory in the 2018 general election and riding the crest of high popularity, several blunders and unwieldy execution of projects have been the bane of the BLP administration in recent months. Notwithstanding severe economic challenges, a raging COVID 19 pandemic and a brief encounter with ash fall, the general public has become increasingly impatient with a government that has over promised and yet to deliver on several promises: Freedom of Information legislation, enhanced governance to effectively treat with perennial concerns of the Auditor General and related matters, timely delivery of justice from the courts, NIS  fix, reform education, arrest crime, rooting out corruption in public life by holding transgressors accountable to name a few.

One suspects despite the blunders the government still has its head at the front of the 2023 political race given the unpreparedness of the main opposition party. That said a week is a long time in politics. However, the black eye the Mia Mottley government has received as a result of the clawback on the ‘Little Island Big Barbados’ issue, capped by the snub delivered by the Trojan Riddim artistes must be worrying. Why pull the plug on the Brand driver initiative after it was paid for? How will a committee of locals determine a brand driver for the visitor? Why demand local artistes remove the video from Youtube if Mottley more than most should have been acutely aware of the uncompromising loyalty enjoyed by said artistes with the underground audience?

Brand drivers are a set of adjectives that describe your organization and are used as a way to influence your branding in the marketplace. … The marketplace, your customers, and others outside of your organization are the ones who actually determine what your branding is.

Brand Drivers

More worrying for the blogmaster is the confirmation of a crisis of public morality in the country. Public morality is considered to be the moral and ethical standards a people try to maintain in the society; embodied in our laws, how the police force enforces the law and the peer to peer influence by citizens. The cohesion required for a well ordered society is the ability for all segments, Alpha, Millennials, Baby Boomers et al to ensure mutual concerns overlap on the ‘ven diagram’. What we have in Barbados are disparate groups unable to create a path to defining acceptable social values 

Note to Prime Minister Mia Mottley, the country needs leadership.

The attributes of true leadership are honesty and integrity, authenticity, responsibility, the will to inspire and act, passionate communication skills, the drive to innovate and create, to name a few.

However, I believe the real stuff leaders are made of is when they live their values out loud. That’s where leadership has its roots. That’s when a leader becomes inspiring. That’s when leadership is real.

The Stuff Leaders are Made of

167 responses to “Mia’s Blunders”

1. The woman.who stepped in and stop the madman from killing the guy is a hero and should be awarded a medal of bravery
    Next she should be put in place as next to replace the AG
    Not only did she see something but did and say something

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

All of that they are using a song that they knew was out there for months to cover up their thefts from the treasury
    and pension fund and all the suffering they brought down on the people..

3. Mia blunders some homes days and weeks without water
    Govt could have allocated funding for those areas by way if dispatching bottle water to homes which cannot avail water during water outages
    Three days or three weeks without water is unexceptable
    It is govt role to provide a clean and sanitize environment for homes to have water
    One sickly water container on the side of the road is not good enough
    What happens when it rains and flooding occurs
    Are those water containers replaced with fresh ones ?

Xx’one another note this is the second occurrence of a person falling in a well
    Givt had promised due diligence on capping or putting proper procedures in place making sure that a similar occurrence would not happen again
    Well it has happened
    Would be listening to govt responses and finger pointing

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Even uglier still is that CONTAINERS of minority OWNED drugs and guns are still entering the country….so who is CLEARING them…

..the people can’t get water, food, access to the money that belongs to them, but guns and drugs are available..

5. “Even uglier still is that CONTAINERS of minority OWNED drugs and guns are still entering the country….so who is CLEARING them”

spread blaming minority people is annoying ..
    drug men gunmen and women are using smugglers into the little island
    there are many small and private boats that can be used for contraband
    which can be built into their structure
    they can be hidden inside imports
    diplomats are not checked and have immunity

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

If you have never lived on the island, shut up, you know nothing..

7. bajanfreeparty Avatar
    bajanfreeparty

June 10, 2021 5:15 AM

Still waiting for the press conference to explain to the Black population WHERE ALL THEIR BILLIONS OF DOLLARS they generated over the decades by their mere presence on the island disappeared to.

Crooks, Liars and Scumbags Despot, You all will learn as so-called Big People to cover up for MiaVirass19 always looking to kill people for IMF, WB, IDB Money to hide her Nasty Filthy ways, In any other Nations she would meet the rope , BBDLP Must never again the House , These types of greedy crooks ass lawyers and Ministers is at all the roots of All Barbados Problems and Blogs who are Willing to drag the people along with fools comments about crooks with false and misleading statements to cover up and prolong the Pain of the People who were once Enslaved with this same type of Butchers,
    WARNINGS for years and people only want to believe what reaches the courts but cant learn how they working the system now with Richard L Cheltenham’s brother PAT Cheltenham as CJ to cover his back for his crimes they both know so well, Where is the Justice in that?
    Blame the poor who don’t have money to run in to their courts or lawyer who overcharge as none seek Justice for what is Right and True,
    We at the Bajan Free Party will continue to use our hammer to crack the Walnut heads of these PhDs and other Pimp title holder so feel they are untouchable because of overpriced paper hanging on the wall in their office!
    Show Me the Money Show us all the Money , did Blogmasters get some of this Money? all of the waste of time not helping or helping people to understand right from wrong which leaves us all wrong, Vote for any of these crooks again our pain will run into 2028 and you miss this boat look at 2033, by them most of these old crooks farts may be dead , a waste of time and lives as your children and grandchildren may not live to see 11+ Mansons education based on enslaving the minds to compliment the slave churches.
    More Taxes$$, More$$ VAT , More Port $$Charges , as our $$Money is devalued inside of Barbados! Let it be that means the crooks have less to spend outside and they will add more to our bills which will get the ball rolling for 1937, another bite of the Apple may put the witch to sleep and no Prince to kiss her to wake her up! Vote Better next time forget the BLP and DLP, You are to leave the DEAD alone !
    What is so hard to understand? , Massive Land Fraud and PONZI , Land and Money Laundering, Crooks Lawyer Ministers Judges, No Rule of Law , and you want a New Constitution? written by whom to zig-zag their crimes in Office? The Queen to send All White CJ, COP, DPP,AG, PORT Police , Let see the Crown come and clean up Barbados and take her Nasty Crooks back to England to the Queen Jail. Before We seek another vote-buying election/S for Republic or Office as President! These are looking to DRAG the same Nasty crooks from one side of the dirty table over to the other side with the same ways and less Rule of Law which we don’t have in Barbados, all we have is Owens Despot! Keep Kissing ass you all will end up with Jobby in your mouth! Oh don’t forget to go get your 2nd shot , works better than a bullet to the head!

8. Dear lisa Cummings
    Minister of tourism
    Since yesterday you address the topic of the white people big party next month I thought that I should take some time to add my two cents worth
    Lisa the Hilton hotel workers were protesting for their severance payments owed to them since last year you Lisa Cummings call a meeting a few days before the protest and told the Hilton staff that all of the severance be paid before the end of the month of December 2020 this is June 2021 and staff still not paid and not a word from you on that but you at your 3 minutes of bull shit yesterday could find time to defend the plan big party by a group of white folks that don’t even live here
    The fact that locals can’t hold a party under the Covid protocols dont matter to you but what got me is you saying tourism is our business let’s play our part are you some kind of special you just was defending little island big Barbados slogan at a price of 700 000 that get flash down the toilet and finally how come you now know that bajans working in the tourism sector got to eat is it because the hoteliers tell you that the visitors want the hotel workers vaccinated ? Because it can’t be that you cares cause the big Hilton international hotel put the workers on the the sidewalks like dogs protesting for what’s theirs and not a word from you as I said you are special but not the way you may think

Copied fb

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

A big cocaine shipment must have landed, that such a big party is being advertised…

Little Island, Big Cocaine Shipments.

10. “If you have never lived on the island, shut up, you know nothing..”

Shut up yourself already. Progressive thinking means your thinking progresses. Your thinking is stuck in a loop. There is no blood flow to your brain as it has all sunk to your fat ass causing blockages. Only a stupid negro uses stupid logic like “you ain’t black..” “you don’t live here..” to save their face. Carry on blaming minorities like a a screwed up truly triple ugly racist face with below average intelligence loser.

Healing Ancestral Karma Global Sadhana with Ashana Spirit Voyage

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hpv__k_vhjk

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

posting fraud videos will teach you nothing about ancestral karma when the world criminals are yet to see their karma…

you know nothing about karma either..

12. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Did the people in St. Thomas get any water yet, but yardfowls would get on here with their nimble infested selves and claim someone should know the representative of St. Thomas, right, so how come the people have no water but have a PAID representative.

13. @ac 7:34
    That was a powerful video.

That young lady with just a camera and a powerful story has shown a second side of Barbados. It was pure genius to make a video of the walk from her home to the pipe. This lady will not be on BU talking about how good life is in Barbados; no road, no water, no street light; place is inaccessible to motor cycles, ambulance or furniture trucks.

14. You have people in your country who live worse.

Why do you always seek to stir up that crap?????

Always droppng stupid remarks!

Sickening!

15. People in Flint, Michigan would not be saying how great life is in America. They had to go to the store for bottled water. There’s was poisoned.

People still being poisoned by flaky lead painted walls

People in Texas froze to death from an inadequate power grid. Had to burn their furniture for heat and melt snow for water. All foreseeable as it had happened before. Still not rectified.

Still got extortionary bills!

Some people died from carbon monoxide poisoning trying to get warm

California power grid inadequate..

Unsafe bridges nationwide.

I could go on and on.

16. Oh dear me! Just turned on my tv to hear people who are NOT saying how good life is in America!

But check out Joe Biden’s infrastructure plan. He doesn’t think life is so good in America either!

Life is good for some but not for others in MOST countries of the world.

I still believe our problems should be easier to solve. It is only corruption that stands in the way.

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

It’s all coming to a head, they will not get away with refusing multiple parishes life giving water while BILLIONS OF DOLLARS ARE STILL MISSING FROM THE TREASURY AND PENSION FUND..

and none of them can account for any of it, because it ended up in the offshore accounts of all the thieves of parliament, their families and fellow corrupt minorities…

that explains ALL THE SUFFERING ON THE ISLAND..

18. @ Donna,
    “It is only corruption that stands in the way.” Is like an elite athlete saying I only have Mount Everest to climb. No problem!

Take a cursory glance at Nigeria, Russia, Lebanon, Mexico Jamaica and the rest and you will see countries racked by violence, social regression, with high levels of emigration.

Some, if not all of these governments, have links with organised crime; whilst several of them are defacto Mafia organisations.

Once a country reaches a critical mass of levels of corruption it becomes too complex a task to reverse the slide of that country’s decline.

The UK is a dirty corrupt country just like 75% of the world’s countries. What separates the UK from say Barbados is the strength of its fourth estate, the strength of its numerous social and political organisations, the large numbers of lawyers who are dedicated to fight against injustice wherever they find it and last but not least the the citizens of the country who will take to the streets to protest; and in some cases smash, loot and destroy their way to make a point (and please don’t reference Trump and his mutant supporters). The UK government is, permanently, kept on its toes.

Barbados, post independence, has been blessed with a climate to succeed. It has not gone to war, it has not experienced famine, nor extreme adverse meteorological or geological conditions, neither has it experienced terrorism (Air Cubans being the exception). Virtually all Barbadian children receives a formal education.

So why have things gone so pear-shaped in Barbados? Corruption, corruption, corruption!

Barbados does not have the capacity to fight against corruption for the reasons I have given above. The country cannot progress with Mia at the helm, nor can it progress with the BLP “sans” Mia. The same could be said of a re-elected DLP.

If Barbadians are serious of breaking free from corruption they will have to resign to history the BDLP.

It is up to Barbadians to work out their salvation. Do not expect help from Mia who is a prisoner of the past and the present; who remains a hostage to fortune to the special interest groups. A leader with no throne; nor a crown.

19. “you know nothing about karma either..” said the Wack Witch Black Bitch Babigail Bitchell who married a white trash smack snitch and who knows nothing about a dj remix or reggae dub jazz soul blues music and spends her crab life in bowels of internet like a black nationalist racist on a blacklist watch list for babylon spies to watch with their little eyes.
    Abigail Mitchell black bitch of hell knows nothing about afterlife or this life humanity or ethical philosophy and believes solipsism and all shit she thinks is true and she is the ultimate human toilet pooper.
    and, the lord said go to the devil he is waiting for you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xX7Wtd7g2QQ

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“If Barbadians are serious of breaking free from corruption they will have to resign to history the BDLP.”

they both must be DISBANDED…and only the electorate can do so by NEVER ALLOWING EITHER OF THEM TO ENTER THE PARLIAMENT EVER AGAIN.

they are the ENEMIES of Black/African people.

21. Poor Barbados people lives are in a state of emergency and we have some on the rock whose lives are in better condition speaking out about things in other countries
    Those “things” in other countries like Flint Michigan were givens voice by the people govt listened and the issue was quickly taken care of
    When last has the Michigan issue been a bone of media concern
    Now placing the condition of a woman who not only lacks water but lives in condition where there is no proper street lightning and roads
    All this as described by the woman happening for years without any end in sight by past govts or present
    This kind of treatment calls for the kind of rebellion similar to what happened under the Bussa movement

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

To make matters even more life threatening….racist sandy lane was still WATERING GOLF COURSES at the beginning of the pandemic…so all these many YEARS while people suffer for water, these trash hotels were given the green light by wicked governments to water golf courses and people have no drinking water…

that’s what the scum governments promote and are all about, watering lawns and providing no lifegiving water. to humans….tiefing billions of dollars from the economy and the PEOPLE HAVE NO FOOD..

and that makes perfect sense to retards..

23. Be gone, FRAUD! You defended the worse SHIT and GARBAGE between 2008 to 2018!

24. DonnaJune 12, 2021 6:04 AM

Be gone, FRAUD! You defended the worse SHIT and GARBAGE between 2008 to 2018

Xxxccccccc

Warning
    Mad person at work

25. Barbados Capitalists depreciate value of Slave Stock
    (a little bit of accountancy humour there)

Black Peoples Capitalism dependant on foreign income streams in a low tax regime slowly killed and starved Independence and Freedom of Slave Caste due to the snakes in the grass slithering. White Slave Masters reset Island for a new controlled experiment but amoebas still didn’t evolve and the black human/sub-human/animal people proved too lazy and stupid to compete at national and international level listening to too much sub par dancehall music which was not as good as the jamaican dope

Plastic People Soundclash
    Ancestral Soul Vs Ancestral Dub

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1Pyx8ls5XY

26. Most Barbadians livelihoods are tied to govt jobs
    Hence the silence continues

27. Uh-oh! Getting my theres and theirs crossed!

Idiot! Flint residents spent eighteen months being poisoned by their government. The effects will be carried throughout their lives.

28. At least we now have an excuse for your behaviour.

Only a mad person could believe that we have your posts as ac and Mariposa but have no idea of your duplicity!

Lowlife!

29. Flint was corrected

Duh tell me about the corrections made at home Barbados for those people
    Go watch the video
    The woman is telling a truth
    A truth that calls for heads to roll
    One stinky water tank to service a community comprised of adults and children

Why don’t u swap places with the lady
    Then u can tell or write your story

30. TLSN,

The people have done it before. They can do it again. Not my generation. The young ones.

I would not argue with your analysis except that I see the spark in the young ones.

A few thousand have gone the wrong way but more of them have chosen the right.

And they are fed up with us adults!

31. “Warning
    Mad person at work”

Calling Donna MAD is one of Hal’s Tells

Donna is neither confirming or denying
    whether she went mad a long time ago

Where You Come From
    Bajan’s need to get conscious and grow their locks like Jamaican Dancehall Artists Mad Cobra, Buju Banton, Bounty Killer, Capleton and Luciano did about 20 – 30 yeas ago

if you are not conscious you must be anxious

The Dreads are militant steppers in Jah Army

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1fqh_gmcDU

32. “Be gone, FRAUD! You defended the worse SHIT and GARBAGE between 2008 to 2018.”

Not only that, but, she is NOW opposing activities involving the SAME players……… under SIMILAR circumstances……… she previously defended.

The BLP’s ‘Atlantic Breeze Planned Lifestyle Development’ project is simply a ‘reinvention’ of the DEMS’ ‘Villages at Coverley.’

Case in point, the goodly lady is now criticizing what she describes as ‘land give-aways’ to Mark Maloney, but SUPPORTED the previous administration’s ‘land give-aways’ at Coverley, to the same gentleman.

Read the NHC’s lease agreement with Housing Concepts SRL and you’ll discover there aren’t many significant differences between the BLP’s and DLP’s housing deals with Maloney………….. except that, based on grounds of political expediency, his role has been ‘adjusted’ accordingly.

He who was once regarded as an ‘OUT LAW’ by the BLP, (remember at a BLP meeting at Briar Hall, Christ Church on March 18, 2018, Mottley was adamant Maloney should be charged for the circumstances that led to the death of Elijah Holder-Phillips at entrance of the Villages at Coverley on June 26, 2015?). The same man who Mia said received over $1B in major government contracts ……….

……… has NOW become their ‘IN-LAW”…….. and involved in the SAME projects they criticized during their tenure as the Opposition.

33. DonnaJune 12, 2021 6:04 AM

Be gone, FRAUD! You defended the worse SHIT and GARBAGE between 2008 to 2018

Xxxxxxx

Ok u called me a fraud
    Xxx
    Now prove yourself right by posting the lies which Hal told

34. Search the archives, fraud!

Never went mad. I do GET mad enough to seem mad. Terrible temper that blocks out even reasonable fear. I am non-conformist, freespirited, unconventional.

I march to the beat of my own drum.

There is a class of limited Bajan who would call that mad. Not those who have read a few books, nor those who really know me. Nor the psychiatrist. Nor the psychologist.

Being a good actress, I sometimes use the characterisation to my advantage in my dealings with nuisances. Keeps them in check.

Hope that settles it once and for all.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Absolutely correct @Donna and Artax, this blogger ‘ac’ or whatever alias is the worst kind of commentator: pitifully hypocritical.

One can NEVER deny anyone the right to express an opinion but when that’s simply to exercise fingers with clearly no additional RATIONAL mental exercise taking place then it’s either comedic, idiotic, hypocritical, STUPID or in this case a terrible combination !

How can ANY person who was PART of a prior govt or closely aligned with it be taken SERIOUSLY when they write THIS nonsense: “All this as described by the woman happening for years without any end in sight by past govts or present. This kind of treatment calls for the kind of rebellion similar to what happened under the Bussa movement”

Not making excuses for this admin’s missteps but good heavens get this HYPOCRITE some brain juice or something. He writes like a crazed imbecile … and is calling someone “mad”!

I gone, do!

36. Depandemic dribbler

Not making excuses for this admin’s missteps but good heavens get this HYPOCRITE some brain juice or something. He writes like a crazed imbecile … and is calling someone “mad”!

I gone, do!
    Xxxxx
    Fuh heaven sake another one crawled out of the wood work
    But he gone
    Lol

37. That’s why I “assumed” the mad person at work warning sign applied to her.

I am certain Artax can pull up years of ac/angela cox/ Mariposa posts supporting what she now decries.

It is as unbearable as the filthy mouthings of Trump and the Trumpians.

But it will make no difference to her. She will continue, undaunted.

Such shamelessness is depressing!

38. onnaJune 12, 2021 10:00 AM

Search the archives, fraud!

Never went mad. I do GET mad enough to seem mad. Terrible temper that blocks out even reasonable fear. I am non-conformist, freespirited, unconventional.

Xxxxxx
    Now the above comment with certainty categorized u as being a certified mad person
    You call me a fraud but when called upon u to defend yourself with truth u tell me to go searching
    The fact being u cannot in anyway find the comments or statement where u state that H..l is a liar
    Now I can add to your title one of being a”” lying fraudulent madman””
    Prove me wrong

39. DPD is a gentleman. He does not crawl out of woodwork. You, YOU are the pest! YOU and your kind are the pests that eat away at the fabric and the very core of Barbados, leaving destruction and emptiness in your wake!

The hole you live in needs fumigating with the strongest pesticide that is safe for humans, pets and the environment!

40. I have NOTHING to prove to your kind. Take a vote on BU and my credibility and sanity win HANDS DOWN over yours.

41. DonnaJune 12, 2021 11:06 AM

I have NOTHING to prove to your kind. Take a vote on BU and my credibility and sanity win HANDS DOWN over yours
    Xxxcccccc

Ghee whizzz
    Like asking the fox 🦊 to watch the hen house 🤣😂

42. The frustrated residents said for too many years they have been experiencing significant water outages, which they believe seem to be getting worse.

On Friday evening, June Clarke, of Hurley’s Gap, who said she was lucky to get water that day as a result of a kind hearted man passing through the area giving water to residents, told Barbados TODAY it is time Prime Minister Mottley visits Boscobelle.

Clarke has to use a wheelbarrow to get water from a community tank in order to meet the sanitary needs of her brother who had a stroke. In a passionate tone, 78-year-old Clarke said it has been seven days that Boscobelle residents have not gotten a drop of water from their taps.

Clarke also said that the community tanks are always out of water because residents empty them as fast as tankers from the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) refill them.

Clarke said: “When you wake up in the mornings you can’t face your own toilet in your house because of the scent that going through it. And all you talk and ask for some person to assist you, nobody is coming at all. I think it is time for the Prime Minister to step in and do something about Boscobelle and all the surrounding areas that can’t get water. It is unfair to us … I am a woman 78 years old and I am pushing a pan cart, pushing”.

“We want the Prime Minister to know that Boscobelle belongs to her,” another Hurley Gap resident added.

Several other residents at Hurley Gap got loud as they lamented how they have become tired of dealing with the water challenges.

Meanwhile, Shirnelle, who lives in The Alley, Boscobelle, said she was fed up with hearing the reasons why residents cannot get an effective water service, and also stressed that she was especially tired that residents get no warning, or notification that the water will be going off.

Shirnelle also complained about the poor quality of the water residents are forced to use whenever they do get water from the taps.

“Our water bill is still 100 and something dollars and sometimes it is even higher. This is hard and then you have other utility bills to pay and then you still have to go to a supermarket and buy water to drink.

“During the ash time, we had to leave and walk miles to get to the spring just to get a little water because they say them ain’t sending out anybody in the ash. It is frustrating and we need help,” Shirnelle said.

43. Is Barbados being ruled by hustlers?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zysJyAtTQx0

44. And all the talk you are talking will not help the DLP in 2023!

45. DonnaJune 12, 2021 6:20 PM

And all the talk you are talking will not help the DLP in 2023!

Xxxxxxxxx
    Shame on you
    The people are suffering and u speak about 2023
    Have a heart and speak on what is happening to the people today

46. Mia cares
    Yet to hear any one of the members of her Goliath size cabinet complain about not having water and one water tank having to serve a whole community

Listen up folks this is a serious delimena that this community is facing which sums up to a day survival of life and death

Xxxxxcc

On Friday evening, June Clarke, of Hurley’s Gap, who said she was lucky to get water that day as a result of a kind hearted man passing through the area giving water to residents, told Barbados TODAY it is time Prime Minister Mottley visits Boscobelle

47. David where is your investigating in this disgraceful circumstance

48. David is this true

DavidJune 24, 2016 3:21 PM

Just to scatter some of the bullshit splattered in this space, many who post as males on BU are women and vice verse. Carry on smartly

49. 1/1
    I commented on a comment and it generated feedback.
    I made my own independent comment and it generated feedback.
    Here are two more comments.
    I iz as Bajan as any Bajan here.
    Flint is as important to them as it is to me.
    I am buzzing off.

50. @DPD
    How can ANY person who was PART of a prior govt or closely aligned with it be taken SERIOUSLY when they write THIS nonsense: “All this as described by the woman happening for years without any end in sight by past govts or present. This kind of treatment calls for the kind of rebellion similar to what happened under the Bussa movement”

I disagree with the second sentence of ac. But note that the very first sentence is a truth, even the part in bold. Your statement of “nonsense ” borders on being a lie.

Leave a Reply to angela coxCancel reply