Submitted by Just Observing

26 years ago there was a hue and cry when a then young Minister of Education who managed a group of artists brought school aged students to the Wildey Gymnasium to be “feted” by none other than Mr. Edwin Yearwood, Pic of De Crop winner.

At the time this mass “party” was unheard of but clearly went on to become a staple of B/DLP politics, campaigning and our cultural and sub cultural landscape.

Fast forward 27 years to the present and we have a young Minister of Education who manages a group of artists and uses them for promotional and motivational student videos (covid, back to school, stop the bullying etc.) including the popular Mole, Peter Ram and others.

BUT, here is the rub. The attached video shows the duality of entertainment and the flip side of performance roles.

TROJAN RIDDIM MIX VIDEO

So, one day it’s go to school, learn well, sanitise and don’t trouble nobody. The next day it’s gunshots showering like storm, high grade, kush, 357’s, AR’s and coffins for informers who get shot.

All coming from the same mouths, with the same faces, in the same spaces.

All managed and seemingly endorsed by a young Minister of Education whose business interests apparently diverge from the broader national, social and values based interests when convenient.

Imagine this at a time when violence, guns, shooting and fear of serious crime continue to climb. This is what far too many of our young people glorify, rejoice in and give praise to.

As one of the same said artists said over 30 years ago…..

“Well boh, I find out doh, uh NOW realise how de yutes get so”

506 responses to “How De Yutes Get So?”

1. @ William Skinner June 3, 2021 6:14 AM
    “We talk about gun violence . I ask a simple question: What charges were brought against the MP who “pulled” a gun on the precincts of Parliament.
    Was there any apology when the PM intervened in the work of the police by accepting a call from a citizen?”

Bulls eye! You really do have a sharp recall (or should it be ‘recoil’)!

That should create a big hole to let the small-island hypocrisy cat out of the stinking rotten bag labelled “Two Barbadoes”.

Glad that you have returned to that gun fight scene at the OK Palmetto Sq.; a ‘stone’ throw within the precincts of the highest court of the twin state of (im)morality.

And guess who the NATO mouth giant pulled it on? Another mouse trying to hide behind the very dude pretending to be the hardest lawman in the land today.

2. What did Dale Marshall do? Did he pursue it or allowed it to died a natural death with the prorogue of parliament.

3. By the way Miller, are you satisfied how the Committee of Privileges dealt with Michael Carrington matter by also allowing it to die?

4. FUCK the HIP HOP Police
    I came to Kill Trax

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NUW-6TDrowk

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yes William and the youngsters in the country can rightfully say…fcuk the government…they know they are being set up with hypocrisy to take the blame,,

,,my issue with the dudes in the video, is that they need to show more respect for grandmothers, women and girls because they have ALL THREE…IN THEIR FAMILIES..

…but they only EXPOSED what the government has SUPPORTED, PROMOTED and ENCOURAGED FOR DECADES…while setting up the youth on the island and everything that is NEGATIVE….AND gleefully helping minority criminals rob them of opportunities and their future….for their cut…one only need to look at the Auditor General’s findings to get the WHOLE PICTURE…in movie style..

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

while setting up the youth on the island FOR everything that is NEGATIVE…

7. @ David June 3, 2021 7:29 AM

The answer is ‘No’.

But you can get the then Deputy Speaker to rule on the matter.

After all, it’s one big incestuous orgy put on by the Bulldaggers&Dyke ‘lying’-down party (BDLP) in the Duopoly talk shop and all paid for from the taxpayers’ kitty.

Is it fair to say that one of Santa Mara’s offspring might just be the godsend of a child to the then LoO now primate inter pares?

BTW, didn’t you mention that even members of the then Red-skin Opposition made handsome contributions to the whip-round in order to bail out one of their comrades sitting in the Big Chair but who had fallen on hard times for living above his ‘small’ means?

Didn’t one of the red contributors with ‘special’ interests in all ‘Elders’ Affairs’ make a ‘special donation’ to that same bailout fund because of close family ties with the man who Carr-away- ton of money from a geriatric?

8. @Miller

There is a large dose of hypocrisy at play how we deal with these kinds of matters. In the link the blogmaster posted from a 2010 blog the comments of late prime minster David Thompson are interesting to read. As you know he was a lover of dub and dancehall. Have fun trying to identify his comments.

9. Angela Cox

Lil Rick is a chameleon. He can change to suit the environment.

Put him in a choir stall, he would chant like choir boy.

Artax,

Did they learn the Saturday Night lesson? No. Now it is EVERY NIGHT!

And here they are still shooting the messenger.

Sleight of hand wukking still. Don’t look here, where the action is! Look over there!

Delete the video and, “ABRACADABRA”, the real culprits disappear with the loot, AS USUAL.

Scape goating as old as the Bible.

William Skinner seems to be among the few here who get it. The fellows are telling true stories. We don’t want to hear? Fix the society and the music will stop!

Music elicits emotions, it does not change minds. Those who it influences are already so minded. They may use it to psyche themselves up to do what they have already decided to do.

We need to be outraged at whatever and whoever it is that is creating the abyss that is sucking these guys in.

Young people have a serious nose for sniffing out hypocrisy!

P.S. I see nobody wants to touch Rihanna. When you watch her video tell me if Peter Ram should have apologized!

Onward and upward???? (or something like dat)

10. William Skinner Avatar

You talk about transparency and good governance. What’s the deal with Senator Moe ? Absent for months, a government appointed senator. Not a damn word from the PM.
    That’s the Duopoly for wunnuh so. Have all yuh twisting in the wind like an old kite tail pun de electric wire.

11. @William

You need to redirect to the DPA. Read John Goddards letter to the editor this morning highlighting it. One would think this is a matter the political opposition, media and talking heads would be kicking up a stink. So many issues to cover.

12. “Young people have a serious nose for sniffing out hypocrisy!”

Legalise the stuff

Barbados is Underground

The Inner Guru
    Aad guray nameh
    Jugaad guray nameh
    Sat guray nameh
    Siri guray deveh nameh

I bow to the Primal Guru.
    I bow to Eternal Truth.
    I bow to True Wisdom.
    I bow to Great Divine Wisdom.

Inner Tuning: Guru means that which brings us from darkness (GU) to light (RU). As I chant this mantra, I invoke the protective energy of the universe, and celebrate new beginnings, both inner and outer.

13. William Skinner Avatar

A Prime Minister who appointed a Senator to the Upper Chamber, and the same Senator has been absent for several months, that Prime Minister , should tell the country why the Senator is MIA( missing in action)
    You seriously can’t expect anybody else to be responsible for such pure contempt and disregard for the office.
    Like I said : You twist in the wind like an old kite tail on an electric wire.

14. @William

You allow self talk to suffocate your view. The gist of the reply to you above is if the explanation is not forthcoming what are the options? You are hopeless sometimes.

15. Investigation
    David you are slowb

Digicel has change of heart
    By Kareem Smith
    Telecommunications giant Digicel Barbados is backing away from a hasty decision to cut ties with soca and dancehall artiste Leadpipe, in the midst of a firestorm of criticism over a recent music video promoting gun violence.
    Chairman, Ralph Bizzy Williams told Barbados TODAY that the company is now prepared to “forgive” the talented artiste and “bring him back into the fold”.
    On Wednesday morning, Digicel announced the discontinuation of its influencer relationship with Leadpipe, real name Osvaldo Reid as his “recent musical values do not align with our values”.
    “Digicel takes its responsibility as a family brand and a good corporate citizen very seriously. We do not tolerate any negative sentiment towards any member of our community and indeed do not associate ourselves with negativity in any way,” the statement declared.
    Shortly after Digicel took action, Sole Addiction named Leadpipe and Mole De Chief as its new ambassadors.
    Digicel’s announcement followed the castigation of Leadpipe and eight other artistes from Prime Minister Mia Mottley, members of her Cabinet and business leaders, for their parts in the Trojan Riddim mix that is filled with violent and obscene lyrics, promoting gang activity and gun violence.
    But the demonisation of the artistes is not sitting well with hundreds of social media users, who are blasting the ‘hypocrisy’ of persons in high places for endorsing regional and international musicians, movies and influencers portraying similar messages.
    When contacted, Williams explained that in the midst of the swiftly unfolding controversy, he was asked to make an immediate decision about Leadpipe’s relationship with the company, which, in hindsight, was “probably a mistake”.
    “I made an impromptu decision. The correct thing to do would have been to have a meeting with Leadpipe and find out what this thing is all about. Why is he doing this? Does he really believe that gun violence and so on is really the way to solve Barbados’ problems? These are the things that I should have done, but I did not,” the 78-year-old businessman admitted.
    While expressing Digicel’s willingness to “forgive” Leadpipe, he added: “But what I would like for him to do… is another video that sends the opposite message, that in Barbados, we want to live in harmony with each other, that we do not want to solve problems by guns. We want to negotiate and come to agreements with each other, rather than resort to violence and guns.”
    When contacted, Leadpipe’s manager Ingrid Holder declined comment for the second day in a row.
    Among the hundreds of people opposing Digicel’s initial stance was social media influencer Jordan English, who posted a fourminute video condemning the “hypocrisy”.
    He argued that if local artistes are to be vilified for their recent releases, an apology ought to be issued from major promoters, cinemas and other businesses, who, for years, have facilitated the infiltration of ‘badness’ into the society.
    “From the time I was a little boy, I watched the two major festivals in Barbados, Hennessy Artistry and Barbados Reggae Festival each year after year bringing headline Jamaican dancehall artistes who are powered by big sponsors like Digicel.
    “I want to know how the government of Barbados could accept that each year, we allow a dancehall artist to headline the number one festival in Barbados, but want to scrutinize the artistes like they are little boys,”
    English challenged.
    “I would like an apology from Hennessy Artistry, from Digicel, from Fas [7Star [Entertainment], for each year putting on a concert that headlines Jamaican artistes singing ‘badness’. I would like an apology from Sheraton that shows action movies portraying gun crimes and drug activity every single day to kids. I would like an apology from Slam, 95.3, 98.1, and all of these radio stations…and organisations, that contribute to the promotion of crime,” the young influencer declared.
    When asked to respond to such allegations, Williams, who introduced Digicel to the local market nearly two decades ago acknowledged that the company did not have a history of seeking to dictate the activity of artistes.
    On the contrary, he declared that the umbrella company, Williams Industries has always been keen on supporting artistic expression. He however indicated that the timing of the recent releases was poor in the midst of a recent spike in gun crime, and anxiety related to the pandemic and the volcanic ash.
    “Everybody’s nerves are on edge and it was a very bad time to come out with this music video. I can’t imagine what the fellows were thinking,” the businessman added.
    Late this evening, Leadpipe issued an apology expressing his sincerest regret to fans, followers, sponsors and the general public for the “ unintentionally harmful lyrics” during the dancehall freestyle mix.
    “ As many of you know I have always expressed my versatility as a comedian along with recording as a soca and dancehall entertainer to bring positive vibes and energy from my work. However, my choice of content on this occasion has been deemed offensive to some. As a popular entertainer, I understand my power as an influencer, and I promise to make you and Barbados proud in the future.
    “I would also like to take this opportunity to appeal to our youths and elders to stop the violence and let us continue to make Barbados a safe and enjoyable country not sometimes but all the time, “ he said.
    (kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb)

16. William Skinner Avatar

They were all over Rihana for her dress, videos and almost everything she did until they camevto their senses and realised that’s the nature of entertainment.
    However Rihanna has given Bim more exposure than the clowns running the Tourism Industry, who don’t know what’s a proper marketing theme .
    They also had to shut up when they realised she was mentioning Barbados at every single opportunity.
    And then this poor black woman , as soon as her wealth grew , started to donate and give more to charity and other causes than all the white corporate multi- millionaires that only give their money to certain sports and causes.
    She exposed them all by not shouting but by simply giving of her recently achieved fortune.
    Then the politicians , one in particular , would not let her turn. They got the tablets.
    They can’t talk because she has demonstrated what thousands of our young people are trying to show: Give them a leg up and we will make our nation proud.
    Imagine all these big shots around here, bragging about how they shop in Miami while local designers starve.
    Rihanna puts on an unknown woman’s design and just like magic it’s in Vogue.
    Hypocrites.

17. DIGICEL is financially weak and obviously wants to stave off a potential boycott by the youth segment who is their key market. It is all about dollars.

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William….the pretend corporate hypocrites are talking fast, they should tell the public HOW MUCH MONEY THEY INVESTED IN GUNS AND DRUGS over the decades to destroy the depressed areas where most of the artists come from…what about the polo horses with COCAINE in their bellie……..so they could continue their raping and pillaging of the treasury and pension fund….aided by parliament sellouts, the Auditor General’s report gives quite the story even before a forensic audit.

everybody is now hiding behind FAKE MORALITY that none of them have…

19. I consider barbados like my house, friends come over and bring their children with them. They sometimes are bad behaved breaking things yelling getting in to everything, but I expect more of my kids and they know better than to behave like that in our home or anybody else’s. I dont expect much from jamaican rappers visiting but I thought your artists are a higher standard apparently I am mistaken.

20. The blogmaster would pay a few dollars to find out who wrote Lil Ric’s statement in response to this fracas.

21. DavidJune 3, 2021 10:27 AM

The blogmaster would pay a few dollars to find out who wrote Lil Ric’s statement in response to this fracas.

xxxcccccc
    What u might be forgetting that there are investors In Digicel from without Barbados who has interest in the entertainment industry and Digicel cannot afford to mash their corns

22. DIGICEL is a broke company.

23. William Skinner,

Down with the hypocrites!

Methinks Shakespeare was once accused of lewdness.

Artists are supposed to wake us up to reality!

Are we woke yet?

24. I would personally like to thank Lil Rick, Peter Ram, Mole, Lead Pipe and all the other artists who have brought this hypocrisy to a head.

You cannot hunt with the hounds and run with the hares!

Make up your minds!

Are we serious about reducing crime and violence or not?

Right now the most I have to worry about from gangstas is a stray bullet. The gang men are not looking for me or my son. They are in the drug business. They kill people in the drug business, mostly. Stay out of their way and you should be good. It’s not that hard to do really if you live in certain places.

Perhaps politicians think the youth from depressed areas are disposable??? Collateral damage?

Kidnapping is a different situation altogether. One need not look as far as Haiti. Trinidad will do. That is something rich and upper middle class people have to worry about.

Armed robbery is something that affects businesses and anybody who has a little cash.

Most of our murders are drug related at present, though. The policeman was only killed because he was coming at the robbers with a gun.

We will never eradicate crime but provide opportunities and guidance for young men and we can lessen it.

But we need to deal with Mr. Big too!

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Saw a notice where Lead Pipe says he opted not to re-sign with Digicel…that’s a move of an INDEPENDENT MIND..

.ya can’t dump me one minute because ya think ya own me, can do as ya like because Mia is trying to cover up… and the next minute when ya see that move is not in your best interest, ya want me back….

.slavery done long time, it’s just the TRAITORS in the parliament prolonging it to line their pockets…minority basura on the island feel the Black population is their Slaves…..

you go young man, you are FREE…

look how things work out..

26. DavidJune 3, 2021 10:51 AM

DIGICEL is a broke company

Xxxxxxxx
    Evidence please
    Xxxxxxxx
    If they are broke
    Then letting lead pipe go would have been a cost savings to the company don’t u think
    The bottom line goes to public outrage and investors some of whom are part of the entertainment industry having a vested interest in protecting their Creative interest
    Digital tried to cross that line and the backlash was fast and swift
    Xxxx

Personally if I was caught up in that broil I would have sat back and said nothing
    Suffice it to say that I would have took.my little backside elsewhere far away from the land of hypocrisy called Barbados

27. Google it.

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

lawd….come out things, we are hearing when Digicel was brought into Barbados in 2004 they promoted a concert at the Garrison headlining Jamaican artiste Bounty Killa, who was definitely not shy as a lyrical violence singer back then…lawd….

now all of a sudden, no moral, racist, tiefing pretenders and hypocrites got values….lawd…

2009 Digicel headline sponsored I-donia, Popcaan, Massacre, Dexter Daps…..etc..I-donia sings about sex, drugs Bang, Bang Boom….and he went to a gang bang school….lawd

people are speaking out about the hypocrisy, double standards .. BTMI has sponsored these shows, even CBC, Transport Board…all sponsoring lewdness, violence, the double standards are troubling..

stop scapegoating the artistes and young people to cover up yall corruption, thefts, injustice at the supreme court, human rights abuses against the BLACK POPULATION…

stop trying to pin YALL CRIMES ON THE YOUNG PEOPLE…yall robbed them decades of opportunities and their future you beasts…..ya should ALL BE IN PRISON…yall can own all the gunrunning, drug trafficking on VIOLENT, DEADLY CRIMES ON THE ISLAND, ya not only PROMOTED IT…but ya FUNDED and SUPPORT IT…

this is a clear SET UP…that BACKFIRED.

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They all know that they are ON THEIR WAY OUT…so they came up with a LAST GASP set up….that’s how they have operated for decades…but this time, they UNDERESTIMATED the people….and that right there is the blowback….bunch of criminal demons…let them keep coming, they will get exactly what is coming to them and meet it head on, what they sowed…

.they need to get out of Black lives…

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

bizzy can now interview himself and talk about ALL THE WRONGS he has committed against the majority population for the last 40 YEARS…..both him and cow, they can also identify all the little negros who helped them..

31. LOl Donna my son isnt in the drug business, why cuz he is driving a broke ass bike, he doesnt have a top of the line grill please just stop you know how many mothers thought their son was an angel only to find out different.. Maybe he is sick of talking to eggplants on your plantation and would like a little night life. A big problem in the Amish community is the girls look so plain until they get out of sight of their folks then on goes the make up the short dresses and off to the clubs. If thats the rational say nothing because it doesnt affect me one day it will will.

32. Let me add a note to what Lawson said.

My wife and I were very protective of our son and would monitor/restrict whose home he would visit. One home where we did not have any concerns about was a husband and wife who were both teachers.

It is only recently, that we learned that the teachers smoked with the children. I am still angry.

It is more complicated than listening to music or being good parents or taking the child to church. As a parent, you may be checking all the right boxes, but other checks that you are counting on, may not be working.

33. Stupid Lawson,

My son is a home body. “Out there is trouble!” His words not mine. He left home today because I sent him to pay a bill. I was surprised how quickly he returned. Went out on Tuesday to collect a deposit for a local job. Came home so quickly I was surprised.

He has been at home every day since Covid returned to the island. All day until I kick him outside to catch some sun. Working at his business for hours on end. Uses my credit card to pay for his tools. Discusses every move with me.

Does not need to talk to eggplants. Has a few good friends and an I phone. And we talk for hours on end.

And he wanted a dog but I compromised with two kittens.

They are good practice for fatherhood. I do not help. They sleep on the pillow he keeps on his chest. Wake him up regularly for food. Climb up my curtains and get into trouble. He changes their litter, grooms them daily and loves the rascals to bits.

So…. I am sorry to disappoint you but my son is not a user nor is he a pusher of drugs. Does not smoke. Does not drink. Is not even a skirt chaser.

Driven to succeed. Too smart to let WURA’s minorities use him. And loves me too much to cause me trouble.

So sorry to disappoint.

34. You could add whatever you want to what Stupid Lawson says. I do not keep my son tied. He LIKES staying home. Sometimes I ask HIM if he is not feeling boxed in.

Decided on his own that he does not like alcohol. I let him taste it. Always quarrelling with his grandfather for smoking.

In normal times he goes to the occasional party. Goes to the occasional picnic.

But do not invite him out two consecutive days cause he en going!

I was a good girl who did not trick her parents. No drinking, no drugs, no smoking, no sex until I was an adult.

Good children do exist. As Vincent said a while back he is a lot like me. Right down to the strong will and the big mouth.

Genes and environment!

35. Donna,
    I am not talking about your son. I dun wid dat days ago.

As a general statement, there was truth in what Lawson said. I added in my two cents on the difficultly of parenting.

36. I knew that. But Lawson did not make a general statement.

37. Thats right Donna everything is about you….yawn..How often do you change that boys litter it sounds like you are the one with a pet.
    All I was saying… having kids of my own you will only know what they want you to know.

38. You are just sorry to hear I have no problem. You would not be yawning if I was telling tales of woe.

Too bad!

Every story I tell is relevant to the discussion. Most women relate that way. Dame Bajans, Cuhdear Bajan, WURA and even Groslyn. Only one different is Angela Cox.

39. When hitler told his mum he was working on an oven..she thought he had got a job at an appliance repair shop.

40. @ Donna,

Don’t mind TheoGazerts and Lawson. Enjoy the years with your son at home.

Just one thing. One of these days some girl or woman who look like Riri or Alison Hinds will offer him some salt fish.

That could change his stan wid mummy life. Trust me. I started in 4th form when I was at Kolij. Them QC, St.Michaels , Foundation girls were a constant distraction.

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

lawd….come out things, we are hearing when Digicel was brought into Barbados in 2004 they promoted a concert at the Garrison headlining Jamaican artiste Bounty Killa, who was definitely not shy as a lyrical violence singer back then…lawd….

they can’t even back out of their OWN TRAP…because if they were interested in the values of promoting PEACE and LOVE they would have promoted and HEADLINED the Marleys and all the other artistes who are even more famous than those they headlined…

but that is NOT WHAT THEY WANTED TO PROJECT and PROMOTE ON THE ISLAND…they wanted the DESTABILIZING EFFECTS of guns, drugs, sex, VIOLENCE and DEATH because that is WHAT THEY KNOW THEY FUNDED…and that’s what they got, because that’s what they PAID FOR…..

.they could only fool yardfowls/Slaves…

42. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don’t know why the majority population believe they have to fear these basic as*holes…

43. @ Lawson June 3, 2021 4:36 PM

LoL!!

That’s one corny joke which isn’t kosher.

Wonder how many saw the humorous light of a menorah burning in your gas chamber.

44. Stupid Lawson

My son’s business is online. First he tells me. Then he shows me.

Hants,

The girls have been offering for years.

He is not inclined to have “dealings without feelings” to quote Lil Rick.

Not every man thinks of a girl as a salt fish dispenser.

45. https://www.capacitymedia.com/articles/3827957/growth-after-the-storms-across-the-caribbean

Xxxxxx
    The above article does not say financially Digicel is broke
    Digicel had several problems in it’s markets trying to create growth
    Digicel has found resolution and is making its way back to the top in many markets
    Digicel realized the foolishness of it’s kneejerk response and listened to it’s customers
    So much for Mia clout

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…imagine in the 21st century we have to deal with all of this though

…the (criminal minorities and sellout negros) intent was to use, rob and destroy Black lives to enrich themselves and keep GENERATIONS OF YOUTH in poverty…..and now believe they can slither out of their handiwork by claiming an image of some paragon of values….although knowing what they did to paint Black people as drug dealers and gun toting gangsters, funding containers and boat loads of drugs while stealing so much from the treasury and pension fund that at least 6 or 7 parishes live BELOW THE POVERTY LINE….as they have from the 1960s.

and were well poised to get away with it, had not social media made a debut….now we know why dried up cow was so desperate to get social media off the island, talking shite about it don’t suit Barbados, he meant, it would expose them, as it has..

.the minorities would have kept the population in the DARK AGES for another 50 years and their lazy drug addled grands and great grands would have continued the slave society undeterred and well protected by parliament scum, while ruling roost.

..ah guess it has now all gone to hell in a handbasket…but just imagine the black face vote beggars supported all of this for decades…

47. DavidJune 3, 2021 10:27 AM

The blogmaster would pay a few dollars to find out who wrote Lil Ric’s statement in response to this fracas
    Xxxxxxxxxx

What do u mean by asking such a question

48. @6:08
    Very good.

It reminded me of someone looking at a black man and saying ‘he speaks well’. We have to be careful that our words do not reflect the biases of others.

I think you caught the blog master out of the crease.

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I mean it’s a fair question…

“Wonder what music politicians does be listening to that does cause them to rob poor people.”

what they need to do is stop coming with these elaborate plots and plans AGAINST THE BLACK POPULATION, the next conniving ones may be the end of them for sure ……and at last..

Leave a Reply to Cuhdear BajanCancel reply