Submitted by Just Observing

26 years ago there was a hue and cry when a then young Minister of Education who managed a group of artists brought school aged students to the Wildey Gymnasium to be “feted” by none other than Mr. Edwin Yearwood, Pic of De Crop winner.

At the time this mass “party” was unheard of but clearly went on to become a staple of B/DLP politics, campaigning and our cultural and sub cultural landscape.

Fast forward 27 years to the present and we have a young Minister of Education who manages a group of artists and uses them for promotional and motivational student videos (covid, back to school, stop the bullying etc.) including the popular Mole, Peter Ram and others.

BUT, here is the rub. The attached video shows the duality of entertainment and the flip side of performance roles.

TROJAN RIDDIM MIX VIDEO

So, one day it’s go to school, learn well, sanitise and don’t trouble nobody. The next day it’s gunshots showering like storm, high grade, kush, 357’s, AR’s and coffins for informers who get shot.

All coming from the same mouths, with the same faces, in the same spaces.

All managed and seemingly endorsed by a young Minister of Education whose business interests apparently diverge from the broader national, social and values based interests when convenient.

Imagine this at a time when violence, guns, shooting and fear of serious crime continue to climb. This is what far too many of our young people glorify, rejoice in and give praise to.

As one of the same said artists said over 30 years ago…..

“Well boh, I find out doh, uh NOW realise how de yutes get so”

506 responses to “How De Yutes Get So?”

1. Hants,

These songs were my drugs. Still get goosebumps.

https://youtu.be/jbh-So2eMhs

2. My Commodores play list. Sweet Love, Just To Be Close To You, Three Times A Lady.

I will it to your imagination as to what is likely to happen after the third song.

and I am 69 years old. lol

3. Hants,

You’re not dead yet!

4. […] to the social dysfunction we have been reminded by the Trojan Riddims video affair – see How De Yutes Get So?. Officialdom expresses righteous indignation at a group of artistes for violating public morals of […]

5. De yutes cultcha on de guvmen station

6. Yesterday Sunday School wid lil ric
    Featured in live performance
    The mighty Grynner
    Gabby
    Shirley Stuart
    People got to me a living
    Govt and hand to mouth blp supporters not gonna help people pay their bills and keep roof over there head
    Glad lil ric had the commonsense to know who is who from who isn’t worth a fart hole

Older Comments
1 9 10 11