It is no secret to the BU family and elsewhere the man behind the Barbados Welcome Stamp is Peter Lawrence Thompson. To his credit he thanked the BU family for helping him give birth to the concept.

The Barbados Welcome Stamp is a work programme which establishes a visa to allow people to work remotely in Barbados for a maximum of 12 months. The visa is available to anyone who meets the visa requirements and whose work is location independent, whether individuals or families – see Barbados Welcome Stamp FAQs.

It is with regret the government implemented Peter’s idea which has been quickly copied by several countries in the region. To date Peter has not received official recognition from the Barbados government. The refusal by government to give Peter his due is immoral and unethical, take your pick. To rub salt in the wound he was not selected to sit on a face saving panel to come up with a new brand slogan after the Little Island, Big Barbados campaign was jettisoned by Prime Minister Mia Mottley. In the same way the prime minister has intervened in this matter and others before it, she needs to remove this stain from whatever legacy she is building for herself and the country. Also political and NGO voices must speak up for what is right.

We will never know if the reason Mottley shelved the campaign is based on political considerations with an eye on a 2023 general election. What the blogmaster knows is Peter Lawrence Thompson should have been asked to sit on the so-called Destination Reboot Panel. The truth is if he was asked it would be an admission of what is blatantly being denied.

1. Sir Hilary Beckles – Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, historian, Chair.

2. Most Honourable Anthony Gabby Carter.

3. Gayle Talma – hotelier.

4. Renee Coppin – hotelier – Infinity on the Beach and Pirates Inn hotels.

5. Mark Kent – hotelier, Butterfly Beach Hotel.

6. Stedson Red Plastic Bag Wiltshire – entertainment industry professional.

7. Rorrey Fenty – entertainment executive.

8. Dillon Atkinson – hotel worker.

9. Krystal Griffin – hotel worker.

10. Abraham Norville – water sports operator.

11. Tyronne Best – Airport Taxi Association.

12. Josea Browne – Book Barbados.com and formerly from Expedia.com.

13. Aisha Comissiong – creative industry professional.

14. Anthony Walrond – former chairman of the National Cultural Foundation (NCF).

15. Dean Straker – entertainment industry professional.

16. Carol Roberts – CEO, NCF.

17. Andrea Franklin – country manager, Harrison’s Cave.

18. Wayne Cummins – World of Water Sports.

Destination Barbados Reboot Panel

121 responses to “BIG MISTAKE, NO CORRECTION”

1. Two guys that I like and who are most capable of writing their own story and making their own decisions.
    But I have my own opinion and I disagree with last two choices made by these men.
    But, I know it’s their life. I don’t have a vote. But I can have an opinion.

2. @Dompey 1/1,
    I will not engage.
    You have your measuring stick and I have my own.
    I will not be recalibrating,
    Enjoy the day.

3. @ William Skinner May 31, 2021 8:46 AM

If you’re aware of the difficulties in that era as you outlined, why complain about it now?

I believe it is unreasonable to expect any ‘government’ to think about every possible thing.

What prevented those entertainers from communicating with successive administrations to influence legislative policy? Surely it wouldn’t have required any substantial amount of resources to form a special interest group to lobby their cause.

4. Have a great day Barbados,
    Enjoyed you company once again.
    HAGD, Barbados
    —–x—-
    It may not be immediately obvious. A next guy that I like is the blogmaster… 🙂 and the Sunday he does not punish us with EA, he is even more likeable 🙂
    HAGD

5. TheoGazerts

Isn’t what you have written, the dichotomy of the world in which we live? And is Truth Relative or is it Absolute…. this is the question which continues puzzled and perplexed the mind of the Scientist, the Theologian and Philosopher?

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo…WE guide the young…the young IMPLEMENT..because we will NOT BE AROUND TO DO IT…..that is why THEY and not us ARE THE FUTURE….

no politician has ever managed to spend 100 years in any parliament, not even Strom Thurmond who apparently thought he could…why?…because they DIE and someone younger …the future generation…has to continue where they left off, bad or good….that is continuum….

we give the young the ideas…and they, as the future run with it…

that is how life continues, not with a bunch of thieves and sellouts believing they will last forever by suppressing the young EVERY GENERATION.

7. Wura

Yes …. the past with its good and evil lives in the present, and the old is in the new concealed and the new is in the old revealed.

8. No surprise

Mia likes taking credit for every dam thing
    Even a controversy surround the vaccine distributions
    So much so that one govt minister in one of the small islands refute Mia’s benelovency comments as Barbados gifts to the island
    His comments made headlines and he had to refute
    From day one the issue of govt not being transparent has led to suspicious motives on Mia’s part
    Now within this latest controversy another angle is being added that hinges on possibilities with questions as to why PTL did not fight for his recognition
    Far for it to question his motives
    He did acknowledge that he felt a sadness of hurt
    Maybe his integrity surpasses that of govt

9. What?

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Jeremy was one of the many people that I tested my ideas on before submitting them to Cabinet.”

i take it they did not know that when they were pulling their credit heist…… 🤣🤣😍😍

they got a lot more surprises in store for them, they have gotten quite a few in the last 2 weeks and it has not even STARTED YET…

11. David. I know what

Awaiting govt response to this latest copy right controversy
    This is ugly

Xxx

But what saddens even more are comments that pursue the avenue of suspicious motives attached to PTL gift towards his giving
    A real turn off to others who have good intentions for country looking for nothing in return

12. Dean Straker was/is a member of Spice and Co. one of the best bands with some of the best Bajan music composed and produced. He is also the son of Emile Straker of The Merrymen.

Classic songs that will never grow old!

And Bajan to the bone!

When WURA cussing, she gotta leave out the Spice men.

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Donna…i don’t leave out anybody to please anybody….if they produce and it benefits the YOUNG and the ENTIRE POPULATION and not just the few, i will applaud, if not anyone is fair game, i don’t do the sentimental bullshit, that’s what got yall still living in a slave society and most can’t even see it….and still have lost identities, and still don’t know it…

no one can say that i practice discrimination…

14. Say what??

15. From the very the very start PTL clearly stated that he did not want any recognition. I remember teasing him about getting a knighthood. He always said said that his was a gift to the people of Barbados etc. i dont know where all the political bassa bassa at the earlier part of the comments came from beside …….monkey climbing higher

Yes its about time PTL get a thank you = it is long overdue. If there is anything else coming his way at a later date then ok but the thank you is pass due now.

@TheO
    The list was chosen by Lisa not Mia = I think it was reported Mia said this.
    just saying

16. @ Hants

Oh lord don’t tell me now they going come with GEM OF THE CARIBBEAN SEA! Well at least Emile will collect some royalties there. LOL

17. The Message Remix Samba Vs Check Yo Self
    I keep explaining to all y’all Bajans that individuals cannot copyright Visa programs nor can nations as any country can implement similar ideas and Governments doing pick up of ideas in public domain is not copying it is running with good ideas by the people for the people. Peter is an originator like Grandmaster Flash the first the #1 and nobody can take that away from him.

I would suggest that War on Everyone does the same but different and makes a suggestion for an African Visa program which is really my adaptation but as she would say I have not got the qualification of a big black ass and cannot suggest that sort of stuff. Another thought is setting up a recording studio in Africa as they have got the rhythm.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdOhwPovkHI

18. The originator …
    Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five

19. 555dubstreet

No star ….the Jamaican DJ Cool Herc is the originator of the rap music genre and not the Bajan Grand Master Flash …….

20. Lorenzo

I hope you see how your boy John A the undercover DEM doing the dawg.

21. Almost 24hrs and counting Enquiring minds want to know if the PM of Barbados reached out to PTL

22. 555dubstreet

Yes Grandmaster Flash and Doggie Fresh are Barbadian born American rap Artists ….

23. Another bungling directed by ignorant policies cannot allow the govt of Barbados receive or ask the 28 cruise ships for compensation for the damage reefs
    Headless chickens using PR to cover up their ignorance

24. Homie

I was referring to the originator original #1 of DJ scratch on the wheels of steel, so don’t be a petty minded cunt hole all your life and take a day off and shut the fuck up already

25. The minister of the blue economy said that the reefs were deteriorating
    Yet govt made a decision to allow cruise ship to dock for months on end in the waters dropping anchor
    Monkeys handling gun

26. 555dubstreet

Ok …. retard ….you did not make that clear …. How do you expect me to read your empty head? Got yah …………………………………….blessed

27. 555dubstreet

And Dred, I don’t think we can really claim an originality because Knowledge is exponential or knowledge build upon knowledge.

28. 555dubstreet

Let me school you a bit here on Western Thought…. you see the man name Socrates? Well he is One of the major figure of the western intellectual tradition ……….and he took more of what he knew from what is called the Nature philosophers or the philosophers who looked to Nature for answers to life challenging questions, but Socrates is regarded by those in the academic world, as the first or the original Philosopher of Western Thought, to looked within Self rather than Nature, like those before him, for the answer to life challenging questions, so Socrates is regarded as the first Moralist Philosopher of the Western Intellectual Tradition, even those he took from those before him to build upon his own thought.

29. 555dubstreet

Dred, if you examine with a meticulous eye all of the Philosophers of the Western Intellectual tradition, Chinese, East Indian or Islamic Philosophical Tradition, you will discover that they all had been influenced by other Philosophers before them. So how can these men of thought, claim an originality with the stolen ideas of those before them?

30. PLT is one of the few people on BU I take seriously. I am happy that he gave the WS idea to the government free of charge and even happier to see he’s found a way to benefit from the initiative. I hope he makes a mint and agree that an official thank you is deserving.

31. Dompey
    LMAO if you were as knowledgeable as you claim, you would have known right away what 555dubstep meant when he referred to Grandmaster Flash as the originator.

32. “555dubstreet

Chew on this very important point I am going to make here”

Dred, who you are today came about as a resulted of conscious planning by your parents, and their parents, and their parents, parents and so forth and so … even if such planning were myopic ….

33. What’s under there?

34. PLT, excellent concept for which you deserve much recognition.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am NOT going back to requote…but today’s gem from you is that Mia IS A certified lawyer.
    You and your sidekick Fractured spent months challenging her legal qualifications. And then Karma, the LEC, Lose Every Constituency, came back to haunt the DLP.

36. Enuff

Lol ….how does one miscalculation trumps everything else someone knows? Skippa, Losing a battle is no indication that you have lost the war …..

37. How do you keep a cunt in suspense?

38. @ Frank

That’s right cause to the fowl if you ain’t singing the praises of the divine leader then you got to be a dem. After all God forbid you blessed with independent thinkers out there that are neither sheep nor fowl. One thing is for sure Jim Jones could of never get me poison. You now he would of done bury you in Guyana with you guts full of Koolaid! LOL

39. NorthernObserverMay 31, 2021 5:45 PM

I am NOT going back to requote…but today’s gem from you is that Mia IS A certified lawyer.
    You and your sidekick Fractured spent months challenging her legal qualifications. And then Karma, the LEC, Lose Every Constituency, came back to haunt the DLP
    Xxxcccccc

Yes I said a certified lawyer (a tongue in cheek comment)
    Looking at all the legal mistakes that have happen under Mia watch the jury is still out on her certification
    Winning an election does not in any way remove that suspicion
    With much emphasis it is hard to believe seeing all the legal mistakes done under her watch that her certification as a lawyer does her due justice

40. Just for you, WURA!

Spice and Co.

https://youtu.be/QTg2v3VBwN8

41. If you went to a party and woke up with vaseline on your bum, would you tell anyone?

42. I doan know who else benefit but the music alone was enough for me!

Always uplifting for the spirit!

De men en tief nor rob nuhbody! Nuh corruption nor bribes. Dem use dem amazing talent and made us proud.

43. Wuhlaus! I’m losing my dialect! Sounding real igrunt like Dompey!

44. Why is there this great effort to put a label on John A and put him in a box? Are his statements incorrect? If they are incorrect, then destroy him by destroying his ‘argument’.

I am certain that some Bible thumpers are B and some are D. Would you reject a verse because the thumper is a D and accept the same verse from from another?

Destroy his argument or go home. He is a D is a silly refutation of what he says.

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They should be washing PLTs feet seeing that they were UP THE CREEK with no boat and no paddles in 2020 and he saved them….

and to date MANY CREATIVES are doing their part to make sure THE PEOPLE …have a way out…

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

All these yardfowls slithering around BU for 15 years, i came and found many of them, and can’t see any them able to use those shallow minds to create anything, they are stuck on B and D……although they are 26 letters in the alphabet..

why would anyone put their lives in the hands of those who manage, windup and set loose these retards…

ah waiting to hear what they ever created, in the last year alone, people individually created 4 or 5 useful things per person to upgrade the lives of others…because they have time on their hands, sitting in front a computer, the information highway at their fingertips
    and literally thousands of opportunities just waiting to be discovered…..ya can’t want it better than that, the time to create and produce.

look what PLT came up with..

over time there will be shock at what others have achieved without leaving their homes….lock down…..and time. many millionaires will be made. there are some real life geniuses out there.

47. @ Enuff May 31, 2021 5:24 PM
    Dompey
    LMAO if you were as knowledgeable as you claim, you would have known right away what 555dubstep meant when he referred to Grandmaster Flash as the originator. (Unquote).

Oh how low indeed the (former) Mighty Enuff has fallen as to find himself slugging it out in the gutter with the poor lightweight Dompey.

We cannot help but notice the shame on your face and indeed the deafening silence since the PM bitch-slapped you down by making a volte-face decision on the slogan you said was simply the best (and better than all the rest).

This the second time you have been made to look like a downright ass-licking fool of a red-painted sycophant on BU.

First it was the case of the unlawful appointment of the second DCoP on which your hot-headed red administration had to recant.

Now this clear case of putting the money-thieving cart before the commonsense horse.

You, “Enuff” have now suffered your second major knockdown and defeat because of your blind subservience to the red bull of political stupidity.

You are now so punch-drunk and lying cold on the floor that it’s time your handlers the Johnny No. 2 and Frankie the fool wrap you up in your blood-stained towel and remove you from the ring before you die from further embarrassing concussion.

We would suggest you look to redeem yourself by checking out who is Red Pepper Green(e).

Why not recommend to the Bajan-design slogan committee that the talents of both Rihanna and this ‘voice-actor’ son of the St. George soil be engaged in the marketing and promotion of the same home-grown Slogan?

After all, Home Drums should beat first when it comes to recognizing talent instead of wasting hundreds of thousands of taxpayers’ money on a cart load of stolen crap.

Leave a Reply to John ACancel reply