The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.

In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case. 

Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

Source: DLP St. Andrew Facebook Page

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.

A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.

In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.

743 responses to “Little Island Big Cabinet”

1. TSNL

Does itmake sense fir Guyana with so much Oil that is already Found ti be still exploring?

How much money Will Barbados have to invest and how much Will it gain if Can only sell SOME / 10 year of oil?

2. These are the one that Call for diversifting the Economy?

Something that Barbados wont have ti spendere one cent on and just collect royalties and Them against it?

The is if Oil is fiound?

3. Miller and Mari

The computer/ phone that u have be on all
    Day to male the part ro building it and to g’et rid of it Will cause some degree of polution. Why do u Buy and use them ?

Radiation is given off from them that May male u sick etc

4. @ John2 June 3, 2021 7:10 PM

We can always make ‘good’ use of the bitumen for the roads to accommodate electric-powered vehicles without having to burn it.

The only ‘crude’ product you will be missing is the petroleum jelly.

Not even the Milluh would be bothered since there will be No Mal(m)oney erection to sit on.

Just you wait and see if the Hyatt invisible lighthouse will turn into a Priapus or a flaccid Sisyphus.

5. When you shit and you are in the sewered area you are contributing to the pollution of the sea – so cut it out.
    And if you are using a pit toilet you are polluting the ground water also – so cut that out also.
    if you burn it the you are polluting the air – so cut that out also

6. Man you outdid yourself…
    😆😆😆😂
    “The only ‘crude’ product you will be missing is the petroleum jelly.

Not even the Milluh would be bothered since there will be No Mal(m)oney erection to sit on.”

7. 😆😂🤭

There May be some In the red bag that he Can borrow

8. Another black eye for lil barbados
    Inept govt

Harrison Cave
    A promise is a comfort to a fool
    Xxccc

UPGRADES STALLED
    NEW MANAGEMENT COMPANY SAYS IMPROVEMENTS AT HARRISON’S CAVE DELAYED
    BY PANDEMIC
    Barbados’ famed attraction Harrison’s Cave will re-open to the public in a month, but without any of the promised $9 million upgrades.
    Chukka Caribbean Adventures, Jamaica’s largest nature adventure tour operator took over the management of the attraction effective December 1, 2020, with management promising a multimillion dollar investment to transform the Harrison’s Cave into a once-in-a-lifetime experience for locals and visitors.
    While no timeline was given for the upgrade, recent research by Barbados TODAY revealed that the promised phase one redevelopment plan at the St Thomas location that would include new features such as an interactive green monkey experience, a suspended aerial walkway and a canopy zipline had not been done over the past several months to coincide with its reopening.
    Some tourism industry players have raised concern about the lack of promised development at the location, questioning why the company did not take the “down time” during the pandemic to upgrade the facility.
    They have also questioned why no date had been announced for the reopening of the island’s major tourist attraction despite government declaring that the island was again open for visitors.
    “We were looking forward to seeing at least a start to those developments. We are planning to reopen the country to tourism again and if what you are saying is right, that the planned investments have not taken place yet, then that is unacceptable,” said one industry player, who did not want to be named.
    “I would think that after all the hype about this new company coming to run the cave that they would use the ‘down period’ to carry out the upgrades. Also, when will the facility re-open to the public?” he said.
    Barbados TODAY reached out to Country Manager of CHUKKA Barbados Andrea Franklin, and in a statement on Thursday she promised that the St Thomas attraction would re-open on July 2, 2021, “in time for the start of summer”.
    Franklin said the re-opening was timed to support the relaunch of the tourism sector for the 2021 summer period and allow the operation to slowly ramp up in time for the upcoming winter season.
    “The team is looking forward to welcoming Barbadians and visitors back to the cave after having been closed since March 23, 2020 due to COVID-19,” she said.
    She said the reservations process will begin by the middle of this month, and open with a staff complement of approximately 40 people, made up of over 50 per cent from Caves of Barbados Ltd (CBL), the former operators of the attraction.
    She further explained that the operation will restart with a three-day schedule, as they closely monitor the gradual return of visitors to the island.
    “As the demands of the business dictate, we will review this schedule but we are hopeful that by the start of the upcoming winter season we can be close to the operational schedule that we have been accustomed to before the pandemic and this can then be matched by an increase in staffing levels,” she said.
    In relation to the planned investment, Franklin did not give a set date for when work begin, but would only say in the statement that the planned plant upgrade has been “delayed” due to the pandemic.
    “However, work is expected to begin very shortly, and will proceed while the attraction continues to be open to the public,” she added.
    One concerned tourism industry stalwart who did not want to be identified, said he suspected CHUKKA would not do anything until they see people start to come back to this country.
    “I believe they are looking at just opening up the cave again as is and that defies the whole process,” he told Barbados TODAY in a recent interview.
    “Obviously COVID has affected everybody, but the Government of Barbados on November 30, 2020, handed this lease over the CHUKKA, and we are now six months on and still nothing,” he said.
    “I understand they will be opening the exact same way they closed. So we handed the national attraction on a platter to a foreign entity. I understand COVID has had an impact, but I think it should go back out to tender if they are going to open as the exact same thing . . . you can’t have your whole cake baked and iced and cut up for you and just handed to you on a platter,” he added.
    Following a tendering process last year, CHUKKA Caribbean Adventures (Barbados) Ltd was chosen from among four contenders to manage the operations of Harrison’s Cave.
    The Jamaica-based company was formed in 1983 and also operates nature-adventure attractions in their home base of Jamaica as well as Belize, Turks and Caicos and the Dominican Republic.
    During a media update late last month, Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) Senator Rudy Grant said he was aware that land-based attractions were doing what they could to make the operations ready for the return of visitors, especially for the winter period.
    “Our expectation is that by the winter season we will see most, if not all of those businesses back to operating again,” he said.
    When asked to comment specifically on the state of readiness of the Harrison’s Cave location, Grant said with the cruise ships set to return by the middle of this month, that location was “getting ready to participate in the cruise business when it comes back”.
    Stating that he had discussions with Franklin recently, Senator Grant said he was given the assurance that some refurbishment would take place to enhance that product offering.
    “Our expectation is that we will see some aspect of that during the winter period. But once the cruise business restarts and business is starting to [pick up] I am told that Harrison’s Cave will be in operation,” Grant said then. (BT)

9. “The objective is to provide wi-fi access to visitors and locals under the Ministry’s Bridgetown Wi-Fi project.”.

That is the issue I have with Barbados.

Visitors always come first. Barbados has to see itself as a nation and first provide for it’s citizens. Citizens first and the visitors get to ride along (free or otherwise).

Reacting or planning based on the needs of visitors is not how a nation should develop. Citizens are people too.
    Little citizens, Big visitors

10. I believe that having ’30 electoral’ district has worked against us . Our small size should have been an asset and allow us to solve issues and make plans on a national scale.

However, if we solve issues at a constituency level we will see an island as if it was patched together. Good roads, a reliable electric supply, and fresh water in some areas and St. Lucy sorely lacking in all.

Clearly, working at a constituency level will not profit the nation. Joseph’s brothers were envious of his patched coat of many colors. Are our Caribbean brothers still envious of us?

Hopefully, a lovable dictator will come along who will put the nation and it’s citizens first.

11. Allow me to tell you that I have a beautiful picture of Barbados in my mind.

There are a few things that we have to correct, but the foundation for prosperity is there. The recipe for success is a simple one
    Honesty,
    Transparency,
    Treating people fairly,
    Respect for each other, and a
    Justice system that works
    If we could employ these five principles we could have a little heaven.

I may criticize but that is because I can see the Garden of Eden and I am not satisfied with where we are or where we are going.

12. Someone once indicated that when the British were in control, the affairs of the island were better managed.

If my memory serves me correctly, the race of leadership then and now came into the discussion.

It is not a problem of race. There are three reasons why we are failing..
    1) Previously, local officials had to fear intervention by the British if wrong was done
    2) The two party system gifted to us by the British introduced an artificial divide. Now a party must ensure that it supporters are rewarded above those of the other party if they want to regain power.

Please do not draw me into a discussion of if it is a two-party or n-party system.

3) This artificial divide is further strengthened by these little pockets called constituencies. I am willing to bet that somewhere in Barbados there is a map with at least 16 of the constituencies shaded differently from others. Everyone knows that getting 16 is more important than getting 30.

The British left us with a divide and rule political system. One must wonder if this was accidental.

13. How do we get out of this bind?

How do we move beyond personality politics?

Why do we elect some folks over and over, yet the island/constituency show no progress? Kellman represented St Lucy for decades and the parish was neglected by both parties for decades.

Why does so call educated black leaders neglect their own people? Corruption/bribes cannot be the only answer. It takes a poverty of mind and spirit to ensure generational poverty in your own family. Surely, we are examples of miseducation.

If the systems we inherited worked for the ‘British’, what must we do to jump start them and have them worked again?

Another raised this point. Are we engaged in meaningful work or are we following rituals. Is the AG report just a left over from past times? Is it useful or should we just pay the AG and tell him don’t turn up for work -make it a no-show/no-report job.

Why is an island with an abundance of lawyers slow in defending the poor. How can we have the speed of a bullet in some cases and of a snail in others.

If you are on BU for any length of time, you should be aware that many of our systems are failing.

How do we solve these problems?Pointing out that other countries have a similar problems or that the other half of the duopoly did it is not the answer.

14. Here is an example of a leader beginning to wake up, but if Antigua is like Barbados ……
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/04/antiguan-pm-blames-curriculum-for-lost-investment-opportunities/

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

let them continue raising and maintaining yardfowls/Slaves and see how far it gets them, someone will make money creating a comedy show about their inane stupidity…..they already debut as laughing stocks..

i know the young can tell them go to hell….they don’t need them…

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“If the systems we inherited worked for the ‘British’, what must we do to jump start them and have them worked again?”

so who will be the Slaves this time?

who will be robbed this time around?

who will be discriminated against this time around?

surely not African descendants…been there, done that, for the last 54 years…

it’s a colonial system…someone gotta be the colonizer and those who are deemed inferior, the victims, to suck the life out of…the slave society must be abolished.

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller….look, forward thinkers…

“Jamaica government seeking to overhaul marijuana regulations
    Article by

KINGSTON – The Jamaica government said it is working towards overhauling the interim regulations governing the cannabis industry.

State Minister for Industry, Investment and Commerce, Dr. Norman Dunn said the measures enacted six years ago are no longer appropriate for the fast-growing industry.

“They require a complete rework, and we are now set at the Ministry to work assiduously to change this,” he said.

“If we don’t change it and everywhere opens up apart from us, we are going to be completely left behind…We will not be able to compete adequately in this multimillion-dollar global industry.”

Dunn, who was speaking at a webinar hosted by the Jamaica National Agency for Accreditation (JANAAC), said when the regulations were enacted six years ago, they were appropriate at the time, as “the government had to move cautiously in how it rolled out the new industry”.

“But the world is moving very fast as far as the opening up of this industry is concerned and, therefore, we have to now change gear,” he said.

“How we position ourselves will better enable Jamaica to tap into the multimillion-dollar global industry.”

18. “America’s gun obsession is rooted in slavery
    Carol Anderson”

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jun/04/america-gun-obsession

19. @wura,
    You have no confidence in your fellowman?
    Surely we can pick the good and leave what is bad.

All is bad is the easy reply. Don’t go there.

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

ya not listening…get your head out of the free enterprise society in the US for a minute, unless you plan to transplant it to Barbados, because they have never had it. …but those in the parliament love the way US does things, ask Donville, but not to apply to the majority population on the island.

IT’S A COLONIAL SYSTEM….there must be a colonizer and a slave master and the oppressed, suppressed, disenfranchised etc. that’s how the system is set up, so how will you run it with all those systems/STRUCTURES STILL IN PLACE inclusive of slave laws and slave codes……and a judiciary that dispenses INJUSTICE to Black people, send Mia a memo, do a PLT…

ISN’T THAT WHAT WE HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING ABOUT FOR YEARS…

think…

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Why do you think the youths as SO ANGRY.

am not one to give any ideas, but i invite everyone else to…can’t wait to read them..

22. TheO

The Two party system was giftes to u’s by the British ?

23. @John2
    Who did Barbados get its independence/constitution from?

24. Some body says Chapman lane stinks from some type of waste or effulent in the canal
    Canals also takes purified waste from treatment plants but the water has to comply with strict cleanliness standards
    But because of the lack of transparency and Accountability on environmental issues in Barbados
    The source or nature of what has caused the nauseating scent in the Chapman street Canal would never been known
    Relying on govt issue statements would be a waste of time

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And that’s why i not only cut down on reading some posts, but answering some so they don’t keep going around and around in circles and taking me with them..

…..when the fowls could now believe that they created the toxic two-party political system of corruption and yardfowlism ….ya done know ALL IS LOST….they definitely had a hand in making it that worse..

.they created NOTHING, have no constitution, have no independence created by them, have limited sovereignty, even the tourism was handed to them, they won’t know how to create anything wholesome by the mere fact that they held on to their destruction this long, and now don’t even know where it came from…..and they will continue to pass that ignorance and know nothingism on to each successive generation going forward…

no wonder the SLAVE SOCIETY SYSTEM IS STILL HOLDING STRONG..

Theo…i guess you now understand certain things.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Thankfully the younger generation will NOW TAKE CHARGE..

so the old colonial Slaves can sit their asses right down..

27. TheO

EWB may not agree with you on “gifted”.
    YOUR Two party was in place before independence.

Where in the constitution is a two party system?
    How come at least 5 different parties contested the last election?

Please do not come with two parties as in a government and an opposition from two different parties because like for the first time we had a clean sweep we could have also ended up with a collation government/opposition.

28. @John2
    Two points..
    Note that as part of my post I stated
    (1) “Please do not draw me into a discussion of if it is a two-party or n-party system.”

The n- could be any number. I saw you coming even before you made a move.

(2) Say whatever you want.. everything on the island came from the British; call it gifted, transferred, inherited or whatever you like.

In our narration of our history we take pygmies and make them into giants. I remember when some joker talked about our ‘founding fathers’ and the constitution. Some clerk in some office in Britain took some papers out of some boxed and handed them to EWB and other leaders to tweak.

I may have minimized the contribution of EWB and others, but I had to counterbalance the incredible weight on your end.

29. TheO

Maybe You should have just left off the “2”
    And the reference to one party vs the next

“The political system “ May have been better

But i understand

30. Reposting cause I dont know what happened just now

Old friends and enemies of even older timbre

I Piece the Prophet bid ye all greetings from here on the Mountain where I am blessed with Vision.

Supreme Commander Theophillus Gazzerts I see that you (and others) have continued to fight the good fight against the many who persist to promote silly commentary to support Mugabe Mottley or restore the Demonic Lying Pimps

De ole man sees dat de paling cocks and cox remains and retains her patent on idiotic ramblings across her multiple personalities and single password Barbados Underground profile.

But that is consistent with the pronouncement that “the poor” or in her case the ignorant “will be with you always”

I will continue to watch as the saga unfolds and Mugabe Mottley carries the once rising nation of Barbados into perdition or until its citizenry wake up and direct their own destinies.

Suffering is a necessary part of becoming aware of the freedom one has lost, and Mugabe Mottley is going to make an entire population suffer greatly before the Sheeple wake up

De ole man salutes you and all others who are still in the trenches fighting this enemy of the nation

De ole man will watch from this distance and periodically hail you and others up as instructed.

31. @ Greetings Piece,
    Is this your spirit speaking? Are you still in the present?

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Piece…where the hell were you, ya neglecting ya duties..

33. All Hail to the minister of the environment after sitting idly by overseeing the destruction of the reefs finds a voice indicative of a political kuncklehead
    All hail to him finally awakening after the destruction and heralding a phase of correction which will cost taxpayers money
    All Hail to another one of govt elected numbskulls
    Heads ought to roll

34. Piece crawl.from under de rock to talk sh.it
    Man guh back wherever de hell.yuh was hiding
    Good grief
    Peace and out

35. The Minister of the maritime says that govt would undertake directives that would control the docking of cruise ships in sensitive areas where the docking can cause damage to the coral reefs
    Barbados Coral reefs are now in further declined because of a govt policy
    Recently the minister of maritime said that govt is in talks with the cruise line industry for compensation to the destruction
    What should be of focus along with govt new docking directives is how much govt is seeking in compensation for these damaged reefs
    The new policy well intentional should not be a one stop band aid for the reefs but one which govt must extended long and hard towards the Cruise line industry seeking compensation for the damage reefs

36. Barbados, a world-renowned tourism destination, is one of the “million-dollar reef” countries. Nearly 40 percent of employment, and of total economic activity on the island, is related to tourism. And the vast majority of tourism in Barbados happens along its coasts, on beaches and near coral reefs. However, as in many other coastal destinations, coastal and marine resources are under the intense pressures described above.

How can Barbados expect tourists to react as reefs degrade, beaches become narrower and seawater quality declines—and as risk of tropical storms and hurricanes increases? Would tourists spend as much money in Barbados as before or might they stop coming altogether?

37. @Piece
    It is always good to see the Courageous Leader.
    It is always good to see you.

Things like the mathematical constant pi or the relationship between energy, mass and the speed of light never change.

So too is Angela Cox, a dependable foe of the Mugabites.

38. What does this mean? Time and money wasted..
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/05/soldier-walks-free-from-army-hearing/

39. Looks like ac and the minister agrees on saving the coral reefs

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/05/west-and-south-coasts-designated-marine-managed-areas/

John2
    Where are you
    Wrong on reef too

40. Little island, Big Sunday
    A happy and glorious Sunday to all Bajans and Barbados.

I had to travel to NYC over the weekend and as frustrating as it was to go over the George Washington Bridge I can tell you, traffic jams are back.

This may be slightly off but you will get my point “Sweet are the uses of adversity”.

Hoping that you reach the stage where you get back to normal.

HAGD, Barbados

41. TheO

No sir!
    The conditions of the near shore water and reefs AROUND THE SEWERED AREA improved after the commencement of the sewage treatment plants. Bridgetown plant was in the 80s and the south in the late 90s (i think)

You have to ask yourself:
    1. Over what period of time is the minister talking about?
    2. what are the factors that is causing the degradation around the whole island?

I noticed the minister gave runoff as one reason – and this could be the main reason why it is island wide. Another contributing factor can the great increase in tourist (south and west coast mainly)

So come again!

42. Increase use of weedicide and pesticides (chemicals) as well as sediments in the runoff would be my main suspect.

43. African Unity? https://youtu.be/fmfnESznb90