Barbadians are rightly concerned about a rise in violent crime, specifically with guns. Those in charge see it as a duty to paper over concerns because it is about maintaining calm in the society. Overall crime statistics may be trending satisfactorily for those whose job description should depend BUT there is is rising concern by the public about violent crime, specifically gun crime. A significant rise in the number of murders since 2018 has caused tongues to wag.

There are some issues we have to regard of national importance and work together to solve. While working together there must be leadership at every level to ensure the change desired is achieved. Do we have the right leaders in place as the Attorney General, Commissioner of Police, Chief Justice, Director of Public Prosecutions, Director of Welfare department, Director of Probation department, Dodds, GIS, Minister of Education – the list is not exhaustive. This is on the enforcement and rehabilitation side of the equation to curb acts of crime; recidivism.

There is more we are obligated to do. A chain is as strong as the weakest link. Each link represents YOU, YOU and YOU. We see every day the wheelies, running traffic lights, littering the environment, flouting of government’s financial rules, acceptance of monies from those in the shadows to the campaigns of politicians and so on. We know this, we see it , we condone it by turning a blind eye, then we complain.

Barbadians are happy to cede the awesome civic responsibility to politicians- we are delinquent as parents, teachers, policemen AND politicians and expect the police force, government and said other delinquent players to play clean-up. There is no doubt citizens expect if laws are broken the authorities must ensure justice is meted out swiftly. What we want as well is for deviant and dysfunctional behaviour that leads to increase crime and specifically gun crime to be arrested as well. We have to hold agencies responsible- this includes GOVERNMENT- for enforcement ACCOUNTABLE. We have to hold ourselves accountable in order to be guardians of our fate.

In much the same way garrison behaviour is a way of life in some neighbouring islands, we are seeing a similar trend of behaviour in Barbados with violent crime centred in depressed communities. In the lead in to the 2018 general election concern was expressed by some members of the public about then Opposition Leader Mia Mottley seen in the presence of questionable characters on the campaign trail. Again some questioned why questionable characters were invited to the opening of parliament. It has become too blatant for many although it is known that the relationship between the criminal element and public officials have been blurred for a long time. The chickens are coming home to roost. We have reached the tipping point. There is no moral leadership.

Has the Prime Minister addressed this video? Our leaders must not validate wrongdoing by their behaviour.

The Barbados we romanticize is no more. Like community spread of infection caused by the COVID 19 virus, so too we have community spread caused by crime. It is why the vacuous calls by politicians for citizens to give up the bad boys and girls will yield little if any positive results. The underworld economy is well managed and families and communities depend on the economic activities attached to the arrangement. In the same way extra income is derived from kitchen gardens, baking and other type activities so too is criminal activity for too many.

The recent murder of a police officer by a band of robbers in the North of the island is an example of today’s problem. The horse has bolted and it will require a long term commitment to solving the problem at every level of our small society. 

Will the real leaders raised wunna hands – that means YOU, YOU and YOU.

280 responses to “The Long Road from Perdition – YOU, We and Crime”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Mia really deserved to get knocked out of any marijuana trade, she wasted nearly 3 years…fighting to keep medical marijuana out of Black hands….violating the rights of the Rasta Community to access the plant as sacrament, violated the rights of the disabled by refusing to give access to home grow 4-6 plants a year to alleviate pain and suffering…..refused to allow the Black population access to same… ….that’s not a leader, that’s an enemy.

don’t even bother with the bullshit excuses, she is the only one did it, everyone world wide could see the benefits including the relief of the burden on the healthcare system..

2. No,no, Not so fast.
    Please bring something tourism related for them to eat. THEY ARE STARVING without anything else on the plate.

3. “..violating the rights of the Rasta Community to access the plant as sacrament”

the rasta community don’t need anyone’s permission to grow or sell herb, their dreadlocks is their licence, it is against their religion not to smoke the herb

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now they are being roasted for using a tagline that’s overused by 8 or 9 countries who are probably about to change theirs.

…and which they picked up TAXPAYER’S $375,000 over quarter million and paid for, while Black people are unable to get a daily meal and have suffering children they are desperately trying to feed…..

…and yall still looking for more colonial leaders with their slave society mentalities, ya deserve what ya get…

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

As someone posited that could have been a competition among the schools for the best ones to be rewarded, there are creative kids in the schools, there are SO MANY OF THEM that they TIEF the kids painting that they are supposed to return to them …and they sell them to racists for millions of dollars, not only do the kids don’t know, never find out but they are NOT GIVEN A DIME for their creativity…..

instead of checking for the young creatives in the schools, they went playing slick including with the invention of those HC students which should have been publicly heralded in the news..yeah, i have known aboiut it from last year…but instead it was hidden on the GIS website where some GOAT wrote pure shite to impress yardfowls/Slaves…

yall are going to try that shit again with the young creatives….just consider yaselves really lucky this time…

6. Cheap thing no good. Good thing no cheap.
    That’s what you get for $375 000.
    Will probably pay $1.375 000 for the next ore.
    We got this.

7. This blog is about crime? Can we observe some blog etiquette for once?

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yes…we want the minority CRIMINALS LOCKED UP…

let’s return to that….

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Blogmaster….did you know that one of those HC kids is my grandchild.

ya would have still found out if they had pulled any further shit though….that i would guarantee in writing.

10. @ Blogmaster

What are your views on the video you posted in the blog?

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

BTW…am sure the government will be very pleased to hear that those HC creatives are a hit on the continent and North America…..put the island on the map..

12. Blog etiquette?
    Wuh iz dah now?
    Is that like a minute of silence for fallen officers and soldiers?
    It’s a crime to throw pearls before swines or at least it should be.
    Anyway, your house your rules.

Wunna ready for when de police start treating every thug as a threat to them?
    Wunna ready for when the police come to the realization that bad boys have no respect for, or fear of them?
    Wunna ready for another Melrose or wunna gine start skinning up wunna mout like little children?
    Wunna understand wuh really need to happen, or wunna mekking mock sport?
    Wunna really sure that wunna ready?

13. Which video Dullard?

14. When bad boy look at police dem see another bad boy. I told that Station Sargeant at Oistins it would happen that way. To be respected one must be respectable.

Don’t know about this particular officer but Peter often pays for Paul and Paul often pays for all.

15. BTW,
    Mr. Blogmaster, thank you for the corrections. Just noticed it.

16. the last thing you want is vigilantism , but if the populace feels unprotected they will take steps to protect themselves. the archery business on the gap seems to be in vogue. if you think a bullet is bad get hit with an razor arrow your dead and you dont even know it. In my younger years I worked the door at an irish pub ..everybody knew the trouble makers ,the dealers the real bosses the island is no different, every body knows who is doing what if people or govt wont stand up against them then they will get what they deserve..

17. Thing is, If dem ain’t afraid to shoot at the police, dem ain’t gine think twice about clapping one in an ordinary civilian.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Here is where a flexible publishing company comes in very handy.

19. Years ago there was a bank robbery. The police were quick to the scene as the station was little more than a stone’s throw away. In order to get away the thief had to drop the heavy bag of money.

All but one policeman put his hand in the bag and took his share. When the bag arrived at the station the Station Sargeant took his share.

There is corruption in every police force and ours is no different. The question is – how pervasive is it and how high does it go?

A few of them do face the consequences however so …

20. DavidMay 24, 2021 3:22 PM This blog is about crime? Can we observe some blog etiquette for once?

Probably the answers to the stated subject are much worse than the other point raised by commenters.

You really want nitty gritty? How the rangate can crime improve when it is at the core of the underground economy and supporting the main economy? When places of business are probably being used to launder funds?

We all know it. We all also know the main culprits from long time. We ent ‘chupidy’ as the Trinis say.

The real question may be, how many are willing to see the drug business shut down, because it will hit the economy hard.

Why ums yuh think some countries calling out the laundering? Fuh sport? Sames I said on another blog, it will be left to the SDNY to deal with. You really think the external bodies do not know who is who? Place too small for not skipper. I waiting for them to clap a few of them in cuffs. It coming yuh know. Cannot go on forever. Too may lil incidents have happened, that they will not ignore.

And deal with it they will. Somes people here cannot pass through certain airports. That is obvious.

The joke is, yes, the joke, that marijuana is illegal, even as a home grown lil ting, while we all know that coke and worse are being done by the elite and sold to visitors.

Hypocrisy at its finest.

So, with alla dat, how wunna expect to reduce ‘crime’? The oneliest way, is to raid alla de big ups who are involved and charge them. It simply cannot stop until then. How can it? How? Nuse yuh commonsense.

But that will not happen…yet. But when yuh see the men in suits come off de plane and after a few a dem….

21. Serves the bank right for jucking out poor peoples’s eye.
    But seriously though, hope someone reported it to the FTC.
    Sorry, Mr. Blogmaster

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

apparently there are only 2 categories of crimes on the island, or in people’s minds anyway…

.they are:

good crimes
    and
    bad crimes..

they got it nicely departmentalized….am sure Donville did too.

23. Now that you have brought Inniss into this discussion, per my question on there being more to his case, is it justifiable to ask, if his case is but leverage? Could it be thus? Open the gates to us, or…?

24. All now Donville telling is telling himself, I should have remained in Barbados with the rest of my politician friends.

America is not the land of oppourtunity anymore, Barbados is.

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

There might be too many fine details to Donville’s case. we just want them to reap what they all sowed for decades….they always got a vision, but only to coincide with every election cycle, then they all tag team each other and go blind until the next election cycle when they swear they got another vision…

…..they should have envisioned all of this, after what they did..

26. “A tief from a tief does mek God laugh?”

The banks recoup from the insurance company who recoup from their clients.

My point was though – you looking to arrest a man for stealing from a bank while you are stealing from a bank? What kind of person does that?

27. Bds $750.000 for a slogan already in use by numerous countries including Jamaica.
    Allright denn “we got this”.
    Squandermania or square pegs in round holes?

28. Two Barbadoses fuh true! Not that we are unique in that.

Poor man is low hanging fruit used to pretend we are doing something about crime.

“Bad boys” know that very well. Why do they allow themselves to be so used and disposed of while Mr. Big reaps the sweets?

Early target practice for the Grim Reaper.

29. More silly talk
    AG blaming past govt for doing the right thing and not being as dumb as he was when he took up a piece of unconstitutional legislation Past govt was not as stupid as he was to have passed in parliament and the court slammed the door shut in his face

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

He should be speaking to his partners the minorities, they all got a prison pipeline going….they should put their heads together..

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I agree 100% with UNICEF…..CXC should not be setting any exams period, they should lose their certification…were it up to me they would for sure.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/24/full-stop-unicef-tells-cxc-dont-set-csec-cape-urges-ministers-intervention/

United Nations children’s agency (UNICEF) on Monday urged the Caribbean Examination Council (CXC) not to proceed with this year’s Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) and Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations in their current form and has called on education ministers to intervene urgently.

In a strong statement, Four UNICEF representatives – Aloys Kamuragiye, for Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, Alison Parker of Belize, Jamaica’s Mariko Kagoshima and Nicolas Pron for Guyana and Suriname – recommended that the regional examining body make adjustments to the content and administration of the exams to ensure students are not disadvantaged.

They declared: “These are unprecedented times and will collectively require us to adapt and recreate normalcy and routine, for the many lives disrupted. A moment like this calls for innovative approaches, to stem the effects of COVID-19 on generations to come.”

As a result, the UN children’s advocates called on education ministers “to request CXC to adjust the CSEC and CAPE exams 2021, and to further simplify the content and the methodology of the exams across all subjects and adapt the timeline to the challenges currently faced by the students to ensure equitable accessibility and participation for every student.”

Citing strong grounds for a different approach, they pointed to the COVID-19 pandemic which they argue has further exacerbated the gaps in preparedness amongst the most disadvantaged students. They also stress that there is a higher risk of students in vulnerable conditions never sitting the exams and this could seriously affect not only their further education at higher secondary or tertiary levels but their future.

“Our main concern is the low level of preparedness (academically and psychologically) of many of the thousands of 16–18-year-old students across the region to sit the exams. In this context, requiring students to sit an examination that includes components that cover an entire two-year course of study would risk being ineffective,” the UNICEF officials said.

Their position comes amid a vibrant lobby of CXC by the Group of Concerned Parents Barbados, the Regional Coalition for CXC Exam Redress, the Caribbean Union of Teachers and students to change course.

32. You ..you and you
    Not me
    Btw what happened to the black guy who was a crew member on the.drug hauling luxury yacht

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

I hear the beat up old sailboat a.k.a the luxury yacht, is for sale. Still impounded as “evidence”. It will rot before that case gets heard. You could buy it cheap?

34. NO
    That is the kind of justice system people must risk their lives a govt boasting about that is not who we are
    The same govt today telling the people it about you you and you
    But the same govt shielding and protecting
    Can’t understand how a citizen under judicial alleged misdeed can have the PM number and calls her when the RBPF seeks to investigate them about quarantine laws broken

35. Gotta agree, CXC is a hot mess! Colonial massa mentality well intact, looking to make life unnecessarily difficult just to enjoy the wielding of petty power over the people. A total jackass at the top that you can lead to the water but cannot make him drink. From the time he opened his mouth to speak last year all reasonable people recognised he was a typical brayer.

But why should it take Unicef to advise MOE to intervene? Are they not paid to look after the interests of our students?

Children are struggling to stay sane in this pandemic. Are we trying to push them over the edge?

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I saw first hand the damage CXC wrought on the minds of those young people who are OUR FUTURE….and who had such high hopes, because they are high achievers and don’t just aspire to be common class political pimps, slow thinking yardfowl/Slaves and parasitic do nothing, self-serving CORRUPT government ministers…..or TIEFING LAWYERS…

CXC should have their accreditation PERMANENTLY CANCELLED.

37. Grief for children of fallen lawman
    by RACHELLE AGARD rachelleagard@nationnews.com

THE OLDER CHILDREN of slain lawman Newton Lewis, along with their mother, are struggling to come to grips with his tragic death on Saturday night.
    The Acting Station Sergeant and father of four, who was driver of Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith, was gunned down after encountering armed men attempting to rob a shop in his Rose Hill, St Peter neighbourhood. Police are continuing an intensive search for three suspects.
    Naldine Eastmond, mother of Lewis’ first two children Kimberly, 23, and 20-year-old Keshad, said though she too was grieving, she had to be strong for them.
    At their Checker Hall, St Lucy home yesterday, a tearful Kimberly was too distraught to speak, while son Keshad declined.
    “Last night I lay in my bed with tears in my eyes. I can’t let my children see. I got to be strong for these children,” the mother told the DAILY NATION.
    “I ask God to give me strength, not only for my kids but for the other two children. I don’t know how this is going to unfold the day of his burial; the way my children are going to be and how they reacted. But I’ve had a life with Newton too; he left me with memories. That’s all I have to hold on to, the memories of him.”
    Support
    Eastmond said her pastor visited on Sunday to lend support, and she reached out to Commissioner Griffith, who sent someone to see them the same day.
    She said her children only found out about their 46-year-old father’s death from their friends.
    “I couldn’t go because I was in no state of mind to drive to take my son to the scene when he begged me to. [Kimberly’s] supervisor collected her. I was shaking because I couldn’t believe it knowing I had spoken to Mr Lewis earlier, while I was doing my work in Rendezvous Hill, Christ Church. I also saw him that morning on my way to work. He was parked on the highway in the Apes Hill/ Westmoreland, St James area,” she recounted.
    She said it only hit home that her children’s father was gone when Kimberly called after visiting the scene.
    “Kimberly went and she was bawling, ‘Mummy, mummy, I want my daddy’. As soon as I got off the phone with her, my son ran across the road, ‘Mummy, I just want to see him’. Kimberly came back for her brother and they went. The pain really hit me when my other daughter Krystle called and she was bawling, ‘Mummy, you hear ’bout Newton?
    I want my daddy’. That is all these children are saying. How am I supposed to cope with this?”
    Eastmond recalled meeting Lewis at 18 years old while they worked at Eddies Supermarket in Speightstown, St Peter. She was a shop assistant, while he worked in the meat department and was a van driver.
    “Mr Lewis helped me raise my first daughter Krystle Eastmond, who refers to him as her dad, and one of my brothers Damien Eastmond, who is in tears. This boy is hurt. He too looked to Newton as his
    dad,” she said.
    She recalled it was sometime in the 1990s when Lewis joined the Royal Barbados Police Force, a move she strongly opposed. “I never wanted him to be a police, but that was his call.”
    She said when their daughter Kimberly was born, she was his heart. “Newton named her after his sister Kim. He said that was the only sister he had, and he is going to name his daughter after his sister.”
    Eastmond said she and Lewis shared a relationship for 11 years, ending in 2001 when their son was born. She added the children grew up in Rose Hill.
    “Looking at these children brought great memories back to me and it’s very hurtful looking into the eyes of my children. I see their father, especially my son. Looking at him I see Newton,” she said quietly.
    However, one thing she said that has displeased her since the tragic incident was their children not being acknowledged “by everybody”.
    “These are his children as well; these are his first two children. All I want is for these two to be recognised. These were his life, these are the children that made way for the other children, so I just can’t sit back and let things slide.
    “It was these two children that he raised that brought Mr Lewis into the role of a father,” Eastmond said.
    When a NATION team visited the family home in Rose Hill yesterday, it was told wife Kathy and Lewis’ other children were not there. All present declined to comment.

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Right…so if that is not reason Enuff to SHUT DOWN the evil minded minorities and their cartels, crime syndicates and the control they have over DBLP corrupt, BRIBETAKING government ministers…….well, yall can keep them to continue importing your guns and drugs, distributing them to the depressed areas, while the sellouts for government ministers SIMULTANEOUSLY help them rob the treasury, pension fund and VAT by the BILLIONS OF DOLLARS….. creating MORE POVERTY and more depressed areas to distribute MORE GUNS AND DRUGS….and see where it ALL leads with your grandchildren and great grands already here or on their way..

Bonne chance..
    Enchante d’te avoir recontre

39. People who see fighting crime to mean locking up poor people, or de boys on the block, the socalled bad boys and bad girls, are misguided.

Under Trump and Biden the USA from whence we get our daily bread has been openly stealing Syrian crude oil and using the proceeds ro sustain the military occupation of that country.

Yet some Bajan sensibility will rejoin by saying that because dem do it, we should not. But we could accept tainted monetary sustenance as a national imperative and not a bad boy or sweet girl will pick a “teete”

40. @CA

Note a charge to the record of parents of minors.

41. “Under Trump and Biden the USA from whence we get our daily bread has been openly stealing Syrian crude oil and using the proceeds ro sustain the military occupation of that country.”

White crimes like Wars, Slavery, Colonialism are on such a big scale they become normalised.

Nowadays it is cheaper to buy mercenaries from ME and use drones to kill humans like bug splats.

42. Is that not what they do by confiscating the proceeds of crime give it to the police so they can fight crime.? No different Should americans allow the syrian boss to gas his own people, what are you saying

43. Lawson can be well depended upon to accept any and all atrocities even about matters in which their propaganda has well polluted his one-celled brain.

You are too far gone. For you, cancellation is the only cultural construct left.

44. Israel has been engaging black ops in Syria, talk was “they” (USA UK Israel) invented Isis when people voted against their Syrian war. ]
    Problem Reaction Solution runs tings. White boy propaganda is for White boys (Devil’s pickney).

45. Wura

I am deflecting a bit away from that topic before deliberation here just to make a point regarding the slave mentality still present in some of our Black people.

I was invited to a 50th Birthday Celebration( an all White Affair) and the invited guests spoke favorably about this person who was being honored for her Birthday, until one of her three children got up and recalled an instruction given him by his Mother, when he was attending High School.

This insensitive ill- mannered young man stated that his mother ( the person who was being honored) told him in no uncertain term: “not to go out in the Sun during recess ( school break) because she did not wanted him to get too Black.

And the insensitive and ill-mannered West Indian youth made this statement at this predominantly Black West Indian 50th Anniversary Celebration Party.

And I came away from that Birthday Party feeling more angry at his mother, than this poor great West Indian youth who made the statement.

46. “… make a point regarding the slave mentality still present in some of our Black people. … “

Everything is relative
    British Slave mentality of Bajans is worse than
    Anglo American slave mentality of USA which is worse than
    Spanish Slave Mentality of South Americans and French slave mentality of their colonies
    and even the Jamaican Slave mentality where all unruly belligerent Bajan slaves were sent

In Barbados there was nowhere for Bajan slaves to run to
    unlike the Underground railroad and Maroons

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

A break down of the 2 categories of good crime/bad crimes on the island.

Good Crime:
    Donville taking bribes from ICBL
    common excuse…wuh it does happen everywhere and dah is how we do business on the island all de time..

Bad Crime:
    stealing a nailclip, ya Black so one year in prison..and lots of media coverage…for the ridicule element.

Good Crime:
    government ministers and lawyers helping corrupt minorities rip of the treasury, pension fund and VAT by billions of dollars…
    common excuse….wuh it does happen everywhere and we don’t mind if dey tief some…says the slow thinkers while they are and their children suffer…

Bad Crime:
    stealing a salt bread, ya Black so 6 months in prison and lots of media coverage, for the ridicule element.

Good Crime:
    minorities, syrians, indians, local and foreign whites trafficking guns, drugs and stolen vehicles into the island….causing violence, death and societal destruction.
    common excuse: wuh it does happen everywhere we cahn do nutten..

Bad Crime:
    youngsters going to prison for marijuana because the governments maliciously continue the CRIME of stealing opportunities from them to maintain a second economy for the minority criminal cartels and syndicate to make millions of dollars annually.

Good Crime:
    violating Black human rights at the supreme court, refusing to finish personal injury cases, refusing to hand down decisions, refusing to expedite court matters for the elderly, stealing estates and bank accounts from the elderly and their beneficiaries in collusion with lawyers including those from the parliament..
    Common excuse: wuh it does happen everywhere, we cahn do nutten bout dah.

Bad Crime:
    exposing them all and being attacked, standing up for your basic human rights and being threatened..

Good Crime:
    lawyers, up to and including government ministers stealing from and selling out their clients;
    common excuse…we cahn do nutten bout dah

Bad Crime:
    talking about the criminal activities that the lawyers in the bar and especially the parliament engage in against the Black population..

Good Crime:
    thieving racist employers engaging in stealing the labor, salaries, benefits and severance of the Black population with the blessings of the honorable sellout Slaves
    common excuse…we cahn talk bout dah, it would make de country look bad..

Good Crime:
    racist hoteliers, restauranteurs, store owners etc showing blatant racism to Black locals and Black tourists alike.

Bad Crime:
    exposing it to the world…

Good Crime:
    minority criminals still living in the depressed areas still houses and land from the poorest in the areas, displacing them and their children and never arrested.

Bad Crime:
    complaining about it.

It’s a racist slave society maintained with Black people’s money by la basura and stinking sellouts in the parliament….and yall still don’t believe ya have a very serious problem that is spreading and growing by the SECOND exponentially…because of the length of time, decades, it was allowed to permeate the entire island.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Good Crime:
    minority criminals still living in the depressed areas STEALING houses and land from the poorest in the areas, displacing them and their children and never arrested

personally, i would burn their asses all out let them return to india or where ever the hell they crawled out from and see if they could pull that there.

49. Bad mind crime

Marrying a white man and running down blacks and browns and yellows daily like a white man

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply