In the lead in to the 2018 general election there was a buzz about Guy Hewitt perceived in some quarters to be man with political aspirations to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) after the period dubbed The Lost Decade. He has always had a voice in the Barbados non secular space- received by the general public as erudite and articulate with his social and political commentaries not unlike the Dean Harold Crichlow. It did not hurt the recognition gained from the leadership role he played in the infamous Windrush matter.

One should never say never – in this instance Reverend Hewitt being a future leader of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). Of recent his articles are a must read for those following current affairs in similar vein to a Senator Caswell Franklyn. A high compliment for sure.

The Windrush debacle created the opportunity for Hewitt to add priceless elements to his brand and of late the Donville Inniss matter created a dicey window of opportunity for him to express loyalty for a friend, an endearing and respected human quality. Although Inniss was charged and convicted of money laundering in the USA- the first local high ranking former politician to achieve such ignominy- he continues to enjoy some support among Barbadians. In a macabre way Hewitt the priest may be seen as supporting a son of the soil who has stumbled, the words of country and western singer the late Glen Campbell:

If you see your brother standing by the road

With a heavy load from the seeds he sowed

…just stop and say, you are going the wrong way

You have got to try a little kindness …

If President Verla De Peiza could borrow from Hewitt’s resume and modus operandi what a formidable opponent she would be perceived to be. To have the ability to inhale some of the oxygen from the political space being sucked in by her counterpart Mia Mottley is required now more than ever with the failure of the third party political movement to gain political traction in the aftermath of an unprecedented 30 to 0 shellacking in the 2018 general election.

Guy Hewitt has the opportunity to play a significant role in the rebuild of the DLP. It is difficult to see him being accepted by the DLP establishment party apparatus for the highest office in the party. Unlike a few of the opportunists who have jumped ship or become disinterested in DLP politics, Hewitt continues to fight the good fight. For believers miracles have been known to happen and Reverend Hewitt may have heard a repeat of the message whispered in his ears from the one above “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful with few things. I will put you in charge of many things”.

It may be wise for President De Peiza to find a way to hitch her wagon to Guy Hewitt’s rising star. He is one of those rare personalities who has crossover appeal in the land. She must find a way to overcome the negative perception caused by the delayed endorsement of her decision to run in St. Lucy by Denis Kellman. She will never be seen as a threat if unable to win a seat in parliament.

How can and will Reverend Guy assist a sister carrying a heavy load?

281 responses to “Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?”

1. The IMF being paid
    The counsultants being paid
    The cabinet being Paid
    And the people of Barbados paying a hefty price because headless people are controlling the affairs of this country
    Gas prices gone up
    Unemployment going up
    Grocery prices going up
    Bajans way of living gone down to poverty levels
    What next hard to believe it is going to get better
    Hickory dickory dock policies

2. “A changing phenomenon of gun violence in Bim”

Another dark day in Barbados as far as the Death of this Police Officer is concerned, because the last Police Officer to have died in the line of Duty, to my memory is the Police Officer who was stabbed to Death in Bridgetown by a mentally disturbed man.

Nevertheless, I can quite remember the Officer’s name right now, but I can still his face in my head as though it was like yesterday … condolences to his family and friends, as well as the members of the RBPF.

3. For someone who has been working tirelessly trying to CONVINCE BU she is NOT a member, associate or operative of the DLP, Coxy’s May 22, 2021 5:44 PM contribution is a clear indication of the ‘goodly lady’ LEAVING her ‘yellow feathers’ all over this forum for everyone to see.

However, the information contained therein, is typical of the DLP. For years when they’ve found themselves in a ‘spot of bother,’ they resort to talking about Barrow, Independence, schools meals, NHC, NIS, and ‘free’ secondary and tertiary level education……… all introduced during the 1960s.
    Unlike others, I’m not impressed because we ELECT and PAY politicians to implement policies that would benefit the society..
    Interestingly, there is still robust discussion about ‘free secondary education’ and if Barrow was actually responsible for Independence or if it came at a time when Britain was interested in ‘getting rid’ of its colonies.
    Unfortunately, successive DLP administrations elected thereafter, have been unable to ‘brag’ about accomplishing similar objectives.

I thought the DEMS would’ve learnt from the 2018 general elections that the younger generation is not as interested in those ‘achievements’ or about Barrow, Grantley and ‘Tom’ Adams as the older folk are/were.

Also, after reading “We, therefore, eagerly look forward to her success as the first female to represent St. Lucy in the House of Assembly,” I was immediately reminded of a similar PR strategy the DEMS used to introduced their own Sandra Forde as General Manager of the Transport Board.

“In its second year of office, on Thursday April 1st, 2010, the Democratic Labour Party CREATED HISTORY by appointing the FIRST FEMALE, Ms. Sandra Forde, to the position of General Manager of the Transport Board, whose role it will be TO LEAD the organisation in the 21st century.”

We all know the DLP “created history” when Forde’s only achievement during her abysmal tenure, was “to lead the organisation” BACKWARDS, as evidenced by a steady reduction of the Board’s fleet of buses from over 290 units available for service per day, to 35…….. resulting in poor service.

Perhaps that was what the DEMS meant when they hailed Forde’s appointment “as a period of change including the development of additional technologies and the EXTENSION of SERVICES.”

There aren’t any significant political, ideological and philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

4. @Pacha

NO, gone with the wind.

Act 60. Scene 3..

5. @ Dompey

I’ll also join you in offering condolences to the family, relatives, friends and colleagues of Acting Station Sargeant Newton Lewis.

The name of the police officer who was stabbed “by a mentally disturbed man” in Bridgetown in 1993, was Sgt. Peter Springer. A very jovial fellow.

6. David

We are not want to hold things against people forever but at least the system should change so that misdeeds cannot ever occur again.

Certainly, voices within media should have come from a basic honesty above which sincere and insightful arguments can be mounted.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Dullard
    Jeer the police one day and shoot them the next. Natural progression.

8. Brethren may the peace of God that passes all understanding be with you
    Today I am channelling GP a voice sorely missing on his Sunday Sermons

Xxxxxxxx
    More than a couple of months ago the church bells rang at midday and prays were sent to the high heavens for Barbados
    Barbados went into deep lockdown because of the virus miracles of all miracles crime also went into lockdown
    Now as the country reopen crime reopens as well with sadness a sadness so deep and worrisome
    A sadness which seeks to ask when will this end and who will be next as innocent blood once again flows in the street
    Where is the Barbados we once knew loved and not feared
    Asking AG

9. Condolences to the family of Acting Station Sargeant Newton Lewis.

Hopefully the killer is found and brought to justice.

10. @Pacha

The media hands tied by the establishment.

11. The IMF being paid
    The counsultants being paid
    The cabinet being Paid
    And the people of Barbados paying a hefty price because headless people are controlling the affairs of this country
    Gas prices gone up
    Unemployment going up
    Grocery prices going up
    Bajans way of living gone down to poverty levels
    What next hard to believe it is going to get better
    Hickory dickory dock policies

Xxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Mari

Except for the imf part this sound like 2008 – 2018

U just got to addictif on
    Busses break down and no new one coming

Roads full of pot gullies

No sanitation trucks so private hauler picking up trash but not getting paid

Sewage in the streets

Tax return not being paid

Hospital running out of supplies every few weeks

Government buildings suffer from epidemic

On and on and on

12. Hopefully the killer would be found
    Sweet sounding words

Xxxxxxx
    Hopefully crime and violence would reach levels of a Barbados where people would not have to consider who would be next
    Fear of walking the street would become a forgotten thought
    Today I am speaking out loud and clear to the AG
    Close down the gun shops them need to be on permanent lockdown
    Use their premises to build a country for better productive use
    There is nothing in Barbados constitution that says every citizen has a right to bear arms
    Closed them shops down with immediacy in like manner yuh demolished the Old NIS Building for car park and Ram building

13. Ac, that has to be one of the most silly posts made. What have gunshops to do with the illegal gun activity?

Do you think the AK47 that the police took from a criminal last week, came from a gun shop?

Do you think the dead car parts dealer who was alleged to be bringing in guns, operated a real real gun shop?

By the way, any news on the cheque found by police in his premises, did it really connect your buddy to him?

And you have the gall to come on here and criticise the current AG?

At least we can be assured, that some a wunna under the microscope.

Wunna cyan leff bout here, you know that! Too scared to go past immigration up North.

I would love to see their files on wunna.

This is why we pun a list, y’all gone and give the country a bad name.

But know they got yuh name in big, block letters.

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

When will the police start LOCKING UP THE MINORITIES that they ALL KNOW import guns and drugs by the CONTAINER LOADS..

.when will DBLP governments allow the police to go after them for pipelining drugs and guns into the DEPRESSED areas, the poorest and most vulnerable communities…what will it take for these minority criminals to be arrested…

15. “When will the police start LOCKING UP THE MINORITIES that they ALL KNOW import guns and drugs by the CONTAINER LOADS..

.when will DBLP governments allow the police to go after them for pipelining drugs and guns into the DEPRESSED areas, the poorest and most vulnerable communities…what will it take for these minority criminals to be arrested…”

the only colour in drug trade is green and the only type of people in the business are rich

talk of minorities and black majorities and poor communities is missing

when I think about Guns and Drugs my gut feel is CIA / USA must be undermining Caribbean / Black people again

16. WARU, The local police do not have to lock them up. Remember we is wid de IMF now.

Subject to international jurisdiction. SDNY going deal with alla dem.

17. @Crusoe

What is the root of the problem? Where was the Port Authority without the necessary security screening equipment for years until recently? This meant that guns entered the country concealed among regular cargo. We love to politicalize every issue.

18. Barbados is probably not much of a Guns and Drugs market but more of a Guns and Drugs route used by syndicates

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    The current administration went after Innotech regarding the BWA building that was built by their twin brother.
    Today the administration awards a 30 mil waste contract to Prosource, the “ management arm” of the said Innotech.
    In the meantime a Black Barbadian, (Cherry) who already has a similar program going is out of business.
    This follows the same Mark Maloney script .
    Certainly this was another opportunity to enfranchise a black business. This is exactly how the BLPDLP functions ; throw some scraps and then leave us to fight for them while those who have are given more. Then the apologists and pseudo intellectuals write pure crap,
    (Check Sunday Sun today)

20. @William

You aware Mia has or had an interest in Jose n Jose a business owned by that black Bajan you mentioned? Be careful if adopting wholesale positions because it fits your agenda:

21. Look AK 47 or pow pow are meant to kill
    The effort must start somewhere
    Saying that the gun AK-47 is not sold in the gunshop says nothing
    Any actions legal or illegal can be used to bring these guns

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“In the meantime a Black Barbadian, (Cherry) who already has a similar program going is out of business.”

probably had a falling out with the government, ya done know if ya don’t toe their yardfowl/Slave line, they SHUT YOU DOWN…and give the contract to any nonblack…..especially if MORE not less corruption is involved..

they only PRETEND to fall out with minorities, can’t lose the vehicles for bribery…

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Subject to international jurisdiction. SDNY going deal with alla dem.”

let’s hope it’s sooner rather than later….the minorities now represent a clear and present danger and not to the majority population alone…

..they now act as they ARE THE ONLY VOICE on the island and the majority population don’t exist and have no right to tell them that they don’t share the same opinion, that right there is entering some very dangerous territory, not that the corrupt in the parliament who allow them to commit crimes would notice.

24. William Skinner Avatar

Kindly tell the entire BU family what is my agenda.
    If I am guilty of taking “ wholesale positions , re: the enfranchisement of black businesses,I unapologetically plead guilty.
    All I am saying is that everything in Bim is interlocked or entwined in some form or other. Jose and Jose had piloted a similar program. If the big money is now being placed in that area, Jose and Jose should have been easily upgraded with a developmental loan. Once it was above board it would have not affected Mia. If she were a board member all she had to do was step down or declare her association with the company.
    I await your informing Barbados via your blog BU what is William Skinner’s agenda.
    NB Strange that all the nasty tasty apples taste so damn good now.
    Duopoly in full cry making wunnuh so eat humble pie every damn day !

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William..it didn’t even take 24 hours after our last posts, to see the END RESULT of at least 40 YEARS of DBLP CORRUPTION…..with minorities..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/23/off-duty-police-officer-shot-to-death-in-st-peter/

.let’s place the blame exactly where it belongs, and if the police would be even a little bit honest with themselves they would expose everything. and SHUT DOWN the minority crime syndicates and criminal cartels, if they care about their lives..

the Black majority will never get any relief from disenfranchisement, oppression, suppression and second class citizen status as long as these criminals are around to bribe government ministers and a lawyers..

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Again let’s refer to the dude from UK and the car parts racket where he was allowed to import stolen cars from EU and some say drugs and guns…

.he had protection under DLP until someone DID NOT WANT TO PAY for the stolen cars or whatever else he brought in …and he ended up dead….

local minorities have no such problem, they PAY to have their containers of drugs, guns and whatever else land safely and seeing that most of THEM ARE ARMED….it’s not likely they will be killed by the corrupt who take their bribes..

they can twist and turn it…but can NEVER get rid of the reality..

27. David

Is cherry on SSA board?

28. Look AK 47 or pow pow are meant to kill
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Did she just call for government to do illegal action?

29. UPP still got a pulse , still holding on , out lasted SB

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Let them continue to pretend that the guns and drugs are materializing out of thin air or are somehow manufactured on the island, then sit and watch the escalation.

who controls the ports of entry, that the police KNOWS that is where the guns and drugs are entering, including the private airfield at the old Sewell airport , as well as ports Charles and Ferdinand……that is never effectively policed because DBLP don’t believe they need adequate policing, don’t want to hurt the feelings of criminal minorities or make them feel uncomfortable during the commission of their crimes……

who is now the head of the Bridgetown port…

31. John2May 23, 2021 10:44 AM

Look AK 47 or pow pow are meant to kill
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Did she just call for government to do illegal action?

Xxxxxxccc

This wouldn’t be the first if ” illegal ” action govt take against its people
    So don’t come pointing fingers

32. Did I point fingers?

And what was ur reaction when u saw a case when u think government was doing something illegal?

U can be against something all the time and then be for it only when it pleases you

33. But then again

34. John2May 23, 2021 11:10 AM

Did I point fingers?

And what was ur reaction when u saw a case when u think government was doing something illegal?

U can be against something all the time and then be for it only when it pleases you

Xxxxxxxxxxx
    But then again I didn’t here you mention illegality when govt confiscate Ram property to suit property
    Xxxxxxx
    What purpose does gun shops serve this 166sqmiles
    One cannot overlook that these shops can be a contributor to guns in the hands of criminals

35. The Royal Barbados Police Force issued a statement this morning, on the incident in Rose Hill, St. Peter, in which an officer was fatally shot.

Police Public Relations Officer, Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss, noted that members of the Force were still at the scene where Acting Station Sergeant Newton Lewis, lost his life around 9:05 p.m. yesterday.

He provided details on what led up to the incident:
    “The proprietor of a local establishment went to the home of the now deceased to alert him and summons his assistance to a situation where a number of armed men were about to rob his shop.

“The police officer left his residence and beckoned assistance from a next door neighbour; as he neared the said establishment he was confronted by the said armed men who opened a hail of gun fire at him, he was struck and fell to the ground, he died on the said spot.

“The assailants took his police issued service firearm which fell on the ground next to him and made good their escape.”

Acting Station Sergeant Lewis was the assigned driver to the Commissioner of Police, Mr. Tyrone Griffith.

Acting Inspector Inniss added that:
    “The Commissioner of Police, the senior command and rank and file of the RBPF expresses their heart-felt condolences to the immediate family relatives and friends of S/Sgt. (Ag.) Lewis on his tragic loss of life.”

He also urged the general public to assist in bringing the perpetrators to justice, by sharing any information connected to this series of events with the District E Police Station 4191730, Police Emergency 211 or any police station.

The PRO reminded the public that the assailants “are considered armed and dangerous.”

36. Mari

U never heard me call illegally with Ms ram?

Illegality or not is not to be determined by John2 but by the court system un Barbados up to the CCJ where Ms ram is concerned

37. I have no clue about the gun shop if u referred that to me

38. Here we go.

39. Marshall in his own words a year ago
    Yet very little movement to suffice control

Also the comments aligned to the article is interesting
    Go figure
    Xxxxxxx

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/02/26/guns-everywhere/

40. There are believed to be roughly 10,000 guns in the country, but it has been estimated that 70% are unregistered and held unlawfully. The right to bear arms is not a constitutional right in Barbados. Instead, a licence to carry a firearm is a privilege granted by the
    Commissioner of Police to eligible
    and responsible citizens. According to Sniper Country, the decision to carry a concealed weapon for self-defence should not be taken lightly.

Bajan Reporter 2 years ago
    Reducing the Impact of Illegal Gun Ownership in Barbados

41. For some reason the 10,000 guns surprised me. On average that’s over 60 guns per square mile.

42. Of course the distribution of guns will not be uniform, but that back of the envelop calculation tells you to exercise caution in your dealings with others.

43. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Someone in a recent video broke down the yardfowl/Slave psychology of the back and forth rivalry and accusations that always seems that it comes from the most empty minds… contributes NOTHING of significance ….and goes absolutely nowhere, we have watched in on BU for the nearly 9 years i have been on here…and it has been here even longer, that’s why i can never hold a conversation with them……the person rightly described them as SLOW THINKERS….it’s a religion, it’s all they are indoctrinated to know and spout STUPIDLY and INCESSANTLY…

so there you have it folks…..in a nutshell..

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

As long as guns come in by the containers…you will have a wide distribution, don’t know if some are then trans-shipped….but either way…that trade must be stopped before the escalation ultimately touches those who enable and rubberstamp those crimes from their airconditioned taxpayer paid offices… ..which will indeed by KARMA squared.

45. Mari

If you just making general comments then ok

If you addressing gun shops business to me then I cannot help you

Yes. The guns need to be off the streets
    II congratulated the police force recently for doing a good job

Note I did not mentioned the AG

46. @Verla,
    Be sensitive
    Express sympathy to family and friends.
    Focus on the neglect of St Lucy
    Focus on crime and gun violence
    Focus on how justice is distributed
    No-bid contracts
    News of today
    Identify four or five key topics and pound them incessantly. News of today will keep your message fresh

47. Verla will not penetrate St. Lucy unless she gets the support of Dennis Kellman.

48. What is the science used to estimate the number of illegal guns in Barbados?

#askingforafriend

49. “The police officer left his residence and beckoned assistance from a next door neighbour; as he neared the said establishment he was confronted by the said armed men who opened a hail of gun fire at him, he was struck and fell to the ground, he died on the said spot
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    Nowhere in that statement is any word of whether the policeman called RBPF for assistance, is the next door neighbour a member of the armed forces or is he just a regular citizen?

Actions and consequences, when the Police are thrown under the bus as per the recent speaker phone episode don’t expect some people to respect them.

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply