The blogmaster tuned into the Brasstacks show on Voice of Barbados yesterday because the topic was about press freedom. It is a ‘large topic’ and one that could not be fairly discussed in 2 hours. The moderator Dr. Kristina Hinds gave it her best effort supported by panellists David Ellis, Carol Martindale (journalists) and Michelle Russell (lawyer).

Listen to Down to Brasstacks Show – 16 May 2021

A few observations from the show:

The traditional media must accept that citizen journalism is a permanent feature how the public consumes and distributes information. Opinion blogs and other social media outlets do not need validation from traditional media to continue to define the information landscape.

The traditional media must manage convergence of traditional and social media tools to maintain competitiveness to deliver on its mandate. This has nothing to do with acceptance and penetration of non traditional media players. The traditional media must ponder why there has been the explosion of citizen journalism activity. The reason is simple. Traditional media has fallen woefully short of playing the watchdog and advocacy role required in a well functioning democracy and can be cited for contributing to some of the challenges we currently face. The blogmaster will be fair to admit we have some unsavoury and dishonourable characters who resort to social media platforms under the cloak of anonymity to pursue mischief. Here is the rub, some of these unsavoury and dishonourable characters occupy honourable positions in the society when wearing other hats.

Panellists freely admitted local journalists are not adequately paid therefore a reasonable conclusion to make is that there is roomto question the quality of work by the traditional media. How ironic the Nation newspaper selected Senator Caswell Franklyn as the news personality of the year after he was sacked as a columnist with his appointment to the Senate in 2018.

The explosion of non traditional media means it significantly acts as an influencer; opinion shaper. Smart governments, best in class organizations understand the importance of leveraging its power. Does it explain why the Mia Mottley led government established the Department of Public Affairs? Of course it does.

If the traditional media was doing its job the blogmaster suspects the government and vested NGO agencies would be forced to add a more coherent and strident voice to issues of the day. It is unsatisfactory for the media practioners to say, we cover this story and that story offered on the program yesterday. It is how the story is covered to ensure resonance with the target audience.

1. With the National Insurance Scheme severely compromised and government’s inability to make public up-to-date audited financials, why is this not a priority item for traditional media? Does it have to do with the lack of financial expertise in traditional media rank?
  2. With the hire of boutique firm White Oak Advisory to assist government with renegotiating contracts with local and foreign creditors, why the veil of secrecy concerning the current status of the relationship? A respected media should have been qualified to ferret out this information to serve the public it has a mandate to serve.
  3. What is the status of the Cahill Agreement and how much money are taxpayers liable?
  4. Since the 70s going back to late prime minister Tom Adams successive governments have tagged team to frustrate the proclamation and operationalizing of Transparency Legislation. Governance is not a sexy topic BUT the traditional media with its resources can do a better job to keep this important issue front and centre, that is, to report and at the same time distil its importance required by a well functioning democracy. Many of the problems we currently face are rooted in a crumbling governance structure.
  5. How was the Eager 11 case settled after several members took to the Court to defend their honour?
  6. What has happened to Senator Lucille Moe?

At the risk of generating a 2000 word prolix, let us agree there is a vacuum created by a poorly performing traditional media, this has given rise to a strident citizen journalism voice – the interference from deep pockets, the tentacles of interfering governments and members of the political class, the inability/unwillingness of local journalist/media houses to coalesce around shared objectives and strategies to deliver on the mandate of a high performing media…

Long live alternative media sources Carl Moore!

81 responses to “Traditional Media: Fail, Fail, Fail!”

1. @William Skinner

The Wise Old Owl was incapable of multitasking….

I do not know who claimed that you cannot talk and learn at the same time? Listen! The more I verbally engaged with my coworkers, the better I am able to understand their behaviour based on what they do and do not say. This keeps me a step ahead of them!

2. Carry on Henry
    {Intro}
    Carry on…

{Verse 1}
    Henry, you’re a bad, bad boy
    Going around and fooling all the girls
    Henry, you have to change
    The wrong that you do will always follow you

{Hook}
    Margarita you left crying
    You’re a bad, bad boy
    Angelita you left crying
    You’re a bad, bad boy
    Sonia you left crying
    You’re a bad, bad boy
    Monica you left crying

{Verse 2}
    Henry, you have to change
    The wrong that you do will always follow you
    Carry on, Henry…
    Henry, you are laughing now
    Take my advice, look into your life

{Chorus}
    Now I say, carry on Henry, carry on
    You’ll meet pon your match one day
    Carry on Henry, carry on
    What goes up comes down, I say
    Carry on Henry, carry on
    You run ‘way, you must come around
    Carry on Henry, carry on
    That’s not the way to prove you’re a man

{Verse 3}
    Henry, you are laughing now
    Take my advice and look into your life
    Carry on…
    Carry on…
    Leave the girls alone…Henry

{Hook}
    Margarita you left crying
    You’re a bad, bad boy
    Angelita you left crying
    You’re a bad, bad boy
    Sonia you left crying
    You’re a bad, bad boy
    Monica you left crying

{Outro}
    Henry…go home
    Leave all the girls, leave them all alone
    Carry on Henry
    Carry on…
    Why won’t you leave the girls alone…Henry?
    Carry on Henry
    Carry on Henry!
    One fine day…boy, you’re gonna pay, yeah
    Stick to one girl
    Enjoy the world
    Why won’t you leave all the girls?
    Carry on Henry
    Carry on, carry on
    One fine day, Henry, you’re gonna fall down
    Hear the words I say
    Mmmm
    Carry on…
    Henry…
    Carry on…

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

William…there will be a launch later in the year, media is evolving rapidly. This one is already on certain platforms on the continent, it will take a bit longer to hit the west. It is African and creative centered.

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

That’s how it has to be done in this new environment, who wants to stay behind….that’s on them…no one is forcing anyone to do anything.

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ Dompey
    I agree with thee, oh wise one. You have now joined a select group , whose skills of dissecting everything written by others are extremely fascinating.
    I am never afraid of learning. All these years I never knew that owls cannot multitask. My primary school teachers somehow forgot to tell me that !

6. Kinda of questions traditional media should be asking also by thorough investigation
    Xxxxxxxxx

Why is the Attorney General not on top of his job. And why does the prime minister, a former attorney general, keep him in his job. First, Caswell has successfully challenged him on the constitution, including the appointment of a deputy commissioner of police, now the high court has rejected his bail amendment which proposed imprisoning innocent people for up to two years before they qualify for bail. Is the attorney general qualified? Does he understand the principles of human rights? Does he believe in democracy?

Copied

HAl

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ et al
    Marshall should have been fired a long time ago. Complete failure just like Ariel Brathwaite before him. Six and frigging half dozen. The man is a clown.

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William…they will all soon realize that they too are trapped in their own creations..

.luckily, as long as the population RECLAIM THEIR AFRICAN IDENTITIES…they do not need permission from honorable Slaves to do anything, they are THEN free to emancipate their minds thoroughly…and FINALLY move forward…they will be shocked at what is in store as long as they MAKE THAT MOVE..

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Oh yes….TRAPPED deep within the DEPTHS of their own wicked, greedy creations….lawd.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Again i ask, WHERE are the human rights lawyers in Barbados, have they no backbone. Hanuman is the only one i see looking into any human rights abuses, christ, there are approx. 1400 lawyers on the island..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/18/samantha-jordan-calls-to-be-cleared-of-covid/

11. Maybe Marshall knows where all of Mia skeletons are buried
    If such is the case then she would have a good reason not to fire him
    While Marshall on the other hand would have a serious PR case against her
    Politicks makes strange bed fellows indeed

12. The problem I had with the current Attorney General is that he hadn’t the testicular fortitude, to quelled the real fears of the Nation, when the gun violent situation continued to escalated day after day, and yet the Attorney General refused to hold a News conference, to expressed his plans for combating the escalating violent crime in the country.

13. The Prime Minister maybe the be at all end all for some people, but she has developed a credibility problem, because she lied about the appointment of Deputy Commissioner of Police, Oral Williams.

14. @ angela coxMay 18, 2021 5:31 PM

Good one there, Ms “cox”! Never thought you were capable of sound non-partisan analysis. We can now see what your No.1 in the UK saw some while back.

A similar reason existed to explain why your PM Fumble was himself handicapped in his burning desire to rid his Cabinet of both Sinckler and the disrespectful Donville who was known to be laundering money from the time he was the MoH.

What we want you to do (but only if you are allowed by the blogmaster) is to ask the same Mia- who is the real MoF- what she intends to do about the duties and taxes waived by your crooked corrupt friend Stinkliar on that Mercedes Benz in which the Baloney fella is being driven around by a ghost staying at the Hyatt in order attend those grand openings for housing projects.

At least she could impress on that billionaire his moral obligation of purging his conscience by making a hefty and well-publicized financial contribution to the National Vaccination Fund.

Ac, you ought to draw to the attention of your former friend Mal(m)oney the Karma implications of the following moral principle:
    ‘To whom must is given, much is expected (in return)’.

We just hope Barbados is prepared to deal with the impending fallout from recent decisions taken by your opposing red administration.

15. MillerMay 18, 2021 6:13 PM

@ angela coxMay 18, 2021 5:31 PM

Good one there, Ms “cox”! Never thought you were capable of sound non-partisan analysis. We can now see what your No.1 in the UK saw some while back.

A similar reason existed to explain why your PM Fumble was himself handicapped in his burning desire to rid his Cabinet of both Sinckler and the disrespectful Donville who was known to be laundering money from the time he was the MOH
    Xxxxxxxcc
    Well at least we agree that the possibility of skeletons in Mia closet could be an Ace being held by Marshall
    Well as for Don his ears were hard
    Sinckler but who would have thought Mia would put the dumbest economist on a panel called economic advisors
    Amm once again Mia has perfected the words Politics make strange bedfellows
    Or could it be the skeletons are more than any one can imagine

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/18/harrison-colleges-entry-wins-innovation-award/

After gushing a bunch of utter political tainted shite to reel in and confuse DUMB yardfowls/Slaves, now we see the young gifted people and their invention in the news….

my apologies, but i do believe there are 3, not 2, African descended in the photo..

again A WARNING….about that program.

last one.

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Here is one for the tourism pimps, don’t diversify, stay in DEPENDENT MODE… have no clue what’s really going but it’s clear that dependency is not an option anymore, but don’t mind me….AM A CREATIVE, ya know, one of the ones they love to suppress, oppress and disenfranchise in dependent Slave societies like Barbados for the past 50 plus years….because they believed tourism was going to last forever.

I absolutely abhor being dependent.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/19/dont-holiday-in-amber-list-countries-boris-johnson/

“British Prime Minister Boris Johnson has warned people should not be holidaying in amber list countries, after a minister said people could go and visit friends.

The confusion arose after Environment Secretary George Eustice said people could go to those countries if they quarantined when they returned.

It comes after news that some holiday companies are refusing refunds to such destinations.

That is because it is now legal to travel to countries on the amber list.

Amber warning
    Mr Johnson said: “I think it’s very important for people to grasp what an amber list country is: it is not somewhere where you should be going on holiday, let me be very clear about that.

“And if people do go to an amber list country, they absolutely have to for some pressing family or urgent business reason, then please bear in mind that you will have to self-isolate, you’ll have to take tests and do your passenger locator form and all the rest of it.”

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Barbados; media should be staying on top of these things all the time, lack of a signature from some uppity ass has a man sitting in prison unnecessarily when he could be finishing his sentence…then when you expose these clowns they want to take offense….it has reached the stage that the justice has to EXPOSE THEM HIMSELF…

“A visibly upset Justice Carlisle Greaves has sent a murder matter to the Chief Justice and the Registrar for their action after efforts to get the matter out of the Magistrates’ Court failed once again due to the lack of a signature.

And not only has the judge called the judicial system “broken”, he has said people spend time blasting the Caribbean Court of Justice for rightfully criticising the island, instead of doing something about the delays.

“This is unfair. A man in jail for over five years for a murder he wants to plead guilty to and we can’t make a move,” Justice Greaves declared yesterday in the No. 3 Supreme Court.

“That is a system that is totally broken down. And then we get upset when the CCJ talks about us. Rather than deal with our issues, we want to criticise those who rightfully criticise us,” he said. (HLE”

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I remember Fruendel the Fool…blasting the CCJ instead of FIXING what is WRONG at the supreme court and everywhere else, but all yall are going to BE FAMOUS…the longer ya take to do anything about those toxic nuisances sucking on taxpayers and REFUSING to do their jobs, the closer ya are to being where ya belong.

20. Journalism under scrutiny
    BRASSTACKS SUNDAY of May 16 looked at the state of journalism in Barbados. It turned out to be a very informative discussion with contributions from Starcom’s retired station manager David Ellis, the NATION’S Editor-in-Chief, Carol Martindale and columnist Michelle Russell.
    One issue turned on the question as to whether the Press in Barbados was practicing elements of self-censorship.
    It emerged that there are a number of forces at work in Barbadian society that would tend to inhibit the media from what some would want to see as a full exercise of journalistic scrutiny. The panel was in general agreement that the absence of enabling legislation was a critical confining cause. This body of law comprise the absence of a Freedom of Information Act, a lack of Integrity in Public Life legislation, deficiencies in whistle blowing protection and the generally restrictive laws relating to libel and slander.
    Given these constraints, and conscious of its responsibilities as well as its obligations, the Fourth Estate in Barbados does follow a measure of self-imposed censorship which arises out of “an abundance of caution.” That caution may also reflect an inherent tendency in Barbadians towards temperance. Given these factors it is unlikely that we will see the kind of provocative investigative journalism we see elsewhere, particularly in the United States where American jurisprudence relating to libel and slander is demonstrably more lenient.
    In a small society like Barbados, the individual journalist tends to be wary of offending. Then there is the real need to hold on to one’s job. Very few persons are prepared to starve for a cause, no matter how noble that cause might appear.
    The mainstream press in Barbados comprises the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC); Starcom and the Nation Publishing as part of OneCaribbean Media; the Barbados Advocate and Barbados Today.
    Political culture
    The Government controlled CBC has tended to be a propaganda arm of whatever political party is in power. Given the political culture we inhabit, CBC has never been and probably never will be an independent entity like the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) or even CBC Canada. Having said that, Barbadian governments of either ilk have tended not to be overtly repressive of dissent. However, there has been some covert repression. The main sin of commission is a persistent reluctance to release information on issues on which the public should have cognisance.
    With the BLP’s numerical superiority in the Parliament and the weakened state of the political opposition, it might be unreasonable to expect that the Fourth Estate would serve as a watchdog of our democracy, holding the government to account. A free Press is vital to a functioning democracy. Citizens must have valid information on which to make appropriate civic choices. But such a role will only be played, to the extent that the people at large demand it. Political partisans tend to demand more of the Press when their party is in opposition and they have a vested interest in making the ruling administration look bad.
    However, there are many right thinking independent persons who have a genuine interest in upholding the bulwarks of democratic government. It takes moral courage to kick against the pricks. Just look at the state of the Republican Party in America in its sturdy immoral defence of Donald Trumps “big lie.”
    The notion broached on the Brasstacks Sunday that the Barbados Labour Party administration is not receiving sufficient scrutiny is overstated and comes mainly from partisans eager to defend a political constituency.
    One recognises that governments worldwide, are facing untold challenges. No opposition party has the answer to the array of challenges that have arisen out of the COVID-19 crisis. Mistakes will be made and it is the responsibility of journalists to point out those errors, particularly when they can have long-term deleterious effects.
    It is appropriate to raise the question on an ostensibly headlong rush to Republican status without appropriate debate.
    It is appropriate to question changes to the 11-Plus exam at a time when because of COVID, the school system is in disarray. Unless of course the administration does not understand the full implication of the kind of structural changes imagined. Dr Ronnie Yearwood’s piece on the Minister of Education in Barbados Today was quite relevant in raising some of the queries that need to be asked and answered.
    Towards the end of the Sunday programme David Ellis raised a point concerning the quality of young people coming into journalism. He recognised that it is not a highly paid profession and is increasingly unlikely to attract the brightest and the best.
    My own issue is the woeful decline in the quality of op-ed production in our publications and the increasing resort to magazine type social journalism, and oversized photographs of persons seeking to extend themselves beyond the requisite 15 minutes of fame.
    Ralph Jemmott is a retired educator.

21. Heard PeterWickham making all kinds of excuses for businesss that are playing fast and loose cutting low income workers salary by cutting there hours
    What he convientally forgets that govt lowered corporate taxes and waived taxes for these greedy mongols with an insight that further down these self serving bastards could use those saving to hire employees and increase salaries at the lower end
    However this mongrel talks nuff crap in defense of the evil actions some of these employers are waging against the low end employees

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don’t know why they feel they can do as they like to each other and to children….like they are not in enuff trouble for torturing children.,,they should be made to pay damages for this clear case of unlawful detention…under the guise of Covid.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/05/20/mother-son-released-quarantine/

23. @ WURA-War-on-UMay 20, 2021 6:22 AM
    And not only has the judge called the judicial system “broken”, he has said people spend time blasting the Caribbean Court of Justice for rightfully criticising the island, instead of doing something about the delays.

Now it has to take a ‘real’ judge to ‘man-up’ and confirm what many on BU have been saying for some time; some of whom have even been deemed persona non grata and sent into exile for ‘throwing shade’.

If we were to go by the guiding principle that the acid test of an ‘effective’ functioning state in the political system called ‘Democracy’ is one where an effective judicial subsystem also prevails, then Barbados, at this stage of its political (under)development, can receive only a grade of “F”.

Even little Bermuda- which used to recruit many a Barbados-born jurist and other law enforcement officers- is now in a position to make fun of the Bajan output from the Law faculty of the UWI which has now become the laughing stock of the region.

Barbados, really, cannot put on a set of governance clothes carrying the designer label “Republic” without, at least, washing its stinking underwear called ‘Justice’.

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…it’s a disgrace, and they don’t even care that despite all the denials it is now exposed to the world and about to be exposed EVEN MORE, as long as THEY ROB the treasury EVERY MONTH for a salary that NONE OF THEM HAVE EARNED IN DECADES…they don’t care..

.as long as they wear these shite titles and believe they are elite and better than the next Black person, nothing will ever get done, NO JUSTICE at the courts for the Black population…just as Barrow said…

and EVERY chief justice HANDPICKED by the unethical in the parliament does the SAME THING….they do NOTHING to change anything…so the CCJ and everyone awaiting some type of justice will be complaining FOR DECADES to come.

that is what happens when you put the Slaves in charge of the SLAVE SYSTEM…even that they destroy…..with their corruption, self-hate posing as empty professionalism, PRETENSE at elitism and IGNORANCE…they will pay a price for that.

25. @5/20 11:35 a.m.
    Good reading.

Ralph Jemmott’s pieces are deposited here without any fanfare. In my opinion, they are superior to those of others who are given a build-up when delivered.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…just saw a video out of Suriname where the people have gone after the Indian president they made the mistake and elected, they are determined that he has to leave and are chasing him down.. you know Surinamese people will VIOLENTLY OVERTHROW YOUR ASS…they don’t play..they have gone nuclear.

i told a family member this would happen when he got elected, ya could see the uppityness in his face..

never elect an indian in a Black majority country, it will not end well.

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

You have to respect Surinamese people, they DO NOT tolerate disrespect from those they elect and pay a salary, from the first sign of disrespect they all turn on you immediately,,,,as one…and you better leave,.,,because they see the INSTANT threat to them and their families.. ..and they come out swinging.

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The time for RECKONING IS RIGHT HERE AND RIGHT NOW..

Has Mia and any black government RECOGNIZED THE BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS OF THE BLACK MAJORITY POPULATION in Barbados YET?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/22/muslims-petition-govt-to-recognise-palestine/

has she or any black government RECOGNIZED the basic human rights of the Rastafarian Community that both black governments VIOLATE AS A SPORT…..and absolutely refuse to recognize…

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

look at them look…none of them have any shame…if they feel they are flooding the place with these people so they can do the same shite that the minorities are now doing on the island, guns and drugs and stealing sheep and house and land from the Black poverty stricken in the depressed areas, their sellouts better tell them that they will all be famous…

since i was a child you were hearing about this israel/palestine conflict, they happen all over the world, everywhere, which has not one shite to do with Barbados…

..these need to stop trying to put a majority BLACK COUNTRY in the middle of that shit……trying to force the people to take sides, Black people HAVE NO FRIENDS….and should definitely NOT TAKE SIDES in this particular mess….that is what happens when CORRUPT governments allow these minority shitehounds to do as they like, they take it to whole nother level..

the sellout negro stench is nauseating.

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I will take a, no answer, as a NO…so let’s see her encouraging these jackasses sucking on Black lives.. for minorities… and place a BLACK MAJORITY country in the middle of a 60 plus year old CONFLICT, that the population has very little INFORMATION ON… KNOW NOTHING ABOUT and has nothing to do with Black people.

that is what government corruption causes, minorities now feel that they are the majority population and no one else has any opinion but theirs….but not one of them opened their mouth when it was revealed that Black children going through the GIS hell hole have been tortured using an 18th century law for DECADES in Barbados, not one of them..