The blogmaster read Nation newspaper Barry Alleyne’s report De Peiza sticking with the process and was finally convinced the raison d’être the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) continues to go about a methodical candidate selection process. The system of governance and politics practised in Barbados makes it the business if ALL Barbadians to want a strong political Opposition. Say what we will about the need for a third party movement the DLP is the only current credible option in our political orbit.

The article reminded Barbadians that the DLP is sticking with a vetting process that sees ALL members of the party being “eligible to apply and all are subject to the same vetting process – no exceptions, not even for me” [Verla]. To date the DLP has announced only three candidates to run in the upcoming general election constitutionally due in 2023 – Verla De Peiza, Andre Worrell and Ryan Walters. Political pundits agree the DLP will not win the next general election and the leadership of that party is correctly playing a long game, that is; taking the necessary steps, now, to set yourself up for long-term success.

Former Prime Minister Harold Wilson of the UK is quoted that a week is a long time in politics. There are two years to go until 2023 if Prime Minister Mottley goes the full distance. President Verla De Peiza and the DLP has a rapidly closing window to line up the political ducks and allow sufficient time for those candidates with a legitimate chance of winning to deploy effective ground strategies. The raging pandemic will not help.

It should be obvious the biggest campaign issue in the next election will be the economy and jobs. By the time the bell is rung public transportation, garbage collection and water challenges in the North will be non issues. Coincidentally Chairman of the SSA reported yesterday the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) and the waste management arm of Barbadian company Innotech Services Limited will be implementing a ten-month project to change how garbage is collected and processed in Barbados.

For too long the blogmaster has been commenting about the lack of a credible DLP spokesperson on financial matters. The best research indicates President of the DLP Verla De Peiza is the ‘shadow minister’ of finance. This is a key area the DLP as it prepares for the next election will have to address. There is a reason the label Lost Decade has stuck to the DLP. It is widely accepted by the public the last DLP administration badly mismanaged the economy and for this reason former Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler seems to be reluctant to show his face in public with any frequency.

This brings us to the other point to note in the Barry Alleyne article. David Estwick, Stephen Lashley and Dennis Lowe appear to be more than mildly interested in returning to the political fray. The blogmaster has commented many times were those candidates to be selected it will be a mistake. It would open the floodgates for the BLP to rehash 2018 talking points.

151 responses to “Looks Like the DLP Playing the Long Game”

1. John2May 9, 2021 1:30 PM

The decision to allow the ship to stay in Barbados was for humanitarian reason

The world was in turmoil and it was a onetime decision.

In normal time ships are not allowed to drop anchor in Barbados waters .

Xxxxxxxxxxj

What u wrote is a bunch of political hog wash
    Most knew that the decision made for the cruise ships to docked was purely political based on future payback from the cruise industry
    Now the payback is significant losses to govt and country

2. @John 2

Was it one cruise ship that caused the damage according to the UWI report? The partisans love to cherry-pick issues to satisfy political interest BUT there is an election to be won.

3. @John2

Is Sonia Browne a strong candidate or one washed in with the current. What about Johnny Ma boy?

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

politicians/government ministers who are PAID CIVIL SERVANTS under the colonial system, DON’T CARE how much their CORRUPTION destroys the lives of the people who elected them, they are going to care about coral reefs, really, all they care about it padding tourism numbers to give the appearance of success while communities that were in POVERTY since the 1970s STILL ARE and in even WORSE condition in 2021 because of today’s standards……jokers..

but the Slaves call that success.

keep acting as though a PAID civil servant(s) is more than that and doing you some favor.

5. LWF

I am well aware that it take a long time to regenerate. I guess you missed where i said even if it takes 100 years.

6. If the DLP ever returns to power, it will confirm ALL the so-called “racist” prejudices about the natives of the South: brainless politicians who under normal circumstances would be plantation workers, broken infrastructure, corruption, disease and crime.

So our population has a choice to revert to the darkest stone age, to the level of cavemen, OR continue to get rich under Mia Mottley´s leadership.

Time to ban the criminal organisation that the phoney and egomaniac Barrow once founded!

7. chihauhau

the goverment/barbados did not and will not lose a cent over the damage.
    If it was something that was being allowed for years and for all ships then i would probably agree with you on that.

If there is anything to be done to “repair” the damage coral i will bet you that the cruises liners would be will (at a later date) to pull their pockets to repair the damage that they caused

8. David

The tide is not ready to swing back out yet. The DLPites will still sit (mostly) the next general elections. Dems got they work cut out for them and will have to work very hard to get out their voters. i dont read or hear about the efforts as yet. that why those three old guards got the best chance over newbies.

9. @John2

You can speak based prevailing sentiment NOT 2023.

10. 9, 2021 2:01 PM

@John 2

Was it one cruise ship that caused the damage according to the UWI report? The partisans love to cherry-pick issues to satisfy political interest BUT there is an election to be won.
    Xxxcccccc

The only one cherry 🍒 picking is u
    Get it through your thick partisan blp head that govt made a poor decision
    Btw this is not the first poor decision govt has made in the two and half years
    Blowing up the NIS Building was one of them
    So was the decision to put Ram employees out of work to build a carpark for the invisible Hyatt
    So was opening the borders to let the COvid virus in the country
    A virus built on biological chemical warfare meant to target big countries with vast economic power and not meant to bring any danger to small islands expect that the PMs thought it best to let the virus in
    The truth is that Barbados PM is a demagogue having interest unto self
    Buying garbage trucks to pick up garbage and no where to dump the huge ton of garbage
    Dismantling past govt efforts to ease the water problem In hardest hit areas and having no fast track solution
    This govt is lost clueless made up of bird brains and Yes Mam ministers
    Millions of dollars swept down the drain because of lame brain policies
    Go figure

11. Duh!!

Who says it going down to 2023 anyhow?

12. Chihuahua

All these mistakes and the nightwatchman / dlp nightmare cannot mobilize the public like Mia did when she was in opposition?

Go figure

13. Who says it will not?

14. Let DEM continue waiting or looking forward to 23

I can only go on the sentiments up today
    No one know about 23

By the time 23 get here , if election not called in 22, sentiments could also be increased in the favor of the bee
    So don’t think it can only get better towards DEM

15. Is this not the point that was made that current sentiment may or be equal to future sentiment? Moving in.

16. So what’s up with my speaking on today sentiment s and not 2023?

That’s was an obvious

17. 555dubstreet Avatar

DLP should take the current situation positively and have some fun in 2023, they have nothing to lose.
    They can win seats and BLP can lose them.

18. #crime

AG and Verla in tit for tat on crime
    President of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Verla De Peiza, wants Attorney General Dale Marshall to give up his position if he can’t make a dent in the country’s ability to tackle the crime situation.
    But Marshall is having none of it.
    In fact, he is planning to speak to the country soon about just how much progress has been made under the current administration.
    In a statement to the media yesterday, De Peiza was critical of the Attorney General’s tenure.
    “Barbados was promised solutions during the 2018 General Election. We’ve had none in three years,” the Dems leader claimed.
    She also posed several questions to Marshall and asked for answers.
    “What is preventing this Barbados Labour Party Government from taking steps to control crime in Barbados? Why is it so difficult to get a word out of the Attorney General on this matter? Why does he continue to smile inappropriately when this country is on edge?” she asked.
    “Where are the initiatives that we were told were needed by (former Commissioner of Police) Mr Dottin and the reasons for bringing a second deputy commissioner on board to boot? When will we as a country have a conversation or a consultation on the causes of crime and this administration’s present initiatives to address them?” she also asked.
    The DLP leader added that if the Attorney General had no clue what to do, he should step aside and admit being out of his depth.
    Marshall, in response, said De Peiza was not keeping up with their work.
    “It is evident from the tone of the DLP’s official statement that its leader has not been following the Government’s very well publicised efforts at maintaining law and order in Barbados,” Marshall told the Sunday Sun yesterday in response to De Peiza’s queries.
    “She is understandably seeking to maintain relevance at a time when her leadership and even her candidacy is on the line.”
    The St Joseph MP added that their efforts at reducing crime continue unabated and the country would soon be updated on the results of their measures.
    “We have been taking extraordinary measures at ensuring that Barbados remains a safe and stable society and very shortly I will address those measures in greater detail and the measure of their success, as well as other initiatives as may be warranted,” Marshall said. (BA)

19. De Peiza sticking with the process
    By Barry Alleyne barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    For the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), it’s all about the process.
    That political party is gradually preparing for the next constitutionally due General Election, and according to its first female president, Verla De Peiza, there will be no rush to make public a slate of candidates.
    The party’s last candidate revelation was three weeks ago when De Peiza revealed she would be contesting the St Lucy seat, while former senator Andre Worrell would try to regain the stronghold of St John and business manager Ryan Walters would tackle St Michael North West.
    The Sunday Sun reached out recently to De Peiza to find out when or if any of the party’s stalwarts who lost their seats in 2018 would be putting their hats in the ring again.
    De Peiza again kept things close to her chest.
    “All members of the party are eligible to apply and all are subject to the same vetting process – no exceptions, not even for me,” she told the Sunday Sun.
    “Like any organisation, experience teaches wisdom and youth brings enthusiasm. There is a role for everyone to play. We will gradually be letting the public know who the people are that will be vying for various constituencies in the next election,” she added.
    Circumspect
    Dr David Estwick, who has been quiet since losing his St Philip West seat, said Barbadians would be hearing his voice soon about his next move.
    “I will be making a comment on it very soon,” was all he would say.
    Former Minister of Sport Stephen Lashley, who lost the Christ Church West Central seat in 2018, was circumspect when contacted.
    “I prefer to be a neutral voice,” he said. “I don’t want to comment on what’s going in the DLP right now. I may say something at a later date, though.”
    Dr Denis Lowe, the former Christ Church East candidate, had long ago informed the country he was very interested in coming back. In a recent interview, he said he fully understood the modus operandi of the new president.
    “The president should be the one making the public statements about the slate of candidates for any election. The president will do so when she’s fine and ready,” Lowe said. “I would not want to get ahead of her in this instance.”
    He said, however, that it was a poorly kept secret that he had remained on the ground in Christ Church East, so his general intentions were already known.
    “I live in my constituency and I’ve always remained on the ground. I’m still very interested in politics and representing the Democratic Labour Party as much as I was back in 1999.”
    Lowe said the DLP has a plan for the next General Election, constitutionally due in 2023, even though the COVID-19 pandemic and the recent fall of volcanic ash from La Soufriere in St Vincent and the Grenadines had prevented the party from taking its message to the public through branch meetings or constituency gatherings.
    He said he was proud of the work De Peiza had done in attracting new people to the party. “What the party is going through now is nothing new, in terms of readiness. The party has been through a rough time and is trying to rebound. But the president has been able to attract some new, enterprising young people, and that’s great for the party. She has handled the situation admirably so far,” the former Minister of the Environment said.

20. DLP must exercise political muscle
    by Ezra Alleyne
    An event of political significance happened in the past two weeks. The Leader of the Opposition, Bishop Joseph Atherley, unkindly described by some as a leader without a party, was pictured in the press meeting with the LIAT pilots. And he got front page coverage too, two years from another General Election!
    Democracy in its various forms is about people, and if there is a legitimate grievance the people are entitled to let it be known.
    The football fans of Liverpool and Manchester United who let their feelings about the aborted Super League be known at the start of the football match were also exercising their democratic rights in the context of British football. But astute leaders, whether in politics or otherwise, always keep their eyes on the ball.
    Last Thursday on the Nation’s Front Page was a story disclosing that the Mia Amor Mottley administration was assisting the Barbadian pilots and crew members with a payment of $2 000.
    Further, for the next year, an advance of $2 000 per month would also be paid to the workers to be subtracted from their eventual severance payment from the Antiguabased company now under judicial management.
    Missing in action
    Suddenly, it hit me. Where was the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in all of this activity? It is true that Bishop Atherley, with his nominee Senator Caswell Franklyn, has been doing publicly some of the heavy lifting that an opposition party should be doing. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has to throw its weight about again. It was totally absent on this one. Atherley had scored a point.
    Two years away from the next election, that party has got be in the mix-up of important local issues. If LIAT was not a local issue before, it became one the moment the pilots sat down with the Leader of the Opposition. The DLP should have been on the ball.
    Harvesting votes is not a oneday – nor indeed a one-week – exercise. I hope I am wrong, but this could be the start of dangerous course for Barbados’ second oldest political party.
    On the other hand, I noticed that DLP president Verla De Peiza was quoted in a Nation story claiming that as a result of recent amendments to the
    Emergency Management Bill, the Prime Minister now has too much power to issue directives aimed at containing the spread of the virus.
    This choice of topic is interesting, but how many votes will it generate? Mind you, I recently read a good article by two academics on the related topic of exercising power to cope with pandemics. But here, we are dealing with the real politique.
    Former Prime Minister Lloyd Erskine Sandiford wrote in his book, Politics & Society, shortly after retirement on the office of Prime Minister, “the dominant power in the Executive which was once exercised by the Sovereign had passed to the Cabinet and has now passed to the Prime Minister”. I take it to mean that prime ministers are in effect elected monarchs.
    How does this square with De Peiza’s comments given the existence of a virulent pandemic, which has erupted and continues to erupt without notice?
    Should the Cabinet, the Parliament and or the Governor General or indeed all of them be summoned to meet officially to debate every response to the pandemic that may be necessary?
    I have two observations. Senator Franklyn scores points because he chooses his points well almost all of the time.
    If I have any views about prime ministerial power within the Westminster system or the Barbados version of the system, it relates to the efficiency and responsibility of the Cabinet in acting as a brake on the exercise of the power of any prime minister in appropriate circumstances.
    Comforted
    I am comforted by recent history, both here and at Westminster (in 1990 with Margaret Thatcher), and in 1994 (with our Prime Minster Sandiford), that the power of a Cabinet in this respect is still alive.
    There was no Prime Minister within recent history more powerfully entrenched in office than Margaret Thatcher, but when her Cabinet withdrew support in November 1990, that was the beginning of the end of her.
    The power of the Cabinet is important because, as former British top politician Lord Hailsham said, the system of government is as “an elective” dictatorship.
    De Peiza is spinning top in mud in asserting that the Prime Minister has too much power . . . in the present context of a pandemic which, if left unchecked, may destroy civilisation as we know it.
    De Peiza has a tough job, but she also has political skills. She must use those skills to pick her topics for attack more carefully. I gone.
    Ezra Alleyne is an attorney and former Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly.

21. Forgive me.
    I read twice.
    Nothing to chew on.

22. TheOGazertds Avatar

Probably paid by the number of words and not content.

23. David BU the political nightwatchman using a lot of pretty talk like AC.All i can see is that she does not have the support of most of the ex mp, s and is delaying naming the candidates for fear of a backlash from those former Ministers.Imagine Ms Depeiza putting out a list without Dr Estwick, Mr Sealy, the Lashleys and Dr Lowe in the event they wish to return.As the old people say it would be cat piss and hot pepper in George Street.This is why she is holding back.If i was Ms Mottley i would call a snap election and have them scrambling.As for Ms Depeiza in St Lucy imaging the ex MP Mr Kellman stating he had no comment to make.Tells us he does not support her which will make it harder for her to win.

24. 555dubstreet Avatar

Who truly represents the true Barbados which is dead broke
    BLP with more money more problems or
    DLP who have nothing but a grim future

you can still be ghetto poor when you run things and buy a house car and TV

25. Donks, Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe and Josh

John 1 and certainly John 2 come across as cocksure racists with a scary arrogance historically witnessed as acceptable in the ante bellum Southern States of USA, followed by the John (pun intended) Crow era and the 1930’s – 1940’s German Third Reich. What does it tell you of the health of Barbados’ political ecosystem when racists are the biggest cheerleaders of the government of the day the BLP.

26. 555dubstreet Avatar

() apologies for typo freudian slip
    s/b
    you can still be ghetto rich
    when you run things and buy a house car and TV

27. Donks

If you find me to racist then you must be one blind honky that is just trying to score political points for the dlp

28. Depezia comments about the AG are spot on
    The guy shows up at almost every press conference to talk about COVID lockdowns
    Lockdown laws which all but run profusely against people constitutional rights
    Meanwhile the country social environment is riddle with crime and violence
    Depezia is in the driver’s seat and must take control of any and every issue that this govt has not a clue in every sense of the word to find resolution
    Depezia has missed many opportunities in the pass to call on govt to answer the many flip flops and eyeballing wtf mistakes
    Presently she has seized the opportunities to expose govt while calling for full transparency glad to see her using all media outlets available to hold govt feet to the fire

29. Hard to imagine a govt with a clear 30-0 victory and their supporters worrying about losing the next election
    What does that say about the blp misfits ..ministers and the leader now PM
    All.can judged or speculate
    For me it shows a high level of insecurity by supporters and by the do nuttin ministers like the AG
    Depezia has nothing to lose
    Govt has all to lose because after sitting high and lofty on a pedestal when the bottom falls out hitting the ground can be both bone breaking and back breaking
    A list a mile long of govt useless policies are being stored and would be read out loud in due time
    This govt has become a waste of time money and lacking in good policy initiatives
    Oh shoot Mia cares

30. BTW all the talk about fixing potholes another bold faced joke cause when it rains or drizzle the few scoops of cement gets washed away and the hole becomes exposed
    Joker govt taking people for fools

31. AC you are a real comedian.You really believe anyone in the BLP worried about Ms Depeiza a two time poltical loser and lightweight or you.?Get serious woman the best you can hope for is to win a few seats.You believe bajans forget your incompetence over 10 years.Few want to see you lot in under 10 or 15 years.You seem to have learnt nothing from St Goerge North by election?You were on here bragging about Mr Reifer winning only for Mr Reifer to get blown out of the water.Pick sense from that.

32. 555dubstreet Avatar

“You believe bajans forget your incompetence over 10 years.”

DLP has always consistently come 1st or 2nd in Elections
    Election Government
    1956 2nd Opposition
    1961 1st Majority government
    1966 1st Majority government
    1971 1st Supermajority government
    1976 2nd Opposition
    1981 2nd Opposition
    1986 1st Supermajority government
    1991 1st Majority government
    1994 2nd Opposition
    1999 2nd Opposition
    2003 2nd Opposition
    2008 1st Supermajority government
    2013 1st Majority government
    2018 2nd Extra-parliamentary

DLP should rebrand as an independent party for 2023 to lose their bad reputation with general public

33. LorenzoMay 9, 2021 9:20 PM

AC you are a real comedian.You really believe anyone in the BLP worried about Ms Depeiza a two time poltical loser and lightweight or you.?Get serious woman the best you can hope for is to win a few seats.You believe bajans forget your incompetence over 10 years.Few want to see you lot in under 10 or 15 years.You seem to have learnt nothing from St Goerge North by election?You were on here bragging about Mr Reifer winning only for Mr Reifer to get blown out of the water.Pick sense from that.

Xxxxxxxxxxx
    Lorenzo u the one the comedian
    30.- 0 victory and u picking on low hanging fruit
    The election is not for verla to lose
    Lose win or draw the blp govt has to fight for a win
    Yuh only hope for another big win is if the dlp supporters stay home
    But after themselves suffering no bozie it ain’t going to happen again
    Govt debt has ballooned to nearly what it took ten years past govt to do
    From what is being said on the ground nuff people belly hurting and the people tired pulling debt basket and getting nothing in return

34. David read and weep

Of the various economic factors that contributed to Barbados’ weak economic performance during the first quarter of the year, the most disheartening development for former Central Bank Governor Winston Cox, was the high jump in joblessness.

For him, the dip in the foreign reserves and the fall in Government revenue due to the COVID-19 pandemic was disappointing. Equally worrisome were the contraction in the country’s gross domestic product, the poor state of the tourism industry and the fall in foreign reserves.

But he said it was the escalation in the number of people who lost their jobs and the effect it had on their lives that hit him the hardest when he reviewed what had taken place in the economy between January and March.

“That was an unfortunate development,” Cox said as he addressed the sharp rise in unemployment which put the rate at almost 14 per cent, with most of the joblessness affecting people between the ages of 20 and 44 years old. The National Insurance Scheme was also hard hit, receiving 11 802 unemployment claims, all caused by the surge in COVID-19 positive cases, which triggered a lockdown in Barbados’ economic and social life in February

35. Are the job numbers down in your neck of the woods as well? Is there a economy in the world that has not been negatively affected? In this very blog has the blogmaster not mention that unemployment and crime will be potentially the key issues in the next election? You are so much the proverbial year down you are unable to see any other colour except red.

36. David why are u quarreling and why used COvid as an excuse
    If you read international news u would have read that most or all economies have reopened
    Govt has jumped start their economies with stimulus pkgs which have help to slow down unemployment to all but a crawl and businesses are reaping the benefits from the pkgs as people are shopping and not lockdown in a state of fear
    The question which you ought to ask of govt are the plans they have on hand to tackle unemployment
    So your wiggle room does not hold water when u try to use other economies as a comparison to Barbados having high levels of unemployment
    The clueless govt would remain stuck in Covid policies while other countries step out of the fear factor takes a hard look at their economies and make those decisions which are comparable to re-energizing to their economies
    Meanwhile govtif Barbados remains aloof and stuck wishing and hoping for tourist to return

37. A country reopening and growth in the economy are two different things. How many jobs fell short of the forecast in you neck of the woods last month? The largest economy in the world? You may have the last word. No time to debate nonsense.

38. USA
    The labor force participation rate rose 0.2 point to 61.7%, its best level since August, while the employment-to-population level increased to 57.9%, its best since March 2020 ……3 days ago

39. The USA gave out stimulus packages

Name any Caribbean country or islan that did. the Same?

The USA economy is a mammoth compared to Barbados tourist dependent (and not coming) sprat – two totally different animals

What work in the USA will not necessarily work in Barbados

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

It really is that time to stop listening to these backward yardfowls/Slaves.

41. DLP desperately needs some wild ass fake news spin soundbites to gain some traction in public domain
    the Michelle Obama is really a man trope worked well with the fuckwit Trump nuts who ran with it
    Maybe it could be applied to Mia same way

42. Whatever happens in 2023 election Barbados will have a woman leader and the Bajan men will feel emasculated with Woman’s liberation. Maybe DLP can turn the election into a beauty contest or a fashion show so voters vote for the prettiest candidate or best dressed to be the first Queen of the Independent Nation.

43. John2May 9, 2021 11:55 PM

The USA gave out stimulus package
    Xxxxxccccccccccccccc
    Yes and do u know why?
    xxxccccccccccccc
    What work in the USA will not necessarily work in Barbados

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccccccxx
    Are u certain of that statement or are u just shooting off whatever comes out of your mouth

44. The buzz in the USA is that employers are competing with stimulous cheques. This mis resulting in people not looking for work.

45. “The buzz in the USA is that employers are competing with stimulous cheques. This mis resulting in people not looking for work.”

Government’s paid trillions to save their asses and faces in mass bankruptcies and insolvencies causing downward spiral of economies, but it is all the same money going round in circles where people spend what they earn as consumers

46. DavidMay 10, 2021 5:03 AM

The buzz in the USA is that employers are competing with stimulous cheques. This mis resulting in people not looking for work

Xxxxxccccccccccccccc CCC
    There are several reasons why people stop looking for work
    In any case the job market has begun to show signs of an upsurge and yes there are more people working since the early period of the pandemic
    U can rest assured that jobs not filled would not languish or go vacant
    Let me put it this way ” There are jobs aplenty”
    Reason being
    The govt of the USA had a plan one which created growth and help to ease unemployment

Meanwhile the govt of Barbados has yet to put forward any plan to create movement which can supply growth for the economy
    Recently the gov.of the Central Bank stated that the economy needs a jump start
    So far not a word out of govt mouth as to intent or plan for doing such

47. So David what does the employers complaint has to do do with govt creating avenues for employment
    Some of these employers who are complaining have created for years an environment for cheap labour
    The stimulus pkgs (given) have all but erase that kind of environment which forces these low life employers to raise their game and present a liveable wage pkg equal or more to that of what govt has handed out in financial aid to those who remain unemployed and refuse to work for cheap wages

48. In a related matter:

Danger: crossing the floor
    IT IS OF public interest that Leader of the Opposition recently complained of being “sidelined” (presumably by Government) in a matter concerning the relief and well-being of some of his constituents, after a conflagration spread in his riding.
    However, the Opposition Leader’s complaint has provoked the ire of a “still upset constituent” whose discourse implies rank displeasure that Leader crossed the floor when, at the last general election, one party won all 30 seats.
    Our constitutional scholars may have written on this subject at that instant, and this writer may have missed their guidance, but Joseph Atherley’s recent complaint, as well as upset constituent’s sharp retort, demand refreshment, restatement, and wider discourse on this matter. This writer knows a few facts about the issue and begs to be further enlightened.
    1. According to our Constitution, Barbados must have an Opposition in Parliament, even to the extent of thwarting the will of the people who selected all parliamentarians from one party.
    2. A similar event has already taken place in the Caribbean. Precedence has been established.
    3. There has been – in each case – conformity with precedent, and someone has crossed the floor.
    4. As a sidebar, what is the benefit of public assistance being administered via the constituency branch, rather than through the appropriate public agency? Even emergency public assistance?
    There are still matters unknown to this writer: a. By what means and methods have the instances of “crossing the floor to form mandatory Opposition” been accomplished?
    b. If the “crossing” is directed by the Prime Minister personally, or via consultation with either cabinet or governing party, is the resulting opposition not seen as simply a creature of the Prime Minister or Cabinet?
    c. Was there a “better” way to have accomplished a parliamentary opposition?
    d. Is there enough time for an elected member, immediately after an election, to consult with his constituency before crossing? And would that be politics?
    e. How would it be possible, especially in post 2016 Barbados politics, to appease any constituency which voted for one party and gets another as soon as the House is convened?
    f. Should the Opposition’s choice of a third party’s banner rather than the former Governing party’s, serve, or not serve as an appeasement to his constituents who may have been truly upset with the former governing party?
    g. Just imagine a by-election in that constituency, or a snap general election, and the same 30-0 result is returned, would not the country be on the same political treadmill again?
    This is parallel to a serious medical issue where the patient wishes to return to his family doctor with the erudite opinions of at least three (constitutional) specialist physicians or surgeons. The country’s health demands it. This unschooled scribe needs it.
    – MORRIS GREENIDGE

49. 555dubstreet

I do not believe that the fact that Americans have gotten their Stimulus Checks has in anywhere shape or form resulted in this lackadaisical desire to find gainful employment, but the fact is, a lot Americans prefer to sit it out as far their Employment Benefits are concerned rather than go back to work where they are probably earning less, especially those Americans who are in the Minimum Wage Bracket.

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply