On November 11, 2020, Moore received 3154 votes in the by-election. Floyd Reifer of the Democratic Labour Party was the nearest challenger with 1 327.Grenville Phillips of Solutions Barbados earned 95, David Walrond of the opposition People’s Party for Democracy and Development got 80, Ambrose Grosvenor of the United Progressive Party 70 and the Bajan Free Party’s Alex Mitchell received ten.” – Nation Newspaper 12/11/2020

The result of the St. George North by election year exposes reasons to pause for those who worry about the current state of governance in Barbados. Historically we have managed the affairs of state well enough to have earned the label ‘a stable political country’. However, the result of the 2018 general election created an unprecedented situation where for the first time the OPPOSITION in the House of Assembly was not comprised of members of a party who faced the electorate under a different party banner. Instead, Bishop Joseph Atherley saved the day by crossing the floor to be anointed the Leader of the Opposition by the Governor General.

The decision by Atherley to cross the floor averted a constitutional crisis many continue to argue (including this blogmaster) and the rest is history to cite an often used cliché. Despite his best effort to be the dissenting voice inside and outside of parliament Atherley his People’s Party for Democracy has been unable to win measurable support from Barbadians. The result of the St. George North by election validates the position. The other conclusion political pundits are certain is that the third party movement in its current form has been rejected by the electorate.

A general election is constitutionally due in 2023 and surprise surprise the main political parties to contest will be the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP). In other words the DLP represents the government in waiting. It means therefore the general public is vested in a fit for purpose political opposition whether it is occupying parliamant or on the outside. An irony often discussed when this matter surfaces is to highlight a political party is a private member organization, yet it must be ready to take over the job of managing the weighty affairs of state.

Whether we like it or not the DLP represents the only practical legitimate political opposition voice in the mind of the public- although it failed to win a single seat in the last general election. To compare with other countries the DLP is the entrenched other member of the duopoly like the Democrats and Republicans, Labour and Tories or JLP and PNP to name three.

The inability of the DLP so far to list a full slate of candidates to contest the 2023 general election is a concern.

The inability of party leader to elevate her national profile in an environment screeching for a political alternative is a concern.

The inability of the DLP to speak authoritatively on economic policy is a concern.

These are not exhaustive concerns and the one not mentioned and possibly the biggest is the potential collateral damage from Donville Inniss’ verdict due to be handed down next week in New York.

129 responses to “DLP Ready or Not …”

1. Spot on
    Dompey

2. @John2

Yes these are the three constituencies in play.

3. One has to sit back a pensively contemplate as
    to whether or not the debacle regarding the appointment of Duty Commissioner of Police Oral Williams was not politically motivated, given the fact that the Mr. Williams spoke candidly and openly as to where his political loyalty lied, during the period when he was acting in the capacity of Acting Duty Commissioner of Police, during the previous Administration.

4. “As an aside, Khaleel Kothdiwala continues to shine.”

What a tragedy when a government or A. N. Other sends out a boy, whose testicles have recently descended, to act as a political battering ram.

A boy who has no responsibility to others. A boy who does not have any financial collateral to saveguard. A boy who has no family to support. A boy who has no experience of being employed and having to hold on to a job to protect his livelihood.

In good time, he will be in a position where maybe all of the preceding paragraph may be applicable to him. Until that day arrives, he should not be pushed onto the political front line. Not when a sizeable segment of our population is either underemployed or struggling to stay afloat.

The DLP and the minority parties can not be seen attacking this boy for obvious reasons.

I would advise whoever it may concern to retire this young boy and to stop exploiting him. Once he becomes a tax payer with economic responsibilities he is welcomed. Until then leave him alone; allow him to observe the reality of life for the average Barbados citizen. Give the lad a chance to view life outside his limited social bubble.

5. Now I am still puzzled and perplexed by the appointment of Neval Greenidge to Consuls General of Miami-because his qualifications amounted to nothing more than being a political pimp.

6. Dompey

I never heard about a Duty Commissioner of Police. You could explain what that is?

7. Frank

The man or woman next in rank to the Commissioner of Police!

8. David BU Verla Depeiza in my view is a political lightweight and a liabilty to the Dems.This is a lady who has yet to win a seat anywhere.I remember when she was placed by the ex PM in Christ Church West having lost to Mr Abed against the wishes of the voters.She went on to lose that election as expected.Ms Depeiza inspires little confidence and having listened to her on brasstacks she is definitely no match for Ms Mottley as far as leadership is concerned.However that is the dems problem.The guy Ryan Walters attempted to compare the last ten years of the bees to the ten lost years of the dems.He shold be in comedy fest as i never heard such utter rubbish yet.However, he seems a bit more convincing than Ms Depeiza.

9. Frank

If I am not mistaken, I think Boyce and Williams are both Duty Commissioners and by the way, Barbados is way too small to have the both of them.

10. Frank

Jamaica has four Duty
    Commissioners of Police, but also bear in mind that Jamaica has 14 parishes, and the smallest of which is Hanover, is bigger in size and population than Barbados.

11. Dompey

You mean a DEPUTY Commissioner of Police. I looked it up and there is no such thing as a Duty Commissioner of Police.

12. Lorenzo

But that is just your view, and you view matters most to those who care to entertain your view Sir,
    so keep it civil and respectful because we are here on social media to freely exchange ideas, and impart knowledge, in effort to effectuate grow.

13. Dompey

Yes, Oral Williams was acting Deputy Commissioner of Police. But, recall the former administration changed the qualifying requirements for the post of Commissioner. And, at that time, Williams was the only officer in the RBPF who possessed those qualifications.

However, Irwin Boyce was sent to the UK to complete the course and was appointed as Deputy COP soon after he returned to Barbados.

14. Artax

Thanks for the correction ….I am not too proud to admit my miscalculation of the word … but guess what …. I am now in my middle fifties and my recall isn’t as it used to be ….. blessed ……

15. David

I got check the numbers for theist Michael

I can see why the choices for St. John and St Lucy but I don’t think them want to go back to another period where there are neglected. When DEM had the power they ain’t do anything what can/will there do now with no power?
    And with the current Covid etc situations they will give the Bs another chance .

Water , bus and garbage pick up
    Two almost solved and third one being worked on

More nearly got done under a political light weight in Griffith the two heavy rollers PM in St. John and under the dlp in total

16. Verla may well be the next Jacinda Ardern.

17. Verla has no choice but to roll the wicket for 2028.

18. Dompey wherr you now return from? I haven, t seen or heard of you for a long time. Your comprehension skills seem lacking..as i stated in my view Ms Depeiza is a political lighweight who has never won a seat.That is a fact you cannot refute.I gone.

19. Lordie! Where is WURA? I prefer being called an ignorant colonial slave to this crap!

At least her turn of phrase often makes me laugh!

Wura, come and hog the blog, nuh!

20. David,

Nobody wants to talk about serious matters today, it seems.

Bring back Hal and let him start the discussion!

Poor me, I still haven’t finished Dr. Ronnie Yearwood’s lecture. Brain too cluttered at present for serious thought.

21. Verla opts for St Lucy
    . . . but Wickham says she’s making a mistake
    by BARRY ALLEYNE barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    VERLA DE PEIZA is going back home.
    The first female president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is looking to change her losing fortunes at the polls by contesting the next general election in the constituency of St Lucy.
    However, leading political scientist Peter Wickham says he believes the attorney is making a mistake, arguing that St Lucy is not the Dems’ stronghold it used to be, and De Peiza should find an easier path to walking up the steps of Parliament.
    In an interview with the DAILY NATION moments after De Peiza declared her hand, Wickham said he had some reservations about her choosing St Lucy, but admitted the decision to finally confirm some other candidates was a step in the right direction for the party.
    “I think she’s made a poor choice of going St Lucy,” Wickham said of her declaration to take on incumbent Peter Phillips, who also hails from the northern parish.
    De Peiza has northern roots, having split her childhood between Mount Standfast, St James and Northumberland, St Lucy.
    She said she felt it was the right time to go back.
    “I’ve always felt the connection. This isn’t just about going back to St Lucy every Sunday to take my children to church. This is about the call to represent my people,” she told this newspaper yesterday.
    “The reason I’ve chosen to go back now for this election is because the seat has now become available. And the response has been excellent so far. I have been on the ground since last February, but COVID-19 interfered with that. I’m back on the ground again.”
    Wickham said he had done a recent study in St Lucy and felt the Dems’ power there had started to shift away.
    He added the notion that the party had always been overly strong in St Lucy was a myth, noting that each performance by former MP Denis Kellman had displayed diminishing returns before an eventual loss to Phillips in 2018.
    “I don’t believe Verla De Peiza can reverse that. I think St Lucy has been essentially in slow decline for the Democratic Labour Party. It’s a peculiar constituency and it is highly unwise for her to go up there and be in a situation where she’s likely to lose.”
    Defeated
    De Peiza’s last two showings at the polls ended in defeat in Christ Church West. In 2013 she received 1 808 votes in losing to Dr Maria Agard, who tallied 2 340. Then in 2018, Duguid earned a whopping 3 080 votes, while she only polled 759. She was subsequently elevated to lead the party after its 30-0 “redwash” in that general election.
    De Peiza also confirmed that DLP first vice-president, Ryan Walters, will tackle the St Michael North West constituency, while Andre Worrell, a former senator, will try to regain the once DLP stronghold of St John. She added that more confirmations of candidates were around the corner.
    “We have been in a state of readiness for a long time. We are in election mode, and we are taking candidate selection very seriously. The country can expect to hear from us in the coming weeks.”
    When asked if newcomer Floyd Reifer would again be contesting St George North, in which he was soundly beaten by Toni Moore in last November’s by-election, the president said the former West Indies cricket captain and coach had declared he would stick around and she had not seen anything to contradict that.
    Wickham said he felt better about the other choices revealed yesterday for the next general election, constitutionally due in 2023.
    “I like the fact that the other two candidates chosen are new. I’ve been stressing that the DLP needs to look to new blood. Former senator Andre Worrell is well known to the party,
    but he is new and wasn’t a candidate the last time around. He has the kind of useful energy the party has been looking for.
    “My liking for Ryan Walters as a candidate is also pretty well known. I think he has the right stuff, and I like the way he has been approaching his task to become better known and take on the DLP’s politics. I think he’s a good choice.”
    He added: “I’m happy the Democratic Labour Party has started to make official announcements about the next election. It was long overdue.”

22. Stupse Wickham
    Yesterday it gave me great joy to listen to Verla handling of you and the two other dragons

23. For the DLP to make any mondicum of sense in a General Election, they need LEADERSHIP! this they lack now!

Leadership is not dry talk
    Leadership is not the perfection of the art of Obfuscation
    Leadership is not Optics and appearing on TV talking all over your face every-other-day!

Leadership is engagement with the population with a clear objective towards success. (in this case)
    Success is measured holistically. Not a few seeing their way financially while everyone else is told to shut down under some stupid reason that does not stand up to critical scrutiny.

I will not vote for another woman to “lead” us
    It is painfully clear that without balance, nothing happens!
    Women are supposed to complement men, not compete with them.
    The BLP has and will continue to FAIL in their objective to displace men with their brand of Women-centric politics and synthetic leadership!
    You really think that I am going to vote for a Political Water-lily with no real ideas who has not voiced one word of opposition to the absolute foolishness that has happened here so far?
    Another wishy-washy prostitute to a system which keeps us economically enslaved and now attempts to socially enslave us too!
    Really now!
    Go and come again

24. Women are people in their own right and are not made to be sidekicks.

You men have made a mess of the whole damn world and still want to claim some divine right to lead?????

The best leader of a country at present is Ardern from New Zealand!

Put that in your relic of a pipe and bloody well smoke it!

P.S. Please do not bother to quote me the Bible, a book that was written by men in
    a patriarchal society.

25. @The Watcher April 26, 2021 10:34 AM “I will not vote for another woman to “lead” us
    It is painfully clear that without balance, nothing happens! Women are supposed to complement men, not compete with them.”

In Barbados and every country of the world, more male babies are born that female, but by adulthood and straight through to extreme old age females are the majority. Why do you think that is?

I believe in majority rule, don’t you?

Even during Covid more males are getting sick and more males are dying, and fewer males are taking the vaccine thus putting themselves at risk for getting sick and dying. Males are making these decisions for themselves. Are these wise decisions? Right now in Barbados 12,616 men in Barbados have said by their failure to take the vaccine “I would rather get sick and die of Covid that take the vaccine.” Have those 12,616 men made wise decisions for themselves?

Women are not competing with men. Women are defeating men at the game of politics which was invented by men. Why do you THINK this is?

In truth women are the stronger, wiser, more competent sex.

I urge you to ALWAYS vote for female leadership going forward. I would bet anything that in your own life your mother, grandmother, and other female relatives were more loving, kinder better to you than your male relatives. So what’s your problem with female leadership.

You may not want to vote for Mia nor for Verla, but I assure you that the majority population of Barbados has no problem with them.

After Mia demits office, it will be Verla, because that is what the majority wants.

26. After Mia is santia.
    Don’t ever make that mistake again
    Verla will never Barbados the men in the dlp will make sure of that 🙂

27. Never lead

28. @John2 April 26, 2021 2:38 PM “Verla will never [lead] Barbados the men in the dlp will make sure of that.”

The men of the DLP do not own the women’s votes, although they may delude themselves that they do.

If they have any sense they will swallow their machismo, their male bluster, and they will treat Verla well, will support her leadership. Will be respectful of the women voters.

Or they may spend an infinity in the wilderness.

Ans “yes” I have voted D plenty of times, perhaps as many times as I have voted B.

29. CB

The men will do all of that but they will still run her out and with the help of the women’s vote

This is politics not rounders
    Why you think Mia called her a night watchman? Only you and she pretending you don’t know what’s going on

She walking in a pair of mascoll boots not david’s

30. Don’t worry she will be alright
    Very few in the blp camp thought that her performance on Voice of Barbados attacks… would have been worth any thing of value
    Yesterday she clapped back loud and hard to all the blp nayers holding govt feet to the fire
    Really was overjoyed and down right proud of her practice in the art of diplomacy taking special note of not one time mentioning the word Mia but having a well placed asterisk next to the word govt

31. A few months I was hearing similar things from you about mr big works

32. She left the mention of Mia name to the Dlp chihuahua

33. @John2 April 26, 2021 4:53 PM “She walking in a pair of mascoll boots not david’s”

And David Thompson is where again now?

Oh I remember. Duppy dust in St. John’s Church yard.

The DLP betrayed Mascoll, and they have paid a high price for it 30-0…and they are still paying for it.

I trust that they will not make the same mistake twice.

34. All of us will be duppy dust someday , including the night watchman so let DT Rest In Peace

Mascholl was removed through a fair democratic process and was probably supported by verla

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cuhdear Bajan
    How was Mascoll betrayed ?

36. The dems chihuahua like she got muzzled this morning

Not one yap on how good the night watchman batting on the northern star pitch. What a ting doh

37. @William Skinner April 27, 2021 12:28 AM “@ Cuhdear Bajan How was Mascoll betrayed?”

By the orchestrated removal of Clyde Mascoll in favor of David Thompson, even though Thompson had led the party into a situation where it had just 2 seats in the House, and under Clyde’s leadership the number of DLP seats in the house had grown to 7.

Big mistake.

The DLP is still being punished for that serios error.

Cuhdear Bajan
    Neither B nor D
    Have voted D plenty of times
    Have voted B plenty of times

38. @John2 April 27, 2021 10:03 AM “The dems chihuahua like she got muzzled this morning. Not one yap on how good the night watchman batting on the northern star pitch. What a ting doh.”

She gone out to buy some tissues for this afternoon’s “event”

39. Or maybe some beach towels. Much bigger. Much more absorbent.

40. Hope wunna listening to Brasstacks.

41. The last time I was at home in St. Lucy the DLP were in power. The one thing that surprised me was how horrible the roads were in St. Lucy. I sincerely believe the roads were better in the past; it was obvious that this parish was being woefully neglected. I suspect Ms De Peiza will have a very hard time in St Lucy, if the current administration does a little more than what was done before(nothing).

Do strongholds benefit when their party is in power?

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ Cudear Bajan
    Thanks for your response
    Clyde Mascoll was removed because it was felt by the sitting members of parliament that Thompson would have been the better choice to defeat Arthur.
    Their judgement proved correct because Thompson led the party to victory.
    Mia Mottley was removed from Opposition Leader because they taught Arthur was the best person to win the election . They were proven wrong and they lost.
    Mia Mottley took her licks, and I respect her for that, came back and got the biggest election victory in the country’s history.
    Mascoll could not even retain his seat under the leadership of Arthur and when Arthur had declared him a “Co- leader “ of the BLP.
    Mascoll is . a political coward, who refused to contest the last election under Mottley’s leadership.
    Stuart once battled Thompson for the presidency of the party and lost. Stuart, like Mottley took his licks; and eventually lead the DLP to an election victory.’
    Mascoll did not and does not have the political fortitude of Mottley or Stuart.
    That is why Mottley is such a tough politician; she can take and give licks.
    It was all party politics. Nobody”unfaired” Clyde Mascoll. Leaders are sometimes asked to move out the way . It also happens in sports, the church and every organization.
    Since Mascoll left the DLP, the party won two consecutive elections.

43. Barbados has ALWAYS HAD…wicked, sellout governments…that’s all ya will get from negros who have no identity……are self-hating, antiblack and anti-African…..too corrupt to be of any use to anyone.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/27/247422/

“Chanting slogans and crying for justice, around 40 disgruntled former workers of Accra Beach Hotel marched in protest this morning.

The issue surrounded them opting for severance in September last year but only receiving 70 per cent, with the remainder to have been paid by the end of last month.

The irate men and women gathered across by The Abidah by Accra Barbados in Enterprise Beach Road, Christ Church. Spokesman Natasha Burgin said many former workers were unable to buy food for Christmas. She also accused the Barbados Workers Union of ignoring their plight.

Joining them was Opposition leader Reverend Joseph Atherley, who said capital was being given priority over people and urged Government to bring such employers to heel.”

44. “Totally illegal!” That’s how Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn has described Government’s latest effort last Friday to extend the state of emergency.

The outspoken trade unionist contended that after Government failed in its initial attempt to pass the legislation because it did not get the required minimum 16 votes in Parliament, it was unlawful for the resolution to be recommitted just minutes later.”

so why is anyone surprised that a corrupt government is doing illegal things to harm the Black population.

45. ‘WE DON’T KNOW VERLA’
    ST LUCY FOLK ON DEMS’ DE PEIZA
    By Anesta Henry
    A day after Democratic Labour Party leader Verla De Peiza announced that she would contest the St Lucy seat in the next general elections, several constituents in the northern parish declared they do not know who she is.
    De Peiza announced on Sunday’s Brasstacks radio programme that she will be battling incumbent MP Peter Philips for the seat. But a number of constituents – overwhelmingly male – suggested to Barbados TODAY the politician is going to have to put in some work to convince the people of St Lucy that she was the right person for them.
    She was raised in Northumberland, St Lucy, but many there said they were not familiar with her family history and political career.
    John Baker, who declared that he was not really into politics, said he wished De Peiza success but he indicated that if he saw her walking past him he would not recognize her. Baker said he was raised in Crab Hill, St Lucy and has been informed that De Peiza also has family in that area, but stressed that he was yet to meet her.
    Baker said: “I don’t have a problem with her coming and running because it is not my business, but she can’t wait until elections to come. Right now she got to come to St Lucy, refresh people memories. She got a lot of work to put in and she can’t wait until the last minute to do it. She got to be out there doing it now. I am neither for oragainst the two parties, but my suggestion is that she got to get out here and deal with the people. Let people see who you are.
    “Bajans believe in God because it is a Christian thing but them ain’t believing in De Peiza and can’t see she. She got to come out here and mingle with the people and let the people know who she is and what she is about to do. Bajans don’t accept people like that because they don’t like changes too easy. People hearing about this woman but very few people know who she is. And to be honest, I ain’t got any time to come out and read no newspaper to read about people who bread butter already.”
    Calvin Greaves from Checker Hall, who said he has been hearing word that De Peiza was looking to contest St Lucy in the next general elections constitutionally due in 2023, declared that he has never seen the potential candidate in his life.
    He said: “I don’t know her. I just hear that she coming to run. But it’s her life and let her do what she got to do. I don’t know her period. Never see her in my whole life yet. I just hear that she come from Crab Hill. If she brown, white, green, I can’t tell you that. But, if she wants to run to catch a break, catch it with both hands. I wish her good luck.:
    The last DLP MP for St Lucy, the popular Half Moon Fort shopkeeper Dennis Kellman, told Barbados TODAY that he had no comment to make about De Peiza’s announcement. Kellman announced his intention to withdraw from elective politics last year after being defeated at the polls in 2018,
    Sitting behind the cash register at his supermarket, bar and restaurant, Kellman calmly stated: “I do not have any comment to make on the matter.”
    But across the road from Kellman’s business at the fish market was a vocal Dave Jackson, who said that he was born and bred in St Lucy and declared his lifelong support for the incumbent and the ruling party.
    Jackson said: “I vote for Mr Phillips and the Barbados Labour Party all my life so I ain’t switching. I will not switch. So she could run from now until thy kingdom come. I will not support the Democratic Labour Party now or never.
    “Once Mr Phillips do the right thing, he ain’t got no competition. And once the Government of Barbados do the right thing there wouldn’t be competition for Mr Phillips. It would be another 30-love again, we playing tennis again.”
    Henderson Griffith who was also at the market said that he was born and raised in St Lucy but now resides in St George North. Griffith said he is always in St Lucy and is confident that he knows De Peiza may not get the support she is looking for in that parish.
    Griffith said: “From the first day I saw her when she come campaigning when she announced herself as the candidate and I stupes my mouth she walked away. She did not even stay and tried to see if she could make a difference. When it comes to the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), not me.”
    The Barbados TODAY team also passed through Crab Hill where residents who did not want to give their names said that they heard about De Peiza’s announcement, but were yet to find out more about her.
    (anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb)

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

Murdah. Now @enuff is following her Salemite friend (formerly Ms cut and paste) and posting entire articles. BT is free, no paywall, a link works just as well. 🙏🙏

47. The link was already posted too.

Leave a Reply to William SkinnerCancel reply