It is about two weeks since Barbadians were forced to take cover from the La Soufriere volcano ash fall located in St. Vincent. Many of us were not around to witness a similar event in 1902, however, many recall vividly or vaguely depending on ones age 1979. As the 2021 hurricane season approaches, Barbadians through the years have been spared serious fallout from ‘Acts of God’ and an understandable complacent attitude has taken root. The seriousness of the ongoing La Soufriere event may help to change the attitude.

This morning the blogmaster threw open a window and smiled at the sight of a less grey environs. In fact there was a gratifying sense that the effect of the ash fall had become less of an issue as Barbadians – despite the prevailing economic and COVID 19 related challenges – are getting on with the business of managing respective households the best way they know how.

This morning like many mornings gone the blogmaster scanned the international and regional newsfeeds and smiled a wry smile at the involuntary sigh of satisfaction – the blogmaster would not trade places with any other soul living elsewhere at this moment.

#beautifulbarbados

415 responses to “I Love You Barbados”

1. Bajans would even argue over a coin toss..

2. RE: ‘My comment was in reference to the constant bashing of overseas barbadians on BU especially giving by David.”

YOU ARE A LIAR.

You wrote about people leaving their countries of birth to “live in big cities,” which was a specific reference to my contribution. Hence, the reason I responded.

RE: “You urgency to lash out at every comment I post is mind boggling.”

And, similarly could also be said about you as it relates to my comments as well.

3. A good news effort, let us left our women up and up!

Caddle: Time for more women heroes – Caddle: Time for more women heroes: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/24/caddle-time-for-more-women-heroes/

4. I love my country Barbados because obviously it is where I had been born, and raised, but Barbados did not offered the kind of opportunity I felt would have improved my standard of living then, however; that does not mean that I do not missed the family, friends and way of life I had left behind when I decided that America is where I wanted to be because of the perceived opportunities that was available to the practical man. Some have chosen the simpler life by staying at home and I do not have any problem with their decision, but had I to do it all over again, my choice would be the same, but America offers much more opportunity to see the world, and to meet all races and people from all walks of life. A thing which cannot be had, had I been living in Barbados today.

5. Dompey

You mean you couldn’t afford to live in the conditions in barbados so you had to run away to find better for you self. shame on you. And it people like you that does invite people to the 2×3 when you could even make it there 🙂

6. Mari 6:46am

Wait which many pussy wrote that? that is on of the most sensible thing i ever heard you say (and no politics in it )

two tumbs up in one comment.

like the two jackasses the envy me like i had a choice when my parent decided to bring me to the USA or my taking advantage of being a US citizen to make a way for my kids to take a further step up up the ladder (at least educationwise – it up to them where they stay/work after that)

7. unlike the two jackasses

8. Everybody and their mama and all their children, grandchildren and the whole bloodline got US status..but somebody, don’t know who, envy a NOBODY….🤣🤣😂😂

9. “Cora Eastmond is facing another obstacle as she struggles to raise her six grandchildren, who range from five to 12 years.”

In this day and age THE 21st CENTURY…WHY is this African lady going through this with grandchildren when there is at least 6 BILLION DOLLARS missing from the economy…

10. there is more to that story than hinders .

11. Don’t know why, but it seems that the RACCOON look is TRENDING…

12. “Many of our countries, effectively, will be pauperised if we don’t have access to concessional financing.”

in reality they will be LESS PAUPERIZED…if yall would STOP TIEFING the money with ya minority racist friends, disenfranchising, oppressing, suppressing and DISCRIMINATING AGAINST the BLACK majority…

..for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction…

13. You wrote about people leaving their countries of birth to “live in big cities,” which was a specific reference to my contribution. Hence, the reason I responded

Xxxxxxxxx
    Your lack of comprehension

People from.other countries
    Where did I made mention of Barbados specifically
    My explanation then went on to use my father experience as an example since I could not speak as to experiences of other people from other countries

Relax bro u are losing “it”

14. “Where did I made mention of Barbados specifically.”

I believe you’re the one who’s has a “lack of comprehension” and “losing it,” because you cannot indicate to the forum where, in my April 25, 2021 8:14 AM contribution, I mentioned anything to suggest you made a specific reference to Barbados.

My friend, your obsession with the need to respond weakens your ‘bowling attack.’ That’s why you’re always punished with consecutive ‘sixes’ in each ‘over.’

Concentrate on posting your comments to the topic. BU is NOT about you or me.

15. My knowledge of law is severely limited, but I could fake it for 3 hours/day. Advantages: cheaper cost, immediate decisions; incorruptible to amounts under 6 digits ; all matters treated as urgent; tough on child predators

“The Courts will be operating in the afternoon from 1 p.m. until 4 p.m. and will hear new charge sheets and urgent matters as determined by the Magistrates.”

16. Have you noticed that I did not join the “I love Barbados” chorus? Why?

If I encountered someone who told me “24 hours make one day” or “the sun will rise tomorrow” I would begin to doubt his/her sanity. These are facts for which I have no doubt and to restate them would add little or no value to the discussion.

“Opposite poles attract, like poles repel”

I make the assumption that if you’re overseas or ‘local’ on the 2×3, throwing shade or complimentary, b, d
    or otherwise, the reason you are here is because you love your country.

17. ArtaxApril 25, 2021 10:28 AM

“Where did I made mention of Barbados specifically.”

ArtaxApril 25, 2021 7:05 AM

@ angela cox April 25, 2021 6:46 AM

How on earth could you interpret RPB’s song to mean he or anyone who has referenced it, are criticizing Barbadians who have chosen to live abroad?
    Xxxcccccc
    Your words not mine

18. like the two jackasses the envy me like i had a choice when my parent decided to bring me to the USA or my taking advantage of being a US citizen to make a way for my kids to take a further step up up the ladder (at least educationwise – it up to them where they stay/work after that)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU ARE GONE PAST STUPID.

WHY WOULD SOMEBODY ENVY YOU?

BOTH Waru AND I LIVE ABROAD AND HAVE FOREIGN CITIZENSHIP.

YOU HAVE AN INFERIOTY COMPLEX.

IF YOU WERE SO SUCCESSFUL AT MAKING IT AS YOU POFESSED TO Waru
    ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND BEFORE YOU LEFT YOU WOULD NEVER
    HAVE LEFT YOUR CHILDREN BEHIND.

I DID NOT GET AMERICAN CITIENSHIP THEROUGH PARENTS I EARNED IT
    AND GOT NATURALIZED.

HOW COULD SOMEONE ENVY AN ANNOYMOUS INDIVIDUAL?

HOWEVER CONTINUE TO SHOW YOURSELF AS A BULLSHITTER.

19. @ angela cox April 25, 2021 11:29 AM

Sigh!! More weak bowling.

Shiite, it seems as though you don’t even recognized what YOU posted.

Please ‘go back’ and READ your “angela cox April 25, 2021 9:41 AM” contribution, in which YOU asked me, “Where did I made mention of Barbados specifically?”

“YOUR WORDS, NOT MINE.”

And, you posted a comment from my April 25, 2021 7:05 AM contribution, re: “How on earth could you interpret RPB’s song to mean he or anyone who has referenced it, are criticizing BARBADIANS who have chosen to live abroad?”………

………… to indicate I made a reference to Barbados? Wow, ‘thine ignorance knoweth no boundaries.’

‘Let’s say for argument’s sake’ I asked that question. Surely, even Stevie Wonder could see the difference between the words ‘BARBADOS,’ (the island)……. and ‘BARBADIANS,’ (the inhabitants of Barbados).

Madam, why do you PERSIST in providing BU with evidence to support my assessment that you’re an idiot?

20. Liar Artax i done wid u
    U was the one to launch the attack asking me the insipid and wayward question in mumbles abour one RPB lyrics and my referencing about barbadians immigrating to other countries

I know for sure yuh must be losing yuh mind
    Steupse
    Bye idiot
    U can have the last word

21. clap clap at the TWO jackasses

I say no more 🙂

22. some superior just can see past their noses. Why would i think the someone that claims to be in the usa army etc to not be a citizen?

Even an uneducated fool like me would asssume with the information the the jackass provided was a citizen long time ago.

Cheeeze how can an thrre degree educated man be so dumb and lack comprehension?

How the hell do you know what i would do with my children? their are not babies, their have their mother, i travel back every year except for the covid period so far and they come here sometimes during the summer. one will soon be here permenatly. keep being envious. rabbit

i could resist it

23. angela cox April 25, 2021 12:36 PM

Liar Artax i done wid u
    U was the one to launch the attack asking me the insipid and wayward question in mumbles abour one RPB lyrics and my referencing about barbadians immigrating to other countries

I know for sure yuh must be losing yuh mind
    Steupse
    Bye idiot
    U can have the last word

There you have it, ladies and gentlemen.

What more proof does BU need to be convinced Angela Cox is a BLITHERING IDIOT?

Thank you, Coxy, for allowing to “have the last word.”

24. ******** Thank you, Coxy, for allowing me to “have the last word.”

25. What success have I claimed on the 2×3?

Building a house without a mortgage?
    Go ask any of the older / average / poor bajan how they build theirs

Let’s put what u claim to be agains what I claim and see which one is the biggest bullshitter.

You can’t prove anything I say on bu to be wrong
    You have been exposed and have no credibility in here
    You cannot even say which country you live in yet I can state I am in Georgia and give info to back it up

And I am the bullshiter. While bu to believe u

Jackass

26. TheO,

To assume such could make an ass out of u OR me.

27. Good afternoon Donna,

Was missing you, cuhdear and the rest of the crew yesterday.

Things were so bad, I was praying for my English friend to return.

28. With a general election due in 2023 Verla confirmed 3 candidates out of 30- Andre Worrell in St. John, Ryan Walters in St. Michael North West and Verla in St. Lucy.

29. David

Are those the three seat you think dem will win?
    I can’t remember your picks

30. Wow. Surely things couldn’t have been that bad that would’ve necessitated praying for the ‘Limey’ to return.

In fact, based on the behaviour I thought he was actually here.

31. Everyone practices their ancestral culture…..no one restricts or forbids their culture unless their minds are BROKEN..

very beautiful indigenous first people’s of the region whose bloodlines run right through the America…

“How Dominica’s Native Kalinago People Preserve Their Culture
    Black Owned Business , Caribbean , Dominica
    Nasha Smith • Apr 22, 2021

Dominica is the Nature Isle of the Caribbean, known for its mountainous terrain, gorgeously lush vegetation, and natural hot springs. The island is also the home of the Kalinagos, an indigenous people of the Lesser Antilles originally known as the Caribs. They live in the northeast of Dominica and are the descendants of the original first group of inhabitants who settled on the island and other parts of the Caribbean.

Currently, there are approximately 3000 people who live in Dominica’s Kalinago Territory, which is a communally held area of land managed by a six-member council headed by a chief. The territory was officially established by British colonial leaders in 1903 and is spread across 3,700 acres.

Kalinago Tours is the only full-fledged tour company that provides authentic, immersive experiences in the territory as a means of keeping the culture alive. It also helps to generate income for the community, which is one of the most socio-economically deprived areas of Dominica.

Kalinago handmade craft pieces are among some of the most sought-after items on the island. According to Kalinago Tours manager Kevin Dangleben, the people are heavily dependent on agriculture and craft for economic survival. The intricately woven baskets and calabash plant trinkets are unique to the territory and their sales also ensure the preservation of the Kalinago heritage.

“The demand is pretty good at times because it’s very authentic as opposed to a lot of what we find in parts of Dominica and the Caribbean, where you find almost everything that is “souvenirs” are made in China,” he told Travel Noire. “So, this is something which is helping our folks to become more appreciative of the value of the craft because they realize that if the cultural patrimony can be used in a prudent way — tie it to the tourism sector nicely — then that in itself can assist in the preservation of the cultural heritage. While at the same time providing much needed additional income for the residents of the community.”

32. https://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/html5/reader/production/default.aspx?pubname=&pubid=87ad6005-1972-4d63-92b0-8927eda53c7a

Good article speaking about our ways of thinking and the great opportunity we have right now for a comprehensive rethink.

33. I love Barbados saw two yellow butterflies on flying past my mangoes tree
    I was so happy to see them they reminded me of the time of my mother’s death

34. It’s absolutely amazing these ancient bloodlines survived across the Caribbean diaspora Americas..literally tens of thousands of years later.

“As far as I am concerned, as far as the ULP (Unity Labour Party) is concerned, north of the [Rabacca] Dry River, that’s the soul of this nation — Garifuna and Calinago and all what they represent. Similarly places like Rose Bank and Petit Bordel and Fitz Hughes and Chateaubelair with Garifuna people,” Gonsalves said.

The Garifuna people are a mixed African and indigenous people who are descended from the Black Caribs, who lived here and speak Garifuna, an Arawakan language.”

35. We all must acknowledge the fact that Barbados is indeed a beautiful island with a lot to see and much do, but I cannot image spending my entire life on a small island like Barbados, when they are much more beautiful places in the world to see, and things to do. I cannot start to tell you the places I have visited since I’ve residing America, and if I do you probably wouldn’t believe me, and had I not travelled abroad, I probably wouldn’t have been able to do so.
    But to each his own, and I can only say that I feel a sense of compassion for those persons who wish they could have traveled abroad, but did not have the financial wherewithal to do so, neither the connections as those of us have had, by the mere fact of having family and friends abroad, who took an interested in our travelled abroad.

36. @John2

Check the other blog.

37. Horseracing fraternity pleads with Government
    Morissa LindsayPublished on
    April 25, 2021

Jockeys, trainers and grooms in the island are appealing to Government to give their sport a much-needed break. They are calling on the Mia Mottley administration to allow for local horse racing to resume even if it is behind closed doors as their livelihood continues to be in serious jeopardy.

Members of the horseracing fraternity met for an emergency session at the Garrison Savannah yesterday. And they were all in unison, lamenting that they were struggling to make ends meet and to provide for their respective families.

There are more than 2000 jobs at stake and those who spoke with Barbados TODAY explained that their entire incomes were derived from the sport and with no races allowed – publicly or behind closed doors – had placed them in a crisis situation.

Horseracing is among several sports that have been suspended by Government as a result of concerns attached to the spread of COVID-19. There have been only four race days within the past 13 months and according to the jockeys and trainers, many of the horse owners have so far threatened to quit the business unless something is done swiftly. Jockeys and trainers benefit from a percentage of revenue earned by horse owners.

“Right now, I am expecting my firstborn and a lot of us as jockeys have kids and it is not easy to be dealing with. We are race riders; we are not exercise riders. We make most of our money race riding. From my standpoint, my girlfriend is not working, so it is tough because I am making no money right now. I am only speaking for myself but I am sure there are other guys here that have similar circumstances at home,” one jockey told Barbados TODAY.

He added: “The jockeys and the grooms without the horses there is nothing for us. Most of us rely on here. It is work here in the mornings and for the rest of the day it is nothing. If it carries on like this most of the owners are going to pull out and then the horses are going to go home. No owner is going to feed a horse and it is not making any money. So, they will put them down and then we will be out of jobs.”

A racehorse trainer whose job is also on the line said horse racing in Barbados was imploding quickly and they were begging for assistance.

“Right now, we are imploding quickly. We are all here this morning asking for some type of assistance. Whether it is the government giving us a hand to get through this turbulent time.

Or whether they allow us to have racing behind closed doors. We are just asking for some kind of assistance to just get by because the industry is coming to a screeching halt,” the trainer said.

The trainer added: “The trainers, jockeys, grooms, we are the ones that are going to suffer. The wider public thinks that horse racing is owned by people with deep pockets. Yes, they are 20 percent of people who could afford it. But what about the other 80 percent.

“We are the ones that are set to lose as much because for some of us this is all we ever do in life – work with horses. The average guy who is at the bottom is who really works in racing. This is all some of these guys know is to care for racehorses.

“Here at the Garrison Savannah is a breeding ground. If we close down what is going to happen to all of the champion trainers and jockeys. We got the Saffie Josephs, Patrick Husbands, where would they be honing their skills to start and go aboard? It is tough.”

During their appeal, the jockeys and trainers pointed out that Barbados was the only Caribbean country in the world where the sport exists that there is currently no horseracing. Horseracing is currently active in Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.

An owner of four horses gave his take on the situation and said while he continues to hold on with the hope that local horse racing will restart right away, he explained that it was becoming very costly to maintain his horse at $2,500 a month.

“My horse here at the Garrison is like $2, 500 dollars a month and only last week I had to get $700 to pay a vet. This is money I have to look for. I am a pensioner and I put this money into it with the hope that it would bring me something in return. My family is suffering as a result of my investment because of this. [it is] putting me off, shutting me down.

“Even if I race one race and I get $5000, it goes a long way . . . This is why we are appealing with the government to give us a break so that we can get back something in our pockets. Give the horse owners, give the jockeys, trainers, grooms a chance,” the owner said.

38. I am happier that you left than you are, believe me!

Lord have mercy!

39. One can live on a little island and travel the world just like anybody else and indeed Bajans do just that.

40. @TheOGazerts April 25, 2021 2:23 PM “Good afternoon Donna, Was missing you, cuhdear and the rest of the crew yesterday.”

Not neglecting by BU brethen, but the volcanic dust man!

I was raised in the country, and as children we had a saying “monkey say when de rain fall, de trees fall again”

No new volcanic ash falls, but the old ash continues to fall from off the trees, so I am sweeping and dusting, and sweeping and mopping again and again. Washed and rehung curtains today too. Too busy to spend much time on BU.

Some call a volcanic eruption an act of God, although the nuisance to Bajans seems more like an act of the devil. Deep compassion for the good people of St. Vincent whose ash fall was feet deep, while ours is only inches deep.

Praying for rain, but asking the Almighty not to send too much at once.

41. I believe it was Theo who was yesterday asking about the new travel protocols Which take effect May 8, 2021

Look here: https://www.visitbarbados.org/covid-19-travel-guidelines-2020

Synopsis here:
    The Government of Barbados has updated its travel protocols required for entry to the country as it continues to manage the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and protect its citizens and visitors alike. As a result, due to the global on-going vaccination process, there have been a few changes to the quarantine and COVID-19 testing processes.

Fully Vaccinated Travelers
    The Ministry of Health and Wellness has approved the COVID-19 AstraZeneca, Moderna, Pfizer-BioNTech and Johnson & Johnson vaccinations for entry into Barbados and effective May 8, 2021. Travelers who are considered to be fully vaccinated are required to:

Provide proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test result three days prior to travel
    Provide a vaccination certificate on arrival to Barbados
    Have a standard or rapid COVID-19 PCR test done at the airport or their approved accommodation
    Use specially designated transportation providers for their transport to their approved accommodation and while awaiting their COVID-19 PCR test result
    Stay at their approved accommodation where they are free to move around in accordance with the guidelines of that property

All fully vaccinated travelers will be required to quarantine for approximately one to two days.

Unvaccinated Travelers
    Any traveler who has not been fully vaccinated, not vaccinated at all, does not have any evidence of vaccination or has traveled from or transited through a country where the prevalence of certain variants of COVID-19 are deemed of particular concern to Barbados, are required to:

Provide a negative COVID-19 PCR test on arrival three days prior to travel
    Use specifically designated transportation providers for their transport from the airport to approved accommodation
    Stay within their rooms/suites before receiving a second negative COVID-19 PCR test (travelers are not allowed to leave their rooms/suites)
    Take a last test five days after their arrival to Barbados

All unvaccinated travelers will be required to quarantine for approximately five to seven days.

Special Considerations
    Children under 18 who are traveling with fully vaccinated guardians will be allowed to adhere to the fully vaccinated traveler guidelines. If you are traveling within a group as a vaccinated traveler with other unvaccinated travelers, you will be subject to unvaccinated traveler guidelines if you choose not to be separated.

All unaccompanied minors under the age of 18 must provide proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test result taken no more than three days prior to arrival. Vaccinated unaccompanied minors will follow the guidelines for all vaccinated travelers, whereas unvaccinated unaccompanied minors will follow the protocol of unvaccinated travelers.

Due to the fluidity of the COVID-19 pandemic, these protocols are likely to change.

42. @ Donna

I agree with you.

But, call it for what it is. The guy made a silly comment.

I’ve known several people who lived their “entire life on a small island like Barbados,” and have visited “much more beautiful places in the world.”

43. India crossed the 350K mark for new cases.

It will probably report in excess of 400K new cases in a day within a few days.

Deaths continue to rise.

Last big bathing day in the Mother Ganges is Tuesday.

So I suspect it won’t be for a few months before the daily cases will start to fall.

Meanwhile the world has administered over one billion jabs and COVID cases continue to rise.

Is vaccination working one would ask?

But it isn’t as simple as that … it is necessary to analyse the data from different countries.

The two countries which have jabbed most of their citizens are the UAE and Israel.

If the results in the two countries are compared you might be inclined to conclude that vaccination has worked wonders in Israel but had little effect in the UAE.

We were told upfront that the vaccination won’t prevent a person from catching COVID-19.

Israel is using Pfizer while the UAE is using three or four different ones.

I would more suspect Israel is doing something besides vaccination.

Maybe they have figured out the connection between water and virus spread.

…. like Singapore, New Zealand and Australia.

Meanwhile, Dominica has seen slight increases in the number of cases, 171 so far, but still, no deaths.

Dominica is blessed, Gravity has separated sewage and drinking water.

It is clear that some countries have a handle on its spread while others are not nearly there.

I still bet water is the defining problem to be solved!!

The numbers show it daily.

44. Artax,

Got to admit, if I’m going to be annoyed on BU, I prefer the Limey.

There is always the chance you could learn something useful hidden amongt the insults.

But these nonsensical lectures chased me away for the day.

TheO,

Blame Dompey!

Reminds me of an old dub song by a fella name Tiger-

“Lord, me cyan tek it nuh mo’

Gimme back de [wo] man yuh gi me befo’!”

Dompey seems like a nice enough fellow though but he should probably stop trying to lecture.

45. Donna

I said and I shall reiterate, ” Had I not the opportunity to live abroad and particularly in the United States of America, I would not have be able to travel to the far corners of the world being that prior to migrating to the States, I came from what some would describe as the lower echelon of the Barbadian society.”
    Now Donna, please tell me how a Barbadian from the lower echelon of society, is able to travel to Greenland and Denmark yearly, since you maintained that you don’t have to live abroad to be able to travel the wider world?

46. Donna

And by the way, I don’t know what gave you the impression that I was trying to lecture someone? When my mere intent were to stated the facts as I saw them from my individual perspective, regarding the reason behind my migration to the United States of America and the opportunity to be had from such migration.

47. Donna

And lastly, it troubles me a great deal how some people can intentionally and wilfully placed a label on you because of their poor interpretation or comprehension of a given situation.

48. Last Chance University
    Black people from Barbados feel a disconnect from Africa
    but if you are Black man or woman then you are an African

You Better Run to the City of Refuge

49. When people on the island realize they were deliberately socialized, culturized and indoctrinated to DISCONNECT from their Motherland, religions, culture, education etc and maliciously kept that way by the black faces in the parliament for over 60 years….that the way they think IS HOW THEY WERE ENGINEERED TO THINK…..it’s not of their own volition……while every half-assed minority on the island can practice their cultures etc freely WHILE ROBBING THE BLACK/AFRICAN population blind…

..maybe it will help in the process to FREE THEIR MINDS.. from that repulsive mindbreaking concept……don’t know if many can see that the parliament RATS are on their way DOWN…because of their DETERMINATION to keep a slave society intact and not dismantle the crimes against Black people……i should not have to read anyone the tea leaves…

50. 555dubstreet

You must first defined what entails being African is because shade and DNA are not enough to determine what constitutes being an African entails from the West Indian perspective.

But I shall answer your question in this way: does the Genetic Foundation merely constitutes what a human being is? Well of course not, because the cultural contributions determines what constitutes being a human being is, in addition to that DNA Foundation, and added to that, who you and I are today came about as a resulted of conscious planning by our parents and their parents parents and so on, as well as the cultures in which we live.

So in my judgement being a Black man does not make you an African, if you are divest and devoid of the cultural ethos of the African.

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply