As the jury takes the murder case against Derek Chauvin for taking the life of George Floyd it has been disclosed that the kraken Chauvin was a highly-trained martial artist.

It’s amazing how both the prosecution and the defense attorneys, as officers of the court, seemed to have conspired to avoid letting the jury, and the public, know about the existence of this highly important factoid, the murder weapon. Such information should have been at the heart of a first degree murder charge, against Chauvin. But it never once came up!

Neither was the jury nor the public told that Derek Chauvin had as many as nineteen (19) complaints against him, in his police file. Yet the American injustice system is held up as a ‘paragon of virtue’, fit for wall to wall coverage on all networks.

These are the central problems with modern judicial systems. These are the structures which insist that the protection of official corruption itself is paramount.

How else can an injustice system maintain itself if it starts to convict police officers as the main protectors of that same wicked system if it starts putting on trial policemen for first degree murder like should have been the case in the death of George Floyd?

The lodge, that is a law courts, demands that both prosecutors and defense attorneys pledge allegiance to the court and not to the client or the people, with regard to public prosecutors.

Both sides managed to speak endlessly about 9 minutes and 29 seconds and other mundane issues but this central piece of information was never once told to the jury.

This occurs in a case where we were treated to any number of police officers paraded by the State of Wisconsin, including the Police Commissioner himself.

And as if to speak in code, or under the direction of unknown third parties, every prosecution or police witness made inert statements about the restraint (martial arts hold) which Chauvin used on George Floyd.

The commissioner himself said words to the effect that Chauvin’s restraint technique was not part of police training, so did several other policemen/women. The obvious question should have been, then where did it come from? But we were not to know this, certainly not the jury.

As a martial artist Chauvin ought to have known or certainly would have known that the restraint technique applied to George Floyd’s neck was certain to kill him. This qualifies as intent. This was a central requirement for first degree murder charges. Are these the workings of a Black man called Keith Ellison, the state attorney general?

Indeed, it is well known that as a martial artist one’s being is considered a deadly weapon. Either as policemen or martial artist or both the chokehold represents murder in the first degree with intentionality and as such should not escape the death penalty, if found guilty.

Given these circumstances, we are now to ask a number of wider questions. Those questions are pregnant with meanings and fall within the inalterable decay of the American judicial system and empire itself.

We need to ask, why was there such an unusual haste to pay-off the family of George Floyd with about 27 million pieces of silver just a few days before the trial started?

Was this smoking gun evidence, just coming to light, part of the financial settlement or blood money as negotiated by the family lawyers?

Was it agreed beforehand that this show trial, we’ve witnessed for the last three weeks, should be no more than that?

What were the roles of the ambulance-chasing family attorneys like Benjamin Crump, family members, people such as Al Sharpton – the sidekick of Crump, media prostitutes on the networks, public officials and others in covering up the magnitude of this modern day lynching of the late George Floyd?

When all the systems around us are so corrupted or corruptible the patina of justice only serves to galvanize and propagandize global opinion around an unjust trial for the blood of a sacrificial lamb led to the slaughter in the maw of empire.

235 responses to “THE CHAUVIN TRIAL – IS THE FIX IN?”

1. David

Your thinking entirely rest on logical fallacies.

2. “In fact the only true justice would have been the racist cop on a slab in the morgue.”

His prison stay may result in some such rough justice either self inflicted or by punisher super hero type vigilante inmates

but why do Bajan posters always seek allies to make their points willy

3. “This, of course is a little more complex as its tentacles reach the whole world. But their own young people will tear them down.”

glad you note the complexities involved…”their” young people will ONLY TEAR DOWN…what they know will ultimately impact them…but will NOT tear down anything that will benefit them and their offspring later especially if it means keeping Africans in the same state for the next 400 years…that’s the mistake being made…believing that young people today who are protesting won’t be the destructive racists of tomorrow….hippies from the 60s are the ones controlling corporations and the racist establishment now…they were rebeling against their parents then…but later embraced their whiteness/privileged fully, because it benefited them socially and financially after they passed their rebellioius stage..

so sitting waiting for “their” young to tear it down while we do NOTHING to tear it away and remove it from Black/African lives ESPECIALLY FROM THE LIVES OF OUR YOUNG….is a NONSTARTER…

4. It is said that suicide or death is the easy escape route / option that is preferable to rotting in jail doing time for the crime many crims would rather get killed by police than go inside

5. “In fact the only true justice would have been the racist cop on a slab in the morgue.”

ain’t that the truth….coddling and enabling filthy racists and an even FILTHIER racist system/establishment will be the death of small-minded black people…but that’s on them, they won’t even be missed as i said above…more htan enuff are awoke and have opened MILLIONS OF EYES already, our job was successful….the others can stay right where they are, it looks good on them..

i have long moved on to a HIGHER VIBRATION….and so have many, many more like me….

6. @Pacha

Unfortunately it is the reality of the situation we face. The establishment will not cede power to Blacks by agreeing to it overnight. There is a reason why later today or tomorrow a White cop in the USA will repeat some stupid act that involves a minority to mirror Floyd. There is a reason why Clifford Corbin said what he did. You have to deal with how a group of people have been socialized. The next generation maybe less virulent in their prejudices but we have a group of people comfortable with the perks of white privilege.

7. “The next generation maybe less virulent in their prejudices but we have a group of people comfortable with the perks of white privilege.”

this is defeatist…..the fake privilege the lowlifes for wannbe slave masters in Barbados comes DIRECTLY from the BLACK FACE SELLOUTS in the parliament…they cannot have it without them…their offspring are EVEN WORSE…when the sellouts give them the same privilege every generation and DENY the Black majority what is RIGHTFULLY THEIRS….

it cannot be compared to the US…two very different socializations..

.that is how IT WILL NEVER END…something has to be done about sellout nigas….who love to operate within the racist system because it BENEFITS THEM..

8. One problem with the rough justice philosophies touted by armchair revolutionaries chatter is it could lead to getting got for crimes either real or perceived conspiracy

9. AGAIN….cousin Boris said there is no racism in UK…so why does it still exist in Barbados unless the black face governments are keeping it there maliciously and deliberately…they have NO MORE PROTECTION to keep it, this is the time to PRESSURE the wicked government to REMOVE IT PERMANENTLY and arrest any stinking racists who INSIST on practicing it…when it’s AGAINST INTERNATIONAL LAW…

what are a few thousand half-assed broke ass thieving minorities going to do to 260,000 Black Africans who are in the majority…..and no longer want to be the victims of their racist nastiness.

10. “AGAIN….cousin Boris said there is no racism in UK”

there is racism in UK
    Boris was avoiding addressing it
    it has changed a tad from overt to covert
    it flares up and dies down and gets triggered to win votes

11. @Pacha

Case in point.

Ohio police officer shot and killed a Black teenage girl holding a knife, police say and bodycam video shows

https://www.cnn.com/2021/04/21/us/ohio-columbus-police-shooting-15-year-old/index.html

12. “there is racism in UK”

am not speaking about the reality in UK…am speaking about WHAT SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING IN BARABDOS …in a Black majority country….

.UK is white majority and Black/Africans can REMOVE THEMSELVES from its rancid, embedded racism AT ANYTIME…those who stay to experience that poison do so voluntarily or because they have not found a way out of THAT TRAP YET……

13. “.. am not speaking about the reality in UK ..”

You often come out with incorrect arguments which get left to slide but then they are repeated and reposted the same again like spam as if true and hence they need to be challenged to nip them in the bud. Not a pleasant job but someone has to do it.

“.. .UK is white majority and Black/Africans can REMOVE THEMSELVES from its rancid, embedded racism AT ANYTIME…”

racists are just sub par people and the trick is to avoid racist people and/or fight them either physically mentally socially or whatever form required

14. it’s difficult to remove yourself when Black face sellouts keep the racists in Black lives instead of excising them permanently from living off the black population…let them find another way to survive devoid of being moochers and scroungers off Black people…generationally..racists are the scum and wretched on the earth and should not even be in existence.

keep trying to make this about me, am DECADES ahead of you…

15. Behold!

The goddess cunt speaks!

Now…. do you think I care how YOU see me? I have sent many of your ilk packing with their tails between their legs!

Who the rasshole is you? Just another inflated prick with two balls attached who speaks of himself in the royal “we”!

Another pretentious prick!

Yet another one!

Steupse!

Dismissed!

16. What solutions do extremists offer besides war?

17. WURA,

Some hippies have changed. Others still believe in peace and love.

Not everyone evolves at the same rate.

I do not think we should sit down and wait for then to dismantle the system. There are many actions we can take and we should take them. I agree with you there.

What do you think are the actions that we can take? Let us begin there!

18. You hold no power over us. None at all.
    An accurate knowledge might indicate a deflated instead of an inflation especially in relation to things held dear by most.
    Fuck off. Done wid yuh. Now have the last word, bitch!.

19. Would Iran and Syria seek revenge if Biden tried to kiss and make up? What would Russia do if the US retreated to its corner?

In Biden’s mind is he trying to preserve “empire” or the life of his children’s children?

20. When one has done wrong one always expects revenge to be forthcoming. Biden is pulling out of Afghanistan having failed to complete the mission and fearing reprisal from a resurging terrorist cell.

The US as a nation may deserve to catch hell but I do not expect them to accept it.

21. @ WURA-War-on-U April 21, 2021 7:23 AM

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE INSTAGRAM VIDEO YOU POSTED THAT LASTED FOR 13 MINUTES IS A VERY POWERFUL VIDEO AND SHOWS WHAT CAN HAPPEN WHEN INDIVIDUALS KNOWS THEIR RIGHTS AND ARE SUPPORTED BY EACH OTHER AT NO FEAR OF THE LIBERTY OR FREEDOM BEING TAKEN AWAY.

AT LEAST IN AMERICA THERE ARE RIGHTS.

CAN YOU IMAGINE IF THE SAME BLACK GOOD LOOKING AFRICAN WOMAN WAS SITTING IN THE MIDDLE OF A LOCAL ROAD ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND WHAT THE LOCAL BLACK POLICE WOULD DO TO HER THEY WOULD NOT HAVE DRIVEN OFF BUT BEAT HER ARREST AND TAKEN TO A STATION TO BE CHARGED AND SEXUALLY HARASSED.

THEN THE SHITHOLE ISLAND WANTS TO COMPARE TO OTHERS WHEN EVEN THEY OWN BLACK PEOPLE HAVE NO RIGHTS.

THAT VIDEO SHOULD BE SHOWN TO ALL.

22. That’s what they all say! Every man has a big dick until he opens his fly! My mother was a nurse. Apparently, the more they bragged, the less.they measured.

But…..I meant your ego, not your dick. Though we know men often judge themselves by the dick and the lack thereof.

Imagine a man calls me a jackass, a cunt and a cunthole simply because I did not bend down and kiss his assinine conspiracy theory based not on hard evidence but on suppositions!

I return his compliments and he calls me a bitch.

I said he was being illogical and emotional.

I rest my case.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

23. David,

Why is my comment awaiting moderation? You allowed him to call me all manner of things.

24. David,

You wait until he’s done and you moderate ME???

Not a word to the one who started the ball rolling but you moderate ME for responding in kind?

Which word caused the moderation?

25. Seems the Packy Mama needs a shield to defend him!

From a woman, to boot!

Wuhlaus!

26. @Donna

If the blogmaster had you moderated would you have been able to successfully post several comments since?

27. @Donna

Pacha is simply being provocative to spice up the blog:-)

28. “THAT VIDEO SHOULD BE SHOWN TO ALL.”

yes it should.

“What do you think are the actions that we can take? Let us begin there!”

already being taken in other jurisdictions, but it requires a particularl mindset that has been washed CLEAN of colonial links, thoughts and brainwash….it does not happen overnight, but as you know because Barbados is still a slave society, still carries the stench of the clearing house for slaves. still have squatting racists stinking up the island with their thefts etc and still have Black people who do not know who they are, still carrying lost identities and believe they are colonial rather than African….still miseducated…still believe in a Negro Slave bible created just for them…

.. so the best place to start would be REEDUCATION…learning WHO THEY REALLY ARE instead of who they were CREATED TO BE…which is NOBODY…..redefining religion in the MOLD OF THEIR ANCESTORS…instead of the his-story of LIES and FALSEHOODS….as i have been posting for the last 2 weeks…..that’s the only place to start…anything else will be too complex for the indoctrinated and will go nowhere.

29. Black race all over the world would be disrespected and mistreated until we become unified and show the world how much respect we have for each other
    Until then the white establishment would continue to treat the black race like dogs and get away
    One day of justice in the USA cannot wipe away the many injustices in many black countries which are governed and ruled by its own people
    Get real folks many are baying at the moon
    Absent of the fact that blacks future and fate lies within their own hands
    But look around and see who are the financial masters of the predominately black countries
    People who runs and owns the white establishment
    As old folks warns lying down with dogs u would either be bitten or catch flies
    For blacks the same applies

30. I watched very little of the trial. I could not say ‘none’ as I might have caught something as I moved through the various channels searching for a show.

I did not watch the delivery of the verdict as in my opinion regardless of what the verdict said “Chauvin is guilty of murder”.

I would be the first to admit that the USA has a lot of issues and needs a lot of fixing, but I sees it as a country that moves forward. Deeply flawed but fighting to improve itself.

We had an odious character and he was removed; there is still some stench remaining, but that too will pass. Racism is embedded deep in the body of the USA; we will not vanquish it overnight, but we will overcome.

Guess that its.. no illusions or delusions, just keeping it real.

Have a great day, all.

31. Virginia cop is fired for giving $25 to Kenosha shooter Kyle Rittenhouse’s legal fund with note saying ‘you’ve done nothing wrong’ after hack revealed names of anonymous donors

A Virginia cop has been fired for anonymously donating $25 to Kenosha shooter Kyle Rittenhouse’s legal fund with a note saying ‘you’ve done nothing wrong’.

Norfolk Police Lt. William K. Kelly lost his job after a hack revealed the names of those who gave money to help with the 18-year-old’s costs.

Rittenhouse is accused of killing two protesters and wounding a third during a demonstration against police brutality in Wisconsin last August 25.

Kelly, who was second in command in the Norfolk Police Department’s internal affairs division, is said to have written: ‘God bless. Thank you for your courage. Keep your head up. You’ve done nothing wrong.

‘Every rank and file police officer supports you. Don’t be discouraged by actions of the political class of law enforcement leadership.’

City Manager Chip Filer said: ‘I have reviewed the results of the internal investigation involving Lt. William Kelly. Chief Larry Boone and I have concluded Lt. Kelly’s actions are in violation of City and departmental policies.

‘His egregious comments erode the trust between the Norfolk Police Department and those they are sworn to serve.’

Norfolk Mayor Kenneth Cooper Alexander added: ‘The alleged statement and action by a member of Norfolk’s Police Department is alarming and by all means not consistent with the values of our city or the standards set for our employees.’

Kelly has not commented. The 19-year veteran can appeal the decision.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9495585/Virginia-cop-fired-giving-25-Kenosha-shooter-Kyle-Rittenhouses-legal-fund.html

32. Derek Chauvin, 45, is pictured in his prison jumpsuit on his first night in Oak Park Heights maximum security prison where he’s placed on suicide watch ahead of sentencing in eight weeks

The Minnesota Department of Corrections released the new booking photo on Wednesday morning as Derek Chauvin woke up from his first night at MCF-Oak Park Heights

He is being closely watched by guards to ensure his safety, not just as a suicide risk, but also from other inmates with violent criminal histories, many of whom resent law enforcement

Cheers erupted outside courthouse on Tuesday as Chauvin was found guilty of second-degree murder, third-degree murder and second-degree manslaughter in the death of George Floyd

Chauvin faces a minimum sentence of 12.5 years and maximum of 40 years for second-degree murder
    The former cop is expected to file a swift appeal of his conviction

Celebrations took place across US as President Biden pledged to push through civil rights reforms after calling the killing of George Floyd a ‘stain on nation’s soul’

Biden’s Attorney General Merrick Garland announced the Justice Department is opening a sweeping investigation into the Minneapolis Police Department’s policing practices

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9494507/Derek-Chauvin-45-taken-maximum-security-prison-placed-suicide-watch.html

33. and he still carries that arrogant uppity facial expression…nice neon orange though..

“I would be the first to admit that the USA has a lot of issues and needs a lot of fixing, but I sees it as a country that moves forward. Deeply flawed but fighting to improve itself.”

they keep trying to compare small Barbados and wicked leaders who are determined to continue the same old and keep the island and Black population stagnated in an ongoing slave society, pauperized, oppressed, suppressed and helpless…TO the US and there is ABSOLUTELY NO COMPARISON….none at all….different problems, different socialization and culturization……but they keep trying..

34. they keep trying to compare small Barbados and wicked leaders who are determined to continue the same old and keep the island and Black population stagnated in an ongoing slave society, pauperized, oppressed, suppressed and helpless…TO the US and there is ABSOLUTELY NO COMPARISON….none at all….different problems, different socialization and culturization……but they keep trying..

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

LET ME ADD A LOCAL CORRUPT LEGAL SYSTEM, BDLP POLITICIANS, CRIMINAL POLICE ALL IN A BLACK 2 x 3 ISLAND AGAINST ITS OWN BLACK PEOPLE BEING 95% OF THE POPULATION.

ONLY THE BRAINLESS COULD MAKE ANY COMPARISON.

BLACKS IN THE USA ARE AROUND 14%, WHITES ARE 70% APPROXIMATELY SO BY SHARE PERCENTAGE WILL CONTROL ALL THE POWER STRUCTURES WHICH ARE BEING FOUGHT AGAINST.

NOW IN A BLACK 2 x 3 ISLAND WHERE 95% ARE BLACK ITS OWN PEOPLE ARE THE ONE DOING ATROCIOUS ACTS AGAINST EACH OTHER LIKE CRABS IN A BUCKET.

PICK SENSE FROM NONSENSE.

35. maybe the ones doing the comparing believe they are white…as many of them project despite knowing they are African descended……even indoctrinated to hate Africa and all things African…informaiton is available out there and everywhere, even on BU…that should change their warped world view……one thing’s for sure, it makes NO DAMN SENSE….but it apparently does to them…

i don’t even want to know, just like some things fowl Slaves post about me, they can keep that info to themselves, it has no value for me period…..

36. AGAIN…many of you who think ya can just wake up one morning and TAKE ME ON…i have several DECADES of KNOWLEDGE way ahead of you, that is no boast, it’s a REAL FACT……and i fill my head with more and more EVERY DAY…because of capacity…. ya got a lot of catching up to do…

37. Pacha and Miller..this would be more up your alley.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fev6k4EnlGg

38. @WURA-War-on-U April 21, 2021 9:41 AM “AGAIN….cousin Boris said there is no racism in UK”

Our siblings who live in the UK tell us otherwise.

39. Ah only saying what cousin Boris said, i didn’t say it was true…lol…what i want to know is why Black people are tolerating it in UK…no one is forcing them to stay, the physical shackles and chains days are over…..and the mental shackles are VOLUNTARY and self-inflicted…they can only blame themselves for it…they seem comfortable in it…..or they would leave if financially possible.

Pacha..is it not ironic i was talking about this yearning thing black people especially black leaders got for keeping the infectious nastiness of whiteness in play…..only this morning, hours later there is a whole debate on it..

40. Blacks in UK aren’t soft like they are in Barbados and fight racism back as a life purpose.
    Same as in USA. When Gorge Floyd was murdered and people protested in hundreds and thousands across the nation the whole world was angry and outraged about the racism and policing of America. It put racists in USA UK Australia Europe on the back foot and they had to start talking and confessing about it and examining themselves like forensic detectives as if they didn’t know about it and it’s full extent already. The guilty verdict for Chauvin does not solve the underlying issues that people were protesting about.

41. Barbados’ problems may be more about broken windows theories in ghettos, if something is broken and not fixed due to neglect then people get used to it and when damage spreads and becomes common everywhere they are indifferent and complacent about it like it’s the norm.

42. alyuh too love ya stiff colonial upper lip…other platforms are saying yes, yall mute….yep, definitely candidates for RE-EDUCATION….but is it not ironic, i said the very same thing this morning….take a peep at the archives…

43. Barbados’ problems may be more about broken windows theories in ghettos, if something is broken and not fixed due to neglect then people get used to it and when damage spreads and becomes common everywhere they are indifferent and complacent about it like it’s the norm.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

EXCELLENT ANALOGY OF THE 2 x 3 ISLAND AND ITS 95% BLACK MASSES MOST WHO BEHAVE LIKE BLIND SHEEP AND PARROTS.

44. David,

You may have had a particular word moderated.

Pacha was not deliberately spicing up the blog. He was triggered by the words “illogical” and “emotional”. His ego could not take words usually used by men against women being applied to him by a woman. He could not help himself.

I do not care what he calls me as long as I am allowed to respond in kind. I can handle myself against the best and the worst of them.

No sweat!

45. Bullocks! I have had occasion to put police officers in their place and did so in the police station twice and on the road a couple of times.

Stood up for my rights against other authorities also. Never lost yet!

Bullocks!

Exaggeration, all the time, exaggeration!

Steupse!

46. I even had a police officer apologise to me for following through on a call made by a liar who reported that I threatened to kill my six week old baby.

Apologised for asking to enter my home. Apologised when he was leaving after finding a comfortably sleeping and obviously well looked after child. Probably noted the love on my face through the tired frustration of a fussy child.

I had to reassure him that he was totally correct to follow through and do his job. How was he to know if there was a life to be saved? Told him he should not hesitate to do it again.

There are good policemen and bad policemen in Barbados. There is corruption as there is everywhere!

There are some who abuse their authority, take bribes, cover up wrongdoing, beat confessions out of people and trample the rights of certain people. They do it in certain communities and with persons they consider criminal mostly. Sometimes they are very wrong!

All these things do happen and need to be addressed urgently.

But I never felt fear in encounters with the police nor in standing up for my rights. Nor the rights of my son. Nor the rights of my former GIS mentee.

That being said, we must not be satisfied with any corruption or abuse to ANYONE! And we must demand accountability! There needs to be a better system to have complaints investigated. We need cameras in the stations and body cams in the officers.

We must make this a priority!

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

On “the other” trial, see who is penning letters of recommendation
    https://www.courtlistener.com/recap/gov.uscourts.nyed.414633/gov.uscourts.nyed.414633.128.0.pdf

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

“In light of the mitigating factors set forth herein, Inniss respectfully requests this Court to
    impose a probationary sentence and extensive community service. Such a sentence would be
    sufficient – but not greater than necessary – to satisfy the factors outlined in 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a).
    See Kimbrough v. United States, 552 U.S. 85, 101 (2007).”……

Exhibits for @Artax
    https://www.courtlistener.com/recap/gov.uscourts.nyed.414633/gov.uscourts.nyed.414633.125.0.pdf

49. Police ‘untouchable’, says Pilgrim
    By Randy Bennett
    One of the island’s leading criminal attorneys does not believe yesterday’s murder conviction of former Minneapolis police officer Derek Chauvin will have a major impact on law enforcement practices here.
    Queen’s Counsel, Andrew Pilgrim told Barbados TODAY it was unlikely there would be a shift in police behaviour in Barbados simply because of a guilty verdict miles away in the United States.
    The 45-year-old Chauvin was found guilty of second-degree murder, thirddegree murder and second-degree manslaughter in the May, 2020, death of George Floyd.
    Floyd’s death sparked a worldwide movement calling for police reform and racial justice and ignited the Black Lives Matter movement.
    The verdict was welcomed by millions, including US President Joe Biden and Vicepresident Kamala Harris.
    However, Pilgrim said police officers in Barbados remained untouchable to this very day.
    “There are many professions in Barbados that have remained quite untouchable over the years; lawyers, doctors, police are the three that rush to mind. But in the context of Barbados, the police have always felt that they have had the right to do whatever they please with ordinary citizens.
    “This has been displayed in the forms of police breaking into people’s homes with or without warrants, ill-treating people and not giving them their due and cases like the Shaquon Cave incident very recently. I’m not saying that wrong was done in that case, but the fact that it takes so long for a mother to get information on the status of her child and how her child met his death suggests to me that we are not yet ready to deal with these things in the right way and that the police feel they can do anything and get away with it,” Pilgrim said.
    “I don’t think that we are really impacted in a real way by things like this happening as far away as the United States.”
    The outspoken attorney said the 2017 Pirate’s Cove incident in which a police officer was recorded kicking a man several times while he laid on the ground, was a reminder of that.
    He said despite the recording being widely circulated, no action had been taken against any officer to date.
    “The case that to me is the hobbyhorse of all of this is the Pirate Cove’s cases and I still maintain that the Commissioner of Police or someone should have had to resign over that. To this date, that case remains uninvestigated by the police.
    When police can be seen on video kicking people around and dragging them by their dreadlocks and nothing happens in this country, it will tell me that the case of Chauvin really means nothing to Barbadian authorities because we still feel that police should be able to do things and get away from it,” Pilgrim said.
    “While I think that things are changing and I notice that the laws are moving in the right direction in terms of protecting people whilst in custody, a week seldom passes in this country that people do not complain to me about being abused either in their homes or on the streets by members of the Royal Barbados Police Force.”
    He called for the establishment of an authority that was powerful and capable of investigating the police, lawyers and doctors.
    Adding its voice, the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) said while police killings were rare in Barbados there have long been allegations of police using excessive and unlawful force against persons.
    President of the BBA, Rosalind Smith- Millar said the introduction of a requirement that confessions be videotaped would go a long way and called for the use of body cameras on police officers on duty.
    She said the Police Complaints Authority also had to be seen by the public as “accessible, independent, accountable, transparent, fearless, thorough and efficient in dealing with complaints.”
    Smith-Millar said more than anything else, a stronger relationship had to be forged between police and the public.
    “More than rules and regulations, however, a cultural shift is required to ameliorate the relationship between the police and the public, to create the trust that will get results without abuse of the system.
    There must be a top-down understanding and facilitation of the value of ‘doing the right thing in the right way’” Smith-Millar said.
    (randybennett@barbadostoday.bb)

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply