Barbados is currently being affected by significant ash fall from the La Soufriere volcano in St. Vincent. Dust in the air, dust everywhere. There is the consolation view Barbadians should be thankful because we do not have it as bad as Vincentians on the ground- many who have seen priceless possessions destroyed or damaged. Thousands have had to be evacuated to shelters in the South or neighbouring islands to stay with relatives and friends.

We have had reports of damage to properties in Barbados- water damage from blocked drainpipes, guttering ripped from houses due to the weight of the ash, clogged guttering but nothing to compare with the depressing pictures coming out of St. Vincent. There is the saying he who feels it knows it.

It still has been a lousy last 15 years for Barbadians. Some hate the term the lost decade but we have to admit the island has been in a spiral since the global recession of 2007. The Thompson/Stuart period of government tried to right the economy and failed spectacularly. The electorate voted for a change in government in 2018 and created history by returning the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to office with a 30-0 victory. Some will argue we are not falling as fast but …

Immediately on taking the reins of government a premeditated decision was taken by the Mottley led government with her battery of financial advisors to aggressively restructure domestic and foreign debt. The result is that a generation of middleclass Barbadians having prepared well for retirement have suffered a significant dent in financial fortune. The social and economic effect is still to be measured because of the decision. Some will argue it had to be done to slow the descent into the economic pit we find ourselves, others will ask- who brought us here, why are we here after the experiences of the 70s and early 90s. What cannot be refuted is that for the first time since 1966 Barbadians have been suffering from economic fatigue of the unprecedented kind. Not to forget the pandemic Covid 19. Not to forget the 2021 hurricane season is rapidly approaching.

What is the point of cobbling these thoughts?

If Barbados were a human being urgent counselling and phycological care would be urgently recommended.

Unlike some here the blogmaster does not have the answers to our problems nicely gift wrapped. Solutions no doubt are to be found in adopting the best leadership approaches that will influence all facets how we prefer to live our life. As a people we tend to look to politicians to provide answers to our problems often times forgetting they are mere mortals who sat next to us in school and come from among us. This type of laissez-faire thinking must be ignored and significantly more Barbadians must become more strident advocates to support the cause for advancement of the country. The whole of Barbados is the sum of all of us. Thought leadership must come to the fore before it is too late.

Truth be told we will continue to box these issues into the political and therefore have to live with the results. Should the blogmaster go with the flow and ask with 2023 approaching what are the options? Is the DLP ready? Unfortunately we see no other options available for the electorate. We will always get the government we deserve.

171 responses to “Barbados in a Wobble”

1. angela cox April 20, 2021 5:24 AM

How ‘on earth’ do you expect me to “explain why govt first priority did not placed focus on the water system,” or “answer the question of govt priorities,” when I’m not the minister responsible for the BWA or a member of Cabinet?

If you could, then please share your answers with BU.

Unlike you, I’m NOT going to BLAME ONLY the BLP………….

……………. but SUCCESSIVE BLP and DLP administrations for misplaced priorities in not providing the affected parishes with a consistent water supply.

2. “But yuh still not explain why govt first priority did not placed focus on the water system”

what are your estimates for costs required for new fleet of buses Vs building water system

3. Uuh see U
    What i take away from your comments a play card of spinning the wheel backwards hence you interject the place blame card on past govts which takes the reader into a mindset of not blaming present govt
    In my mind the issues is being placed on what is presently happening with a decaying water system and its impact on the country
    Hence I stay focused on the how why and now and its impact presenty rather than be taken down the path which u cut out …one which would have all and sundry pointing fingers in the opposition direction of past years
    You are right about past govts failures
    However your resistance to placed blame on present govt failure to prioritize is noted

4. angela cox April 20, 2021 7:31 AM

‘Successive administrations’ is a common collocation meaning “governments from different political parties following one another in power over a period of many years.”

Therefore, ‘successive BLP and DLP administrations’ would OBVIOUSLY include administrations from 1966 to the current 2018 Mia Mottley led BLP administration.

If you interpret my comments to mean I’m NOT blaming the current BLP administration as well, then, ‘thine appalling ignorance knoweth no bounds.’ It is another example of a wasted education.

My friend, you’ve demonstrated to BU, according to the political scientist, the two predictable characteristics of political yard-fowls…….. “the absence of “weight” in your arguments and an equally obvious unwillingness to see that which is obvious to everyone else.”

Here endeth the lesson.

5. If you interpret my comments to mean I’m NOT blaming the current BLP administration as well, then, ‘thine appalling ignorance knoweth no bounds.’ It is another example of a wasted

Listen your message had an intent to have the reader focus on the past govts neglect
    I got that
    However having a blatant refusal of placing the ongoing situation at the feet of a govt whose object was more in line with having a political objective
    Instead of reparing broken pipes

6. @ angela cox

It’s clear you are an idiot.

7. Artax

SPOT ON. 🤣

8. Barbados is not a turd world nation.

I repeat, Barbados is not a third world nation.

https://youtu.be/6sk2DhiJib0?t=18

9. Where in the world is this?🤔

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-SfTdE9DPY&w=560&h=315%5D

10. ArtaxApril 20, 2021 1:29 PM

@ angela cox

It’s clear you are an idiot
    Xxxxxxxccccccccc
    Nice way to end a conservation idiot

11. Waaaait I thought it was said the government is ignoring the issue of water?

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9s9-7tk6dY&w=560&h=315%5D

12. Some of us seem unaware.

13. Wuh Biden now got to do nuff nuff remedial waterworks in Amurka! Nuff nuff lead pipes!

Texas got nuff electrical problems. Cyan stand lil snow! California got nuff electrical problems! Always got to ration when under stress!

Nuff nuff places in rural America ain’t got nuh wifii to do online school!

Nuff nuff lead paint on apartment walls poisoning the poor people!

Wait…. Flint Michigan still bading outta bottles?

Fifty-six bridges unsafe!

Amurka is not a turd worl country!

Steupse!

14. US authorities will this week update travel advisories recommending Americans not to travel to Barbados and three other Caribbean countries – St Vincent and the Grenadines, Antigua and Barbuda, and St Lucia.

15. See wuh I tell yuh?

Dem so igrunt that instead of remaining silent, they ‘must have the last word’ and remove all doubt.

Now tell me, wuh more proof wunnuh pun BU want?

16. Artax,

Um en she alone dat igrunt!

Totally unbalanced is BU’s way in most cases.

Every day is steupse day!

17. Brasstacks,

Just heard a lady complain that she has not had water in St.Joseph for 16 DAYS.

Time for Dale Marshall to beg the PM for help.

As an aside, the government has an opportunity to beg the rich countries for humanitarian aid.

18. Did you read what Dale Marshall said. Help in on the way but she is running late.

Did the lady mean running water or water from the tank or tankers?

19. @ Donna,

call Dr Kristina Hinds vob929 Brasstacks and ask she wha de woman say. lol

20. YESSSSSSSSS

” We insisted the BWA increase the delivery of water
    And more tanks are put into the field so communities without water would be immediately serviced.
    The BWA purchased a number of trucks and asked them to increase the number.
    Mottley asked the BWA to increase communication to affected communities
    We are purchasing water from Dominica
    We are in the process of purchasing 2 to two and a half million gallons of water a week”