Submitted by BU Regular

In Barbados speed dialing is usually reserved for your closest friends, your bestest buddy. That person who can get you out of jail or the mud if you need to. It is with passing interest therefore that a reputed “businessman” who was previously charged for trafficking of drugs from an area associated with certain activity was able within seconds to call a leading Minister and Member of Parliament (not his member) when confronted by the Police for what they believed was wrongdoing on Good Friday.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still concerned about the original sin of possibly breaching Covid Protocols on a clearly stated lockdown weekend. I’m also still concerned that this same flagrant breach of protocols occurred last year in the same area by the same persons. I’m similarly concerned that the Police were interrupted in their duty with a speed dial to an aunt. And we should all be concerned about the rumblings and rumours of shadows and benefactors, whether they be from white, black or red seas.

But, the absolute concern is that this “businessman” was so bold enough, so confident and so certain enough of the eventual outcome of his speed dial that he could call an aunt on speakerphone to have the Police retreat and rescind their interpretation of the activities playing out before them. All this in the earshot and view of many many persons.

What is even more farcical is the “official” response from a secretary of the press within 24 hours to spin what happened and raise even more doubts in any right-thinking Barbadian’s mind.

How many other allegations, incidents, rumours and social media posts about aunts and uncles have gone viral without responses or spin? Why is this one so important Roy? Is there fire behind the smoke??

So yes folks, privilege and access here is clear. The reason for it however is not clear (well, at least not to the average bloke). One must now wonder how many “businesspeople” in the BCCI, BPSA, BEC, SBA, shops, villages and even Social Partnership have such a powerful number on speed dial AND are bold and confident enough to use it when confronted by the Police executing their duties.

How many other calls have been made during Covid, or before Covid, or before May 2018 or during the lost decade or even during 1994-2008 that we may never hear about?

I wonder if Hamenauth Sarendranauth had the privilege of a speed dial which would take days and not weekes, if he could have avoided court, prison and now death before being sentenced.

I wonder how many other politicians, ON BOTH SIDES, are comfortable taking speed dials on loudspeaker that lead them to acting CONTRARY to the procedure of the day to the detriment and embarrassment of law-abiding public servants simply trying to do their jobs.

The old girl always said that whenever you see one flying ant by the light bulb there are usually a lot more and to expect some rain over time. In other words, shut de windows.

One thing is for sure. In this 166 square miles privileged speed dials to uncles and aunties who care and who “got this” may not be as rare as we think.

Nay I say. Instead, it should be clear to any observer that despite the talk, the cliches, the speeches and the promises this incident truly shows that This Is Who We Are.

299 responses to “Speed Dials and Privileges”

1. Shame shame shame hey shame on you
    If you can’t dance too
    I said shame shame shame shame shame shame shame
    Shame on you
    If you can’t dance too
    Don’t stop the motion
    If you get the notion
    You can’t stop the groove
    ‘Cause you just won’t move
    Got my sunroof down
    Got my diamonds in the back
    Put on your shaky wig woman
    If you don’t I ain’t comin’ back

Remember one monkey don’t stop no show

2. Let’s see how long Bajans sit and take this backwardness emanating from a parliament they fund and have to pay those who begged them for their votes…..better don’t waste too much time. It’s obvious they will never change their strangling, down pressing….suppressing ways as it relates to the African descended….and another generation of survivors should only be hearing what occured but should not have to experience the black-on-black hatred coming from leaders they have to pay salaries and also fund their hangerson.

3. Hi everybody. I’m Archie Drell and the Drells from Houston, Texas. We don’t
    only sing but we dance just as good as we walk. In Houston we just started a
    new dance called the Tighten Up. This is the music we tighten up to.
    First tighten up on the drums. Come on now drummer. I want you to tighten
    it up for me now. oh yeah
    Tighten up on that bass now. Tighten it up. ha ha Yeah
    Now let that guitar fall in. Oh yeah
    Tighten up on that organ now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Il-1Jbbe12Q
    Now look here. We gonna make it mellow for ya now.
    We gonna make it mellow now.
    Tighten up. You can tighten up.

4. Miller…time for Bajans to focus on asking the government….

where is the BILLIONS of DOLLARS stolen from them over the years;

WHO stole it;

WHEN are they going to be ARRESTED;

and WHEN will their money be RECOVERED..

if those answers are not forthcoming…time to rid the parliament of their STENCH, coverups and SELLOUTISM…

5. @David April 7, 2021 9:58 AM “From memory that area is where a few kiosks are located and should not qualify as a restaurant facility.”

Dear David: Can you explain to us the difference between a “restaurant facility” and “cook-shop” or “kiosk” because I truly do not understand.

@David April 7, 2021 9:58 AM “This is the same area kiosks were bulldozed some years ago.”
    Dear David: What has this got to do with Hants’ question?

@David April 7, 2021 9:58 AM “This was an error in judgement in the opinion of the blogmaster.”
    What was an error of judgement? The bulldozing or the Good Friday “bassa-bassa” The way you have written it is not clear to me.

Thanks

6. So many people were willing to work with Mia, PLT put himself out there although warned. All she had to do was to listen to certain people about the changing dynamics, now it will be very hard to convince anyone that DBLP have the best interests OF THE BLACK POPULATION to heart…..we all know the GG can fire her, but given the history of the judiciary….let’s see.

“Caswell: PM should go! – by Anesta Henry April 7, 2021

Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn is calling for Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley to be removed from office.

Franklyn told Barbados TODAY that Mottley failing to accept that she overstepped her boundaries when she accepted a call from cook shop owner Ross Ashton on Good Friday when police attempted to end his special event at Deacons Farm, St Michael, is grounds for immediate dismissal.

In fact, the outspoken Opposition Senator said Governor General Dame Sandra Mason should be giving Prime Minister Mottley her walking papers.

In breaking her silence on the issue which has caused much public debate in recent days, Prime Minister Mottley has maintained that she did no wrong in accepting a call from the Deacon’s Farm resident, and indicated that the situation could be compared to an official from another section of society calling her with a query. She said that her interaction with the law enforcement and the cook shop owner was simply to seek information on whether Ashton was breaching the protocols.”

7. “She has no authority to call or to speak to any policeman in the performance of his duty.”

According to Caswell..this is the whole crux of the matter…she had no authority….which i take to mean, this matter should have gone through the proper channels, chain of command…..someone can correct me if am wrong…..but the AG should have reached out to the Commissioner…..and confirm what is and not a restaurant and who could stay open or not….but this happens when you pigeon hole ya own people for SO LONG…and got others labeled as upscale and this and that, these are the consequences, this is KARMA…

8. -War-on-UApril 7, 2021 10:52 AM

Angela…i just posted something that got moderated too…and it is very important information…it happens from time to time…

I would accept your explanation
    However if the names of any of the three are placed in a comment
    The comment is placed in moderation
    As with a comment I retrieve from one of their postings from fb and which was placed on BU and was placed in moderation

9. Can’t wait to see if idiots goingto.put this woman back in office yes “idiots ” a borrowed description of Barbadian from the blp playback
    Her political stench is beyond intolerable
    Not only at home but across some small island states

10. A rising tide sink ships
    Yes indeed

11. @ bajanfreeparty April 6, 2021 7:25 PM

Call me a sycophant if you want. Anyway, the fact is that our great government is doing a superhuman job during the pandemic and is performing far better than many white countries in the North.

I am very proud of our government. I am particularly proud of Mia Mottley, who is very civic-minded in every way and performs above and beyond the call of duty for our island.

12. Let the media do their job

Does the businessman have a license to operate food and liqour?
    is he a vendor of food or a dine-in restaurant?
    Does he have permission to use the NCC’s play park as a dining area?
    Does outdoor dining in a play park qualify as “dine-in”?
    Does the prohibition on play parks for use between 6-9 and 3-6 only for EXERCISE apply on the day in question?
    Does anyone expect any lowly police constable to question or go against the Prime Minister on the spot or there after?
    Has any member of the BLP come out to defend the actions as yet??

Theo was right. This IS who we are. Nothing wrong with exposing it for all to see as we should in ALL cases. Accountability comes at the ballot box.

Just observing

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

just finished reading it, chain of command, thought the AG…. and DPP who has too much power to be corrupt, is responsible for liaising with the commissioner…..all lawyers should know this better than any one of us..

“Quoting Section 8 of the Police Act, Franklyn noted that the Commissioner of Police shall have the command of the Force, and shall be responsible to the Governor General for the efficient administration and government of the force and for the proper expenditure of all public monies appropriated for the service thereof.

“The Commissioner of Police does not report to a political person. The person who the commissioner is responsible to is the Governor General. That doesn’t say anything about the Prime Minister. She has overstepped her boundaries,” Franklyn said.”

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Has any member of the BLP come out to defend the actions as yet??.”

all they ever seem to do is collect taxpayer’s money in salaries and nod their heads in agreement, even if it goes against the population whom they will soon be begging for votes again…

15. ONE INGRUNT WOMAN HAD THE AUDACITY TO SAY THAT SHE WAS WITH ANOTHER WOMAN WEEKS AGO WHO CALLED MIA THE PRIME MINISTER WHO DIDN’T ANSWER THE CALL.

HER FRIEND NEEDED TO BE A SHOT CALLER, MAJOR DRUG DEALER WITH INFLUENCE IN THEIR COMMUNITY AND/OR FINANCIER FOR THE CALL TO BE ANSWERED IN A PROMPT MANNER.

16. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@angela cox April 7, 2021 12:52 PM “Can’t wait to see if idiots going to put this woman back in office yes “idiots ”

So if you are calling the electorate of Barbados “idiots” how do you expect them to persuade them to vote for your favorite party in the next election?

17. angela coxApril 7, 2021 12:52 PM

Can’t wait to see if idiots goingto.put this woman back in office yes “idiots ” a borrowed description of Barbadian from the blp playback
    Her political stench is beyond intolerable
    Not only at home but across some small island states

18. Cuhdear BajanApril 7, 2021 3:07 PM

@angela cox April 7, 2021 12:52 PM “Can’t wait to see if idiots going to put this woman back in office yes “idiots ”

So if you are calling the electorate of Barbados “idiots” how do you expect them to persuade them to vote for your favorite party in the next election?

Cuh dear u are not as clever as u might think u are
    U are a bone faced liar
    Shameless rat
    You cherry part of my comments to suit your stinking purpose
    Phew

19. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

That means I don’t have to vote for the DLP then?

Of which you are yard fowl in chief?

20. Cuhdear BajanApril 7, 2021 4:13 PM

That means I don’t have to vote for the DLP then?

Couldn’t care less who u vote for boned faced liar

21. @ angela cox April 7, 2021 3:52 PM
    “So if you are calling the electorate of Barbados “idiots” how do you expect them to persuade them to vote for your favorite party in the next election?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Instead of always singing the electoral ‘blues’ maybe you and your yellow-bellied party can take advantage of the ‘short’ memories of Bajan by reminding them of what your deceitful lying party (dlp) had to do to get rid of the previous CoP DD.

What were the reasons given for his ‘forced’ early retirement?

Caswell Franklyn warned you guys way back in 2017 (and again in 2019 & 2020) about the negative consequences of fudging the law and governing conventions to facilitate the politicization of that ‘vital’ Force in order to play partisan political games which can then lead to a polarization in that same ‘critical’ institution and its inevitable spill over into the wider society already on the road to collapse.

The political chickens have now come home to roost.

Maybe Karma has returned to bite the ‘major’ actors in the wire-tapping ass.

Thanks to those corrupt and stupid politicians the blatant politicization of the country’s main law enforcement agency has pushed it down the road of no return from the banana republic status.

22. The stories on media platforms about connections and ties to this govt are jawdropping
    Needles to say if these stories are true the chicken coming home to roost will be sooner rather than later
    What a ting doah

23. Things that make you go hmmmm…
    Someone had said before that the artiste A/C was in fact Hal Austin in disguise which seemed preposterous at the time
    but it seems that they both are coming from the same place
    although Hal is allegedly a man and A/C a woman
    Is A/C the feminine side of Harold manifesting on BU and he secretly is a cross dresser wearing kinky underwear on his computer

The Shapeshifters
    You Ain’t Love

24. ☎ Calling Mia / David King @ 911
    Your comment is awaiting moderation

25. ☎ Calling Mia / David King @ 911
    😃

26. Strut your funky stuff Vs Who is he?
    So is Hal an undercover reporter in lingerie
    which is french for crotchless panties
    he was working the case deep undercover
    but just got busted for cruising gay discos dressed as a woman

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKJZ2P_zPqo

27. 555dubstreetApril 7, 2021 4:42 PM

Things that make you go hmmmm…
    Someone had said before that the artiste A/C was in fact Hal Austin in disguise which seemed preposterous at the time
    but it seems that they both are coming from the same place
    although Hal is allegedly a man and A/C a woman
    Is A/C the feminine side of Harold manifesting on BU and he secretly is a cross dresser wearing kinky underwear on his computer

The Shapeshifters

Come to think
    Someone else told me that A/C name was high jacked and used under a different name on Bu
    So funny

28. Murder she wrote
    The heat is on
    Pax pah lax
    Me gone into moderation
    What a ting doah
    I

29. Which does more damage, yuh igrunt rasshole, a cuss word or your nauseating lies?

You blasted lie ALL DAY, EVERY DAY!

You make my stomach sick!

Worry about that, you pooch-picking yardfowl of the nastiest breed! Take the big rasshole log out of your infected eyes before you seek to take the grass out of mine!

Your problem is that you are missing the ass-kissing from the pretend prig of a London Liar!

Too bad!

But …. being in moderation does not mean the London Liar cannot post. He has chosen not to, I would guess. David would not block his, “Spot ons!”

Back to the topic!

30. When a person spews fowl shit all day long what else should one call them but a rasshole????

31. BU’s top detective has just put on his Columbo Mackintosh and has finished smoking a big fat blunt to solve another mystery case..

Is “David King” a glorified software app / bot / spam filter for the social media police building a public database of dubious individuals for blacklisting IP addresses while Government steal their best ideas from the good brains to put in their suitcases

32. Yuh igrunt mudder, Fake Observing!

I did not say I was with the woman. I said my friend was with the woman. She too had the cell phone number. That was my only point.

33. Wonder why Angela Cox did not mention Baje’s cussing?

Back to enjoying life!

34. @555
    What are you smoking?
    Like it is good stuff.

35. Looks like someone gimme som wrong numbahs.

I put this thing in my list of contacts and got an out of service number.

Tried de second numbah and got a sex line. Can you imagine my surprise to get a man givin me dutty talk.

I think I gun try to call collek.

You cant trust nobody dese days.

36. Donna April 7, 2021 6:19 PM

Wonder why Angela Cox did not mention Baje’s cussing?

Back to enjoying

U just did

37. ☎ BU 😃

Yes, this is Miss Renee King from Philadelphia.
    I want you to give me a call on area code 215-222-4209
    And I’m calling in reference to the music business.
    Thank you.”
    Hey how ya doin’
    Sorry ya can’t get through
    Why don’t you leave your name and your number
    And I’ll get back to you
    Hey how are ya doin’
    But leave your name and your number
    And I’ll get back to you

Shout out to Chaka Khan for calling us earlier

You wanna call me up? Take my number down
    It’s 222-2222
    I gotta answering machine that can talk to you
    It goes
    Hey how ya doin’
    Why don’t you leave your name and your number
    And I’ll get back to you
    Hey how are ya doin’
    But leave your name and your number
    And I’ll get back to you

38. Donna@ac

Your problem is that you are missing the ass-kissing from the pretend prig of a London Liar!

Too bad!
    Xxxxxxxcc
    Not my problem Bu have u yes u Donna on record asking for Hal and indicating u miss him
    Speaking of lies and speed dials u have outdone Mia

39. David bu this in my view is making a big fuss about nothing.This nosense was orchestrated by the trini dem and Mr Ellis on Brasstacks on Monday.This was expected and was followed up by the political nightwatchman and Mr Franklyn for political reasons in my view.I wonder if Ms Depeiza remembers when the ex PM advised the speaker when ordered to pay his elder client to get a lawyer or better yet another ex minister found guilty of accepting a bribe.She realy should keep quiet along with Ac / Angela Cox who has no shame at all.Now she bringing comments from Austin to BU.Who cares about or misses Austin except you.Why don, t you join him on facebook and leave BU talking shite everyday.Very few wants to see you or the Dems in under 15 years.David BU i agree with you in moderating Austin for his gross disrespect for you.As for this matter Ms Mottley received a call and sought clarification from police officers on the scene nothing more nothing less.

40. DonnaMarch 27, 2021 10:42 AM

Cuhdear Bajan,

Ha ha! You too? As annoying as the man is, he is one of us. The blog seems incomplete without him. It seems you do not need to like people to miss them.

I guess he is not posting because David put him in moderation.

41. @ Miller April 7, 2021 4:29 PM

In my opinion, the solution is not more separation of powers, but absolute unity of powers. We should therefore politicise the administration, the police, the military and above all the judiciary more than ever and subject them to the will of our Supreme Leader. The citizens did not want a continuation of the blue cacophony when they voted, but a reign centred on a single centre of power. This rule legitimises itself through patriotism, reason, devotion to the nation and the absolute will to make our society better.

Therefore, the outspoken senator is quite wrong when he indirectly calls for a return to the chaos and anarchy that almost destroyed our island between 2008 and 2018. Each minister could do whatever he wanted. The disastrous results are well known. A low-life figure from Blackrock, who cannot even manage decimals, dragged us into the abyss.

It is all very different now. International investors have direct acces to our Supreme Leader, her ministers serve the people and the business community.

It would therefore be more than appropriate, in my opinion, to increase the salaries of our government members by 10 to 20 percent as a special bonus after the end of the pandemic. In return, we might freeze the salaries of ordinary civil servants for a longer period of time.

42. LorenzoApril 7, 2021 7:59 PM

David bu this in my view is making a big fuss about nothing.This nosense was orchestrated by the trini dem and Mr Ellis on Brasstacks on Monday.This was expected and was followed up by the political nightwatchman and Mr Franklyn for political reasons in my view.I wonder if Ms Depeiza remembers when the ex PM advised the speaker when ordered to pay his elder client to get a lawyer or better yet another ex minister found guilty of accepting a bribe.She realy should keep quiet along with Ac / Angela Cox who has no shame at all.Now she bringing comments from Austin to BU.Who cares about or misses Austin except you.Why don, t you join him on facebook and leave BU talking shite everyday.Very few wants to see you or the Dems in under 15 years.David BU i agree with you in moderating Austin for his gross disrespect for you.As for this matter Ms Mottley received a call and sought clarification from police officers on the scene nothing more nothing less. I

Xxxxccccc.
    Lorenzo is that your defense for Mia
    Yuh better (off )keeping quiet until this all blows over
    In any case I ain’t PM so i can talk as much sh.it as I like and truth along with it
    Mia talking sh.it and you condones it
    But look a jac.a.ss coming to attack me

43. Lorenzo is that your defense for Mia
    Yuh better (off )keeping quiet until this all blows over
    In any case I ain’t PM so i can talk as much sh.it as I like and truth along with it
    Mia talking sh.it and you condones it
    But look a jac.a.ss coming to attack me

Xxxxxxxxxxx

WHAT MIA MOTTLEY DID WAS TO HELP AND PROTECT HER DRUG DEALING SCUMBAG OF AN “BUSINESS ” ASSOCIATE.

THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CLASS OR BLACKNESS ALL TO DO WITH ASSISTING THOSE WHO HELPED YOU AND YOUR PARTY GET ELECTED IN 2018 AND A LIQUID CASH FINANCIER WHEN AND IF NEEDED.

44. William Skinner Avatar

@ all:
    For those who may be unaware, there was a time when Comrade Austin submitted a number of articles to BU on a very regular basis. If my memory serves me correctly , even his picture accompanied the articles. I personally look forward to Comrade Austin’s offerings again. I sincerely hope that he continues to write. Although, I am not a Face Book regular, I am delighted to learn that he is still giving his views.

45. Fb is telling all kind of stories to this issues with appendages and long legs attached
    There is so much going that Mia cannot defend the things being said outside saying the stories are lies
    Wish Barbados had a media with guts to get to the bottom of this damaging story

46. As I recall, I said that he may be annoying but he is one of us. You do get used to annoying family members.

I also miss GP, even though I disagree most strongly with his politics and a whole lot more.

I do not have to agree with a person about everything and a person does not have to be perfect since none of us is.

So….I am quick to anger but slow to hate.

47. So…. where exactly is the lie, you idiot?

48. Mottley's Crew Avatar
    Mottley’s Crew

49. Mottley's Crew Avatar
    Mottley’s Crew

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply